Killing Floor PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1387 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    You know what? I am laughing at the people that compared KF with L4D. I know, L4D has better graphics, but KF is a totally different game! There are no zombies, there are specimens, a lot more weapons in KF than in L4D,L4D is too linear,KF isn't linear at all! I had a lot more fun playing KF than playing L4D(although to some people it gets repetitive), and KF is much more cheaper! And it'sYou know what? I am laughing at the people that compared KF with L4D. I know, L4D has better graphics, but KF is a totally different game! There are no zombies, there are specimens, a lot more weapons in KF than in L4D,L4D is too linear,KF isn't linear at all! I had a lot more fun playing KF than playing L4D(although to some people it gets repetitive), and KF is much more cheaper! And it's one of the best games ever to play with friends!

    Overall:KF is a very fun game with fine graphics assuming that it's made using the unreal engine 2.5, a lot of weapons available, a great non-linear game, but sometimes repetitive, very cheap!

    8 word summary: A non-linear, underrated game, it's a true bargain.
    Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    A very underrated game.This is if not the best then one of the best zombie-shooter games i've ever played.To be more simple.Graphics:Well not anything to say just good graphics.Gameplay:The gameplay is awesome as well,the thing that many will notice first is that there is no crosshair in the game (which makes it more realistic in my opinion) but this is not anything to worry about,you 'llA very underrated game.This is if not the best then one of the best zombie-shooter games i've ever played.To be more simple.Graphics:Well not anything to say just good graphics.Gameplay:The gameplay is awesome as well,the thing that many will notice first is that there is no crosshair in the game (which makes it more realistic in my opinion) but this is not anything to worry about,you 'll get used to it pretty fast.Another part that i really liked is that there are some huge maps in the game in which you can go ANYWHERE and i mean anywhere you want.There are no restrictions to that like "Kill those zombies then move on to that area and when you finish you gotta go there bla bla bla",you can just go anywhere in the map and take cover in buildings.Another thing i liked is that you don't have to nessecary be with your team 100% of the time you play in a map,you can go solo as well but only if you 're a "pro" (or however you want to say it).You also have money which you can buy a lot of different weapons (from an axe to a flamethrower) from shops which can be found after you finish killing a wave of zombies.These are some of the things i like about this game,and for those who are thinking about the multiplayer - i can say that it's 2 times more fun. Expand
  3. AnthonyC
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This game is really addicting, fast-paced, and requires the best teamwork to pass and conquer the waves coming at you. It has only one mode and purpose, but many will be surprised how many hours will be spent just killing every thing in sight. If someone doesn't enjoy this game I feel sorry for them. Even if it's a knock-off from Unreal Tour. Killing Floor brings the zombie This game is really addicting, fast-paced, and requires the best teamwork to pass and conquer the waves coming at you. It has only one mode and purpose, but many will be surprised how many hours will be spent just killing every thing in sight. If someone doesn't enjoy this game I feel sorry for them. Even if it's a knock-off from Unreal Tour. Killing Floor brings the zombie killing coop I've been aching to have. Also with upgradeable perks and destructive weapons of all sorts, the slaughter of undead specimens will bring you back wanting to play again. 20 dollars for this is a bargain and shouldn't be passed up with an fun game like this. Definitely a must buy. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    Reading a lot of reviews written by people who didn't like the game, I can honestly say that they played it completely wrong. It seems like they are missing a key element that makes this game fun and more than worth whatever they payed: friends. This is a coop game in every sense of the word. Yes, you can go ahead and play it alone, but, like these other people, you will not enjoy it allReading a lot of reviews written by people who didn't like the game, I can honestly say that they played it completely wrong. It seems like they are missing a key element that makes this game fun and more than worth whatever they payed: friends. This is a coop game in every sense of the word. Yes, you can go ahead and play it alone, but, like these other people, you will not enjoy it all that much. This game shines in every respect when you're playing with friends or even just one friend. The game itself is also really great; it's satisfying to pop the heads of zombies and there is a wide selection of guns from the trader that you'd be hard pressed to not be able to find a gun that suits you. People are complaining about the graphics... Why? This is in no way a bad looking game. It's not a great looking one either, but the graphics is in no way shape or form deserving of criticism. This is a very underrated game and it's ton of fun to defeat waves after waves of zombies with your friends. It's extremely challenging, but, of course, there are different difficulty levels. This game is GREAT. Expand
  5. LS
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game, only gave it a 9 because leveling perks is so repetitve. If they'd been more creative for perk requirements, i'd have given it an all out 10. Eg: Get 500 headshots, then get 1000, then get 5000, etc etc. Other than that, fantastic game, the voice acting sounds a bit cheesy at first, but it grows on you... And with free content regularly coming out, it's Fantastic game, only gave it a 9 because leveling perks is so repetitve. If they'd been more creative for perk requirements, i'd have given it an all out 10. Eg: Get 500 headshots, then get 1000, then get 5000, etc etc. Other than that, fantastic game, the voice acting sounds a bit cheesy at first, but it grows on you... And with free content regularly coming out, it's stupid to miss out on this fab game. Don't compareit to L4D, and don't play it with L4D in mind. For a start, you're not killing "zombies" these are clones armed to the teeth with anything from claws to a huge minigun...more than 8 or so enemy types, around 20 weapons, not including those you can dual wield...crossbows, fire axes, shotguns, you name it... Fantastic maps and awesome features make each round a different experience. There's the run and gun, which usually gets you killed, or the weld the doors and direct the horde approach which goes down a treat. About 60 or so achievements which gives you something to aim for if the perk leveling system isn't enough...Just a fab game, and a low price too. Expand
  6. TimHunter
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    This game seamed to of slipped below the radar for me until they released the last patch which I saw on the steam news. I got it for 17.99 on sale, which was a steal compared to L4D which was 49.99 when I bought it. The zombie combat is a lot more realistic than L4D, and the ability to behead the zombies to make them weaker and blind is awesome. The classes make the different weapons muchThis game seamed to of slipped below the radar for me until they released the last patch which I saw on the steam news. I got it for 17.99 on sale, which was a steal compared to L4D which was 49.99 when I bought it. The zombie combat is a lot more realistic than L4D, and the ability to behead the zombies to make them weaker and blind is awesome. The classes make the different weapons much more effective. Expand
  7. SamI
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    The best zombie game I've played in years. Left for dead had talent, but the sheer Cockney screams of "Someone shat that b*tch up!" more then overrule. Gameplay is non-pretentious, basically a good old fashioned point into crowd and fire deal, with an interesting trader function. Plus, the teamplay benefit is well enforced- the zombies come from everywhere, even with the biggest The best zombie game I've played in years. Left for dead had talent, but the sheer Cockney screams of "Someone shat that b*tch up!" more then overrule. Gameplay is non-pretentious, basically a good old fashioned point into crowd and fire deal, with an interesting trader function. Plus, the teamplay benefit is well enforced- the zombies come from everywhere, even with the biggest weapon in the game a sole player is overwhelmed. The graphics are awesome for an online-built game. The Z-tiem function is probably one of the coolest things I've seen in an online shooter. Full marks, I have no qualms with this fantastically British zombie shooter. Expand
  8. JohnnyF
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    This game kicks butt for 20 dollars it goes a long way. i have left 4 dead also but this game is amazingly different in its own way. Some how it is more fun to play than left 4 dead i enjoy the 6 player co-op as we battle different creatures with odd additions to there body. i mean come on a chainsaw for a hand how cool .
  9. RyanM
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    This game is very impressive. I will have to admit that it is not as much fun playing Single Player, but as you can see it's through steam so there is a great community to play with. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves CO-OP as much as I do. As far as the gameplay goes, very well-developed, great use of Z.E.D, and has a very well-made HUD as far as Gun interface, This game is very impressive. I will have to admit that it is not as much fun playing Single Player, but as you can see it's through steam so there is a great community to play with. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves CO-OP as much as I do. As far as the gameplay goes, very well-developed, great use of Z.E.D, and has a very well-made HUD as far as Gun interface, merchants, and that you can outrun most monsters. The monsters are very well-made, however, the Patriarch, whom is the only boss, becomes repetitive. Killing Floor is very easy to learn and can even get intense at times when your teammates are dead. Overall this game receives a 9/10 for great gameplay, fun online action, and great interface. Expand
  10. RadS
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    It's a great game if you got a few good friends to play with online. Love the tactics given by sealing doors and fortifying a farmhouse. By the way, there are well over 200 user made maps! Sure, they aren't all developer-quality, but they alone add much replayability! The graphics look great, whacking the head off a zombie with a fire axe during slow motion couldn't It's a great game if you got a few good friends to play with online. Love the tactics given by sealing doors and fortifying a farmhouse. By the way, there are well over 200 user made maps! Sure, they aren't all developer-quality, but they alone add much replayability! The graphics look great, whacking the head off a zombie with a fire axe during slow motion couldn't possibly be more awesome! Although yes, the flashlight is quite displeasing. But gameplay is very much more important than graphics - as long as the graphics meet a minimum standard, people need to just stop caring so much. Though they won't... and never will. At least Blizzard has that figured out. Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2010
    7
    This game can be said is only good to selected people. Not everyone will like this game as most people playing zombie-type games prefer the zombies to be killed easily or perhaps a few stronger ones, but still will be able to solely kill it. Killing Floor is like almost the opposite. The beginning 1st & 2nd round will start off easy. But later even in a group, may not be able to kill offThis game can be said is only good to selected people. Not everyone will like this game as most people playing zombie-type games prefer the zombies to be killed easily or perhaps a few stronger ones, but still will be able to solely kill it. Killing Floor is like almost the opposite. The beginning 1st & 2nd round will start off easy. But later even in a group, may not be able to kill off the later stronger zombies. This is a major turn-off for most people. If you like a challenge & plenty of teamwork, this game is for you. It also test the skills of the player as there is no cross hair and you have to look down the sights. A plus side to this game is that there is a "perks" system will player can level up, making their character more powerful, depending on the "perks" & the weapons they choose. It may seems boring & difficult to play at first but it sure gets a lot easier later. Players can also choose their difficulty which is a plus for new players. Got to try it out if you are not afraid to take up a challenge. Expand
  12. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    This is not a true PVP type game unless you count raging at douche-bag players. Community for the game is far nicer than most other games. Don't mistaken this for saying it is a perfect community. This game can get repetitive since there's only one style of game-play. Developers are still active in the game and still decent amount of players in the game. I still don't agree with the twentyThis is not a true PVP type game unless you count raging at douche-bag players. Community for the game is far nicer than most other games. Don't mistaken this for saying it is a perfect community. This game can get repetitive since there's only one style of game-play. Developers are still active in the game and still decent amount of players in the game. I still don't agree with the twenty dollar initial price for a game that feels like a mod. However, I do see this game go on sale a lot on Steam. Expand
  13. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This game is very underrated. The fact that you just have to kill zombies, go to the trader and get back to the fight is just very addicting. You cant say much about the graphics, as its an old game. The guns feel so good when you shoot. Especially when someone slow mo when your pulling off an headshot. Thats very satisfying. Best zombie horde game ive ever played.
  14. Civur
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Killing Floor.... what is there really more to say? over looking the fact there isnt really any real story going on except from what we read on all the maps the game is extremely fun to play the choose of weapons are amazing i mean lets face it. who doesnt wanna blow a zombies head off with a double barreled shotgun :) my only complain to the game is the mount of lag there is on mostly Killing Floor.... what is there really more to say? over looking the fact there isnt really any real story going on except from what we read on all the maps the game is extremely fun to play the choose of weapons are amazing i mean lets face it. who doesnt wanna blow a zombies head off with a double barreled shotgun :) my only complain to the game is the mount of lag there is on mostly all the servers in the game but still this is one of my favorite horror games in the genre of survival horror and ill give it a 10+ great game great massacre Expand
  15. ProfessorGoat
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    Amazing freakin game! Its cheap and its content in unlimited. One problem with L4D, its a microsoft game. they cheap out on content and support just like every other console game. i love l4d, but the killing floor takes the win for me. great, great community and endless fun. Absolute Games is a foreign crap website that shouldnt be allowed to have an opinion. no way should their vote have Amazing freakin game! Its cheap and its content in unlimited. One problem with L4D, its a microsoft game. they cheap out on content and support just like every other console game. i love l4d, but the killing floor takes the win for me. great, great community and endless fun. Absolute Games is a foreign crap website that shouldnt be allowed to have an opinion. no way should their vote have counted. you cant even read their stuuid jibberish website. anyways, definetly buy killing floor. any type of shooter or zombie fan will love it. Expand
  16. GarrettS
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This game should be a 85+ metascore for sure. i bought left 4 dead a few weeks after it came out played it religiously and loved it!! then it got a bit old i played other games along with it. Killing floor i bought day of and haven't stopped playing religiously. this game is awesome! if you liked l4d or any other zombie game you will love this. this game is as good as any retail game This game should be a 85+ metascore for sure. i bought left 4 dead a few weeks after it came out played it religiously and loved it!! then it got a bit old i played other games along with it. Killing floor i bought day of and haven't stopped playing religiously. this game is awesome! if you liked l4d or any other zombie game you will love this. this game is as good as any retail game out there! its got a great gaming community its very affordable;e and probably the best purchase you'll make in awhile. i know i have gotten more than 20$ worth of fun out of this game. my suggestion don't rely on these crappy metascores and stupid critics. buy this awesome game ASAP!! Expand
  17. ConnorMcElwee
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    I believe that Killingfloor is a great game and should not be compared with l4d becauthe se in all reality the only reason it may have bean so good on the pc is because the c is only 1 person x-box version kinda sucked with tis only 2 for a game with 4 players. on top of the hole 2 for 4 thing its also got a horrible replay value after the first 2 weeks with killing floor i can justI believe that Killingfloor is a great game and should not be compared with l4d becauthe se in all reality the only reason it may have bean so good on the pc is because the c is only 1 person x-box version kinda sucked with tis only 2 for a game with 4 players. on top of the hole 2 for 4 thing its also got a horrible replay value after the first 2 weeks with killing floor i can just Keep playing. secondly the weapon choice in l4d is Terrible to say the least. i meen its fun to to light zombies on fire with a Molotov but really do i only have a choice between that and a pipe bomb and 3 different weapons[seariusly thte starter weps do NOT count]. wile killing floor has a nice amount of things 2 chose from in the weapon a small amount rea of the game. next even tho killing floor has only maps at least its can tern out different allot more than l4d. so to end my little text thing just look at this l4d=49.99 killing floor=19.99 so whats better? Expand
  18. MarkE
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    Awesome! Game is much better that others that gave it a low rating said. If you have a good vid card (8800GTX) you can max all the details and it's beautiful!! HDR, specular lighting, water effects, etc and on and on. Well worth the $20 asking price. Very underrated IMHO. If you like zombies, and like shooters.. this game is great and reasonably priced!
  19. TimAnonymous
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    This game does NOT deserve to only have 70 of rating. It's probably one of the most addicting zombie survival games I've ever played. Although it may be slightly repetitive, I just never get tired of slicing heads off with my katana :)

    This game is pure win. Stop bashing it just because it used to be a UT04 mod.
  20. AndrewM
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    not all perks are created equal (i'm looking at you Berserker & Sharpshooter)- but this game is seriously good. Exceedingly few games have been with me for more than 300 hours, but I'm still having a blast with KF aside from some nagging balance issues (which are being addressed right now, if news announcements are to be believed).
  21. DominicH
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    Very fun, old school FPS style game with an excellent co-op survival mode. It's not perfect, but the developers are always improving on it and listening to the community. The only thing that annoyed me about the game was the idiots blocking the trader, but I'm sure that will be ironed out eventually.
  22. joer
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    wow ppl are dumb. this game is awesome. I'm a zombie fanatic and i've been waiting for a game like this. its better than L4D 1 and 2. its got huge replay value, because you can keep lvling up (even beyound the cap and then lvl when they realease the new lvl cap) they are GREAT about updates. and for the people who complain about the graphics, THROW THE F***ING WINDOWS 98 away. i wow ppl are dumb. this game is awesome. I'm a zombie fanatic and i've been waiting for a game like this. its better than L4D 1 and 2. its got huge replay value, because you can keep lvling up (even beyound the cap and then lvl when they realease the new lvl cap) they are GREAT about updates. and for the people who complain about the graphics, THROW THE F***ING WINDOWS 98 away. i was reading the bad reviews from other sources and their in german and other languages of ppl i dont give a f*** about. Expand
  23. BlakeA
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    i've played KF too much in fact in the hundreds of hours and all my syays are maxed along with every achievment and i'm still not bored. ive played pretty much every zombie game but this ranks among the highest just because teamwork is such a vital issue and not many games have that these games as far as i've seen. also advice for other people would be if its boring-get a i've played KF too much in fact in the hundreds of hours and all my syays are maxed along with every achievment and i'm still not bored. ive played pretty much every zombie game but this ranks among the highest just because teamwork is such a vital issue and not many games have that these games as far as i've seen. also advice for other people would be if its boring-get a mic, get some friends to join, and make the difficulty harder than your comfert zone and its a whole new game. when i did this for the first tiem iw as so blown back with how fun the game was i was hooked right there. also if you just play 5 minutes on solo and say you hate it that's really pathetic and you shouldn't be playing anyhow, well have fun to all those people who still play =D. Expand
  24. KingPenguin
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    Very fun game, leveling up with friends and making epic last stands on suicidal mode make this game well worth the money.
  25. JonathanH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Bullettime is great. Downloadable Weapons! The best of all 6 player co-op!
  26. BlazinAces
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Killing floor first felt to me like a poorly constructed game, but after giving it another go i found it seriously entertaining, Im in disbelief that it only has a score of 71 and yet Modern warfare 2 has a score of 87 on PC when no one likes the PC release? Are you kidding me, at least KF has some fun to it. Yeah its not the best game in the bunch but whos to judge, it was never retailed Killing floor first felt to me like a poorly constructed game, but after giving it another go i found it seriously entertaining, Im in disbelief that it only has a score of 71 and yet Modern warfare 2 has a score of 87 on PC when no one likes the PC release? Are you kidding me, at least KF has some fun to it. Yeah its not the best game in the bunch but whos to judge, it was never retailed to be a full game anyway, so to think about it 71 is actually nice, but i think it deserves well over 71. Great game, go out and buy it! Expand
  27. ChristopherNa
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    I don't like repatative game plays but it's cheaper and similar to l4d. Thank god the price is so cheap. I actually had more fun on this than l4d. More people online and more cahos.
  28. JosiahC
    Oct 25, 2009
    8
    With current updates and very player friendly control of game enviroment thanks to the unreal engine I genuinely believe this game is under rated in comparison to other zombie games out there.
  29. LeviS
    Oct 25, 2009
    8
    Killing Floor is under rated, Mostly because it is related to games like, Left3Dead( or people like to think it is) Killing Floor could use some more advance features, and tune ups to thier A.I. maybe even a single player story line. But, over all, it is an amazing game.
  30. JamesT
    Oct 26, 2009
    7
    This game is pretty good all around the board. It has pretty bad graphics comparatively to Left 4 Dead but it has a different type of game play than L4D. Much more enjoyable experience than L4D but why i gave it a 7 is because the low graphic detail really brings down the worth of this game. Z.E.D. Time, out of this world guns and iron sight feature saves this game in every way. You will This game is pretty good all around the board. It has pretty bad graphics comparatively to Left 4 Dead but it has a different type of game play than L4D. Much more enjoyable experience than L4D but why i gave it a 7 is because the low graphic detail really brings down the worth of this game. Z.E.D. Time, out of this world guns and iron sight feature saves this game in every way. You will be amazed in playing this game Expand
  31. SC
    May 21, 2009
    8
    A solid cooperative zombie shooter, with a surprising level of difficulty, solid weapon handling, varied enemy types, and a system for gaining/leveling perks that encourages regular playing. Quite fun to play with friends as you fight against being overwhelmed by the hordes. Not the most amazing or groundbreaking game, but enjoyable, mindless fun.
  32. AaronH
    May 22, 2009
    8
    A worthy supplement to the growing genre of necessarily cooperative first person shooters, Killing Floor delivers a perhaps less polished but somewhat more brutal alternative to the likes of Left 4 Dead. You'll definitely want an organized team and may wish to wait for further technical updates, but the title is good for possibly hundreds of hours of play.
  33. NicholasC
    May 23, 2009
    9
    gameplay is amazing for the type of game it is and the price. It has so much potential i hope they will make more modes,maps, and weapons.
  34. MikeG
    May 23, 2009
    9
    Other than L4D no other game has kept me occupied within the past two years. A very addictive title. Graphically it isn't going to win any awards but that doesn't mean this game looks bad. What it lacks in graphics it makes up in gameplay, which in my opinion is the whole point of Video Games.
  35. DavidF.
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Great game with catchy gameplay for low price. Wise approach for cooperative multiplayer gaming. Known bugs seems to be fixed very fast. Developers promised new content in future.
  36. MrBigtime
    May 30, 2009
    8
    Cheaper is always weak? Expensive is always Awesome? Not this time. Here the L4D pwner. i bought L4D when its out and iam very sorry for it.. Didnt played for months.. But KF? Its awesome. I never felt a SHOTGUN like this before in another FPS. The Ballistics of this game PWNS any game aout there..The phys r good too.. i never seen this kind if FEELING in L4D..oh comon we all keep compare Cheaper is always weak? Expensive is always Awesome? Not this time. Here the L4D pwner. i bought L4D when its out and iam very sorry for it.. Didnt played for months.. But KF? Its awesome. I never felt a SHOTGUN like this before in another FPS. The Ballistics of this game PWNS any game aout there..The phys r good too.. i never seen this kind if FEELING in L4D..oh comon we all keep compare it with this game but we MUST... Gamestar says : Killing Floor may be a cheaper alternative to Left 4 Dead. It doesn't come close though..WTF! ok, thats their PAID opinion. GO BUY KF and tell ur Freinds to get it too and start ur PC to get DAMN FUN! Expand
  37. JonathanL
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Original co-op survival game that was developed before and inspired many gameplay aspects that are seen in Left 4 Dead. Countless hours of fun for a low-budget online game.
  38. GlassAye
    Jun 18, 2009
    8
    74? No it is a good 85-88. You have to remember it is a multiplayer co-up game and not what most people are used to in puchasing a game with a full single player campaign. But maybe it is not fun. Not to mention one of the scariest games I have played in a while. The only reason I gave it an 8 was due to the lack of maps. There are only 5 maps that came with the game. Don't be 74? No it is a good 85-88. You have to remember it is a multiplayer co-up game and not what most people are used to in puchasing a game with a full single player campaign. But maybe it is not fun. Not to mention one of the scariest games I have played in a while. The only reason I gave it an 8 was due to the lack of maps. There are only 5 maps that came with the game. Don't be surprised if you do not see more maps, tripwire made hopefully or even a Killing Floor 2. The engine is original and exciting. And from the number of players on-line it seems I am not the only one who feels that way. I recommend for the boys, girls excluded. Sorry ladies, you ain't going to like this one. Just us guys with the stupid gory senseless carnage. Emjoy! Expand
  39. AT
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    Amazingly fun, depending on who you're playing with. What people don't understand about this game is, it requires heavy communication. If no communication is being used, you'll end up having players run around shooting at anything, and most likely being killed. This is one of the few FPS games where formation and planning are needed to win on hard or suicidal The game is Amazingly fun, depending on who you're playing with. What people don't understand about this game is, it requires heavy communication. If no communication is being used, you'll end up having players run around shooting at anything, and most likely being killed. This is one of the few FPS games where formation and planning are needed to win on hard or suicidal The game is still new so there will be updates and bug fixes, but once the game develops, my rating will most likely go up to a 9. The game is only about running if you don't know what you're doing or don't communicate with your group. So if you have a mic, or a fast typer, play this game! You'll have as much fun as I do! Remember, its called COOP for a reason, so COOPERATE! Expand
  40. Travis
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best game I have bought in a long time, after I had initially purchased it I neglected it a bit, but I am playing it almost none stop now. Good graphics nothing next gen but for 20$ I will forgive it, amazing co-op experience, If you want to run around as a lone wolf you can or if you want to have a strategy and communicate you can too. All around I would give this a 9. This is one of the best game I have bought in a long time, after I had initially purchased it I neglected it a bit, but I am playing it almost none stop now. Good graphics nothing next gen but for 20$ I will forgive it, amazing co-op experience, If you want to run around as a lone wolf you can or if you want to have a strategy and communicate you can too. All around I would give this a 9. Nothing that makes it stand out as a 10 but still worth purchasing. Expand
  41. YuanyuanLi
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    absolutely fantastic game. it looks cheap, but the actual game play is really good. on top of that, the developer is constantly updating the game, new weapons and new skins are coming, it has huge potentials. play it, then you know the answer. btw, i have to admit single mode is just boring ; )
  42. $tack$VA804
    Jul 27, 2009
    8
    This is a very fun zombie shooter, left 4 dead doesn't excite me much, it did the first few days, but i was bored quick.. this game does.. and who is Absolute Games? i've been reading game reviews for 10 years now and never heard of them.. they're just mad killing floor was 15$ pre-release and they paid 60 for l4d.. i paid for both, im not angry..
  43. ChrisT.
    Aug 14, 2009
    7
    Overall I give this game a 7. Why? well because of a few simple reason. Its outdated. Even though its a mod of unreal tournament turned retail game it should have been worked on more before being released. It would have easily done the terrible l4d craze in and become the king of zombie shooters. While i believe its everything L4D was suppose to be its also at the same time lacks what L4D Overall I give this game a 7. Why? well because of a few simple reason. Its outdated. Even though its a mod of unreal tournament turned retail game it should have been worked on more before being released. It would have easily done the terrible l4d craze in and become the king of zombie shooters. While i believe its everything L4D was suppose to be its also at the same time lacks what L4D has. Reasons its good: 1. Perk system and leveling 2. Many different character Avatars. 3. Custom made maps which is something Tripwire supports greatly and even pays people for their creations. 4. Good selection of guns ( although they could really add a sniper rifle I mean seriously for sharpshooters you get an outdated Winchester rifle and a crossbow? ) 5. Very amusing and comical statements 6. Very good selection of zombies 7. ITS ACTUALLY DIFFICULT! the difficulties are very well balanced for new players to veterans with maxed perks. Suicidal is just that.. Suicide. With more work such as adding better zombie AI, Faster zombies, Faster characters ( enable sprint please.... ). Some better guns for sharpshooters, adding a actually storyline, and adding in a versus mode similar to L4D this game would have destroyed L4D in the ratings. Even with all these things wrong and lacking however this game still manages to be one of steams most sold games. every week sometimes outselling L4D due to fact its much much cheaper and easier to run on peoples computers. Overall its a decent game good to kill off some time. If Valve and TripWire team up they could make one sick zombie horror game. Expand
  44. MattR
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    I honestly don't believe it's fair to compare KF and L4D, yet everyone and thier mothers seems to do it. Sure, they're both zombie killing games, but they each do it in such different ways that people really are comparing apples and oranges. I still play both equally. That said, I'm of the belief KF should have at least an 80+ rating. The graphics are a bit dated, but I honestly don't believe it's fair to compare KF and L4D, yet everyone and thier mothers seems to do it. Sure, they're both zombie killing games, but they each do it in such different ways that people really are comparing apples and oranges. I still play both equally. That said, I'm of the belief KF should have at least an 80+ rating. The graphics are a bit dated, but that's never been my top concern for any game. There's enough craziness and killing to go around, coupled with an awesome soundtrack, that really makes the (admitedly somewhat basic) gameplay truly shine. The KF community is great, producing tons of new maps that range from awful to downright awesome, but each manages to be fun in its own right. Similarly, Tripwire really stands by thier game: it seems like every time a glitch or bug pops up, they fix it within a week or two. They also update fairly often with good amounts of content; as a matter of fact, just yesterday there was an update with new weapons, a new developer map, and modifications to the mechanics of other weapons. Is KF the best game ever? No, but there's certainly more than enough to keep someone who enjoys slaying the undead entertained for a good, long time (and for a low price too!). Expand
  45. awesomeo
    Aug 21, 2009
    7
    I don't like the comparing to l4d because A: different zombie types and B: its survival not get from point A to point B its a fun game the review are old the game is a lot better than when it first came out they also added an AK and a katana recently its a fun game to waste an hour playing and it doesn't really get old.
  46. Andy
    Aug 20, 2009
    8
    This game is like Left 4 Dead's survival mode, except you can actually live. I'm not going to bash the graphics, because graphics don't make a game fun. The AI is typical of a "survive the night" game, but it is very fun nevertheless. The voice acting is funny, although I wish it had a bit more variety (different voice actor for each playermodel). The maps are great in This game is like Left 4 Dead's survival mode, except you can actually live. I'm not going to bash the graphics, because graphics don't make a game fun. The AI is typical of a "survive the night" game, but it is very fun nevertheless. The voice acting is funny, although I wish it had a bit more variety (different voice actor for each playermodel). The maps are great in variety. Some are open, some are not, some combine the two. Overall, I'd say its worth the money. It is not, however, an alternative to L4D. The two games are too different to consider each an alternative to the other. Expand
  47. Goatman
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    Notice how all of the bad ratings are from gamin websites that have no credibility?! why are they even on here? especially the one that gave killing floor a 45. they just have a problem with the british voice overs. check out their website when u get a chance. theyre nobodies. kiliing floor is a prime example of what all games should be - cheap and full of content. thats why the game has Notice how all of the bad ratings are from gamin websites that have no credibility?! why are they even on here? especially the one that gave killing floor a 45. they just have a problem with the british voice overs. check out their website when u get a chance. theyre nobodies. kiliing floor is a prime example of what all games should be - cheap and full of content. thats why the game has an amazing community. Expand
  48. KevinB
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A game that rewards team play and it is obvious the reviewers never tried it at anything above beginner... Playing this with friends is where it shines, working together to survive to the Patriarch is just a blast, and incredibly satisfying. The support from Tripwire is amazing as always. Buy this game!
  49. AshCyc
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Excellent diversity of weapons, classes, and enemies. Great community of custom maps, combining awesome team play.
  50. AdamC.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    This game is wonderful. It was beautifully made and Tripwire Interactive surely did a great job. The game play is all out fun and I could play it days on end. Thank You and Great Job.
  51. chase
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Awesome game, and for $20 I dunno if there's anything out there that compares. They've put out additional content for FREE too- more that Valve can say after promising and not delivering on L4D...
  52. SonK
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    Great game, gameplay is great, good balancing of the different characters. Comparison with L4D: much more variety in terms of maps,weapons and solutions to stay alive. l4d has better graphics and you can play zombies. since i started KF i stopped playing l4d, l4d just hasn't this long term fun compared to KF, the really huge amount of custom maps are the main reason therefore. And Great game, gameplay is great, good balancing of the different characters. Comparison with L4D: much more variety in terms of maps,weapons and solutions to stay alive. l4d has better graphics and you can play zombies. since i started KF i stopped playing l4d, l4d just hasn't this long term fun compared to KF, the really huge amount of custom maps are the main reason therefore. And for 20bugs it's a really fair price! Expand
  53. JosephO
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    Really fun, perks are nice to increase your abilities, and the music really keeps you drawn in. I can't really think of any drawbacks except for no versus mode but theres not suppose to be
  54. TM
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Great game! The latest update has included more levels, another perk class, a new infected and a crap load more guns! This game just got alot better.
  55. JustinR
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    An fun game with loads of replay value and challenge. No storyline or impossible learning curve, but a great FPS teamwork game to play with 5 other friends.
  56. [anonymous]
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    I like to joke and say that this is a rip off of L4D, with things like the bloat which is like the boomer, but it really isn't very much like L4D at all. If anything, it reminds me of SmashTV in that you are in an arena taking out waves of enemies. It's a fun game and I recommend it.
  57. RobB
    May 25, 2009
    9
    A fantastic stand alone release of one of the best mods from any FPS. Killing Floor combines strong co-op gameplay with a perk system that rewards players while sporting a solid array of armaments to keep those nasty monsters at bay. Comparisons with Left 4 Dead are inevitable but I find myself playing this far more than I ever did with L4D.
  58. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2009
    8
    I'm not going to lie, my first impression when I saw this game was "Oh wow, that looks like crap." but I had been drawn into it out of sheer curiosity. I gotta say I'm glad I did because it turned out I really enjoy this game. First off, I give it an 8.5 out of 10 because it has the same premise of Left For Dead, but at a gloriously cheaper price *having pre-ordered it for 15$*. I'm not going to lie, my first impression when I saw this game was "Oh wow, that looks like crap." but I had been drawn into it out of sheer curiosity. I gotta say I'm glad I did because it turned out I really enjoy this game. First off, I give it an 8.5 out of 10 because it has the same premise of Left For Dead, but at a gloriously cheaper price *having pre-ordered it for 15$*. It might not be as polished over, but it gives you the same general gameplay wrapped in an atmosphere akin to the 28 Days Later series. For being only 20 dollars you get the same thing as L4D *which retails for a rather bloated 40$* BUT with a source engine promising plenty of mods and maps to be made. Honestly, the only real things I can criticize about it is the lack of unique features in the maps *although again with a clearly attendant game team constantly tweaking the bugs and SDK modders, this won't be a problem for long* and variation in music. Otherwise you get everything you bargained for- a simple but addicting online game with some potential to go far further. It certainly isn't going to redefine the video game industry, but you get a surprisingly good deal of fun out of a tiny can at an affordable price. I heartily recommend it for any fan of zombie-games who can't afford the more expensive contenders in the genre. I say Tripwire has some potential- we should give them the support. Expand
  59. AdamR
    May 26, 2009
    8
    Want something to bridge the gap between a full out game that will eat up tons of time for the typical $40-$60 price tag, and a well done, but quickly digested mod for free? Play L4D, and think you would like a version with tougher, slower enemies? Then Killing Floor is for you. Its simple rules get a surprising amount of depth, and the various perks provide a sizeably varied experience. Want something to bridge the gap between a full out game that will eat up tons of time for the typical $40-$60 price tag, and a well done, but quickly digested mod for free? Play L4D, and think you would like a version with tougher, slower enemies? Then Killing Floor is for you. Its simple rules get a surprising amount of depth, and the various perks provide a sizeably varied experience. It also continues the trend L4D set of coop games where cooperation is actually required for something besides slinging more lead. It might lack the raw staying power of L4D (As you see, the comparison is easy), but the cost to content ratio is comparable, and there both polished, quality titles. If your looking for a coop shooter to round out your shooter diet, you really can't go wrong with Killing Floor. Expand
  60. DanielH
    May 27, 2009
    8
    A good solid enjoyable game, a great mix of weapons from axes, to flamethrowers, from pistols to automatics and chainsaws, all great weapons for killing brain dead zombies and there is a great selection in this game, from the standard ones you would see in your cheap cinema horror to full blown ideas that could of come from only the greatest UT Moders! And for £14.99 on steam its a A good solid enjoyable game, a great mix of weapons from axes, to flamethrowers, from pistols to automatics and chainsaws, all great weapons for killing brain dead zombies and there is a great selection in this game, from the standard ones you would see in your cheap cinema horror to full blown ideas that could of come from only the greatest UT Moders! And for £14.99 on steam its a steal! A great game for a group of friends to play on the net. Get the game, bust out hamachi (if you need it) and get killing those zombies! Expand
  61. AnonymousMC
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Killing Floor is an amazing game, I am surprised why it was rated so low. Killing Floor contains things (yes, another comparison) that Left 4 Dead didn't even think of, every "specimen" had it's unique talent that Left 4 Dead never had, it was always kill things that stood around until something that actually matters comes, and then shoot that, whilst in Killing Floor, you areKilling Floor is an amazing game, I am surprised why it was rated so low. Killing Floor contains things (yes, another comparison) that Left 4 Dead didn't even think of, every "specimen" had it's unique talent that Left 4 Dead never had, it was always kill things that stood around until something that actually matters comes, and then shoot that, whilst in Killing Floor, you are always looking around, firing your gun or running from someone who would like you to be dinner. Killing Floor should have been given a higher score from it's great graphics, great gameplay, and great replay value. Expand
  62. DanielN
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    This is an amazing game, especially if you like the combination of FPS coop and survival horror. The perk system and rewards are great. Overall, it is not as polished as Left 4 Dead, but the graphics and game play are both excellent. This game gets my heart pumping faster than any other game I've ever played. Definitely an amazing value at $20!
  63. LeandroA
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    I agree Killing Floor isn't the best zombie game around. But it is quite fun and has a big and active community. Many user-made maps come out everyday and since their launch in may, tripwire already made many updates fixing bugs and enhancing game play. I trully discredit this metacritic it received and I think this game is a 80+ metacritic game... 71 is just too harsh on it!
  64. LeeW
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    This game has to be the most underrated game of 2009. It's an absolutely amazing game. When you consider that the engines is Unreal 2 based the graphics are incredible. Best fun to be had with mates. This is a better zombie survival horror than L4D. What with the new content released for free as well. A must buy especially at this bargain price!
  65. John
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    I really have to say that this game deserves more credit then it gets. Tripewire is doing a great job on patching and releasing new things in the game. The graphics aren't the best, but not bad either, but you really don't mind that since you'll be too busy poppin' ZED heads!
  66. AndrewD
    Dec 17, 2009
    8
    Do yourself a favor and get it. Do yourself a favor and don't compare it to L4D as they play quite a bit differently and it's not even fair or close, and you'd likely be disappointed with that expectation (not sure how others came to the conclusion that this is a L4D killer, but it's the writer's opinion in each case) Had this been released a few years ago it Do yourself a favor and get it. Do yourself a favor and don't compare it to L4D as they play quite a bit differently and it's not even fair or close, and you'd likely be disappointed with that expectation (not sure how others came to the conclusion that this is a L4D killer, but it's the writer's opinion in each case) Had this been released a few years ago it would have owned big time. I unfortunately didn't play the mod when it came out. I give it an 8 for the obvious cult following it will have for some time to come. Not serious in gameplay but still fun. Again, it's worth 20 bucks and with patches and additional content it's entertaining and mostly stable. I'll predict a strong CS-like following for years to come, easily. Expand
  67. JamesA
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Yea graphics arent amazing but graphics dont make a game. its fun addictive and all the mods have created an awesome experience. absolute games is stupid for thinking that just cause it didnt cost a ton of money it isnt fun. i reccomend this game highly for anyone who wants something that will keep you busy and that has you thinking thru the way you kill things not just always aim for the Yea graphics arent amazing but graphics dont make a game. its fun addictive and all the mods have created an awesome experience. absolute games is stupid for thinking that just cause it didnt cost a ton of money it isnt fun. i reccomend this game highly for anyone who wants something that will keep you busy and that has you thinking thru the way you kill things not just always aim for the head. cause theyll keep coming Expand
  68. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Let me begin by saying I've had my eye on this game for quite some time, but I could never really bring myself to purchase it at $19.99. I never really knew why, but it just didn't feel right. Then when it came on steam for a much more reasonable $5.99 I knew it was time to pull the trigger. What can I say about this game? That it's not the most amazing game to ever hit the zombie/undeadLet me begin by saying I've had my eye on this game for quite some time, but I could never really bring myself to purchase it at $19.99. I never really knew why, but it just didn't feel right. Then when it came on steam for a much more reasonable $5.99 I knew it was time to pull the trigger. What can I say about this game? That it's not the most amazing game to ever hit the zombie/undead killing FPS and/or Mod of a more iconic FPS (ie Zombie Mods for COD) but I will say that it is certainly not the worst and a good way to "kill" time (HA!). Anyway, in playing Killing Floor it reminded me of a better version of the zombie mods in Counter-Strike (remember those?) It has the reminiscent buy guns model of play and the fact that once your dead, there is no re-spawn for the rest of that round. Anybody that's played the jail break mods of Alliance of Valiant Arms may see the similarity as well. All around the game is a no-brainer good time for killing brainless AI's but it's not without its fair share of frustrations. The fact that (when playing multi-player at least) every time ANYBODY gets ZED time you as a player experience it as well, frustrated me. This was especially true when I was reloading, running from the ZEDs or not already iron sighted. Also, the fact that glitchy physics (getting stuck in the corners of walls and such) and the lack of being able to get out of a crowd of brain munching zombies once they've cornered you made me grumble under my breath as my character was ripped apart. I think I would also appreciate the ability to move a bit faster. While your character can walk, and god do they walk slowly (heaven forbid you haphazardly toggle it on) their version of "running" (in my mind) is parallel to that of a 70 year old man going for his brisk Sunday walk through the park. Overall the game is simple fun. The gun selection is interesting, the characters (while bland in voice acting) are enjoyable, and you get to kill things in waves. It even makes you think about survival as staying with the team becomes a real factor to living or dying and if fortification can be a successful method of survival as well. The game has some flaws, but then again, which game doesn't? and really, for the price it's a darn good time. Expand
  69. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Killing Floor takes everything you expect from cliche shooters and turns it on its head - in a good way. When a game features selectable classes, a ranking system, DLC and buying weapons, most people think they have the gameplay all figured out - and they are completely wrong. Unlike most class-based shooters, Killing Floor does not offer unique weapons for each class (called "Perks").Killing Floor takes everything you expect from cliche shooters and turns it on its head - in a good way. When a game features selectable classes, a ranking system, DLC and buying weapons, most people think they have the gameplay all figured out - and they are completely wrong. Unlike most class-based shooters, Killing Floor does not offer unique weapons for each class (called "Perks"). Instead, each perk offers an advantage with certain weapon types and certain overall abilities (such as accuracy/reload speed bonuses, headshot damage multipliers, speed boosts etc.), while allowing every perk to use every weapon and item in the game (for the correct price, of course). This affects the game in many ways. Firstly, players are able to make hybrid loadouts, and new perk/weapon combinations which were originally not intended but are very effective can be used. For example, the Lever Action Rifle is a sharpshooter perk weapon, however this weapon is GREAT in the hands of a medic because of his speed bonus while moving. By not enforcing specific player models on a perk by perk basis, the game manages to allow player customisability and yet allow easy perk identification through icons above players heads and in the scoreboard. This customisability can be enhanced further through DLC packs, which are usually around $2 each on steam. Despite being dirt cheap, these packs also have no effect on the gameplay, and as such avoid any possible "pay-to-win" situations. The game is also quite punishing, although it seems completely fair when a player dies. If you don't plan ahead with the rest of the team, you are likely to lose, especially on the harder difficulties. It is even possible to die on the first wave (which is usually a free money easymode wave) by allowing yourself to be surrounded.

    The enemies are also very well thought out. Each enemy type has its own unique ability, such as the clots ability to grab and hold a player (preventing them from moving), which makes them extremely deadly in large groups or when up close.

    Killing Floor also features an amazing ranking system, which manages to avoid many of the problems inherent in traditional ranking systems. Each perk is ranked up individually, which means the player will never achieve a new rank only to unlock a higher level for a perk they never use. It also gives every player, from the day 1 noob to the hardcore veteran, access to all of the game content immediately. Instead of unlocking new weapons or abilities, ranking up simply makes the perks more effective, which keeps the game balanced, and doesn't enforce an artificial divide between skilled players and newer players based on unlocks

    And now, the mandatory L4D comparison paragraph. The game has some similarities to L4D, but is definitely a different game. Many reviewers compare the 2, which is impossible because of their differing natures. While L4D is about completing goals and making it to the end of the map, Killing Floor is all about surviving, planning ahead, getting a good class balance within the squad, and making sure everyone has access to the limited resources available.

    To make a great game truly legendary, Tripwire have been constantly updating Killing Floor and releasing free content and weapon packs, including community maps, and have a system in place to whitelist custom maps and mutators (small server-side mods) to allow people to use and level up their perks.

    I originally got this game in a $4.99 sale around Christmas 2010. Best $5 I have ever spent
    Expand
  70. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    It's a fun game to play together with friends, you can only get bored very quickly and not very varied, but if you play along is no longer a problem. It has good graphics for what it offers (using the Unreal Engine 2.5) with an impressive effect "slow motion" at special moments in turn has many weapons, upgrades followed, and a system of "classes / skills" which has up to 6 specificIt's a fun game to play together with friends, you can only get bored very quickly and not very varied, but if you play along is no longer a problem. It has good graphics for what it offers (using the Unreal Engine 2.5) with an impressive effect "slow motion" at special moments in turn has many weapons, upgrades followed, and a system of "classes / skills" which has up to 6 specific achievement levels and the same. It's a very good game style "unique", so to speak, "Survival against Mutants realistic." Expand
  71. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    No bugs that I've dealt with, they constantly update it. It's very fun. This brings me back to when a game was purely about playing and enjoying it. The game is also very dark and sinister, something I was left wanting out of L4D/L4D2. Now, if someone would just make a massive city-scale zombie survival game with the darkness of this game, production value/quality of polish of a gameNo bugs that I've dealt with, they constantly update it. It's very fun. This brings me back to when a game was purely about playing and enjoying it. The game is also very dark and sinister, something I was left wanting out of L4D/L4D2. Now, if someone would just make a massive city-scale zombie survival game with the darkness of this game, production value/quality of polish of a game like L4D2 .. I'd be occupied for months. Why hasn't anyone made that game yet? I digress. This game has kept me entertained for about a hundred more hours than most games have. It's kind of ridiculous. It gets very intense and adrenaline pumping when you're trying to hold massive, powerful enemies or small hordes, or large hordes of massive, powerful enemies at bay. It really manages to get you excited and into the action, which I can't say about a lot of video games these days. The only reason it's not a 10 is it doesn't have million-dollar mocap & I wanted a bit more depth than what it offers. Expand
  72. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    This game is so fun, the DEA should put people in jail for playing it. I has a 6 player coop where playing as a team actually matters. People that like to wander away from the group end up dead. 6 classes that impact the game in their own unique ways.

    AND the game is fully modifiable for tons of extra fun beyond the core game.
  73. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Something important that needs to be said - This game gets patched. A lot. The reviewers who reviewed it a year or two ago reviewed an entirely different, much more buggy game... and most of them STILL enjoyed it. Since the game has came out, the amount of weapons you can buy has doubled and the amount of characters quadrupled. The new guns, monsters and levels are all completely freeSomething important that needs to be said - This game gets patched. A lot. The reviewers who reviewed it a year or two ago reviewed an entirely different, much more buggy game... and most of them STILL enjoyed it. Since the game has came out, the amount of weapons you can buy has doubled and the amount of characters quadrupled. The new guns, monsters and levels are all completely free updates to the game, while the "DLC" is vanity characters. Every few months the folks at TWI add in some new guns or a new level, and recently it looks like they've been listening to the community they have.

    Speaking of that, this is actually one of the most active games on steam with 7.8k players. There is, oddly enough, an active modding community, so if that's your game, there's both a presence and a lot of tutorials to help you.

    Well, what about the actual game itself? Cathartic. When you shoot the guns, you can expect limbs to fly off in a bloody, satisfying mess, and when you use explosives, you can expect the "specimens" to turn into "giblets" - a euphemism for being in a lot of bloody chunks. After a few more updates the classes are more balanced than before with very defined and clear strengths and weaknesses. The difficulty of the game is nearly linear based on how many players are in the game - making it important to stick with your team (for the most part).

    The graphics are nothing special. Bloom and AA can hide some of it, but the explosions still feel a little cheesy. Pretty good for its time, now it's just aging fairly well. There is a very wide variety of weapons to choose from now - not numerically, but functionally. Each gun has a different purpose, instead of basically being an upgraded version of a previous gun (with some exceptions to the melee tree). The perks are standard and push no envelops, but very well-rounded.

    Some of the level design is a bit uninspired, feeling as if it has a color-sickness. The difficulty can feel two-sided (too hard, or too easy). The final boss can be out outrageously hard unless everyone knows exactly how to deal with him. Camping is a bit too prevalent which I feel is a bit boring. There's a lot of steam achievements, if that's your thing, although some of them you can only get during a certain time of year, during the events. Never-the-less, it's a criminally fun and active game with a good chunk of personality. You can log repulsive amounts of hours in this game and still find it fun - because, simply, it is fun. Pure, simple, fun.
    Expand
  74. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great, critics have really bombed it, when it has great game play and mechanics. it is must have for co-op zombie horror lovers who love yelling at there team to try to get them to work together.
  75. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    A zombie game done right! Killing Floor isn't perfect, but it does what other zombie games fail at. Killing Floor stimulates panic in the player by forcing them to do more than just camp in one spot for the round. If you do that, you will die! All of the zombies are well balanced and compliment each other. Each needs to be dealt with slightly differently. There's a lot of different mapsA zombie game done right! Killing Floor isn't perfect, but it does what other zombie games fail at. Killing Floor stimulates panic in the player by forcing them to do more than just camp in one spot for the round. If you do that, you will die! All of the zombies are well balanced and compliment each other. Each needs to be dealt with slightly differently. There's a lot of different maps too, many of which are very large. The Unreal 3 engine graphics are really great. Some faults: the AI isn't superb, the weapon pool feels shallow due to the number of classes in the game, can be hard to get people to play the more interesting maps, final boss is kind of cheesy. Overall, very fun and I recommend it to anyone who likes arcade style shooters or zombie-style games Expand
  76. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    great game,a bit old but still fun and with a ranking system ou are more encouraged to play different as classes. if you are thinking about buying this game do it its fun solo or online working as a team.
  77. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    I saw one of my friends playing this game in school once, and it seemed to look pretty fun. The only thing that kept me from buying the game for awhile was if I was going to like the game enough to keep playing it for hours on end. So, I took a dive at it and got it on steam. I was instantly hooked on the game play of the game, it was fun at first. But kept on getting better and better asI saw one of my friends playing this game in school once, and it seemed to look pretty fun. The only thing that kept me from buying the game for awhile was if I was going to like the game enough to keep playing it for hours on end. So, I took a dive at it and got it on steam. I was instantly hooked on the game play of the game, it was fun at first. But kept on getting better and better as you played for more and more. Expand
  78. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    9/10, I believe this game is extremely overrated, I just decided to write a review on it now after owning it for quite some time with 400+ hours of gameplay. It's a very simple game, but very fun and requires skill to play, unlike some other shooters (cough cough, Call of Duty), and most importantly, if you can pay 60 dollars for some generic piece of crap, you can pay 20 dollars for an9/10, I believe this game is extremely overrated, I just decided to write a review on it now after owning it for quite some time with 400+ hours of gameplay. It's a very simple game, but very fun and requires skill to play, unlike some other shooters (cough cough, Call of Duty), and most importantly, if you can pay 60 dollars for some generic piece of crap, you can pay 20 dollars for an amazing game like Killing Floor. The only flaw about this game is the hitboxes, sometimes they're in funky positions which make scoring headshots at certain angles difficult. Expand
  79. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    *First of all, don't compare this to L4D series, this game has a completely different gameplay direction, roots and budget.
    I feel like this game is mostly HIT or MISS for people and nothing in between.
    To keep it short Killing Floor has 5 great classes to chose from, great variety of "zombies", awesome guns that actually feel powerful, really addictive gameplay (got over 200 hours on
    *First of all, don't compare this to L4D series, this game has a completely different gameplay direction, roots and budget.
    I feel like this game is mostly HIT or MISS for people and nothing in between.

    To keep it short Killing Floor has 5 great classes to chose from, great variety of "zombies", awesome guns that actually feel powerful, really addictive gameplay (got over 200 hours on it), and great developer updates.
    This is a perfect game for people who enjoy:
    -Blowing off some steam
    -Repetition in games (you'll be replaying same levels over and over again just like L4D)
    -Killing endless hordes of zombies/mutants
    -People who value gameplay over graphics (since this is running on an old Unreal 2.5 engine)

    This game should be judged like a movie, don't listen to others opinions and try it yourself, I can almost promise you won't regret spending the $$$.
    Expand
  80. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    I played this game during the twisted christmas event and quickly found that I had to buy it as soon as possible. One of the best wave shooters I have played it has all the gameplay elements that you would expect to see and with multiplayer capability it quickly becomes a team based zombie killing frenzy. On lower levels this game is fun too play and does not require much teamwork but whenI played this game during the twisted christmas event and quickly found that I had to buy it as soon as possible. One of the best wave shooters I have played it has all the gameplay elements that you would expect to see and with multiplayer capability it quickly becomes a team based zombie killing frenzy. On lower levels this game is fun too play and does not require much teamwork but when playing on the higer levels of difficulty players must rely on each other to watch there backs and with a levelling and class system this game becomes even better. A must have game I would reccomend to anyone. Expand
  81. May 8, 2012
    9
    I bought this game for 3 bucks... it was a COMPLETE RIP OFF! A rip off to Tripwire that is This game is amazing, it's simple, and repetitive yet insanely fun. I've racked up over 3 days of gameplay and have yet to be bored with it. Tripwire still updates it, and not just with maps or bugfixes, they still add weapons to it! And there are 3 events every year, Twisted Christmas, SummerI bought this game for 3 bucks... it was a COMPLETE RIP OFF! A rip off to Tripwire that is This game is amazing, it's simple, and repetitive yet insanely fun. I've racked up over 3 days of gameplay and have yet to be bored with it. Tripwire still updates it, and not just with maps or bugfixes, they still add weapons to it! And there are 3 events every year, Twisted Christmas, Summer Sideshow, and Halloween sideshow. In each, the specimens are skinned and given new voices to match the current holiday. Gameplay? Pick a map, pick a difficulty, (Easy, Normal, Hard, Suicidal, Hell on Earth), and play. You'll be thrown tons of stuff to kill, and you'll need REAL SKILL to survive all the way through. There are plenty of games to play, you'll never have trouble finding a server. And even though you will be doing the same thing over and over again, it just doesn't get old. You'll have hours of fun playing this game if you're willing to get past the learning curve, once you practice a little, you'll like it more I promise. As for system requirements, I started off playing this game long before I even MET the system requirements the worst computers will be able to play this game with ease. Worth it's total $20 price tag I guarantee! See you on the Killing Floor. Expand
  82. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    What's better than killing "specimens" (zombies)? Killing them with friends and not emptying your pockets while trying to do it. This game may seem simple, but with over 250 maps from the community, this game is just pure awesome.
  83. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Replayability. Replayability everywhere. Easy to learn, funner with friends. cheap on steam. a survival without the constant stress of needing to survive. If your a lone wolf, create your own map, or just seperate yourself from the group, you'll struggle pretty soon. For $20, **** loads of bang for your buck
  84. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Just got this from steam with all maps for less than £7 and what a great choice and bargain. I love zombie shooters anyway.and this has lots of maps and weapons. Buy I dont think you will be disappointed.
  85. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    It doesn't have the best graphics and the game play can get repetitive. That said, it's cheap (i got it for $11) and i got about 20 hours out of it so far. It's not one of those games you can binge play, I can see how that would get old quickly. Whenever i pick up killing floor I play a game or two then move on and come back to it the next day, and it hasn't soured yet.
  86. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Easy mode is relaxed and enjoyable, but only gameplay on harder difficulties will show the fine balancing between class roles, weapons, and enemy types. Multiplayer on 6 player servers is satisfying when you have teammates that know what they're doing, and try teamwork when things are going wrong. Although it's every man for himself when the final boss arrives! Larger servers with 15+Easy mode is relaxed and enjoyable, but only gameplay on harder difficulties will show the fine balancing between class roles, weapons, and enemy types. Multiplayer on 6 player servers is satisfying when you have teammates that know what they're doing, and try teamwork when things are going wrong. Although it's every man for himself when the final boss arrives! Larger servers with 15+ players are absolutely hilarious, and everyone who has the game should try one out. Overall a noteworthy experience, with character levels offering the player something to work on in the long run that kept me interested after I tried everything out. It has a massive following, and rightly so at such a reasonable price. Expand
  87. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    Killing Floor is interesting when you're playing with friends, although it does get quite boring eventually. I liked the slow-mo effect whenever someone does headshots, but there is quite lag, even on a server you host on your own sometimes. It's occasional, but sometimes it's annyoing because a lag might cause you to die.

    It's an okay game, I wouldn't buy it at full priced though. I
    Killing Floor is interesting when you're playing with friends, although it does get quite boring eventually. I liked the slow-mo effect whenever someone does headshots, but there is quite lag, even on a server you host on your own sometimes. It's occasional, but sometimes it's annyoing because a lag might cause you to die.

    It's an okay game, I wouldn't buy it at full priced though. I got bored after several hours.
    Expand
  88. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    Macht gut Spaß das spiel ist auch sehr gut gelungen nur die Grafik hat einige Mängel ansonsten ist das Spiel sehr gut gelungen und das Game Play macht auch spaß aufjedenfall 100 stunden spielspaß
  89. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    the game shows what real zombie survival co up is. you have to use team work in order to survive, and you HAVE to. the graphics arent the best but are suitng for the type of game. there is a large weapons variety and 7 perks. tons of achivments to unlock and more than 25 maps to beat on 5 diffrent difficulties.the game is updated all the time but 3 times a year. the begining or the summer,the game shows what real zombie survival co up is. you have to use team work in order to survive, and you HAVE to. the graphics arent the best but are suitng for the type of game. there is a large weapons variety and 7 perks. tons of achivments to unlock and more than 25 maps to beat on 5 diffrent difficulties.the game is updated all the time but 3 times a year. the begining or the summer, halloween and christmas are the 3 major updates. on each they add new weapons, achivments, maps, playable characters and even change the look of all the zombies for around 2-3 weeks. they do so at each of those times each year. the game started with 11 weapons i think, now it has over 40 maybe even 50. the only and i mean ONLY problem is the trolls/ there are trolls all over the internet but in this game, unless you play with friends you might have a bad time. people are using others to get achivments and still kills, use them as cover and as all trolls annoy the hell out of them. s just stick with your friends and fun will come. the game can be played over 500 hours! and still not get all the perks to max lvl or beat all maps, or get all achivments. if you add the major updates to that you get an amazing game experience that can go on for as long as possible Expand
  90. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    One of the best zombie shooters i've ever played by far, it's fun witty and will keep you on your toes. very underrated and should have been alot more popular then it should have been, having said that there is no shortage of players for you to team up with and frag some zombies.
  91. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Wave based "zombie" game is terrible fun!
    The monsters arent really considered zombies, theyre sort of like these mutated clones. Freaks and experiments gone wrong. Which for me, is one factor that spices up the survivor horror element.
    Theres several classes and each class gets a bit better as they level up, decreasing costs of weapons, reload times and eventually starting out with
    Wave based "zombie" game is terrible fun!
    The monsters arent really considered zombies, theyre sort of like these mutated clones. Freaks and experiments gone wrong. Which for me, is one factor that spices up the survivor horror element.

    Theres several classes and each class gets a bit better as they level up, decreasing costs of weapons, reload times and eventually starting out with weapons or armor when they spawn.

    Other than that, the game is such a winner for its simplicity. Every round starts, you kill, you hit the shop, rinse and repeat.

    Throw in holiday zed events in which you are awarded new monster skins and a new level [maybe some weapons and character skins too!] and you are gonna have fun all year round.

    Im not saying the game is absolutely amazing for everyone, but i am saying that everyone must try this game! I saw it and dodged it forever, but while playing on the free weekend i was hooked and i have 170+ hours on steam right now.
    Expand
  92. May 4, 2013
    9
    This game, right from the get-go, should not be taken seriously at all. It's old school, and unbelievably fun, even if you're alone, more so with friends, even with strangers. It's always fun, it never drags on. Just shoot things what more do you need to do? For me, this is miles ahead of Left 4 Dead in giving out fun. Just get the guns and kill sons of b****es. It doesn't get simplerThis game, right from the get-go, should not be taken seriously at all. It's old school, and unbelievably fun, even if you're alone, more so with friends, even with strangers. It's always fun, it never drags on. Just shoot things what more do you need to do? For me, this is miles ahead of Left 4 Dead in giving out fun. Just get the guns and kill sons of b****es. It doesn't get simpler than it does here. Expand
  93. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    For a long time I had overlooked and scrolled past this game. It seemed like a simple, shallow, generic co-op shooter. Well, it is not.
    I can't even remember how it finally caught my attention, but I bought it and heavily regret I neglected this game.
    This survival co-op game provides a variety of different fun playstyles and has a huge selection of quality maps, most of which were
    For a long time I had overlooked and scrolled past this game. It seemed like a simple, shallow, generic co-op shooter. Well, it is not.
    I can't even remember how it finally caught my attention, but I bought it and heavily regret I neglected this game.
    This survival co-op game provides a variety of different fun playstyles and has a huge selection of quality maps, most of which were created and selected by the community.
    The co-op element of this game is strong and well developed. Games like L4D2 promote teamwork by using cheap tactics from "special enemies" that completely disable a player, forcing them to be rescued or die. Killing Floor encourages players to work together through sheer enemy numbers and the necessity to have someone watch your back. You DO NOT want to be caught by a flesh pounder alone, not because he is cheap and will disable you, but because he is a complete badass.
    This is also just really good game design: the leveling/progression system is balanced and gives players an edge but is not a replacement for skill, the weapons are all viable although some are better than others especially when regarding classes, and waves/difficulty is adjusted to the amount of players in the map giving anyone the option to play with as many people as they want without ruining gameplay.
    I just got started at this 4 year old game and have sunk more hours into it than a large majority of the newer games that have been released. This game has a lot of playtime value for its buck.
    My only real complaint would be about the dated feel to the menu and match browsing feature. It almost feels...retro. But once your in game you forget about it.
    Expand
  94. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Its really pleasing to see the specimens' heads blow up after a Magnum revolver shot or owning the Patriarch with melee attacks or with the sharpshooter class.
    There is some variety of specimens but it lacks on bosses, which is actually, just one boss, the good old Patriarch.
    Its fun to play, specially with friends, getting cornered by the zombies. If you do enjoy zombie killing games
    Its really pleasing to see the specimens' heads blow up after a Magnum revolver shot or owning the Patriarch with melee attacks or with the sharpshooter class.
    There is some variety of specimens but it lacks on bosses, which is actually, just one boss, the good old Patriarch.
    Its fun to play, specially with friends, getting cornered by the zombies. If you do enjoy zombie killing games you'll have quite a good experience. There are lots of achievements to make on Steam so there are DLCs.
    There are some classes and each has its specific perks, there are no big disadvantages or overpowered classes at all, each has its specific guns, though, you can still buy other classes' guns but you wont do so well with them as you'll do with the guns' specific classes.
    The whole pack including all the DLC's costs 30 euros, the game itself is 17 euros, on Steam.
    Expand
  95. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PLEASE READ FULL REVIEW. This game is debatebly the best zombie fps yet. the weapon animations are smooth and so are the graphics. with open mod support and regular free updates this game is very community based. There are holiday events for every holiday, and every year. that is what really makes this game. the fact that there are zombie elves and santas on christmas and carnival monsters during the summer is awesome. please buy this game. Expand
  96. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Excellent game I bought for months, is the most fun game of the genre of survival horror I've ever played and one of my favorite FPS is very underrated I have had no problems playing online there are many players and a great community of modders. Disliked L4D1-2 very simple for my taste with all its game modes. In KF gameplay is much more solid, and the AI ​​is not dumb as they say is justExcellent game I bought for months, is the most fun game of the genre of survival horror I've ever played and one of my favorite FPS is very underrated I have had no problems playing online there are many players and a great community of modders. Disliked L4D1-2 very simple for my taste with all its game modes. In KF gameplay is much more solid, and the AI ​​is not dumb as they say is just killing zombies clones those they do not understand. Expand
  97. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Killing Floor, The game never gets old and new free content almost every month with free updates and events, the gameplay feels so smooth that it feels different from every other game, i highly suggest trying killing floor at least once, it's very balanced and fun.
  98. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Absolutely amazing, different classes that each have their own sets of priorities, each have their drawbacks and advantages. Good graphics, not entirely up to date, but still very good. The sound effects are great, and the soundtracks made by zynthetic are phenomenal. Overall, a great game that is underrated and should be played by more people.
  99. DanS
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Despite this game having the lowest metacritic score on my games list, it's undoubtedly my most played. The game is simple yet addictive. Killing Floor doesn't hide behind shiny graphics or a carefully crafted backstory to get you "entertained", it throws you in a map with guns, friends, and a horde of mutants and says "enjoy". If you're more concerned with how well wet Despite this game having the lowest metacritic score on my games list, it's undoubtedly my most played. The game is simple yet addictive. Killing Floor doesn't hide behind shiny graphics or a carefully crafted backstory to get you "entertained", it throws you in a map with guns, friends, and a horde of mutants and says "enjoy". If you're more concerned with how well wet rocks reflect light than blasting that monster gnawing on your arm, then the game isn't for you. There's a ton of servers even after you put on plenty of filters, so there's never a worry about not finding a server to play on, the only downfall is that you never know what wave the server is on; joining matches where they're a round from the final boss or already killing it happens way too often. Overall, I give this game a 10/10 simply because the ratio of the hours I've played verses money I spent exceeds 10; in fact, it exceeds 20. eat that L4D. Expand
  100. MooM
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    After played over 100 hours within the first weed, i would have to agree with the other user comments on the subject of reviewers not knowing how to rate games. While it does get "repetitive" there are a number of ways to enhance your playing experience. From different guns, to different positions, this game has hours and hours of fun playing time! Get together with 5 of your friends and After played over 100 hours within the first weed, i would have to agree with the other user comments on the subject of reviewers not knowing how to rate games. While it does get "repetitive" there are a number of ways to enhance your playing experience. From different guns, to different positions, this game has hours and hours of fun playing time! Get together with 5 of your friends and try out different perks and see which gun suits you best. Great Friday night fun! Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Killing Floor is a zombie game that lacks brain and own ideas. In the main part it's simply a Left 4 Dead clone with boring maps and graphics. But Killing Floor's emphasis on tactical gameplay, the solid coop mode and the cheap prize make the game worth a look.
  2. Tripwire Interactives Killing Floor is what you would expect of a polished mod, but doesn't exceed expectations as a retail game. It's good, but unfortunately far from perfect. A nice addition to the survival-horror genre though, and it has an attractively cheap price tag.
  3. 75
    While the single-player experience is pretty much non-existent and there are still a large number of bugs that have to be contended with, there's enough of a foundation here for players to enjoy. Hop online and kill monsters for Queen and Country.