User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1404 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    Reading a lot of reviews written by people who didn't like the game, I can honestly say that they played it completely wrong. It seems like they are missing a key element that makes this game fun and more than worth whatever they payed: friends. This is a coop game in every sense of the word. Yes, you can go ahead and play it alone, but, like these other people, you will not enjoy it allReading a lot of reviews written by people who didn't like the game, I can honestly say that they played it completely wrong. It seems like they are missing a key element that makes this game fun and more than worth whatever they payed: friends. This is a coop game in every sense of the word. Yes, you can go ahead and play it alone, but, like these other people, you will not enjoy it all that much. This game shines in every respect when you're playing with friends or even just one friend. The game itself is also really great; it's satisfying to pop the heads of zombies and there is a wide selection of guns from the trader that you'd be hard pressed to not be able to find a gun that suits you. People are complaining about the graphics... Why? This is in no way a bad looking game. It's not a great looking one either, but the graphics is in no way shape or form deserving of criticism. This is a very underrated game and it's ton of fun to defeat waves after waves of zombies with your friends. It's extremely challenging, but, of course, there are different difficulty levels. This game is GREAT. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    7
    This game can be said is only good to selected people. Not everyone will like this game as most people playing zombie-type games prefer the zombies to be killed easily or perhaps a few stronger ones, but still will be able to solely kill it. Killing Floor is like almost the opposite. The beginning 1st & 2nd round will start off easy. But later even in a group, may not be able to kill offThis game can be said is only good to selected people. Not everyone will like this game as most people playing zombie-type games prefer the zombies to be killed easily or perhaps a few stronger ones, but still will be able to solely kill it. Killing Floor is like almost the opposite. The beginning 1st & 2nd round will start off easy. But later even in a group, may not be able to kill off the later stronger zombies. This is a major turn-off for most people. If you like a challenge & plenty of teamwork, this game is for you. It also test the skills of the player as there is no cross hair and you have to look down the sights. A plus side to this game is that there is a "perks" system will player can level up, making their character more powerful, depending on the "perks" & the weapons they choose. It may seems boring & difficult to play at first but it sure gets a lot easier later. Players can also choose their difficulty which is a plus for new players. Got to try it out if you are not afraid to take up a challenge. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    This is not a true PVP type game unless you count raging at douche-bag players. Community for the game is far nicer than most other games. Don't mistaken this for saying it is a perfect community. This game can get repetitive since there's only one style of game-play. Developers are still active in the game and still decent amount of players in the game. I still don't agree with the twentyThis is not a true PVP type game unless you count raging at douche-bag players. Community for the game is far nicer than most other games. Don't mistaken this for saying it is a perfect community. This game can get repetitive since there's only one style of game-play. Developers are still active in the game and still decent amount of players in the game. I still don't agree with the twenty dollar initial price for a game that feels like a mod. However, I do see this game go on sale a lot on Steam. Expand
  4. JamesT
    Oct 26, 2009
    7
    This game is pretty good all around the board. It has pretty bad graphics comparatively to Left 4 Dead but it has a different type of game play than L4D. Much more enjoyable experience than L4D but why i gave it a 7 is because the low graphic detail really brings down the worth of this game. Z.E.D. Time, out of this world guns and iron sight feature saves this game in every way. You will This game is pretty good all around the board. It has pretty bad graphics comparatively to Left 4 Dead but it has a different type of game play than L4D. Much more enjoyable experience than L4D but why i gave it a 7 is because the low graphic detail really brings down the worth of this game. Z.E.D. Time, out of this world guns and iron sight feature saves this game in every way. You will be amazed in playing this game Expand
  5. ChrisT.
    Aug 14, 2009
    7
    Overall I give this game a 7. Why? well because of a few simple reason. Its outdated. Even though its a mod of unreal tournament turned retail game it should have been worked on more before being released. It would have easily done the terrible l4d craze in and become the king of zombie shooters. While i believe its everything L4D was suppose to be its also at the same time lacks what L4D Overall I give this game a 7. Why? well because of a few simple reason. Its outdated. Even though its a mod of unreal tournament turned retail game it should have been worked on more before being released. It would have easily done the terrible l4d craze in and become the king of zombie shooters. While i believe its everything L4D was suppose to be its also at the same time lacks what L4D has. Reasons its good: 1. Perk system and leveling 2. Many different character Avatars. 3. Custom made maps which is something Tripwire supports greatly and even pays people for their creations. 4. Good selection of guns ( although they could really add a sniper rifle I mean seriously for sharpshooters you get an outdated Winchester rifle and a crossbow? ) 5. Very amusing and comical statements 6. Very good selection of zombies 7. ITS ACTUALLY DIFFICULT! the difficulties are very well balanced for new players to veterans with maxed perks. Suicidal is just that.. Suicide. With more work such as adding better zombie AI, Faster zombies, Faster characters ( enable sprint please.... ). Some better guns for sharpshooters, adding a actually storyline, and adding in a versus mode similar to L4D this game would have destroyed L4D in the ratings. Even with all these things wrong and lacking however this game still manages to be one of steams most sold games. every week sometimes outselling L4D due to fact its much much cheaper and easier to run on peoples computers. Overall its a decent game good to kill off some time. If Valve and TripWire team up they could make one sick zombie horror game. Expand
  6. awesomeo
    Aug 21, 2009
    7
    I don't like the comparing to l4d because A: different zombie types and B: its survival not get from point A to point B its a fun game the review are old the game is a lot better than when it first came out they also added an AK and a katana recently its a fun game to waste an hour playing and it doesn't really get old.
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    Killing Floor is interesting when you're playing with friends, although it does get quite boring eventually. I liked the slow-mo effect whenever someone does headshots, but there is quite lag, even on a server you host on your own sometimes. It's occasional, but sometimes it's annyoing because a lag might cause you to die.

    It's an okay game, I wouldn't buy it at full priced though. I
    Killing Floor is interesting when you're playing with friends, although it does get quite boring eventually. I liked the slow-mo effect whenever someone does headshots, but there is quite lag, even on a server you host on your own sometimes. It's occasional, but sometimes it's annyoing because a lag might cause you to die.

    It's an okay game, I wouldn't buy it at full priced though. I got bored after several hours.
    Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    One of the best zombie shooters i've ever played by far, it's fun witty and will keep you on your toes. very underrated and should have been alot more popular then it should have been, having said that there is no shortage of players for you to team up with and frag some zombies.
  9. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    a game that is promiseing in both premise and exicution and only let down by it's tri colour outlook (brown red and black) and lack of lighting
  10. Feb 12, 2011
    7
    Killing Floor is an action packed FPS co-op zombie shooter, where you and your buddies go through waves of zombies with chainsaws, crossbows, grenades and a lot more. The game is pretty straightforward (which some may not like about it) and can be very addicting. The graphics, on the other hand, may not be "up to par" with today's FPS's, but nevertheless, the game runs smoothly and looks great.
  11. Grash
    Dec 16, 2009
    7
    Killing floor (to me at least) is one of the games where you will play a lot in the beginning due to the perk grind and what not, but will gradually start to play less due to lack of variety in the game
  12. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    Killing Floor is a great game, and I am sure of it. But As many others say, it is missing key elements. They really need better guns, We aren't little 8 year olds not knowing what type of gun something is (and even if you were a little kid I don't think you would be allowed to play this,) Also the difficulty problems. Begginer is well, way too easy and boring. Normal is well, hard, theKilling Floor is a great game, and I am sure of it. But As many others say, it is missing key elements. They really need better guns, We aren't little 8 year olds not knowing what type of gun something is (and even if you were a little kid I don't think you would be allowed to play this,) Also the difficulty problems. Begginer is well, way too easy and boring. Normal is well, hard, the fact that in a matter of waves it is way to easy from being overran to die. The single play is the worst thing ever. It is scary, but WAY too hard on anything other than begginer. Now the zombies are probbly the best thing of the game, they have great design and each has a special power including the average zombie. Finally the lag, OH GOD THE LAG. I get about what, 120 ping and the AI just jacks up to a point where a zombie 30 ft. away from you teleports straight to ya and takes about 20 life away. This may seem like it makes it bad BUT THIS IS A GOOD GAME! I'm sure if they make a Killing Floor 2 They could fix this into a one-hell-of-a-killing-game. And people that say its a waste of money, it isn't. It really passes that time when your stuck there thinkin about what to do today. I think you should buy this game if you don't mind the low-ish graphics (It really doesn't bother me.) Expand
  13. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    What really falls in this game, is the extreme repetition. the game is based on clearing 10 waves, plus an 11th which is the final boss, using a team of 6 soldiers that uses (very well) different classes in order to wipe the monsters. And that's it: the game is extremely repetitive because, even though the classes are different and have 7 levels (they start from level 0). However, theWhat really falls in this game, is the extreme repetition. the game is based on clearing 10 waves, plus an 11th which is the final boss, using a team of 6 soldiers that uses (very well) different classes in order to wipe the monsters. And that's it: the game is extremely repetitive because, even though the classes are different and have 7 levels (they start from level 0). However, the levelling procedure is EXTREMELY slow and will take lots and lots of time in order to reach max level, especially when each class have their own way to level up (firebug= roast some monsters; Medic= heal tons of time; Support= weld a lot of doors).However, this game is really fun though, especially if you play with friends or have a clan to play with, especially because it's NOT an easy game (except low levels): it's a game that encourages team work and a lot of defensive maneuvers, which isn't very easy to do if your team is clueless on what to do, and the classes must be used wisely too (the sharpshooter, for instance, can almost one-shot most of the biggest enemies, while the firebug is a good crowd controller). It's a very repetitive and simple game, but that simplicity has a lot of deep into it. Give it a try, I really recommend to give it a look if you're looking for a different team based shooter. Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    A very simple game that is surprisingly fun to play. Bought it with a couple of friends and haven't been disappointed by it. What's good about it is the maps which allows you to plan ahead with your friends, the perk system (even if it's very simple) and the difficulty. The bad has to be the graphics, which is dated, and the voice acting which can literary drive you mad. The game hasA very simple game that is surprisingly fun to play. Bought it with a couple of friends and haven't been disappointed by it. What's good about it is the maps which allows you to plan ahead with your friends, the perk system (even if it's very simple) and the difficulty. The bad has to be the graphics, which is dated, and the voice acting which can literary drive you mad. The game has recieved a nice amount of new content which means you can come back after some time away from it to find something new. Expand
  15. May 30, 2012
    6
    It's fun, it's challenging, it's one of those zombie games that requires the right amount of skill to make you feel in danger but still being possible to win. You'll play the same maps and games over and over and still get a challenge, even if you've already beaten them. There are many zombie types, each unique, the mix of them makes it strategic, making you think fast who you're going toIt's fun, it's challenging, it's one of those zombie games that requires the right amount of skill to make you feel in danger but still being possible to win. You'll play the same maps and games over and over and still get a challenge, even if you've already beaten them. There are many zombie types, each unique, the mix of them makes it strategic, making you think fast who you're going to snipe, shoot because it's fast, etc. The guns are varied and nice, the melee weapons are also viable if you're good and can aim heads. Compared to left 4 dead, it,s only one, maybe two notces below, in gameplay it's equally good, yet completely different (so you should get both!). The graphics and polish isn't as impressive as l4d, though. Great game, can last you over 20 hours if you enjoy it. Expand
  16. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    So here I am reading all these user review when I notice a trend. Many of these perfect 10 ratings have what seems like a person's first name followed by their last names initial. Names like SamI, Adam T, AnthonyC, GarretS, etc. It seems to me they are being used to blatantly up the user score of this very mediocre game. The gameplay is for the most part mindless as hordes of zombiesSo here I am reading all these user review when I notice a trend. Many of these perfect 10 ratings have what seems like a person's first name followed by their last names initial. Names like SamI, Adam T, AnthonyC, GarretS, etc. It seems to me they are being used to blatantly up the user score of this very mediocre game. The gameplay is for the most part mindless as hordes of zombies just run straight at you. The default maps are fairly small and bland. The perk system is just a useless tool to make you keep playing longer, but has very little effect on the game besides just making killing things easier. I must say I bought this game on sale and yet I am still disappointed. Don't be fooled by these perfect 10 ratings, this game is far from perfect. After a few hours you have pretty much seen all it has to offer. After 3 hours I am tired of the game and will probably never play it again. But kudos to the developers for taking what was once a free mod and turning it into a retail game. You worked hard and it shows, but the blatant attempt to up the score by providing all of these perfect 10 ratings is pretty classless. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    A good zombie game,nothing too special,has multiplayer and solo but no campaign,a choice of charaters and quite a few cool maps,overall just a regular zombie first person shooter cant beat left for dead but can kill a few hours of boredom.
  18. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    The game isn't that good... it was pretty bad in my opinion. it's buggy and it has a lot of errors. the graphics are pretty bad, and the animations are terrible. i do like the slowmotion effects, and the game can be really fun with friends. overall, not good enough for an 7/8.
  19. Artery
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    Much Perks and Weapons, and much types of enemys. But after 2hours you have seen everything. This games garant only a mass of Zombies! You haven't to play tactical, not really. stay with some mates in a corner and blow all Zombies away. Maybe sometimes change your location. When I want play a Zombie game,then I play L4D! Its much better. For a low budget price you can buy it, but not Much Perks and Weapons, and much types of enemys. But after 2hours you have seen everything. This games garant only a mass of Zombies! You haven't to play tactical, not really. stay with some mates in a corner and blow all Zombies away. Maybe sometimes change your location. When I want play a Zombie game,then I play L4D! Its much better. For a low budget price you can buy it, but not for 20$!! For Players, whoes shoot without brain of Zombies with a lot a weapon, its the right game! But not for the rest! Expand
  20. BrianL
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    Great Game!..... for about a day. No real objective other then to level your guy up, no start or finish line, just endless killing of zombies. Gets boring pretty fast. Very hard game to solo.
  21. ChristopherB
    Aug 8, 2009
    5
    Killing Floor is a fun game to play. But it get boring after a little while due to they same thing as Counter Strike. You respawn at a place, kill zombies, by some guns, kill zombies and continue to the next wave. Graphics are okej 6/10. Id say for 20 bucks its okej.
  22. oliverg
    Oct 25, 2009
    5
    Well, if Left 4 Dead is a Hollywood Zombie film, then Killing Floor is a made for teevee, straight to dvd zombie film. It manages none of the dramatic tension, the feeling of playing a film that you get with Left 4 Dead. It's only got two voice actors in there. No women characters to play. Gameplay is repetative, and generic. It gets old fast. A huge range of weapons is a poor Well, if Left 4 Dead is a Hollywood Zombie film, then Killing Floor is a made for teevee, straight to dvd zombie film. It manages none of the dramatic tension, the feeling of playing a film that you get with Left 4 Dead. It's only got two voice actors in there. No women characters to play. Gameplay is repetative, and generic. It gets old fast. A huge range of weapons is a poor substitue for dramatic tension. It's too easy on anything below hard level. The Beserker class is waaay to overpowered. I could go on..... Expand
  23. HugoZ
    Oct 8, 2009
    5
    Killing floor is a good game for about a week, but then it gets dull. Not even more perks can overcome this. It's just the truth. Perhaps if the modding community gets their hands on it, it might just improve. But until the time that a group of excellent modders come, it will be a dull game. And now the "pay for extra skins" rubbish. It's what really ruined the game for me. I Killing floor is a good game for about a week, but then it gets dull. Not even more perks can overcome this. It's just the truth. Perhaps if the modding community gets their hands on it, it might just improve. But until the time that a group of excellent modders come, it will be a dull game. And now the "pay for extra skins" rubbish. It's what really ruined the game for me. I didn't buy killing floor so I can play a game which uses a "pay for more" policy. The sole reason I bought this game is because of it's incredibly cheap price tag. I would have been REALLY unhappy if it was the full 50 euros (steam rips us EU customers off, so it's 50 EUROS for us, yes). Expand
  24. ChrisS
    Nov 6, 2009
    6
    This game had great potential. What it excels in, is franatic gameplay with 5 others (or less) and can be enjoyed for a couple hours. There are unique zombies to kill each with abilities. You can relate this to Unreal Tournaments invasion, just alot slower and realistic. However, this game lacks a large amount of content. A few guns, a few levels a few characters, a few enemies. Theres This game had great potential. What it excels in, is franatic gameplay with 5 others (or less) and can be enjoyed for a couple hours. There are unique zombies to kill each with abilities. You can relate this to Unreal Tournaments invasion, just alot slower and realistic. However, this game lacks a large amount of content. A few guns, a few levels a few characters, a few enemies. Theres too many FEW things. The AI was poor in this game, you'll see zombies stock at some positions, waiting for them to approach, and the games replay value was at a medium-low standard. The concept was boring, kill the zombies each round, make it to the seller, and repeat. There are some perks for each level which make the leveling system pretty fun, but so far only 2 levels have been seen to be used widely among all players, with out anyone else using the others. Unfortunaltly killing floor did not meet expectations, the gameplay was a little dull although very fun while playing multiplayer (if your looking for a single player experience, dont bother). What you get is a mix of bad animations, Extremly low amount of content and replay value. This game wouldve been more suited for a 10$ game mark, but not 20 being that it looks more like a mod for a game rather then a game itself (understanding that it WAS a mod for UT, but this time it isnt) I do applaud tripwire for providing this game after many years, but you receive a small bang for your buck Expand
  25. AnonymousMC
    Jun 24, 2009
    5
    74? No its more like 50, way too repetitive, all you do is kill a bunch of zombies, no goals/objectives.The graphics look nice, it doesn't take a good comp to run it, but it gets boring after about 8 hours, i would not even buy it for the cheap price.
  26. SteveQ.
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    released late, ok I'll let it go, broken on release, come on guys WTF? That asside, maybe I had too high expectations for essentially a retail priced mod rerelease, but I still feel great dissapointment, I've seen people compare thsi game to l4d (as in KF being better guh) yet L4D is A List where as Killign Floor is the next big brother house mate, just some slag of a game it released late, ok I'll let it go, broken on release, come on guys WTF? That asside, maybe I had too high expectations for essentially a retail priced mod rerelease, but I still feel great dissapointment, I've seen people compare thsi game to l4d (as in KF being better guh) yet L4D is A List where as Killign Floor is the next big brother house mate, just some slag of a game it provides momentary entertainment which is ruined by atrocious VoIP (ok vent or TS helps) small unimaginative levels (London is my fave of the 4) and an aray of weapons that becoem boring fast, melel combat feels limp and flaily at the same time somehow, occassioanlyl interspersed by soem of the undeniably cool slow more gore, decapitaion, head explosion etc, that stuff uis enoyable and it is really all abotu the gore, its hollow and souless on on your own and often iritating with frinds perhaps because of my storng love of l4d and the fact that the slaggy KF took the razors edge off of good gamers I played with often that I was especcially iritated by it having bought it prerelease in times of econimic hardship, if this game was £4.99 I'd give it a 7. Expand
  27. HardcoreGamer
    Dec 29, 2009
    6
    This game is mediocre at best, should have been left a mod. If it falls into the $5 category, might want to give it a try then. Not as intuitive to set up a game with friends/Lan (use Valve as appears no in game menu options). Not real instructions, just thrown in and you need to figure out how to get to trader to buy additional weapons before time runs out and next wave of zombies is This game is mediocre at best, should have been left a mod. If it falls into the $5 category, might want to give it a try then. Not as intuitive to set up a game with friends/Lan (use Valve as appears no in game menu options). Not real instructions, just thrown in and you need to figure out how to get to trader to buy additional weapons before time runs out and next wave of zombies is inbound. User rating of 8.8 is very misleading, take into account WHEN this mod first came out. Expand
  28. Oct 13, 2010
    5
    Killing Floor is a repetitive but rewarding shooter experience, bringing an excellent level up system and good rewards for continual play. Unfortunateley the number of irritating bugs, such as random switching to 3rd person view on respawn, constant problems connecting to servers because of issues with steam and stuttery performance just to name a few, greatly hamper the overall qualityKilling Floor is a repetitive but rewarding shooter experience, bringing an excellent level up system and good rewards for continual play. Unfortunateley the number of irritating bugs, such as random switching to 3rd person view on respawn, constant problems connecting to servers because of issues with steam and stuttery performance just to name a few, greatly hamper the overall quality and experience of the game. Simple but in aspects of game play, well polished but the performance issues need to be addressed and sorted. Expand
  29. Feb 18, 2011
    5
    If you try to compare this game to L4D, you will be disappointed. It's definitely not a polished game, but does resemble a fairly decent coop survival shooter with subtle RPG elements. The game lacks continuity by requiring gun and ammo purchases between hordes of zombies. Several annoyances like the English accent players constantly yelling out "I'm reloading!" and the complete randomnessIf you try to compare this game to L4D, you will be disappointed. It's definitely not a polished game, but does resemble a fairly decent coop survival shooter with subtle RPG elements. The game lacks continuity by requiring gun and ammo purchases between hordes of zombies. Several annoyances like the English accent players constantly yelling out "I'm reloading!" and the complete randomness of zed time just kill the overall flow of the game. Expand
  30. May 10, 2011
    6
    No, I don't think it's possible to write a review about this game without mentioning L4D, so let me get that out of the way. Frankly, what we have here is a great game concept hamstrung by painfully repetitive game play. First, let's talk about the things to love: I loved being able to level up a character, pick a class appropriate for the team/level and have at the zombies. It was evenNo, I don't think it's possible to write a review about this game without mentioning L4D, so let me get that out of the way. Frankly, what we have here is a great game concept hamstrung by painfully repetitive game play. First, let's talk about the things to love: I loved being able to level up a character, pick a class appropriate for the team/level and have at the zombies. It was even more fun when they launched the "Christmas Patch" and I got to kill Nut Crackers, Santa and Pippi-Longstocking-in-a-Gas-Mask instead of the same old mangled zombie with radiation burns that we see in every game. Here's the bad news: the level design such that on the harder difficulties you had to be planted in the exact same spot where you were forced to camp and wait to kill the enemy with your back to a locked door or else you'd simply be overwhelmed. A normal coop game would take upward of an hour, and when you finally got to the big boss, he'd kill you in one shot before you even knew he was there...a little bit frustrating. The voice acting was distractingly terrible, and the character classes could have used a bit more balancing. When it is all said and done, the game has some elements that really make the game worth playing (for a little while), but ultimately needs to have some type of objectives (other than simple survival). A blend of L4D and Killing Floor would have tremendous potential and I'm hoping L4D3 goes in that direction! Expand
  31. Aug 10, 2011
    5
    I was extremely excited about Killing Floor. Im a big fan of cooperative first person, arena style, sci fi horror games. Killing Floor answered that for me. I played for many hours and enjoyed them, mostly at least. Killing floor offered a variety of weapons, a variety of characters and a variety of enemies. The game has a repetitive style such as counter strike. You do the same thing overI was extremely excited about Killing Floor. Im a big fan of cooperative first person, arena style, sci fi horror games. Killing Floor answered that for me. I played for many hours and enjoyed them, mostly at least. Killing floor offered a variety of weapons, a variety of characters and a variety of enemies. The game has a repetitive style such as counter strike. You do the same thing over and over, survive. It got very repetitive after awhile, shoot down specimens, fight for money, get to the trader rinse and repeat. The problem is the game lacked diversity in gameplay. It requires no skill, tactical style, thought just simple gun em' down gameplay. Now its more of an arcade style game but your stuck in the same situation over and over. Another poor aspect was the vocals, it was some of the worst and cheesiest ive heard. I mean hearing the patriarch taunting you is like hearing arnold Schwarzenegger's dialogue in kindergarten cop Many people can bash this game for being to repetitive or praise it to high heavens and bash the others but it falls in between. This game is not terrible but its far from great. Expand
  32. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    People love this game. Some people don't as much. To me, the combat is very stale, and the game is very repetitive. The mod support is nice, but there hasn't been very many high profile mods for it at all, and although the game recieves content updates , the gameplay isn't my cup of tea.
  33. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    Round-based zombie survival FPS with light RPG elements. You kill increasingly difficult zombie waves and purchase weapons & ammo between waves at a shop depending on the number and difficulty of your kills. There is a class system that you level up by performing certain tasks (headshots, healing team members, explosive damage, etc.) that give you better damage and eventually betterRound-based zombie survival FPS with light RPG elements. You kill increasingly difficult zombie waves and purchase weapons & ammo between waves at a shop depending on the number and difficulty of your kills. There is a class system that you level up by performing certain tasks (headshots, healing team members, explosive damage, etc.) that give you better damage and eventually better starting weapons, allowing you to play harder difficulties. Overall this is a competent game but it can get tedious with every map having similar strategies. Expand
  34. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    Killing floor is a game where you kill infected, which are pretty much zombies. Its incredibly fun to play with friends. However, the gameplay is nothing special, the graphics aren't anything to write home about, and it can easily become repetitive. There's a lack of diversity in guns and the classes are hardly balanced. It's cheap though, so if you and your buddy's are low on cash its aKilling floor is a game where you kill infected, which are pretty much zombies. Its incredibly fun to play with friends. However, the gameplay is nothing special, the graphics aren't anything to write home about, and it can easily become repetitive. There's a lack of diversity in guns and the classes are hardly balanced. It's cheap though, so if you and your buddy's are low on cash its a good go to game to get your zombie fix. Expand
  35. Jan 24, 2014
    7
    Here is my honest review of Killing floor. If you don't like it then I'm sorry you better look at a different reviewer. A lot of hardcore fans will probably hate me or flame me for this but I have to put out my honest thoughts.
    - Gameplay = The gun play is strong and does its job well. Sure it might not be as flexible as L4D's more fast-pace style and gun bunting ability. BUT this game
    Here is my honest review of Killing floor. If you don't like it then I'm sorry you better look at a different reviewer. A lot of hardcore fans will probably hate me or flame me for this but I have to put out my honest thoughts.
    - Gameplay = The gun play is strong and does its job well. Sure it might not be as flexible as L4D's more fast-pace style and gun bunting ability. BUT this game has its own fun mechanic which is "ZED Time." When you blow off a head of a specimen(The Enemy) you have chance of slowing down time which is very handy most of the time. You can pick off multiple enemies at once or kill that one pesky and annoying specimen out in the distance. It is a great way to make you feel like a strong badass especially if you use guns like the revolver or lever-action rifle. The two problems are on hard or lower difficulties it makes it really easy and reloading during ZED Time takes forever to reload making it drag to wait it out. The guns were nice but the lack of guns were a problem with its dated physics, although this is an old game so I can forgive this(Used to be a mod too). The gameplay can get tedious, be warned there is only horde mode for this game. There is Objective but not a lot of people play it and it isn't that good(The lack of ammo crates was the biggest problem). The perks are important in making your teammates live for another round. Some Perks need a lot of balancing especially when you get to a higher levels. But the perks take way too long raise and feels like a cheap ploy to increase replay value which it is. It should have been more levels and spread out perk benefits rather than packing them all together. Oh! and the Enemy A.I is pretty terrible but they are different deadly. You should play on smaller maps because it gets more intense and fun this way. But if you play on maps that a big such as Farm or Mountain Pass, you could tell the A.I and pathfinder is terrible. All they do is charge towards with little to no strategy. Some might charge behind you but that's because they spawned behind you or teleported behind you. Don't get me wrong, it is soo satisfying to blow off their heads, a true stress reliever. I wished there was more darker maps with new throwable items such as flash bangs to stun enemies and flares to temporarily lit up areas. The flashlights don't have much use even though the game has good dynamic lighting. 7/10 (Sure it is an old game but they sometimes update it so a lot of these problems could be fixed by patches or PROPER DLC).

    What the hell... metacritic is cutting my review in half. I apologize to you guys, I wish I can write more but this dumb website keeps cutting my review in half even though my review is only 4900 words. I put a lot of work in my reviews so I'll start writing less on my reviews here. As much as I want to put in every detail.
    Expand
  36. May 20, 2013
    6
    fun for a few hours but dull. it is a little boring after a while but the gameplay is engaging. lots of weapon but the game should not sell the weapons. the price for the game on steam is nesesary so that kept it from getting a 5 or a 4, along with the varaity of guns. one thing that is impressive too is that i accually felt scared playing alone, and the game is always tense
  37. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    It was a decent game few years back. Before that stupid DLC marathon. Literally becoming pay to win. Some weapons giving great advantages like the community weapon pack. Not only are the flare revolvers a must but the scythe has the widest range for berserker overall. The only thing that keeps me getting back to Killing Floor are the achievements other than that it can be fun with friends.It was a decent game few years back. Before that stupid DLC marathon. Literally becoming pay to win. Some weapons giving great advantages like the community weapon pack. Not only are the flare revolvers a must but the scythe has the widest range for berserker overall. The only thing that keeps me getting back to Killing Floor are the achievements other than that it can be fun with friends. I also hate the fact the community is nerfing some of the used to be best weapons that basically become useless. Pros always blabling how Hell on Earth is easy yet if i try to find servers most play either custom or userfriendly maps. Expand
  38. Apr 19, 2015
    6
    Killing Floor is a coop shooter where you find yourself shooting "specimens" which come at you in waves. If you survive until the end then you win. It's simply and fun for a while. Unfortunately, like most zombie games, it becomes repetitive quite quickly. The gameplay is solid and there isn't much to complain about here. You buy guns with money you gain from finishing waves and killingKilling Floor is a coop shooter where you find yourself shooting "specimens" which come at you in waves. If you survive until the end then you win. It's simply and fun for a while. Unfortunately, like most zombie games, it becomes repetitive quite quickly. The gameplay is solid and there isn't much to complain about here. You buy guns with money you gain from finishing waves and killing enemies and then use said guns to kill more baddies. However the game also has perks which you can level up by dealing damage with certain weapons or killing specific enemies. These perks give you huge boosts which drastically alter good of a job you can do. These perks also have insanely high requirements. This turns the game into a huge grind where you're just trying to level up perks so you even have a chance at surviving on higher difficulty levels. I don't think it helps the game at all and only adds to the repetitive nature. The game has a server browser which is nice, however teams only consist of 6 players, so lobbies fill up quick and it makes it a pain to try and play with friends unless one of you is able to host a server. If you don't host a server, plan on having other players join in as well. Overall I enjoyed my time with it but it was too repetitive to warrant a high score. Expand
  39. Apr 27, 2015
    7
    If this game would have more content, I could have given a real nice score. Something like 9? But this got to be a joke, 3 maps and 1 boss?

    So anyway, the game still reach 7 for me. The graphics are great and very dated. The sound effects are nice too but the music could have be better. For the gameplay, it does not reach the greatness of L4D2 imo but still we have something real good.
  40. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    I can really enjoy this game. Fun perks that I like to build up. The zombies are cool, and it's a neat game play. I can spend 30min-60mins playing.

    There are just those moments where I rage quit due to unfairness on some game mechanic issues. You can get stuck by zombie "grabs" or just overwhelmed with too many zombies, but it does at all feel nature--it just feels broken, and you never
    I can really enjoy this game. Fun perks that I like to build up. The zombies are cool, and it's a neat game play. I can spend 30min-60mins playing.

    There are just those moments where I rage quit due to unfairness on some game mechanic issues. You can get stuck by zombie "grabs" or just overwhelmed with too many zombies, but it does at all feel nature--it just feels broken, and you never feel like you have a fighting chance. The zombies spawns are random or something, and sometimes they end up spawning behind you, and you have no idea, and then you get raped. You have no sense of there the zombies are around you. There are no hit indicators, the random spawning, and I guess the directional audio isn't that good.

    It's a low budget game. You just have to accept that sometimes you will just quit because rage via game unfairness. So make sure you have a back up game to play when that happens.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Killing Floor is a zombie game that lacks brain and own ideas. In the main part it's simply a Left 4 Dead clone with boring maps and graphics. But Killing Floor's emphasis on tactical gameplay, the solid coop mode and the cheap prize make the game worth a look.
  2. Tripwire Interactives Killing Floor is what you would expect of a polished mod, but doesn't exceed expectations as a retail game. It's good, but unfortunately far from perfect. A nice addition to the survival-horror genre though, and it has an attractively cheap price tag.
  3. 75
    While the single-player experience is pretty much non-existent and there are still a large number of bugs that have to be contended with, there's enough of a foundation here for players to enjoy. Hop online and kill monsters for Queen and Country.