Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    45
    Neocore seems to have completely misunderstood what made King Arthur great. It's stripped out all the parts of the game that made it loveable and left a watered down, medieval Dawn of War II wannabe in its place. We just hope that Fallen Champions isn't an indication of what's to come from King Arthur 2.
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    45
    Ultimately though I found myself sat in front of my computer, scratching my unkempt beard and trying to answer the question: who is the game for?
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    42
    This is strictly a game for those who have run out of RTS games and have nothing to play until the Christmas games come out. There is probably ten bucks of gameplay in here, though.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    40
    If you haven't played King Arthur, then you won't really enjoy this a whole lot, and if you have played it you'll just think of how much better it is than this weird expansion. I recommend that you check out the original game if you haven't played it, and if you have played it you should just wait for King Arthur 2 to come out.
  5. Sep 30, 2011
    50
    This real time strategy game has stupid units, bad camera and clumsy combat.
  6. Sep 18, 2011
    50
    Overall, Fallen Champions could have been good. But I've taken a look at King Arthur: The Roleplaying Wargame, and found that this really is a bit of a stopgap game, something to keep the players happy between the first and the second. But this probably won't attract any new players, because the first missions are, with the exception of Lady Corighann's, pretty tedious, the CYOA sections could have used more work, and, there are more irritations than good points.
  7. Sep 7, 2011
    80
    Fallen Champion is a nice stand-alone digression for those who crave for King Arthur's imminent sequel and for whom are simply intrigued by this epic saga for the first time. Suggested to every gamer in search of some fresh strategy during this long summer.
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    Fallen Champions has some strong AI and has a lot to offer, mainly because every mission has to be played differently. Even though you'll get through it very fast, the challenging missions will keep you coming back for more. It is however a shame that there are no checkpoints to be found during the battles.
  9. Aug 31, 2011
    40
    King Arthur: Fallen Champions needs what it simply won't get -- varied units, improved AI, and some more thought placed into tactics and the utility of formations. I can't speak to the rest of the series, but unless you're a diehard fan, feel free to skip this one.
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    75
    Fallen Champions is a short and mostly sweet compression of many of the good elements in its King Arthur predecessor.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    5
    When I bought the expansion to King Arthur, the Roleplaying Wargame (a game I had enjoyed immensly despite its flaws) I thought it would be anWhen I bought the expansion to King Arthur, the Roleplaying Wargame (a game I had enjoyed immensly despite its flaws) I thought it would be an extra map or something that plays similar to the original. To my dismay, they decided to make it a completely different game. Now it's linear, with way too much quest text and way too rigid scenarios. I stopped playing after a few scenarios and gave up on it, it's just not nearly as fun as the original game.

    If only they'd make an expansion that plays like the original game, just a continuation of it rather than making something completely different. Bleh!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    It's a game somewhat like Rome Total War or Warhammer Dark Omen except that the units have more special abilities and the battles are heavilyIt's a game somewhat like Rome Total War or Warhammer Dark Omen except that the units have more special abilities and the battles are heavily scprited (missions). Before you can start any battle, you have to dig thru an endless sequence of branching dialogs which tell you the story (since I am not a keen reader I attempted to just skip all that rubbish to finally see the battles, but got stuck in looping branches meaning, you do have to read them which is pretty frustrating). Ok, then I tried two missions, one for the archer hero and one for the warrior one. The archer's first mission is ridiculous: every time an enemy partol sees you they run away and alert the whole map, bringing so many enemies to you that you can't win. Even if you leave the spot where the patrol saw you, the enemies will still find you anywhere. I gave up on this after 2 tries. The mission for the warrior puts you on the edge of the map, and the whole map seems to be surrounded by high mountains with no hope to get inside. The camera is locked to the units, you just can't view the field freely to see where you have to go. So, I gave up on that one, too. Frankly, I'd give this game a 0 since I couldn't play it. I did see the interesting abilities though (which i couldn't really test in battle). The 2D GUI of the game looks very dated though the models of soldiers in the units are insanely detailed. A very strange game with lots of wasted development effort, and definitely an unplayable one. Full Review »