Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    King Arthur 2 is a great game with many improvements. It's a good mixture of RPG elements and Total War tactical elements. A must-buy for every fan of the strategy games.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    89
    It's really a "diamond". The infinite options within the strategic map, the unique soundtrack brimming with symphonic choirs and the sheer "epicness" that accompanies your every move, all mark a game that will conquer the hearts of fantasy culture fans. [March 2012]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    80
    King Arthur makes a worthwhile comeback. Real-time strategy at heart, Arthur crosses genre lines effortlessly. Be it role-playing elements, text-based adventure or Total-War-esque battles, King Arthur delivers on all fronts. The end result is an addictive and surprisingly well-balanced hybrid. [March 2012]
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II is a good strategy game aiming at the same quality of the Total War series even if a little bit on the easy side. Sadly it suffered a launch full of bugs that made it almost unenjoyable.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II is the most credible opponent to the Total War series: thanks to its RPG elements, it's able to create an original gameplay and an interesting dark version of of the legends based on King Arthur. Only some technical flaws prevent this game from touching the excellence.
  6. CD-Action
    Feb 14, 2012
    80
    RPG elements, coherent story with twists, exciting battles spiced up with magic and great visuals make King Arthur II a game that's hard to put aside. [March 2012, p.70]
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    King Arthur II improves many aspects of the formula that made the first chapter a valuable title. Even if it's still far from RTS like Total War this game is a great and deep dark fantasy tale full of big monsters, powerful fireballs and great heroes.
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    77
    It's light on the strategy, but an intriguing dark fantasy tale and RPG elements lift King Arthur II above the average. [May 2012, p.76]
  9. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    A good strategy game which fans of the first game will like, despite not evolving too much the formula of the original. Those who didn't like the first game won't like this sequel either, but it offers a much more polished gameplay, great management and strategy options, and it makes us feels inside the legend.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    KA1 was very much a diamond in the rough. Its game mechanics were rough but beneath those was a great concept which, at times, really managedKA1 was very much a diamond in the rough. Its game mechanics were rough but beneath those was a great concept which, at times, really managed to shine through. KA2 is less of the same. The concept is the same. You play a character who builds up an army and recruits more characters. The game mixes RPG and RTS to create a hybrid. Unfortunately the 2nd iteration does not do as good a job as the first. KA2 doesnt really need a player, it would be far better as a graphic novel such is its linearity. Although you can still do research, assign skill points and build buildings the whole lot from top to bottom has been stripped bare leaving very little of interest for the player to do. The units upgrade automatically at certain points in the game. They still level up giving you the choice of a single stat upgrade (and ocasionally a skill) but you dont really notice these in the battles. Like wise you level up your heroes. They come in three flavours, a leader, a warrior and a mage (differently named) and if you have two of the same, then regardless of upgrades, they will perform similarly making the upgrades almost obselete. The research is just a bunch of stat upgrades with a few nice things thrown in and the building is incredibly dumbed down. One nice touch is the morality meter which luckily hasnt changed. Infact its almost identical in every way to the first game. The battles, similarly to the first, are ok, but do not compare to those of Rome or medieval 2 Total war which is their natural comparison. The graphics are truly stunning from the interface and map to the battles. But with the battles you wont notice them because you will be looking from so high up they will appear as splodges on the screen with no easy way (apart from tiny banners) to tell your units (or enemy units) apart. The text adventure parts of the game are fun but its often hard to know if the option you chose is actually what you intended to do. All in all this game is incredibly average. Its fun, for short periods at a time, but the story its trying to tell (which is not bad) deserves a far better game to tell it. And this does not do the first game justice at all. Given that this is quite a year for tactical and strategy games, i think i would advise avoiding this and waiting to see if the future games offer a deeper and more enjoyable experience. Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    A nice mix between a RPG and RTS. Just like the first King Arthur game.
    Interesting setting, rich lore and deep gameplay.
    But then there is
    A nice mix between a RPG and RTS. Just like the first King Arthur game.
    Interesting setting, rich lore and deep gameplay.


    But then there is the technical state of King Arthur II. Crashes, bugs and game breaking glitches will accompany you you throughout the entire time you spend with this RTS.
    These are only topped by the performance issues. Unless you have an absolute high end machine (possibly even then), King Arthur 2 will deliver FPS way below the acceptable 30 frame limit. Dropping down to less than 20 frames regularly during the larger battles, making said skirmishes unplayable at times.

    Just like its predecessor this promising game is held back by a desolate technical state.
    King Arthur II is an unfinished product, a work in progress (that may or may not get fixed with upcoming patches), but ultimately not recommendable to anyone in its current state.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Great game with many improvements. I love the quests, they are well-written and fun, now there's a voice over on every single quest which isGreat game with many improvements. I love the quests, they are well-written and fun, now there's a voice over on every single quest which is really helpful as I don't really like reading that much and I really like how the guys expanded the diplomacy options since the first game. Now you can choose from many different alternatives and it definitely adds to the game. The battles feel a lot more balanced and you are not forced anymore to take those locations on the maps, it is still worth it though because they can give you really cool spells like Lightning Bolt or Crystal Shards or they can boost your shield and protect you. I especially like the flying beasts and the new magic shield and that I can break enemy spells. My biggest issue with the first game was that the enemy hero could kill my strongest unit in no time with a good spell, but now I can boost my shield and it does not happen again if I pay attention. So I really like the game and I think it is fun. It still has a couple of bugs though, so I can't give it a 10 yet, but nothing that can't be patched in the next few weeks and it is still fun even with those around. Full Review »