User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 134
  2. Negative: 17 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AmonB
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Text-based adventures, yeah! Nowadays when I read 'RPG elements' it usually means you can add points to skills and here we have some true oldschool stuff. Good ol' 'Defender of the Crown' breeze. I am surprised no one (haven't seen it in any review) mentioned HoMM series as an inspiration. Though the TW associations are clear, we have also one great Text-based adventures, yeah! Nowadays when I read 'RPG elements' it usually means you can add points to skills and here we have some true oldschool stuff. Good ol' 'Defender of the Crown' breeze. I am surprised no one (haven't seen it in any review) mentioned HoMM series as an inspiration. Though the TW associations are clear, we have also one great stronghold to manage and build something in, armies turn idle without a hero.. I would give it 10 if not for jumping difficulty level and somewhat broken auto-resolve, but that's me. Expand
  2. GcGeos
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    When I started to play this game I said: nice TW clone whit magic. I just continue, making a few battles more, completing the tutorial chapter, making some more quests, got some new heroes, gathering experience, give them wives, play some more battles, and... I watch my clock... OMG 15 hours continuous playing! King Arthur is a really deep, entertaining, and unique game, not a clone at When I started to play this game I said: nice TW clone whit magic. I just continue, making a few battles more, completing the tutorial chapter, making some more quests, got some new heroes, gathering experience, give them wives, play some more battles, and... I watch my clock... OMG 15 hours continuous playing! King Arthur is a really deep, entertaining, and unique game, not a clone at all. Battlemaps are beautiful, the soldiers and heroes detailed, wearing really heavy fantasy plates... I love it so much. I love the music tracks, and the sounds are also solid. The gameplay it Expand
  3. RanbirC
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Great game. Fantastically built setting that isn't Tolkien inspired for a change. All those niggling issues of "difficulty" and "pacing" can be settled with a good reading of the informative manual and tutorial. Of course the developers have already listened to the customers and provided OPTIONAL fixes to some of the aspects of the game. This is what gives the game a good score. Some Great game. Fantastically built setting that isn't Tolkien inspired for a change. All those niggling issues of "difficulty" and "pacing" can be settled with a good reading of the informative manual and tutorial. Of course the developers have already listened to the customers and provided OPTIONAL fixes to some of the aspects of the game. This is what gives the game a good score. Some people thing archery is overpowered, now you can nerf it in options. Those that feel it is just right don't find a nerf forced upon them. Great story that makes you feel happy again to live through the classic myths and legends of old Britannia. Battles are more fun and visually exciting than the rather tactically tedious formalities of total war. I recommend this game. Expand
  4. AdamP
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    A really solid game with a fantastic atmosphere and setting thanks to the tasty audio and visual presentation. The unique take on the arthurian myth will leave you constantly wanting more, and the dynamic nature of the game world and the 4 possible orientations you may choose make sure you don't sit through the same game twice. There are some rough edges, mostly in overworld game A really solid game with a fantastic atmosphere and setting thanks to the tasty audio and visual presentation. The unique take on the arthurian myth will leave you constantly wanting more, and the dynamic nature of the game world and the 4 possible orientations you may choose make sure you don't sit through the same game twice. There are some rough edges, mostly in overworld game balance when your enemies go through impossible technological advancements and just simply overpower you, or when you're showered with half a dozen random side quests all over the land every turn, but overall this is a very good game and the developer support has been fantastic so far, so it might very well become even better. If you ever wanted a crossover between Total War and Mark of Chaos, here you have it. Expand
  5. Chaz
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Do not take notice to gamespots biased review. This game easily deserves a 8.5 - 9 remember this is a stratergy game not a grab all units and click on enemy type game. If you enjoy a challenging stratergy game then give this game a chance. If however you lack a patient and tactical mind I would suggest that perhaps this game is not for you
  6. M13
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Best game I've played in years. There were a few problems with it when I first bought it, but Neocore is patching the game as fast as we can complain. So it's near perfect now and keeps getting better.
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    The blending of RPG and RTS has never been done so well. The text based quests, item management, skill point/distribution, and morality meter will easily satisfy any RPG lover. While the micromanagement, army strategy, army placement, unit bonuses/weaknesses, and territory management will easily satisfy any RTS lover. Not to mention the game runs smoothly, and looks and sounds fantastic.The blending of RPG and RTS has never been done so well. The text based quests, item management, skill point/distribution, and morality meter will easily satisfy any RPG lover. While the micromanagement, army strategy, army placement, unit bonuses/weaknesses, and territory management will easily satisfy any RTS lover. Not to mention the game runs smoothly, and looks and sounds fantastic. The best of both worlds, wrapped into one under-appreciated package. A fantastic experience. Expand
  8. JamesM
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    Very surprised by the current metascore for this game which prompted me to chime in with my $0.02. I'd personally rate this game a 9.0 for it's superb gameplay, graphics, & sounds/music combo. When it was released to the public, it had bugs causing crashes, and several other gameplay issues - all of which were quickly fixed with 2 recent patches. Fortunately, i just recently Very surprised by the current metascore for this game which prompted me to chime in with my $0.02. I'd personally rate this game a 9.0 for it's superb gameplay, graphics, & sounds/music combo. When it was released to the public, it had bugs causing crashes, and several other gameplay issues - all of which were quickly fixed with 2 recent patches. Fortunately, i just recently purchased the game, so i didn't have to deal with those issues myself. For those interested in fantasy/rpg/strategy/, you are missing out bigtime if you don't give this game a chance if basing it on it's current metascore of 79! This is my first time posting here, and was inspired to do so because of the terrible score it received! A complete disservice to a great game! Expand
  9. Nathan
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    The fantasy RTS with Total War system that I was waiting for
  10. DougH
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    A very fun game, easy to recommend to anyone with some strategy game experience (no, a console game is not a strategy game). Many hours of fun to be had. Beautiful atmosphere, really brings the legends of Arthur to life. Sadly, archers are wildly overpowered and armies are terribly slow to recover troops if you don't use the machinegun archer exploit. Fantastic spell system, but A very fun game, easy to recommend to anyone with some strategy game experience (no, a console game is not a strategy game). Many hours of fun to be had. Beautiful atmosphere, really brings the legends of Arthur to life. Sadly, archers are wildly overpowered and armies are terribly slow to recover troops if you don't use the machinegun archer exploit. Fantastic spell system, but battles can start to feel a bit sameish and quests can be cryptic - my least favourite was the one with a time limit that wasn't specified. Buy it and love it, but needs balancing to be really great. Expand
  11. MarkC
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    THE competition for Total War, to be brutally honest, they way TW is going at the moment this ones got the edge. Beautiful to look at, great campaign, great battles, very well woven in with a storyline that surprisingly i actually love. Only downside is that there are often little mistakes in grammer and spelling but i think they deserve to be let off for that because its a brilliant game.
  12. KyleB
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I have no idea how it scored so low from the critics. I'll break down my review in the same fashion as IGN. Presentation -10- Wonderful graphics, Music and attention to small details envelop every facet of the game. It's so easy to get lost in the world which is always key in making a deep and engaging world. Graphics -9- Beautiful and inspired art direction here, Amazing game. I have no idea how it scored so low from the critics. I'll break down my review in the same fashion as IGN. Presentation -10- Wonderful graphics, Music and attention to small details envelop every facet of the game. It's so easy to get lost in the world which is always key in making a deep and engaging world. Graphics -9- Beautiful and inspired art direction here, particularly in the overworld. The battle leave something to be desired, but I underatnd that the graphics would have to be scaled back in order to run the massive battles smoothly. The coloring of the overworld along with the sparkling water in 4 different seasons always makes you smile. Sound -10- I've said it before: the music is amazing. I cant remember the last time I've been so taken by a soundtrack. Very fanstastic feel to it. I liked the battle music less, but it's still fitting. Also the victory fanfare is great to hear at the end of a tough fight. Gameplay -10 / 7 - I had to give the gameplay 2 separate scores because there are 2 separate modes of gampley. The turn-based overworld/conquering gameplay is majestically done with a level of depth that I have never seen before. The battle's however dont seem very well thought out. Archers dominate battles and they almost never take place at the capture points (where you would get specific abilities if you were in range of). Lasting appeal -10- The game has incredible replay value, not to mention multi player. The fact that they you can deviate so dramatically in the "morality wheel" makes for a defferent game each time you play. Overall Score -10!- A must-have that will go down in history as one of the most underrated games of 2009 Expand
  13. DanielY
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Great game with lots of depth and a challenging difficulty level. Love the RPG and RTS combination. Completely hooked!
  14. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Do not get into this game if you are looking for a casual RTS or RPG - or else you will be disappointed as the other negative reviewers are. King Arthur (KA) starts out easy, but doesn't hold any punches as it puts you at the helm of managing a kingdom and a fledgling army. The depth to this game is ridiculous. For example, if I go against an army strong with Archers, I would cast a fogDo not get into this game if you are looking for a casual RTS or RPG - or else you will be disappointed as the other negative reviewers are. King Arthur (KA) starts out easy, but doesn't hold any punches as it puts you at the helm of managing a kingdom and a fledgling army. The depth to this game is ridiculous. For example, if I go against an army strong with Archers, I would cast a fog spell to limit their range. Not to be outdone, the enemy knight will cast a dragon eye spell to improve the sight of the archers. Then to counter that, I would cast a night spell, changing the battlefield to night and adversely affecting all units... except for my Unseelie archers who have nightvision. KA doesn't tell you any of this. KA doesn't hold your hand and say, "This is the best strategy." KA simple throws you to the sharks and has you develop your own strategy to dominate the battlefield, quelling uprisings, and managing quests. This is a complex game with a steep learning curve, and will challenge the best RTS/RPG player. NOTE: I see a lot of complaints about the arrows - a lightly armored soldier will go down if he takes an arrow. There is a setting that changes this. Similarly, at the beginning of the game, the enemy armies will be more experienced than your green recruits, and you will have to use terrain to your advantage to overcome them. Expand
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Deep and enthralling gameplay. Doesn't have the budget of the Total War games, but it still has gameplay to rival that series. It also brings role playing, magic and mythical units to the Total War style gameplay and these are skilfully used to enhance the gameplay experience by giving it more depth and originality. I bought the base game on special offer from Steam for Ã
  16. rone
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    What a great game, so much more fun than the TW games. I hope more people discover this game and the developer goes ahead with planned expansions and MP.
  17. keefersm
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    not going to give a long winded review, all im gonna say is the game is very fun, ive played it a lot lately and most games dont usually keep my attention like this one has
  18. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, better than the sequel by quite a margin. Less bugs, and the province resource system is quite fun. The battles in this game are similar to "Total War" but with a fantasy setting. The units are not balanced, but that's a GOOD thing, as long as you're intelligent enough to figure out the best ways to make a good army. I absolutely loved the teleport spell, it made the finalGreat game, better than the sequel by quite a margin. Less bugs, and the province resource system is quite fun. The battles in this game are similar to "Total War" but with a fantasy setting. The units are not balanced, but that's a GOOD thing, as long as you're intelligent enough to figure out the best ways to make a good army. I absolutely loved the teleport spell, it made the final battles so much fun, even though my army was way overpowered :). The game started out hard, then became easier and easier as long as you took the right paths. My only gripe was the victory conditions in the battles, they did that single thing better in the sequel (by removing the capture the flag victory condition). Expand
  19. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    King Arthur has an appealing mix of rpg elements, management, and total war-style combat. There's plenty of elements to keep you interested until the end and maybe the extra campaign dlc. There are some issues though. Even on the beginner setting the difficulty sky rockets about half way through and makes for a daunting thing to see some of the enemy armies vastly overpower you in bothKing Arthur has an appealing mix of rpg elements, management, and total war-style combat. There's plenty of elements to keep you interested until the end and maybe the extra campaign dlc. There are some issues though. Even on the beginner setting the difficulty sky rockets about half way through and makes for a daunting thing to see some of the enemy armies vastly overpower you in both statistics and in battle. This might go with the rpg style of the game and it would be fine of there weren't any time limits to some of the quests and if enemies stayed put rather than continue to poke at your under-powered units or take over your land. This makes for a game that will definitely be better suited to the people with some experience with rts as the sense of urgency later on combined with the difficulty will either make for a thrilling or frustrating game. But despite all this it's satisfying to gather your knights of the round table and watch them develop along with your army and dominate the land as either a rightful king or a tyrant as well as either a believer of "the old faith" or a christian. If you can get past some of the difficult aspects of the game you'll get something that is not only unique but compelling and fun as well. Expand
  20. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent. The game is NOT unbalanced, the AI is NOT unbeatable and the camera is NOT that bad (go to options and adjust it). Finally, here is a game where tactics is a necessity, the other army is stronger so think your way around it, stratagize! The plots are interesting and the quests are kinda fun, nice to mix it up once in awhile, the morality and religion is a nice touchThis game is excellent. The game is NOT unbalanced, the AI is NOT unbeatable and the camera is NOT that bad (go to options and adjust it). Finally, here is a game where tactics is a necessity, the other army is stronger so think your way around it, stratagize! The plots are interesting and the quests are kinda fun, nice to mix it up once in awhile, the morality and religion is a nice touch and the unit diversity is nice. The graphics are pretty good but the only problem is that there are too many revolts, hard to keep the masses pleased (this is only a minor complaint) yet all in all the game is extremely enjoyable. Collapse
  21. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    This game caught my eye and it did not disappoint. With RPG elements of the campaign affecting your kingdom and armies and personal choices affecting your knights, this game has a lot to offer. Some people have complained about the text based side quests but they aren't terribly heavy with text and are a fun break which provide moral dilemmas and puzzles. It's possible to pick atThis game caught my eye and it did not disappoint. With RPG elements of the campaign affecting your kingdom and armies and personal choices affecting your knights, this game has a lot to offer. Some people have complained about the text based side quests but they aren't terribly heavy with text and are a fun break which provide moral dilemmas and puzzles. It's possible to pick at various parts of the game, but this game is FUN. I've had more fun with this game than any other game I've played in a long time, and I play a lot of games on a regular basis. Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    I have this game for a very long time. When i bought it i was overwhelmed from the difficulty of the game (i've tried 3 times, one after the other, to play the campaign but there was a moment when i couldn't proceed any longer without losing). I saw some people saying the same thing and i was wondering if there are people out there who finished it. Recently i gave it another chance and iI have this game for a very long time. When i bought it i was overwhelmed from the difficulty of the game (i've tried 3 times, one after the other, to play the campaign but there was a moment when i couldn't proceed any longer without losing). I saw some people saying the same thing and i was wondering if there are people out there who finished it. Recently i gave it another chance and i see clearly that i was wrong. The game needs a little bit thorough tactics and thinking if you want to keep up with your enemies. When you stabilize the situation with your provinces, you grow stronger and stronger, it's almost a piece of cake after that. I'm glad i gave it another chance. Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Keeps the wonderful open world nature of the total war games throwing in superior rpg elements with both scripted and random quests combined with a far more fleshed out leveling system for heros and units.

    Suffers from very simple combat mechanics compared to total war (with a lack of moral fatigue and much less effective counter units) If you loved the natural storys that emerged as
    Keeps the wonderful open world nature of the total war games throwing in superior rpg elements with both scripted and random quests combined with a far more fleshed out leveling system for heros and units.

    Suffers from very simple combat mechanics compared to total war (with a lack of moral fatigue and much less effective counter units) If you loved the natural storys that emerged as you played total war but thought it would be vastly improved by additional rpg elements not to mention a fantasy setting then this is the game for you.
    Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Good game. I am enjoying it a lot. You can read all the good stuff in other reviews (and i agree with most of them), so i'll jump to the things which were not really in harmony with moi:
    1. I like the tactical part of the game, but the strategical part was a little tedious to me: the camera control is kind of flimsy, and i could never get the right view of the battle field. It is one
    Good game. I am enjoying it a lot. You can read all the good stuff in other reviews (and i agree with most of them), so i'll jump to the things which were not really in harmony with moi:
    1. I like the tactical part of the game, but the strategical part was a little tedious to me: the camera control is kind of flimsy, and i could never get the right view of the battle field. It is one thing to lead 4 formations, and a total different story with 16. Basically, in combat, you need to take control of several key points on a land, and keep your soldiers' morale by defeating enemy legions. Like i mentioned to me, it is somewhat of a headache to control 16 regiments, while the camera does not help, and the interface lacks many useful features and shortcut keys (selecting all soldiers with the same ability, and so on). But then again, the combat is enjoyable, and satisfying. 2. Auto Battle. Auto Battle (for obvious reasons) in aimed against the player, and it doesn't seem like it is taking into consideration Hero's special abilities and spells. The reason is of course to promote "manual" battle since this is a huge part of the game, after all. 3. Some in-game access menus are awkward (like the word "awkward" itself). City access menus, army management. They require you to get used to.
    Otherwise very nice game, with elements of RPG, Adventure (you get word-quests), strategy and tactics (Heroes of Might and Magic come to mind). Enjoying it.
    Expand
  25. Jul 13, 2011
    0
    This game is excellent. The game is NOT unbalanced, the AI is NOT unbeatable and the camera is NOT that bad (go to options and adjust it). Finally, here is a game where tactics is a necessity, the other army is stronger so think your way around it, stratagize! The plots are interesting and the quests are kinda fun, nice to mix it up once in awhile, the morality and religion is a nice touchThis game is excellent. The game is NOT unbalanced, the AI is NOT unbeatable and the camera is NOT that bad (go to options and adjust it). Finally, here is a game where tactics is a necessity, the other army is stronger so think your way around it, stratagize! The plots are interesting and the quests are kinda fun, nice to mix it up once in awhile, the morality and religion is a nice touch and the unit diversity is nice. The graphics are pretty good but the only problem is that there are too many revolts, hard to keep the masses pleased (this is only a minor complaint) yet all in all the game is extremely enjoyable. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 9, 2010
    92
    Like so few games before, it King Arthur - The RPG has managed to make many an early morning "quick game" turn into a late night session of "just one more turn".
  2. Sound in the game is superbly done, the music sound track fits the look and feel of the game. With sweeping grand music and drumming beats fit for the grand epic adventure that the game is. So too is the voice acting, with flair and conviction and an earnest truth ringing in the words.
  3. Arthurian role playing is superior to the hit-and-miss strategizing in this hybrid epic about legendary Britain.