Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1094 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizableImmerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    It may lack the precision of, say Witcher 2's combat, but it makes for a style that can be picked up in seconds, customised to your own particular style of play and crowned with impressive arcade-style finishes... Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a triumph that makes the prospect of a future MMO based on the same world and engine all the more enticing.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    For all of these drawbacks, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an intriguing, good-looking, game that has absolutely brought a new spin to the RPG genre.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The battles feel like the ones from Darksiders, the dialogues remind of Bioware titles, and the world wants to be as big and multifarious as Skyrim. Reckoning gets this mixture just about right, but misses its evident types in any discipline. I had fun anyway, which is mainly due to the cool talent system and the fascinating tale. Whoever lets oneself into it, receives a successful action-role-playing game that has found its place exactly between linear story-nuggets (Dragon Age) and open-world adventures (Skyrim).
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    Reckoning provides many hours of good, solid fun based around character development and skill progression. Those looking for a deeply immersive experience should probably look elsewhere, but don't be surprised if your Civic runs nice and smooth while the other guy is busy patching the crap out of his Ferrari.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to said for visuals these days though, and having played the PC version extensively we're not sure we could then go to the console with a neutral mind-set. Swings and Roundabouts, as they say, but Reckoning is a good game all round and well worth getting – no matter the platform.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Fast and flashy combat in a shallow fantasy world. For the solo MMO player only. [Apr 2012, p.62]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 358
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easyKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easy to pick up, difficult to master, wildly flexible and just plain fun, in a way that has yet to be seen in the genre. The world is accessible and vast, offering genre fans plenty to sink their teeth into. One gets the sense that they are watching an entire world unfold before them, one rich with history and lore and life. Amalur opens itself up to the player in a way that is both familiar and refreshing, then empowers the player to do incredible things. 38 Studios and Big Huge Games have created a world worth saving, and they have given us some pretty damn cool tools with which to get the job done. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur is absolutely brilliant!! It manages to give me a huge open world,without that feeling of aimlessness.a combat system thatKingdoms of Amalur is absolutely brilliant!! It manages to give me a huge open world,without that feeling of aimlessness.a combat system that is so damn fluid and dynamic that it puts EVERY,yes I said every RPG to utter shame. and boat loads of great quests that are interesting and FUN. People tend to forget that games are about fun......and this has 200hrs of it. I am going to give you people some brutal honesty here. People that rate this game low haven't played it or are silly fanboys with their panties in a bunch, that hold irrational allegiances to their game of choice and feel they are betraying said game by enjoying something else. GROW THE HELL UP ALREADY. I love skyrim, LOVE Baldurs Gate 1,2. I love the witcher1,2 and YES I love this too. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    After several hours in, I think this is better than Skyrim. Granted they are different games but the story combat and quests are quite a bitAfter several hours in, I think this is better than Skyrim. Granted they are different games but the story combat and quests are quite a bit better. I love the art and of course, can't forget the loot. The combat is a cross between Fable and God of War. The loot and questing system reminds me of World of Warcraft. As far as people saying it is easy, try hard mode. The devs are working on a way to improve the camera so I am not worried that much about that. In fact the camera was only a minor complaint because you get used to it after a while. Anyway, the game is my favorite game to be released in a very long time. Any RPG fan should pick this up. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    I'm 20 hours into the game, and I am having a blast. It is a classic RPG with an updated (and awesome!) combat system, and what makes it soI'm 20 hours into the game, and I am having a blast. It is a classic RPG with an updated (and awesome!) combat system, and what makes it so enjoyable is that it knows what it is and doesn't try to be something else. There are even some wonderful moments of self-effacing humor when the game pokes fun at itself and the genre as a whole. I only give it an 8 (which is actually a very good score coming from me) because of two issues: 1) I wish I could zoom the camera out. This is a common complaint, and probably the biggest problem with the game. Most of the time, when I'm just running around, it isn't an issue (except that I can't properly appreciate all the attention to detail that went into the backgrounds!). But in combat, it can actually become detrimental. I'd really like to be able to pull back and get a more tactical view of the situation. 2) I really, really wish there were hotkeys to access the inventory and quest screens immediately from any other screen. And on a related note (issue 2.5, I suppose), the inventory setup is clunky and a bit annoying. Perhaps it works better for console users, but I'd prefer being able to see a list of all my items immediately upon entering the inventory screen instead of having to navigate through a menu system. But I'd put up with the inventory clunkiness if I just had a hotkey! Also, the voice acting isn't the best. It isn't terrible, but it isn't great either. There are times when the reading of a particular line (the way the person says it) is just plain wrong, and as an actor/director in RL, that drives me nuts. But unlike, say, Mass Effect or DA:Origins, this is not a character-driven story, so I can forgive the lack of attention in that area. The real treat, story-wise, is in reading every little thing you come across. This is a lore-driven game, so if you don't have the patience for that, you will end up feeling like you're just running around killing stuff for no reason. As for those who have complained that this is just a "single-player MMO," that's not an entirely inaccurate description. But I don't think there's anything wrong with that. That's what RPGs have always been, in a way. All in all, this game is just good old-fashioned RPG fun with fantastic combat mechanics. To the developers, I say, "Job well done." Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    7
    Amalur is a good RPG, not great, due to a few flaws. Mainly the lack of visual expression on the character's faces, not to mention the factAmalur is a good RPG, not great, due to a few flaws. Mainly the lack of visual expression on the character's faces, not to mention the fact that yours is also mute, though the voice acting is pretty good.
    The World is quite vast, the History and the Lore is certainly there, although for some it might be too much too soon, after Skyrim and The Witcher 2.
    In terms of gameplay, this game is intuitive, close to what the Fable has done lately, the lack of challenge included, for those who seek it.
    For a game that is supposed to establish a new rpg franchise, it's a job done. Though if it is destined to be an MMO, well meh... too bad!
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    soooo boring... i played like 20 hours... and still bored... weak char customization.. small skill tree,, isn't a Rpg game.. is a casualsoooo boring... i played like 20 hours... and still bored... weak char customization.. small skill tree,, isn't a Rpg game.. is a casual game.. is not the worst game... but still have a lot of aspects to improve... the story is fine... you are the Nobody who is the best of the best, born to be god... .. but the game is weak... the strong point is the fighting system and visual fx... but even that is repetitive Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2016
    0
    This is the absolute worst game I have played so far in my life. I want to be entirely clear: I got this game as a gift from a friend, and IThis is the absolute worst game I have played so far in my life. I want to be entirely clear: I got this game as a gift from a friend, and I really WANTED to like it. I went in with optimism, prepared to look on the bright side and try to see whatever my friend saw in this game that she liked. But I found absolutely nothing of any redeeming quality whatsoever; This is one of the few games where I absolutely DREADED having to play it - and after I stopped playing, I would literally have more fun sitting in my chair, doing nothing, than I had playing the game that session.

    "Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning" is a tiresome slog of a game. It's colours are so bright and garish that it never failed to give me a headache. Every environment was essentially a room or a hallway, with some trees and water, surrounded on all sides by blatantly artificial impassable cliff faces. Every environment was like that, a field, or a swamp, or a forest, sunken into some kind of canyon, for no goddamn reason but to railroad the player, and to make sure they can only go in the direction that the devs point them. It looks ugly and incompetent, and reeks of the worst fantasy-flavoured corridor shooters that the mid-to-late aughts could spit out.

    The NPCs are bland, boring and empty, and come equipped with obnoxious, bright red exclamation points that hover over their heads to single them out as quest-givers, shattering any immersion the player could have had, and singing from the hilltops KoA:R's legacy as a failed MMORPG, repackaged as a single player game. The combat is dull and terribly easy; I was able to get through it by literally just mashing the attack button and nothing else through every random encounter - encounters, by the way, with the same three cookie-cutter enemies, repeated ad nauseam through the whole length of the game.

    The story and lore and writing is patched together out of the same generic, warmed-over Tolkienisms and power fantasies that plague the rest of the fantasy genre, coupled with some pseudo-philosophical tripe about the player character being able to "choose their own destiny" and being "free from the shackles of fate." Why? Don't ask why. The game holds no answer for you; The only conceivable answer is simply because you are the player character, and the player character has to have super powers, right?

    I can't stress this enough: I can see absolutely no reason why any person on this sordid Earth would ever, ever enjoy "Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning." Please take my advice, that no matter what you enjoy, or what kind of person you are, and no matter how masochistic your tendencies, there is absolutely no reason to ever purchase this game. It has nothing for you. You deserve **** better.
    Expand

See all 358 User Reviews