Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1020 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizableImmerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    It may lack the precision of, say Witcher 2's combat, but it makes for a style that can be picked up in seconds, customised to your own particular style of play and crowned with impressive arcade-style finishes... Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a triumph that makes the prospect of a future MMO based on the same world and engine all the more enticing.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    For all of these drawbacks, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an intriguing, good-looking, game that has absolutely brought a new spin to the RPG genre.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The battles feel like the ones from Darksiders, the dialogues remind of Bioware titles, and the world wants to be as big and multifarious as Skyrim. Reckoning gets this mixture just about right, but misses its evident types in any discipline. I had fun anyway, which is mainly due to the cool talent system and the fascinating tale. Whoever lets oneself into it, receives a successful action-role-playing game that has found its place exactly between linear story-nuggets (Dragon Age) and open-world adventures (Skyrim).
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    Reckoning provides many hours of good, solid fun based around character development and skill progression. Those looking for a deeply immersive experience should probably look elsewhere, but don't be surprised if your Civic runs nice and smooth while the other guy is busy patching the crap out of his Ferrari.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to said for visuals these days though, and having played the PC version extensively we're not sure we could then go to the console with a neutral mind-set. Swings and Roundabouts, as they say, but Reckoning is a good game all round and well worth getting – no matter the platform.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Fast and flashy combat in a shallow fantasy world. For the solo MMO player only. [Apr 2012, p.62]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 352
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easyKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easy to pick up, difficult to master, wildly flexible and just plain fun, in a way that has yet to be seen in the genre. The world is accessible and vast, offering genre fans plenty to sink their teeth into. One gets the sense that they are watching an entire world unfold before them, one rich with history and lore and life. Amalur opens itself up to the player in a way that is both familiar and refreshing, then empowers the player to do incredible things. 38 Studios and Big Huge Games have created a world worth saving, and they have given us some pretty damn cool tools with which to get the job done. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Yes there are a few shortcomings: like limited quicksaves, inability to name your saved game files the way you want, the camera can be veryYes there are a few shortcomings: like limited quicksaves, inability to name your saved game files the way you want, the camera can be very annoying, lipsyncing and a few questbugs. They are however erased by the beauty of the world they created, the awesome visceral combat, the size of the world, the variety in the quests, the smoothness in the way the game runs.

    Excellent result for a first time IP!
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I am quite enjoying this game, but I urge everyone to look at CMPN's user profile. It's obviously a fake as all this user has posted areI am quite enjoying this game, but I urge everyone to look at CMPN's user profile. It's obviously a fake as all this user has posted are reviews for all the versions of KOA:R, with a copy and paste review that reeks of a review from the developer or publisher. Please, people in the business, do not do this. It is unfair to try and artificially boost your scores. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Overall a good game but lost focus in story and quest fairly quickly. Only other problem is controls are more tailored to the console andOverall a good game but lost focus in story and quest fairly quickly. Only other problem is controls are more tailored to the console and plays much better with a controller. Otherwise good game and would recommended to anyone who enjoys action RPG's or good long stories in their games. Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed the game other-all (even if i skipped most of the side quests and involved alot of running[second time])... First time I played it.I enjoyed the game other-all (even if i skipped most of the side quests and involved alot of running[second time])... First time I played it. I joined the house of ballads fraction, did all there quests. defeated the spring feary thing, but doing the house of ballads quests I wasn't able to the Summer King, due to some bug [after research] :@ Hours and hours of game-play wasted. I was not pleased, not at all... For this reason, I felt like giving it an even lower score... The second playthrough I didn't do any side quests or faction quests, afraid it might bug out somewhere, once again. The game not the best looking game. On originally trailer watching of it, i was put off the combat, it looked fickle but in the game it was not so bad. It has it kinks, but overall it does a good job, if you manage to avoid a bug that breaks progress making within the game.. Overall I would recommend it, just don't join the house of ballads faction and you should be fine. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2014
    6
    soooo boring... i played like 20 hours... and still bored... weak char customization.. small skill tree,, isn't a Rpg game.. is a casualsoooo boring... i played like 20 hours... and still bored... weak char customization.. small skill tree,, isn't a Rpg game.. is a casual game.. is not the worst game... but still have a lot of aspects to improve... the story is fine... you are the Nobody who is the best of the best, born to be god... .. but the game is weak... the strong point is the fighting system and visual fx... but even that is repetitive Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    sorry, but this game pure rubbish! especially the UI which seem to come directly from hell. this game is a total waste of money and time forsorry, but this game pure rubbish! especially the UI which seem to come directly from hell. this game is a total waste of money and time for every pc gamer. Expand

See all 352 User Reviews