Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling world featuring intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    It may lack the precision of, say Witcher 2's combat, but it makes for a style that can be picked up in seconds, customised to your own particular style of play and crowned with impressive arcade-style finishes... Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a triumph that makes the prospect of a future MMO based on the same world and engine all the more enticing.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    For all of these drawbacks, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is an intriguing, good-looking, game that has absolutely brought a new spin to the RPG genre.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    The battles feel like the ones from Darksiders, the dialogues remind of Bioware titles, and the world wants to be as big and multifarious as Skyrim. Reckoning gets this mixture just about right, but misses its evident types in any discipline. I had fun anyway, which is mainly due to the cool talent system and the fascinating tale. Whoever lets oneself into it, receives a successful action-role-playing game that has found its place exactly between linear story-nuggets (Dragon Age) and open-world adventures (Skyrim).
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    Reckoning provides many hours of good, solid fun based around character development and skill progression. Those looking for a deeply immersive experience should probably look elsewhere, but don't be surprised if your Civic runs nice and smooth while the other guy is busy patching the crap out of his Ferrari.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to said for visuals these days though, and having played the PC version extensively we're not sure we could then go to the console with a neutral mind-set. Swings and Roundabouts, as they say, but Reckoning is a good game all round and well worth getting – no matter the platform.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Fast and flashy combat in a shallow fantasy world. For the solo MMO player only. [Apr 2012, p.62]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 346
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning delivers exactly what it promises: a pitch-perfect fantasy RPG, with visceral, intuitive gameplay that is easy to pick up, difficult to master, wildly flexible and just plain fun, in a way that has yet to be seen in the genre. The world is accessible and vast, offering genre fans plenty to sink their teeth into. One gets the sense that they are watching an entire world unfold before them, one rich with history and lore and life. Amalur opens itself up to the player in a way that is both familiar and refreshing, then empowers the player to do incredible things. 38 Studios and Big Huge Games have created a world worth saving, and they have given us some pretty damn cool tools with which to get the job done. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Fans of the Original Fable will Love this game if you like playing Fantasy Action RPG's you will love this game. If however you prefer Fantasy Action Simulators (Skyrim) this is not the game for you it is more of an arcade style with Visceral Combat in a unique art style that not everyone will appreciate. However if you love story the lore in the game will surely have you content before you reach the end. This game is not for everyone. However everyone should at least give it a shot. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    I am quite enjoying this game, but I urge everyone to look at CMPN's user profile. It's obviously a fake as all this user has posted are reviews for all the versions of KOA:R, with a copy and paste review that reeks of a review from the developer or publisher. Please, people in the business, do not do this. It is unfair to try and artificially boost your scores. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    When I first played this game I extremely enjoyed the combat system but felt the world lacked immersiveness. I thought, wow this game would be great if it was a little darker and a little less fantasy (5 types of elves?). I thought I would put it down soon after starting (4-5 hours). I am usually extremely fickle with games playing some of the best that I buy for 5-10 hours before I lose interest, however; for some reason I kept playing this game. The more I played it, the more I wanted to play. It is not Skyrim; but, it doesn't have to be. If I rated games for time I put in and interest in continuing to play Skyrim would win at 100+; however, until DLC comes out I need somthing else and Amalur is it. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    7
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning does not revolutionize the RPG genre. The combat is adequate, providing somewhat enjoyable gameplay. The story is boring and in no way engages the player. Graphics are cartoon-like and do not stack up against modern releases. Gameplay remains entertaining throughout the game but the quests quickly become repetitive, detracting from the experience. An RPG fan will be entertained for one play through, at most. There is no re-playability since the first play through is more than enough. Unless the game is priced at under $30, I do not recommend it. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    This game is very fun at first... you'll probably wonder why the user score is quite low. It has very few bugs, especially for being such a massive game, it has a ton of items and a ton of customization. Your choices have some impact on the story, which is nice. It's kind of like Skyrim meets Darksiders without the puzzle elements. There's tons of dialogue, and the story is interesting. The combat is fantastic. So why am I giving this a 6? When I was about 30% finished with the game, boredom hit me like a freight train.

    This game is massive. You can easily get 150, maybe even 200 hours out of the game on your first go through. The problem isn't the breadth, it's the depth. There are very, very few enemy designs. You will see the same 6-7 enemy designs in almost every zone. They arn't even recolored. There's only so many times that I can fight "Giant Spider" and "Venomspitter" while suspending disbelief. These two in particularly are nasty offenders... they're even in the DLC zones. Going into a new zone starts to lose its novelty when you see the exact same boggarts, red legion bandits, threshes, and giant spiders as you saw in the last 5 zones. They could have at LEAST recolored them or changed some proportions.

    The zones are also fairly unimpressive. The camera is oriented towards the ground, in kind of a second-person view, so you don't see the sky much (which is a good thing because it's not visually impressive). Many zones look exactly the same. There are a few exceptions, such as the Sidhe, but you're left wondering why the 10 forest zones weren't merged into one.

    The game is extremely easy. I'm playing on hard and havn't come close to dying. I havn't felt threatened by any mob so far... if anything becomes remotely challenging, you can activate fate mode and do double damage while slowing down time.

    You can craft gear that's drastically better than anything that drops at your level. You can easily max blacksmithing and sagecrafting at level 20 and make greens that are better than the epics you find. this only makes the game even easier, although it's easy enough just using gear you find. To make matters worse, you can max out blacksmithing and sagecrafting, make what you want, then reset your talent points and put those into other things. You don't really need gold other than training, so that's never an issue.

    The talent trees have major problems. You end up having to waste points in specializations for weapons you don't even use just to advance to higher tiers. Some talents make earlier actives utterly pointless (looking at you, archer multi-shot). Why do I need to waste points in Faeblades when I just want to use daggers?

    TLDR, this game could have been a masterpiece if they had invested more time in fleshing out the individual features. It's like they had one team that did everything... they worked on creatures, got bored, worked on environment, got bored, and then released the game when they were done. Or they just hired one person to do the monsters (the diversity is THAT bad).
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2012
    0
    sorry, but this game pure rubbish! especially the UI which seem to come directly from hell. this game is a total waste of money and time for every pc gamer. Expand

See all 346 User Reviews