User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 165
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BountyFan
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This game is brilliant; as was the first one. The gameplay, balancing and story are all top notch. As a translation from Russian, the humour and interesting plot transfer perfectly into English. (Contrast that with a translation from a typical Japanese title and you realise the contempt those publishers have for the western market!). One of the best games I
  2. JeffS.
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    An outstanding game in almost every respect. A beautifully realized overworld and deep, tactical combat very reminiscent of Heroes of Might and Magic 3. Wonderful music, brilliant graphics, and an enjoyable storyline. The difficulty settings are also true to their namesakes as well. Easy will appeal to casual players, Normal should be just challenging enough for most players, us veterans An outstanding game in almost every respect. A beautifully realized overworld and deep, tactical combat very reminiscent of Heroes of Might and Magic 3. Wonderful music, brilliant graphics, and an enjoyable storyline. The difficulty settings are also true to their namesakes as well. Easy will appeal to casual players, Normal should be just challenging enough for most players, us veterans are truly challenged by Hard, and Impossible may very well be impossible, I'll find out on my next play-through. It is worth noting that the items and units that will be available to you change on every play through - this means you can't know what to expect on each play-through exactly, but my experience has been that you can't truly be screwed over by this factor as some have stated - it simply means you may need to vary your tactics and switch up your armies as the game progresses to adapt to changing circumstances. All the same, I found that even on Hard there's no fight that you can't win with thoughtfulness and fight-appropriate unit selection. Some may find the storyline dry due to its almost entirely text-based nature, though frankly I rather appreciated the writing for what it was - even translated the dialogue is witty and engaging. Even at full price on Steam, I felt I got every penny's worth out of this game. Expand
  3. thomass
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    Armored Princess is totally addictive, if a bit quirky in its humor and difficulty curve. The genius of the game is that the limited numbers of units force the player to gradually change their armies throughout the game: from generally human-filled armies to mixes of dragons, lizards, demons, and elves. Thus the game never grows stale: certain units will complement each other, and part of Armored Princess is totally addictive, if a bit quirky in its humor and difficulty curve. The genius of the game is that the limited numbers of units force the player to gradually change their armies throughout the game: from generally human-filled armies to mixes of dragons, lizards, demons, and elves. Thus the game never grows stale: certain units will complement each other, and part of the fun is seeing which five units can cause the most damage at a particular point in the game. A drawback to AP is--in my view--the randomization, which (though it encourages replayability) also means you can get extremely punishing opponents early in the game. (I nearly gave up on my Paladin around level 12 or 14; but after the early 20's, the game got a *lot* easier.) So: a completely gorgeous, addictive game that could have used a few more good ideas (having to constantly restock armies requires more micromanagement than I enjoy). Expand
  4. Bjorni
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Awesome game, atmospheric, brilliant gameplay and amazing music score. I just wish there was a difficulty between Easy and Normal. The first one is far to easy and the latter way too hard, if you're not an old timer Heroes pro or something...
  5. JoeBido
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Wonderful world and epic story this make this game good, but add to this very entertaining fights and u get great game. The only disadvantage for me is that you cant play a quick scenario or something like that - only full campaign.
  6. jamie
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    The first King's bounty was great. It still lives on my hard drive. It's everything that Heroes V should have been and wasn't. ( Heroes V was dumbed down. Looks NICE. Plays like crap. It's just about who has the biggest army, no strategy at all.) With King's Bounty, it's all about strategy... Armoured princess is even BETTER than King's Bounty. It's The first King's bounty was great. It still lives on my hard drive. It's everything that Heroes V should have been and wasn't. ( Heroes V was dumbed down. Looks NICE. Plays like crap. It's just about who has the biggest army, no strategy at all.) With King's Bounty, it's all about strategy... Armoured princess is even BETTER than King's Bounty. It's as if they took the first game, race tuned it, and let it go. Anyone who loves strategy should play this game. I've been playing nothing else for the last 2 weeks. I'm having a blast; every time you replay all the artifacts and troops are redistributed so you have to develop new strategies- you cannot play the same way twice, if you do you'll get ground down to nothing. The graphics are colourful, the game has never crashed in two weeks of continuous play, there are new elements of gameplay (Spoiler: Anybody like the idea of flying across the lands??) and there is an entire new creature set - the lizardmen. My Christmas came early !!!!! Thank you, King's Bounty developers... (PS Also give eleven legacy a try - another great underdog...same kind of thing, also very clever...) Expand
  7. May 29, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this game. It was fun, and as long as you don't Kite enemies (self discipline), there is not much I'd knock about this game for what it was trying to do. It's a great time killer, pleasant graphics. I really enjoyed it. Late game I got a little over-powered, but I like that feeling. The only detractor I can think of is you can encounter fairly tough guys early on, but you get toI enjoyed this game. It was fun, and as long as you don't Kite enemies (self discipline), there is not much I'd knock about this game for what it was trying to do. It's a great time killer, pleasant graphics. I really enjoyed it. Late game I got a little over-powered, but I like that feeling. The only detractor I can think of is you can encounter fairly tough guys early on, but you get to deal with them later. Also if you play like an idiot you can mess up your game and may have to start again. Overall I really liked this game Collapse
  8. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    one of the best games to come out in this genre to date. Immersive game play, long hours of game play, very re-playable with the randomly generated enemies and treasures. I think this game really added to the the second installment (The legend). the graphics are beautiful and some are hand drawn which gives it that awesome feel. and for those who say this game is hard I don't know what toone of the best games to come out in this genre to date. Immersive game play, long hours of game play, very re-playable with the randomly generated enemies and treasures. I think this game really added to the the second installment (The legend). the graphics are beautiful and some are hand drawn which gives it that awesome feel. and for those who say this game is hard I don't know what to do, you probably should read the manual, because not all games are murder simulators (COD,BF, ETC.....) Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Most underrated game I have ever played. Turn-based strategy RPG at its finest. If you are a fan of the HOMM series this game will blow you away. Be warned that it can be a rather difficult game, but that simply makes it all the more rewarding. Combat is very smooth and balanced. Many improvements from The Legend, but many of my favourite features were also removed.
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    Still a great game just like the original but a few flaws prevents it from reaching the same astronomic heights. If you're focused and into strategy, you'll find the second half of the game too easy. By the end, only the boss fights are hard (they are hard, though) and the rest can feel a bit like a grind. You can create some fun tactics and setups but the AI just doesn't seem to be ableStill a great game just like the original but a few flaws prevents it from reaching the same astronomic heights. If you're focused and into strategy, you'll find the second half of the game too easy. By the end, only the boss fights are hard (they are hard, though) and the rest can feel a bit like a grind. You can create some fun tactics and setups but the AI just doesn't seem to be able to match them by the end. The story is still great and the humor is right up there with it. Overall, should be played but it's not as flawless as the first. Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    As a die hard fan of Heroes 3 I was always looking for a similar type of games and I found the King's Bounty series. Before, I played the campaigns of Heroes 3 data discs (the ones in the original games are boring and not worth it) every year, again and again, but I will play them much less now, as Kings Bounty is superior for me.

    If you can sacrifice the caste building and resource
    As a die hard fan of Heroes 3 I was always looking for a similar type of games and I found the King's Bounty series. Before, I played the campaigns of Heroes 3 data discs (the ones in the original games are boring and not worth it) every year, again and again, but I will play them much less now, as Kings Bounty is superior for me.

    If you can sacrifice the caste building and resource collecting from HOMAM games in exchange for WASTELY SUPERIOR tactical battles with a lot of challenge, King's Bounty games are what you are looking for.

    Of the KB series, Armored Princess is the best one available.
    Expand
  12. May 29, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this game. It was fun, and as long as you don't Kite enemies (self discipline), there is not much I'd knock about this game for what it was trying to do. It's a great time killer, pleasant graphics. I really enjoyed it. Late game I got a little over-powered, but I like that feeling. The only detractor I can think of is you can encounter fairly tough guys early on, but you get toI enjoyed this game. It was fun, and as long as you don't Kite enemies (self discipline), there is not much I'd knock about this game for what it was trying to do. It's a great time killer, pleasant graphics. I really enjoyed it. Late game I got a little over-powered, but I like that feeling. The only detractor I can think of is you can encounter fairly tough guys early on, but you get to deal with them later. Also if you play like an idiot you can mess up your game and may have to start again. Overall I really liked this game Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The Armored Princess is only a quarter shorter than the original game. How long ago have you played a stand-alone expansion that takes 30 hours to beat it at a normal difficulty?
  2. If you're going to play a King's Bounty game for the first time, make it The Legend - and I'd say that whether or not it was available so cheaply. If you're all done with that and crave more, then Armored Princess will not do you wrong.
  3. 80
    King's Bounty The Armored Princess is a great game. It's a wonderful add-on to the original game, and offers few, but interesting new features.