• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2008
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 216

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    Had a lot of fun with this one. Great music, and I loved the crisp UI and colorful world graphics.

    Tried a couple of the sequels, but had a hard time getting into them since they are basically the same thing on a new map with other minor changes. In fact, if anything I'd say this original game was a little too long for my taste.
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    Wow, simply incredible. I just finished one of the best games I've ever played. This is what Disciples 3 and HOMM5 should have aspired to. I don't even know where to start. The game is beautiful, even with aliasing turned off on my aging rig, both visually and the stories it weaves with a fantastic sense of humor. Combat is clearly based on the aforementioned IPs but boasts and impressive list of units with unique and tactically significant abilities and traits. Leveling my hero was addictive to the point of insanity and I could scarcely stop playing long enough for basic hygeine. I highly recommend this to anyone regardless of their preferred gaming genres. And to think, I picked up the whole series on a steam sale for less than 7 dollars! Please play this game!!! Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Fantastic game and a must-play for any fan of Heroes of Might & Magic. The humor is great, the challenge is decent and the game mechanic feels smooth and balanced. You can create your own strategic concepts or just go with large armies and good gear depending on the difficulty and your own desire. There's nothing bad to say about this little gem, really, so just play it.
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    6
    A solid RPG mixed with strategy game similar to the Might and Magic series.

    After a while it gets quite repetitive with each quest and battle blending in to the next with out any memorable moments.
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Got this one in a humble bundle. Put over 100 hours into it, never regret a moment. It's challenging and just plain fun., would definitely recommend for everyone to try, especially since you can get all 3 king's bounty games for pretty damn cheap.
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I've been reminiscing about HOMM3 for so long. Nothing seems to fill that gap. Until this game. It's got no base building like in HOMM, but the combat is nearly identical. And that combat is SO ADDICTING! I've got only 15 hours into the game and I'm not even partway done with the campaign. I find it's the game I load up more compared to more recent AAA titles
  7. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    If you enjoy fighting boring repetitive battles that destroy 80% of your troops then running all over the world to replenish them then this game is for you. Or if you enjoy having so many pointless quests that you don't even remember what's what then again this game is for you. There's nothing better than running from one side of the world to finish a quest only to learn you have to now run back to the other side of the world to get an update to run back to this side of the world to complete it. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    One of the best game I ever played. Gameplay, graphics (like caramel fairy contry) is awesome. Only HoMM3 can prolly compete with King's Bounty. The game can be rather difficult, but this is only adds an interest to play. Dont miss it
  9. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    King's Bounty is a strategic turn-based game of 1C Company, based in a fantasy world. It is a Heroes of Might Magic game related, with a lot of points in common and some enjoyable differences. It is not a "clone", even if, for the fans of the former saga, many things will sound like a déjà-vu. First of all you have one hero to control and to send around the map, with attributes and statistics that increase with the levels. The movement in the map field is in real time and it’s plenty of quests to fulfil to proceed in the story and side-quests that gives you experience or precious objects.

    The fights are resolved like in the chess, deploying the troops in the left side and waiting for your turn to move, attack or use particular abilities for each unit, depending on how many action points the single unit owns. During our turn, it’s possible to cast magic or spend rage points summoning the Spirits of Rage. Rage and Magic are the opposite, with the time magic is replenished, Rage it’s increased only fighting and decrease while walking. This make the game really interesting and fast, you cannot afford to sit down in a place if you are not plenty of rage potions! Of course the pause option becomes really useful.

    Basically really simple, but still really enjoyable, compared with HOMM, the units are bought in special huts, castles, nests and places similar, they are not regenerated and the number the hero can take around, depends on his leadership level, that increases with levels, depending on the class chosen at the beginning (warrior, paladin or mage), objects equipped, bonus obtained and skills selected. The customization is not like many classic RPG, but still you can try different combinations to obtain different results.

    It’s possible to travel freely in the map, even if some locations are locked until some point in the story. If the enemies became too strong, there is surely another point in the world where obtain the necessary amount of experience and gold to be able to return back and finish all the quests. That makes the exploration enjoyable and funny.

    Graphically it’s really good, well detailed and bright even if a little outdated. On the opposite side the audio is nothing of particular. But the gameplay is something amazing. To conclude, be aware, this game can stole a significant amount of time from your life!
    Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    Real-time Heroes of Might & Magic clone with less focus on castle defense and more RPG elements. Very derivative but has a long main quest with a large world map. More exploration and plot-heavy than HoMM, but not much else is original about it. Completely average and muddled with uneven difficulty. You're better off picking up one of the sequels because they are direct (minor) upgrades of the base game. Expand
  11. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Wow! While other turn-base games gets easier and easier on latter stages, this game requires strategy and planning for every fight. While fights can be repetitive, they are challenging and you could lose badly if you are careless.
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    Very nice and polished little game, the level of detail is bluffing being it graphically or story/quest wise and the game is very rich and deep, i particularly liked the humor in dialogs ( like a ghost trying to explain electricity to a medieval knight ), you really feel there is a living world in the background
  13. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This game draws on mechanics pioneered by Heroes of Might and Magic, but whereas Heros always seemed to be a bit of a drag to play, the same mechanics in this game feel absolutely brilliant. I don't know why, but playing this game just feels good. The artistry in this game cannot be quantified and just shows how two different companies starting with the same product can exhibit such vastly different soul. Expand
  14. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    I know there are a lot of 10/10 reviews here, so I bet you're thinking that most of these are exaggerating and are just in love with the series. But this is without doubt a 10/10 game. It is such a charmy game and I've never been calmer playing an rpg game. When you have bought the first game in the series (this one), you just have to buy the other ones, because this game is magnificent.
  15. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    incredible game! The graphic, the versatility and everything is fantastic. Most of the negative reviews are basically because those people didn't played the game longer than 20 minutes, seriously play flash-games then if you want action by pressing the start button. Some enemies are impossible at first but if you take the scout ability in the first tier you have no problems with running into overpowered troops. The only thing they I am missing is a quest-marker on the map. I will definitely play it through again and buy the other games of the series! 10/10 would recommend! Expand
  16. Sep 17, 2012
    0
    This game is extremly overrated. The battles in the beginning are either very easy or completetly impossible. Thereby the game becomes booring really fast.
  17. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    this game took me by surprise and i couldnt be happier! for me this is heroes of might and magic meets warcraft 3! i could never get into h m&m but this game just does it right, there could be more varietion in battles and more detail to unit info but this is still a great game
  18. May 7, 2012
    3
    Bought this game off a Steam sale. I am very disappointed other than the stunning fantasy graphical elements. The game is highly repetitive - the heroes are stuck with the same moves most of the times and the monsters are not worth fighting for. The fighting area is always the same - I was under the impression this would be an SLG game like Fire Emblem. But rather the highly repetitive gameplay reminds me of a cheap Tower Defense game. Played for 20 mins and uninstalled. The story may be entertaining at times, but the gameplay is real turn-off for a hardcore item/spell/leveling/story/farming RPG player. Expand
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I am highly impressed by this game. It's got a gorgeous setting. At first I was a little bothered by how it only takes a few seconds to ride your horse to some place that's supposed to be far away but the charms of the game ended up making me happy to forget this. Do you like turn based combat? Do you like fantasy settings that don't take themselves seriously? Then you can't possibly dislike this game. Thanks to all the Russian people that made this game. Expand
  20. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    King's Bounty (both The Legend and Armored Princess) is a strategy/RPG game that's incredibly inaccessible. It throws you into combat with no description of how to play, and it's very complex. I floundered around for a bit, trying to figure things out, and then I died and got sick of it. If you already know how to play this style of game, then perhaps you can find something here, but I'd recommend that everyone else avoid this title. Expand
  21. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Everything you'd want from a modern turn based fantasy strategy game plus 1000% more. No kidding. So many weird things and surprises. They used to make games like this in America. Now I guess Russia handles it --and oh so well!
  22. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I bought this game on a whim for $2 during a sale, knowing nothing about it or the franchise. It was one of the best surprises in all of my time gaming. I would happily have paid retail for this game if I'd even known about it before I bought it. It's an extremely deep game, there are tons of ways to play it, tons of items, tons of units, and a very big campaign to go along with it all. You'll spend a lot of time playing this game. It's fairly difficult depending on how you choose to play, but if you're up for the challenge it is a must play for any fan of the genre. It is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Expand
  23. Jan 6, 2012
    5
    Simply put, this game fails to meet the expectations it sets for itself. After 6 hours of gameplay the very basic elements of the game aren't rewarding and most aren't even explained. First of all, upon starting the game you are plunged into "training" with no back-story or character reference. During "training" you're given tasks to do, but no real explanation on what your units do, what enemy units can do, or anything regarding what your character can do. Second, as soon as you enter the world you will find an alarming number of enemies who are simply too powerful to defeat. Even worse, there are enemies who fly the banner of your kingdom and nothing indicates that they are enemies until you're too close to avoid combat with these insanely high level assailants. The map is "nice" looking, but frustratingly difficult to navigate. Furthermore, enemies seem to have no boundaries. They will chase you across the entire map and when they catch you the only way to exit combat is to leave your entire army to die, which forces you to start over from nothing. Even the combat system feels very limited. During combat the abilities and powers of your troops aren't easy to reference and everything except the number of enemy troops seems to be hidden. The enemy will often use powers that "scare" your troops, causing you lose control of them for several turns, which is the ultimate role-playing no-no. And even your own character feels like a stranger to you, as he never actually participates in battle. I really, really wanted to like this game, but so many things about it are just sub-par. It's worse than unpolished - it feels like the designers simply didn't put any thought into this game. Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    King's Bounty is a very solid, entertaining and addictive game. A must-play for turn-based fans.
    The storyline, even though it seems told by Google Translate, is somewhat of a departure from your regular fantasy story and albeit slightly weak at times, always invites the player to move on and learn more about the world he's part of. The humour does occasionally get lost in translation and
    starts to feel slightly awkward. Russians have strange views on women. There's an RPG aspect to the game but it only rarely shows during conversation; occasionally you're asked to make a choice but it never has great impact on the world around you. The other aspect to the RPG game-play is that of leveling your character and the box of rage, which houses 4 entities that will fight alongside you if you can persuade them to do so. There are 3 types of characters to choose from when the game starts. I have only finished the game as the knight, who seems to be able to command very large armies, but I assume that the Paladin and Mage come with different skill-trees. You are free to equip whatever items you come across, there is no class-restriction on them. You could make a mage-knight if you wanted to, assuming you can find the right items. Items and store-inventory (Including minions that can be hired) are randomly chosen at the start of the game. This increase replayability by quite a bit but may also mean that you will never complete some of the sets of items no matter how important they might be to your army. Combat is intruiging, always open for experimentation and often very fulfulling when you take out stacks of enemies far larger than yours while minimizing your own losses. The spell system seems somewhat unbalanced and you might find yourself using the same spells over and over again but that could also be down to the type of army you decide to raise and whether or not you consider losses acceptable. The units at your command are fun to play with but even more fun to experiment with; you can spend hours trying to mix and match units of different races to see what best complements your style of play. Sounds and music are pretty good. None of the dialogue is spoken and there are no cinematics but the sounds and music is definitely not annoying to listen to. (And that's a good thing because if you take your time to explore the entire game, you'll know the tunes and sounds by heart.) my only complaints are that Russian developers should start hiring professional translators and that they make you walk around far too much in this game. A lot of time goes into replenishing stacks of units because you have to remember where you bought them. Apparently, they solved the latter in the sequel. I recommend this game to any one who enjoys turn-based combat. I dislike fantasy themed games but I absolutely loved King's Bounty game-mechanics. Expand
  25. e_k
    Oct 15, 2011
    9
    A good game, and a fun update the original (1990). You play one of 3 characters, exploring the fantasy world, fighting enemies, and finding treasure. Combat is turn-based, and your retinue can be of any kind of creature that you will encounter in your travels, be it peasants, pirates, snakes, zombies...
    While many tasks are repetitive, the game provides enough that it continues to be
    engaging. Sometimes there is a bit too much text to read when interacting with characters, but the occasional funny dialog makes it worth it.
    Graphics look somewhat like those in Torchlight (2009). Music is ok, if uninspiring.
    Comparable to the non-turn-based HoMM games, but feels "bigger" because of the perceived freedom in travel around the world.
    Expand
  26. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    This is a must for all the "Heroes of Might and Magic" fans. :) And if you have never played "Heroes", than this is a good place to start!
    Even though it's not as deep in strategy as "Heroes" (you cannot build castles, for example), the game features similar turn-based combat and world-exploration mechanics. The story is light-hearted and humorous, as are all the characters in the game
    (and their quests). Just make sure you get the MODS for this game - because they are essential for making it a lot A LOT easier to enjoy this Epic Quest :) Expand
  27. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Entretenido, divertido y mejor que muchos juegos actuales de su mismo genero.
    No es necesario que un juego sea mas complejo para ser mejor, y Kings bounty lo demuestra.
    Ojala sacaran una nueva entrega. (aparte de las dos expansiones con las que ya cuenta.)
  28. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    If you like Mel Brooks movies you'll love this video game. It's an awesome mockery of every video game trope that ever existed. Some of this is thrown in your face (like piles of gold just lying on the ground waiting to be picked up) but what makes the game special is the amount of it that's hidden. Select your Hero page, right click on a portrait of one of your children, select 'info' and you will be greeted with this gem: "Your child, besides giving useful bonuses, takes his place in your heart and in your wife's equipment slot." There is much more from the fountain of wit that created this hilarious game. The only reason this game doesn't get a ten from me is that the pacing of the game is off. There is too much running back and forth to buy soldiers for your army from vendors that are randomly scattered throughout the game and there are times when you need to grind out battles just to get the exp so you can tackle a boss. When the two combine the game play bog downs and even the chuckles cannot save it. Still, this game is all about blowing **** up and having a laugh while your doing it. The game never takes itself seriously and this allows it to sparkle with wit and charm. Unique, highly recommended. Expand
  29. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Most underrated game I have ever played. Turn-based strategy RPG at its finest. If you are a fan of the HOMM series this game will blow you away. Be warned that it can be a rather difficult game, but that simply makes it all the more rewarding. Combat is very smooth and balanced.
  30. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    This is a wonderful gem of a game. There's a LOT of game play packed into this title; expect to spend over 40 hours per playthrough, even more if you are a completionist. Combat is very tactically oriented and a good tactician can make it through many tough battles with minimal, if any, losses. With careful planning and a few tricks, it is possible to play through the whole game without a single loss at all. The three classes play very differently, and the randomization of some game elements ensures that no two games will be quite the same. You can be incredibly aggressive and force your way through the game with brute force, or you can take a more careful approach. The units are varied, and even units from early areas of the game can be useful at the very end. My only complaint is that the storyline is absolutely linear. As the player, you can make zero significant storyline decisions, and this reduces the depth that this game could have. Expand
  31. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Magnificent.This is one of the best game of 2008.I cannot even begin to think how much free you are in this game.The graphic the gameplay the units(which are awsome) everything its on its place.Many quests many hours of gameplay free choise cool units some divine help :D and great worlds to explore.Pure bad ass.Look even the spells look awsome(especially fireball).10
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 90
    The game's RPG trappings are just the sugarcoating for an incredibly deep and enjoyable strategic experience.
  2. 81
    Yes, the difficulty can be very unbalanced at times, and sure the tutorial needs work, but as it stands, King's Bounty is a great game for all types of RPG fans.
  3. Even with the lower standard of graphics and sound, the game is still above board in the fun department. I really like this title and thank it deserves some big time praise for bringing back the cool in single-player RPGs.