• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warriors of the North is the latest chapter in the cult role-playing game - adventure saga. The current tale takes place in the familiar world of Endoria featured in the earlier games, but begins in the Viking lands, which the celebrated hero Bill Gilbert never visited during his famous quest in King’s Bounty: The Legend. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    86
    Warriors of the North is another great add-on for King's Bounty. The new Nordic campaign, creates new enemies and warriors, that bring more tactical opportunities. If you like the genre, Warriors of the North will be fun.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    On top of the great strategy gameplay, Kings Bounty: Warriors of the North offers a great value with its $30 price tag. The worst thing that you can say about it is that it doesn't deviate much from King's Bounty: Armored Princess, besides a few details and a few conveniences – or is that the best thing that you can say about it? After all, Armored Princess was an excellent game.
  3. 80
    King’s Bounty: Warriors of the North is a great addition, much more rich in content than Crossworld and with a much better value-for-money ratio. [December 2012]
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    75
    Warriors of the North is a good game that provides many hours of fun, but at the same time leaves a lot to be desired. The developers show too little creativity when it comes to putting interesting new things in their games. Even Warrior Princess offered more in that department: flying, a rebuilt skill system, new locations. This game takes too much from its predecessors and offers not enough new things. King's Bounty would benefit from a revolution - a sequel built from the ground up.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    Despite lacking multiplayer and having an insane distaste for newcomers King's Bounty: Warriors of the North is a fun, compelling game with good value for money. On the other hand, veteran fans of the series will feel like they're merely getting a Viking-inspired expansion pack to The Legend, and so really have to ask themselves if that's what they want.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    I'm a fan of more King's Bounty, yet the magic is missing with this latest expansion. The Viking faction isn't as fun to play as other groups. The tweaks to combat, though, give players more tactical options, something any player of a strategy-RPG can appreciate.
  7. 60
    Appealing, long-lasting and funny RPG strategy is exactly the same as its three previous parts. Next time we'd like some innovation. [Christmas 2012]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    First, I completely sympathize with the argument concerning the price of the game. It's an expansion pack and should probably cost around $20. If you want to wait for a sale on Steam it's understandable. It is however, a dense lengthy, and well thought out expansion.
    + It's far longer than the average complete $60 game. The first four zones (the start island) can take upwards of 15 hours if you enjoy the story and explore all of the nooks and crannies. It's an adventure.
    + The soundtrack is brand new. It's incredible.
    + While the graphics are essentially the same as the last two games, they are improved. The environment is lush. The colors are appropriate and mood inducing.
    + The combat seems more sleek and refined. They did implement quite a lot of new battle mechanics, but they feel unobtrusive enough. You have time to learn them slowly, and can win fights without them easily. I don't find myself taking two turns after killing 90% of the enemies to group my soldiers around a paladin for a prayer healing session.
    - One of the new systems does not seem as well implemented as it could have been. The rally sessions for your troops before battles is odd at first.
    + The story feels a lot more like a novel than the other KB games. It's a more channeled experience, but I feel like they take care of it appropriately.
    +The rage summon system is unique to this game. It's more similar to the summons in the fist Kings Bounty.
    I do love these games so my opinion is a little biased, but I do highly recommend this game if you like the other two. I got chills with the ominous music playing at the start of zone three during your lengthy conversation with the king of the zone. There are a lot of moments like that if you get wrapped up in it. I'm nerdy for this game. It's too much fun to give a lower score.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This game surprised me unprepared as I didn't know that it's about to come out, so when I found out that the game will be released (it was like 15 hours to release) I purchased Valhalla Edition as pre-order. Got the game for nice 17 Euros and I wasn't thinking too much before I bought it. Now I'll tell you why. First, I wanted to restart original series playing - Legend and finally try Orcs ond the March (I haven't tried it yet since I bought the crossworlds just after finished very long Armored Princess) so this was a natural selection. The previous games were so great that I had no doubt that this is going to be hit as well. The graphics stays the same - great! I loved it in the original so I can quickly navigate what is what. Gameplay - definitely enhanced, I agree rune system is not the most helping but sometimes helps you to finish the combat without loses or kill powerful unit on low life. The rest remained same but I like it. Be honest, if you change the game too much there would be always angry mob saying "it's completely changed!" and if you don't change it too much there will be angry mob saying "nothing change, not worth of money". The one thing is true and that's why I put 9 is that some things are not polished yet, various mistakes in spells or repeating combats - bugs in general kinda make this game not absolute top in technical course of thinking. Already released new patch with TONS of fixes but still some work to be done but it was overall problem in previous games (those games are really complex - incredible amount of calculations is required).
    As big fan of the series I still strongly recommend this game as it expands further previous games in story, locations and character bios as well it provides countless hours of fun! Hey did I mention that you'll get flying horse short after you start the game?
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    If you liked the first game or Armord Princess you'll love this. the game uses the same engine but the mechanics are evolved. In my opinion this is the best game in the genre right now. If you like strategy games try this out! Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    A good game. As a fan of the original series, there are few things that annoy me. First is that for the first 4 islands (at least) your troop selection is very limited, and the enemy is 95% undead, with some bears, snakes and spiders here and there. What made the original game great is that you build your army, and adapt it to a **wide variety of battles**. In the original game, you fought varying armies of neutrals, humans, dwarves, orcs, etc. In the original series, you had to use real tactics to defeat armies. I do not see this too much in this game. Playing it on Hard, the majority of the battles feel way too easy and predictable. There's one ranged undead unit, occasionally a necromancer. I have more or less the same viking army. After 200 battles this gets repetitive. The units are cheap, and before level 15 I have about 400k gold, which I dont remember happening in other titles. My other complaints are poor translation quality, I cannot make sense of some traits (ex: Favorite of the Gods) and abilities. I've seen 1 pirate in 4 islands. Some skills are broken (like the random blessing of witch hunters). Other than that, the game is good, and is worth the price tag. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Disappointing. Loved the original Kings Bounty and the sequels, it was what Heroes of Might and Magic should have been. All about strategy, not overwhelming someone with greater numbers..

    But this is so so. The 'Rune" selection seems to add nothing to strategy, it's just an extra button to click, making fights more annoying and long winded. The Viking units seem weird. Their abilities don't seem to mesh well together. To cap it off, with the original games, you never knew what mix of units and artifacts you would get at start and throughout the islands. This meant that you had to change your strategy depending on your available units. Every game felt fresh, even though you'd already completed it. (I still play it from time to time.)

    But with this, you always start off with the same units.

    Finally, this is the fourth iteration of the series with the same graphical engine. It's a good engine and still looks ok, but it needs an update.

    In summary this just looks like a quick, not very well developed cash-in.

    Note: If you've never played KB before, it IS worth buying. If you've played the other three (or five, if you're old enough to remember the ps2 and Amiga versions!!) this will seem tired.
    Collapse
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    More than a new game this is another "expansion" / mod to the original, nothing is changed, the graphical engine (still decent though), the interface, the game mechanics are still there. Unfortunately the flaws are still there too, recruiting is boring, having to move back and forth to fill the ranks is just a time sink, the rune system is unfun and redundant, the new crafting system is very weak and not really a crafting either. The real problem still is the lack of strategy and differentiation, once you found out your setup you just play nearly every combat in the same way and it become soon tedious to fight hundreds of pointless fights.Its sad because the tactical combat is still good, but instead of adding useless features to an already working aspect of the game they should at some point try to fix the broken parts. So in the end if you never play any past chapter of the serie you can start here, if you played already 1 ore more of the past chapters the few innovations dont justify at all the release price. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    2
    Considering my love for the previous Kings bounty game buying this one was a no brainer but my my how wrong I was. This game is riddled with bugs and extremely poor English. A lot of the written stuff in game doesn't even make any sense since the English is broken. Also be prepared to start over again more than once because everytime they fix stuff in a patch you have to restart from the beginning for it to apply to your game. No people this is not a joke, you will have to restart your 25+ hours game if you don't wanna miss out on several items, quests and other things that they couldn't fix without you restarting.

    I never thought I would say this after all the pleasure I got from the previous Kings bounty games but STAY AWAY FROM THIS PIECE OF **** unless you want to scream out of frustration over and over again
    Expand