Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Manager of a pen and paper RPG table with turn based battles!
    Knights of Pen & Paper is an indie turn-based retro style pixel-art RPG. Inspired by the great titles of the 90's, play this game feels like you are playing a traditional pen and paper RPG.

    The player gets to control the
    playing characters AND the dungeon master, and you choose what battles to fight. Put together a bunch of monsters to make it a challenging fight and your rewards will be equally great!

    With 12 different classes (6 unlockables) and 17 characters (5 unlockables) to choose from, more than 100 quests, 50 monsters, 100 items and equipment, blacksmith, enchanter, mining, gathering, hidden treasures and a lot more. Knights of Pen & Paper gives the player lots of room to personalize your gameplay experience.

    Launching with 2 whole campaigns and many more are coming up! Each time a new game is created you can choose a different campaign and have a brand new game experience.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    85
    Aside from that one small complaint, Knights of Pen & Paper is a tribute to games from the 8 bit era as well as to pen & paper role-playing. There is an unmistakable charm in the simplistic 8 bit looks and musical score and the game hits a level of immersion that rivals many a triple-A title. Simply put, they don’t make ‘m like this anymore.
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Knights of Pen and Paper has been a hit on iPhones, but the lager screen of PCs magnifies its flaws. Still it’s brilliant humor could be a good enough reason for playing it.
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Knights of Pen & Paper +1 has a lot of charm, and a lot of game hours to go with it.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    A well-executed joyful game with entertaining battle system and ton of humour. However, it's "just" about those entertaining battles. Therefore, the biggest alarm here is its stereotype.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    60
    The main quest’s predefined battles do throw up enemy combinations that require more complex tactics, but there’s no denying that, having breached the fourth wall, Behold Studios’ charming game is content to head back inside the building.
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    55
    At the end of the day, the sheer amount of repetitive, uninspired quests, and dreary battles make the game a chore to play.
  7. Aug 1, 2013
    50
    If you're really into a D&D style game, why not just get a bunch of friends together and play D&D? [Aug 2013, p.90]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    I don't get the low reviews of this game, yeah you can make micro transactions, but there is no reason to as you can simply farm the gold off monsters.
    There is a lot of cool ideas in this game, the ability to pick your battles, add varied classes and players, the enhancements you can make to the room that add bonuses. The story is a bit weak, which is to bad, but I've had a lot of fun playing nonetheless.
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    I was very sceptic about another "modern old-school" project at first but after a couple of minutes I found myself completely absorbed into the game! Funny dialogues, colourful characters and the simplicity of a game make up a very interesting experience as a whole. Only thing I could complain about is the music, it gets repetitive after some time, other than that I consider Knights of Pen & Paper to be an excellent adventure for long hours. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    You don't need to buy gold just buy 4x blacksmith rings from an equipment shop lvl 16. Equip each character with 4 before buying anything from smith drops price by 80% for another 10% off buy the shield in the shop for 200g. Reequip character with gear after you upgrade from smith then rinse repeat simple. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    The shameless micro transactions do a good job of putting a cap on the fun. Blacksmiths cost a minimum of 150 to upgrade equipment with an extremely high chance of failing and after you've failed enough the game prompts you to purchase more gold. Why include micro transactions in a game that already costs $9.99? I can't recommend this to anyone. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    3
    Pixel art is horribly cliche, and you'd think a studio of 20-30 people could do better, but "not trying" sums up the game developers' approach.

    The first half-hour of the game is pretty fun. After that, it's extremely repetitive. You eventually realize that the developers actually think that "travel to X and deliver Y to Z" and "fight the same enemies for the 4th time in a row" are good gameplay.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    2
    So I saw this on a Steam sale, and it was really cheap. So, I didn't do what I normally do, which is check the metacritic. Big Mistake. Turns out this is little more than a UI for paying money. I had thought the idea cool, and was enjoying it -- until I saw "buy more gold". I had a sinking feeling in my gut. I clicked on it and.. yes, there it is. $10 to buy gold.

    So, I recommend buying this game if you want to have a pixelleted away of spending money for no good reason.
    Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    Loaded with skeevy microtransactions; gameplay seems designed around forcing people who have already bought the game to spend more money on bonuses simply to make it playable. Avoid avoid avoid. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews