Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    95
    If you’re looking for something pretty, scary and uncommon, Ice-Pick Lodge’s game is an excellent choice. Instead of 3 hours needed to complete Knock-knock I’ve already got 15 on my timer and I don’t regret any of it. [12/2013, p.60]
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    50
    Many indie games already proved that even the weirdest concept can be supported by a robust, addictive gameplay. Such is not the case with Knock-knock, that in the end just fails to entertain.
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    55
    Bizarre and difficult to place, Knock Knock is a vague adventure, with an almost intangible and rather monotonous gameplay; however, behind these assumptions you can still find a path that can accompany the player to the discovery of a star, a story to tell and multi-faceted concept.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    50
    Knock-Knock offers players two different endings based on how quickly they finish the game, neither of which provides any kind of satisfying conclusion or explanation as to what the heck is going on in the game. Ultimately, Ice-Pick Lodge is right; Knock-Knock isn't much of a game – or a story, for that matter – which makes it hard to recommend.
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    30
    Knock-Knock could have been amazing; with a slightly different outcome on that early night, and if the mystery gets its hooks in before the mechanics start souring the experience, it could have been a tense nail-biter. As it happened, I got fed up with Knock-Knock long before its secrets surfaced, and I was happier to break the game than to continue playing along.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    The real goal is to come out the other side with some sort of meaningful appreciation of our hero’s plight. To understand what tools are required for such a person to even exist while being plagued by these nightmares so often that they become reality itself. To gain the ability to adapt well enough to those circumstances to be able to use those tools effectively. That is Knock-Knock.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    A peculiar logical game able to both put in fear and to make think not only about your rules. Every now and then it manages to do so with difficulty, however, its storytelling opened to your interpretation, and its eye-catching execution help to not fall down into the abyss.
  8. Oct 14, 2013
    40
    When it becomes clear that success isn't a matter of overcoming psychological terrors but of discerning rigid, obfuscated logic, Knock-knock reveals itself to be not something horrifying that defies all understanding, but simply a mundane, frustrating little puzzle box.
  9. Oct 16, 2013
    62
    Great horror stories are many things, but tedious isn’t on the list, and that’s exactly the feeling that’s born of Knock-Knock’s inability to explain itself.
  10. 40
    The original idea wasn't bad but its execution produced a game that tries so hard to be weird that it hurts its enjoyability. [Issue#236]
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    75
    Knock-Knock is is an interesting and deep videogame, a great work of art from Ice-Pick Lodge. Try it.
  12. Nov 25, 2013
    70
    A dread-drenched take on hide-and-seek which will mesmerise some, and alienate most. [December 2013, p.80]
  13. Dec 13, 2013
    45
    Boredom, not ghosts, is your worst enemy in Knock-knock.
  14. Oct 11, 2013
    55
    I’m not entirely sure who’d enjoy a game like this. It’s possible we’ll see a few desperate YouTubers record their girlfriend getting scared by some of the earlier moments in the game, but aside from that tiny bit of stimulation and the initial hope that the nonsensical plot will have a logical finish, there’s very little here for anyone other than the most desperate of horror fans.
  15. Oct 29, 2013
    45
    Knock-Knock is a game you want to love because it has a nice, freaky style. Unfortunately, the game itself feels like repetitive work which makes it very unattractive. For a horror videogame, we do not think Knock-Knock is scary enough. Too bad, because we would have enjoyed figuring out what that weird key character is up to.
  16. Oct 17, 2013
    48
    Aside from the presentation and art style, there is really no way I could suggest Knock-Knock to players. Unless you really enjoy trial and error game play and confusing mechanics that aren’t explained, you may want to stay away.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Discovering the game mechanics is fun, the overall atmosphere is dream-like and spooky. What this game is about is more or less up to the players interpretation, but one thing is sure: this is the type of game that tries to reach out to the player. In my opinion this game is about how the brain defends the ego against the horrors of reality. But as always, there are things that come out only when it's dark. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Glad to see there are developers who bring new ideas and concepts to a horror game. The game play mechanic is simple, but it is really fun to watch the haunted house gradually changing and past history of player and the house is gradually revealed via exploration.

    I really like their use of CG, speech, exploration, and diary pages etc. to reveal the story, which integrate smoothly with the game play. The art style is great and really help to develop a creepy and strange atmosphere.

    A hint to a reviewer complaining monster AI: you need to understand the story and hints provided to you during your game play, logic won't work in a haunted and strange environment.

    I give this a 10 because this gives me a new experience of horror game, which doesn't rely on jump-scary or monsters with terrible look.

    If there are developers watching here, here are my words to you. You guys just rock, please consider bringing more new ideas towards horror game. Many gamers are already bored with the old-fashioned style of horror game.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece from Ice-Pick Lodge developers. Don't get fooled by cartoon graphics or seems-to-be-simple gameplay. It will take some time to understand what's going on there. It's not a traditional game, more of an experiment. Just be ready to confront your fears. Full Review »