Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 36
  2. Negative: 9 out of 36
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    48
    This game will bring you only pain and humiliation. It will drive you insane, filling your nightmares with many-colored bears.
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    40
    It's a long, repetitive grind that fails to reward your efforts. [Sept 2012, p.100]
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    40
    Krater is a disappointment. The game has the atmosphere and potential to be an excellent strategy-RPG, but it misses a few of the basic aspects that make a good game. Much of the time, Krater isn't even fun to play.
  4. Jun 23, 2012
    40
    One thing is when you try to modernize principles of genre, and the other thing is when you overdo it with your own bad ideas. Boredom and stereotype are then the essential parts of the overall experience - I don't even talk about the technical issues.
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    40
    Krater is a game with many problems, most all the more irritating for being specifically added to the formula instead of simply messing it up.
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    35
    Plagued by constant bugs and poor design decisions, Krater unfortunately never lives up to the full potential of its old-school gameplay ideals.
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    20
    A Diablo clone set in a Fallout style world sounds like a great idea, but the changes this makes to Blizzard's formula are genuinely apocalyptical.
  8. Jun 15, 2012
    20
    The best action RPGs are carefully calculated to go directly from the lizard brain to the index finger. Krater, an action RPG from a small Swedish studio, instead meanders, gets lost, and ends up in a quiet cul de sac somewhere around the cerebellum.
  9. Jun 15, 2012
    20
    Creating a Diablo-like is much more complicated than it seems. I sincerely believe that the Fatshark guys did what they could to offer a new take, but they simply failed. Three characters to control; too few skills and customization ; a frustrating leveling-up system... and above-average production values are going to drive away even the most persistent gamers.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 78
  2. Negative: 10 out of 78
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    I have no idea what game these professional reviewers have been playing. Krater is most likely the cheapest extreme fun and entertainment I have ever gotten. This game is way different than most everything else on the market, and in a good way!

    Not only that, but from the looks of it, the developers are heavily invested in getting this game to be the best it possibly can, with patches hitting daily so far, adding content, fixing bugs, and implementing suggestions from the users.

    This game is not for everyone, but 2/10 is just plain ignorant, especially with the reviews AAA titles are getting these days.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Been playing since beta. Really fun, squad oriented ARPG with beautiful graphics. Just make sure you have Windows Vista or 7. It's a DX11/10 only game. It's really hardcore too. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    Krater is a game that tries hard to be unique but fails in the important aspect of fun gameplay. From the first minute you enter krater you are doing what you will be doing all the game long, the repetition in this game is so extreme that it's difficult not to question the mindset of the devs. You will collect loot, "level" up your soldiers, learn crafting recipes and complete quests. All this would sound fine if it weren't for the fact that there is no substance to any of it. The level up system is kind of weird as you don't get better by just leveling up as you need to insert implants to raise your stats, your level determins the amount of implants you can use but it quickly becomes very basic as in fill out your soldiers with implants and then slowly replace them with better ones. The crafting is the basic "collect this and that and press a button" although there is a lot of recipes in the game to somewhat save it. The questing is the run of the mill MMO type quests and you will get bored of the same old "go kill" or "go fetch" quests that plague the game. Also important to notice is that all exploration is pretty much useless, yes you will find all these locations on the world map ( which I love btw) but they are all so empty, there is no real need to go into any of these unless you have a quest in there since you can clear them out without finding any special.

    Sadly I could go on about Kraters short comings but right now I have better things to do. I'm not gonna say straight out "don't buy this" but I would spend my money else where and maybe grab it in the future when there is more content.
    Full Review »