Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    La Mulana is a gem of pure gameplay, based on exploration and old-school action. It may not appeal to everyone, for its formula and for its challenging difficulty, but those looking for a solid action adventure in 2D gloriousness should look no further.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    84
    An extremely well thought-out metroidvania. While its fiendishly obscure puzzles are a source of endless frustration, hardcore fans of the genre are in for a treat. For others it may border on the unbeatable, so best prepare well! [Nov 2012]
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    83
    Behind the dusty retro-facade hides an arduous adventure that calls for brains as much as for sleight of hand.
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    82
    La-Mulana is a brilliant title. Pure gameplay based on exploration and old-school action.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    What makes La Mulana work is the way all its elements come together. It's never about straight combat, or platforming, or even puzzle solving, but rather a combination of the three at all times.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to admire in La-Mulana. After struggling to hit Western shores in its WiiWare incarnation for years, it's a treat to finally be able to play it. Actually, it's not a treat. It's a nightmare. But if the success of Dark Souls has proven anything, it's that there's a world of people out there who just want to be punished.
  7. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Beyond the seemingly insurmountable wall of challenge, La-Mulana is a brilliant title that exceeds in just about every category. Art, music, breadth of content, game length -- La-Mulana gets the highest marks. But there's simply no denying that the difficulty, as fair as Nigoro purports it to be, is a major deterrent.
  8. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Quiz question: What do you get if you combine Super Metroid with Indiana Jones? Answer: A game called La-Mulana. And with that concept this game succeeds to be very entertaining.
  9. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    La-Mulana won't appeal to the more casual players. Instead, it's for those who are masochistic with a fondness for 'Metroidvania' games - but even then, a high level of patience is required to get the most enjoyment out of this indie title.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hate this game. It's so bad! People call it "hard", but it's really just badly designed and forces you to make up for its badI absolutely hate this game. It's so bad! People call it "hard", but it's really just badly designed and forces you to make up for its bad design. It lacks a real intuitiveness and become repetitive really quickly. Music drags on. If you're looking for the next Castlevania, then don't look here. Keep on looking!

    I picked this up based on the scores thinking this would at least be okay since more often than not games that get higher scores are games that I like but this just feels like a big lie.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    0
    Just garbage. I really wanted to like it; I walked in expecting Dark Souls level difficulty, and I love a challenge. The only thing thatJust garbage. I really wanted to like it; I walked in expecting Dark Souls level difficulty, and I love a challenge. The only thing that makes this game hard are the TERRIBLE controls. No mid-air movement, aside from when you've reached the top of your jump and are falling, massive knockback which will reload a screen and respawn all enemies. It's just a platformer with horrible controls that people seem to be touting as difficult. I spent all day doing super meat boy's last stage in the dark world; La Mulana isn't hard, it's just bad. Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    As others have said this game is Hard. Any person who is used to the typical hand holding game of today's age will be unable to handle thisAs others have said this game is Hard. Any person who is used to the typical hand holding game of today's age will be unable to handle this game. The puzzle clues are cryptic and the user will have to learn a new culture and language very slowly as they divulge deeper into the depths of the ancient ruins. The difficulty is capable of being made even more brutal through an optional hard mode for the truly masochistic. It has been many years since I played a game as challenging, engaging, and rewarding as this game. Easily my favorite game of this decade. Full Review »