User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 67
  2. Negative: 15 out of 67

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    0
    Just garbage. I really wanted to like it; I walked in expecting Dark Souls level difficulty, and I love a challenge. The only thing that makes this game hard are the TERRIBLE controls. No mid-air movement, aside from when you've reached the top of your jump and are falling, massive knockback which will reload a screen and respawn all enemies. It's just a platformer with horribleJust garbage. I really wanted to like it; I walked in expecting Dark Souls level difficulty, and I love a challenge. The only thing that makes this game hard are the TERRIBLE controls. No mid-air movement, aside from when you've reached the top of your jump and are falling, massive knockback which will reload a screen and respawn all enemies. It's just a platformer with horrible controls that people seem to be touting as difficult. I spent all day doing super meat boy's last stage in the dark world; La Mulana isn't hard, it's just bad. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    Oh look, another bad game where metacritic manchildren show their hard on for anything indie made.

    It's not that hard, in theory- but the controls are bad. Yes, yes, we get it- on the NES, the controls were generally terrible and that resulted in many of the games being insanely hard. But even Super Mario 3 managed to get out of that rut by the end of the console's lifespan. Now, if
    Oh look, another bad game where metacritic manchildren show their hard on for anything indie made.

    It's not that hard, in theory- but the controls are bad. Yes, yes, we get it- on the NES, the controls were generally terrible and that resulted in many of the games being insanely hard. But even Super Mario 3 managed to get out of that rut by the end of the console's lifespan.

    Now, if you appreciate playing a game that could have come out on the NES- by all means, you'll probably like it. Just be wary that this isn't just NES challenging, but has most of the things about NES that were bad too- like controls.

    If you're looking for something like Super Metroid- this isn't the place. I love Super Metroid, it's one of the best games ever made- this game is utter garbage, and nothing like it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    1
    Unplayable controls. Movements easily lag a half second behind inputs. In midair it's even worse. Can't jump onto OR off of ladders. Can only attack directly in front of you. I'm all for difficult games but not when the difficulty stems from not being able to move your character properly.
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    I absolutely hate this game. It's so bad! People call it "hard", but it's really just badly designed and forces you to make up for its bad design. It lacks a real intuitiveness and become repetitive really quickly. Music drags on. If you're looking for the next Castlevania, then don't look here. Keep on looking!

    I picked this up based on the scores thinking this would at least be okay
    I absolutely hate this game. It's so bad! People call it "hard", but it's really just badly designed and forces you to make up for its bad design. It lacks a real intuitiveness and become repetitive really quickly. Music drags on. If you're looking for the next Castlevania, then don't look here. Keep on looking!

    I picked this up based on the scores thinking this would at least be okay since more often than not games that get higher scores are games that I like but this just feels like a big lie.
    Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    2
    The game understands that challenge can be fun, but unfortunately makes the mistake of thinking that frustration = challenge. Having to deal with death traps that cannot be escaped and kill you slowly, and puzzles that are obscure at best, is not a way to have a good time.

    On the bright side, the music and atmosphere are great, so you'll at least hear some decent tunes while you try to
    The game understands that challenge can be fun, but unfortunately makes the mistake of thinking that frustration = challenge. Having to deal with death traps that cannot be escaped and kill you slowly, and puzzles that are obscure at best, is not a way to have a good time.

    On the bright side, the music and atmosphere are great, so you'll at least hear some decent tunes while you try to find out how to get your money back.
    Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2014
    2
    One of the best terrible games I've ever played. It's got great artwork, fun (though repetitive and quickly irritating) music, and a nice nostalgic feel to it, but the gampelay is gimped by ridiculously antiquated concepts like infinitely respawning enemies, severe backwards recoil when hit, and worst of all, no mid-air motion. If you fall through a trap door, your controls are lockedOne of the best terrible games I've ever played. It's got great artwork, fun (though repetitive and quickly irritating) music, and a nice nostalgic feel to it, but the gampelay is gimped by ridiculously antiquated concepts like infinitely respawning enemies, severe backwards recoil when hit, and worst of all, no mid-air motion. If you fall through a trap door, your controls are locked until you hit the ground. Honestly, I wanted to like this game. It's so charming it's almost difficult not to. But after the millionth time I failed to beat a boss that would have been easy if not for the rocks that fall and knock you back a quarter of the screen, I couldn't deal with it anymore. I wish the game followed its own advice and made me jump in my seat, instead of making me lean forward in my seat to turn it off. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2014
    2
    This is not a good game.
    I bought it because it seems like spelunky and because of its high meta score,
    but I regret it.
    Difficult and boring.
    Not recommended.
  8. May 17, 2014
    0
    This is not the game I was searching for. I've noticed it after only a few seconds of play. Yet I've decided to give it a try; since it seemed interesting and original. First problem I've run into: the controls. They don't just lag; they are DESIGNED to be that way. Second problem I've run into: the game design, the level design, and the gameplay programming is horribad. I have to say thatThis is not the game I was searching for. I've noticed it after only a few seconds of play. Yet I've decided to give it a try; since it seemed interesting and original. First problem I've run into: the controls. They don't just lag; they are DESIGNED to be that way. Second problem I've run into: the game design, the level design, and the gameplay programming is horribad. I have to say that I stopped playing the game before discovering that the tutorial for the game is actually available in the form of a steam store video. If that tutorial had been displayed before the game instead of via a totally unrelated channel, it might have changed my experience drastically. But it wasn't the case. Now I don't want to play it, I just regret having bought it. And I write this for you to not make the same mistake. Expand
  9. Mar 28, 2016
    0
    A game totally wasted by such a horrible gameplay, I mean jump inertia is terrible. This is unacceptable for this genre. This is a joke, a real joke.
    No gameplay= no intesrest at all !
    Don't waste your money...
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    La-Mulana won't appeal to the more casual players. Instead, it's for those who are masochistic with a fondness for 'Metroidvania' games - but even then, a high level of patience is required to get the most enjoyment out of this indie title.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    82
    La-Mulana is a brilliant title. Pure gameplay based on exploration and old-school action.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2012
    84
    An extremely well thought-out metroidvania. While its fiendishly obscure puzzles are a source of endless frustration, hardcore fans of the genre are in for a treat. For others it may border on the unbeatable, so best prepare well! [Nov 2012]