La-Mulana (Remake) Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Will you fall prey to deadly traps or unravel the secrets of LA-MULANA?

    LA-MULANA is an "Archaeological Ruin Exploration Action Game" in which you search inside ancient ruins, seeking out the "Secret Treasure of Life" - which sleeps in the sprawling ruins of
    Will you fall prey to deadly traps or unravel the secrets of LA-MULANA?

    LA-MULANA is an "Archaeological Ruin Exploration Action Game" in which you search inside ancient ruins, seeking out the "Secret Treasure of Life" - which sleeps in the sprawling ruins of "LA-MULANA" and is said to be the beginning of all civilization.

    Apart from the plethora of traps lying in wait to stop intruders, there are also monsters on the prowl, protecting the ruins.

    Head for the innermost depths of the ruins while solving a variety of mysteries, fending off monsters, and disarming traps.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    La Mulana is a gem of pure gameplay, based on exploration and old-school action. It may not appeal to everyone, for its formula and for its challenging difficulty, but those looking for a solid action adventure in 2D gloriousness should look no further.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    84
    An extremely well thought-out metroidvania. While its fiendishly obscure puzzles are a source of endless frustration, hardcore fans of the genre are in for a treat. For others it may border on the unbeatable, so best prepare well! [Nov 2012]
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    83
    Behind the dusty retro-facade hides an arduous adventure that calls for brains as much as for sleight of hand.
  4. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Beyond the seemingly insurmountable wall of challenge, La-Mulana is a brilliant title that exceeds in just about every category. Art, music, breadth of content, game length -- La-Mulana gets the highest marks. But there's simply no denying that the difficulty, as fair as Nigoro purports it to be, is a major deterrent.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    What makes La Mulana work is the way all its elements come together. It's never about straight combat, or platforming, or even puzzle solving, but rather a combination of the three at all times.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    There's a lot to admire in La-Mulana. After struggling to hit Western shores in its WiiWare incarnation for years, it's a treat to finally be able to play it. Actually, it's not a treat. It's a nightmare. But if the success of Dark Souls has proven anything, it's that there's a world of people out there who just want to be punished.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    La-Mulana won't appeal to the more casual players. Instead, it's for those who are masochistic with a fondness for 'Metroidvania' games - but even then, a high level of patience is required to get the most enjoyment out of this indie title.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    A quality game all around. Epic 16 bit music that will make nostalgia Nintendo Generation people rock out to the midi-esque goodness. EasyA quality game all around. Epic 16 bit music that will make nostalgia Nintendo Generation people rock out to the midi-esque goodness. Easy enough to allow you to learn from your mistakes but hard enough to provide some head-scratching entertainment as you attempt to solve it's many puzzles. Not a game that is hard enough to throw your controller against a wall, but not so easy as to bore you to tears.

    It's a great little title with an excellent feel, some historical & educational content, and a great concept. It is best summed up as the type of challenging game that makes you want to look up a walkthrough or a FAQ for help, but your inner gamer niggles at you saying "Na, dude. You don't need to do that. Figure it out on your own! You know you can do it."

    Indiana Jones meets Mega Man with a puzzle-ridden twist. Shades of CastleVania as well. A great buy on a steam sale near you. $3 very well spent.
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This game is hard.

    This game is very, very hard and this aspect makes for the foundation of La-Mulana. In an era flooded with 'quest
    This game is hard.

    This game is very, very hard and this aspect makes for the foundation of La-Mulana. In an era flooded with 'quest arrows' and 'quick time events' this little gem of a platformer manages to defy the trends and pay homage to games long gone, where the player was supposed to plan ahead and explore with his biggest assets: his own memory, intellect and reflexes.

    If you play (and) rate La-Mulana for what it is, then it's impossible to not give it a perfect score.
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    As others have said this game is Hard. Any person who is used to the typical hand holding game of today's age will be unable to handle thisAs others have said this game is Hard. Any person who is used to the typical hand holding game of today's age will be unable to handle this game. The puzzle clues are cryptic and the user will have to learn a new culture and language very slowly as they divulge deeper into the depths of the ancient ruins. The difficulty is capable of being made even more brutal through an optional hard mode for the truly masochistic. It has been many years since I played a game as challenging, engaging, and rewarding as this game. Easily my favorite game of this decade. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2015
    8
    La-Mulana is an excellent throwback to the MSX games from the mid 1980's. Though the controls may get hard to get used too, the game has aLa-Mulana is an excellent throwback to the MSX games from the mid 1980's. Though the controls may get hard to get used too, the game has a learning curve and physics from the first three Castlevania games made by Konami. The La-Mulana's puzzles are not for the casual-type of gamers and many of those who play the game for the first time may want to save screenshots of rooms and tablets found in the ruins to help you get clues for some of the more obscure puzzles. But, other than that the game is extremely difficult for those not with a mindset of a 'metroidvania' dungeon crawler with physics from the 8-bit era of games. La-Mulana is recommended for those who like a good challenge that pays off in the end Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    2
    One of the best terrible games I've ever played. It's got great artwork, fun (though repetitive and quickly irritating) music, and a niceOne of the best terrible games I've ever played. It's got great artwork, fun (though repetitive and quickly irritating) music, and a nice nostalgic feel to it, but the gampelay is gimped by ridiculously antiquated concepts like infinitely respawning enemies, severe backwards recoil when hit, and worst of all, no mid-air motion. If you fall through a trap door, your controls are locked until you hit the ground. Honestly, I wanted to like this game. It's so charming it's almost difficult not to. But after the millionth time I failed to beat a boss that would have been easy if not for the rocks that fall and knock you back a quarter of the screen, I couldn't deal with it anymore. I wish the game followed its own advice and made me jump in my seat, instead of making me lean forward in my seat to turn it off. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    2
    This is not a good game.
    I bought it because it seems like spelunky and because of its high meta score,
    but I regret it. Difficult and
    This is not a good game.
    I bought it because it seems like spelunky and because of its high meta score,
    but I regret it.
    Difficult and boring.
    Not recommended.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2014
    0
    This is not the game I was searching for. I've noticed it after only a few seconds of play. Yet I've decided to give it a try; since it seemedThis is not the game I was searching for. I've noticed it after only a few seconds of play. Yet I've decided to give it a try; since it seemed interesting and original. First problem I've run into: the controls. They don't just lag; they are DESIGNED to be that way. Second problem I've run into: the game design, the level design, and the gameplay programming is horribad. I have to say that I stopped playing the game before discovering that the tutorial for the game is actually available in the form of a steam store video. If that tutorial had been displayed before the game instead of via a totally unrelated channel, it might have changed my experience drastically. But it wasn't the case. Now I don't want to play it, I just regret having bought it. And I write this for you to not make the same mistake. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews