User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 778 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 778

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    After playing this game for five days I am still just giving it a 5 out of 10 due to technical issues. Despite some people claiming its the users fault, the game is simply not optimized for some hardware. Numerous reviews have also commented on the less than acceptable FPS on many systems.I am playing on a Intel Duo core 3ghz, 4gb ram and geforce 560 ti, and even on low it is unplayable. IAfter playing this game for five days I am still just giving it a 5 out of 10 due to technical issues. Despite some people claiming its the users fault, the game is simply not optimized for some hardware. Numerous reviews have also commented on the less than acceptable FPS on many systems.I am playing on a Intel Duo core 3ghz, 4gb ram and geforce 560 ti, and even on low it is unplayable. I can run Shogun 2 and Skyrim in full glory, no FPS slowdown whatsoever. There is no reason why LA Noire needs a quad core to run acceptably on low using a mid range system. The fault lies with a shoddy port, not with peoples' systems. If you make a port, do it right, or don't do it at all. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    So the top rated negative comment blathers about bad controls... I would like to know what the hell this guy is talking about. The controls are fine. Took me about 5 minutes to get used to them.

    Anyway, it may be a bit early for me to write a review, as I have not finished the game, but oh well. The game is good. Not great. The cases are interesting (as are the WWII sequences). The
    So the top rated negative comment blathers about bad controls... I would like to know what the hell this guy is talking about. The controls are fine. Took me about 5 minutes to get used to them.

    Anyway, it may be a bit early for me to write a review, as I have not finished the game, but oh well. The game is good. Not great. The cases are interesting (as are the WWII sequences). The gameplay is fun, good mix of detective work and violence (maybe a bit light on the violence for certain tastes). All in all, worth playing, even though I know it will have no replay value whatsoever.
    Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    7
    I first played this on a mates ps3 so when it came to I got it on the first day this comes with all the extra add on stuff that ps3/xbox360 owners had to pay extra for on pc the only fault is the controls They will make you mad at first but I got used to them the fight controls are stupid this is worth a try
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game has some interesting concepts, but largely fails in the execution of them: the shootout action sequences are clunky and boring, driving the streets is tedious and the vehicles handle poorly, and collecting clues for your cases is a rather haphazard affair. Then there's the interrogation segments, which regularly involve your character verbally abusing a suspect when you chose toThis game has some interesting concepts, but largely fails in the execution of them: the shootout action sequences are clunky and boring, driving the streets is tedious and the vehicles handle poorly, and collecting clues for your cases is a rather haphazard affair. Then there's the interrogation segments, which regularly involve your character verbally abusing a suspect when you chose to "doubt" them, followed by you apologizing and backtracking. The whole interrogation system is just too illogical and unpredictable: you have no idea what your character will actually say, given any particular option, and backing up your accusations relies on having previously discovered particular clues--catching them in a lie or making reasonable deductions doesn't seem to count for much. One thing the game does do well is providing a detailed and convincing environment of 1940's LA, and the facial graphics are pretty advanced. But these aren't enough to make LA Noire more than a mediocre game in my opinion. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    First off, the game runs fine for me. I had a glitch off the bat when I got it through steam: all of the animations and actions involving facial animation were omitted until I restarted steam, and then the game updated. Just so you know the game was about 12 gigs, and then a 2 gig update to fix the problem I mentioned (if bandwidth is an issue, buy it in a store). There are a couple ofFirst off, the game runs fine for me. I had a glitch off the bat when I got it through steam: all of the animations and actions involving facial animation were omitted until I restarted steam, and then the game updated. Just so you know the game was about 12 gigs, and then a 2 gig update to fix the problem I mentioned (if bandwidth is an issue, buy it in a store). There are a couple of gripes I have with this game. I would like to play through scenes a little more specifically rather than doing every case over from the beginning to try and obtain a perfect score (the save and load features didn't seem that obvious). This is a good game, but if you're buying this based off of "I like GTA" then this might not be for you. While the game does have a GTA feel, it is not really a sandbox and they give you the option to let your partner drive you to locations for a reason (saving time, and causing city damage lowers your score). This is a game for people who like point and click adventures, mystery games, or puzzle games more than a game like GTA. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Boooring. I love noire movies. But those convey atmosphere and an interesting plot. The L.A. city looked very convincing, but the atmosphere was barely there. There was something missing. In the retrospective I cannot imagine how this could have worked in a sem sandbox world. The "noirness" of the noir movies comes from conersations, camera work, rightly cued music. Many of those elementsBoooring. I love noire movies. But those convey atmosphere and an interesting plot. The L.A. city looked very convincing, but the atmosphere was barely there. There was something missing. In the retrospective I cannot imagine how this could have worked in a sem sandbox world. The "noirness" of the noir movies comes from conersations, camera work, rightly cued music. Many of those elements cannot take palce when you are running around etc. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    7
    Pretty much just a storytelling game. The extent to which a player actually effects the outcomes is fairly limited. Sure you can pin a murder on x when it was probably y, but... so what. You still slog through the story same as before. As far as graphics and gameplay complaints voiced by others, I did not experience any problems whatsoever. I ran the game on full graphics with minimalPretty much just a storytelling game. The extent to which a player actually effects the outcomes is fairly limited. Sure you can pin a murder on x when it was probably y, but... so what. You still slog through the story same as before. As far as graphics and gameplay complaints voiced by others, I did not experience any problems whatsoever. I ran the game on full graphics with minimal tweaks and did not experience any framerate or crash issues at all. The detail level was fairly impressive. This game will keep you busy for a day or two, but after that, you'll either be finished or bored, and it's replay value is non-existant. Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Yet another brilliant port from Rockstar. *sarcasm* In all seriousness, I guess this is what happens when you focus more on the consoles than on all platforms, or maybe they're just too plain incompetent, as the only good port I saw from R* was the PC version of Vice City. And it didn't help that they used a clunky DRM system that reminds me of some draconian anti-cheat system from Korea.Yet another brilliant port from Rockstar. *sarcasm* In all seriousness, I guess this is what happens when you focus more on the consoles than on all platforms, or maybe they're just too plain incompetent, as the only good port I saw from R* was the PC version of Vice City. And it didn't help that they used a clunky DRM system that reminds me of some draconian anti-cheat system from Korea. The storyline and overall concept is brilliant though, plus the addition of licensed cars and a (mostly) accurate depiction of downtown Los Angeles adds to the charm. Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    I don't know if I am just too incompetent to play this game right or if it is the game itself that manages to demoralize me every step of the way. This game is about interrogation and I think it's a great idea but sometimes I get the feeling that you can't really predict anything Detective Phelps is gonna say nor do I know if there is anything to back up doubts or accusations. This feelsI don't know if I am just too incompetent to play this game right or if it is the game itself that manages to demoralize me every step of the way. This game is about interrogation and I think it's a great idea but sometimes I get the feeling that you can't really predict anything Detective Phelps is gonna say nor do I know if there is anything to back up doubts or accusations. This feels kinda blurry to me and crashes the fun a bit because you're not being rewarded. And even if you get 90% of the questions in a case right the tall grump (your boss) is gonna diminish your police work - that sucks at best!
    Okay, away from that main point to game mechanics:
    Walking and driving feels dull and clumpy. Your mouse won't respond the way you'd expect. Thanks for porting the game so badly... The shooting sequences should've either been taken out of the game or done better - those are really boring to be honest. Run. Duck. Wait for the others to reload. Quick shooting session. Done. Always the same. I don't even want to get started on certain bugs as auto climbing failing to work, your keyboard/mouse input is just being ignored by the game and so on...
    Conclusive it is a decent game with a very neat idea and overall awesome facial expressions that unfortunately WON'T give you any hint what people are up to... sad but true. So it's either me and my minimalized mind for crime or really the game. That's why 7/10
    Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    A very unique and original game in my opinion. Loved the 1940's LA setting. Driving is one of the highlights - controls feel very smooth. One of the few PC games I preferred a gamepad over mouse/kb. With over 20 cases in the Complete Edition the storyline started to drag in the middle, but picked up toward the end. Interrogations can be frustrating if you repeatedly guess wrong. FeelsA very unique and original game in my opinion. Loved the 1940's LA setting. Driving is one of the highlights - controls feel very smooth. One of the few PC games I preferred a gamepad over mouse/kb. With over 20 cases in the Complete Edition the storyline started to drag in the middle, but picked up toward the end. Interrogations can be frustrating if you repeatedly guess wrong. Feels like too much time is spent watching cut scenes. Overall a quality experience, recommended. Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this game wasn't so unique it would have fared far worse than a 7/10. The crime solving and scouring for clues and reading peoples face expressions are all just so damn fun to do and you get a real sense of accomplishment when you correctly call someone out who was lying. The groundbreaking technology used for the facial expressions is amazing, unfortunately not every character in the game has it so the animations for those characters looks really bad when they are side-by-side with one that does. Also, sometimes people will do the exact same thing when they tell the truth and when they lie, making telling the difference quite difficult. The game also has numerous "noobie friendly" features such as intuition points that can show you locations of clues or tell you whether someone is lying. If you fail a chase sequence or shootout a few times in a row you will get the option to skip it and continue on with the crime solving.

    Unfortunately this game has a large amount of bugs and flaws. I have only played the PC version so I am not sure if some of these are specific to the PC version or not. The sound can glitch during some cutscenes. I had the sound of my machinegun firing throughout an entire cutscene a few times and then it continued after as well, forcing me to quit the game and restart. The actors use modern lingo a few times such as "legit" and that really bothered me as the voice acting was suberb and lingo from the 40's was prevalent throughout. Sometimes cars will just disappear off the screen. THis one was quite common and I found cars just vanishing from my screen as I approached an intersection. The controls are floaty and when you run you feel like you are that fat cop who eats donuts all day instead of an agile ex-marine. The combat and cover system is bad. I would commonly fund myself unable to move through my cover, leave cover or even go into it. You can still get shot while behind cover. Aiming isn't fluid and you will often find your crosshair skipping along. I can see why the xbox version had aim assist as it is just hard to do manually. The graphics on weapons isn't very good, but the effects of the guns shooting and the recoil of them is very well done.

    There are a lot of collectible that are made easy to find by the Rockstar Social Club which lists all of your accomplishments in detail on their site. The story was great and the ending was great as well (But it seems some people didn't feel this way) The big twist that came near the end of the game was seemingly out of nowhere, i'm not really sure why the character did that but what came after that point was a more sensible, easier to follow story that i really enjoyed. The biggest problem i had, and this was prevalent on all version of the game, is that the FPS lags a ton. THis is very noticeable during driving sessions as your vehicle will skip forward. Luckily you can fast travel anywhere in the world which is great. Overall, the uniqueness of this game makes it well worth a look, but there are many flaws to bring it down. Do careful research before purchasing.
    Expand
  12. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    It was an interesting game. Good graphics, story, voice acting, music score. Brings back a lot of memories when I was a little kid. Great attention to detail of that time period. The pc controls are a little bid clunky. I hated the ending but hell, I'm a sap for happy endings. Oh well.
  13. Jul 23, 2012
    6
    When I first started playing this game I thought, "How did I go this long without finding this gem?" But as I continued to play, I realized that the scenarios were basically all the same, just different suspects/crimes, etc mixed in. It follows a very linear style as it is, what I consider to be, "mission driven." With such a large city, I was shocked that you can only explore it whileWhen I first started playing this game I thought, "How did I go this long without finding this gem?" But as I continued to play, I realized that the scenarios were basically all the same, just different suspects/crimes, etc mixed in. It follows a very linear style as it is, what I consider to be, "mission driven." With such a large city, I was shocked that you can only explore it while on a mission/scenario. With the "random" events happening within a scenario which you can choose to do, or skip, it's up to you. It's not as free roaming like GTA. Hopefully a next version will make it a free flowing and working city, that's more open, with the story elements tied in. Overall, a good game, especially if you got it during Steam's Summer sale at $4.99. Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    This is a good game. Not as much freedom as the GTA series, but the ambiance of 1940's L.A. is great. The game doesn't have much replay-ability due to the aforementioned lack of freedom. You kind of have to go from one point to the next (even though you can choose to answer calls while en route). My machine is relatively modest, but tends to play most new games at medium settings, butThis is a good game. Not as much freedom as the GTA series, but the ambiance of 1940's L.A. is great. The game doesn't have much replay-ability due to the aforementioned lack of freedom. You kind of have to go from one point to the next (even though you can choose to answer calls while en route). My machine is relatively modest, but tends to play most new games at medium settings, but this one doesn't run smoothly even on the lowest settings. It appears to be a rather poor port from the consoles (shock). Despite this, the game is pretty good. I would especially say it is worth a try especially if you can get it at less than full price. Expand
  15. Mar 4, 2014
    6
    Hyped as it was to be an amazing detective game where you can see people lie to you, by using a state of the art facial motion capture system, this game should be a milestone in video gaming. I think the facial animations are not that good. They seem accurate to the dialog, but look like blending over images from a 3D scanner: teeth and lips morph into a goo of polygons.... Driving throughHyped as it was to be an amazing detective game where you can see people lie to you, by using a state of the art facial motion capture system, this game should be a milestone in video gaming. I think the facial animations are not that good. They seem accurate to the dialog, but look like blending over images from a 3D scanner: teeth and lips morph into a goo of polygons.... Driving through this city is horrible. Despite you are a cop obeying the traffic laws, other cars stop in front of you at green lights for no reason or pedestrians run in front of your car, dropping their bags, turning around, heading a totally different direction and don't give a damn about their missing stuff. Do people actually not want to go somewhere!? Are they just aimlessly wandering around!? Interrogation is also difficult. You can tell, when people are holding back or lying to you (looking around after the statement). But it is weird, that it is incorrect to accuse them of a lie using a piece of evidence on them, where it was correct to doubt their statement, where the dialog uses exactly that evidence you originally failed with (replayed the game). Street crimes are also resolved by killing every armed criminal, no chance to overpower them or persuade them to give up like "Hey, I just shot your ten friends! Do you want to die as well!?" This makes so little sense. *** The game has its good ideas but some of them are poorly executed. Details the player sees cannot be pointed out in the game (Lemma of player knowledge vs. character knowledge). Some general things are repetitive and annoying (better let your partner drive when you can!). It is -- as said -- a diamond in the rough. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2012
    6
    When the game did run, L.A. Noire for the PC was one of the most enjoyable, and intriguing, video games I've ever played. The problem is, it hardly ran. Rockstar's woefully-terrible DRM methods made trying to get this game to even start almost impossible until the first patch. After that, the loading times, and general stuttering of the game made it unplayable most times. It's reallyWhen the game did run, L.A. Noire for the PC was one of the most enjoyable, and intriguing, video games I've ever played. The problem is, it hardly ran. Rockstar's woefully-terrible DRM methods made trying to get this game to even start almost impossible until the first patch. After that, the loading times, and general stuttering of the game made it unplayable most times. It's really unfortunate, too, because I played a bit of the console version and was just blown away. While the PC version has potential of playing just as well, Rockstar really needs to nail down the performance issues before this game can ever be thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2012
    7
    I bought this game on steam during the black friday week for only 5 bucks. For the price paid, it was worth every penny. All in all, the story is great, the characters are enjoyable, the ending could have been definitely better. With the exception of shooting and driving, the controls are often awkward, remembering it is a console port. The graphics are great. The city is big, but theI bought this game on steam during the black friday week for only 5 bucks. For the price paid, it was worth every penny. All in all, the story is great, the characters are enjoyable, the ending could have been definitely better. With the exception of shooting and driving, the controls are often awkward, remembering it is a console port. The graphics are great. The city is big, but the interaction with it is limited to what pertains to the cases you are working on. The investigation is good, the questioning and intuition system is a great addition. For most people, it is a one play through game. For completionists, they will probably have a second play through. With the lack of alternate endings, I doubt I will play it over again. Expand
  18. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    The game requires much more computer power than its graphics call for; the game was just badly ported to the PC with little thought about performance. Games like Just Cause 2 have better graphics, more textures and more amazing visuals with half that lag. What helped my performance was to run the game in single processor mode; for some reason, it ran faster since then. Now: about the gameThe game requires much more computer power than its graphics call for; the game was just badly ported to the PC with little thought about performance. Games like Just Cause 2 have better graphics, more textures and more amazing visuals with half that lag. What helped my performance was to run the game in single processor mode; for some reason, it ran faster since then. Now: about the game itself. It's cinematically a masterpiece, it feels like you're watching real actors - which you are! The story is the only reason to play this game, however, as the gameplay is just an excuse for progressing through the story and is nothing amazing. The funnest part of the gameplay is to watch the interviewed characters and decide if they are lying or not by their facial expressions, and to select the evidence that counters their claims. Although the game is not nearly challenging enough, or even challenging for a detective game, I found it satisfying to detect when the subjects were lying for the sheer satisfaction of being right. Otherwise, there is no real penalty apart from lengthened missions. I'd say this game is on par with games like bioshock, so I'm rating it a 7, for its unmatched acting, great story and good integration of detective work, however with some issues like being a laggy PC port, lacking challenge and having a boring gameplay if you strip away the story elements. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just completed this game. At least the main "case load" including DLC. While I found the overall gameplay experience joyful at times I also found it quite tedious other times as well. Overall I rate this game a bit above mediocre.
    I must give Rockstar props. Its an original concept no-one has ever tried before. I am a fan of Film Noire and so when I learned that a game based upon the same style and philosophy was being created I was very excited. In practice, sadly, I've got to say the plot of the game often disappoints. It is frustrating in the middle of the game when you know full well your fingering innocent people for the black dahlia murders but have no real option other than to arrest innocent people for the crimes. Case completed! You locked up some innocent sap. The main plot line of the game doesn't really rise up except in newspaper clippings until you are 2/3 through the game and I found that disappointing as well. You never really see the bad guy's get the comeuppance. One of them is killed by the doctor who gets choked by his own servant later on (So you weren't involved at all) and another gets shot in the leg. Thats it. As well there is the bizarre move for you to take command of another avatar for 3 of the last 4 missions. You've been playing as Phelps for the entire game and his blank by the book manner is great if not tiring after a while but why switch to a different protagonist? Or if your going to go that route integrate it into the whole game experience. Not just the last couple of missions. Strange.

    This brings me to my largest complaint of the game. Mismanagement of time allocation. How much time does it take to program a set of pipes? Some. And yet you need to "build" them to fine a piece is missing and it counts as a clue. There are some odd finesse pieces in the game that are often completely retarded. Swear to god. Only game I've ever played that required me to use an in game calculator. And guess what? Its less intuitive and harder to control than the actual calculator that comes with windows. All to unlock a clue. What sort of skill testing is that? What were they thinking?
    I could understand these points if the main body of the game was more polished but they aren't. As others have complained the driving mechanic (where you end up spending about 50% of your time) is reminiscent of one of the early GTA games. We know they have better code for a driving mechanic than that. Why? The shooting mechanic is also sub optimal. Either pretend bullets are endless or show how many you've got left. Nothing like your big gun running out mid fight only to have to go back to you handgun. Some of the "street crimes" were rewarding however I eventually began to dread them. It's like they were programmed to pop up on the farthest corner of the map at the least opportune times to stretch the game out. Additionally I liked the unlockable cars even if they all drove somewhat badly. However being unable to trigger street crimes in them meant I stopped using them and didn't go back. The main feature of the game was the "interview" mechanic. It was certainly the most hyped feature. However in practice I found it became like taking a quiz after a while. And as pointed out before sometimes the evidence for a lie made no sense whatsoever. In practice I ended up doing each interview multiple times and quitting before it saved so I could repeat it until I got the "right" answer. Not the most enjoyable experience. Especially when I had to re-search a scene before the interview. Overall though its not a bad game. It is a finished product. There were some novel elements and fun to be had. They did a good job of the noire feel while driving between clues, and at a lot of the cut scenes. It just easily could have been a better game. With a bit better direction and a smarter plot. If they had re-focused their energies on the components most used it would have been a better experience. The last mission for instance you get a flamethrower right before the end but it is so horrible to use you wish you could go back to your handgun to take out the last 6 thugs. Outside of gameplay I should comment I had major issues with the game installation for the first time in my life (And I am a quite seasoned gamer). The necessary download patch that came out after I purchases a hard copy of the game failed to install correctly preventing me from playing the game and it was a month before they released an improved patch which fixed it. Rockstar tech support is a step above useless it turns out. Lastly I'd like to point out to anyone looking to purchase this game. According to Rockstar social club 9% of the people who started this game are doing the last missions or more likely finished the game. They show a nice breakdown of which 1/5 of the game people are in. It looks like a lot of people got 1/4 to half way into the game and quit because the numbers didn't change the entire month I played
    Expand
  20. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    The good
    - very high quality
    - the best animation - the best voice and sound The bad - not fun as a game - way too hard without walkthroughs - way too boring with walkthroughs This one has a very good quality. They produce the game that look much like a real world. The way people speak, act, and their faces are too real. But somehow it failed as a fun game. There is not much
    The good
    - very high quality
    - the best animation
    - the best voice and sound

    The bad
    - not fun as a game
    - way too hard without walkthroughs
    - way too boring with walkthroughs

    This one has a very good quality. They produce the game that look much like a real world. The way people speak, act, and their faces are too real.

    But somehow it failed as a fun game. There is not much fun in it. The detective part is just too hard, especially for non-native English speaker.

    That's it. This game prove that even though how great your graphics are, it doesn't mean it will be a great game.
    Expand
  21. May 1, 2014
    7
    An interesting concept. The interrogation gameplay is fun and exciting on your first playthrough and the storytelling is excellent. The city of L.A. is beautifully presented but somehow doesn't feel alive. Do not expect a well optimized port.
  22. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    LA Noire is a strange game, in that it is a combination of 4 action games (car chase, foot chase, fist fight, gun fight) and an adventure-y detective game that is focused around interrogations. Since all these elements are woven around the same story, it really works, at first. After about five or six cases, it loses its luster somewhat. The foot chases, gun fights, and fist fights are tooLA Noire is a strange game, in that it is a combination of 4 action games (car chase, foot chase, fist fight, gun fight) and an adventure-y detective game that is focused around interrogations. Since all these elements are woven around the same story, it really works, at first. After about five or six cases, it loses its luster somewhat. The foot chases, gun fights, and fist fights are too easy. The car chases are easy too as long as you remap your keyboard so that you are driving with two hands. The interrogations are HARD. Even if I read all your evidence carefully, and review your conversation log, and look carefully at the expressions of the suspect, I still get the answer wrong almost half the time. When you get an answer wrong, you often miss out on evidence that is necessary for later interrogations. So once you start bad, things just go downhill. The case always "solves itself" at the end no matter how bad you screw up the interrogations, and it does this in a very confusing way. It is very frustrating because you can tell you have missed out on half the story. I have replayed some of the cases using a walkthrough, and found out there were big chunks of the story that I completely missed because I botched the interrogations. I replayed a few cases hoping that I could learn to do better on the interrogations, but it hasn't helped yet. The concept of the detective part of the game is very cool, but in the end too difficult and frustrating. The action part of the game is a little too easy and a little too repetitive. The graphics are very good, the facial detail, the period music and details are great, clearly a AAA game in terms of production values. It seems like this game went straight from concept to game, without any play-testing to calibrate the gameplay to a level where it is challenging but still fun. Expand
  23. Jun 23, 2013
    5
    Some of these positive reviews HAVE to be fake. While I love the idea behind L.A. Noire´╗┐, the execution leaves much to be desired. Do not buy on PC unless you are patient with crappy mechanics/sloppy concept execution and the game is on megasale.

    The most challenging aspect of this game is overcoming the game mechanics to enjoy the story. The 'investigation' part is less about finding
    Some of these positive reviews HAVE to be fake. While I love the idea behind L.A. Noire´╗┐, the execution leaves much to be desired. Do not buy on PC unless you are patient with crappy mechanics/sloppy concept execution and the game is on megasale.

    The most challenging aspect of this game is overcoming the game mechanics to enjoy the story. The 'investigation' part is less about finding clues and more about walking around designated spaces and waiting for a chime. You don't have to figure out what objects are relevant since the game does it for you. You can't go first person and you don't get a visible cursor meaning this "detective" game isn't about attention to detail or finding clues as much as it pretends to be. So if it's not about this it must be about the interrogation and using social finesse to get the truth out of people, right?

    Yet, if that's the case why are interrogations are linear rather than dynamic? They are an it's A (truth) B (doubt) or C (lie) right or wrong type situation. If you get it wrong, that line of questioning is shut down. This means you can't accuse people of lying or doubt them to get them to reveal more information like feeling desperate to prove they are telling the truth. It therefore becomes formulaic and repetitive interrogating people; if you think they are telling the truth you pick truth, if you don't think they are doubt them unless you have solid evidence. You don't have any control over the tone of what your character says or any notion of what he will say when you select something (he nearly always comes off rude). It takes all the subtly out of the art of interrogation and the control of the interrogation out of the player's hands. That does leave you with trying to read body language and determine if someone is lying and that's interesting but it takes all the fun out of it when you can't purposefully choose to say things, even if untrue, to gauge their reactions.

    Reason I give it a 5? There's excellent acting and the fun of driving around like a maniac GTA style but not much else. I still want to know what happens in the story. It's just one of those games I have to force myself to finish just to say I played it all the way through.
    Expand
  24. Dec 30, 2011
    7
    L.A. Noire is a good game, but it's far from perfect. The story is great, the facial animations are amazing, but the controls are a bit off. I played the PC version and it took a while to get used to. The controls aren't terrible, but I'm guessing the game is better on a console (bad port?) or with an actual controller. This game is definitely not for everyone. It requires a lot ofL.A. Noire is a good game, but it's far from perfect. The story is great, the facial animations are amazing, but the controls are a bit off. I played the PC version and it took a while to get used to. The controls aren't terrible, but I'm guessing the game is better on a console (bad port?) or with an actual controller. This game is definitely not for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and if you're the type of person who just wants to kill everything in sight and be done with it, this game is not for you. TL;DR ver. Rent. It's a good game, it just doesn't have a lot of replay value. I've been waiting a while for this to be released on PC and while it's not the best game I've played in a while, it's still worth checking out. Expand
  25. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    Considering that this title was ported by Rockstar, I'm rather surprised at how well it was optimized for PC (in comparison to GTA4, that is). The game is thoroughly enjoyable, and the new facial animation technology is really quite incredible. My only real complaints are with gameplay, in that the game feels quite linear and the enormous city of Los Angeles feels pretty dead outside ofConsidering that this title was ported by Rockstar, I'm rather surprised at how well it was optimized for PC (in comparison to GTA4, that is). The game is thoroughly enjoyable, and the new facial animation technology is really quite incredible. My only real complaints are with gameplay, in that the game feels quite linear and the enormous city of Los Angeles feels pretty dead outside of whatever investigation you happen to be on. That said, I find this game to be fun and would recommend it to anyone interested in the adventure genre. Expand
  26. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    Very good and interesting game. But the fact of play the full scene again and again, and don't be able to manually save frustrate me a bit, bad player experience for me. I feel like Groundhog Day. And some random crashes of the full pc... bad optimized for PC like ALL the Rockstar's games
  27. May 10, 2012
    6
    I managed to grab this on some sale at steam or other, but it did actually shine out amongst the other games as you actually get to play as a detective, in what-seems to be a GTA game (from Rockstar, so what do you expect?)
    Starting out the game, its a standard GTA-like story driven game. The "sand-box", or "free" style of gameplay however, is very lacking in comparison however. The game
    I managed to grab this on some sale at steam or other, but it did actually shine out amongst the other games as you actually get to play as a detective, in what-seems to be a GTA game (from Rockstar, so what do you expect?)
    Starting out the game, its a standard GTA-like story driven game. The "sand-box", or "free" style of gameplay however, is very lacking in comparison however. The game follows the career of a Detective, some "bad-ass" veteran from WW2 and his hijinx. It would be reasonable to say that this is a cross between an adventure game and a very small part action. - That said, there is also an "interrogation" mini-game to find clues or whatever.
    Whilst on the cover it seems to sound pretty damn cool, it is actually let-down by a number of issues. Firstly, them damn graphics. I mean, they'd be quite good... if it was released by the same time San Andreas came out. But by the release, them flickery shadows, and jaggy edges - you can see that they must have been cutting a few corners. Dated.
    Secondly- the "motto" of Rockstar, so far, (if you looked at GTA, or even Red Dead)- would be SAND BOX. This game is VERY linear. there are "street crime" events that happen in the city, but you'll be doing the same thing for each - Chase, shoot, suspect dead, repeat. To progress the story line, you had to go around interrogating people. you get 3 options "TRUE" , "FALSE", or "DOUBT". - there were many-a-time I had meant things in a certain way and the detective goes nuts for no reason-poopie! That said. > you could actually ask mostly wrong questions for all your suspects- then STILL manage to continue the story. - as punishment, solve street crimes- then carry on the story. pagnnhn!

    Conclusion > I actually had a good time for the first hour or two. I mean, the story isn't bad, but it's vastly inferior to anything that GTA gave out. Graphics? They're OK. Game-play? Not too good- not going to touch this for a LONG time. Instead of a detective game like I wanted, it was more like a Japanese style graphic novel where you just watch.
    As a Graphic novel, Im gonna give this a 7, but cos its in the "Games" section, ... 5? but... I did actually want to know what happened... so.. 6? yah...

    - I think its time I dug out that copy of "Blade Runner" again, now THAT was detective work!
    Expand
  28. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Good adventure game with great characters, graphics, and atmosphere. The faces in the game are simply amazing. I have never seen a game yet with this detailed facial animations and expressions. I also really love the setting: a noire story set in the late 40's.

    However it's far from perfect, the controls are bad and the game is too short.
  29. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game is rushed, and could had been optimized better. The driving in this game is very unrealistic. Its EXTREMELY linear, there is no freedom in this game what so ever, its just mission after mission and I've played up to detective mode and a few missions after-wards. However the facial expressions in this game are amazing and are really well done and are great for asking questions toThis game is rushed, and could had been optimized better. The driving in this game is very unrealistic. Its EXTREMELY linear, there is no freedom in this game what so ever, its just mission after mission and I've played up to detective mode and a few missions after-wards. However the facial expressions in this game are amazing and are really well done and are great for asking questions to see if they're lying or not. However it doesn't really show if they're lying enough to make a clear suggestion right. Expand
  30. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    The game has a great story with some inventive mechanics. however for the pc Version it is clearly a port. the are lots of problems with objects that just pop in even on advanced pcs.
  31. Jan 12, 2012
    5
    LA Noire is not so much a game as it is a work simulator. A clunky restrictive simulator that holds players hostage as they wade through the minutia of pseudo detective work. The dime store narrative and ham acting leave LA Noire with almost no redeeming qualities save for its Steam sale price.
  32. Mar 15, 2012
    5
    Poor console based controls on the PC Version, poor support of hardware forcing you to turn down the detail to play a game that should easily be able to run smoothly on max settings and a cut scene heavy game to tell a story with very poor sections of game play in between. This is more movie than game and the game play elements are really pretty poor over all. If you like movies, perhapsPoor console based controls on the PC Version, poor support of hardware forcing you to turn down the detail to play a game that should easily be able to run smoothly on max settings and a cut scene heavy game to tell a story with very poor sections of game play in between. This is more movie than game and the game play elements are really pretty poor over all. If you like movies, perhaps renting the movie version of this if they make one would be a better and cheaper than buying it full price as a game only to end up watching the best parts because the interactive gameplay parts really suck. Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    Just purchased this for 5 bux during the Steam summer sale. It's a great game for the most part. But like others have said, this is a shoddy PC port. Even with the fixes that Rockstar has put forth for PC players, the game still runs slowly. It looks good, but it would hurt less if the game looked stunning and ran this poorly. I mean, even Crysis runs better and that's still the graphicalJust purchased this for 5 bux during the Steam summer sale. It's a great game for the most part. But like others have said, this is a shoddy PC port. Even with the fixes that Rockstar has put forth for PC players, the game still runs slowly. It looks good, but it would hurt less if the game looked stunning and ran this poorly. I mean, even Crysis runs better and that's still the graphical high-mark of the last five years. This game doesn't come close to that graphical fidelity and runs much worse. As far as the gameplay goes, I'm having a pretty good time solving cases and I enjoy the facial expressions. It's just hard to swallow yet another flawed Rockstar PC port after GTAIV's failure. Expand
  34. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    This game is tricky to review. The idea does make sense and the mood of 1940s LA is captured perfectly. However, the game gets quite repetitive and a bit boring later on and there is also quite a few bugs and glitches. It also tries to shovel in unnecessary FPS action into it. If you are thinking of buying this, be cautious.
  35. Jul 8, 2015
    7
    More adventure and mystery than GTA or Red Dead Redemption, mind you, but Rockstar just makes amazing games. There is still some driving (which thankfully can be skipped 90% of the time with sort-of fast travel) and some shooting, but it is mostly clue searching and question asking. The meat of the game is judging every answer you get with Truth, Doubt, or Lie - and if you select Lie, youMore adventure and mystery than GTA or Red Dead Redemption, mind you, but Rockstar just makes amazing games. There is still some driving (which thankfully can be skipped 90% of the time with sort-of fast travel) and some shooting, but it is mostly clue searching and question asking. The meat of the game is judging every answer you get with Truth, Doubt, or Lie - and if you select Lie, you have to present evidence you've found to prove it.

    It did get boring and I wish it was about 30% shorter or tightened up a bit. It also got a bit repetitive. The story was pretty good with some minor holes, but probably worth your play. It's a unique game.
    Expand
  36. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    Actually this game could have been done better. Controls are pain the ass, especially in fight or other sequences. You can skip them, sometimes it's the only way to move forward. City is huge but kinda empty. However very good music and sounds are remainding noir classics. Lets just say this game is decent console port but nothing more.
  37. Jun 6, 2015
    6
    The good: facial animations are great, game feels unique.
    The bad: game gets old quickly, it fails to fully engage the player, graphics look dated.
    Conclusion: it's a pity that the developers could not deliver an engaging game for such unique idea.
  38. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    This game does some things average,some others very nicely,but it is also bad in other things.
    The PC version is just a console port,so don't expect anything better. Having said that,the facial animations on this game are very good,and I wish more games had that kind of animation quality. But while faces are a leap ahead,I can't say the same about how the rest of the bodies animate.
    This game does some things average,some others very nicely,but it is also bad in other things.
    The PC version is just a console port,so don't expect anything better. Having said that,the facial animations on this game are very good,and I wish more games had that kind of animation quality. But while faces are a leap ahead,I can't say the same about how the rest of the bodies animate. Animation quality isn't on the same level for the whole body and that makes it look awkward sometimes. Sound and music do their job. What is interesting in this game is its story that hooks you up,as it has all the mystery you would expect from a detective's game! While the game's world feel too much like GTA, and car driving and getting around the world is exactly like it is in GTA4,this game has unique gameplay which is nice. I'd wish more games made moves towards innovating gameplay like this game does.
    The game is better played on short sessions,like a mission each time you run it. It's because each mission feels like a different episode of a tv series. Playing the game in large sessions and many missions each time won't feel the same and might get somewhat repeatitive.
    Initially this game got me frustrated because it doesn't follow a standard installation procedure.
    Might take you some extra time to figure out how to make it work,but after that you will be able to enjoy this game. The game has some unnecessary freedom. It contains a whole city for you to roam around, in a size comparable to GTA's cities. The thing is that it doesn't have that much side-missions and things you can do as in GTA games,so there is really not a reason to explore,as the city is empty,and driving around becomes boring after a while,but thankfully there is a fast travel option.
    It's a game that does detective gameplay really good,but other than that nothing ground breaking.
    Expand
  39. Sep 14, 2012
    7
    The story was enjoyable however I felt the gameplay became too repetitive and slow. The city was also too big and boring to drive around. The game for me only got good towards the end.
  40. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Bought this game because it was supposed to be a great one. Turns out it's not great, but not bad either. I personally found parts of it to be tedious, boring, and slow for my tastes. But there were fun, interesting, and exciting elements to it as well.

    Plot is interesting enough as it unfolds and I did want to find out what was going to happen next every time something I finished a
    Bought this game because it was supposed to be a great one. Turns out it's not great, but not bad either. I personally found parts of it to be tedious, boring, and slow for my tastes. But there were fun, interesting, and exciting elements to it as well.

    Plot is interesting enough as it unfolds and I did want to find out what was going to happen next every time something I finished a part of a case or even a whole case itself. There is a steady progression in the overall story and it's admittedly exciting to see it all come together by the end.

    Voice acting is superb, however it seems like every interrogation is a shouting match and I didn't find that believable in some instances. There's A LOT of talking in this game so the high quality voice acting is of course expected. Sounds and music fit the era and add to the atmosphere.

    Content and gameplay are good. There's a lot of tailing/sneaking, car chasing, perp chasing, shoot-outs, and of course various cases to solve. Crime scene investigations are cool as you get to test out your CSI skills. Interviewing is particularly satisfying because you have to decide whether what they are saying is true, doubtful, or an outright lie and you can tell by their facial expressions (some are easier to read than others).

    Graphically decent, with particularly stellar work on facial graphics and character models in general they looked very life-like. Other than that though, the LA that they've created doesn't look anything spectacular given how other games look.

    I did not have any trouble running this on highest settings on my system, unlike some people apparently. 3GHz Quad Core i5, 8gb RAM, Radeon 7950 3gb.
    Expand
  41. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    This game looks coo, at the start,ut after getting halfway trough the game,it's pretty boring.
    You got the same things over and over again : Investigate, Interrogate, Go from place to place, On foot chase, Car chase and maybe a shooting sometimes, then some last interrogation.
    I know that looking at people faces to see if they are lying is interesting, but after sometime it gets boring.
    7/10
  42. Jul 29, 2015
    7
    Lots of things to say on that game.

    -Graphics Shameless, crappy port. My computer is brand new and this game is 4 years old, and I still have choppiness issues when I'm playing with all options on Performance. On Quality options, I get a screen freeze of about 0.3 seconds every other second. You have to REALLY want to play the game on those conditions, but the worst is that Final
    Lots of things to say on that game.

    -Graphics
    Shameless, crappy port. My computer is brand new and this game is 4 years old, and I still have choppiness issues when I'm playing with all options on Performance. On Quality options, I get a screen freeze of about 0.3 seconds every other second. You have to REALLY want to play the game on those conditions, but the worst is that Final Fantasy XIII came out two years before, looks much better and its port isn't exactly great, yet I can play it with almost no lag ever.

    -Sounds
    Sound department did its job, lots of jazz and 40s music, voice acting is usually absolutely top notch.

    -Gameplay(action)
    The city is HUGE. And I mean this in the worst way. So many incredibly long drives in streets with absolutely nothing to do! There is a fast travel system but it isn't the solution to boring driving, the solution is interesting driving! The mechanics are neither as realistic as GTA4 nor as fun as other GTAs, it's in the uncanny valley of not fun and not realistic.
    The shootouts are sort of alike, but the problem with it is fairly simple: it's too easy. 99% of my gunfights I win by aiming fast and dumping all my rounds.

    -Gameplay(investigation)
    The whole scouring everything to find clues gets tedious but it is a real cop's job so it's fine. The interrogations are something wholly different though. Choosing between Truth and Doubt/Lie is usually very easy, but many times the questions are very unclear and so are Phelps' sentences.
    Let's take this example:
    -Mrs, where was your husband last night?
    -He stayed at the bar till 11pm.
    And I know for a fact that the husband did due to another testimony. But if I say "Truth", I get a penalty, I was supposed to doubt.

    Doubt often has completely unpredictable results, it goes from "I think you know a little more than you pretend" to "How many more children have you raped?" and you never get told what Phelps will say(just a first sentence would do a lot).

    Lie is pretty straightforward but unlike Ace Attorney, you don't get your HP bar down, you get to lose and not ask again or present another piece of evidence. And like AA, sometimes several different pieces can lead to the same conclusion, yet the game will only accept one piece.

    So every time I interrogate, I spend more time asking myself what Truth, Doubt and Lie will do than I spend wondering if I'm being told the truth or not. It's aggravating since interrogations are the most important part of the game.

    -Characters
    I'd love to say that like other Rockstar games this is where it shines, but doesn't. It has all the diversity you could want and lots of characters alright, but diversity does not make quality. This is the part of the game where the comparison to Ace Attorney skewers LA Noire; I can remember every single case and about 90% of Ace Attorney characters just from seeing their faces.
    Here, it's full of interchangeable characters who aren't special enough to be remembered. Realism is fine, but then the excitement and memorabilia must come from something else. Which leads me to the two killer points:

    -Atmosphere
    Supposedly a Noir game, I think it misplaced its time period by about 15 years. The prohibition and great mafia rise were not the end of the 40s and more than that, I sincerely never felt like I was in the 50s except with the homicide desk boss who is a full-blown McCarthyst. Everybody else, down to the last person, could be put in a 2000s setting and they'd fit just fine.
    The problem of the big empty city is omnipresent. There's so much 40s to see, but nothing to do with it. no actions, no specific 40s feeling, nothing. It just doesn't have atmosphere. I don't feel in the 40s, ever, partly due to the characters, in much greater part because there is nothing specifically 40s that I can do.

    -Story
    To put it short, the story is as clunky as the gameplay. The Homicide story is the best example: Homicide is 6 cases, 5 are murders where you convict innocent people and the 6th is finding the real serial killer. And the game does a great job at keeping a bit of doubt as to whether there is a serial killer or not, but since it's repeated at every case that it might be the same killer, then you eventually just guess that it will be. And when the real killer-catching case shows up, here's how it goes:
    -Get sent bits of poems
    -Guess the location of the next bit of poem by pinpointing landmarks on your map
    -Go get the next bit
    -Rinse and repeat 7 times

    Very boring? Oh yes. Driving and driving and clunky minigames. But the worst is the end.
    At the 7th, you find him. Then you straight up shoot him.

    So after 5 cases of wondering whodakilla, you just have the guy lead you on by the nose like he's sick of you failing, and you finish him off like a dog in the catacombs.

    Extremely underwhelming.

    And the whole game is sort of like that. 40s but no atmosphere, large story but tiny payoff(didn't finish the whole game yet), lots of characters that are forgotten. Underwhelming.
    Expand
  43. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    They should have done it like The Walking Dead. So many people took this option and so many people took that one... "were not saying your right or wrong, but this is how you compared to everyone else"

    Instead its *4 options in* "Nope your wrong, haha, you failed.,. now what?" well... im gonna restart my **** game... Restarting your "**** game" does not = good gameplay... that's
    They should have done it like The Walking Dead. So many people took this option and so many people took that one... "were not saying your right or wrong, but this is how you compared to everyone else"

    Instead its *4 options in* "Nope your wrong, haha, you failed.,. now what?"

    well... im gonna restart my **** game...

    Restarting your "**** game" does not = good gameplay... that's the problem I have with LA Noire...

    everything is good at the base.. just don't tell me I screwed up or imgonna want to do it again and not screw up.

    ... and seeing how "doing it again and not screwing up," isn't an option (nor should it be) im sitting here, a good portion of my experience, restarting the damn game.

    it becomes more irritating than fun....

    im about to post this on meta-critic and give it a 7

    "Great game, with one hiccup, that completely kills it"

    and i would change "Doubt" to "Question" as that's pretty much spot on, gameplay wise, and eliminates a ton of confusion, and failed attempts, vs "Doubt"

    i don't know about you, but if i think,even in the slightest, that someone is lying, i "Doubt" them... even if someone is telling the truth, but letting certain **** slide...

    "My aunt keeps a lot of children, and would never hurt a child, because shes feeds the watermelons in her back yard" im gonna have **** QUESTIONS... she may be telling the truth about her aunt, i dont "doubt it" I even have proof..

    she DOES INDEED keep a lot of chilren and does feed teh water melons in her back yard.. but i got **** questions.

    #1 "wtf does your aunts watermelons have to do with taking care of and not beating children?"

    this is a VERY well done start up, of what could be a great franchise, with certain little critical problems, that need to be addressed, before it makes it to "the big time"
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    A unique adventure game that borrows many features from mystery and action games, incorporating them seamlessly in the narrative flow, thus creating a truly special game that not everyone will enjoy. And that's because it has its own character, defying contemporary 'fast food' games that are churned out today and because it's reminiscent of endeavors made in another era, where immersion of an ultimate single-player experience was the first and last goal of their creators.
  2. 90
    Ingenious game merges a classic adventure with sandbox action titles, resourcefully. Playability is not always perfect but overall impression is stunning. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    92
    The wannabe detective's definitive version to plump for. [Feb 2012, p.101]