User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 664 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 664

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Xon
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like games which are interactive novels or movies. L.A. Noire neatly meets this criteria and brilliantly recreates a colourful period of L.A.'s history. I have never seen a game populated by believable characters who inspire compassion in the player. Nor have I seen real faces with real emotions, from the slight twitch of nervousness to red-faced, bulging eyes of fear.

    I didn't pay this
    game for its challenges or playablity. I want to be immersed in a world and interact with the environment. I want a riveting story that rings true.

    L.A. Noire delivers this and then some. I loved every second of this hard-boiled slice of life. In later years this game will definitely be looked back on as one of the most ground-breaking games of all time. It is the first game that I felt emotionally involved. And it was a riveting experience.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    You know what your getting with this package. A fantastic game with all the bells and whistles. Im sure you've seen other reviews of L.A Noire, so il just say what's new in this. It features all of the previously released downloadable content for L.A. Noire, including the â
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    If you're reading these reviews about it being unplayable even on high-end PCs, well these guys must have other problems. Don't have a great PC at all, but it's playing very smoothly for me. Quad Core 2.33ghz, gts 450, 3 gigs ram. Maybe because my top resolution is only 1440x900, but I'm not experiencing problems. Great, great game as well.
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I'm surprised at the relatively low scores here. I think this game is fantastic. It is what Mafia II was supposed to be on the storytelling/narration front. I'm normally very sensitive to shoddy ports, but this port doesn't seem to have consolitis at all in my opinion. I never played the console version so I can't compare. It certainly seems to control better than, say, Dead Space 1 or 2 did on the PC. The acting, story, and facial animations are world-class, and the facial animations really do raise the emotion of the scenes...you can see people's Adam's apples move when they gulp, for crying out loud! Doesn't sound very important except when you consider that much of what you're doing in the game is trying to find out if people are lying or not. I would say this is a GOTY contender if it weren't for the fact that Arkham City is about to come out, which I assume will dominate. My only gripe is that the cars handle way too well for cars of that era. They're very 'sticky'. It has worked perfectly 'out of the box' for me (purchased on Steam), no stability issues at all, except the game crashes whenever I quit. Obviously that is a non-issue, doesn't affect the experience at all because it only happens when I quit. I also don't have any of the frame-rate issues that some are reporting. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    This is more of a mystery game for me than adventure. Adventure is just a part of this game but the mysteries between the cases are just realistic and are based on history.
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    L.A. Noire involves breath taking graphics and structure of the story so that as you play it, you have to constantly remind yourself to use the controller because you drift away thinking you are watching a 1940's detective movie. The facial expressions (animated by real actors and 32 different cameras to get every possible angle of the expression) , will blow you away. A great mix of clue finding, interrogating, and action, make this a game that I for one, had trouble stepping away from. The story line is intense and awe inspiring. A very recommended game for those who enjoy the action, adventure, and mystery genre. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    First off. Most modern PC games now require Quad core. If you have a dual core, you're so out of luck. A dual core is no longer considered mid range even. Even basic boxes all come with dual core. Quit kidding yourself.

    I also hear this is a bad port. I got news for you guys, PC's only represent 10% of the gaming market. Until the next gen consoles come out that all support DX11,
    you're going to have to live with this. Take Skyrim for example. You played it yet. Don't expect a massive improvement from Oblivion. Despite the 4 years, it's still DX9, why... Why do you think.

    The facial animation on this is outstanding. Go play Skyrim. Tell me what you think. Also, if you're looking for COD non stop action, you really should not be playing a detective game. Put it one way, in Skyrim, you're walking for 90% if the time. COD, its non stop. This game, it's stop start, but that's to be expected, it's a Adventure game, like the old school games. If you're game does not run on steam, contact their tech support. Or Rockstar, I seriously doubt it's not working for everyone who purchased it on steam (like me). Obviously it's your machine configuration. You seriously can't give a game a zero because of this, especially a game you obviously haven't played.

    The atmosphere is excellent. The facial animation, characters are great. It really sets the scene for that era. I read that the cars are "sticky" and that they don't suit the cars from that period. Really. You've actually drove cars from that period have you. I imagine they would be sticky, given the weight they used to be. But anyway, it's not a driving simulation. I don't want to spend my time trying to be a formula 1 driver, I want to play the actual game, which is detective work.

    If you like the old adventure games, you'll love this. If you don't, why did you buy a detective based game in the first place. Do you not realise that the majority of the time will be spent looking for clues and trying to deduce motives... Wait for GTA V if you want action, or call of duty if you don't want to think. Or skyrim if you're REALLY into hiking.

    FWIW, this game is awesome. People are giving a low score because they bought something they had no idea about and thought it was going to be something else, or they are deluding themselves about what kind of rig they have, or they have technical issues that they feel is someone elses fault to resolve.

    You're going to need a quad core CPU (as did GTA IV). It runs smooth as silk on my stock SB 2500K and 560ti. at 1640 x 1050, everything maxxed out. If you have anything around this, and like adventure games, you'll love this game.
    Expand
  8. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Bravo, Rockstar! They've managed to finally cut through the standard mission - shoot - drive type formula to make something engrossing, immersing and totally satisfying. Amazing acting, with especially the interrogation and investigation scenes jumping out, this game is one to be reckoned with - and to be seen as an examplary piece of storytelling, one that merits further elaboration! So game developers, get your **** together and start hiring the Team Bondi guys as they know where it's at if you want to make a real game. Thanks a million for bringing back storytelling and adventures to the gaming world in hi-def! Suggestions for improvement: make he interrogations more interactive, maybe with actual dialog / question choices (a la Monkey Island), make the investigations slightly more difficult- but this is the way things should be heading! Expand
  9. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Game starts out like a GTA 4 but within 40 minutes an experienced gamer should make the promotion to detective. 1940's world is incredibly detailed. New face rendering tech is emersive. Fantastic game on sale for $12.49.
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    LA Noire pc version, has left me and it was amazing what I expected, Rockstar finally made â
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Absolutely brilliant game... back in 40's. its a bit refreshing to play as a cop. n LA is shown beautifully. the game-play n technology used is fascinating
  12. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Bought this game in the STEAM winter sale and it was probably the best Ã
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    L.A NOIRE is huge success more then consols
    i finished it on XBOX360 and it was Epic but fail in graphics and loading and etc

    PC version is the copy we waited for..the best ever with all DLC
    just GREAT
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I pre-ordered the game and was all hiped up to play with it, so let's start the review. GRAPHICS: well face motion capture is awesome, you feel like you are in a movie... The city is big enough and the content is really ok, the stores have 3D fronts having a lot of things in it and also, what is thrilling is that you will see, a lot of non-gameplay places are even detailed, just go to the union station or go into some sight-seeing buildings which you can enter... ANIMATION: Hell yeah, euphoria engine and so on. Which is a bit disappointing are the cars' movement (not the controlling, that is good enough, but see how are cars going on the streets). CONTROLS: good enough, no signs of f****d-up console porting imho. And the challenging part is when you have to aim on bad guys behind boxes and covers, you don't see the aiming point which is a good thing. STORY: I am in the start-middle of the game but the cases are really awesome, I am currently waiting how things will join together later because there is a big thrilling story behind all cases as I know. The characters are really movie-like, I feel like I am back that time and place and that is what I liked in Mafia for example. Games which can bring you a unique indistinguishable feeling are the greatest of all. Noire feeling is also ok. ORIGINALITY: 99%. OPTIMIZED HARDWARE-USAGE: I did not have problems but i am a kind of exception as I saw, most of the gamers had problems with the game. Let's hope for a good patch boys and girls. GAMEPLAY: A bit single threaded but a great story have to do this with a game. Just think again of Mafia (of course I talk about the first, the second game was totally sh**). Some other minor things like you can collect cars and take some street calls and go sight-seeing to some dedicated places... The last one and the car collecting I think is a bit ruining the overal gameplay, I mean I am in the middle of a story, I don't want to go other places. Maybe when I will end the story I start it again and go sight seeing... OVERAL: 10 points where I mean 95% and this 5% minus is for the inconsistency of extra content (i don't want to interrupt a case for going to sight seeing and so on) and the unoptimized graphics Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    Since this is relevant to pc games, know this first. The game has been capped at 30 frames per second, this can be removed via the latest patch and a -60fps command. So I won't mark that against the game. The game also requires a very powerful pc to be able to run at 60 frames per second. It is choppy and unplayable on lower end hardware. If you have a duel core cpu and a low end gpu, take this as a warning. Now, onto the actual game. La noir is a breath of fresh air, taking cue's from adventure games in it's mystery solving, focus on clues, and providing you with the successful illusion that you are solving them. It tells a long and involved story though a string of murders you have to solve, that delves into the territory of serial killers, police corruption and more, and it allows you to travel around an open world while doing so. This alone is enough to cement this game in an interesting heavy rain territory. However it goes a step further by introducing some facinating and downright impressive face animation mapping technology - and implements it in an innovative and involving way. You have to actually study peoples faces to gauge their honesty/personality, and make final decisions that rely entirely on your very own instincts. Putting actual detective skills in the players hands is so worthy of praise - that it makes other game's "new and innovative features" seem dull and lifeless in comparison. When you are as ambitious as this game is however - there will always be a price. In this case the main issue this game has is the outcomes for failing/succeeding. They mostly lead to the same results. Guess wrongly? You still progress in the same way minus a few points that can unlock intuition points (a free answer, basically). This makes your actual detective skills feel consequence free. And that's a shame. In the end, what the game does provide - is unique. Entertaining. Sometimes emotional. An experience like nothing else on the market. If you don't have a monster pc - get the ps3 version instead. Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Hmm ! I have steam , and was able to play the games ( using steam as administrator ) . No issue with video ( hd6870 ) I have played 20 minutes and sadly decided not to play anymore . The controls are ok , you need to get the hang of it but are ok after a while . I have simply not appreciated the style . Find it long and boring . I grew up playing Zelda and mario. Big open worlds were you can get lost . Sad experience , i dont care about the facial reality of the caracters . Moving a gun in different angle , omg , it is obvious that there is a serial number , why make it a pain . IF YOU LIKE FPS game and OPEN world , dont pay premium to play this game , wait for the 1.99$ sale in 2 months . THIS WILL NOT BE A CLASIC ! Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    l.a noire is very good , you're so out of luck. A dual core is no longer considered mid range even. Even basic boxes all come with dual core. Quit kidding yourself. I also hear this is a bad port. I got news for you guys, PC's only represent 10% of the gaming market. Until the next gen consoles come out that all support DX11, yâ
  18. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Once I picked this game up I haven't put it down! I'm addicted!! What they do well is immersion. The game makes you feel like your in the 1940's. The detective work, which maybe a little easy for some, I found very interesting & exciting. As the levels progress the cases get more detailed and try to keep you guessing. I really didn't expect to like this as much as I did. 9/10.
  19. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    If not for Skyrim, the noire obviously would number one in my rankings this year. Although I would put them together in the first place). The original, breakthrough game. Developers have created a great story with dozens of characters and events. Everything is perfect, not counting the schlock in some places with graphics (such as blurred textures in some lanes), but it's easy to close your eyes, and frankly do not care) It is also a very good port on the PC, but is rare. Expand
  20. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    I cannot believe how immersive this game is. The compelling stories, the life-like characters, and the intricate period details, all add up to one of my favorite game experiences this year. Minus a point for some technical glitches and awkward combat controls.
  21. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game - a very big shock to find myself enjoying it as much as I did - I was pleasantly surprised.  
    Sure it may not have a lot to do in the very large open world that it includes but the story itself more then makes up for that. I did realise that I'm not as great a detective as I thought I would be though!  
    Performance wise I'm not sure if I'm just lucky
    but I was running it on my rather old GTX295 without any performance hassles (at 1920x1200 with 2x Anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering with everything set at Quality settings) that I could notice. The cars physics are a little off at times and on the rare occasion I had a car vanish in traffic right in front of my eyes (perhaps I should lay off the whisky?).  
    Controls were fine on PC and the overall I never had any crashes, freezes or any other silly things so I can't complain.  
    A fantastic gem of a game that I had put off for so long - if you enjoy solving riddles and something a little deeper than the "gun down Mr X, Pop Mr Y" then you'll love L.A. Noire!
    Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Only get the game on Steam as otherwise you will probably have problems. I got it on disc and it wouldn't run, so grabbed it in the Steam sale and works like a charm. I love the storyline and by no means is it easy, you can judge a characters face who clearly looks suspicious but yet could be telling the truth. You get a Truth Doubt or Lie choice on interview, and if you choose lie have to back it up with evidence from your notebook. Each time you gain rank you gain 1 intuition point, which allows you to see what the rest of the community chosen on a specific answer with a percentage of who got it correct. A really good game. Expand
  23. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    A breath of fresh air! The game I've been waiting for Rockstar or someone else to MAKE this game!
    THE GOOD GUY! This is like Mafia II, but you are the good guy, has great car controls and movement control of the characters. Had Mafia II been able to get their vehicles to control as good as L.A. Noire it would have been almost just as good. Their new facial movement technology really helps
    you get into the story with way more realism. Call me strange, but I'm always bothered by boxy, jerky mouths and unnatural body movement in cut scenes.

    My only complaint so far is it's not as "open world" as GTA 4 but there is plenty to do. This game does a good balance between a true to live Police game and a fun action game. Not 100% real, not 100% action and killing. If you are looking for an open world like GTA this might not be the game for you. But if you are looking for a fun game as a Police Officer/Detective with mixed action, clues, shoot outs, chases, investigations, and more, it's a great game! I gave it a 9 out of 10 and knocked off 1 point because it would have been nice to have either multiplayer or a "FREE RIDE" open world option. THANKS ROCKSTAR for finally coming out with a "GOOD GUY" game
    Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    So far runs smooth. Controls are great I am using a 1st gen corei7 6 GB and Ait 5870 with the preview drivers for rage and battle field so nothing that fancy . One bug have to launch steam in admin mode for My game to launch setting are set to quality
  25. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    The game really very good. Perfectly conducting investigations, nice story in each of the new investigations, to the personal story of the main character. And then there also cool the climate of those years, super-chases, as well as on foot or in car. The game is great, although sometimes scheme implemented here that could at times when bored at times but only because the game is super all the time. Rockstar and Team Bondi please for more adventure. My rating - 8.5 / 10 Collapse
  26. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    This game is a awesome game, not a master piece but a really good game!
    Lets start by the gameplay, in the first 2 hours of the game its just freaking good.
    But then the game starts to get a little repetitive, there are some new things to the gameplay later on, but its still repetitive. Its not boring or anything, like the cars chases and fight scenes those are so cool even if you play it
    over and over it will still be fun.
    Now lets talk about controls.
    The controls are just simple,classic and good, W-A-D-S to move, mouse and space-bar to investigate, fights etc...
    Now lets talk about the graphics.
    The graphics are just wonderful...The faces are super-duper realistic, the city is really realistic too and the voice actors help a lot to create a more realistic aspect.
    People say that the game is too "strong" on the graphics and most of the people say its unplayable, I have a PACKARD-BELL IxTreme with Intel Core I5 and a NVIDIA Geforce GT320 1024MB VidoCard, The game runs smoothly but some times has a little slow down, expect that the game is just fine.
    I give this game a 9/10 because I really enjoyed it.
    I think if you like detective games this one will be for you!
    Expand
  27. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game is like a boring film. To long, to boring I took one mission for more than 3 hours! Lost the mission. After that I do not want to play this ... But,It can not be called a bad game
  28. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    The basic idea of the Game, which is actually solving crimes, is something very rarely seen nowadays. Thats why i liked it so much, it feels like something new. However the mini games are nohting special, but suits into the game style. The motion Capturing thing impresses me a lot, although the rest of the graphics isnt so shiny at all. But it doesnt need to since the story is very great.
    For those who like story games and solving crimes is that the game u are searching for.
    Expand
  29. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    If LA Noire was a masterpiece, and in my opinion one of the best games ever made, this version with all DLC already included, which increases experience, and bring back to LA of 1940 to the fore. This edition creates something just as incredible that any player that if preze can not lose. Simply a Masterpiece
  30. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game goes into my favourite list. The game may have some technical issues, but the game itself it is just amazing. They have made an real life effect into the game, and in the game it is much things that is like real life detective cases. I think Rockstar Games and Team Bondi did make this game really look awesome. This game may not be loved by everyone, but I like it as an fan of murder/detective games.
    I give this game a 10/10. In case you like detective/murder games then I highly recommend you to buy this one.
    Expand
  31. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    This game has the best face animations of characters you can see in a video game, thanks to a newly developed "face mimics motion capturing technology", which belongs to Rockstar Games. Period. Besides that, the story is strong, gameplay is enhanced with so much fun, graphics are mostly stunning, sounds and musics, that mirrors the NOIR theme of that era, is just amazing. Do not hesitate on buying this game. The Complete Edition deserves all the praises it receives. Expand
  32. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    LA Noire is a masterpiece! if you love deduction, the 40's atmosphere and some outstanding actors performance, you really got to play this one! I'm 60% at the time of reviewing, and there is almost no downside to this game! As of today (July2012) , the game is overall good optimized! (Intel Q9550, GTX560Ti, 4GB DDR2...) fast loading, stable 30 fps, all on max, really decent graphics!

    i don't tend review games on metacritic, i made for this one an exception, cause it is really a good one!
    Expand
  33. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    LA Noire is an excellent game. The investigative gameplay is enjoyable, as is quizzing the suspects and witnesses. The weakest parts of the game are car chases and foot chases/shootouts, but fortunately those are brief and far in between.

    The story is good and the main body of the game is good. While the ending is not as good as it could be, overall, the game is still quite excellent
    and well worth your time (and money).

    Why not a 10/10? A few reasons.

    1) The ending. After spending the whole game investigating, the final level of the game involves you running around killing people with a flamethrower. I'm not even joking. While this sort of gameplay is interspersed throughout the game and isn't wonderful when it comes up, it is rare enough that it is fine. It overstays its welcome at the end of the game.

    2) While the acting in the game is overall quite good, when you let suspects sit around after questioning them, some of them behave... very oddly. And not in the "oh we're obviously guilty" way, but in the "the actor is clearly trying to convey SOMETHING but it is hard to tell what" kind of way. The motions end up exaggerated, and as this is one of the things you're supposed to be using to tell whether a suspect or witness is lying or not, it is a bit of a problem the motions are so unnatural that you can't tell what they're supposed to be doing.

    3) This is a minor point, but there are a few times in the story where you are presented with two suspects and you are forced to charge one or the other, but it is obvious that neither of them is actually guilty of the crime at hand there's no option NOT to charge them, which would be the correct choice. While not a big deal, it would have been nice to have the ability not to lay charges in some cases.
    Expand
  34. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    An instant classic, trades in a linear play style for excellent presentation and acting, superb story and cinematic gameplay. Some users have reported technical difficulties getting this game to run even on high-end systems but mine was fine (at the time I used AMD Phenom X4 9750, 4GB RAM, Radeon Sapphire HD 6850 running at 1440x900).
  35. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    Only just got this game recently all ways looked at it never bought it but couldn't not buy it on special Overall i like this game it has given me alot of game play which i look for in a game and is pretty good challenge i like decent free roam game It is a easy to play game and has alot of good quality's that would appeal to a wide range of people from investigating crime scene to driving to shooting its all there plus get to be good guy and solve crimes rather than commit them The bad well every game now days has bad points this game is shooting psychics for me they just dont feel right Overall i will keep playing this game and probably replay it once i have completed it i think Rockstar did good job here getting into something no one else has I would really like to see this game put into modern times and made to fit in with todays crimes and investigations techniques i think that would take off because old style will not appeal to all Expand
  36. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    You can really feel the discrimination of platform from the developers by playing this game on PC. I mean, those guys could have done better on the PC. Well, I could really give 10/10 if they can make it better on PC. For the game, great story, great gameplay. I really feel like I am a detective in the game. Great voice casting too. Also, very convincing facial expression and very detailed world. If you guys happen to own a Xbox360 or PS3 buy, just buy the game for the consoles. If you have a PC, you can really give it try. Expand
  37. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    This game is basically must get for all fans of L.A. Confidential movie. L.A. Noire brings good combination of adventure and GTA games together in glittering shine of post war era. Graphic is nice, sounds are well handled. For some downside might be 30fps cap. The game is fairly linear but i don't think it would help if you could try solving 3-4 cases at once. It would get fairly complex. Interrogations are sometimes more of guessing than really figuring out whether that person is lying to you or not. Over all this game is pretty solid. Expand
  38. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    To start with, I can honestly say I've never had a love for a video game like I've had for L.A. Noire. The graphics are not the greatest ever seen, detail in objects lacks; how ever during interrogations, facial expressions are very well drawn. I don't full-on action games, I like ones that have a strong story line to aid it; L.A. Noire's story is the best graphical story I've come across so far. The characters are very well described throughout the story and scenes in the game make you think. There is no shortage of surprises and suspense is not scarce. If you're one to enjoy a mysterious but thrilling action game (with some very nice jazz in the background), then L.A. Noire is without competition. Expand
  39. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Its a very interesting game, you have 21 cases and every case is interesting in his own way, the city is very big and you have over 50 different cars to drive. But from my point of view its sometimes hard to follow the cases especially if they are talking about cases that you solved some time ago. Another big minus for me is the steering of the car. It is very hard to control a car with the W A S D keys at high speed with the keyboard. The firefights are ok but not very spectacular. Overall a very interesting and good game. Expand
  40. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Nice game.Rockstar haven't disappointed me yet,i was shocked by the awesome idea and the product.It takes me to the 1940s L.A. ,unlike GTA i always act as a criminal i finally can be a police this day.And the kinds of clues and the system of investigate and the EXP system ,all of all can be called nice,although its not a perfect game,i still give it a 10 score.10 score doesn't mean perfect,right?
  41. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Amazing game, loved it, Best detective game i've ever played and ever better, its made by Rockstar Games! This also has some nice graphics and I learned that it is not all that laggy like the GTA IV graphics engine but yes, If you want to be a detective and ask criminals lots of questions then this is your game.
  42. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    For people 38+ like me, that have been gaming since early 16, this game is a dream come true.
    Amazing story telling, voice action, environment and slow but interesting path with action sub-phases.
    the game is a black novel by itself, and lets you enough freedom to wander around a lovely city and progress on the story line as well.
    this game deserves a 10. I respect all opinions but this
    is a niche game for me, that excels.
    add some sweetFX to it, and the visuals are just awesome.
    The game play might be between adventure games and 3rd person action games, but the combination is just right. Get a few drinks, a pack of smokes, and be ready to deep yourself on a black novel all the way. Rep+ to Rockstar
    Expand
  43. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    I dislike GTA and find games of the interactive novel genre to be a bore. However, I loved almost every second of this game. It played perfectly on my average spec gaming Win7 PC (5.9 system rating) and I didn't experience any of the technical issues reported by others such as low frame-rate or sluggish controls. So, why did I enjoy it so much? For a start, the main storyline was fantastic. Not only was it original, it was also both suspenseful and pretty deep without being far-fetched. The characters were believable and were strongly developed over the course of the game. As for the gameplay, it combines open-world driving and gun fighting with crime-scene investigation and witness/suspect interviews. There's a healthy split between GTA-style action and clue-hunting with the option to skip the majority of the driving by asking your partner to take the wheel. I disabled the crime-scene visual/audio clues and would suggest doing the same if you want a challenge. The interviews are quite hard but if you pay attention to clues and people's body language they're doable.

    There are quite a lot of cut-scenes but they are of high quality and really help with the immersion.

    My only criticism of the game would be the lack of first-person perspective. I grew up playing FPS and find the recent shift to forced 3rd person cameras in PC games to be a pathetic pandering to console kids but hey, that's an issue with the gaming industry not the game.

    I mentioned how I dislike GTA.... no matter how much I try to enjoy it I always get bored after about an hour of gameplay. If you're the same, try L.A. Noire. However if you really liked GTA you might really hate this game, since all my GTA loving friends who have tried it said they found it too boring. Personally, I'd rather investigate the murder of a hooker than run one over and steal their purse.
    Expand
  44. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This game oozes more class and atmosphere in one case than most games do in their entirety.
    Top notch story, acting, music and production.
    Could of used a little more 'game' content and was a shame not to 'use' more of the huge L.A. map they made.
    One of the best games out there and sincerely hope Rockstar makes a follow-up.
  45. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This game is crazy good. This game did what other sandbox games couldn't. Every aspect of the environment could give you clues to break the case. Facial expressions are great they could give you just information you need to call someone on a lie and get viable information for the case. I've not seen a game like this yet and that what makes this game so good. I highly recommend to try this game.
  46. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    I already reviewed the PS3 version of this game, the PC version is noticeable improved on visuals and performance, below my review:
    L.A.Noire is a mature, immersive and very well produced adventure. Don't expect a traditional sandbox or an action game, L.A.Noire is much more close to old (and great) investigative adventures we had on PC years and years ago.
    The environments are extremely
    detailed and polished, every corner you explore is convincing and rich in details, the city is vast and amazing, cars are also impressive. Narrative is mature, deep and capture the "Noir" feeling and mood well. Characters are deep, something rare in video games, and will stay with you long after you finish the game.
    Facial animation is truly outstanding and the voice overs are all great and very expressive, all actors did a good job.
    Action moments are polished and fluid, just a bit repetitive at times, this is why I am not giving this unique game a perfect 10. Driving sequences are pleasant especially because the cars and the city just feel right, real but cinematic.
    L.A.Noire is not for every one, it is a slow pace game, but a immersive, deep, mature, dark and expressive gaming experience.
    Expand
  47. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Had this game for about a year and did not play it because my computer could just about handle it at the lowest - made for poor gameplay. Just got a new computer with i7 / 3 gig card and poor performance is gone all the way cranked up - I agree with the low scorers here as the graphics are not the best, even for 2012. However, if you really get into it and try to analyze witness/suspect correctly you are rewarded with some (very little?) content (and self satisfaction)-and its more than just looking at their facial expressions, you need to look back the clues and even the dialog flow to get it right. Which does make for a slow paced game, more of a puzzle game vs. an action game. Driving / Action Sequences / Shoot Outs are pretty much textbook Rockstar material. IMO its a fun game, showing a lot of originality. if you have a decent computer to get past performance issues, can immerse yourself as a beat cop, detective, homicide cop, etc. to get to the truth, and are not ADD, you will like the game - gave it the anti-troll 10 but is more like an 8 for me. Expand
  48. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    I don't know why this game isn't so famous. Probably because it's not stupid and addictive. In this game characters move and act like humans for the first time of video games history. Graphics and details are realistic. The story and the gameplay are better than Grand Theft Auto. I really enjoyed every moment of that game. And if you think it's boring I say: that's because you wanna beat it fast. I'm sorry, it's not your type. Expand
  49. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    LA Noire is a very original game. Great characters, great atmosphere, gread soundtrack, great story. What else can you desire more? I simply loved playing it from the begining to the end.
  50. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Great game, i had a few problems with frame rate but it's easy to solve, just have to change the renderer, that depends on your DX version of your video card. The game it's unique with the interviews. Music and characters are good, graphics are not super detailed but are good too, Motionscan it's the best thing of this game, and it's a pretty interesting game overall, better than a lot of crap games I've seen this year. Expand
  51. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    what a unique game why because this time you're not the criminal who shots and kills people and try to get away from the police this time you play as a detective and try to catch the criminals that's why it is unique and new great graphics sounds and amazing atmosphere one of the best games of all time
  52. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    One of a kind game with one of a kind graphical capability that is sure to be used in future games. Great detective story with great characters, both good and annoying with great length of gameplay. Fun as hell to question suspects and see them spill their beans. I'd like to say that this is a more down to earth phoenix wright. One thing that stops the game for being perfect is the fact that it's not that varied, all you do is do missions, do side police work, collecting cars and seeing landmarks. And also the plot twist at the end of the Vice case pisses me off. That's completely unnecessary and shouldn't be in the game like at all. All it does is make stupid plot twist that makes a certain character unlikeable. Anyway, still a great game by Rockstar. Expand
  53. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Great game.Not so easy and the detective mode is cool too.Very long story.

    The gameplay is also very good. Rockstar has made a very good game. The ranking system is one that i liked most
  54. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    L.A. Noire is one of the best games I have played in a long time. It has an interesting story, with an even more interesting back story. The game does an amazing job in capturing the atmosphere and the style in the late 40s. Another feature is the amazing use of face capture, the create amazing facial expressions. This is necessary to answer the questions. The Story might be (at some points) rather slow, but that time is used for character building, and it never gets boring. The only negative thing I had with the game are the controls. Somehow it was a little hard to aim. But maybe that's just me. Overall an amazing game that I would definitely recomend this game. Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Loved investigate crimes, to look for clues.

      A good story. Facial expressions are just super-heroes realistic. Very cool to sit and question people decide their fate, to be a good cop. After this game, I fell in love with the genre "noir." The game is worth playing.

    Thank you for this game released for the PC. I really like this game!
  56. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    WOW! never seen a game doing something like this!
    so its not a GTA Clone as many think so it is a detective game that requires from you to pay attention to all of the cases.
    you collect clues from the crime scene then questioning your suspect, its like you are actually part of a detective story.
    in my opinion the hole face animation looks like they just "glued" a video animation into
    a character face, its still looks like its need improvment to the sequal

    not so much cons in this game although i think that the in game UI needs improvment, its not that convenient, and the pc version shouldnt be locked at 30 fps
    Expand
  57. May 5, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. L.A Noire follows a police officer through his cases and then a detective, the game brings back memories and its generally a brilliant game, honestly it nails its atmosphere and Immersives you in the shoes of a detective, and the game's story requires you to pay attention to the story and evidence, honestly its brilliant, must buy. Expand
  58. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Very well thought out plot and polish on even the smallest details, I would highly recommend. The PC version runs well, but compared to other games on the PC, this one obviously wasn't a very well optimized console game. Also the graphics don't seem as attractive as other games, but still looks good nonetheless.
  59. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    The game really very good. Perfectly conducting investigations, nice story in each of the new investigations, to the personal story of the main character. And then there also cool the climate of those years, super-chases, as well as on foot or in car. The game is great, although sometimes scheme implemented here that could at times when bored at times but only because the game is super all the time. Rockstar and Team Bondi please for more adventure. My rating - 8.5 / 10 Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    A unique adventure game that borrows many features from mystery and action games, incorporating them seamlessly in the narrative flow, thus creating a truly special game that not everyone will enjoy. And that's because it has its own character, defying contemporary 'fast food' games that are churned out today and because it's reminiscent of endeavors made in another era, where immersion of an ultimate single-player experience was the first and last goal of their creators.
  2. 90
    Ingenious game merges a classic adventure with sandbox action titles, resourcefully. Playability is not always perfect but overall impression is stunning. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    92
    The wannabe detective's definitive version to plump for. [Feb 2012, p.101]