Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is the first ever downloadable, co-op action/adventure game featuring Lara Croft. This brand extension incorporates the hallmarks of the Tomb Raider franchise including exploration, discovery, platforming, and puzzle solving. Lara Croft and the GuardianLara Croft and the Guardian of Light is the first ever downloadable, co-op action/adventure game featuring Lara Croft. This brand extension incorporates the hallmarks of the Tomb Raider franchise including exploration, discovery, platforming, and puzzle solving. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light allows players to experience Lara Croft from an isometric viewpoint, and combines new gameplay features such as character progression, fun fast-paced combat, and elements of cooperation and competition. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light will be available to download this summer. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    If you don't have a friend within driving distance, you may want to wait until Guardian of Light's online multiplayer is switched on; the game's single-player mode is competent but incomparable to the sheer joy of raiding tombs with a friend.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    Cooperative play done right!
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    The level design is as epic as ever, with puzzles spanning entire vistas littered with tunnels, tombs, torturous traps, and more.
  4. 86
    The experience of the Crystal Dynamics designers and their investment to start this spin-off series on the right foot are certainly visible in every aspect of the game, and I can't help but be thrilled by the new way in which we'll be able to hunt ancient relics with lady Croft.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    86
    Every hour we've spent playing this game (be it offline co-op or solo play) was tremendously fun.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Exploration, combat, and puzzle-solving come together beautifully in this rewarding, replayable arcade adventure.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Oct 20, 2010
    60
    As the more intimate title suggests, this may be as much about Croft's brand awareness in the face of unprecedented (and Uncharted) competition. [Oct 2010, p.96]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    A perfect game that don't require you to spend countless hours to understand and yet difficult to master.

    One of the best games i ever
    A perfect game that don't require you to spend countless hours to understand and yet difficult to master.

    One of the best games i ever played! Highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    I thought this game it would be ok. But nooo!! This game was awesome. Super fun, super fast, super puzzled, excellent platform. Well, lovedI thought this game it would be ok. But nooo!! This game was awesome. Super fun, super fast, super puzzled, excellent platform. Well, loved it. You should try, 5 minutes in demo and you will buy the game and all expansions, packs, etc Great Graphics too. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Fresh new gamestyle in the Tombraider series. And it's got something for everyone, the thrill seekers, the completionists, the speedrunners,Fresh new gamestyle in the Tombraider series. And it's got something for everyone, the thrill seekers, the completionists, the speedrunners, the casual gamers and the puzzlers. It's great, and it's got multiplayer as well. Only thing I didn't like was not being able to do keybindings yourself. Collapse
  4. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    Best Co-op experience I've had in a long time, really enjoyed the game, intuitive gameplay, lots of fun, much better than expected andBest Co-op experience I've had in a long time, really enjoyed the game, intuitive gameplay, lots of fun, much better than expected and deserves more recognition. Wouldn't mind a second one. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    Surprisingly, this is a very fun game for co-op. The Steam store says local co-op but I assure you online co-op is fully supported. BasicallySurprisingly, this is a very fun game for co-op. The Steam store says local co-op but I assure you online co-op is fully supported. Basically it is an overhead puzzler with some monster bashing--nothing overly difficult, but still rewarding. The grappling hook tight rope plus spear and shield jumping provide the right base of teamwork. Based on my previous ho-hum experiences with past Tomb Raider games, this one really breaks the mold--a hidden gem. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    I have mixed feelings about the Tomb Raider series. However, that doesn't extend to Guardian of Light, which I quite enjoyed. My usual co-opI have mixed feelings about the Tomb Raider series. However, that doesn't extend to Guardian of Light, which I quite enjoyed. My usual co-op partner also liked it, and that's saying something, since he doesn't like many games and doesn't like twin-stick shooters in particular, deriding them as "derpy." It doesn't bear the Tomb Raider moniker, because it really isn't one of those games, instead being an intense twin-stick shooter that incorporates some of the platforming and puzzle-solving of its parent franchise, and feels like a richer experience for it. There's surprisingly good chemistry between Lara and Totec, her partner on this adventure, excellent variety in the level design, and a huge array of weapons to use. It's one of the better download-only titles out there. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2016
    6
    A decent downloadable game. Pretty short and arcady eperience. Works well with mouse and kboard even if its designed for twin sticks.A decent downloadable game. Pretty short and arcady eperience. Works well with mouse and kboard even if its designed for twin sticks. Controls were slick and didnt gave any issues. Tho if you expect a full blown Tomb Raider experience this aint it. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews