Law & Order: Legacies PC

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    I actually enjoyed the game. It's not meant to be a fast-paced action game, but a game to make you pay attention to what's going on around you, and to think about what you're doing and what kind of impact it'll have on the outcome. The major misstep was giving to option to replay any scenario in an episode, as it pretty much kills the replay value, but other than that, I really enjoyed this game.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    75
    Ultimately, Law & Order is a well-paced and enjoyable experience for fans. The combination of hand-drawn backgrounds and cel-shaded character art is a nice blend, marred only by some odd shadow effects. I didn't experience any glitches with the game other than the odd audio crackle, even with the in-game audio settings turned down.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    67
    Overall, I didn't particularly enjoy the first episode of Law & Order: Legacies. I tried for a while to get a perfect score, so I kept replaying conversations until I got them right, but even so the episode only took me about two hours to complete, and the case wasn't exactly fascinating. Worse, the graphics are a little too much on the cartoony side, which works better for funny adventures than it does for serious games, and the voice actors all had a tough time impersonating the characters from the show (although otherwise they performed their lines well enough).
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    50
    Crude short and average – that's the overall feeling of Law and Order: Legacies. Someone should wake up the boys from Telltale Games before it's too late. [May 2012]
  5. CD-Action
    Mar 13, 2012
    50
    I can't decide whether Legacies is still a game or just a quiz enriched with poor audio-visual materials. It would be a pity if Telltale continued to spiral down. [April 2012, p.70]
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Law & Order: Legacies is not about making you the detective or the prosecutor. It's about making you the most basic trainee; the one who sits in a small room watching recordings of professionals at work and answering rudimentary viewing comprehension questions. There is some vicarious pleasure in being carried along on a wave of correct answers, but seeing that wave continue undeterred despite your missteps is a disheartening reminder that you are an insignificant part of the proceedings.
  7. Feb 8, 2012
    50
    Three episodes in, Legacies offers a highly scaled-back version of the familiar cops-and-lawyers formula that doesn't do the intriguing storylines full justice.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    45
    In the end, Law & Order: Legacies just feels like you're watching a slightly interactive episode of the TV show.
  9. Feb 29, 2012
    40
    Ordinarily I like what Telltale Games puts together, but this just looks like a slap-dash excuse to cash in on a television property.
  10. Apr 18, 2012
    30
    From gameplay that boils down to memory quizzes to poor production values to bland stories, there is no reason you should play this game, no matter how big a fan of adventure games or Law & Order you are.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Definitely not a bad game. It delivers what it promised: a highly interactive Law & Order detective game in which you make the choices whileDefinitely not a bad game. It delivers what it promised: a highly interactive Law & Order detective game in which you make the choices while you're trying to solve a case. The game looks and feels like you're in the Law & Order world and you'll find yourself interrogating many people, searching clues, intimidating (with the typical 'smart ass' talking) and making deals (if you want) with the suspect and of course you'll defend your case in the courtroom. After finishing a part of the episode you'll get a detective score to see how well you did and get a chance to re-do it all for the perfect score and when you finish the courtroom part the episode is done just as the Law & Order series would end. Are there no flaws? Well, I can think of two but they are not game breaking. First would be the voice acting. While not bad, the quality could have been better. Its like they used cheap microphones and thats not good. Other thing is that an episode will be difficult to complete if you don't do it in one sitting. Each part in the episode gives you clues you have to remember for the next parts until the episode is finished and stopping in the middle of it will make it hard to go on. Besides those minor flaws this is a very decent game that won't disappoint fans (like myself) of the series. Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2016
    6
    There are some "goods" and "bads" in this game.

    The goods: Consistent w/ the Law & Order franchise, very educational, and great plot line
    There are some "goods" and "bads" in this game.

    The goods: Consistent w/ the Law & Order franchise, very educational, and great plot line for the most part. I like that they preserved the well-known Law & Order characters into this game, though I don't know why it has to be a repetitive pattern (same characters on the odd episode only: 1, 3, 5, and 7, and on even episodes only: 2, 4, and 6). Its style of material and content is also very Law & Order. In terms of its education, you can use the skills you've learned in this game to your real life. One of them is during the beginning of Episode 1: in their instructions, one quote was "You must remember evidence and testimony to help you judge truth from lies." That's a very important and useful tip that you may want to remember and use in real life, such as for maintaining a stable and healthy relationship with others. Another is the court tactics that's being used, such as Leading, Badgering, Hearsay, No Expertise, Speculation, Ask & Answered, etc., in addition to the fact that sometimes "a well-aimed jab at the defendant can score points with the jury, even though you have to withdraw it," and that you need to know how to manipulate information being used such as asking or bringing the right questions/information that will help your case and and avoid those that will harm your case. These court tactics is potentially very helpful for pre-law or law students (though mostly helpful for future criminal lawyers than for other lawyer kinds, civil or corporate for instance) and for anyone that could potentially face court lawsuits in the future. In terms of strong plot, it's Law & Order (what can you say about it!) and that that's one of Telltale Game's strongest elements in their games.All of these things fascinated me at the beginning of the episodes. But then at latter episodes, it's becoming more repetitive that 1) I'm already accustomed to this game and their skills, and that 2) repetition did bother me a little (but not much!).

    The bads: voice acting/recording and CGI isn't good. The actors and actress's voices weren't flowing consistently with their characters. It can distract me on thinking "it's just a game," and not letting me feel engulfed into this game; the feeling of being engulfed, of being awed, into something is a critical element on making a movie, game, book, or anything to be considered "Great." The CGI also prevents me from feeling engulfed into it. They more look like cartoon characters. Their edges aren't as smooth as what a really good 3D effect look. Yet knowing that it's a Telltale Games, looking back into Jurassic Park: The Game and Back to the Future: The Game, this didn't surprise me much.

    That's all of the "goods" and the "bads" that sticks out the most. If you're the kind that's too sensitive to CGI and voice acting/recording effects, take my word on this: the sloppy voice acting was weird, but their CGI is very common to Telltale; if bad CGI really bothers you, then don't look into Telltale Games. Yet, you'll be missing out the good parts such as it's education and the plot (also common Telltale). If education really is important to you, try to mentally block-out the terrible CGI and voice acting and focus on its content material, and then you'll be getting the education you want. If that's not really important to you, you don't have to play or buy it. That's OK too.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Un juego del que esperaba mucho menos, y me dio mucho mas. Extremadamente divertido, y mucho mas si uno es fanático de la serie. Muy buenaUn juego del que esperaba mucho menos, y me dio mucho mas. Extremadamente divertido, y mucho mas si uno es fanático de la serie. Muy buena historia en todos los casos por resolver. Full Review »