User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3018 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. khalidJ
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    League of Legends is an amazing game that combines the loved creation of Defense of the Ancients with their own personal flavor and strategies. Removing certain aspects of DotA while keeping a stronger teamwork focus has created an engaging, colorful world. This world is not only maintaining the competitive feel of upper-level DotA play but is also lowering a ramp to allow any new players League of Legends is an amazing game that combines the loved creation of Defense of the Ancients with their own personal flavor and strategies. Removing certain aspects of DotA while keeping a stronger teamwork focus has created an engaging, colorful world. This world is not only maintaining the competitive feel of upper-level DotA play but is also lowering a ramp to allow any new players to join in. Can't wait to watch as Riot Games lovingly guides their creation along in the future. Expand
  2. JohanG
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Its a strange rare game. You need to love old 2D game graphics. Also you need to love you will and get pwnd now and then. But Make friends use the chat system. Make a team and build your way up. Even i have lost 40 before i get 1 win. So its hard. But its fun when you feel how to play a this :). Because off some bugs i rate 10. If the fixs it i gave it a 11. Join its free The min rate are Its a strange rare game. You need to love old 2D game graphics. Also you need to love you will and get pwnd now and then. But Make friends use the chat system. Make a team and build your way up. Even i have lost 40 before i get 1 win. So its hard. But its fun when you feel how to play a this :). Because off some bugs i rate 10. If the fixs it i gave it a 11. Join its free The min rate are people that are crying because off there lose. Expand
  3. JohnS
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Each new character you play is a completely new experience, in addition to the original 40ish characters available, Riot continues to create new ones. This game takes a lot of skill and timing to play, but mostly team work is required. As you play, you will develop relationships with others online and you'll find yourself a part of one or many crews of players. Extremely enjoyable on Each new character you play is a completely new experience, in addition to the original 40ish characters available, Riot continues to create new ones. This game takes a lot of skill and timing to play, but mostly team work is required. As you play, you will develop relationships with others online and you'll find yourself a part of one or many crews of players. Extremely enjoyable on so many levels, and best of all, free. Expand
  4. AshleyS
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    This game will really go far. Once you get into it, it hooks you! It also has a ton of potential and I can't wait to see it grow!
  5. JaredA
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This is an outstanding, deep, and polished game in a fledgling new genre. It may not be for everyone, but for those who enjoy pvp and strategy, this might be your GOTY!
  6. Yax
    Oct 26, 2010
    10
    I've been playing this game for a while, and no, it's not just a mod. The graphics are a bit low poly, but when 10 people are fighting each other onscreen at once with lots of particle effects you don't want to be chug because of the trees, terrain, or mobs being too high res.

    The game runs very smooth and that's what counts with a PvP game or a MOBA. There are tons of champions to
    I've been playing this game for a while, and no, it's not just a mod. The graphics are a bit low poly, but when 10 people are fighting each other onscreen at once with lots of particle effects you don't want to be chug because of the trees, terrain, or mobs being too high res.

    The game runs very smooth and that's what counts with a PvP game or a MOBA.

    There are tons of champions to choose from and half the fun is learning all of them. I highly recommend this one.
    Expand
  7. anonymous
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Big shoes to fill? Bah! This successor to DotA definitely walks proud in daddy's giant boots.
  8. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Easily the most fun I've had in a MOBA ever. The lore, the champions, and the community are all great. There are frequent fun updates and the developers really know how to keep contact with their community.
  9. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    When you look for a new game to play, you don’t settle for the little games. You play a game that everyone has experienced, talked about, or played. With over twenty-seven million players daily, League Of Legends made by Riot Games is the number one MOBA (Multiple Online Battle Arena) in today’s time. This game suits any gender, race, or, ethnicity. It’s easy to learn, and every singleWhen you look for a new game to play, you don’t settle for the little games. You play a game that everyone has experienced, talked about, or played. With over twenty-seven million players daily, League Of Legends made by Riot Games is the number one MOBA (Multiple Online Battle Arena) in today’s time. This game suits any gender, race, or, ethnicity. It’s easy to learn, and every single game is guaranteed a fun time. Along with all those fantastic attachments, the game is free to play, and virtually any PC or Mac is able to run this beautiful game.

    League like most MOBA’S attract to the five versus five gameplay on its main arena Summoner’s Rift. It’s brightly blue colored and designed with three lanes leading up to each-others base. Pick a lane to go and you’ll battle against other players from all over the world with various skill levels and other characters. With the strategically placed bushes you can hide in it and pop out to scare and attack your enemies. There’s also a jungle on each sides of the map for each team. These jungles are filled with NPC (Non–Player Character) monsters in which you can go and farm up gold and get various buffs. There’s always a contemplating feeling to risk going into the enemies jungle and stealing their buffs. The unconscious fears that an enemy lurks just moment’s away makes your pulse race. This strategy, being more useful than killing the entire other team; you can kill their jungle and drain the other team from additional gold. This simple gameplay is fun; strategic and overall it never gets boring no matter how much you think it would.

    There are many objectives to this simple MOBA game. You can go destroy the large blue enemy turrets, or you can help increase your characters strengths by getting various dragons that help specific stats to your champion. Or you can slay the big purple worm monster, which is called Baron Nashor. He gives your champion and minions huge buffs in health, damage, and size. The buff makes the game easier to win, but don’t be fooled, if you’re not strong enough to take on Baron Nashor; you will be slain by him.

    From Jinx a psychopathic pig tailed rocket loving maniac, or Annie, a frightening little girl who’s a pyromaniac that has various fire abilities; there are 117 characters to play as. These champions, as the League Of Legends community calls them, have so many memorable quotes and bright colors and each character has a personality that you will fall in love with. You will more than likely find a specific character that you will mainly play. These champions can be bought at two to eight dollars a piece, or there’s an option to buy them with in game currency that’s easy to acquire. The more you play, the more points you to get put towards characters. On top of all that, League Of Legends has a rotating champion pool in which every week there are ten free-to-play characters you can choose and try a few matches with. You really get a feel for most if not all the characters through this rotating character pool.

    For additional detail, you can buy skins for all the champions. They can get to be a little pricey, but they’re definitely worth it. Some can be as two dollars, while others can range up to be twenty dollars. The pricier the skin the more additional particles, graphics, and spell move changes there are. My “Spirit Guard Udyr” skin changes the entire way he looks and how all of his spells sound, look, and he even has additional voice over quotes. Those skins don’t change your gameplay experience or give your character additional buffs. Once you’re sick of looking at the same old character game after game; you can pick skins from thirty dollars to as low as two dollars a piece. They aren’t required and you can still play the game free of cost by downloading it on Leagueoflegends.com.

    Each match lasts thirty to forty minutes, which you may say that’s a long time, but you’re consumed by various objectives, team fights, and just in general playing the game; time flies, before you know it an hour has passed. Matches usually start slow and work their way up to fast paced, action packed, fest of non-stop battles against other champions. For the most hectic of all fights; all players on both teams fight each other all at the same time until the last man stands. The players that live through the team fight will more than likely storm the losers’ base, and take the victory.

    What keeps League Of Legends so refreshing is that it is split into seasons, like your favorite TV show, they throw a plot twist in it. Every eight months Riot Games changes almost everything about the game. They change items, the jungle; basically every season you have to re-learn the game and adapt yourself to whatever changes the company has made. It keeps players coming back every season to check what’s new and see what improvements have been made.

    Overall, League Of Legends is a fast paced, hectic fest, and I will be playing this game for years to come.
    Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    I have to say that the users who gave this game a bad review don't know what they're talking about. This game is a highly competitive one and requires putting time and effort into learning it. It demands more than a casual approach if you want to fully enjoy the game. League of Legends doesn't have a competitive scene with year round tournaments sponsored by big companies with attendanceI have to say that the users who gave this game a bad review don't know what they're talking about. This game is a highly competitive one and requires putting time and effort into learning it. It demands more than a casual approach if you want to fully enjoy the game. League of Legends doesn't have a competitive scene with year round tournaments sponsored by big companies with attendance in the thousands in each event for nothing, and it doesn't get its praise from what the users describe as "bad graphics" or "that one guy on your team who thinks he's better than everyone". Part of the challenge is prevailing despite this one team mate, often not limited to just ONE team mate.
    Not everyone is built for this game, as it requires many countless hours to learn and an even greater number of hours still to master. I highly recommend this game for people who are looking for a challenge and don't back down at the first sign of intimidation and frustration.
    Expand
  11. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    I have been playing this game for about one year ant it never bores me. I play all nights with my friends like casuals and we have the most fun! This game may be needing graphics like some say but riot will soon implement a new map, Also the community isn't that bad almost all games are acceptable but the possibilities of having a rager are high. Some people can't control themselves andI have been playing this game for about one year ant it never bores me. I play all nights with my friends like casuals and we have the most fun! This game may be needing graphics like some say but riot will soon implement a new map, Also the community isn't that bad almost all games are acceptable but the possibilities of having a rager are high. Some people can't control themselves and rage but that is not a problem of the game, that's a problem of the human himself .And by the way riot does the most possible to ban the ragers that troll using different methods like leaverbooster for afk or tribunal for negative and players that harass others. The "good" half of the community is very active in reddit and is helping riot finding bugs or they are giving requests and ideas that could improve the game. Finally i think this game will have a lot more years of activity and will be updating frequently with new gamemodes and champions every month or every 2 months. Expand
  12. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I've have been playing this game quite a while and I've read most of the reviews saying this game is "pay to win" well its not, its true that the community HAS flamers and ragers that make the game not enjoyable but those people saying that the Dota community is much better I played both games in the past and they are the same there will always be those guys that make you feel bad andI've have been playing this game quite a while and I've read most of the reviews saying this game is "pay to win" well its not, its true that the community HAS flamers and ragers that make the game not enjoyable but those people saying that the Dota community is much better I played both games in the past and they are the same there will always be those guys that make you feel bad and cause you to lose games, now to the champions most people think that champions such as Tryndamere, vayne, mordekaiser, or the new "OP" champ aatrox will never be beaten or countered but its not true each champion has its natural counter or summoner spells such as malphite, exhaust(summoner spell) beat aatrox, anyone with a DoT beat the OP Trynd ult, another thing the game mostly consist of teamwork with different roles for the whole team and there ae plenty of strategies and for those who think it gets repetitive there are many roles to learn and some are harder than the others, and its great to play it with friends althoguth when you hit max level and you go play ranked games the ranking system sucks the elo(player skill level) is messed up and you could win 5 out of 10 games and get put in bronze 5 (worst elo) and your friend wins the same amount of games and he get put into silver 3 (5 being the lowest), if you want to try this game please do and if its not your thing just go on to another game Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    Started as a copy of DOTA? Yes, but the conception of this game is different. Firstly, it has a constant of makeovers, new champions, modes which completely remove the thought of a simple copy. Addictive, extremely fun to play, offers a good competition mechanic. Excellent game. Whatsoever, as much as RIOT gaming works hard so do they disappoint us with lags and errors which completelyStarted as a copy of DOTA? Yes, but the conception of this game is different. Firstly, it has a constant of makeovers, new champions, modes which completely remove the thought of a simple copy. Addictive, extremely fun to play, offers a good competition mechanic. Excellent game. Whatsoever, as much as RIOT gaming works hard so do they disappoint us with lags and errors which completely ruin the competition gaming. Moreover, the community of this game is the worst community ever existed on planet. So much verbal abuse, childish behavior and much more negative attributes seriously damages the gameplay. But, to play with your friends, best game ever. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    LOL is the best MOBA I have ever played. It is very interesting with wide choice of heroes and great matchmaking. There are a few mods in the game. All of them are awesome.
    Some mods, like ARAM, brings to you a lot of fun. Playing LOL with friends is a great choice hoe to spend your free time when the weather outside is awful.
    Every month Riot Games makes new interesting champs with
    LOL is the best MOBA I have ever played. It is very interesting with wide choice of heroes and great matchmaking. There are a few mods in the game. All of them are awesome.
    Some mods, like ARAM, brings to you a lot of fun. Playing LOL with friends is a great choice hoe to spend your free time when the weather outside is awful.
    Every month Riot Games makes new interesting champs with their unique abilities. You can customize your champ with the help of a large amount of items in the shop, masteries and runes. 2 same champs can become absolutely different after putting marks, runes and buying items. Also there are 2 additional abilities, which you can choose before every game.
    Play and enjoy!
    Expand
  15. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    I have played this game for almost 2 years and I never got bored. To be serious, I once played lol for more than 10 hours in a day. I am sure that this game is way better than DOTA2. This game is way easier to play and also everyone can play.

    To improve on is that, some people are disturbing the game, playing unfriendly (we call them trolls). The RIOT has to manage people, for example
    I have played this game for almost 2 years and I never got bored. To be serious, I once played lol for more than 10 hours in a day. I am sure that this game is way better than DOTA2. This game is way easier to play and also everyone can play.

    To improve on is that, some people are disturbing the game, playing unfriendly (we call them trolls). The RIOT has to manage people, for example forbidding people playing who had played unfriendly
    Expand
  16. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Constantly being developed, balanced and are very dedicated to their community, this game is not for those who are rubbish, it takes lots of time to adjust to. REMEMBER DO NOT RATE THE GAME BASED ON IT'S HORRIBLE TOXIC COMMUNITY IN LOWER LEVELS, THAT IS NOT LEAGUES FAULT!
  17. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    Addictive game that you will never get sick of. Always new features added to mix things up, and ranked gaming allows you to strive for something. Highly recommend.
  18. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    League of Legends
    League of Legends is a videogame played on the PC, it is a part of a genre of games called MOBAs (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena). It is popularly known as LoL and it currently holds the title of most widely played video game in the world. It has over twenty seven million active players daily. It is so large that it has even spawned its own slang vocabulary that every
    League of Legends
    League of Legends is a videogame played on the PC, it is a part of a genre of games called MOBAs (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena). It is popularly known as LoL and it currently holds the title of most widely played video game in the world. It has over twenty seven million active players daily. It is so large that it has even spawned its own slang vocabulary that every player understands. What would compel such a large amount of people to log in and play the same game every day? The answer lies in its simple yet deceptively complex structure of play. One can compare it to a team oriented version of chess. The old saying rings true, easy to learn hard to master.
    The basic concept of the game revolves around ten players divided into two teams of five players each. These two teams engage in a battle to destroy their opponent’s base, referred to as the “Nexus”. The path to said Nexus is defended by magical towers that will try stop you. In order to overcome this your team must work together with their selected characters, called “Champions” in-game to eventually overcome the enemy team and destroy their Nexus. In order to defend itself, each base will automatically send a number of soldiers into battle, these soldiers are referred to as “creeps”. When creeps are killed, champions are awarded with gold and experience. These are two very important resources.
    Gold allows your champion to buy items such as swords, shields and magical potions. Experience on the other hand allows you to “level up” your character which makes him or her stronger and unlocks access to new abilities.
    The main way to play is the multiplayer mode against other people, but there is also a singleplayer mode where you play against the computer’s artificial intelligence. Overall the real excitement comes from besting your human opponents on the battlefield. Before getting into a real battle against other players the game offers a tutorial that focuses on teaching new players the basics which we have already covered. It’s essential to learn these concepts and more before engaging human opponents in the arena.
    The arena in question is called the Summoner’s Rift, it is the main map where the battle takes place. An average battle will run anywhere from 30 to 45 minutes, the perfect length to have a good time with friends and possibly play another, without taking up your entire day. While in a match there are no breaks or pauses so one needs to pay attention for the duration of the match. The only down time provided to you, occurs when your character dies. At that point you are no longer in control and need to wait for a certain amount of time before being allowed to enter the arena again.
    In a typical match you will find a wide variety of champions that all have strengths and weaknesses. One such champion is Fizz, a powerful fish that uses his trident to quickly strike and dash away from a fight. The key to gathering gold and experience lies in killing creeps and enemy champions, while preventing your own champion from dying. A champion is only as strong as the amount of gold and experience he’s managed to collect. This is where League of Legends thrives, the careful balance between player skill and mechanics. Eventually by playing different champions one will learn how to counter and predict enemy map movements.
    League of Legends is what is called a “free to play game” meaning the upfront cost to enjoy it is nothing, however some parts of the game are restricted until you pay, for instance there are 123 champions in the game but you do not have access to all of them for free. They use a rotation system of 10 selected champions offered for free each week allowing you to try them out before making a purchase. If you fall in love with any of them you can turn your real money into what is called “Riot points” (Riot is the name of the developer). If however you wish to acquire a champion without spending actual money, you have the option of only playing the freely available champions while earning “influence points” for each match. Eventually you will gather enough influence points to trade them for champions. After a few hundred matches it is easy to fall into the temptation and open up your wallet to buy Riot points to speed up the process, after all Riot has to get their money from somewhere, especially since they are advertising it as a free game.
    The developer knows a lot about what makes a team oriented game tick. After your first few matches you learn that communication is key. Riot provide an in-game chat for typing out your strategies, but as it can be hard to type in the heat of battle they have also included a set of warning commands that will visually display icons on the map, this way your team can communicate quickly and efficiently as they seek to take objectives. Alternatively you can use a third party voice chat program like Skype. However most players rely on the in-game chat system.
    The visuals of the game are very cartoonish at first glance, this allows the game to run well on less powerful computers which is another reason why so many people play it. Light hearted actions such as visual gags and special dance moves that can be executed mid game highlight the emphasis on friendly fun, yet a highly competitive environment lies beneath the surface.
    As far as stability is concerned, sometimes players will experience delays as they wait to log in to a match, other times they will encounter visual bugs. Overall Riot spend a great deal of time ensuring that their game operates as it should, with little to no down time. Time is money after all!
    League of Legends is not hard to get into, but quite challenging to master. Updates and patches keep the game well balanced, boosting or toning down the power of various items and champions. Sometimes an update will bring a surprise twist to the game mode, slightly changing the game mechanics or introduce a new champion or changes to the map. In this sense the game is constantly evolving and improving.
    As an example, my favorite alteration to the game mechanics was a mode called “Hexakill”: It allows six instead of the standard five champions per team, leading to some chaotic battles. The mode was so successful Riot extended its duration for an additional two weeks. As in the normal mode, the main objective is to destroy the enemy nexus, but now you had the possibility of scoring a hexakill. Getting multiple kills in this game is one of the most gratifying feelings, the game has something like a sports announcer that will yell things such as “GOD LIKE!” when you slaughter your foes in battle.
    While League of Legends could be considered repetitive in that you always have the same objective and always play on the same map, the variety lies in the champion combinations, their items, and the varied skill level of your opponents. It is a very deep and rewarding game of higher strategy typical of the MOBA genre. No match ever plays out the same way, especially if you are playing with friends. The joy comes from mastering your champions, constantly learning new tactics and honing your skills. Most importantly you need to maintain a positive attitude and play as a team to emerge victorious. You will not win every match, but hopefully you will learn something valuable with each loss. Ultimately I feel League of Legends is a great example of a video game that offers countless hours of entertainment and the possibility of socializing with other people from all over the world, showcasing the best of what gaming and global connectivity can be. In closing, I have finally found a game that I love to hate, it can be a massive time sink, but in the end I am happy to have wasted both time and money on this great MOBA.
    Expand
  19. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Pros:
    - Always updating, so the game doesn't get old.
    - Good artwork, voice acting and graphics - Good game mechanics and tactics. You can see clearly why good players are good. - Not pay to win. - Skins are nice xd - Ultra rapid fire mode (sometimes, but I think it's a good thing that it's just sometimes) - There's this non-competitive mode that it's actually fun (ARAM), the
    Pros:
    - Always updating, so the game doesn't get old.
    - Good artwork, voice acting and graphics
    - Good game mechanics and tactics. You can see clearly why good players are good.
    - Not pay to win.
    - Skins are nice xd
    - Ultra rapid fire mode (sometimes, but I think it's a good thing that it's just sometimes)
    - There's this non-competitive mode that it's actually fun (ARAM), the regular mode you just have fun if you win.

    Cons:
    - Most of the community is salty as f*ck and arrogant
    - Bad game engine, you could do more things if they updated their game engine but I may be wrong, it's not much of my area.
    - They could update better some things and shouldn't make so many promises (teemo, warwick, yorick, e t c ), just do it man.
    Expand
  20. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    I'm playing this game for 4 years now, starting early season 1 and all I can say is that this is an amazing game with a horrible community, but all you have to do is to find 4 friends to play and mute the other team and this is certainly my most important pvp experience I ever found in an online game.
  21. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    This is a game that really deserves perfect score. Only flaw comes from toxic community, but its not this game fault, that people nowadays are frustrated/plain stupid - nothing developers can do about it. Just mute trolls and report them :)
    Everything else in this game is excellent from great art graphic, excellent ballance, lots of strategy and most of all its addicting and for me its
    This is a game that really deserves perfect score. Only flaw comes from toxic community, but its not this game fault, that people nowadays are frustrated/plain stupid - nothing developers can do about it. Just mute trolls and report them :)
    Everything else in this game is excellent from great art graphic, excellent ballance, lots of strategy and most of all its addicting and for me its hard to put down - i played it for couple hundreds hours and i still have fun with it. RIOT improves this game constantly, adding new champs, modes, ballance changes etc.
    Its free to play and not pay to win - i strongly recommend You to give it a try. Overall I found my new multiplayer love, like Quake games years ago.
    Expand
  22. May 17, 2013
    8
    The game itself is great, the wide variety of Champions one can play as is great. A lot of it comes down to skill and sportsmanship. If your team is good, and the enemy team is good, and everybody is being for the most part courteous to each other, it is simply one of the funnest exhilarating games one can play. The graphics aren't the top of the line, perfect for not exactly high end butThe game itself is great, the wide variety of Champions one can play as is great. A lot of it comes down to skill and sportsmanship. If your team is good, and the enemy team is good, and everybody is being for the most part courteous to each other, it is simply one of the funnest exhilarating games one can play. The graphics aren't the top of the line, perfect for not exactly high end but close computers running everything at max. The gameplay can start out slow but will develope into a great strategic slaughter fest that can go any which way. The last hit almost always carries the most weight in their game modes, but as long as you're at the least getting champion assists and minion kills, you won't be horribly unequipped. The devs and staff seem to care about the fans, turning ideas into in game realities, from Characters, to skins, and even to the way the entire game works inside and out of the battlefield. Overall I enjoy the game as well as many other people do, I believe that there's a champion for everyone. Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This game deserves at least an 8/10. The user score is so low because when the game came out, it wasn't the best game but now the quality is very good. The game is more balanced than it used to be and riot has made league of legends into a beast. I am giving 10/10 to bump the user score but the game is nowhere near perfect.
  24. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. Really competitive game, Very, very thrilling, you are always learning new mechanics.

    The game is full of updates, lots of details in the events, new characters, etc... Best MOBA I've ever played.
  25. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    awesome made game...nice graphics and not too much requirements i give 10 because i like it DOTA is nothing compared with this so i recomend this in order to enjoy playing some MOBA games
  26. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    It seems that most of the commenters are haters and i can understand that. Most of them are hateful DOTA fans, others were just playing at the wrong ELO and others are graphic addicts. I like LOL how it is: Imperfect. the graphics is going to change soon, and the tribunal will be back to enliminate the ragekids and trolls. League of legends gets better by the day, and after the visualIt seems that most of the commenters are haters and i can understand that. Most of them are hateful DOTA fans, others were just playing at the wrong ELO and others are graphic addicts. I like LOL how it is: Imperfect. the graphics is going to change soon, and the tribunal will be back to enliminate the ragekids and trolls. League of legends gets better by the day, and after the visual update, i think it will outrun DOTA. I've played DOTA for nearly 1 month and i found it incredibly un-optimalized. But hey, that's just my opinion. Nonetheless, League of Legends gets better and better and i just can't wait for the updates. While in the beginning LOL had crappy graphics, imbalanced champs, and lots of bugs, today it is the best MOBA you can have. (For Free!) Expand
  27. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    Who gives a **** about ratings when it comes to games like DOTA, Smite or WOW. When you look at the bottom rating, you will see that people are **** about the community. They have the rights to do that but, **** people is already a big part of today's LoL community. Look at people **** about everybody an d everything but doing literally nothing in a game. Thing that he or she is too muchWho gives a **** about ratings when it comes to games like DOTA, Smite or WOW. When you look at the bottom rating, you will see that people are **** about the community. They have the rights to do that but, **** people is already a big part of today's LoL community. Look at people **** about everybody an d everything but doing literally nothing in a game. Thing that he or she is too much for a "noob team" like this.

    Well, there are nice people too. But most of the time, you don't give a **** about people. You try to play this game right, better, and that's the purpose of it. Winning a game is something, but putting out some great moves, learning your character, or even failing is really fun. You can say the same for probably all moba games, but what makes League that good is its simplicity, and the versatility of the game. Every character has a different mechanics, playstyles, and actually creative ways of using spells unlike dota (sorry Russians). This game will never get repetitive. New champions, playstyles, builds... and new people, new flamers, kids, sociopaths etc.

    ****ing your life since 2010.
    Expand
  28. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    League is the best free to play MOBA out there. Developer Riot continues to patch, upgrade and surprise their players. A lot of game modes and a constant flow of new characters and skins make this a game to be played for years to come.
  29. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    The most popular MOBA of all time, hell, most popular game of all time. Does it live up to its name? You bet it does.

    LoL does a lot of things right, and several things wrong. Firstly, it's popular and has a lot of content, and on top of that, it's free to play. It is accessible and has a reasonable business model which encourages a lot of gameplay for the player. The game now
    The most popular MOBA of all time, hell, most popular game of all time. Does it live up to its name? You bet it does.

    LoL does a lot of things right, and several things wrong. Firstly, it's popular and has a lot of content, and on top of that, it's free to play. It is accessible and has a reasonable business model which encourages a lot of gameplay for the player.

    The game now features over 115 heroes that can be customized with mastery "talent" trees and "runes" which let you empower your hero in different ways.

    The complexity of the game is just perfect for both casual and competitive players, although most HoN and DOTA players would disagree and bash the game for being "too casual". But in my opinion, Riot really did remove the features that seemed to hinder the fun aspect of MOBA games (eg. denying your creeps).

    The game also features unique hero and environment designs, accompanied by great user interface.

    The learning curve is still there, and the lack of a good tutorial and explanation of basic gameplay concepts. Also the client that the pre-game lobby runs on is old and buggy, and can really get on the nerves of some people.

    I quit LoL a year ago as I have over 1500 hours clocked on it, and it got quite boring and repetitve, and it didn't help that Riot is scared of any major balance changes, and if they do them, they nerf instead of buffing, which gradually makes the game sillier and more boring to play in my opinion.

    In my opinion, LoL is the best "all-round" MOBA experience, featuring complex gameplay and strategies without flooding the player with mechanics that hinder the core fun MOBA experience. The lack of tutorial and good lobby client is definitely a con until it's fixed.
    Expand
  30. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Un très bon jeu, j'ai du y jouer plus de 1000 heures. Il est vraiment addictive et malgré les 3 maps qu'il y a dans ce jeu, il y a une infinité de gameplay possible grâce a plus de 115 personnages différents. Et parmi ces personnages vous en trouverez au moins qui vous correspond le mieux, il y a des personnages plus facile a jouer que d'autres mais tout aussi puissant.
    De plus, vous
    Un très bon jeu, j'ai du y jouer plus de 1000 heures. Il est vraiment addictive et malgré les 3 maps qu'il y a dans ce jeu, il y a une infinité de gameplay possible grâce a plus de 115 personnages différents. Et parmi ces personnages vous en trouverez au moins qui vous correspond le mieux, il y a des personnages plus facile a jouer que d'autres mais tout aussi puissant.
    De plus, vous n'avez pas besoin de payer pour gagner mais vous aurez du contenu additionnel qui vous permettra de choisir une meilleur apparence pour votre personnage favori.
    Pour finir, je dirai que le matchmaking et vraiment bien fait, et vous tomberez forcément (à 95%) sur des games équilibrés, plus un tribunal très bien fait qui punis les joueurs qui s'absente trop souvent ou qui ont un mauvais comportement.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    80
    I find that with League of Legends, Riot has cultivated one of the most unique spaces in gaming history—mostly for good reasons but also for some awful ones, and in the gaming museum of the future, League is sure to have its own wing.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2011
    85
    League of Legends handles well the worst problem DOTA has: its autistic n00b-hating elite players. Thanks to match making, now we weaklings dare to play. [Nov 2011]
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    Improvements are constantly being updated and although team mates make or break many matches, there is genuine fun to be found.