Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2486 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Onslaught
    Jan 30, 2010
    5
    This game only gets a "fair" or "median" because of: No radar. Come on, why no radar? Is this supposed to add to the cliche horror shooter left 4 dead is supposed to be? Radars in team-based games are crucial and any one title without it just is... stupid. NO real distinguishable features for "special" infected. ONLY when they're leagues away from your location will they be This game only gets a "fair" or "median" because of: No radar. Come on, why no radar? Is this supposed to add to the cliche horror shooter left 4 dead is supposed to be? Radars in team-based games are crucial and any one title without it just is... stupid. NO real distinguishable features for "special" infected. ONLY when they're leagues away from your location will they be highlighted. Better yet, why not just highlight your TEAMMATES at all times? Why not show pointers on the screen (left, right side maybe?) to where your teammates are or where they're going? The Sound emulation for L4D2 is sub-par at best. For a $50 game I'd expect to rely on my headphones to tell me where the sounds are coming from (CS;S, predecessor of L4D with its useless radio commands, mouse-wheel change functionality has better sound emulation than this supposedly block-buster title). Retarded game modes, friendly fire that scales up with difficulty levels? All it takes is a dumb or punk teammate to kill you or severely wound you to ruin your game. Water. The water in this game feels like tar. Your movement speed is severely hampered by even water that goes as high as your ankles. Invisible AoEs on all effects (acid, fire), making them larger than they appear on-screen. Awful damage output on guns. Melee weapons are one-hit kills for 90% of the infected throughout the game. Why can't guns be a bit more powerful or melee weapons scaled down? The chainsaw, however, has a fuel gauge and runs out of gas quickly after excessive use. Some good points with this game does include the fact it has friendly fire to make it more realistic. Valve DOES support their active titles frequently and bugs do get fixed sooner rather than later versus some other games. Assorted weapons? Though most of them pump out the same damage a few different decals are nice? This game has been overinflated by hype and anticipation, period. I wouldn't have purchased this title myself (this game was given to me as a gift). My expectations of this game were a lot higher than most other fanboys would have. The graphics aren't much of an improvement over the first and most importantly the gameplay hasn't changed a single bit. This game definitely should've been marketed, and charged as a DLC, not an official standalone game. I would NOT recommend this game to someone who hasn't played any zombie-shooting game in the past. Frankly, Counter-Strike: Source is only $10 US through steam store and BORDERLANDS offers much more fun gameplay at the same price bracket as L4D2 only seems to last about 2 weeks top and dulls out real fast. Expand
  2. KristjanO
    Feb 15, 2010
    7
    Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a new game to make money ... The new characters feel lifeless and you don't want to play them except for Ellis , Nick and maybe even coach. The special infected addons are nice , but they couldev have added them to the first! Spitter and Jockey wouldev suited the first game very nicely , but the Charger ... This is a noobs toy. Would you start for example .. Hard rain? Pick up your stuff before the Diner , all of a sudden charged into instant death. Instant death spot at the beginning of the campaign... FAIL. Same goes to Dead Center and The Parish. Don't start saying these can be avoided , ofcourse they can be , but if this was your VERY FIRST impression , what would you think? Charger = Waste and for noobs. Anyway to sum this all up , if i play Left 4 Dead , i enjoy it , since its way harder to kill survivors with only 2 hunters , 1 smoker and a boomer or 3 hunters and a smoker or 4 hunters , instead of the lame ammount of Instant death or near death spots in the 2nd game. Playing Left 4 Dead 2 frustrates me unlike no tomorrow .. until i finally decided to Uninstall that piece of crap. Only reason this is getting 7 points , is the new content. Expand
  3. pipelinecache
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but nothing fancy. Expand
  4. MoizR
    Dec 20, 2009
    5
    Story and background seems a definite downgrade from the last game, especially the characters. I really hate the hill-billy setting. No great improvement in graphics and AI is complete shit. It completely kills the game if you're playing a really fun match and someone quits and a douchebag AI replaces him. Game is completely overpriced, its NOT worth more than what you can get from Story and background seems a definite downgrade from the last game, especially the characters. I really hate the hill-billy setting. No great improvement in graphics and AI is complete shit. It completely kills the game if you're playing a really fun match and someone quits and a douchebag AI replaces him. Game is completely overpriced, its NOT worth more than what you can get from similarly priced games. Expand
  5. JC
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually saddened that Valve turned to such questionable practices in pricing the game. However, onto the game itself. The graphics update is great, the ability to blow off limbs, heads, cut zombies in two, burn their flesh off is a great improvement for those who wanted to see more realism. The melee weapons are Overpowered however. No human can so cleanly slice through zombies in the way these weapons do. ANd by cleanly I mean ho0w a baseball bat shatters a skull and explodes a head in one hit, or ow the machete goes through the torso so well. This also negates the use of shotguns if you dont mind taking a little extra damage. ANd the actual laugh out loud part of this is that a pistol/shotgun combo IMO is more effective then a Melee/Main weapon simply because as long as you co-ordinate and protect your teammates, most zombies can be brought down with gunfire before the need of a melee weapon. Also there are too many automatics stewn accross maps. This makes the infected side in Versus 100% harder then in L4D1, where Ammo had to be conserved. I think in the week ive played this Ive seen someone run out of ammo on a main gun...once..... withoiut finding a replacement, this game balance is absolutely appauling. The levels they designed could ave been easily made in L4D1 and I am starting to believe that the simple reason for not advancing L4D1 was a need for more revenue. However, do I reccomend this game? Yes, despite the fact its probablyoverpriced, I would have paid about 19.99 had I not been pressured into buying it by my friends. As much as this game is probbaly not worth what you would pay for it now, the quality of the levels are much better then in L4D1, the infected in Versus do much better and the Director has marginally improved. As well, I find the L4D2 Normal mode gameplay (and what you play in Versus) to be much more balanced and fluid then in L4D1, which was quite frankly restrictive. Expand
  6. JarydF
    Dec 4, 2009
    5
    If you have not played L4D then L4D2 is a version with more stuff. I am starting to think that the gameplay model is flawed.
  7. MartyB
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    An average game from an average franchise, for casual players only. If you have a few minutes to spare, jump online and play through a map, otherwise, if you're interested in tactical zombie killing, Killing Floor is a more suitable option. No character growth makes Marty a sad player. Melee weapons overpowered, and the new special infected are silly - Jockey? Give me a break. Leave An average game from an average franchise, for casual players only. If you have a few minutes to spare, jump online and play through a map, otherwise, if you're interested in tactical zombie killing, Killing Floor is a more suitable option. No character growth makes Marty a sad player. Melee weapons overpowered, and the new special infected are silly - Jockey? Give me a break. Leave this to the children who need a crosshair. Booya! I went there. Expand
  8. PercyP
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I've played this game from start to finish, both offline and online and I must say, I'm quite disappointed. Why not give it a lower score, you say? Because it still rates quite highly as a mod for the original game. Not enough content to justify a new game, and this renders the original game obsolete now, which is a slap in the face for those people who bought the original and I've played this game from start to finish, both offline and online and I must say, I'm quite disappointed. Why not give it a lower score, you say? Because it still rates quite highly as a mod for the original game. Not enough content to justify a new game, and this renders the original game obsolete now, which is a slap in the face for those people who bought the original and expected it to be updated frequently... It's certainly not a worthless game, as it's great to pick up and have a blast for a few minutes every week, but it's not deserving of any accolades, either. My advice - Don't believe the hype. Pass + (Wait for a 75% off sale) Expand
  9. BobD
    Feb 9, 2010
    5
    New zombies, weapons and maps, but the game has lost the 'survival-horror' magic that L4D had. This game isn't suspenseful in the least, and is more of a 'mow down zombies' game than a 'survive from zombies' game. Will still play L4D instead of L4D2, not worth $50.
  10. StevenP
    Mar 16, 2010
    6
    Left 4 Dead 2 did not live up to the original zombie killing game. Even though Valve went through a lot of trouble adding all the new features, and don't get me wrong, I love the new stuff, but I just love the original better. The new band of survivors do not give you the sense that they are in a zombie apocalypse. In fact, they give you the sense that they love it which kills the Left 4 Dead 2 did not live up to the original zombie killing game. Even though Valve went through a lot of trouble adding all the new features, and don't get me wrong, I love the new stuff, but I just love the original better. The new band of survivors do not give you the sense that they are in a zombie apocalypse. In fact, they give you the sense that they love it which kills the little fear that L4D provides. The hillbilly versions of the original themes are cool and I like them, but L4D's night campaigns will always, in my opinion, be better then the day campaigns in L4D2. Expand
  11. EricC
    Mar 17, 2010
    7
    First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever played. This game is not like Counter-Strike, while individual skill play a larger role (don't get me wrong, I love Counter-Strike). This game is all about teamwork. You might be a expert on other FPS's but that doesnt guarantee that you are good in Left 4 Dead 2. The game isn't exactly noob-friendly either as Justblaze already said. What I want to see in this game is more content as well. Yes, there are alot of custom campaigns and maps (more coming all the time) but I can't see anyone playing them in any of the game modes. Bottom line: Buy this game if you intend to play it with friends. It just might be best FPS you can play. But if you play it without any friends, IRL or not, it won't be nearly as fun. Expand
  12. ThatGuy
    Mar 21, 2010
    7
    L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the first, you may be dissapointed. Expand
  13. mattg.
    Mar 26, 2010
    6
    IF I were an online/coop kind of player I probably would give this game a 10. BUT, I am not. The story, AI interaction, scenes and general game play are excellent, but for single player action it's over in a hurry and there is absolutely nothing to make you want to come back and go at it again. I am a hugeb RE fan, but this game falls completely flat when it comes to re-playability. IF I were an online/coop kind of player I probably would give this game a 10. BUT, I am not. The story, AI interaction, scenes and general game play are excellent, but for single player action it's over in a hurry and there is absolutely nothing to make you want to come back and go at it again. I am a hugeb RE fan, but this game falls completely flat when it comes to re-playability. Love the characters, love the game itself, but PLEASE make this game on equal par with the single player in mind. (Hint for LFD3). Expand
  14. Joe
    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the gameplay, graphics, features that would qualify this game as top notch! Quite fun to play not more. If you like games with nice suprising storylines look somewhere else. If you need astonishing graphics... look elsewhere. If you want complex very motivating gameplay... not this game. If you want a brainless fun shooter- buy it! If you want a nice multipayer experience for you and a few friends - very advisable to buy it. Small niche, and the game fills it quite nice. But against all the hype around this game: There is nothing NEW in this game. It is warmed up alphabet soup with some additional numbers. Expand
  15. QuantumRand
    Dec 14, 2009
    5
    Valve took a wonderful DLC concpet and expanded it slightly to release an entire new game. The original development map would have worked fine for a DLC, but the added complexity of releasing a stand alone game made the 1-year deadline impossible to make, but Valve released L4D2 anyways, filled to the brim with bugs. The game didnt even run on Dual core 64bit systems until almost a full Valve took a wonderful DLC concpet and expanded it slightly to release an entire new game. The original development map would have worked fine for a DLC, but the added complexity of releasing a stand alone game made the 1-year deadline impossible to make, but Valve released L4D2 anyways, filled to the brim with bugs. The game didnt even run on Dual core 64bit systems until almost a full month after its release!!!! Expand
  16. P.Dude
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Ive given it a 7 because it is pretty good remodel of l4d1 even tho in l4d1 i worked out how to get incendiary ammo and some other cool things but we all know valve could have made it better in l4d2.all in all l4d2 is good but not worth £30
  17. MooMan
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    ALthough this game has some new features, it clearly proves the quote "sequels suck." If you're looking to spend the money to upgrade your l4d, go ahead. New chars are not really that great, too attached to the old ones =). other than that, laser sights are fun to use
  18. bi0tech
    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    Like L4D1 with more art, less story, and tons of new bugs. It's amusing enough for L4D1 fans, until you play long enough to realize any concept of single player is destroyed by even dumber bots, versus is a constant battle against game bugs rather than adversaries, leaving you online campaign mode as relatively fun. I expected far far far more from Valve.
  19. AshA
    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    Very overpriced and overrated game. Well the game is fun for a while, but given the fact that the core content is incredibly shallow as it is generic and all campaigns can be beaten in mere 3 hours, i would suggest to wait for the game price to drop down to 20$-25$ before buying it, because everything above is a rip off. I, just as many other people have bought the first game (l4d1) for Very overpriced and overrated game. Well the game is fun for a while, but given the fact that the core content is incredibly shallow as it is generic and all campaigns can be beaten in mere 3 hours, i would suggest to wait for the game price to drop down to 20$-25$ before buying it, because everything above is a rip off. I, just as many other people have bought the first game (l4d1) for full price (45 Expand
  20. CH
    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    Ok let's be fair. I won't say that valve is trying to cheat our money because it is afterall a new product of some sort. I mean, if you guys are willing to pay for half-life 2 EP1 and EP2 when theres the original HL2, then I guess paying for L4D2 when theres L4D isn't that much of a 'cheat'. True enough, L4D is still buggy (look at all the exploits that works in Ok let's be fair. I won't say that valve is trying to cheat our money because it is afterall a new product of some sort. I mean, if you guys are willing to pay for half-life 2 EP1 and EP2 when theres the original HL2, then I guess paying for L4D2 when theres L4D isn't that much of a 'cheat'. True enough, L4D is still buggy (look at all the exploits that works in L4D survival,,, till date) and there are still room for improvements for L4D. Maybe it's true that L4D2 came out too early, and maybe it's true that valve used the same 'source engine' for all their games since '04. But all that are not reasons why L4D2 shouldn't be a stand alone game. It's true that 50 USD is too much for a game that is based one another game that is launched a year ago. I'll say that 40 USD will be a suitable launching price (without discounts). Oh well, these can be subjective and I won't elaborate further. Anyway, onto the gaming aspects. Not much changes are made to the music (similar music are played when similar events happened in both L4D and L4D2). As for graphics, it's the same as L4D, except for new characters (and new skins) and new huds, which doesnt changes much, if not at all. On to the game mechanics. New weapon, though the original carbine and shotgun are still my favourite. The new sniper is a nice addition, though it (and AK) really makes you think that they are simply adding counter-strike guns to L4D2. Grenade launcher sucks cause it deals more friendly fire dammage than hostile dammage, especially in expert. There also the complication where you have Gren launcher for slot one and a melee weapon for slot 2, and you can't really attack ranged hostiles effectively (or helping a friend from afar without dealing them any dammage). The new pistol, magnum, is a good addition, it allows u to choose between dammage or speed for slot 2 ranged weapon. As for the new melee weapons... seriously, I have no comments...it's a good idea but in a zombie apocalyse, it's always better shooting them off from afar. As for the bile jar... nah, pipe is better. The new infecteds aren't any better. Jockies are simply hunters that will make u mobile when being pinned on. Spitters, on the other hand, give you the impression that Valve is trying to introduce some anti-camping bots. The idea of chargers are good though, cause it helps to foster better teamwork, cuz when one player got pinned by a charger, hes as good as gone if the whole team didn't notice. Witches now learns how to walk too, though it doesnt really make much of a difference. Anyway, I won't elaborate any more on the game. To warp everything up, some of the new additions are nice, though others may seem irritating or unnecessary. The new maps are well made, though they should include more buildings so that hunters can play around. Though L4D2 is attractive, the simplicity which L4D provides seems better to me. Oh and the price is really a bit too much. Expand
  21. MaxB
    Apr 25, 2010
    6
    In a rush to get this sequel done, Valve seems to had forgotten that coat of polish, which separates their games from others and makes them great. Lacks the atmosphere and beautiful level design from L4D1. The daylight setting totally throws the idea of lighting cues out the window, which DOES cause people to get lost within the maps. Mostly a meh experience, it's harder than the In a rush to get this sequel done, Valve seems to had forgotten that coat of polish, which separates their games from others and makes them great. Lacks the atmosphere and beautiful level design from L4D1. The daylight setting totally throws the idea of lighting cues out the window, which DOES cause people to get lost within the maps. Mostly a meh experience, it's harder than the first, but in a particularly annoying way, it might just be my computer but I seem to have a few hit detection problems and the zombies like to run around like retarded headless chickens. The most fun I got out of this game was by exploiting all those glitches in the survival maps with some friends. Not much enjoyment beyond that, really. Not worth the 55 bucks for me, but now it's 30 bucks on steam.. Still not worth it. "If you liked L4D1, you'll LOVE LEFT 4 DEAD 2!!1!1!1!1" That's wrong. It's a matter of taste and point of view, really. Expand
  22. JCTam
    Dec 19, 2009
    5
    The game qualifies as an expansion pack rather than being a sequel. For the people who boycott this recent game due to the same features, they are reasonably right, until now. This game is still fun to play but I wish there are more new mechanics and gameplay these days. Valve should make these features apply to HL2: Episode Three. Even the lowest price to buy this game after several The game qualifies as an expansion pack rather than being a sequel. For the people who boycott this recent game due to the same features, they are reasonably right, until now. This game is still fun to play but I wish there are more new mechanics and gameplay these days. Valve should make these features apply to HL2: Episode Three. Even the lowest price to buy this game after several weeks in release is only $30!! Expand
  23. Slayer
    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    Good but not great. Pretty cool updates from the first game but it is not quite enough for the fans, valve recently announced that an addon "the passing" will be released soon. However, it is stated that "Pricing will be announced closer to launch." If the new addon will cost more money, it will be another sick joke of Valve. When they released L4D1, they promised to support it like TF2, Good but not great. Pretty cool updates from the first game but it is not quite enough for the fans, valve recently announced that an addon "the passing" will be released soon. However, it is stated that "Pricing will be announced closer to launch." If the new addon will cost more money, it will be another sick joke of Valve. When they released L4D1, they promised to support it like TF2, but end up making a full priced game. What were Valve thinking? Expand
  24. ConnorS
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. This game is good for a fun run through a zombie apocolypse with friends. Just, don't play single player too much. Expand
  25. Stivob
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or ger...i give YOU a 0. Expand
  26. BrettL
    Dec 7, 2009
    6
    This game had some huge potential to be bigger than the original L4D, however, when I played the game, major show stopper bugs reared their heads quickly, and frequently. The most glaring problem involves the Charger's charge ability, which has the potential to cause Survivors to be unable to move. This is a game breaker bug, since a player getting bugged in that manner has no real This game had some huge potential to be bigger than the original L4D, however, when I played the game, major show stopper bugs reared their heads quickly, and frequently. The most glaring problem involves the Charger's charge ability, which has the potential to cause Survivors to be unable to move. This is a game breaker bug, since a player getting bugged in that manner has no real alternative except to leave the game. Maybe if VALVe fixes the major issues with the game, it might be worthy of a higher score. Expand
  27. JamesB
    Dec 8, 2009
    5
    To start off, Left 4 Dead 1 was an amazing release, although there were few weapons, few campaigns and of course few Special Infected types to kill. Left 4 Dead 2 has changed the whole game, They've improved and added a new build of the Source Engine, Added Tons of new weapons such as the Magnum Pistol, and Melee weapons such as the chainsaw, new game modes that give Special Infected To start off, Left 4 Dead 1 was an amazing release, although there were few weapons, few campaigns and of course few Special Infected types to kill. Left 4 Dead 2 has changed the whole game, They've improved and added a new build of the Source Engine, Added Tons of new weapons such as the Magnum Pistol, and Melee weapons such as the chainsaw, new game modes that give Special Infected a chance to overwhelm the Survivors, such as Scavenge Mode, the Witch doesn't sit in a corner moaning for hours, instead she is wandering around the map, hoping to bump into you, so she could put an end to her misery! Overall, it's not too bad, it's not too good, it's in between, Valve could have done a better Job, but overall, it's the best Zombie Survival game of all time... Expand
  28. ColtonI
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    I left off rating this thing for a week, and I'm glad that I did. At first glance this game is everything L4D1 was and more. My first single-player run though was a blast and I spent 10-15 hours running the campaigns the first time exploring everything. Jump to a week later and I can't barely work up the interest to play this game anymore. There are so many buggy problems with I left off rating this thing for a week, and I'm glad that I did. At first glance this game is everything L4D1 was and more. My first single-player run though was a blast and I spent 10-15 hours running the campaigns the first time exploring everything. Jump to a week later and I can't barely work up the interest to play this game anymore. There are so many buggy problems with it that I don't even want to try. I bought the first L4D when it was on sale for $20 and it was generally worth it, but I paid $50 straight up for L4D2 and now I regret it completely. Bugs and errors include: Getting stuck in scenery with no way out but to die or restart if certain special infected attack you; AI players that can reach through walls to get at special ammo and weapons, which you can't get to; Invisible scenery items that block your progress and the only option for you is to "turn up your graphics settings"; Horrible bot AI that refuses to pick up medi-packs or new weapons and generally takes about 45 seconds to rescue you. (and I know what you're saying, "just play online with other people" but you have to take into account that people "rage quit", loose connection or drop game and you're left with these crappy AI bots) The campaigns go from dusk till' dawn but having it be daytime ruins the "scary jumps" that I loved so much about the first game. It seems that Valve listened too much to their play-testers and generally ruined the game catering to whiners. Someone must have told them "It's too dark" and "it's confusing" and "the AI does everything for you" and so on and so on. All Valve created was a game that is twice is big and half as fun. Somebodies mommy complained and now the magic is gone. In two months or less this will sit on your shelf untouched, I guarantee it. Expand
  29. Anatole
    Dec 22, 2009
    5
    Gave it half of what it would be if it were an original game. being that it's so blatantly a pile of rehashed, reused script from L4D1, much of which is still code from CounterStrike... (how sad is that?) this is less than half a game. My hat's off for the style, actually, no I don't even like the game's style. It's too bright and just corny in general. The Gave it half of what it would be if it were an original game. being that it's so blatantly a pile of rehashed, reused script from L4D1, much of which is still code from CounterStrike... (how sad is that?) this is less than half a game. My hat's off for the style, actually, no I don't even like the game's style. It's too bright and just corny in general. The underlying substance is lacking to say the least. So many details are just missing and ignored by most gamers. The entire game smacks of lazy developers. Too much copy/pasted game here to warrant the price. Expand
  30. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    Better in some ways, worse in some ways. Mostly worse but still fun. There are lots of new weapons and features. Unfortunately the ambiance is completely destroyed. Instead of dark horror moods you have more of a jackass vs zombies mood. The ridiculous music played during the mobs is killer to the survival mood. The new ai director also seems to be poorly put together. Instead of wellBetter in some ways, worse in some ways. Mostly worse but still fun. There are lots of new weapons and features. Unfortunately the ambiance is completely destroyed. Instead of dark horror moods you have more of a jackass vs zombies mood. The ridiculous music played during the mobs is killer to the survival mood. The new ai director also seems to be poorly put together. Instead of well paced hordes you get one every 3 freaking seconds. The thing that upset me most was that the movie posters don't have screen names below the characters anymore. On the upside you have more weapons, more support, and realism mode. Overall this could've been made an expansion and should't cost anything over 30$ Expand
  31. Feb 4, 2011
    5
    It has all the the perks of the original game and more, which includes lack of support from Valve. I still believe that they have done nothing to improve the re-playability factor, which sadly wore off faster on this iteration than the previous installment. Gone is the writing and enjoyable characters from the first game, the first of many frustrations the game has to offer. Now, before IIt has all the the perks of the original game and more, which includes lack of support from Valve. I still believe that they have done nothing to improve the re-playability factor, which sadly wore off faster on this iteration than the previous installment. Gone is the writing and enjoyable characters from the first game, the first of many frustrations the game has to offer. Now, before I go any further, let me say that I did have fun with this for about 3 months after I bought it. But, admittedly, I did and still do feel like I payed for an expansion pack to the original game, not a sequel. The problem lies within Valve's Left 4 Dead team, which have made a sadly forgettable entry into their own game series. Almost ironically, I've gone back to playing the first one finding little things that make it just that much more enjoyable than the second. Such as difficulty that isn't just increasing the amount of damage enemies do to you, the gun models looking leagues ahead of what they look like in L4D2, Versus mode that feels partially balanced, and last of all, good maps. I can't stress how idiotic of a decision it was to make the setting in daylight, not only does it break the atmosphere, it also can make for some confusing map designs, which there are plenty of in this game. I have been let down twice now by a game valve has failed to finish. Expand
  32. Jan 29, 2011
    6
    If you're into hectic precision-gore-fests, then this game's Realism Expert mode is for you. Other modes are pretty much jokes for the kids, as they provide all sorts of visual aid. The fluency, reflexes, teamwork and some planning is what makes this game shine. The level designs, special infected and overall tone should have been darker, though, but it's still fun to obliterate suchIf you're into hectic precision-gore-fests, then this game's Realism Expert mode is for you. Other modes are pretty much jokes for the kids, as they provide all sorts of visual aid. The fluency, reflexes, teamwork and some planning is what makes this game shine. The level designs, special infected and overall tone should have been darker, though, but it's still fun to obliterate such amounts of meat. Having said that, they should make the fleshy gore more realistic. Sometimes zombies keep running even if the crucial posture-muscles seem to have been destroyed and they should be falling over. Some more variety in the zombies is necessary. Variety in how they transport, too. Why they never crawl? And other issues, as it badly needs a darker tone. The fluency of movements sometimes doesn't make sense when the zombies don't seem to have any inertia (why?) and they seem to be stopping you by touch (is that even possible?). So these are the main gripes. Expand
  33. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    This is more of an extended update to the original, if you really loved the first there are very few excuses for you not to get this one. Steam offers this game at a discount multiple times a year, definitely should watch for that if you still don't own it.
  34. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    The game can be very entertaining, especially when playing with friends. If you like just spraying zombies down it can keep you entertained for a long time, but for me it simply lacked the competitive touch. Even versus games just seem more like PvE than PvP. If there wasn't any prequel to it, I would have given it a 8. But what really pissed me off is that valve makes us pay for an otherThe game can be very entertaining, especially when playing with friends. If you like just spraying zombies down it can keep you entertained for a long time, but for me it simply lacked the competitive touch. Even versus games just seem more like PvE than PvP. If there wasn't any prequel to it, I would have given it a 8. But what really pissed me off is that valve makes us pay for an other game, which hasn't really changed that much. All the new content in L4D2 should have just been released in a content update, now that I own both I would naturally prefer playing L4D2. But if I had known there wouldn't be more to it, I wouldn't have bothered getting it Expand
  35. May 14, 2011
    6
    This is an amazing game. Valve has put a lot of effort into balancing the game and improving its graphics, and it makes for an enjoyable multiplayer experience with friends. However, the game has quite a few fundamental flaws. The versus games often end very early due to a whole team ragequitting. This makes it very difficult to actually play an enjoyable game. The single player mode isThis is an amazing game. Valve has put a lot of effort into balancing the game and improving its graphics, and it makes for an enjoyable multiplayer experience with friends. However, the game has quite a few fundamental flaws. The versus games often end very early due to a whole team ragequitting. This makes it very difficult to actually play an enjoyable game. The single player mode is unplayable, there is no way to work with a team of bots. The ability to restart a chapter or return to a lobby is often abused by teams when they first lose. A game can be lost because a single player will not cooperate, and either rushes or uses his own strategy.There are many greifers. Though many of these issues are beyond valve's control, they severely detract from the experience of the game. I do not recommend you buy this game unless you have at least one or two friends who will play it with you to avoid these issues with the multiplayer game. Expand
  36. Oct 2, 2011
    5
    New zombies, new weapons, pretty much just dlc for the first game, i found little differnt and i am insulted that the devs would make basicaly the same game a year later? Well they realy want our money realy bad for the greater good of the future or has the first game done poorly for profit? Just like most franchises, their predessors in sequals are far to repetative for their own good.
  37. Dec 5, 2010
    5
    The only thing different about this game from the first version is, this one is harder. You get a lot more zombies thrown at you. If I want to change the difficulty level, I can do that myself. No need to throw a gazillion more enemies at me at my normal playing level. To get a good rating in my book, you need to make the sequel more creative, not just crank up the difficulty. CertainThe only thing different about this game from the first version is, this one is harder. You get a lot more zombies thrown at you. If I want to change the difficulty level, I can do that myself. No need to throw a gazillion more enemies at me at my normal playing level. To get a good rating in my book, you need to make the sequel more creative, not just crank up the difficulty. Certain parts are enjoyable, but many are just plain dumb. I'm giving it a 5 - not a complete waste of money, but there are reasons this one went from full price to discount very quickly. Expand
  38. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed the mayhem and personalities of LFD2, but the simplistic shooting system and the somewhat short campaign leaves my money spent questionable. 30 bucks for this game isn't really worth the time or money unfortunately. Liked the game, just not worth it for the price.
  39. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    When you experienced the first game, some of the atmosphere in the second game doesn't feel as strong. However, this game makes up for that with the new weapons, features, infected and characters. At first, I was very angry at Valve for suddenly working on this game while the first one was still unpolished, but my disposition changed when I finally played this game and experienced theWhen you experienced the first game, some of the atmosphere in the second game doesn't feel as strong. However, this game makes up for that with the new weapons, features, infected and characters. At first, I was very angry at Valve for suddenly working on this game while the first one was still unpolished, but my disposition changed when I finally played this game and experienced the updates along with it. It's good every once in a while, but gets repetitive sometimes even with the game altering "Director" thrown in. Versus Mode can be extremely fun when your team isn't stupid and the hit detection doesn't screw you over, but I find that more or less unbalanced and just stick with the normal co-op. Expand
  40. Jul 22, 2011
    7
    I haven't played L4D1, so i don't have anything else to compare it to, (other than perhaps Killing Floor). I thought of giving it a 6, but then i guess it's still a *good quality* game, just that the gameplay didn't suck me in at all. I guess i'm not a fan of a thousand no-AI-whatsoever npc's running at me, it kind of makes each individual kill meaningless, and there is no river of bloodI haven't played L4D1, so i don't have anything else to compare it to, (other than perhaps Killing Floor). I thought of giving it a 6, but then i guess it's still a *good quality* game, just that the gameplay didn't suck me in at all. I guess i'm not a fan of a thousand no-AI-whatsoever npc's running at me, it kind of makes each individual kill meaningless, and there is no river of blood to make it at least visually bad-ass. And it's very linear too: after finishing a campaign once, i had no desire to replay it, having to go through exactly the same path again. I did like the vs. scavenge mode though, i think this one aspect of the whole game is what really stood out. Having to be the zombies who die faster than the waiting time between respawns, it was the first time i ever reaaallly had to strategize in an fps. To finalize, if i were to give this game a price, i'd say it's worth about $5-$10 (depending on who you are. To me it would have been worth $5, but definitely not $35, or however much i actually paid for it.) Expand
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Just because you added a "2" in the "Left 4 Dead" title and also made some additional zombie characters doesn't make a better game. I'm not saying it's bad, but its just the same thing I played a year ago. I still enjoy it and I'm thankful for Valve making this epic **** but the next L4D's gotta be more innovative.
  42. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Let's get one thing straight. L4D2 is not a mere expansion pack. It's not Left 4 Dead 1.5, but Left 4 Dead 2.0 as the title suggests. There's twice as many guns, melee weapons can be used as secondary, new equipment and grenades, new enemies, more campaigns which last longer, new characters who join originals and new maps as well as new game modes. There's Realism, scavenge and more mapsLet's get one thing straight. L4D2 is not a mere expansion pack. It's not Left 4 Dead 1.5, but Left 4 Dead 2.0 as the title suggests. There's twice as many guns, melee weapons can be used as secondary, new equipment and grenades, new enemies, more campaigns which last longer, new characters who join originals and new maps as well as new game modes. There's Realism, scavenge and more maps for survival. It's a new game alright- a great continuation from Left 4 Dead. So why do I only give it 7/10? Simply put, the game's appeal doesn't last too long. No matter how much you add to it, killing zombies gets boring very quickly. The achievements, as usual with Valve games, are creative but pointless. Zombies in CoD are way more addicting even without achievements. If you liked Left 4 Dead, this is definitely worth gettiing. But despite the AI director in both games, it's just not addicting. I suppose in CoD Zombies it's addicting to beat your best. Here, in survival mode, it just doesn't grip me at all. Maybe it's the gameplay mechanics, maybe it's that in CoD you get 2 types of zombie. Issues still exist with the AI though. They'll try to heal you when you don't need it, for example, in the middle of a horde. Their only use is as a storage for all the pills and healthpacks you didn't pick up. Generally, Valve's shooter doesn't feel like a 2009/10 release due to the Counter-strike gameplay. With their games, it's much more about the concept rather than the intricate details. Overall, the game is a complete package, since you get survival, co-op, single-player, and competitive multiplayer where you play as the zombies as well. It's a good game, but still not one I'd want to play for a long time. Expand
  43. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    All I can say, is that this game is a **** awesome sequel to Left 4 Dead, ticked all my boxes, nothing negative comes to mind. Awesome! The gameplay is awesome in multiplayer, had tones of fun, t
  44. Oct 26, 2012
    5
    I've actually had this game for around 2 years, I just haven't gotten around to reviewing it till now. That said, I don't play it that often.

    The Negatives: Pretty typical plot and equally typical enemies. You have the big slow but strong enemy with lots of health, the kamikaze enemy who explodes if you let him get too close, and the normal zombies don't do much other than run into your
    I've actually had this game for around 2 years, I just haven't gotten around to reviewing it till now. That said, I don't play it that often.

    The Negatives: Pretty typical plot and equally typical enemies. You have the big slow but strong enemy with lots of health, the kamikaze enemy who explodes if you let him get too close, and the normal zombies don't do much other than run into your bullets or melee. Then you have three basically identical enemies who incapacitate you and then you need someone else to help you out.

    The positive: The multiplayer is where the game shines - with good planning you can quickly kill the opposing team and if you are the humans then you need to have quick reflexes and be able to adapt to the situation fast.

    Unfortunately, there are times when it is wiser to just let your teammates die because they died much further behind everyone else and going back risks the entire team. I don't feel that is great team play, but that's how the game works out sometimes.

    At the end of the day, if you enjoy a pvp oriented first person shooter that requires a bit more than just point and shoot you will enjoy this game. If your more of a single player or your looking for an interesting story... keep looking.

    Even in purely pvp standpoint I would recommend quite a few other FPS shooters before this one unless you love zombies or something.
    Expand
  45. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    With 3 of your friends, co-op is an amazing way to spend few hours or an entire weekend. Hectic pace, great arenas, great bosses, requires ton of team play to come out of each section alive.
    By yourself, co-op portion is nearly not as fun and multiplayer... there are a lot of better choices out there.
  46. Nov 16, 2015
    5
    -snip-
    ...............................................................................................................................................
  47. Nov 1, 2012
    5
    I don't understand how this game got so many high ratings, a very overrated game. Game play is extremely shallow, its basically just a shooting gallery over and over. Zombie ai is pathetic and levels are very boring. I only spent 5$ on it during steam sale and I almost feel ripped off. If you just want to play with a friend and blast through waves of zombies and THAT IS IT, then hey thisI don't understand how this game got so many high ratings, a very overrated game. Game play is extremely shallow, its basically just a shooting gallery over and over. Zombie ai is pathetic and levels are very boring. I only spent 5$ on it during steam sale and I almost feel ripped off. If you just want to play with a friend and blast through waves of zombies and THAT IS IT, then hey this game may be for you, otherwise keep clear. Expand
  48. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    Rating of this game really depends on YOUR circumstances. What I mean is, if you have a ton of gamer friends who play at the same times/frequency as you, this game can be GREAT fun, especially with versus matches. If on the other hand, you do NOT have a ton of friends you can play with, the general community of L4D2 is some of the worst I have ever seen. Because the game content is soRating of this game really depends on YOUR circumstances. What I mean is, if you have a ton of gamer friends who play at the same times/frequency as you, this game can be GREAT fun, especially with versus matches. If on the other hand, you do NOT have a ton of friends you can play with, the general community of L4D2 is some of the worst I have ever seen. Because the game content is so limited, multiplayer is very important to the longevity of this game. Often I have encountered all varieties of douches - whether they use up all the health packs just to troll, refuse to help their teammates, run off like Rambo into the distance and then die, join your expert level difficulty games in which they gun everyone down before leaving immediately, abuse the microphone and kicking functions, rage quitters left and right, team killers - really, the list is endless. The randoms community is generally terrible to play a game with, particularly in versus. In my own personal experience, I have a survival rate of 99% and never get accuracy below 30%, I frequently get accused of hacking because of my ability to spot enemies and dispatch them quickly, often (90%+) top damage in versus, and yet I have often been the scapegoat for "why we are losing", and subsequently kicked despite being decently skilled as survivors and zombies. It could just be terrible luck of the draw, but you definitely encounter these kinds of folks if you play this game with randoms. While you cannot blame the developers for attracting such a freak show, there are plenty of other things you can still blame them with. If you like single player, you will find that it the game is basically L4D1 in mechanics, graphics and gameplay. The new weapons are more like an expansion pack than an entire sequel, and while levels are very different experiences, it is so much the same game they easily ported the L4D1 maps over. Story line is minimal as it was in the previous L4D, and levels are still designed so that in reality, you could easily avoid lots of the terrible situations they put themselves in by simply climbing a fence. There are a lot of piss-off-the-horde-and-then-dash-through-them scenarios, where if you stop pushing you will most certainly die because of your ammo will run out, and zombies like to run these comically stupid zig-zags which make them more difficult to shoot, but make absolutely no sense. My overall verdict: if its $5 on steam, it's a good deal. If you have lots of friends who will play, it's great fun. Overall its neither novel nor spectacular in any sense. Expand
  49. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    This game could be better. It has a lot of nice new concepts, but a lot of it is also recycled from Left 4 Dead. I like it, but it's not really worth getting at full price.
  50. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Left 4 Dead 2 is a game that should be looked at entirely separately from its predecessor. Yes, it was released one year after the first one, yes it is the same game mechanics but with different characters/areas. Those however, are what makes it a new game. Many people thought they should have released dlc for the original and been done with it, but if you look at both games, you can tellLeft 4 Dead 2 is a game that should be looked at entirely separately from its predecessor. Yes, it was released one year after the first one, yes it is the same game mechanics but with different characters/areas. Those however, are what makes it a new game. Many people thought they should have released dlc for the original and been done with it, but if you look at both games, you can tell the first one was more of a dry-run at the franchise, a polished beta, if you will. It tried new ideas while doing them well. L4D2 is released, and you can see what they were trying to do all along. They succeeded in creating a very nice experience for friends to play and it provides a huge amount of options and game modes to go back to. It runs on Source, which speaks for itself in terms of performance. The lack of content is what held this game back. If it knew it was only going to be a game comprised of multiple short campaigns, it should have prepared for the desire of the consumer for more, by adding at least 5 more original campaigns. Expand
  51. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    Im not saying this game is bad, but its too similiar to original l4d. They added like 20 new things and most of them are useless melee weapon etc. From a steam sale its worth buying but wouldnt have paid full prize back then when the game was released.
  52. Nov 14, 2012
    5
    Let's be clear- this is a multiplayer game. There is no other reason to play it. I enjoy playing games by myself and as such did not have a very good experience with this game. With that said, I did play multiplayer a few times, but the repetitive gameplay detracted from my experience. There's very little variation in your encounters with zombies. I feel like I would've been better offLet's be clear- this is a multiplayer game. There is no other reason to play it. I enjoy playing games by myself and as such did not have a very good experience with this game. With that said, I did play multiplayer a few times, but the repetitive gameplay detracted from my experience. There's very little variation in your encounters with zombies. I feel like I would've been better off playing Borderlands. Expand
  53. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    A direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the newA direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the new Infected additions but I always found this mode really rage inducing because of the level's pickup randomization. New multiplayer modes are creative and there are mutators but the base gameplay has been done before and I didn't feel compelled to get into them. There's pretty much no reason to buy the original now that this is out especially when you consider they ported the original campaign to the sequel. Once again, the online community is horrible and if you want to play this you will want a group of friends. Expand
  54. Nov 2, 2012
    5
    The game doesn't really offer much over it's predecessor. The first game was nice on it's own whereas it's sequel seems to be crammed with things that don't really add to the experience a whole lot. Melee weapons are rather pointless and actually cripple you in most cases. All of the melee weapons seem to just be re-skins which all have the same swinging animation and do the same damageThe game doesn't really offer much over it's predecessor. The first game was nice on it's own whereas it's sequel seems to be crammed with things that don't really add to the experience a whole lot. Melee weapons are rather pointless and actually cripple you in most cases. All of the melee weapons seem to just be re-skins which all have the same swinging animation and do the same damage except for the Katana, Chainsaw and Crowbar. The new special infected seem to serve the same purpose as the previous. A Smoker, Jockey and Charger all do the same thing more or less. Really the only addition I see as significant is a Spitter which is good for separating the group all at once.

    The level design is very closed in and straightforward. There really isn't much exploration other than some of the building being open but they most of the time lead straight back to your outer, linear street.
    This game only being released a year after the first, feels rushed, has poor level design, adding nothing significantly new over the previous and just didn't feel as enjoyable overall.
    Expand
  55. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    This is a pretty well crafted game, with an optimal amount of fun to be had with the right groups. However my biggest beef has to be that theres a poor balancing system and you often have 1 godly team stomping 1 bad team.

    Other than that, single player mode types get boring pretty quickly, but theyre fun while they last,
  56. May 18, 2013
    7
    Best played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bitBest played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bit boring as your completing your challenge to survive. There is no real story to this other than to survive and get to checkpoint to checkpoint. Though playing with friends is a lot of fun as you work together and install mods that enhance your experience makes the game even better. This may not be a good game for everyone but, it's worth the try. Expand
  57. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    It's a fun game with friends that can draw you in for hours on end, but in the end I felt a little disappointed with Left 4 Dead 2. It felt like something that had been rushed out and lacked the polish of Valve's other titles.
  58. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    This is by no means a terrible game, however, it is incredibly overrated. The shooting mechanics are pretty sub-par and the inability to aim down your site is a tad disappointing. The overall pace of the game is nice and fast pace, as a zombie survival game should be. The characters in my honest opinion are terrible, and completely unrelateable (except for Coach... i like coach). AThis is by no means a terrible game, however, it is incredibly overrated. The shooting mechanics are pretty sub-par and the inability to aim down your site is a tad disappointing. The overall pace of the game is nice and fast pace, as a zombie survival game should be. The characters in my honest opinion are terrible, and completely unrelateable (except for Coach... i like coach). A very strong "fun but overhyped" feeling. Expand
  59. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Before I start, I would just like to say this is not a bad game, however it is an incredibly overrated game. I have played this game extensively- especially with friends. Despite this it is not deserving of a 8 or even 7 out of 10.
    First off; all the zombies feel like cardboard, all weapons rip them to pieces with little or no effort, there is little difference from the first Left 4 dead,
    Before I start, I would just like to say this is not a bad game, however it is an incredibly overrated game. I have played this game extensively- especially with friends. Despite this it is not deserving of a 8 or even 7 out of 10.
    First off; all the zombies feel like cardboard, all weapons rip them to pieces with little or no effort, there is little difference from the first Left 4 dead, the physics doesn't quite feel right- as if the earth's gravitational field strength has decreased since the zombie outbreak. This game would never be good without friends, no seriously lone wolves barely touch the game.
    The main reason distinguishing this from a 5/10 is the fact that it has an extensive modding scene- the only thing that keeps the game going...
    Expand
  60. Jun 28, 2014
    7
    Its nice.
    there's not too much added on from the original, and its a standard zombie-shooter, but the characters are just so...unique and awesome, and the special infected are nice
    Overall its...good.
  61. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Valve seemed to rush about publishing this title, mentioning that there's not much changes disappointingly. Not much additions have been added, despite some changes on weaponry, characters, special infected and maps. It also manages to feel relatively the same as it's predecessor, meaning that this game would be fantastic as a DLC. But, if you're able to avoid thinking about the lack ofValve seemed to rush about publishing this title, mentioning that there's not much changes disappointingly. Not much additions have been added, despite some changes on weaponry, characters, special infected and maps. It also manages to feel relatively the same as it's predecessor, meaning that this game would be fantastic as a DLC. But, if you're able to avoid thinking about the lack of innovation, you are going to have a blast. But, be sure to bring a friend with you to really achieve the satisfaction of winning a game, because playing alone, while fun, it gets stale.
    The variety of guns is rather huge, and melee weapons are added to this sequel too. There's not much change on guns, but the addition of melee weapons is rewarding. They are fun and satisfying to use.
    Special infected appear in this game, with some more types of them. They are satisfying to kill, and they have their unique abilities for attacking the players. Along with the common zombies, all of them are rewarding to kill.
    Making strategy is the smartest and the best way to survive. It's ultimately unforgettable when you make strategy with your friends, and actually winning the level.
    This game would score an eight, if not of this negative: the lack of level variation.
    Blasting through zombies, while fun at first, it can get monotone doing the same thing every time. Why don't you add an interesting twist on the level, and not doing the same thing every time It's disappointing to see this issue, and I hope they'll fix this in Left 4 Dead 3. Well, if it's going to be out in the first place.
    Left 4 Dead 2, despite having a lack of innovation and level variation, it's brutally entertaining for both casual and hardcore players. (Final Score: 7.67)
    Expand
  62. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    Doesn't do anything that couldn't have been achieved with a Left 4 Dead Expansion.

    Hopefully, Left 4 Dead 3 will actually add something new to the series.
  63. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    7.5/10.
    It's a fun game, not too special.
    Story isn't interesting, and the online is dull after just a few game sessions.
    Graphics are quite nice, the variety of zombies is quite fun, weaponry is nice as well.
    The game is mostly fun to play with a few friends.
    Not a special game, but it is kind of a defining point in zombie gaming.
  64. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    This is great fun to play with the steam workshop and l4dmaps.com mods and would be a 10/10, but without mods the game can get quite repetitive. The only good non-modded level is Dark Carnival.
  65. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Es una expansión de L4D1, nada mas. Es un juego adictivo, divertido, fácil de conseguir, es un buen juego. Le daría una puntuación mayor si este hubiera sido el primer L4D, pero no lo es.... Es lo que es... DLC, vendido como nueva entrega. Aun así lo recomiendo por que este juego mato a la comunidad de L4D1. Compralo ya, esta en Steam a 15 dolares. Le doy un 07/10, si fuera el primero leEs una expansión de L4D1, nada mas. Es un juego adictivo, divertido, fácil de conseguir, es un buen juego. Le daría una puntuación mayor si este hubiera sido el primer L4D, pero no lo es.... Es lo que es... DLC, vendido como nueva entrega. Aun así lo recomiendo por que este juego mato a la comunidad de L4D1. Compralo ya, esta en Steam a 15 dolares. Le doy un 07/10, si fuera el primero le daría un 08/10 o un 09/10, pero es una versión Plus+DLC de el 1. Expand
  66. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    Super Hra je to boží.Dávám 7 bodu.je to super hra. je tam kampan a hovno ajdjhdhdhdhdhdhhdhdhdhdhdhdhzdhdhdhdhddhhdhdjdfhdjhfudfheudhfdufgzertzrgtzjhnudhfzehr
  67. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    Left 4 Dead 2 raises the bar by adding new features, zombies, weapons, maps and characters. I really love playing the levels with friends and other players. I love the feature: Versus mode but the one thing I really hate about it is that the people who play on versus mode are jerks. They kick you out for either no reason, being a noob, making a mistake, for not playing enough hours. TheLeft 4 Dead 2 raises the bar by adding new features, zombies, weapons, maps and characters. I really love playing the levels with friends and other players. I love the feature: Versus mode but the one thing I really hate about it is that the people who play on versus mode are jerks. They kick you out for either no reason, being a noob, making a mistake, for not playing enough hours. The multiplayer community can be harsh on pc but I heard the xbox 360 players are alot nicer. Expand
  68. Jul 19, 2014
    7
    Left 4 dead 2 est vraiment un jeu pour se défoulé , où le but est de défoncé du zombie a l’état brute avec des potes . En plus grâce au Workshop on peu rajouter du contenu au jeu ce qui n'est pas négligeable pour ce genre de jeu où il n'a pas de réelle scénario . Perso au bout d'un moment je m'en suis un peu ennuie dessus . Mais reste quand un même un bon jeu .
  69. Sep 25, 2014
    7
    An overall fun and entertaining coop game. The levels are well made and the multiplayer modes are decent and the combat is a lot of fun. I wish there were more levels and a little more content though.
  70. Nov 14, 2014
    5
    Was a great game and if you have friends who play this it's a 8,5. Without friends it seems there's only russians and russian servers (live in the middle of europe), they shoot everybody who isn't russian and speak orcish so theres no actual co-op. As a singleplayer only game that it is nowadays I have to give it a measly 5.
  71. Apr 10, 2015
    6
    All I can say, is Left for Dead 2 is a very good Zombie Shooter, but the best thing is the mod Deathcraft were everything is so awesome. But the first game was more interesting.
  72. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  73. Sep 21, 2015
    6
    It's a good game, while it lasts. And the modding community is quite healthy, always adding new skins for weapons, infected, items, But the game is too repetitive for me. Literally, every game is "Run down this corridor and shoot at zombies until you get to the safe room" I completed all the single player stuff, tried some community made maps, Had a really terrible experience with a**holesIt's a good game, while it lasts. And the modding community is quite healthy, always adding new skins for weapons, infected, items, But the game is too repetitive for me. Literally, every game is "Run down this corridor and shoot at zombies until you get to the safe room" I completed all the single player stuff, tried some community made maps, Had a really terrible experience with a**holes online who teamkilled everyone when they got the chance, then got really bored and I never played it again. It now sits in my Steam library, gathering dust. Expand
  74. Nov 15, 2015
    7
    super a game vuhuhuhuhuhuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.