Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2600 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Onslaught
    Jan 30, 2010
    5
    This game only gets a "fair" or "median" because of: No radar. Come on, why no radar? Is this supposed to add to the cliche horror shooter left 4 dead is supposed to be? Radars in team-based games are crucial and any one title without it just is... stupid. NO real distinguishable features for "special" infected. ONLY when they're leagues away from your location will they be This game only gets a "fair" or "median" because of: No radar. Come on, why no radar? Is this supposed to add to the cliche horror shooter left 4 dead is supposed to be? Radars in team-based games are crucial and any one title without it just is... stupid. NO real distinguishable features for "special" infected. ONLY when they're leagues away from your location will they be highlighted. Better yet, why not just highlight your TEAMMATES at all times? Why not show pointers on the screen (left, right side maybe?) to where your teammates are or where they're going? The Sound emulation for L4D2 is sub-par at best. For a $50 game I'd expect to rely on my headphones to tell me where the sounds are coming from (CS;S, predecessor of L4D with its useless radio commands, mouse-wheel change functionality has better sound emulation than this supposedly block-buster title). Retarded game modes, friendly fire that scales up with difficulty levels? All it takes is a dumb or punk teammate to kill you or severely wound you to ruin your game. Water. The water in this game feels like tar. Your movement speed is severely hampered by even water that goes as high as your ankles. Invisible AoEs on all effects (acid, fire), making them larger than they appear on-screen. Awful damage output on guns. Melee weapons are one-hit kills for 90% of the infected throughout the game. Why can't guns be a bit more powerful or melee weapons scaled down? The chainsaw, however, has a fuel gauge and runs out of gas quickly after excessive use. Some good points with this game does include the fact it has friendly fire to make it more realistic. Valve DOES support their active titles frequently and bugs do get fixed sooner rather than later versus some other games. Assorted weapons? Though most of them pump out the same damage a few different decals are nice? This game has been overinflated by hype and anticipation, period. I wouldn't have purchased this title myself (this game was given to me as a gift). My expectations of this game were a lot higher than most other fanboys would have. The graphics aren't much of an improvement over the first and most importantly the gameplay hasn't changed a single bit. This game definitely should've been marketed, and charged as a DLC, not an official standalone game. I would NOT recommend this game to someone who hasn't played any zombie-shooting game in the past. Frankly, Counter-Strike: Source is only $10 US through steam store and BORDERLANDS offers much more fun gameplay at the same price bracket as L4D2 only seems to last about 2 weeks top and dulls out real fast. Expand
  2. KristjanO
    Feb 15, 2010
    7
    Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a new game to make money ... The new characters feel lifeless and you don't want to play them except for Ellis , Nick and maybe even coach. The special infected addons are nice , but they couldev have added them to the first! Spitter and Jockey wouldev suited the first game very nicely , but the Charger ... This is a noobs toy. Would you start for example .. Hard rain? Pick up your stuff before the Diner , all of a sudden charged into instant death. Instant death spot at the beginning of the campaign... FAIL. Same goes to Dead Center and The Parish. Don't start saying these can be avoided , ofcourse they can be , but if this was your VERY FIRST impression , what would you think? Charger = Waste and for noobs. Anyway to sum this all up , if i play Left 4 Dead , i enjoy it , since its way harder to kill survivors with only 2 hunters , 1 smoker and a boomer or 3 hunters and a smoker or 4 hunters , instead of the lame ammount of Instant death or near death spots in the 2nd game. Playing Left 4 Dead 2 frustrates me unlike no tomorrow .. until i finally decided to Uninstall that piece of crap. Only reason this is getting 7 points , is the new content. Expand
  3. pipelinecache
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but nothing fancy. Expand
  4. MoizR
    Dec 20, 2009
    5
    Story and background seems a definite downgrade from the last game, especially the characters. I really hate the hill-billy setting. No great improvement in graphics and AI is complete shit. It completely kills the game if you're playing a really fun match and someone quits and a douchebag AI replaces him. Game is completely overpriced, its NOT worth more than what you can get from Story and background seems a definite downgrade from the last game, especially the characters. I really hate the hill-billy setting. No great improvement in graphics and AI is complete shit. It completely kills the game if you're playing a really fun match and someone quits and a douchebag AI replaces him. Game is completely overpriced, its NOT worth more than what you can get from similarly priced games. Expand
  5. JC
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually saddened that Valve turned to such questionable practices in pricing the game. However, onto the game itself. The graphics update is great, the ability to blow off limbs, heads, cut zombies in two, burn their flesh off is a great improvement for those who wanted to see more realism. The melee weapons are Overpowered however. No human can so cleanly slice through zombies in the way these weapons do. ANd by cleanly I mean ho0w a baseball bat shatters a skull and explodes a head in one hit, or ow the machete goes through the torso so well. This also negates the use of shotguns if you dont mind taking a little extra damage. ANd the actual laugh out loud part of this is that a pistol/shotgun combo IMO is more effective then a Melee/Main weapon simply because as long as you co-ordinate and protect your teammates, most zombies can be brought down with gunfire before the need of a melee weapon. Also there are too many automatics stewn accross maps. This makes the infected side in Versus 100% harder then in L4D1, where Ammo had to be conserved. I think in the week ive played this Ive seen someone run out of ammo on a main gun...once..... withoiut finding a replacement, this game balance is absolutely appauling. The levels they designed could ave been easily made in L4D1 and I am starting to believe that the simple reason for not advancing L4D1 was a need for more revenue. However, do I reccomend this game? Yes, despite the fact its probablyoverpriced, I would have paid about 19.99 had I not been pressured into buying it by my friends. As much as this game is probbaly not worth what you would pay for it now, the quality of the levels are much better then in L4D1, the infected in Versus do much better and the Director has marginally improved. As well, I find the L4D2 Normal mode gameplay (and what you play in Versus) to be much more balanced and fluid then in L4D1, which was quite frankly restrictive. Expand
  6. JarydF
    Dec 4, 2009
    5
    If you have not played L4D then L4D2 is a version with more stuff. I am starting to think that the gameplay model is flawed.
  7. MartyB
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    An average game from an average franchise, for casual players only. If you have a few minutes to spare, jump online and play through a map, otherwise, if you're interested in tactical zombie killing, Killing Floor is a more suitable option. No character growth makes Marty a sad player. Melee weapons overpowered, and the new special infected are silly - Jockey? Give me a break. Leave An average game from an average franchise, for casual players only. If you have a few minutes to spare, jump online and play through a map, otherwise, if you're interested in tactical zombie killing, Killing Floor is a more suitable option. No character growth makes Marty a sad player. Melee weapons overpowered, and the new special infected are silly - Jockey? Give me a break. Leave this to the children who need a crosshair. Booya! I went there. Expand
  8. PercyP
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I've played this game from start to finish, both offline and online and I must say, I'm quite disappointed. Why not give it a lower score, you say? Because it still rates quite highly as a mod for the original game. Not enough content to justify a new game, and this renders the original game obsolete now, which is a slap in the face for those people who bought the original and I've played this game from start to finish, both offline and online and I must say, I'm quite disappointed. Why not give it a lower score, you say? Because it still rates quite highly as a mod for the original game. Not enough content to justify a new game, and this renders the original game obsolete now, which is a slap in the face for those people who bought the original and expected it to be updated frequently... It's certainly not a worthless game, as it's great to pick up and have a blast for a few minutes every week, but it's not deserving of any accolades, either. My advice - Don't believe the hype. Pass + (Wait for a 75% off sale) Expand
  9. BobD
    Feb 9, 2010
    5
    New zombies, weapons and maps, but the game has lost the 'survival-horror' magic that L4D had. This game isn't suspenseful in the least, and is more of a 'mow down zombies' game than a 'survive from zombies' game. Will still play L4D instead of L4D2, not worth $50.
  10. StevenP
    Mar 16, 2010
    6
    Left 4 Dead 2 did not live up to the original zombie killing game. Even though Valve went through a lot of trouble adding all the new features, and don't get me wrong, I love the new stuff, but I just love the original better. The new band of survivors do not give you the sense that they are in a zombie apocalypse. In fact, they give you the sense that they love it which kills the Left 4 Dead 2 did not live up to the original zombie killing game. Even though Valve went through a lot of trouble adding all the new features, and don't get me wrong, I love the new stuff, but I just love the original better. The new band of survivors do not give you the sense that they are in a zombie apocalypse. In fact, they give you the sense that they love it which kills the little fear that L4D provides. The hillbilly versions of the original themes are cool and I like them, but L4D's night campaigns will always, in my opinion, be better then the day campaigns in L4D2. Expand
  11. EricC
    Mar 17, 2010
    7
    First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever played. This game is not like Counter-Strike, while individual skill play a larger role (don't get me wrong, I love Counter-Strike). This game is all about teamwork. You might be a expert on other FPS's but that doesnt guarantee that you are good in Left 4 Dead 2. The game isn't exactly noob-friendly either as Justblaze already said. What I want to see in this game is more content as well. Yes, there are alot of custom campaigns and maps (more coming all the time) but I can't see anyone playing them in any of the game modes. Bottom line: Buy this game if you intend to play it with friends. It just might be best FPS you can play. But if you play it without any friends, IRL or not, it won't be nearly as fun. Expand
  12. ThatGuy
    Mar 21, 2010
    7
    L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the first, you may be dissapointed. Expand
  13. mattg.
    Mar 26, 2010
    6
    IF I were an online/coop kind of player I probably would give this game a 10. BUT, I am not. The story, AI interaction, scenes and general game play are excellent, but for single player action it's over in a hurry and there is absolutely nothing to make you want to come back and go at it again. I am a hugeb RE fan, but this game falls completely flat when it comes to re-playability. IF I were an online/coop kind of player I probably would give this game a 10. BUT, I am not. The story, AI interaction, scenes and general game play are excellent, but for single player action it's over in a hurry and there is absolutely nothing to make you want to come back and go at it again. I am a hugeb RE fan, but this game falls completely flat when it comes to re-playability. Love the characters, love the game itself, but PLEASE make this game on equal par with the single player in mind. (Hint for LFD3). Expand
  14. Joe
    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the gameplay, graphics, features that would qualify this game as top notch! Quite fun to play not more. If you like games with nice suprising storylines look somewhere else. If you need astonishing graphics... look elsewhere. If you want complex very motivating gameplay... not this game. If you want a brainless fun shooter- buy it! If you want a nice multipayer experience for you and a few friends - very advisable to buy it. Small niche, and the game fills it quite nice. But against all the hype around this game: There is nothing NEW in this game. It is warmed up alphabet soup with some additional numbers. Expand
  15. QuantumRand
    Dec 14, 2009
    5
    Valve took a wonderful DLC concpet and expanded it slightly to release an entire new game. The original development map would have worked fine for a DLC, but the added complexity of releasing a stand alone game made the 1-year deadline impossible to make, but Valve released L4D2 anyways, filled to the brim with bugs. The game didnt even run on Dual core 64bit systems until almost a full Valve took a wonderful DLC concpet and expanded it slightly to release an entire new game. The original development map would have worked fine for a DLC, but the added complexity of releasing a stand alone game made the 1-year deadline impossible to make, but Valve released L4D2 anyways, filled to the brim with bugs. The game didnt even run on Dual core 64bit systems until almost a full month after its release!!!! Expand
  16. P.Dude
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Ive given it a 7 because it is pretty good remodel of l4d1 even tho in l4d1 i worked out how to get incendiary ammo and some other cool things but we all know valve could have made it better in l4d2.all in all l4d2 is good but not worth £30
  17. MooMan
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    ALthough this game has some new features, it clearly proves the quote "sequels suck." If you're looking to spend the money to upgrade your l4d, go ahead. New chars are not really that great, too attached to the old ones =). other than that, laser sights are fun to use
  18. bi0tech
    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    Like L4D1 with more art, less story, and tons of new bugs. It's amusing enough for L4D1 fans, until you play long enough to realize any concept of single player is destroyed by even dumber bots, versus is a constant battle against game bugs rather than adversaries, leaving you online campaign mode as relatively fun. I expected far far far more from Valve.
  19. AshA
    Dec 7, 2009
    5
    Very overpriced and overrated game. Well the game is fun for a while, but given the fact that the core content is incredibly shallow as it is generic and all campaigns can be beaten in mere 3 hours, i would suggest to wait for the game price to drop down to 20$-25$ before buying it, because everything above is a rip off. I, just as many other people have bought the first game (l4d1) for Very overpriced and overrated game. Well the game is fun for a while, but given the fact that the core content is incredibly shallow as it is generic and all campaigns can be beaten in mere 3 hours, i would suggest to wait for the game price to drop down to 20$-25$ before buying it, because everything above is a rip off. I, just as many other people have bought the first game (l4d1) for full price (45 Expand
  20. CH
    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    Ok let's be fair. I won't say that valve is trying to cheat our money because it is afterall a new product of some sort. I mean, if you guys are willing to pay for half-life 2 EP1 and EP2 when theres the original HL2, then I guess paying for L4D2 when theres L4D isn't that much of a 'cheat'. True enough, L4D is still buggy (look at all the exploits that works in Ok let's be fair. I won't say that valve is trying to cheat our money because it is afterall a new product of some sort. I mean, if you guys are willing to pay for half-life 2 EP1 and EP2 when theres the original HL2, then I guess paying for L4D2 when theres L4D isn't that much of a 'cheat'. True enough, L4D is still buggy (look at all the exploits that works in L4D survival,,, till date) and there are still room for improvements for L4D. Maybe it's true that L4D2 came out too early, and maybe it's true that valve used the same 'source engine' for all their games since '04. But all that are not reasons why L4D2 shouldn't be a stand alone game. It's true that 50 USD is too much for a game that is based one another game that is launched a year ago. I'll say that 40 USD will be a suitable launching price (without discounts). Oh well, these can be subjective and I won't elaborate further. Anyway, onto the gaming aspects. Not much changes are made to the music (similar music are played when similar events happened in both L4D and L4D2). As for graphics, it's the same as L4D, except for new characters (and new skins) and new huds, which doesnt changes much, if not at all. On to the game mechanics. New weapon, though the original carbine and shotgun are still my favourite. The new sniper is a nice addition, though it (and AK) really makes you think that they are simply adding counter-strike guns to L4D2. Grenade launcher sucks cause it deals more friendly fire dammage than hostile dammage, especially in expert. There also the complication where you have Gren launcher for slot one and a melee weapon for slot 2, and you can't really attack ranged hostiles effectively (or helping a friend from afar without dealing them any dammage). The new pistol, magnum, is a good addition, it allows u to choose between dammage or speed for slot 2 ranged weapon. As for the new melee weapons... seriously, I have no comments...it's a good idea but in a zombie apocalyse, it's always better shooting them off from afar. As for the bile jar... nah, pipe is better. The new infecteds aren't any better. Jockies are simply hunters that will make u mobile when being pinned on. Spitters, on the other hand, give you the impression that Valve is trying to introduce some anti-camping bots. The idea of chargers are good though, cause it helps to foster better teamwork, cuz when one player got pinned by a charger, hes as good as gone if the whole team didn't notice. Witches now learns how to walk too, though it doesnt really make much of a difference. Anyway, I won't elaborate any more on the game. To warp everything up, some of the new additions are nice, though others may seem irritating or unnecessary. The new maps are well made, though they should include more buildings so that hunters can play around. Though L4D2 is attractive, the simplicity which L4D provides seems better to me. Oh and the price is really a bit too much. Expand
  21. MaxB
    Apr 25, 2010
    6
    In a rush to get this sequel done, Valve seems to had forgotten that coat of polish, which separates their games from others and makes them great. Lacks the atmosphere and beautiful level design from L4D1. The daylight setting totally throws the idea of lighting cues out the window, which DOES cause people to get lost within the maps. Mostly a meh experience, it's harder than the In a rush to get this sequel done, Valve seems to had forgotten that coat of polish, which separates their games from others and makes them great. Lacks the atmosphere and beautiful level design from L4D1. The daylight setting totally throws the idea of lighting cues out the window, which DOES cause people to get lost within the maps. Mostly a meh experience, it's harder than the first, but in a particularly annoying way, it might just be my computer but I seem to have a few hit detection problems and the zombies like to run around like retarded headless chickens. The most fun I got out of this game was by exploiting all those glitches in the survival maps with some friends. Not much enjoyment beyond that, really. Not worth the 55 bucks for me, but now it's 30 bucks on steam.. Still not worth it. "If you liked L4D1, you'll LOVE LEFT 4 DEAD 2!!1!1!1!1" That's wrong. It's a matter of taste and point of view, really. Expand
  22. JCTam
    Dec 19, 2009
    5
    The game qualifies as an expansion pack rather than being a sequel. For the people who boycott this recent game due to the same features, they are reasonably right, until now. This game is still fun to play but I wish there are more new mechanics and gameplay these days. Valve should make these features apply to HL2: Episode Three. Even the lowest price to buy this game after several The game qualifies as an expansion pack rather than being a sequel. For the people who boycott this recent game due to the same features, they are reasonably right, until now. This game is still fun to play but I wish there are more new mechanics and gameplay these days. Valve should make these features apply to HL2: Episode Three. Even the lowest price to buy this game after several weeks in release is only $30!! Expand
  23. Slayer
    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    Good but not great. Pretty cool updates from the first game but it is not quite enough for the fans, valve recently announced that an addon "the passing" will be released soon. However, it is stated that "Pricing will be announced closer to launch." If the new addon will cost more money, it will be another sick joke of Valve. When they released L4D1, they promised to support it like TF2, Good but not great. Pretty cool updates from the first game but it is not quite enough for the fans, valve recently announced that an addon "the passing" will be released soon. However, it is stated that "Pricing will be announced closer to launch." If the new addon will cost more money, it will be another sick joke of Valve. When they released L4D1, they promised to support it like TF2, but end up making a full priced game. What were Valve thinking? Expand
  24. ConnorS
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. This game is good for a fun run through a zombie apocolypse with friends. Just, don't play single player too much. Expand
  25. Stivob
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or ger...i give YOU a 0. Expand
  26. BrettL
    Dec 7, 2009
    6
    This game had some huge potential to be bigger than the original L4D, however, when I played the game, major show stopper bugs reared their heads quickly, and frequently. The most glaring problem involves the Charger's charge ability, which has the potential to cause Survivors to be unable to move. This is a game breaker bug, since a player getting bugged in that manner has no real This game had some huge potential to be bigger than the original L4D, however, when I played the game, major show stopper bugs reared their heads quickly, and frequently. The most glaring problem involves the Charger's charge ability, which has the potential to cause Survivors to be unable to move. This is a game breaker bug, since a player getting bugged in that manner has no real alternative except to leave the game. Maybe if VALVe fixes the major issues with the game, it might be worthy of a higher score. Expand
  27. JamesB
    Dec 8, 2009
    5
    To start off, Left 4 Dead 1 was an amazing release, although there were few weapons, few campaigns and of course few Special Infected types to kill. Left 4 Dead 2 has changed the whole game, They've improved and added a new build of the Source Engine, Added Tons of new weapons such as the Magnum Pistol, and Melee weapons such as the chainsaw, new game modes that give Special Infected To start off, Left 4 Dead 1 was an amazing release, although there were few weapons, few campaigns and of course few Special Infected types to kill. Left 4 Dead 2 has changed the whole game, They've improved and added a new build of the Source Engine, Added Tons of new weapons such as the Magnum Pistol, and Melee weapons such as the chainsaw, new game modes that give Special Infected a chance to overwhelm the Survivors, such as Scavenge Mode, the Witch doesn't sit in a corner moaning for hours, instead she is wandering around the map, hoping to bump into you, so she could put an end to her misery! Overall, it's not too bad, it's not too good, it's in between, Valve could have done a better Job, but overall, it's the best Zombie Survival game of all time... Expand
  28. ColtonI
    Nov 26, 2009
    6
    I left off rating this thing for a week, and I'm glad that I did. At first glance this game is everything L4D1 was and more. My first single-player run though was a blast and I spent 10-15 hours running the campaigns the first time exploring everything. Jump to a week later and I can't barely work up the interest to play this game anymore. There are so many buggy problems with I left off rating this thing for a week, and I'm glad that I did. At first glance this game is everything L4D1 was and more. My first single-player run though was a blast and I spent 10-15 hours running the campaigns the first time exploring everything. Jump to a week later and I can't barely work up the interest to play this game anymore. There are so many buggy problems with it that I don't even want to try. I bought the first L4D when it was on sale for $20 and it was generally worth it, but I paid $50 straight up for L4D2 and now I regret it completely. Bugs and errors include: Getting stuck in scenery with no way out but to die or restart if certain special infected attack you; AI players that can reach through walls to get at special ammo and weapons, which you can't get to; Invisible scenery items that block your progress and the only option for you is to "turn up your graphics settings"; Horrible bot AI that refuses to pick up medi-packs or new weapons and generally takes about 45 seconds to rescue you. (and I know what you're saying, "just play online with other people" but you have to take into account that people "rage quit", loose connection or drop game and you're left with these crappy AI bots) The campaigns go from dusk till' dawn but having it be daytime ruins the "scary jumps" that I loved so much about the first game. It seems that Valve listened too much to their play-testers and generally ruined the game catering to whiners. Someone must have told them "It's too dark" and "it's confusing" and "the AI does everything for you" and so on and so on. All Valve created was a game that is twice is big and half as fun. Somebodies mommy complained and now the magic is gone. In two months or less this will sit on your shelf untouched, I guarantee it. Expand
  29. Anatole
    Dec 22, 2009
    5
    Gave it half of what it would be if it were an original game. being that it's so blatantly a pile of rehashed, reused script from L4D1, much of which is still code from CounterStrike... (how sad is that?) this is less than half a game. My hat's off for the style, actually, no I don't even like the game's style. It's too bright and just corny in general. The Gave it half of what it would be if it were an original game. being that it's so blatantly a pile of rehashed, reused script from L4D1, much of which is still code from CounterStrike... (how sad is that?) this is less than half a game. My hat's off for the style, actually, no I don't even like the game's style. It's too bright and just corny in general. The underlying substance is lacking to say the least. So many details are just missing and ignored by most gamers. The entire game smacks of lazy developers. Too much copy/pasted game here to warrant the price. Expand
  30. Aug 17, 2010
    5
    Better in some ways, worse in some ways. Mostly worse but still fun. There are lots of new weapons and features. Unfortunately the ambiance is completely destroyed. Instead of dark horror moods you have more of a jackass vs zombies mood. The ridiculous music played during the mobs is killer to the survival mood. The new ai director also seems to be poorly put together. Instead of wellBetter in some ways, worse in some ways. Mostly worse but still fun. There are lots of new weapons and features. Unfortunately the ambiance is completely destroyed. Instead of dark horror moods you have more of a jackass vs zombies mood. The ridiculous music played during the mobs is killer to the survival mood. The new ai director also seems to be poorly put together. Instead of well paced hordes you get one every 3 freaking seconds. The thing that upset me most was that the movie posters don't have screen names below the characters anymore. On the upside you have more weapons, more support, and realism mode. Overall this could've been made an expansion and should't cost anything over 30$ Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.