Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2323 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    All I can say, is that this game is a **** awesome sequel to Left 4 Dead, ticked all my boxes, nothing negative comes to mind. Awesome! The gameplay is awesome in multiplayer, had tones of fun, the new infected are fun to kill and are fun to play as! Very very verry good game :D
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Left 4 Dead 2, this game is just awesome, you can even make a model and put it into game and play it with that add-on, just awesome. I really enjoy this game!
  3. jackp
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    This game is better then the first one in every way. However the friendly A.I are pretty much useless most of the time but that said it doesn't affect game play all that much. Also I don't get why people say valve are milking for more money when it couldnt have been an expansion. The sheer amount of content in this game would have meant that the separate expansions needed to add This game is better then the first one in every way. However the friendly A.I are pretty much useless most of the time but that said it doesn't affect game play all that much. Also I don't get why people say valve are milking for more money when it couldnt have been an expansion. The sheer amount of content in this game would have meant that the separate expansions needed to add it to the new game would cost pretty much the same if not even more then this game does. The only reason it got a 9 and not a 10 is because of the friendly A.I... Expand
  4. TimothyK
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    Just adding my 2 cents as well... Look I have almost a nickel. Anyhow I feel like I should comment more on the complainers about Valve trying to make money than the actual game. People are actually mad that a company is trying to make money? Do we all want to live in Soviet Russia or what? Guess what a lot of companies do that, they don't stop making cars in 2008 just because they Just adding my 2 cents as well... Look I have almost a nickel. Anyhow I feel like I should comment more on the complainers about Valve trying to make money than the actual game. People are actually mad that a company is trying to make money? Do we all want to live in Soviet Russia or what? Guess what a lot of companies do that, they don't stop making cars in 2008 just because they made a lot of money in one year. The 2009, 2010 etc. models will come out and people will be happy because its always exciting to get a new product. I'm not going to go into all the good about this game because its all been said before but I will make a couple of comments on needs improvement. I wish Valve would be more creative on the type of games involved. I enjoy scavenge mode but really think there could be more modes. LIke an escort mission (something like TF2's payload). Also I hate the infected rotation, its overally predicitable. You can never have the joy of having mulitple hunters in l4d2 but instead you get a crappy jockey who is more annoying than dangerous. Oh well overall great game and I do hope they make a third one you communists nerds who hate captilism! Expand
  5. GuntherB
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Its still a little buggy on most computers and there are issues with non-gaming laptops, even with sufficient specs. But overall, its a very great game to come from a formerly great game.
  6. JG
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Controls get some taking used to, but memorable characters (especially Ellis) and plenty of fun against hordes of Infected make this game great. After 5 minutes of the Demo I was begging for more. Give me a Katana and an Assault Rifle and I will be laughing like a maniac as heads and limbs go rolling.
  7. DavidL
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This game is very enjoyable to play and rewarding in many ways. It has a much higher level of game mechanics than most shooters out there.
  8. Eltiarp
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    The game ot's a lot of fun, the Co-op it's sweet! the action it's unlimited, the fun it's on every corner and the improvemets makes this game the greatest co-op zombie shooter next to Killing floor
  9. BugsBunny
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    First of all, my english is not best. Second, I spent 240 hours plaing Left 4 Dead 2 and it's still fun. I don't know any other game that can be fun after so long playtime. I think Valve did great job and if you don't like it you don't have to buy it.
  10. simPC
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, Like DC-1 you can jump the second floor of the hotel, and thus cheat the infected from being able to reach you. But... that's minor. And I'm sure in Competitive (cal/cevo) play it's not allowed. And most casual gamers don't use the glitch, if they even know about it. Actually it seems like the Competitive teams are the one who use it, go figure. Anyway... this is obviously not an expansion, and in no way, shape, or form should of been a DLC. This should of definitely been a sequel. Rushed? Maybe... High Quality, Action Packed, Suspenseful, Fun, Co-Op Survival? ABSOLUTELY. Hands down, BEST ZOMBIE GAME TOO DATE. The original was already amazing, but this game definitely expanded the gameplay, and added a nice new story to it. Originally I was put off, thinking this might be a buggy piece of DLC trash with some Lipstick on it, But that is definitely not the case. You people crying need to find a girlfriend... Or get a job so you can earn some money to buy this game and stop being so jealous. And that's another thing... it's not like Valve is out to get your money, they make a quality game, and market it, If you don't want to buy it, DON'T. Simple as that, they aren't holding you up, they're selling a product that they worked hard on. And... all you people talking about Lazy Coding/Programming... I do it for a living, and all work done on this game is of High Quality. Sure sometimes you take shortcuts, but the new weapons and new uncommon common were done beautifully and in no-way did I feel like i was wielding the same weapon with a different skin, or fighting the same zombie with a different outfit. Bottom Line, Great game, WORTH EVERY PENNY Expand
  11. NathanJ.
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called an "expansion." Also, for you "tactical" "far superior" KF players. I play both. Comparing the two is like comparing TF2 to Counterstrike. Yes, they are both zombie survival shooters, but trust me in saying that they are different games with different playstyles. You have no business rating another game lower based on the fact that your game of choice has a different playstyle. I would buy KILLING FLOOR 2 if I wanted to play KILLING FLOOR 2! For all those who claim that there is "less story" in L4D2, what are they smoking. There is definitely more personality within the characters, and the campaigns actually coherently form a solid story. Great graphics, fun gameplay, and the fact that I can run it at 50 FPS on a four year old mid-range computer make this a classic for me. Killing Floor players, hope you have fun in your "infinately varied" same map cycle only one game type game. I will be joining you once I get tired of L4D2... oh wait, Bad company 2 will be out by then. Expand
  12. GabrielD
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Well, unlike the haters, im gonna put this from another point o view, I DO regret buying L4D1, why?, it's not like L4D2 is some kind of DLC L4D1 should have had, in fact, it feels like I've been ripped when I bought L4D1, because it was, and still is, a simple beta game with so many bugs and lack of content, yet you still had to pay full price for it, lack of servers in the Well, unlike the haters, im gonna put this from another point o view, I DO regret buying L4D1, why?, it's not like L4D2 is some kind of DLC L4D1 should have had, in fact, it feels like I've been ripped when I bought L4D1, because it was, and still is, a simple beta game with so many bugs and lack of content, yet you still had to pay full price for it, lack of servers in the beggining etc etc etc, yet I was a hardcore player of it. Now, L4D2 it's like L4D1 polished to perfection, seriously, awesome game, and gotta love realism mode, it truly makes your games remarkable, and a must have. Expand
  13. christianc
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not into zombie apocolipses thats nice. If you don't like the sequel STOP BITCHING ABOUT IT. Alright? Expand
  14. AllanH
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Guys. You do not find a better game. Left 4 Dead 2 is the funniest, most challenge(on expert), etc. It's the best game ever.. Run through a campaign making team-work is good. Read the other good ones.. Well, it's just a MUST BUY!
  15. FranciscoJ.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Para mí este juego es una auténtica pasada, grandes características que lo combierten en uno de los mejores lanzamientos del año. Sin duda alguna la forma más divertida de matar zombis sin sufrir malas consecuencias! Muy manejable y facil de jugar además de un gran modo online!
  16. BenM.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Pretty good game. Strong emphasis on teamwork when playing infected or survivors. Kind of annoying when you get stuck with bad teammates in online play, but thats not the games fault. Only problem is it can be hard to get a survival or scavenge games and even with above the min cpu spec requirements when theres a horde on you it slows. Still they are just minor problems which aren't Pretty good game. Strong emphasis on teamwork when playing infected or survivors. Kind of annoying when you get stuck with bad teammates in online play, but thats not the games fault. Only problem is it can be hard to get a survival or scavenge games and even with above the min cpu spec requirements when theres a horde on you it slows. Still they are just minor problems which aren't really the developers fault. Overall great multiplayer game, even better to LAN with friends if you have some... Its worth a buy, it's a riot. Would buy this over MW2 on the basis on multiplayer. To point out something stupid said on a previous comment by "Onslaught" he is crying about not have a radar? dude seriously, It's a zombie apocalypse.. do you just find radars lying around the streets which will locate zombies? Didn't think so.. and also he cries about friendly fire scaling up as the difficulty increases, then later on says that friendly fire is one of the games good points? WTF I wish parents would stop letting their 12 yr old kids use make use of interwebs... its annoying. Expand
  17. SacroiD
    Feb 6, 2010
    8
    L4D2 adds a lot ofun! There are some bugs that maybe can be pretty annoying. But the addition of new weapons (also melee weapons), new characters, some more special zombies adds a lot of fun to the game compared to the first L4D. The game is linear, but you wont notice that a lot while you are playing because of the zombie hordes you're killing and the expirience it's amazing! L4D2 adds a lot ofun! There are some bugs that maybe can be pretty annoying. But the addition of new weapons (also melee weapons), new characters, some more special zombies adds a lot of fun to the game compared to the first L4D. The game is linear, but you wont notice that a lot while you are playing because of the zombie hordes you're killing and the expirience it's amazing! The Multiplayer has improved (not a lot), you can control the Charger (new special zombie) wich is very fun to control! You can still control the Boomer in the Versus mode, wich I find useless, but this game deserves an 8/10 ! Expand
  18. PR3D470R
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    I gave it this score because of the tactics and teamwork that is engrained into this FPS. As this is a sequel I'll just discuss the things that separate this from the original. I agree with those that are annoyed at the price of the game, it doesn't seem to detract too far from the original in terms of graphics and 'the feel' of it. However I never bought the original I gave it this score because of the tactics and teamwork that is engrained into this FPS. As this is a sequel I'll just discuss the things that separate this from the original. I agree with those that are annoyed at the price of the game, it doesn't seem to detract too far from the original in terms of graphics and 'the feel' of it. However I never bought the original so it doesnt annoy me a lot. :P Also 2 those that are disappointed that it is not like the original, i consider it better for this reason. The Reason: The 'Versus' ('VS') gametype has been amped up considerably. The introduction of new SI presents more threats to the survivors, that make no place on the map safe. Eg; The introduction of the spitter eliminates corner camping and the charger also makes alleyways EXTREMELY dangerous for combined Special Infected ('SI') attacks. A constantly wary and skilful team is needed to meet these challenges. It seems to me that VALVE really listened to the competitive VS community from the original, and I commend them for that. Digressing a little, I think the 'VS' experience could have been made much more challenging for the survivors, by putting down less medpacks, and to the side of the beaten path, forcing them to divert from the 'railway tracks' from point A to point B. Plus there needs to be a reduction in the amount of ammo in the weapons. The game does not award accuracy, as ammo and weapon stockpiles are everywhere, and sheer 'spraying' from automatic weapons is not punished. It is harder to use the infected but this is only a matter of concern for mostly competitive and serious players. If there is any reason to be longing for the old game it would be minor things such as the greater chemistry and personalities of the survivors, certain weapons and 'simpler' VS experience. Personally I love being able to casually get online with a bunch of friends, in a game that promotes conversation, shoot zombies and watch the visually appealing decapitations/blood-squirts. On a final note if you enjoy the artistry of competitive play l4d2 will not disappoint (but you have to be a team player. Expand
  19. Nimorrax
    Apr 1, 2010
    9
    I like it, I've not had the chance to play the first one yet but it really wants me to get the first one to experience what it was like before. This one taught me how to stay with my party, unless I really want to get pounced or ridden to death. The three new Special Infected are pretty good, the only problem I have though is that when a Jockey catches a PLAYER, the bots have trouble I like it, I've not had the chance to play the first one yet but it really wants me to get the first one to experience what it was like before. This one taught me how to stay with my party, unless I really want to get pounced or ridden to death. The three new Special Infected are pretty good, the only problem I have though is that when a Jockey catches a PLAYER, the bots have trouble getting it off. The Charger also tells me either rush narrow hallways or stay on one side or the other. The Spitter quickly gets me moving when she spits, luckily she's an easy kill. The "Uncommon" Common Infected are also great. Fireproof, Horde Leading, Vision-Impairing, Immunity to Pipe Bombs and Bulletproof. All unique to their own campaigns, what more can I ask for other than a third game with even more exciting campaigns and zombie types? Expand
  20. JeffD.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It bring it back harder, stronger, more brutal and bloodthirsty than ever. There is not a single game on the market that gets people talking, yelling, sweating and gripping there controllers quite like this. Every aspect of the game has just the right balance of tactics, run and gun, and all around bad-assery that can only be found in a game made by Valve. The new weapons, infected, uncommons, grenades, maps, locations, crescendos, and finales all flow seamlessly into the thriving and very much alive world of Left 4 Dead. The entire experience feels like a movie. So my advice? Saddle up, get yourself a copy, and prepare to white knuckle your way through the ride of your lifetime. Expand
  21. BoTl1ke
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    The game feels much more polished and complete than the original, although its the same engine, they've really added more than expected. Main things i enjoy about the new game is that the versus gameplay is much more dynamic as opposed to "zombies are coming, everyone take autoshotguns and sit in a corner til they're gone". Same goes for infected, the variety of infected can The game feels much more polished and complete than the original, although its the same engine, they've really added more than expected. Main things i enjoy about the new game is that the versus gameplay is much more dynamic as opposed to "zombies are coming, everyone take autoshotguns and sit in a corner til they're gone". Same goes for infected, the variety of infected can produce interesting results with syncronised attacks with the new and old specials alike; eg. hunter+ spitter = hunter rape with added acid damage. or charger+ jockey = charger takes one half way across the street while jockey hops on one and takes him for a ride in the other direction causing the remaining 2 to either split up or go for the nearest survivor either way making infected much more effective and causing havoc. 9/10 mainly because i miss the old survivors :( Would be nice if they did a DLC involving the old survivors but hey i'd be asking for too much. Expand
  22. ThomasB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was worth every penny and more. The new game adds much new balance with expert and realsim being the next part of that. Unlike L4D's expert - L4D2's really takes some skill with the new SI on the side. Realisim adds a whole new part to the game. It takes part most the in the campgain " Hard Rain " as you can get lost easily, taking part in the sugar mill level most. This time valve made the story more clear - this takes part most in dead center - for example if you use the " look " command on a player the character calls them by things such as " miss " to rochelee and " Mr gambling man " to nick. Untill the elevator scene where they all learn each others names - and then start to call each other by their real names. Over all this deserves much more credit then it gets, and this game was only made in a year. Great game - a must buy. Expand
  23. DanielR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    L4D was good but i hated the number of weapons u can get and the number of infected and L4D2 is like a BIG improvement better graphics new infected, And i really love the new weapons, like melee and my personal favourite Grenade launcher
  24. LiboW
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Nothing is perfect. Having said that, Left 4 Dead 2 challenges conventional team-based FPS with new special infected. Knowing that valve will continuously update and balance the game, Left 4 Dead 2 is a worthy investment.
  25. IanG
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    I don't see why people are giving 0 when they say that this is more of the same, to me it sounds like they hated L4D1 in first place to give a 0. Anyway, L4D2 is fun, the new characters may seem to be a little dull compared to the first game, but we can live with it, the new story line is also ok nothing huge, it is not a whole new game, it is not like you bought a whole entire new I don't see why people are giving 0 when they say that this is more of the same, to me it sounds like they hated L4D1 in first place to give a 0. Anyway, L4D2 is fun, the new characters may seem to be a little dull compared to the first game, but we can live with it, the new story line is also ok nothing huge, it is not a whole new game, it is not like you bought a whole entire new game, it is a reshaped version of the first one, which is great, I would def recommend this game to anyone who liked the L2D1 gameplayer, this is fun to play, you will have good time with friends, scavange mode is a big plus, and honestly there is nothing like choppin' zombies head off with a chainsaw, it is a great game, if you were a big fan of L4D1, L4D2 will knock your socks off! Expand
  26. SilasD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Not just an expansion, a completely new experience! With the addition of more weapons that now include melee weapons, new characters to love, and of course, new gameplay modes: L4D2 is well worth it's price. Valve knows how to make a great online mutliplayer experience. I cannot stop playing this game!
  27. KM
    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    Overall a good game. The first one seemed a bit more polished and to be honest I miss the grainy darkness of it compared to the daytime in New Orleans on this one. A few things I dislike: Grenade launchers. I also feel like they messed up Versus. Hunters don't seem to work properly. Way too many health kits spawn. Defib units should be left out of the versus games (they were Overall a good game. The first one seemed a bit more polished and to be honest I miss the grainy darkness of it compared to the daytime in New Orleans on this one. A few things I dislike: Grenade launchers. I also feel like they messed up Versus. Hunters don't seem to work properly. Way too many health kits spawn. Defib units should be left out of the versus games (they were obviously added for realism mode anyways). Melee weapons seem overpowered at times as there doesn't deem to be any difference between them. They messed up tanks turning them rather weak, i have a hard time with a tank dying to being whapped with a frying pan. The specials spawn too often making it feel more like a mutant instead of a zombie game. Don't get me wrong though, the game is good. I do like the addition of melee weapons though it feels like they need to be adjusted some. I love scavenger, which i find to be more fun than regular versus. The new weapons are fun and I like the fact that there's some variety in the new finales instead of just zombie wave, tank, zombie wave, run. Still, the game could use some work. Maybe they'll get it right next November in L4D3. (haha) Expand
  28. HarryR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Played first part already, and was not satisfied when i heared of a full-priced release by valve. but now i must admit, that it is one of the best games i have ever played, considered the fun you have with a couple of friends. Would it be a single player game, it would get some 6 or 7 points for the scenario. but fun only starts with friends coming along.
  29. GuillaumeL.
    Feb 21, 2010
    10
    This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The difficulty level of the Expert Realism mode is simply fantastic, being a challenge every time you play it, not matter how good you are... and if it's became boring to you, please friend me, I need you haha. Expand
  30. Justblazed
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    The only reason these kids are giving it a bad review is cuz this game isnt noob friendly. these are the kids that join the servers run away from the team get pounced by a hunter and die. This is what a true fps is suppose to be like. Its all about teamwork and fast reaction time. If you gave it a 1-7 its because you suck at this game no question about it. Go play a game that is easy like COD.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.