User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2644 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    4/5 (Good) Game is good, multiplayer is fun. You want to have fun? Add Zombies. To anything. It works. BUT, the "kinda scripted" nature of the game makes you remember that you are in front of your PC, probably not as dressed up as you should, playing a GAME (and that you are not REALLY a zombie apocalypse hero... sadly.)

    Try it, you will have fun.
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    3
    i liked the game cuz its almost excactly the same as the first 1. THe thing that i am very disapointed is that they change the charecters because Zoey is my favorite. And i basically sank when i cant see my favorite charcter when i started playing.... :'(
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    A direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the newA direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the new Infected additions but I always found this mode really rage inducing because of the level's pickup randomization. New multiplayer modes are creative and there are mutators but the base gameplay has been done before and I didn't feel compelled to get into them. There's pretty much no reason to buy the original now that this is out especially when you consider they ported the original campaign to the sequel. Once again, the online community is horrible and if you want to play this you will want a group of friends. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time, for valve it is my favorite. The game has many more and new levels, allowing you to fight your way through the horde with new items, weapons and such. The game is perfect for co-op, survival, versus and scavenge (including realism). The only real downside to this masterpiece is the fact that the AI is horrible, always takes the wrong weapons and wastesOne of my favorite games of all time, for valve it is my favorite. The game has many more and new levels, allowing you to fight your way through the horde with new items, weapons and such. The game is perfect for co-op, survival, versus and scavenge (including realism). The only real downside to this masterpiece is the fact that the AI is horrible, always takes the wrong weapons and wastes health packs. The AI also never goes into the vantage points of the boss fights, and your almost always the only one to make it out. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Amazing! L4D2 is simply a lot of fun to play. So if one loves FPS, zombies, and online gameplay, one will simply adore this game. That said this is not a game to be taken too seriously. Just set back, relax, kill hordes of zombies and have lots fun doing so.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    This game is so fun, but it's ruined with all the glitches, the stupid bots, the griefers, the hackers and many more. Versus is the only amusing gamemode, yet is barely playable. Hunters will pass through enemies while pouncing, Smokers take forever to get hold of a survivor, giving them enough time to pass a corner to avoid getting caught, Boomers can easily miss their target, Jockeys canThis game is so fun, but it's ruined with all the glitches, the stupid bots, the griefers, the hackers and many more. Versus is the only amusing gamemode, yet is barely playable. Hunters will pass through enemies while pouncing, Smokers take forever to get hold of a survivor, giving them enough time to pass a corner to avoid getting caught, Boomers can easily miss their target, Jockeys can barely hit anything because of how atrocious the hitboxes are, the spit from Spitters takes a while before it actually does a few damage to the survivors (about 10 hits for 5 damage) and the Chargers have to be 100% accurate to hit someone. Now on to the bots. The survivor bots will take a long time before reaching you if you are caught by an infected. They can't throw grenades. They can't save you if you are in certain places. They will teleport from one side of the map to the other. Now, the infected bots. They take forever to attack, even in front of the survivors. They get stuck easily, and unlike survivor bots, they can't teleport away if stuck. Basically, a team of experienced players can lose against a team of children. So in the end, this game is incredibly broken, but it can be enjoyed if you have a few friends. Other than that, play a different game. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    3
    Terrible, identical to Left for Dead with some new weapons and characters. I got so board i couldn't even make it through the entire storyline, which is about 5 hours. There is really nothing good I can say about this game, do not buy this.
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best zombie games i have ever played, the engine is amazing, the gameplay is engaging and the overall variety of this game gives it an amazing replay value. This replay value has been boosted by valve releasing addon content through steam. The game is well worth the money now.
  9. May 18, 2013
    7
    Best played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bitBest played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bit boring as your completing your challenge to survive. There is no real story to this other than to survive and get to checkpoint to checkpoint. Though playing with friends is a lot of fun as you work together and install mods that enhance your experience makes the game even better. This may not be a good game for everyone but, it's worth the try. Expand
  10. AWG
    Jun 17, 2013
    9
    This game is almost perfect. Maps are really well-done and compelling, missions are fair and graphics are well defined. I don't like new characters very much (Nick is the only good one, and I'd pay to watch him fight alongside Zoey, Francis and Bill) but the fact that Left 4 Dead 2 includes all the campaigns and levels from the first game makes it just awesome. I really can't find a flaw.This game is almost perfect. Maps are really well-done and compelling, missions are fair and graphics are well defined. I don't like new characters very much (Nick is the only good one, and I'd pay to watch him fight alongside Zoey, Francis and Bill) but the fact that Left 4 Dead 2 includes all the campaigns and levels from the first game makes it just awesome. I really can't find a flaw. 9 out of 10. Expand
  11. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    It is a perfect game for just to have fun. With it's almost no storyline and only a lot of guns, against a lot of zombies with 4 of your friends makes this game a must play.
  12. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    this is one of the most amazing zombie games ever.gameplay is fun,multiplayer is cool,graphics are very good for an 2009 game.the blood is sick.there is nothing wrong with this game.its the perfect sequel to a game that i think is average(left 4 dead 1).buy this and you wont regret it.
  13. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    This game is great!It doesn't really have a story,mostly just short campaigns.The gameplay is great,the levels are interesting and is a great multiplayer game to play with friends!
  14. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    j'aime beaucoup ce jeu le contenu est plus variées ont y retrouve les épisodes de son opus précédent la qualité graphique est tous aussi mieux un bon jeu auquel les fans de zombies ne risqueront pas de se lassés
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    2
    In all fairness, the game is almost 4 years old at the time of this review and things like the graphics are somewhat forgivable, however even the for the period, they are a little light. The AI is tremendously stupid and the UI is nonexistent. I was really hoping for something more than a simple and random shooter, spraying away at zombie body parts. At first the spray and pray isIn all fairness, the game is almost 4 years old at the time of this review and things like the graphics are somewhat forgivable, however even the for the period, they are a little light. The AI is tremendously stupid and the UI is nonexistent. I was really hoping for something more than a simple and random shooter, spraying away at zombie body parts. At first the spray and pray is entertain however quickly looses its luster. The other players can get extremely annoying, especially if they leave their mic open. The direction and mission focus of the game is completely mind boggling at first and you literally have no idea in the world as to where to go or the point of your actions. The storyline pretty much starts and stops with the introduction/advertisement cinematic. Expand
  16. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Before I start, I would just like to say this is not a bad game, however it is an incredibly overrated game. I have played this game extensively- especially with friends. Despite this it is not deserving of a 8 or even 7 out of 10.
    First off; all the zombies feel like cardboard, all weapons rip them to pieces with little or no effort, there is little difference from the first Left 4 dead,
    Before I start, I would just like to say this is not a bad game, however it is an incredibly overrated game. I have played this game extensively- especially with friends. Despite this it is not deserving of a 8 or even 7 out of 10.
    First off; all the zombies feel like cardboard, all weapons rip them to pieces with little or no effort, there is little difference from the first Left 4 dead, the physics doesn't quite feel right- as if the earth's gravitational field strength has decreased since the zombie outbreak. This game would never be good without friends, no seriously lone wolves barely touch the game.
    The main reason distinguishing this from a 5/10 is the fact that it has an extensive modding scene- the only thing that keeps the game going...
    Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    7.5/10.
    It's a fun game, not too special.
    Story isn't interesting, and the online is dull after just a few game sessions.
    Graphics are quite nice, the variety of zombies is quite fun, weaponry is nice as well.
    The game is mostly fun to play with a few friends.
    Not a special game, but it is kind of a defining point in zombie gaming.
  18. Dec 28, 2013
    2
    I got this for free with the Steam christmas giveaway, but I didn't enjoy it at all for several reasons:

    * Low violence version. They make a game about zombie slaughtering and then self-censor it for certain countries. Why? Not that violence is the only thing that matters in a game, but it's weird as hell when the things you shoot just disappear. * Weapons can't be zoomed. Shooting
    I got this for free with the Steam christmas giveaway, but I didn't enjoy it at all for several reasons:

    * Low violence version. They make a game about zombie slaughtering and then self-censor it for certain countries. Why? Not that violence is the only thing that matters in a game, but it's weird as hell when the things you shoot just disappear.
    * Weapons can't be zoomed. Shooting just doesn't feel right and surprisingly that's one of the most important aspects of a first person shooter.
    * No character advancement. You run through the levels and there are the same weapons everywhere. Killing Floor, where you can get better equipment the more zombies you kill, does it much better. You also can't customize your character's look.
    * Zombies are too fast. Even for fast zombies, these zombies are a little too fast.

    Get Killing Floor instead, it's much better.
    Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    The most repetitive game of all time. Every level feels the same, every time you play the same things happen, just with different people and weapons. There's no story to it so the campaign just drags on endlessly with no motivation at all.

    I seriously don't get why all my friend's want to play this all the time. *sigh*
  20. Apr 6, 2014
    3
    a very fun multiplayer game. But that's it. its a multiplayer game.

    That means that you will enjoy it with friends, until everybody finds a new or better game, so little to no-re-playability.
  21. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    One of the most fun games I ever had the enjoyment to play, released just a year or so after the prequel as well. After very extensive playing however (2000+ hours), the game starts to lose It's charm sharply thanks to lacking polish. The network can be VERY sketchy (especially If you try to melee pouncing hunters, etc) and most of the community these days are all premade ultra tryhardsOne of the most fun games I ever had the enjoyment to play, released just a year or so after the prequel as well. After very extensive playing however (2000+ hours), the game starts to lose It's charm sharply thanks to lacking polish. The network can be VERY sketchy (especially If you try to melee pouncing hunters, etc) and most of the community these days are all premade ultra tryhards searching for public lobbies to bully. Expand
  22. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    It's an amazing game, i don't know why people are hating this game.
    It's the best co-op zombie game to play with your friends.
    It's easily the money worth
  23. Jan 27, 2015
    1
    Completely ordinary over hyped kid shooter it lacks form and function and hands you crayons this is a Kiddy game with blood wait that is censored in my region because it was seen by the censorship bureau and even those old farts clicked and thought well little kids will like it so no blood..........

    worst buy
  24. Feb 7, 2015
    0
    I thought it would be fun, and I even played it with a few friends for a time. I was wrong. So repetitive and boring, I can't believe how high the ratings are for this. Gameplay is TERRIBLE; I hate the shooting modes and how poorly the guns shoot. I also hate the graphics, so unfortunately I have to give it a 0.
  25. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: If you don't have this game already, then allow me to smack you upside the head for not buying one of the greatest cooperative games ever made. As I can personally attest, there is no faster way to make friends then to survive a zombie apocalypse together. It's probably a good way to meet chicks, besides. As per their style, Valve delivers a teasing emergent narrative that2/13/2012: If you don't have this game already, then allow me to smack you upside the head for not buying one of the greatest cooperative games ever made. As I can personally attest, there is no faster way to make friends then to survive a zombie apocalypse together. It's probably a good way to meet chicks, besides. As per their style, Valve delivers a teasing emergent narrative that encourages the players to tell their own story, while putting the tools in their hands to seriously ♥♥♥♥ up whatever is standing between them and their goal. When I first played L4D2, coming off of the first game, I was immediately kicked in the ♥♥♥ for thinking it was going to be the same game. The new special infected, more aggressive common infected, gauntlet crescendo events and other elements meant that this game was a whole hell of a lot harder. And in the end, it ending up being better, too. Now we've got new (and old) campaigns, new gametypes, and new stories to tell every time you play. Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2016
    10
    Awesome game really liked this game. mostly the witch moan in this game is very scary and tank is very strong. the players are also great . i really enjoyed this game.
  27. AndreiA.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Very well made, a ton of fun with anyone who i played with, friend or not (mostly not). The game is actually designed to get players to help each other and fight along side. For example if X is badly injured and you have a medikit, the game will actually hint you to heal the x player, and that is promoting team play, not only letting you to decide who deserves the medikit. Bravo VALVE. I Very well made, a ton of fun with anyone who i played with, friend or not (mostly not). The game is actually designed to get players to help each other and fight along side. For example if X is badly injured and you have a medikit, the game will actually hint you to heal the x player, and that is promoting team play, not only letting you to decide who deserves the medikit. Bravo VALVE. I would blind-foldedly choose this to be Game OF THE Year over Modern Warfare 2, having played them both. Expand
  28. DanP
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Improves in every way over the first game. More campaigns, more weapons, the addition of melee weapons, tons of new Special Infected, addition of uncommon infected, new multiplayer and co-op modes. All in all, a tremendous improvement over one of the best games out there. In essence, it retains the core of what made Left 4 Dead so excellent and addictive and multiplies that. Instead of Improves in every way over the first game. More campaigns, more weapons, the addition of melee weapons, tons of new Special Infected, addition of uncommon infected, new multiplayer and co-op modes. All in all, a tremendous improvement over one of the best games out there. In essence, it retains the core of what made Left 4 Dead so excellent and addictive and multiplies that. Instead of every "Panic Event" devolving into corner or closet camping, many of the new panic events force the team to keep on the go to end the waves of zombies! Brilliant level designs. Everything about the game is top-notch and exactly what we'd expect from Valve. 10/10, without question. Too bad no higher score can be given. Expand
  29. mikew
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    I bought this game and played it for 6 hours straight. This game is MUCH better than l4d1. I thought l4d1 was great, btw. The graphics have gotten distinctly better. The physics react more realistically. Now when you shoot a zombie in the back, flesh will explode from the area you just shot revealing dripping flesh and bones. The map layouts are great. The are more multiplayer friendly I bought this game and played it for 6 hours straight. This game is MUCH better than l4d1. I thought l4d1 was great, btw. The graphics have gotten distinctly better. The physics react more realistically. Now when you shoot a zombie in the back, flesh will explode from the area you just shot revealing dripping flesh and bones. The map layouts are great. The are more multiplayer friendly than l4d1 maps. There are more areas and ways to ambush the survivors in multiplayer, plus more special infected to play with. The game doesn't seem like a rehash or something that was thrown together. It feels very polished and the levels are tremendous. For instance, in the first stage's finale, survivors must work together to grab 13 cannisters of fuel to start a car. They are all spread out and the survivors must work together to grab all fuel tanks and fill the car. The entire time 100's of zombies are coming at you. Me and my friends failed the first 4 times on normal lol. The AI is better too. Witches can climb, Tanks can open safehouse doors and the special infected coordinate their attacks so well you'd think you were playing an upper level clan. I am absolutely shocked at how great this game is. Valve has done it again! Expand
  30. TedF-D
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Anyone who is concerned that L4D2 is simply a mod of L4D with no major content which couldn't have been DLC, need not worry. L4D2 stands tall on it's own two feet and feels like the sequel we all wanted it to be. Valve clearly took on board all the concerns about it being too similar to it's predecesor and ensured it was it's own game. In truth L4D2 makes the origional Anyone who is concerned that L4D2 is simply a mod of L4D with no major content which couldn't have been DLC, need not worry. L4D2 stands tall on it's own two feet and feels like the sequel we all wanted it to be. Valve clearly took on board all the concerns about it being too similar to it's predecesor and ensured it was it's own game. In truth L4D2 makes the origional feel like a beta or even alpha test, the three new special infected fit into the roles beautifully and add a whole new dimension to versus. The one major complaint from many in the world of L4D was the corner or closet camping. They have addressed this big time. 2 of the 3 new infected specialise in breaking up a crowd. The events which used to involve starting a switch and waiting in a corner are gone, mostly. Now almost every event requires the team to move on to another switch or to go back and forth collecting items to end the event. The weapons are solid and all have their role, people will have a favourite. Melee weapons can be used instead of a pistol, which range from a Freeman style crowbar, to a "ninja" Katana. the new item system means people have to choose wisely between a defib unit (brings people back from dead) OR health OR special ammo packs to deploy for the team. New "thrown" weapon, Boomer Bile, works a charm and causes the infected to maul all tagged targets or just group up in a mass brawl. The Survivors feel just as special as the first four, and people again will have a favourite character. (Rochelle has a GREAT arse too) All in all, if you enjoyed the first one but hated the campy campy play style then seriously grab this game asap. I can't give it a 10 as it isn't PERFECT, there are glitches to be fixed and the special infected feel a little too powerful atm, But like the first game I fully expect valve will continue to support the fans in bringing out decent patches. But as far as comparing it to L4D and worrying if it's just the same game with a mod, don't worry. Thanks Valve for another game to keep me occupied for hours on end. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.