User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2667 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FranciscoF
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    this is it, the game that has captured the feel of a vintage horror movie, the decay of the journey that has to be made in order to survive, the exhausting yet rewarding final scene(including some funny moments), the commentaries between survivors and their humorous grasp of whats left of the reality once known... just superb in most aspects, excelling in strategic and stressful areas this is it, the game that has captured the feel of a vintage horror movie, the decay of the journey that has to be made in order to survive, the exhausting yet rewarding final scene(including some funny moments), the commentaries between survivors and their humorous grasp of whats left of the reality once known... just superb in most aspects, excelling in strategic and stressful areas where you're forced into scenes of frantic displays of zombie bursts. playing with others is a must, most of the time you wish you could control the AI with commands just to find yourself getting chocked to death by a zombie and your fellow team members doing nothing to save you, the game actually forces you to play with friends, which is not that bad considering the great necessity of getting by many areas where a good plan is gold. graphically also leaves you with a very happy feeling just seeing pieces of body fly at your every attack, blood splatter in your eyes and machete, just cant be topped. but if theres a spot that left me with a bitter taste was the multi-player, overall excellent game-play modes and very rewarding achievements, but, for some reason they never included the capacity for players who create a match to state their level in quality, which for most is a must since many experienced players just dismiss new ones as they are not as good as them, and there is no point in playing as a newbie against a group of veterans that will take advantage of you and never give you the chance of making an improvement with your infected skills. all in all the best game i have ever played. Expand
  2. AdamR
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    L4D2 is essentially everything that you were hoping for in L4D1. Now, I loved L4D1, don't get me wrong. But L4D2 addresses just about everything that people would pick at, and get the feeling that it could be better if they just changed a thing or two. The weapon selection no longer feels anemic, and melee (As well as ammo running out more readily, but maybe that's just me) adds L4D2 is essentially everything that you were hoping for in L4D1. Now, I loved L4D1, don't get me wrong. But L4D2 addresses just about everything that people would pick at, and get the feeling that it could be better if they just changed a thing or two. The weapon selection no longer feels anemic, and melee (As well as ammo running out more readily, but maybe that's just me) adds another layer of strategy. Almost double the number of playable infected, means the mechanics jumps from being simple to being just tightly well designed, and uncommon common add an even greater variety, while new items builds on subtleties within strategies without muddling the core game play. Valve has clearly gotten far more comfortable with experimenting with new sorts of gameplay, especially with the crescendo events, and it has paid off in spades. The hurricane weather effect is particularly memorable. Also, 5 campaigns, and a variety of other game modes ensures that getting board with doing the same thing will become a thing of the past. There are only 2 weaknesses: The first is that the characters, with the exception of Ellis, are no where near as memorable or interesting as the original team. The second is that the Source engine starts to show its age rather badly when brought into the daylight. It's certainly acceptable, but it no longer has anywhere near the same wow factor as it did back in 2004. Overall, though I can't ever give a proper 10, I feel that L4D2 deserves a sizable decimal after the 9. Boycotters were clearly wrong, as great care has been taken to transform this into an entirely new and exciting game, far above and beyond the realm of a paid DLC. If you even somewhat enjoyed the first, then the second will not disappoint. Expand
  3. BoTl1ke
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    The game feels much more polished and complete than the original, although its the same engine, they've really added more than expected. Main things i enjoy about the new game is that the versus gameplay is much more dynamic as opposed to "zombies are coming, everyone take autoshotguns and sit in a corner til they're gone". Same goes for infected, the variety of infected can The game feels much more polished and complete than the original, although its the same engine, they've really added more than expected. Main things i enjoy about the new game is that the versus gameplay is much more dynamic as opposed to "zombies are coming, everyone take autoshotguns and sit in a corner til they're gone". Same goes for infected, the variety of infected can produce interesting results with syncronised attacks with the new and old specials alike; eg. hunter+ spitter = hunter rape with added acid damage. or charger+ jockey = charger takes one half way across the street while jockey hops on one and takes him for a ride in the other direction causing the remaining 2 to either split up or go for the nearest survivor either way making infected much more effective and causing havoc. 9/10 mainly because i miss the old survivors :( Would be nice if they did a DLC involving the old survivors but hey i'd be asking for too much. Expand
  4. Louis
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I was a little weary about L4D2, but when I first played it, all the feelings went away. I noticed that the great people at Valve put a lot of effort to make every campaign completely unique. For example, in Hard Rain, a great rainstorm comes while you are returning to the ship, and affects gameplay greatly. In The Parish and Swamp Fever Campaigns, you can listen to 5 different songs on I was a little weary about L4D2, but when I first played it, all the feelings went away. I noticed that the great people at Valve put a lot of effort to make every campaign completely unique. For example, in Hard Rain, a great rainstorm comes while you are returning to the ship, and affects gameplay greatly. In The Parish and Swamp Fever Campaigns, you can listen to 5 different songs on the jukebox, which are all awesome( Portal: Still Alive :D). In the Dead Carnival Campaign, there are arcade games you can play, and you have the chance to save a gnome from the horrors of the zombie apocalypse. The settings are beautifully rendered as well. As you also know, there are 3 new infected, which all help counter camping. New Panic Events require you to perform tasks such as running a roller coaster, or running coke for a gunshop owner, which also counter camping, and add a new twist to the game. They add many new primary weapons to the game and also melee weapons. Adrenaline, revive kits and boomer bile are some other new equipment in the game. They also add Scavenger mode, in which you frantically try to gather gas cans. Unfortunately though, I find that Scavenger mode is greatly unfair, as one team usually wins 3 times in a row. The losers have to go first, and the winners have to try to beat them. Easy call, who do you think is going to win? The characters are also a little bit more dull, and while I do like them, they don't stand out as much as the original L4D characters.(PILLZ HERE) Also, the Survivor AI Sucks, so don't think about trying single player unless you are good at killing smokers. Overall, I give the game a 9m because while this is everything Valve promised, there is just a little more that can be done. Expand
  5. DonovanN
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    This game is a great improvement over the original Left 4 Dead. The only aspect to the game that is rather annoying is that in Versus mode, the Infected wins probably >70% of the time. You have to be AMAZING at the game to beat four player-controlled infected.
  6. KieranP
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    I only just bought the game today but i find its incredible.Its more than an expansion mainly because its a complete revolution. Completely new characters who are acted perfectly and are easy to connect with, and the inspired AI Director which I think should now be implemented into all future games. The new modes are entertaing and absorbing, plus the old ones are a good as ever. Melee I only just bought the game today but i find its incredible.Its more than an expansion mainly because its a complete revolution. Completely new characters who are acted perfectly and are easy to connect with, and the inspired AI Director which I think should now be implemented into all future games. The new modes are entertaing and absorbing, plus the old ones are a good as ever. Melee weapons are awesome but i think they could have some more variety other than constantly hitting the head clean off your oponent. Also I think defib are a bit of a cheat since you can bring people back on the spot instead of going on your own to find them, ehich I found more challenging. But despite these little quirks, the overall game is excellent and on a par with, if not surpassing, the original. Expand
  7. DougW
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    As a multiplayer game, this is fantastic. Every aspect of this game is excellent, the graphics, the level design, the AI Director and the humour are notable for their quality. In particular the combination of the atmospheric design and the waves and waves of insane zombie death work together beautifully. Overall the only let downs are the number of levels and the NPC AI. An expansion is As a multiplayer game, this is fantastic. Every aspect of this game is excellent, the graphics, the level design, the AI Director and the humour are notable for their quality. In particular the combination of the atmospheric design and the waves and waves of insane zombie death work together beautifully. Overall the only let downs are the number of levels and the NPC AI. An expansion is in the works, adding more levels, and the levels currently available will keep you busy for a while. The NPC AI means the computer players are about as useful as humans, but they're quite different - they are basically aimbots, but they never follow more complex strategies and in some places are a virtual liability, when you need a lot of coordination. Expand
  8. TadL
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    This game improves upon every aspect of L4D2. It's good enough that I can actually stand being on the losing team in Vs. mode this time. It was unbearably frustrating/boring in L4D1.
  9. ChrisW
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Apart from the terrible AI, this game is what the first L4D should've been, very well done Valve.
  10. JoshD.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Left 4 Dead was a great game. Left 4 Dead 2 is even better. The game is perfected beyond the first, and offers a great experience. Many people have issues with servers, but you can fix it in the lobby by selecting "Official Dedicated" instead of "Best Dedicated". The game is very much like the first, however many sequels are that way. The level design (Coming from a level designer), is Left 4 Dead was a great game. Left 4 Dead 2 is even better. The game is perfected beyond the first, and offers a great experience. Many people have issues with servers, but you can fix it in the lobby by selecting "Official Dedicated" instead of "Best Dedicated". The game is very much like the first, however many sequels are that way. The level design (Coming from a level designer), is astounding. Valve has perfected it. The subtle hints that lead you from one area to the next help this game for new people. The new characters, although realistic and you can identify with them, just don't come out as unique as the first's. Another problem I had was the Charger's AI is horrible. The Charger more-often-than-not runs into walls, and little corners, which can get infuriating. The Jockey's however, is great! He hides, and uses his advantage of being short to hide behind small areas. Scavenge is a great addon too, offering a quicker, fast-paced versus mode that does it's job really well. Kudos to Valve for making my heart race as the music gets quicker, as we grab the last can, and attempt to protect our convoy as we are in overtime. The weapons seem too close to the screen, and the Magnum would blow your head off. Again, these are minor nuisances, that can be ignored. The Hunter is somewhat buggy, as I once pounced off a high ledge and landed right on his head, but simply fell off. There aren't as many memories, but over-all, it is a better game. The new DLC should help this game out, and it could either do really well or fail miserably. Overall, I'd give Left 4 Dead a 9.3. I rounded it, so that's why I put it as a 9. This game was one of the best of last year. Expand
  11. AlS
    Mar 23, 2010
    9
    This is one of the greatest games that has come out to date. The game-play possibilities are endless. Things rarely happen twice. With all the different modes 5 in all the game-play is very fun and nearly endless. One of the modes "Realism" can be set to the difficulty by the player. This makes some of the levels a REAL challenge to complete. As the same in the first game I am glad that This is one of the greatest games that has come out to date. The game-play possibilities are endless. Things rarely happen twice. With all the different modes 5 in all the game-play is very fun and nearly endless. One of the modes "Realism" can be set to the difficulty by the player. This makes some of the levels a REAL challenge to complete. As the same in the first game I am glad that there is no radar, because in a zombie Apocalypse you will have no clue where or when a zombie will start beating on you. With the graphics on full sometimes at night some of the images are blurry. This game is easily better than CoD:MW2 just because the game-play is WAY better and there are less hackers in the game, which makes it better for everyone. A definite need in any gamers collection. Expand
  12. EchoEcho
    Apr 23, 2010
    9
    This game is a million times better then the first one in every way but one, I don't like the characters as well. Or maybe I just miss Francis hating everything lol! The game is really awesome, I love the new melee, the new and improved weapons, and the Spitter is wicked cool. The Jockey is admittedly beyond stupid, but it's ok, since he has his purpose. You still get the old This game is a million times better then the first one in every way but one, I don't like the characters as well. Or maybe I just miss Francis hating everything lol! The game is really awesome, I love the new melee, the new and improved weapons, and the Spitter is wicked cool. The Jockey is admittedly beyond stupid, but it's ok, since he has his purpose. You still get the old special infected, however now they have walking witches, which can be a pain, but are very interesting and fun to crown. I would highly recommend this game over the first, just for game play alone. It's beyond satisfying to behead a zombie with my "ninja sword." Expand
  13. EllisB
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    It's a worthy purchase even if you own L4D1, Few things I liked are a bunch new weapons, except they are sometimes as plenty as litter; and it is hard to tell which one is better. I was pleased to see a lot of content was "borrowed" and improved from user created content already available for L4D: like ammo upgrades, laser sight and a couple of campaigns reminded me of best rated L4D It's a worthy purchase even if you own L4D1, Few things I liked are a bunch new weapons, except they are sometimes as plenty as litter; and it is hard to tell which one is better. I was pleased to see a lot of content was "borrowed" and improved from user created content already available for L4D: like ammo upgrades, laser sight and a couple of campaigns reminded me of best rated L4D add-on campaigns. The additions of new special infected are well awaited, but I'm still undecided whether all new ones are very likable: the Jockey and the Charger are extremely hard to avoid, and I wish were a bit weaker. I do like the walking witch, it leaves lots of chances for ZOMG WTF moments. I though that the continuity between campaigns is great for a better story line telling, but overall there was no story in either games. The characters are different... I would've been fine if they left the original characters, especially Ellis the mechanic sounds like one of the developers on the audio commentary for L4D; so his character should've been at least an office kind of guy. The downfalls: Like I previously mentioned the weapons are sometimes very abundant, too abundant, you end up running back and forth trying to figure out which gun you want to take along; and on the other hand the game sometimes forces you to give up your preferred weapon by not having many ammo piles - which sucks when you find a great rifle with a laser sight, and then have to trade down to a manual shotty. The voice overs are not engaging and feel kind of forced and unprofessional acting. The sound booth literally comes down on you when your character says something unrelated. I did miss the legs when looking down or crouching on ledges like in original L4D; I think it added to the immersion while playing. Of course it was annoying when they get in the way when camping ladders, but seeing them there really made you feel the ground - and not just float around like ghosts. As it is early to say, the current crash to desktop issues I've experienced may go away sooner or later. I do wish Valve makes it sooner, but the second day first update did not fix my problem; and my game seems to crash right during the finale, stealing my completed achievement. It has done so many times, and not only during the finale; but I do have much faith in Valve, and I think it will get pretty stable. So far it is a solid 9 from me, and I'm not going to count-in the disappointment that this game did not come out as an add-on to L4D, with no discount, and treated like a separate product. Thumbs up Valve! Expand
  14. JohnT
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    Awesome game, it has the core gameplay on L4D1 we all know with several new things that make it even better. This is what L4D1 should have been. VS is a blast now (because it's much more balanced). The new gamemode (Scavenger) is my favorite. The new specials combined with the old ones create devastatig havoc. The AID 2.0 doesn't really do what was advertised but it's much Awesome game, it has the core gameplay on L4D1 we all know with several new things that make it even better. This is what L4D1 should have been. VS is a blast now (because it's much more balanced). The new gamemode (Scavenger) is my favorite. The new specials combined with the old ones create devastatig havoc. The AID 2.0 doesn't really do what was advertised but it's much better than the 1.0 because it spawns zombies that can attack well together like a Boomer and Spitter or Charger and Jockey. The only negative things imo are the achievements re-setting on PC, the unfinished Dead Center map, they beyond horrible survivor bot AI (supposed to be a MP game so that's not too bad) and the unrealistic realism mode. Overall this game scores a 9/10 and is the best game of the year on PC in my book. Expand
  15. MichaelS
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    I was unsure about getting this game at first, but I'm very happy I did. The new Specials really mix things up a bit more, and the uncommon infected keep the standard zombie rush a bit more involved. Beyond that the new Weapons / Items are great. It just adds another level of randomness to the AI director to keep each replay feeling unique. And as for the new modes of play, there I was unsure about getting this game at first, but I'm very happy I did. The new Specials really mix things up a bit more, and the uncommon infected keep the standard zombie rush a bit more involved. Beyond that the new Weapons / Items are great. It just adds another level of randomness to the AI director to keep each replay feeling unique. And as for the new modes of play, there really great. Scavenge is a great way to get some Vs action going with out playing an entire campaign. While Realism Mode is a much welcome addition to standard Co-op. The campaigns themselves are more interesting then in the first game, with great settings and some great new events (In a few places you trigger an event with hordes rushing at you, but rather then sit tight and fight them off you have to advance further into the level to find an "off switch" to stop an otherwise endless rush of flesh munchers.) The Finallys themselves are great, flashy, fun events. While there are a few bugs that need to be fixed (gotten stuck in a wall now on 3 occasions after a Charger hit me. And lets not forget the new wondering witches that any AI you have seem to completely ignore until they get there face gnawed off.) But both are rare enough that they can be over looked assuming they get patched in the near future. In closing L4D2 is not ground breaking, and even with all the new content it will get old after awhile. And if you disliked the first one I would advise renting before buying. But if you liked the first one this is a must have. It's not prefect, but I've had a blast so far and highly recommend, 9/10. Expand
  16. QN
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    Want L4D2? Get L4D1 as well! The first game is set at night, the second is mixed day and night. The two games don't replace each other, they are different games. Fantastic gameplay in #2, different strategies needed for this game from the first. When Valve fix the little bugs, glitches and crashes, this game will get a solid 10 points. L4D2 is a stunningly fun game, and we'll be Want L4D2? Get L4D1 as well! The first game is set at night, the second is mixed day and night. The two games don't replace each other, they are different games. Fantastic gameplay in #2, different strategies needed for this game from the first. When Valve fix the little bugs, glitches and crashes, this game will get a solid 10 points. L4D2 is a stunningly fun game, and we'll be playing on this and #1 for quite some time. Expand
  17. mysticalfryz
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    This game is not that different from the last installment of the game. So I will not give it a 10 out of 10, but instead I am treating it like a expansion if you put a little bit of time into it you could of gotten it for around 30 bucks so I am ok with it considering all of the boosts to the game-play, and also to mention the second and the first use the same map style so you can easly This game is not that different from the last installment of the game. So I will not give it a 10 out of 10, but instead I am treating it like a expansion if you put a little bit of time into it you could of gotten it for around 30 bucks so I am ok with it considering all of the boosts to the game-play, and also to mention the second and the first use the same map style so you can easly put the old maps on to the second. This makes them better, and also adds more compelling stages, and more reasons to play the first maps all over. Expand
  18. JonathanM
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    -I cannot believe people give this game a 0. I don't understand the rational of them! Take the voter below me: "expansion horribly overpriced and obviously rushed" -First off, it is a sequal and $35 was a fair price! "same zombie model over and over again" -What? There are many more models than the original and if you can't see the UCI then you must be blind? "level design is -I cannot believe people give this game a 0. I don't understand the rational of them! Take the voter below me: "expansion horribly overpriced and obviously rushed" -First off, it is a sequal and $35 was a fair price! "same zombie model over and over again" -What? There are many more models than the original and if you can't see the UCI then you must be blind? "level design is atrocious...near impossible to navigate on half the levels...i got stuck on every...friggin stage because level design sucks." -Uhm what? The game is so linear that a MAJORITY of the community wants BETTER dynamic director paths to alter the gameplay! You must just suck at the game. Go play Tetris. "AI is pants on head retarded" -The AI is, indeed pretty stupid, and hopefully they'll update it as needed (they already updated a little in scavenge mode). "You can no longer enjoy the environments on anything above easy because the game spawns the mini hordes like the Director is having a seizure..." -Are you just straight-out lying? Maybe this game isn't for you. Really. Find one person that agrees with you. "All of the new items are stuff that you can get in the first one...extra guns are just different designs...All melee weapons do the same thing and could have...been a dlc into the first one." -Why do people think and keep telling themselves that melee weapons, more guns, more items in the first game should be DLC? That would be GAME-changing. Melee weapons in l4d? God, that would SUCK! FYI, the weapons DO differ, and people DO have preferences on what weapons they like. I do agree that the melee weapons should have a LITTLE more noticeable differences though. ----- -Anyway, users that enjoyed the first game will enjoy this game, but they might feel nostalgic to the 'creepy' feeling from the original. I recommend it for people seeking more zombie killing. The levels are nicely designed with subtle dynamic changes. The UCI add a touch of uniqueness to each campaign. I can go on, but I feel my post is too long, so all-in-all, I recommend this game as a full fledged sequal, and enjoy zombie killing! Expand
  19. EricG
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    how can any1 think this much content would be dlc? are you kidding me? this game is much better than the first and adds something the original LFD was missing, difficulty. longer more intricate levels, new weapons, more character personality and etc. There's no reason to down rate this game , and i bet half the people that rated it with zeros never played the game. KF better than how can any1 think this much content would be dlc? are you kidding me? this game is much better than the first and adds something the original LFD was missing, difficulty. longer more intricate levels, new weapons, more character personality and etc. There's no reason to down rate this game , and i bet half the people that rated it with zeros never played the game. KF better than LFD2? LOL, good one. don't believe all the haters , buy this game Expand
  20. JustinR
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    Very little to complain about this game. I feel as though it is a worthy successor to the original and introduces a great deal of new content as well as an improved graphical experience. Gameplay strategies have changed enough to create a very new multiplayer experience as well as introducing completely new modes which provide the user with more options on the play style their interested Very little to complain about this game. I feel as though it is a worthy successor to the original and introduces a great deal of new content as well as an improved graphical experience. Gameplay strategies have changed enough to create a very new multiplayer experience as well as introducing completely new modes which provide the user with more options on the play style their interested in playing during their session. If I have one complaint, is that the second game directly cannibalizes the community from the first game which leaves many players of the original game bitter towards the second. That, among some lack of originality as a game overall compared to the first prevent me from giving it a 10 rating. Overall a great game and worth the price Valve charges. Expand
  21. TedF-D
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Anyone who is concerned that L4D2 is simply a mod of L4D with no major content which couldn't have been DLC, need not worry. L4D2 stands tall on it's own two feet and feels like the sequel we all wanted it to be. Valve clearly took on board all the concerns about it being too similar to it's predecesor and ensured it was it's own game. In truth L4D2 makes the origional Anyone who is concerned that L4D2 is simply a mod of L4D with no major content which couldn't have been DLC, need not worry. L4D2 stands tall on it's own two feet and feels like the sequel we all wanted it to be. Valve clearly took on board all the concerns about it being too similar to it's predecesor and ensured it was it's own game. In truth L4D2 makes the origional feel like a beta or even alpha test, the three new special infected fit into the roles beautifully and add a whole new dimension to versus. The one major complaint from many in the world of L4D was the corner or closet camping. They have addressed this big time. 2 of the 3 new infected specialise in breaking up a crowd. The events which used to involve starting a switch and waiting in a corner are gone, mostly. Now almost every event requires the team to move on to another switch or to go back and forth collecting items to end the event. The weapons are solid and all have their role, people will have a favourite. Melee weapons can be used instead of a pistol, which range from a Freeman style crowbar, to a "ninja" Katana. the new item system means people have to choose wisely between a defib unit (brings people back from dead) OR health OR special ammo packs to deploy for the team. New "thrown" weapon, Boomer Bile, works a charm and causes the infected to maul all tagged targets or just group up in a mass brawl. The Survivors feel just as special as the first four, and people again will have a favourite character. (Rochelle has a GREAT arse too) All in all, if you enjoyed the first one but hated the campy campy play style then seriously grab this game asap. I can't give it a 10 as it isn't PERFECT, there are glitches to be fixed and the special infected feel a little too powerful atm, But like the first game I fully expect valve will continue to support the fans in bringing out decent patches. But as far as comparing it to L4D and worrying if it's just the same game with a mod, don't worry. Thanks Valve for another game to keep me occupied for hours on end. Expand
  22. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Even though this game doesn't really add enough amount of stuff to be made a sequel, it's still very good game. The gameplay is great, versus mode is increadibly fun and unlike Xbox 360 version, this version isin't killed by horrible community. I recommend to buy this game, if you are into multiplayer games and you understand what teamwork really means in team based games.
  23. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Incredibly fun multi-player. Unfortunately, playing solo is not very fun. As for being the sequel to Left 4 Dead, it does not feel like valve changed much. It's nice to have more range on the weapons, and adding melee was a fantastic idea. If you've already played the original Left 4 Dead, I give it a 6. If you haven't, 10. Left 4 Dead 2 makes the original Left 4 Dead look like a beta,Incredibly fun multi-player. Unfortunately, playing solo is not very fun. As for being the sequel to Left 4 Dead, it does not feel like valve changed much. It's nice to have more range on the weapons, and adding melee was a fantastic idea. If you've already played the original Left 4 Dead, I give it a 6. If you haven't, 10. Left 4 Dead 2 makes the original Left 4 Dead look like a beta, unfortunately, with this feeling comes the feeling like Left 4 Dead 2 really could have used much more time to add more content. If you have already played Left 4 Dead then don't expect much difference, just a few new weapons for each class (Assault Rifle, Shotgun, Hunting Rifle) and melee weapons (the highlight of this sequel) and two new special infected, the jockey and spitter. If you are looking for a great online multi-player game and have not bought the original, then get this. It is an amazing game if you want multi-player. If you already have the original Left 4 Dead, I'd say buy something else, unless you really really really want an upgraded version of the first game. I, on the other hand, had an excuse to buy the second. I have the original for the 360. I finally got a computer more than capable of playing recent/new games so I got it for the PC, also I'm going to college and I don't want to bring my 360 along/it wouldn't fit.

    TL;DR If you have played Left 4 Dead: 6
    If not: 10
    Overall: 9

    Felt like less like a sequel and more like a big patch update to the original Left 4 Dead. An amazing game if you haven't. Also, don't expect much story, mostly just tons and tons of multi-player fun.
    Expand
  24. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 is a great game that is probably the best FPS that i've played in a long time. I recoend this game to everybody. Its pure Great. This game has new levels, zombies, weapons, and chracters. anybody who likes First person shooters should get this game.
  25. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is is trully amazing than L4D.
    There are lotta improvements ,gameplay, and a bit storylines too....
    The graphics are nice too....but i think the Valve company is too rushed about this game bcoz this game release after 1 year making a L4D...... The multiplayers is great but lag can cause the people to go annoyed....like the incoming attack. Bugs and glitches are not much since
    This is is trully amazing than L4D.
    There are lotta improvements ,gameplay, and a bit storylines too....
    The graphics are nice too....but i think the Valve company is too rushed about this game bcoz this game release after 1 year making a L4D......

    The multiplayers is great but lag can cause the people to go annoyed....like the incoming attack.
    Bugs and glitches are not much since the updates were released.
    Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    People, you can't downgrade a game meant to be coop because the Single Player is lousy. It's also not clear if you should be rating L4D2 relative to L4D, since that rating wouldn't matter to someone who doesn't have either. Rate L4D2 on its own merits, for how it's meant to be played, and if you do that, the game is practically flawless.
  27. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    People say that this is a poor attempt at sequel but I have to disagree. Its done very nicely and the online mode runs very smoothly. The AI is very intelligent and honestly smarter than most players online. The difficulty levels are true to there name and are actually hard.
  28. Ed1
    Dec 12, 2010
    9
    Its clear that the developers really paid attention to this game. The game play is perfect and the graphics are very good. The additions of weapon types, extra special infected and melee weapons makes this a fine sequel to part 1.
  29. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 is as good as a sequel can get. It advances every aspect of its prequel. The combat is smoother, the AI is better and each new campaign finale delivers incredibly chaotic and fun gameplay. Left 4 Dead 2 introduces new special infected, such as the “Spitter”, which offers new challenging gameplay moments. The regular infected zombies have better animations and the specialLeft 4 Dead 2 is as good as a sequel can get. It advances every aspect of its prequel. The combat is smoother, the AI is better and each new campaign finale delivers incredibly chaotic and fun gameplay. Left 4 Dead 2 introduces new special infected, such as the “Spitter”, which offers new challenging gameplay moments. The regular infected zombies have better animations and the special infected from the prequel are modified with different appearances and behaviors. There's many new cool weapons introduced in Left 4 Dead 2, including grenade launchers and melee weapons. If you liked the first one, then this is a no-brainer. Expand
  30. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    This is one the the most amazing game i have ever played
    Nothing negative comes to mind.
    This gameplay is f****** awesome in solo and multiplayer

    I LOVE THAT GAME
  31. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    An overall very good game and great co-op experience with beautiful graphics. I only gave it a 9 because the characters are not as original as in L4D1, the maps designs are not as charming (although they're better in gameplay and many other ways) and the atmosphere is more like a mass-killing zombie game than a survival one. I was also deceived as in the first one that they didn't designAn overall very good game and great co-op experience with beautiful graphics. I only gave it a 9 because the characters are not as original as in L4D1, the maps designs are not as charming (although they're better in gameplay and many other ways) and the atmosphere is more like a mass-killing zombie game than a survival one. I was also deceived as in the first one that they didn't design the menu like a movie. Expand
  32. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Very addicting game, maybe the best co-op game i've ever played. It comes with the campaigns of the original Left 4 Dead so you don't have to buy the first game plus it comes with a bunch of new ones. Definitely recommend this to anyone.
    Ps: Playing as the Spitter in versus and scavenge is the best :)
  33. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Decent game, although they didn't change that much from the original L4D i still enjoyed it. The promised revamped AI director wasn't as amazing. The voice acting(especially rochelle) hasn't been as good. The new alarm events, new infected, and new gamemode (including mutation) are pretty creative and fun though. Although campaign can get too easy and boring over time, i feel the strengthDecent game, although they didn't change that much from the original L4D i still enjoyed it. The promised revamped AI director wasn't as amazing. The voice acting(especially rochelle) hasn't been as good. The new alarm events, new infected, and new gamemode (including mutation) are pretty creative and fun though. Although campaign can get too easy and boring over time, i feel the strength of this game lies in its multiplayer. It is immensely fun to play with friends, whether you are dominating in pubs or are playing against challenging opponents. There are learning curves and strategies to play both the infected and survivor, and valve designed it so it is easy to pick up for beginners, while maintaining a high skill ceiling for advance players to hone their tricks. Once again Valve never disappoints. Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    after reeding a lot of reviews on the game left for dead 2 i would agree with some of the criticism posted up but on the defense despite the lack of gaming quality and key things what could be improved it is still a good game. as the turn " you pay for what you get " i payed £20 - 30 as a package deal for my game so did not expect any thrill's like playing a high end full onafter reeding a lot of reviews on the game left for dead 2 i would agree with some of the criticism posted up but on the defense despite the lack of gaming quality and key things what could be improved it is still a good game. as the turn " you pay for what you get " i payed £20 - 30 as a package deal for my game so did not expect any thrill's like playing a high end full on 3d graphics game what would have cost around £60+ ether tho it is a social game and you can have a lot of fun ether make some rilly good friends or just to blow of some steam after a hard day at work and you just want to kill some zombies all tho yes this game works for me and i have made a lot of friends so guys A+ for me Expand
  35. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Years on and this is still one of the BEST co-op shooters available... ok the graphics are workmanlike, but Source is gettting way too long in the tooth to ever look top end...accept that sacrifice for everything else being super fast with tonnes of sharpened gameplay and high replay values thanks to it's huge modder community (on PC) supplying hundreds of free campaigns, how can you go wrong?
  36. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 has gotten a lot of flak for its similarity to the first game, but I think Valve made the right move in making it just how they did. Here's why:

    REPLAY VALUE: - The first game was not very long, but it had replay value, the second game is essentially the first game with more levels, new levels, new characters, new dialogue, new weapons and enemies and mechanics, etc. The
    Left 4 Dead 2 has gotten a lot of flak for its similarity to the first game, but I think Valve made the right move in making it just how they did. Here's why:

    REPLAY VALUE:
    - The first game was not very long, but it had replay value, the second game is essentially the first game with more levels, new levels, new characters, new dialogue, new weapons and enemies and mechanics, etc. The first game was a smashing success, so if the second was why would they change that much in the sequel?

    NEW MECHANICS:
    - The guns, special devices, and melee weapons all have a very nice, "clean," feel to them. There's almost no "wind-up," so every swing, shot, and throw feels responsive. This is something many developers overlook when making games, and it's incredibly important to have the feel right.

    NEW WEAPONS:
    - The arsenal from L4D was one of the more boring parts of the game. L4D2 has more than doubled the amount of weapons, whilst keeping the originals for old fans.

    STEAM WORKSHOP:
    - Don't like the level selection? The skins are boring you? Then modify them with minimal effort by utilizing Steam Workshop, which is home to thousands of custom, user-made skins.

    There really isn't much to complain about.
    Expand
  37. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    It's not as spooky or atmospheric or creative as the first game, but the gameplay is improved, the graphics are improved, and the versus mode is not only playable, but is also the most fun I've had in a multiplayer zombie game since the craziest nights of Zombie Master.
  38. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    New zombies, new maps and more weapons! YES! But, for some odd reason I find the game play different. I actually find the original more appealing. The graphics look better as in better looking versus more advanced graphics. The characters aren't that appealing either. It seems a bit rush and too soon. Left 4 Dead 1 just got off the ground when this was released! Shame... But the games still good.
  39. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    I've played more hours of this game than any other - 800 at the moment. It's a truly great game, the only negative is the online community can be very annoying and love to cry "NOOOB!"
  40. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    Its a fun but repetitive game. But it hasn't aged well. Its starting to look rough around the edges. If you can fool yourself to thinking it looks good you probably can get several hundred of hours of addicted playing out of this, else it will feel more like a repetitive slog because the environments look very bland. This looks like a game that worried too much about hardware budgets ,Its a fun but repetitive game. But it hasn't aged well. Its starting to look rough around the edges. If you can fool yourself to thinking it looks good you probably can get several hundred of hours of addicted playing out of this, else it will feel more like a repetitive slog because the environments look very bland. This looks like a game that worried too much about hardware budgets , or was developed on a tight budget itself. Not much is textured properly and there is too many details missing from the scenes. For example, their idea of a store is a room with an empty shelve and a block looking cabinet with a register on it, and no other details you'd see in a store. The good side, being a MP game, its still alive currently and finding a game is not too hard. The game also appears to be still be supported regularly by the creator Valve with recently now the l4d campaigns being added into the game. Expand
  41. Nov 25, 2014
    9
    Game: Left 4 Dead 2
    Genre: First Person Shooter Horror
    Developer: Valve System: PC Total Score: 91/100 Value Score: 91/10 • Story: 8/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 6/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Storyline and characters are a bit more appealing than the first game +Includes Left 4
    Game: Left 4 Dead 2
    Genre: First Person Shooter Horror
    Developer: Valve
    System: PC
    Total Score: 91/100
    Value Score: 91/10

    • Story: 8/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 6/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Storyline and characters are a bit more appealing than the first game
    +Includes Left 4 Dead 1 characters and maps
    +New Special Infected
    +New Weapons
    +Designs of items changed and can be reverted back to original for both L4D1 and L4D2 maps.
    +Multiple modes include Survival, Versus, etc which add more value to the length and replay value
    +Multiple map, character and enemy skin designs available including the official Capcom Resident Evil 6 Enemy skins
    +Both private and public maps available - private maps enable you the option to do cheats and edit the overall game
    +A lot of available mods from a huge community

    Cons
    -Does not include the cutscenes from L4D1
    -Does not include some of the glitches/aesthetics often used in the first game (only available in the GOTY edition of L4D1)
    Expand
  42. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 is an enjoyable game to play. Like most games these days the game shines more in the multiplayer aspect and the numerous mods and addons that one can acquire through various means. These addons and multiplayer flavors are where the fun is. The single player is tolerable and is fun to play when bored but the AI really is sub par (the other survivors have god-like accuracy butLeft 4 Dead 2 is an enjoyable game to play. Like most games these days the game shines more in the multiplayer aspect and the numerous mods and addons that one can acquire through various means. These addons and multiplayer flavors are where the fun is. The single player is tolerable and is fun to play when bored but the AI really is sub par (the other survivors have god-like accuracy but are dumb as a rock in relation to self preservation, i feel as if i am babysitting them in most situations). But if you are playing L4D:2 you need to be playing it with other people as the additional survivors or as the special infected. In summation the game as a whole is worth playing and is highly replayable, but if you are more of a loner and play singleplayer exclusively then you may want to overlook this title and perhaps pick up another zombie shooter that caters to the storyline and solo play. Expand
  43. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    As much as I miss the characters of the first one, and am loyal to the original's originality and simplicity, I must give the sequel a higher rating if only for the upkeep of free updates and constant addition to the already varied dynamic. While this one feels less like you're running for your life to a fate uncertain through the decaying ruins of the recent and progressing apocalypse,As much as I miss the characters of the first one, and am loyal to the original's originality and simplicity, I must give the sequel a higher rating if only for the upkeep of free updates and constant addition to the already varied dynamic. While this one feels less like you're running for your life to a fate uncertain through the decaying ruins of the recent and progressing apocalypse, it's got more dakka and gorn. Plus that much more story to go along with the grim path humanity took in late 2009. For more information, see my review of L4D and just throw in the fact that there are more guns, more special zombies, more game play modes, even more game modes, a crossover campaign with the original survivors that's explained in "The Sacrifice" web comic, the original campaigns (with all the second's goodies), and just more Valve. Game on, comrades. But I do suggest you buy the first as well, if just to ease into the second's complexity, while being able to see your legs. Expand
  44. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    The amount of free updates you recieve on the PC is astounding. Valve quality stamp, coupled with the amount of user content available makes this game a total blast. One of the best co-op games around, if not the most replayable ;) . Go buy for 20$ on steam or in stores!
  45. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    L4D2 makes the first L4D feel like a demo. The PC version boasts 5 new campaigns and all the L4D1 maps plus a brand new map called Cold Stream included for no extra price. The game looks beautiful and it includes a ton more stuff than the first. A must buy for zombie killing fanboys
  46. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    This game is a must if you love zombies, or if you played L4D, single player experience is very nice, and your team mates are always ready to help, multiplayer with a lof of people is just supreme, if you are a fan of L4D you can play the maps as they are being imported, play from VS to Co-op mode, lots of fan made mods from weapons to maps and skins, are you ready to fight for surviveThis game is a must if you love zombies, or if you played L4D, single player experience is very nice, and your team mates are always ready to help, multiplayer with a lof of people is just supreme, if you are a fan of L4D you can play the maps as they are being imported, play from VS to Co-op mode, lots of fan made mods from weapons to maps and skins, are you ready to fight for survive against the zombie plague that spread all around the country ?
    If yes get in and kill some zombies !
    Expand
  47. May 9, 2012
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 is bloody, fun and really successful. Not only multipalyer is fun, even the single player is fun. It doesn't want hard specs and It's amazing. The only bad thing there is that It doesn't have checkpoint in single player. Overall, it is amazing! (9.1)
  48. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Amazing game!! good graphics, insane game play, awesome characters and the Add-Ons is the best part , I cant figure out why people are giving this game such horrible ratings cuz this game is a BEAST!! This is a must have game for every PC gamer.
  49. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite games of all time, for valve it is my favorite. The game has many more and new levels, allowing you to fight your way through the horde with new items, weapons and such. The game is perfect for co-op, survival, versus and scavenge (including realism). The only real downside to this masterpiece is the fact that the AI is horrible, always takes the wrong weapons and wastesOne of my favorite games of all time, for valve it is my favorite. The game has many more and new levels, allowing you to fight your way through the horde with new items, weapons and such. The game is perfect for co-op, survival, versus and scavenge (including realism). The only real downside to this masterpiece is the fact that the AI is horrible, always takes the wrong weapons and wastes health packs. The AI also never goes into the vantage points of the boss fights, and your almost always the only one to make it out. Expand
  50. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Awesome game. I don't know why you would pay full price on this. It's a Valve game, it goes on sale A LOT! I got this as a 4 pack to share with some friends. it was 14.99 for all 4 copies. We played Dead Center the first time we played and had some Co-op fun. If you can find it on sale it's a great value especially with the new free Cold Stream DLC.
  51. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Chill out you lot who knock this game,it's a scream and great fun.I love the carnival with the rollercoaster its a ride and a half what a great time when you want a bit of a blowout.
  52. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Very nice game, valve done it again, had so much fun with this one, im hooked on it atm, the gameplay is the same....Extremely awesome. not much to be said really. good job.
  53. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Eerily similar to L4D, this game does not deserve to be called a "sequel". A fraction of the updates in TF2 could have created this game from it's predecessor L4D. Regardless, it is rather enjoyable and scary. There is nothing like the feeling you get when a boomer pops out from a corner and screws up your vision. Multiplayer is a veteran's game, so you better know what you're doingEerily similar to L4D, this game does not deserve to be called a "sequel". A fraction of the updates in TF2 could have created this game from it's predecessor L4D. Regardless, it is rather enjoyable and scary. There is nothing like the feeling you get when a boomer pops out from a corner and screws up your vision. Multiplayer is a veteran's game, so you better know what you're doing before joining ( a lot of people are very rude to noobs, which is honestly the worst part of this game, so if you can get past that you're golden). I bought this on sale for $5, and would have gladly paid $20 for it. The biggest problem with the multiplayer is that gameplay ends up being one-sided. There are 2 teams, and players enjoy stacking a lot. You'll often find yourself with utter noobs or else with extreme experts, in which case the game becomes anti-competitive. You can simply quit when this happens and join a fairer game, so I would highly recommend this 9/10. Expand
  54. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    just like the first game it was a huge sucsess and an enjoable game, story was actually interesting , and made me connect to the characters, the graphics were pretty good as well, and new weapons and the option for melee made killing zombies a whole new level of fun, and even the small jokes every now and than are great! people thought it might be a bad idea to make another l4d but theyjust like the first game it was a huge sucsess and an enjoable game, story was actually interesting , and made me connect to the characters, the graphics were pretty good as well, and new weapons and the option for melee made killing zombies a whole new level of fun, and even the small jokes every now and than are great! people thought it might be a bad idea to make another l4d but they were wrong, ohh they were so wrong! Expand
  55. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    A very good co-op zombie FPS. I didn't play Left for Dead 1 so when I played L4D2, I felt I no longer need to leave the house. All I need is some food to eat and play this game forever. Much teamwork is needed in harder difficulties, and I loved the fact that I cannot just shoot blindly and not caring about ammo. This make survival fun and exciting.
  56. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    This game is great, simple with very few elements of tactics but crucial to winning if your not familiar with the game. Graphics are good enough, but not awe inspiring. Servers are pretty good, support sucks but hey, very few people have GOOD support. The community is the one thing that really lets down L4D2, on vs people will kick you out of the server rather than help teach youThis game is great, simple with very few elements of tactics but crucial to winning if your not familiar with the game. Graphics are good enough, but not awe inspiring. Servers are pretty good, support sucks but hey, very few people have GOOD support. The community is the one thing that really lets down L4D2, on vs people will kick you out of the server rather than help teach you anything. Co-op has a much better attitude to it. The skill level is awesome, you can find an easy survivable campaign if your new, If you have some trusted friends that know what there doing, you can start going for the really hard settings and get your ass whupped. Expand
  57. Rem
    Dec 3, 2015
    9
    Following up on 2008's multiplayer funfest just a year later, Valve hopes to bring the masses with a compelling and addicting zombie survival shooter in Left 4 Dead 2, and they succeeded oh so well. What may seem like a ding off the point scale is how similar everything in Left 4 Dead 2 feels compared to the first. Almost all the game mechanics have been almost unchanged and the whole gameFollowing up on 2008's multiplayer funfest just a year later, Valve hopes to bring the masses with a compelling and addicting zombie survival shooter in Left 4 Dead 2, and they succeeded oh so well. What may seem like a ding off the point scale is how similar everything in Left 4 Dead 2 feels compared to the first. Almost all the game mechanics have been almost unchanged and the whole game at a glance seems to be a simple reskin. But the real meat and flavor derives from how Valve makes the small changes and gives you so much more to play with. A quadrupled arsenal that includes melee weapons, weapon buffs, special ammo, new special infected, better map designs, a southern twang setting, better setpieces, improved graphics after just a year, a plethora of modes, and improved balancing rocket Left 4 Dead 2 into a multiplayer masterpiece. It's how you refine a game while gaining a new identity after a single year in production. Like the first, the second game's most tantalizing feature is a completely dynamic AI that changes the game experience everytime you play, and relying on your coop partners is the absolutely only way to succeed. If one were to go lone wolf, sign your grave cause the undead are unforgiving. If the first Left 4 Dead never grabbed you with its simple Point A to Point B zombie survival romp with a completely dynamic gameplay and AI, then Left 4 Dead 2 will do little to change your mind. But the sequel has gallons of fun with friends to offer and zombie guts needed to fill it. Expand
  58. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Hectic, chaotic fun and memorable characters. Plenty of game modes and fun mods to enjoy. If you've never played the original it's fine because the original missions are put in the game for free with improved graphics and gameplay. A must have for zombie fans.
  59. May 23, 2013
    9
    "Left 4 Dead 2" is one of the most fun Co-Op games out there. The story is quite good for a sequel that does not follow directly follow from its predecessor. The levels are well made for a zombie game, unlike many that we have all played before. The simple tasks within the levels are mainly hold the fort type and scavenging parts never get old and are always fun and rewarding. Me and my"Left 4 Dead 2" is one of the most fun Co-Op games out there. The story is quite good for a sequel that does not follow directly follow from its predecessor. The levels are well made for a zombie game, unlike many that we have all played before. The simple tasks within the levels are mainly hold the fort type and scavenging parts never get old and are always fun and rewarding. Me and my friends can never leave this game with its outstanding replay-ability. The game has some nice multiplayer game modes like “Versus”. Where you play through the Co-Op levels as you would normally except all the special zombies are human controlled (it gets very fun with friends). This game has Steam Workshop support if in the rare case you get bored of the default ones. Did I also say this game comes with redone levels from the first "Left 4 Dead"? Did I also say you should buy this game? Did I also say that it's made by Valve? Expand
  60. AWG
    Jun 17, 2013
    9
    This game is almost perfect. Maps are really well-done and compelling, missions are fair and graphics are well defined. I don't like new characters very much (Nick is the only good one, and I'd pay to watch him fight alongside Zoey, Francis and Bill) but the fact that Left 4 Dead 2 includes all the campaigns and levels from the first game makes it just awesome. I really can't find a flaw.This game is almost perfect. Maps are really well-done and compelling, missions are fair and graphics are well defined. I don't like new characters very much (Nick is the only good one, and I'd pay to watch him fight alongside Zoey, Francis and Bill) but the fact that Left 4 Dead 2 includes all the campaigns and levels from the first game makes it just awesome. I really can't find a flaw. 9 out of 10. Expand
  61. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    While this game seems to be more of a glorified D.L.C., it earns its spot as one the of the greatest sequels of all time. Like its predecessor, Left 4 Dead 2 FORCES you to work TOGETHER. The graphics are very good for the dated Source Engine. The weapons have a good feel, and the realistic damage to the infected will make feel squeamish quite a lot. A very fun game from beginning toWhile this game seems to be more of a glorified D.L.C., it earns its spot as one the of the greatest sequels of all time. Like its predecessor, Left 4 Dead 2 FORCES you to work TOGETHER. The graphics are very good for the dated Source Engine. The weapons have a good feel, and the realistic damage to the infected will make feel squeamish quite a lot. A very fun game from beginning to end. (Extra merits for easy modding as well.) Expand
  62. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    j'aime beaucoup ce jeu le contenu est plus variées ont y retrouve les épisodes de son opus précédent la qualité graphique est tous aussi mieux un bon jeu auquel les fans de zombies ne risqueront pas de se lassés
  63. Jan 23, 2018
    9
    Фактически дополненное, исправленное и расширенное переиздание первой части игры, куда позже вошли все вышедшие ранее эпизоды. Очень крутая игра вышла.
  64. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This game is a great sequel to Left 4 Dead. It is much better though, due to improved AI and level dynamics (levels can play differently every playthrough). After you have completed the game, and start all over again, it will be boring, but the dynamics of this game adds extra replay value. It's best played online with friends, but offline, the NPC Players are quite bad.
  65. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    This game on PC is where you can get the most for your money, steam workshop and mod support increase the games experience by miles. The game is very fun and yet encourages good team work overall. the enemas are well spread out through out the game, rather than 7 tanks coming at you at once.
  66. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    One of my personal favorite games every.

    Left 4 Dead 2 takes the Left 4 Dead series to a whole new level. While the story can be a bit hard to figure out if you don't play it as much as the others, you still can get the full jest of the game. The characters and zombies are unforgettable and put a smile on your face as you blast through waves of zombies and special's with a group of
    One of my personal favorite games every.

    Left 4 Dead 2 takes the Left 4 Dead series to a whole new level. While the story can be a bit hard to figure out if you don't play it as much as the others, you still can get the full jest of the game. The characters and zombies are unforgettable and put a smile on your face as you blast through waves of zombies and special's with a group of friends as you listen to those zingy one liners they characters love to through out.

    As much as I love this game, it does have its flaws. Left 4 Dead 2 can be a real pain if you're playing with bots. They said they upped the A.I upon coming out but that's debatable. The bots tend to get abit lower than stupid and can be a real hassle to try and keep alive. Most of the time its best to just shoot them dead and move on.

    While the main story campaigns are nice, its nicer when you have all the custom community created campaigns to play as well. While Valve has tried getting some over to the consoles, it's best you own the PC version if you want to experience this game to the fullest when it comes to mods. After all, this is a Valve game and it was made to be very mod-able for PC. Valve is a PC company, after all.

    All in all, its an amazing game to play with a group of friends if you're bored and just want to have fun. If you're very competitive, you can also play the Versus mode which pits a team of humans against a team of player controlled zombies. Very fun, good game to have a good time in. If you don't own it on PC, steam usually puts it on sale for 5 bucks every few weeks.
    Expand
  67. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Ever wondered its time to join the 'zombpocalypse'? Left 4 Dead 2 is the best place for you. Four survivors with an arsenal of weapon ranging from chainsaw to M60 and lots and lots of Infected trying to hunt you down.

    L4D2 picks up where the first game left off, only with new survivors to hunt and be hunted. The short story of the game is spread through 5 chapters (although it was
    Ever wondered its time to join the 'zombpocalypse'? Left 4 Dead 2 is the best place for you. Four survivors with an arsenal of weapon ranging from chainsaw to M60 and lots and lots of Infected trying to hunt you down.

    L4D2 picks up where the first game left off, only with new survivors to hunt and be hunted. The short story of the game is spread through 5 chapters (although it was expanded with DLC campaigns). It is not overtly complicated and deep, but it can be suspected for a game of this nature and fairly this is not the most important part of this game. On normal settings the campaign can be completed around 4 hours or so, if you have access to the DLC campaigns it will extend the fun to 6-7 hours. Amping up the difficulty will increase the challenge and frustration originating from the retries you have to take to complete the chapters. While the story is not the richest out there, the game features some amazing voice over and writing. The characters are funny, witty and believable in the world of the game of course.

    When you (if you at all) breeze through the campaign with bots this is when the real fun begins. Online multiplayer is its name. Simply, this game is meant to be played with other humans. First of all, the AI is not horrible, bud it is bad enough that you will be constantly ripping out your hair while playing the game SP (especially on harder difficulties) Not to mention the Infected AI is much better. Second, the shooting is at its best when you are surrounded with real humans trying to help you survive or chasing you as Infected. Yes, there are game modes (Versus, Scavange, etc.) where you can show your skills as a Spitter, Charger or any type of Special Infected.

    The challenges will just never end with this game. You can play different MP modes like Versus or the newly introduced Scavange (collecting cans and filling up the generator while the Infected are trying to stop you). Or if you want you can just play the campaigns again with human help. If you are tired you can jump on community servers or try the endless number of easy-to-use mods created for the game by the community.

    Here we are again. Valve have proved again that they are indeed the masters of Multiplayer Madness. After hits like Counter Strike, Team Fortress we have the upcoming wave of games like the L4D2 series and DotA 2. While the SP mode is not much engaging and falls short of expectations and you may not care about the characters in the end, if you ever want to just jump in and oppose the endless hordes of zombies while having super fun, this is the ultimate and most definite place to start.

    Rating: 85/100; Replay Value: 5/5; To Beat: 6 hours (SP with the campaign DLCs); Played on: normal.
    Expand
  68. May 1, 2014
    9
    Being new to the Left 4 Dead games - and PC gaming in general - I was unsure what to expect. However, after raking in nearly 20 hours of playtime in a single weekend it is easy to say that L4D2 is ridiculously good fun. The campaign contains multiple missions which can be played cooperatively or alone (if you're brave enough!) Out of all of the thrilling moments that the game has to offer;Being new to the Left 4 Dead games - and PC gaming in general - I was unsure what to expect. However, after raking in nearly 20 hours of playtime in a single weekend it is easy to say that L4D2 is ridiculously good fun. The campaign contains multiple missions which can be played cooperatively or alone (if you're brave enough!) Out of all of the thrilling moments that the game has to offer; running along the roller coaster in 'Dark Carnival' quickly became the highlight for me.

    If the campaign feels repetitive, there are many other exciting game modes available that allow you to play alongside other players online or as a competitive special infected zombie. The witch is an iconic zombie within the game that can quickly lead a group to panic as suspenseful music thickens the atmosphere. Although the game was released nearly five years ago, their is still an active community which will keep you entertained for hours. Definitely worth a play!
    Expand
  69. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Best co-op game I have played ever. The best part for co-op is that you don't need to be good at it to play. Cause even the strongest player will need your help at times.
  70. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    Successful sequel to a very good shooter, where we have to eliminate hordes of zombies. It includes all the campaigns from the first part, so nothing is lost if you were unable to enjoy it before. It offers a few interesting play modes, but I found "campaign" the most enjoyable. The real fun starts when playing co-op with friends.

    Score: 9/10 - I would definitely recommend it!
  71. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    As someone who has never owned the original L4D, this game was amazing. Fantastically balanced levels and a strong emphasis on teamwork. And if you (like me) never bought the original, all those maps are now in the game.
    One downside is that the Australian and German versions were censored ( D: ), the other downside is that the graphics kinda suck ( 2006 standard), but it was obvious that
    As someone who has never owned the original L4D, this game was amazing. Fantastically balanced levels and a strong emphasis on teamwork. And if you (like me) never bought the original, all those maps are now in the game.
    One downside is that the Australian and German versions were censored ( D: ), the other downside is that the graphics kinda suck ( 2006 standard), but it was obvious that they were too busy polishing everything to a blinding shine.
    Expand
  72. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Well, it has a very fascinating multiplayer. You can spend hours easily and don't even notice. It has so many mods and maps and they're all great, you'll never be bored. It's really entertaining but I can't say the same thing to single player. After all, forget the single player. Multiplayer will be enough for you. My score is 9 out of 10.
  73. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Amazing game, very creative. I cannot wait for the 3rd version to come out, hopefully containing many more weapons, infected character, humans, maps and game modes!
  74. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    This is very good game. It has a lot of mods wich makes it even better. If you play it with your friends you need a lot of time to get bored of it but in about a month you come back to play and it gets cool again and you just can't stop playing it. Game sometimes (very rare times) lags or it just crahes but that's not a problem. You did great work Valve.
  75. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    I gave this a 9...because of the online and mutliplayer...which are close to 10s imo.

    The solo campaign is an eight. Still fun but does not shine the same.

    There is nothing bad to say about the multiplayer. It is fast, fun, crazy and just as good as Left for Dead 1.
    For me, L4D 1 and 2 are the genre definer in FPS / Zombie / Survival.
  76. May 1, 2014
    9
    This game is just an incredibly fun game. I don't think I've ever played an FPS game quite like this one. The community may be horrible but it's still fun, especially if you're playing with friends.
    My only problem with this is that the community is absolutely terrible. They votekick you for not having more than 1,000 hours of playtime. But then again, that's hardly the game's fault, it's
    This game is just an incredibly fun game. I don't think I've ever played an FPS game quite like this one. The community may be horrible but it's still fun, especially if you're playing with friends.
    My only problem with this is that the community is absolutely terrible. They votekick you for not having more than 1,000 hours of playtime. But then again, that's hardly the game's fault, it's more of the people's fault, so if you get this game I recommend playing with people you know.
    Expand
  77. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    The blood, the gore, the mods, the Fun, Oh my god this game is awesome. I didn't play Left 4 Dead one but when I saw steam had the sequel for £3.74 I jumped out of my seat. I do also own it on the Xbox 360 but none of my friends on that have this game.
    9/10
  78. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    To start off, I HATE FPS. It is one of the most repetitive and boring genre of gameplay.

    However, L4D2 is very different. To start off, it is not the typical boring man shoots another man because of a war and **** like that. Instead, it involves something unique - zombies! Man shoots zombies otherwise their brains would be eaten. Amazing, isn't it? Furthermore, there are several maps,
    To start off, I HATE FPS. It is one of the most repetitive and boring genre of gameplay.

    However, L4D2 is very different. To start off, it is not the typical boring man shoots another man because of a war and **** like that. Instead, it involves something unique - zombies! Man shoots zombies otherwise their brains would be eaten. Amazing, isn't it? Furthermore, there are several maps, several weapons, and SEVERAL ZOMBIES WITH DIFFERENT TALENTS AND ABILITIES to keep you entertained. Not the typical boring and predictable human enemy. You also get a chance to be a zombie and battle humans in the multiplayer mode.

    To summarize, this game (despite my hatred to FPS) is AMAZING!
    Expand
  79. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    This title is an excellent entry in the zombie genre. The game definitely shines the brightest when played with friends, but I find the single player goddamn enjoyable as well. Not does it only give you hours of challenging, but fun time in the campaign, the multiplayer modes extend the fun so far, that you can have a good time with it, even to this day. The only flaw I had with it was theThis title is an excellent entry in the zombie genre. The game definitely shines the brightest when played with friends, but I find the single player goddamn enjoyable as well. Not does it only give you hours of challenging, but fun time in the campaign, the multiplayer modes extend the fun so far, that you can have a good time with it, even to this day. The only flaw I had with it was the slight repetition with the campaigns, but seriously, blowing away the heads of those stupid undead people never gets old, shall it be with an axe or a shotgun. Expand
  80. Jan 24, 2016
    9
    Great. Just great. Great characters, zombies, graphics and multiplayer.

    Complaint of course: The death animation is so SO bad. In L4D, the original, the death animation was great, now its bad. But if thats the biggest problem in this game, then it cant be that bad.
  81. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Many people won't like this game because its the same. I say to that, why fix what's not broken. This game took what we all loved in Left 4 Dead 1 and improved it with more weapons, more enemies, more love able characters, and better co-op. Without a doubt, this is one of the best co-op zombie games I've seen.
  82. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2, this game is just awesome, you can even make a model and put it into game and play it with that add-on, just awesome. I really enjoy play this game with my friends..
  83. Oct 19, 2015
    9
    Still an awesome game. I'm a sucker for those COOP games though. So much better than the first installment. Just can't wait for the third Left 4 Dead, pretty please this Halloween maybe?
  84. Mar 6, 2016
    9
    This is easily one of the most addictive shooters that I've ever played. This was one of the first steam games, I ever played and got hooked on. I've even gotten to meet a lot of my steam friends on this. Developed by the holy grail of game developers Valve, praise beyond to you. Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the most entertaining multiplayer co-op games that you can get on the steam market.This is easily one of the most addictive shooters that I've ever played. This was one of the first steam games, I ever played and got hooked on. I've even gotten to meet a lot of my steam friends on this. Developed by the holy grail of game developers Valve, praise beyond to you. Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the most entertaining multiplayer co-op games that you can get on the steam market.

    It's made in Valve's traditional engine, the Source engine which always gives the games they make a look that will never get old. Left 4 Dead has a sort of a fusion with partially cartoony and mainly realistic look.

    Gameplay in Left 4 Dead 2 mainly consists of you playing one of four survivors and you needing to work together killing all of the zombies and reach the safety point at the end of the map and repeat it. You might be thinking in your head that this might get tedious and boring but surprisingly it doesn't. Left 4 Dead 2 has an element in it called an "A.I director" which means every time you come into the map a second time, the zombies will be in different places each time that you start it up. The AI is also excellent and keeps you and the 3 other player you will be playing with on the edge of their seats as you try and fight your way through a horde of zombies. Controls are basically like any of valve's games so they are easy and simple to get the hang of. However online play isn't without it's bugs and I wish that Valve would patch these like there was a zombie that I encountered sank into the floor, once there was a player who was invisible and an objective item didn't spawn in once.

    As you can probably see by my timer I have spent hours on this game and I still tend to play it to this day. This is the sort of game that I think you will easily fire up and hop onto play it in about 20 years time and has so much replay value. You will play it again and again and again.

    I recommend this game to basically anybody. Doesn't matter what sort of game genre that you're into I'm telling you to buy this and that's an order.
    Expand
  85. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    This is easily one of the most addictive shooters that I've ever played. This was one of the first steam games, I ever played and got hooked on. I've even gotten to meet alot of my steam friends on this. Developed by the holy grail of game developers Valve, praise beyond to you. Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the most entertaining multiplayer co-op games that you can get on the steam marktet.This is easily one of the most addictive shooters that I've ever played. This was one of the first steam games, I ever played and got hooked on. I've even gotten to meet alot of my steam friends on this. Developed by the holy grail of game developers Valve, praise beyond to you. Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the most entertaining multiplayer co-op games that you can get on the steam marktet.

    It's made in Valve's traditional engine, the Source engine which always gives the games they make a look that will never get old. Left 4 Dead has a sort of a fusion with partially cartoony and mainly realistic look.

    Gameplay in Left 4 Dead 2 mainly consists of you playing one of four survivors and you needing to work together killing all of the zombies and reach the safety point at the end of the map and repeat it. You might be thinking i your head that this might get tedious and boring but surprisingly it doesn't. Left 4 Dead 2 has an element in it called an "A.I director" which means every time you come into the map a second time, the zombies will be in different places each time that you start it up. The AI is also excellent and keeps you and the 3 other player you will be playing with on the edge of their seats as you try and fight your way through a horde of zombies. Controls are basically like any of valve's games so they are easy and simple to get the hang of. However online play isn't without it's bugs and I wish tht Valve would patch these like there was a zombie that I encoutered sank into the floor, once there was a player who was invisible and an objective item didn't spawn in once.

    As you can probably see by my timer I have spent hours on this game and I still tend to play it to this day. This is the sort of game that I think you will easily fire up and hop onto play it in about 20 years time and has so much replay value. You will play it again and again and again.

    I reccommend this game to basically anybody. Doesn't matter wht sort of game genre tht you're into I'm telling you to buy this and thts an order.
    Expand
  86. Jul 5, 2016
    9
    left 4 dead 2 es un fps en el cual heres un sobreviente del apocalipsis zombi y deves sobrevivir con tus 3 compañeros, es un juego sentrado solo en el multijugador ,pero si quieres jugar solo esta bien ya que es igual de entretenido.PERO por defecto el juego no tiene campaña ya que solo se trata de ir al punto A al B.el jueo pude volverce repetitivo ya que tiene pocos hecenarios en elleft 4 dead 2 es un fps en el cual heres un sobreviente del apocalipsis zombi y deves sobrevivir con tus 3 compañeros, es un juego sentrado solo en el multijugador ,pero si quieres jugar solo esta bien ya que es igual de entretenido.PERO por defecto el juego no tiene campaña ya que solo se trata de ir al punto A al B.el jueo pude volverce repetitivo ya que tiene pocos hecenarios en el juego aunque esto se remedia ya que puedes descargar mapas que creo la comunidad y la compania.Graficamente se ve bien y les haceguro que les va a dar horas de entretenimiento Expand
  87. Sep 30, 2016
    9
    It's a pretty nice game to be honest, but truthfully, it could do better on the story and let me know where the heck I'm supposed to go better, but other than that, it a great zombie game to play.
  88. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    9.5 - Probably one of the best game sequels of all time. Left 4 Dead 2 makes everything from the first upgraded, only with new special infected and new awesome characters. Campaign quality is equally as good as the first and the Steam workshop have done a really good job on additional content. On top of all this, multiplayer was professionally made and has very minimal flaws.
  89. Jul 1, 2017
    9
    이 게임은 혁명적인 협동 플레이 방식을 보여줬다.더 많이 갈수록 긴장감이 높아지고 각족 무기들을 사용하는 재미가 쏠쏠하다. 하지만 다른 좀비게임과 마찬가지로 이 게임도 금방 질린다. 하지만 각종 모드를 하는 재미 때문에 다시3년이 지나도 4년이 지나도 할 게임같다.
  90. Oct 25, 2017
    9
    可能是目前最好、以后也是最好的丧尸题材FPS合作游戏

    +前无古人,暂时也后无来者的ai导演系统 +恰到好处的配乐 +超强的扩展性 +较为稳定的在线人数 +大多数电脑的集显都能带的动的游戏 +低配置下的极致画质表现 +成熟、平衡的游戏机制 +好友开黑/合作pve的典范 +竞技性优秀的对抗 -大bug很少见,但是小bug很多 -独自游玩的乐趣较少 入手建议:十分建议收藏,淘宝的库存应该很多,几瓶汽水的钱,不买不是人系列XD。
    可能是目前最好、以后也是最好的丧尸题材FPS合作游戏

    +前无古人,暂时也后无来者的ai导演系统
    +恰到好处的配乐
    +超强的扩展性
    +较为稳定的在线人数
    +大多数电脑的集显都能带的动的游戏
    +低配置下的极致画质表现
    +成熟、平衡的游戏机制
    +好友开黑/合作pve的典范
    +竞技性优秀的对抗

    -大bug很少见,但是小bug很多
    -独自游玩的乐趣较少

    入手建议:十分建议收藏,淘宝的库存应该很多,几瓶汽水的钱,不买不是人系列XD。

    求生之路一个创造性的举动无疑就是采用了ai导演系统。制作者从《军团要塞》这类的传统fps对抗游戏中获取了灵感,让这个系统来调节游戏的节奏,带给玩家每次游玩都是截然不同的体验。该系统的特色就是会根据玩家的状态来调整感染者的进攻节奏,并且游戏中感染者没有固定的刷新点,只要是生还者视线盲区就能刷怪,因此求生之路2的地图耐玩性可能时至今日都是首屈一指的。同时,游戏的bgm也有专门的导演系统,配乐会配合爱导演系统进行变动,本身就优秀的配乐能让玩家更有代入感。

    创意工坊和第三方mod网站里的mod数不胜数,找不到你感兴趣的mod是不可能的。最基础的无疑就是各种模型和贴图,给予了你的求生高度的个性化选择,之后,当个性化也不能满足你时,第三方地图和模式无疑又能给你更多不一样的体验。甚至,当你感兴趣,你还可以自制属于你的mod。由于开发者对于mod的支持,制作一个求生的mod并不是难事。甚至可以说求生之所以长寿很大程度上得益于其自由度极高的扩展性。

    求生配置多低,已经不必多说了,如果你的电脑还带不动求生,那真的没救了。但是,把虽然老但是成熟的source引擎的性能压榨到了极致极致的L4D2画质依然不差——而且随便一台中端的电脑都能全高效跑上百帧。虽然画质在今天称不上很牛逼,但也没什么可以挑的骨头了。何况,别忘了玩家们会自制高清模组呢。

    当然,作为一款合作游戏,如果你是独自玩耍,必然会失去太多乐趣。除非你是要练习技术去打对抗或者高难度战役,不然一般人在熟悉游戏以后很难找到理由在没车队的时候点开求生——除非你是背板党,或者你是哪种单纯享受过关快感的玩家,又或者你是为了录视频……

    作为一个十多年前的游戏,引擎固然优秀但是依然略显老态。游戏中一些小细节比如双脚不着地时是没有硬直影响的、小僵尸在蹲下的时候不会有硬直等等,但这些小bug并不会造成太大的影响,最多只是让你撞下彩吃下亏。只要心态不蹦,这点小缺点基本可以无视。甚至在大佬眼里,这些不是小缺点,而是可以利用的小技巧。

    总而言之,这游戏,真的值得你去收藏。
    Expand
  91. Mar 19, 2018
    9
    breabarahraebaerbaerbaerbeaaerbea....................321423141234124124124124123412431242gregGAREGARGAGEAGARGAGRAREGEAEG
  92. lolseriosuly?
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    Left 4 Dead 2 is a big improvement over the first, mostly because of the better levels and more powerful, more diverse zombies. There are five levels, all of them are pretty good, although 3 of the 5 are really the best in my opinion, Hard Rain and Swamp Fever are a little mediocre. The new zombies, especially the Charger and the Spitter, make it much easier to break up tight groups of Left 4 Dead 2 is a big improvement over the first, mostly because of the better levels and more powerful, more diverse zombies. There are five levels, all of them are pretty good, although 3 of the 5 are really the best in my opinion, Hard Rain and Swamp Fever are a little mediocre. The new zombies, especially the Charger and the Spitter, make it much easier to break up tight groups of survivors and make more difficult for survivors to bunker up in a corner to fight a wave of zombies. Melee weapons are a great addition, and Valve seems to have learned from the mistakes of the first game by making multiplayer more balanced and devoid of any annoying exploits. This game makes it seem like Valve was taken a bit by surprise at the competitive, and large, interest in multiplayer in the first game and has planned for it in this game. Valve Official Servers and other sometime Mod servers have all been fun for me. I have actually played on some really fun custom mod servers (more powerful special infected, new gun skins, special infected ghosts can fly or choose type of special infected). All in all I love this game. Expand
  93. BenM.
    Feb 4, 2010
    8
    Pretty good game. Strong emphasis on teamwork when playing infected or survivors. Kind of annoying when you get stuck with bad teammates in online play, but thats not the games fault. Only problem is it can be hard to get a survival or scavenge games and even with above the min cpu spec requirements when theres a horde on you it slows. Still they are just minor problems which aren't Pretty good game. Strong emphasis on teamwork when playing infected or survivors. Kind of annoying when you get stuck with bad teammates in online play, but thats not the games fault. Only problem is it can be hard to get a survival or scavenge games and even with above the min cpu spec requirements when theres a horde on you it slows. Still they are just minor problems which aren't really the developers fault. Overall great multiplayer game, even better to LAN with friends if you have some... Its worth a buy, it's a riot. Would buy this over MW2 on the basis on multiplayer. To point out something stupid said on a previous comment by "Onslaught" he is crying about not have a radar? dude seriously, It's a zombie apocalypse.. do you just find radars lying around the streets which will locate zombies? Didn't think so.. and also he cries about friendly fire scaling up as the difficulty increases, then later on says that friendly fire is one of the games good points? WTF I wish parents would stop letting their 12 yr old kids use make use of interwebs... its annoying. Expand
  94. SacroiD
    Feb 6, 2010
    8
    L4D2 adds a lot ofun! There are some bugs that maybe can be pretty annoying. But the addition of new weapons (also melee weapons), new characters, some more special zombies adds a lot of fun to the game compared to the first L4D. The game is linear, but you wont notice that a lot while you are playing because of the zombie hordes you're killing and the expirience it's amazing! L4D2 adds a lot ofun! There are some bugs that maybe can be pretty annoying. But the addition of new weapons (also melee weapons), new characters, some more special zombies adds a lot of fun to the game compared to the first L4D. The game is linear, but you wont notice that a lot while you are playing because of the zombie hordes you're killing and the expirience it's amazing! The Multiplayer has improved (not a lot), you can control the Charger (new special zombie) wich is very fun to control! You can still control the Boomer in the Versus mode, wich I find useless, but this game deserves an 8/10 ! Expand
  95. Cyph3rPunk
    Mar 22, 2010
    8
    While this is an amazing game, there are WAY too many problems with it to warrant a 10. Charger hit detection is way off (due to how the Source engine processes hits), jockey is a fail class, only useful against scrubs, and (unfortunately) the community, just to name a few things. To those who say this should have been DLC: 5 completely new maps, new weapons, all new voice acting, new AI While this is an amazing game, there are WAY too many problems with it to warrant a 10. Charger hit detection is way off (due to how the Source engine processes hits), jockey is a fail class, only useful against scrubs, and (unfortunately) the community, just to name a few things. To those who say this should have been DLC: 5 completely new maps, new weapons, all new voice acting, new AI Director, and new ammo types/throwables. What more could you want in a new game? Everyone buys Dat Madden every year with only minor upgrades and roster changes, but nobody bitches about that. Expand
  96. KM
    Dec 26, 2009
    8
    Overall a good game. The first one seemed a bit more polished and to be honest I miss the grainy darkness of it compared to the daytime in New Orleans on this one. A few things I dislike: Grenade launchers. I also feel like they messed up Versus. Hunters don't seem to work properly. Way too many health kits spawn. Defib units should be left out of the versus games (they were Overall a good game. The first one seemed a bit more polished and to be honest I miss the grainy darkness of it compared to the daytime in New Orleans on this one. A few things I dislike: Grenade launchers. I also feel like they messed up Versus. Hunters don't seem to work properly. Way too many health kits spawn. Defib units should be left out of the versus games (they were obviously added for realism mode anyways). Melee weapons seem overpowered at times as there doesn't deem to be any difference between them. They messed up tanks turning them rather weak, i have a hard time with a tank dying to being whapped with a frying pan. The specials spawn too often making it feel more like a mutant instead of a zombie game. Don't get me wrong though, the game is good. I do like the addition of melee weapons though it feels like they need to be adjusted some. I love scavenger, which i find to be more fun than regular versus. The new weapons are fun and I like the fact that there's some variety in the new finales instead of just zombie wave, tank, zombie wave, run. Still, the game could use some work. Maybe they'll get it right next November in L4D3. (haha) Expand
  97. WalterG.
    Feb 23, 2010
    8
    This game is pretty much a love/hate game becouse its a sequel of a great game, but with some changed properties. I didnt buy L4D and thats maybe why i like this game. Graphics are very good but some animations doesnt seem right, like zombies' punches are pretty slow. I think the reason why they didnt put a RADAR was becouse a RADAR makes it so much easier for rushers. I agree with This game is pretty much a love/hate game becouse its a sequel of a great game, but with some changed properties. I didnt buy L4D and thats maybe why i like this game. Graphics are very good but some animations doesnt seem right, like zombies' punches are pretty slow. I think the reason why they didnt put a RADAR was becouse a RADAR makes it so much easier for rushers. I agree with Onslaught that there is a awful damage output on firearms, compered to melee weapons. The add-on feature is great but you need to download much to play them. Two things i absolutely hate about this game is the bots and the servers etc.. I got clawed and killed by a witch and my bots are just standing aside or grabbing ammo. The server selection is not that good. You cant choose which game you'll enter so that is very hard to return to the same server. Also, I always find myself alone against 4 other players on versus. Or then my ping is 300 or more. But becouse i fixed those problems by replacing my wireless connection with a cable and editing some of my internet-settings, it wont lower my score. Great gameplay with new special infected and good effects and campaigns. Some things like finding defibrillator in a hotel or in the swamps and fuealtanks in a mall seems unrealistic. So why i gave 8/10 was great graphics, gameplay, features and level design. Some downsides are few animations, unrealistical item placements and stupid bots Expand
  98. kinkalor
    Feb 9, 2010
    8
    I was a big fan of L4D 1 and now have L4D2. I have been playing for a while and feel that not as much work was put into L4D2. There are some rough corners, some glitching and lag, where sometimes your shots dont register. Left For Dead 2 also did not seem to have the imagination put into it, the charecters are dull and don't develope. The difficulty of the games has incresed I was a big fan of L4D 1 and now have L4D2. I have been playing for a while and feel that not as much work was put into L4D2. There are some rough corners, some glitching and lag, where sometimes your shots dont register. Left For Dead 2 also did not seem to have the imagination put into it, the charecters are dull and don't develope. The difficulty of the games has incresed suffinciently. Although Left 4 dead 2 has several flaws, the setting is cool! Expand
  99. JimB
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    No save function in Single player marks this way down. I'm sick of playing the same levels over and over. Zombies materialize out of no where in parts of the game. The saving grace is the co-op play. If not for that I would have rated it much much lower.
  100. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    While this game can get boring, it's a near perfect example of a zombie apocalypse.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.