User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2297 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Controls get some taking used to, but memorable characters (especially Ellis) and plenty of fun against hordes of Infected make this game great. After 5 minutes of the Demo I was begging for more. Give me a Katana and an Assault Rifle and I will be laughing like a maniac as heads and limbs go rolling.
  2. DavidL
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This game is very enjoyable to play and rewarding in many ways. It has a much higher level of game mechanics than most shooters out there.
  3. Eltiarp
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    The game ot's a lot of fun, the Co-op it's sweet! the action it's unlimited, the fun it's on every corner and the improvemets makes this game the greatest co-op zombie shooter next to Killing floor
  4. BugsBunny
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    First of all, my english is not best. Second, I spent 240 hours plaing Left 4 Dead 2 and it's still fun. I don't know any other game that can be fun after so long playtime. I think Valve did great job and if you don't like it you don't have to buy it.
  5. simPC
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, Like DC-1 you can jump the second floor of the hotel, and thus cheat the infected from being able to reach you. But... that's minor. And I'm sure in Competitive (cal/cevo) play it's not allowed. And most casual gamers don't use the glitch, if they even know about it. Actually it seems like the Competitive teams are the one who use it, go figure. Anyway... this is obviously not an expansion, and in no way, shape, or form should of been a DLC. This should of definitely been a sequel. Rushed? Maybe... High Quality, Action Packed, Suspenseful, Fun, Co-Op Survival? ABSOLUTELY. Hands down, BEST ZOMBIE GAME TOO DATE. The original was already amazing, but this game definitely expanded the gameplay, and added a nice new story to it. Originally I was put off, thinking this might be a buggy piece of DLC trash with some Lipstick on it, But that is definitely not the case. You people crying need to find a girlfriend... Or get a job so you can earn some money to buy this game and stop being so jealous. And that's another thing... it's not like Valve is out to get your money, they make a quality game, and market it, If you don't want to buy it, DON'T. Simple as that, they aren't holding you up, they're selling a product that they worked hard on. And... all you people talking about Lazy Coding/Programming... I do it for a living, and all work done on this game is of High Quality. Sure sometimes you take shortcuts, but the new weapons and new uncommon common were done beautifully and in no-way did I feel like i was wielding the same weapon with a different skin, or fighting the same zombie with a different outfit. Bottom Line, Great game, WORTH EVERY PENNY Expand
  6. NathanJ.
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called an "expansion." Also, for you "tactical" "far superior" KF players. I play both. Comparing the two is like comparing TF2 to Counterstrike. Yes, they are both zombie survival shooters, but trust me in saying that they are different games with different playstyles. You have no business rating another game lower based on the fact that your game of choice has a different playstyle. I would buy KILLING FLOOR 2 if I wanted to play KILLING FLOOR 2! For all those who claim that there is "less story" in L4D2, what are they smoking. There is definitely more personality within the characters, and the campaigns actually coherently form a solid story. Great graphics, fun gameplay, and the fact that I can run it at 50 FPS on a four year old mid-range computer make this a classic for me. Killing Floor players, hope you have fun in your "infinately varied" same map cycle only one game type game. I will be joining you once I get tired of L4D2... oh wait, Bad company 2 will be out by then. Expand
  7. christianc
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not into zombie apocolipses thats nice. If you don't like the sequel STOP BITCHING ABOUT IT. Alright? Expand
  8. Anti-RageQuit
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    The only reason these kids are giving it a bad review is cuz this game isnt noob friendly. these are the kids that join the servers run away from the team get pounced by a hunter and die. This is what a true fps is suppose to be like. Its all about teamwork and fast reaction time. If you gave it a 1-7 its because you suck at this game no question about it.
  9. AllanH
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Guys. You do not find a better game. Left 4 Dead 2 is the funniest, most challenge(on expert), etc. It's the best game ever.. Run through a campaign making team-work is good. Read the other good ones.. Well, it's just a MUST BUY!
  10. FranciscoJ.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Para mí este juego es una auténtica pasada, grandes características que lo combierten en uno de los mejores lanzamientos del año. Sin duda alguna la forma más divertida de matar zombis sin sufrir malas consecuencias! Muy manejable y facil de jugar además de un gran modo online!
  11. JessicaS.
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    This has to be the most amazing game i've ever played, sadly, the campaigns valve created get simple and boring the 100th time through, but a good conquerer for that problem in l4dmaps.com. i love dpwnloading new campaigns and maps to play sround with! it makes the gaming experience a lot more enjoyable!
  12. JeffD.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It bring it back harder, stronger, more brutal and bloodthirsty than ever. There is not a single game on the market that gets people talking, yelling, sweating and gripping there controllers quite like this. Every aspect of the game has just the right balance of tactics, run and gun, and all around bad-assery that can only be found in a game made by Valve. The new weapons, infected, uncommons, grenades, maps, locations, crescendos, and finales all flow seamlessly into the thriving and very much alive world of Left 4 Dead. The entire experience feels like a movie. So my advice? Saddle up, get yourself a copy, and prepare to white knuckle your way through the ride of your lifetime. Expand
  13. ThomasB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was worth every penny and more. The new game adds much new balance with expert and realsim being the next part of that. Unlike L4D's expert - L4D2's really takes some skill with the new SI on the side. Realisim adds a whole new part to the game. It takes part most the in the campgain " Hard Rain " as you can get lost easily, taking part in the sugar mill level most. This time valve made the story more clear - this takes part most in dead center - for example if you use the " look " command on a player the character calls them by things such as " miss " to rochelee and " Mr gambling man " to nick. Untill the elevator scene where they all learn each others names - and then start to call each other by their real names. Over all this deserves much more credit then it gets, and this game was only made in a year. Great game - a must buy. Collapse
  14. DanielR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    L4D was good but i hated the number of weapons u can get and the number of infected and L4D2 is like a BIG improvement better graphics new infected, And i really love the new weapons, like melee and my personal favourite Grenade launcher
  15. LiboW
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Nothing is perfect. Having said that, Left 4 Dead 2 challenges conventional team-based FPS with new special infected. Knowing that valve will continuously update and balance the game, Left 4 Dead 2 is a worthy investment.
  16. SilasD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Not just an expansion, a completely new experience! With the addition of more weapons that now include melee weapons, new characters to love, and of course, new gameplay modes: L4D2 is well worth it's price. Valve knows how to make a great online mutliplayer experience. I cannot stop playing this game!
  17. GustavoF
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    I dont know yet why people still talks about L4D2 like a "DLC" a month after its release. Strange complains like "I got stuck through the levels" (?) looks dummier. Does this people really played the game more than 15 minutes? L4D2 makes the gaming experience of L4D1 even better IN EVERY POSSIBLE WAY without taking away the Left 4 Dead original style. New campaigns, new weapons, new I dont know yet why people still talks about L4D2 like a "DLC" a month after its release. Strange complains like "I got stuck through the levels" (?) looks dummier. Does this people really played the game more than 15 minutes? L4D2 makes the gaming experience of L4D1 even better IN EVERY POSSIBLE WAY without taking away the Left 4 Dead original style. New campaigns, new weapons, new characters, new special infected, and overall, a totally new way to play L4D. Awesome job, Valve. Expand
  18. michaels
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    i lurve this game. fun to the max for hours on end. the new zombies add a spectacular pizazz to a already awesome game. It seem to be more difficult than its predecessor but who doesn't like a challenge. Get it and MAN up, beat expert!!
  19. AndréP
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    No other zombie game can beat l4d2. First, new infected, new weapons, new campaigns, new survitvors, best graphics. Included scavenger and realism mode that are great. Added more items to heal ( adrenaline, and defibrilator). Added melle weapons ( chainsaw, machete, fying pan, weapon of the police( i dont now how its called). Awsome versus.
  20. shawnd
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    L4D2 was perhaps released to quickly for the major populace of L4D players around the world, but it was also done strategcally to grasp the players attention again while the game was in its prime. I think this accomplished two things, one, it made a killing financially, and two, it changed the dynamic of the game itself before dedicated players got to used to the gameplay of L4D1. This L4D2 was perhaps released to quickly for the major populace of L4D players around the world, but it was also done strategcally to grasp the players attention again while the game was in its prime. I think this accomplished two things, one, it made a killing financially, and two, it changed the dynamic of the game itself before dedicated players got to used to the gameplay of L4D1. This new dynamic is definitely a lot more thought out that it was in L4D1, which looking back, seems like more of an experament than anything. However, if there is one gaming company that deserves my 10 on their game, it is valve. This game gets a 10 out of 10 from me. Expand
  21. HansM
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    If you liked L4D, you will love L4D2. Better game dynamics, more SI, more weapons. This game is significantly more difficult than L4D1. Expert Realism mode will make you empty your bladder.
  22. AdlaiH
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. I only played a bit of L4D1 and thought it was decent. L4D2 takes it to a whole new level and completely fleshes it out. Fantastic.
  23. TeddyBear
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Left4Dead 2 is great, even better than the first. They improved so much...additional weapons, more special infected and campaign challenges. The melee weapons are just fun, period (chainsaw, hehe). The spitters force the group split up by running from the acid, the charger can take out the entire team, the jockey, though hilarious, can be a menace. As for the campaigns, wow, running along Left4Dead 2 is great, even better than the first. They improved so much...additional weapons, more special infected and campaign challenges. The melee weapons are just fun, period (chainsaw, hehe). The spitters force the group split up by running from the acid, the charger can take out the entire team, the jockey, though hilarious, can be a menace. As for the campaigns, wow, running along a roller coaster, making your way through a building infested with witches, or a parking lot completely stocked with alarm cars, and Hard Rain, having to conserve items for the run back to the boat. I can go on and on about how fun this game is, but I won't. Go find out for yourself. Happy Hunting Expand
  24. HarryR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Played first part already, and was not satisfied when i heared of a full-priced release by valve. but now i must admit, that it is one of the best games i have ever played, considered the fun you have with a couple of friends. Would it be a single player game, it would get some 6 or 7 points for the scenario. but fun only starts with friends coming along.
  25. BrunoB
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect there are some bugs but it is because it is pretty new. So... You've got to play at least 1 day to understand everything.
  26. PsiSonic
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    for all of you guys out there thinking left 4 dead 2 is garbage or just a complete waste of time, l4d2 is way better in so many ways than the first one. Some say that the game is bad because there are some day and night scenes in the game making it less scary. Valve wanted to make the game as realistic as possible. I found out that adding melee weapons were quite useful when getting out for all of you guys out there thinking left 4 dead 2 is garbage or just a complete waste of time, l4d2 is way better in so many ways than the first one. Some say that the game is bad because there are some day and night scenes in the game making it less scary. Valve wanted to make the game as realistic as possible. I found out that adding melee weapons were quite useful when getting out of a horde. Expand
  27. KyleH
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    By far one of the best games I have ever played. I have read some of the negative comments and I think it is really absurd. They are treating this game way too realistically. In fact, I have never really cared for the small stuff to begin with because I was trying to survive throughout the game. Frankly speaking, you just don't have the time to be looking at small details. The main By far one of the best games I have ever played. I have read some of the negative comments and I think it is really absurd. They are treating this game way too realistically. In fact, I have never really cared for the small stuff to begin with because I was trying to survive throughout the game. Frankly speaking, you just don't have the time to be looking at small details. The main reason why I give this game a 10 is because of co-op. Team work is extremely crucial if you want to survive and beat the campaign. It took me almost 100 hours to beat all the campaigns on expert. Yeah I suck, but I had a great time. If you really want to feel a sense of accomplishment don't play the game on lower difficulty, play it on expert! It just takes away the fun if you play on easy, normal or advanced. In my opinion the re playability of this game is great. Expand
  28. GuillaumeL.
    Feb 21, 2010
    10
    This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The difficulty level of the Expert Realism mode is simply fantastic, being a challenge every time you play it, not matter how good you are... and if it's became boring to you, please friend me, I need you haha. Expand
  29. Justblazed
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    The only reason these kids are giving it a bad review is cuz this game isnt noob friendly. these are the kids that join the servers run away from the team get pounced by a hunter and die. This is what a true fps is suppose to be like. Its all about teamwork and fast reaction time. If you gave it a 1-7 its because you suck at this game no question about it. Go play a game that is easy like COD.
  30. JuanC
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    Excellent game. Its left 4 dead with a lot more replayability. I understand some of the younger audience are upset due to lack of newbie friendly features. However there are plenty of games out there for kids already. L4D2 is aimed at adults and has a lot of character and charm which I beleive makes up for lack of features like save games and radar!
  31. MattyO
    Apr 18, 2010
    10
    OMG why does all Dislike this one, Do you guys even played the game? all of thoese faggots Rating this 0-6 is some fucktards that doesn't know the gameplay at all, YOU HAVE TO USE TEAMWORK with your friends, if you don't have any friends then i understand that! Asshole THis game isn't made for Kids! play some Flash games! and all of those faggots that says, OMG why does all Dislike this one, Do you guys even played the game? all of thoese faggots Rating this 0-6 is some fucktards that doesn't know the gameplay at all, YOU HAVE TO USE TEAMWORK with your friends, if you don't have any friends then i understand that! Asshole THis game isn't made for Kids! play some Flash games! and all of those faggots that says, ''it's the same game, there is almost no diffences'' the first game only had 11 weapons ( and yes i have played the first, Awesome game) overall this game is great, but you will maybe need a friend to play with just to make it a bit more fun. Expand
  32. merc9861
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    The l4d games are just pure awesome, no other way to put it. its like being able to actually interact with a true horror movie. hard rain is my personal favorite campaign, it has that true deserted/ somethings watching you feel, not to mention the storm effects are amazing, but all the campaigns are good in their own individual ways, one thing i really like better in 2 is that it has more The l4d games are just pure awesome, no other way to put it. its like being able to actually interact with a true horror movie. hard rain is my personal favorite campaign, it has that true deserted/ somethings watching you feel, not to mention the storm effects are amazing, but all the campaigns are good in their own individual ways, one thing i really like better in 2 is that it has more of a connected story, explaining how they got to each location, i'd recommend this game to anyone whi wants a good thrill. Expand
  33. WalterF.
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    This game is truly amazing. It is godlike. It is more epic than an oil tanker full of epicness. Boycotters have only money to complain over like little girls now but it's well worth the money anyway. Tons of new weapons, even two different pistols to use at once. The variety of guns makes the game a whole lots more fun and enjoyable. On top of this they added in melee weapons. I mean This game is truly amazing. It is godlike. It is more epic than an oil tanker full of epicness. Boycotters have only money to complain over like little girls now but it's well worth the money anyway. Tons of new weapons, even two different pistols to use at once. The variety of guns makes the game a whole lots more fun and enjoyable. On top of this they added in melee weapons. I mean come on, a freakin' chainsaw. And a fire axe. The list goes on and on. And if those aren't awesome enough then the gore is. Grab your axe or whatever quenches your thirst for blood and chop up some zombies. When I say chop up I mean chop up. Valve has made it possible to actually cut of limbs, or chop zombies in half and even make incisions all over them. Even intestines fall everywhere. And teamwork is not forgotten in this game. Its not like you sprint away from everyone laughing because if a smoker or a hunter gets you you will go Chuck Norris and rip its tongue off... or slam it onto the ground and start ripping its chest to pieces. No. Teamwork is still involved to survive these levels. The graphics are great I find, and the environment is well detailed. Facial detail is stunning. Voice acting is great and the mouths move exactly to the words. The survivor AI could be better but they still do as needed and heal you when your low on health. Skins are fantastic, the zombies looks great . They look a lot more like your 28 days later type zombie and the animations are perfect. They run at you like they want to tear your face off. Which they do. The new SI are very imaginative and counter tactics survivors attempt thus you have to think harder to survive. Online is great fun and adds to the enjoyability of the game. With plenty of new game-mods to try out it adds a great competitive online gaming community. The single-player campaigns are extremely re-playable and almost all of them have some humor and way more tension. There is more story line in this than L4D as L4D was some survivors blasting through zombies (which I have to admit was a totally awesome game) whereas L4D2 makes each consecutive campaign a follow-up in some sort of a storyline (at least more so than L4D) and the final campaign finale acts like a whole game finale unlike L4D. Great game all in all 10/10 as "great game" was a complete understatement. Amazing game! 10/10! Expand
  34. ab
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Captures the spirit of the first one and adds a lot of new things. If you've got friends and want to have a good time with them, by all means, buy this.
  35. MitchS
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Improves on the first in nearly every way. Single player AI is sometimes questionable, but hey, who plays this for the single player anyway?
  36. JordandD
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    not just an expansion pack... its *sniff* perfection. although for anyone inexperienced... you may want to get help with versus
  37. TobiasN
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    I sinserely disagree with all "it-should-have-been-an-DLC" talk. This game is awesome, addictive and full of ultimate multiplayer fun!
  38. Proximo
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    I dont need many words to say how good this game is. For myself its the best Coop-Game i ever played and also far better than L4D1!
  39. ElishaH
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    L4D2 is a great game and is different from the original because there's alot more to it. First of theres 5 brand new campaigns on release instead of the 4 in the original. All of the campaigns are very long and will take some time to complete evan on easy difficulty. All of these campaigns have 4 or 5 chapters. There's a lot more content in game aswell, there's cool stuff L4D2 is a great game and is different from the original because there's alot more to it. First of theres 5 brand new campaigns on release instead of the 4 in the original. All of the campaigns are very long and will take some time to complete evan on easy difficulty. All of these campaigns have 4 or 5 chapters. There's a lot more content in game aswell, there's cool stuff like incendiary and explosive ammo, puke in a vile and adrenaline. There's also a big variety of new weapons, like grenade launchers , shotgun, rifles, snipers, pistols, the biggest new group of weapons is the melee weapons and boy are they amazing. Some melee weapons are chainsaw (has a limited petrol and can not be refilled but is very effective against tanks and all enemy's), axes, ninja swords, frying pans and guitars etc. And to make the melee action more intense they made it incredibly gory compared to the original. Blood goes everywhere when attacking with a melee. There are also a few new special infected such as the charger, spitter, jokey and the witch can now WALK. There are also uncommon common infected which are exclusive to each of the campaings, some of these include mudmen (crawl along the ground and when you get attacked by one of these, some mud goes al over your screen), police (with bullet proof armour) and men in fire proof suits (fire proof!) . They have also added new modes witch are called realism (makes the game more realistic and harder, no glowing lines around teammates) and scavenger (Like versus where the survivors have to go round the map to find fuel cans and bring them back to a generator ect to fill it up. And some 4 players can be special infected and play as the new once, and they have to try to stop the survivors getting the fuel). The new survivors are actually good and funny, they make the game different from the original. The survivor AI (bots) are worse than in the last game becuase when your getting attackes by a charger, hunter, smoker or jokey they just stand right next to you and attack the very few common inffected. I have also had a problem on the parish campaingn where the uncommon common infected are police men with bullet proof armour (there 75% bullet proof). I had a melee weapn which is supposed to be the only way to kill the police, I kept attacking one of them but he would not die untill a team mate SHOT him. Hope there will be mroe downloadale content for this one. There's also a lot more great achivements. This is a great game and is very addictive! Expand
  40. HiTBiT
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Words can't describe how awesome this game is! If you like the first game you will love this. More zombies, more weapons, more everything. And wait to see the storm, and the concert fight at the carnival.
  41. DennisF
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    It is Amazing how all people who rated this game 0, only played the left4dead 2 demo. Their arguments showing signs of Blind Raging Boycotter Arguments. Left4dead2 is Deffinitly worth a sequel. It is way better then left4dead1. Because the new Infected and weapons, the game is way more fun to play and way more balanced when playing versus. The new daylight campaigns gives more a feeling It is Amazing how all people who rated this game 0, only played the left4dead 2 demo. Their arguments showing signs of Blind Raging Boycotter Arguments. Left4dead2 is Deffinitly worth a sequel. It is way better then left4dead1. Because the new Infected and weapons, the game is way more fun to play and way more balanced when playing versus. The new daylight campaigns gives more a feeling of an Infection rather then zombies wandering in the night. And to people whining about "OMG What did valve do to the Australian version" I say: Don't blame valve, blame your government. Expand
  42. HervéG
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best I've played in a long time. I already loved Left 4 Dead 1, but this one is even better in every way. The game is longer and more difficult, Graphics are amazing, gameplay is much more complex (more SI, and they are smart and really work together now), environments are more varied and often really awesome, there are a lot of aw moments in the game, there This game is one of the best I've played in a long time. I already loved Left 4 Dead 1, but this one is even better in every way. The game is longer and more difficult, Graphics are amazing, gameplay is much more complex (more SI, and they are smart and really work together now), environments are more varied and often really awesome, there are a lot of aw moments in the game, there is a story we can follow even if it is a multiplayer game built to be played a lot of times (which is really something new in FPS gaming). Don't listen to those who are saying that this game brings no innovation because it is called Left 4 Dead 2 and builds on the same basis as the first: There are only two games that are evfen remotely like that, Left 4 Dead, and Left 4 Dead 2. If we say that this game does not innovate, we should also say that all First Person Shooters are the same. And Realism mode is a blast. And I really love the new survivors. Expand
  43. TiesW
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead 2 was high on my list this year, and it appears my expecations were right; this game is the best multiplayer game ever! Not only does it include a lot of features to just play with a couple of friends, but the new modes also gave our clan a lot more possibilities! Good job VALVe!
  44. CamerenW
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Love this game, it's definitely something to play to take anger out or have a night of zombie killing.
  45. RZ
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Left 4 Dead 2 is absolutely amazing. While the first one finally made zombie games actually scary (the zombies look even scarier now), was a good first-person shooter, and the best co-op game of the whole year, the second one takes all of those from before and greatly expands upon it. It adds a much larger slew of weapons and equipment, which serves to mix things up a bit and makes things Left 4 Dead 2 is absolutely amazing. While the first one finally made zombie games actually scary (the zombies look even scarier now), was a good first-person shooter, and the best co-op game of the whole year, the second one takes all of those from before and greatly expands upon it. It adds a much larger slew of weapons and equipment, which serves to mix things up a bit and makes things more fresh, particularly with the addition of melee weapons. It makes all new Campaigns that have MUCH more originality and difference that in the first game, makes Crescendos actually interesting (it frequently isn't just "hold out for 2 minutes" anymore)... The finales are all pretty interesting, too. In Dead Center, you have to fuel up a car with gas cans that are scattered all around the area on different floors to escape. In The Parish, you actually have to run across a bridge and get to the end to survive. All of these things serve the purpose of making Left 4 Dead less repetitive, and it sure as heck does. Additionally, there is the introduction of three new Special Infected, which all serve their different purposes; with the Spitter, it's putting the nail in the coffin on the all-too-common and all-too-effective strategy of "stacking" that was abused in L4D1. WIth the Charger, it's scattering a group of players and leaving them all vulnerable while also running off with one Survivor. With the Jockey, you are given complete control over where a Survivor goes, and thus you can scatter them from their group very effectively, even to the point of making them hang onto a ledge. Versus is even more fresh at this point, and suddenly, being a Hunter isn't super common and boring. Scavenge is a great new addition to the online multiplayer, which, while making your time as one team (Survivor or Infected) less annoying, also serves to make the game a whole heck of a lot less frustrating playing online. With Versus it's pretty serious business, with Scavenge it's just a short, nice game. Realism Mode really isn't a new mode at all, more just a new setting. It can be applied to any difficulty, and it makes Witches always instantly kill, makes bodyshots far less effective to the point of you wondering how this is "realism", and worst of all, removes all player glows, even when someone is puked on/pounced. It serves to make teamwork extremely vital and it makes you go for headshots as if it's Counter-Strike or something. While I do not particularly enjoy this mode, and I doubt many people do, it does bring up a new challenge to do, especially with the "The Real Deal" achievement. Speaking of achievements, the achievements in Left 4 Dead 2 are fantastic. Just like the original, they are extremely varied, most of them being fun, and you never have to go too far out of your way to get them. It also only has one repeat achievement from the first game, that being to beat all Campaigns on Expert, as it would be absurd not to include that. The achievements are weighted in such a way that they are mostly for Campaign play, but almost all of those can also be earned in Versus as well if you feel you are up to it. There are a few achievements for the new Scavenge mode that are fun to strive for, and while you can earn any Infected achievement in either Scavenge or Versus, there are some that are easier to earn in Versus and some that are easier to earn in Scavenge. There is a measly one achievement in Survival, which, while some might consider it a shame, I personally do not as it was not a very popular game type in the first place and is very unsatisfying in general. Thankfully, there is only one achievement for Realism, but good luck getting it, as it requires you to survive a Campaign on Expert with Realism mode enabled. Truly an achievement that takes much effort, showing that there is a good blend of achievements; from easy to insanely hard. In terms of the characters, Ellis has a ton of lines that most all quite humorous and entertaining. Nick's lines makes him the only believable character yet in the series. Coach is supposed to be some kind of leader and encourager but he frequently ends up coming off as just annoying. Rochelle is just a complainer who makes really lame jokes and she screams really, really annoyingly when she's incapacitated. So overall, I liked the Survivors better in the first, but Ellis is, without a doubt, a hilarious edition to the series, bringing up much of the comic relief in Left 4 Dead 2. Back on to Infected, it is even more fun now to play Infected, as it is more varied as to what you will be, and you can make a much bigger influence than before. In the first game, if a team was extremely good at sticking together, the worst thing you could send them was a Boomer, and even that proved quite ineffective frequently. Now, you can deal with Stackers and people who are good at grouping with the Spitter or Charger, which are both very much welcome additions to the game, as well as a blast to play, although the Charger can be extremely difficult to play. Another small edition to the game was "Uncommon Infected", which are basically Common Infected that have around 1/10 or so of a chance of spawning in the place of a Common Infected. They possess special abilities that are not terribly game-breaking, but once again, serve to make the game more fresh. There are Infected CEDA Agents/Hazmat Infected, which are fire-resistant and occasionally drop Bile Bombs, Clowns, which alert other Common Infected with their squeaky shoes, effectively creating miniature hordes, Mudmen, extremely dexterous, fast, and sneaky Infected that slightly obscure your screen with mud upon each hit, Worker Infected, which are tougher than Common Infected and are not attracted to Pipe Bombs, and Riot Cops, which are wearing bullet-proof kevlar, meaning that you have to shoot them in the back to actually kill them (yes, even headshots don't work, which is ridiculous). As far as bad things go, there are not, in my opinion, many problems with Left 4 Dead 2. There are, of course, many minor glitches that can really make you mad at the game, as L4D2 was clearly rushed. Don't get me wrong, it's rushed, but it still seems to be a very complete game. Another thing that is extremely annoying is that the Tank is probably only half as scary as it used to be; they're really slow, and on Expert, the only thing scary about them is their concrete throw, which still proves to be quite annoying. In Versus, it is extremely easy to backpedal a Tank even at yellow health without it catching up, and you can circle-strafe to a lot of effectiveness even at red health. While playing the Boomer, it is obvious that you can now not vomit through, for instance, Common Infected; which is just plain annoying and a pointless nerf. Also, something that is not really a negative but just something I will say; Valve really should work on their first-person animations. I'm sorry but when you're flying through the air after being punched by a Tank and your hands just plain disappear, that's just lazy and I think that showing a lot of different first-person animations serves to make the flow and integration of the game much better. AKA, Valve, please take lessons from Dice because they made Mirror's Edge and that game was absolutely fantastic at that. While I said before that the zombies look more scary now, the Tank is completely the opposite if you ask me. Sure they're not a whole heck of a lot different, but now they have... shiny abs? What the crap? So yes, the Tank is now less scary gameplay wise and appearance wise, which is kind of sad because they really used to just be plain scary. Another annoying thing that is similar is Witches. The Witches are just plain slow at responding now and you can kill them really easily due to them having a reaction time that was increased by probably a full second. This may not sound like much, but when it comes to first-person shooters, it is. Especially disappointing is the "Wandering Witches", which are supposed to be more easily disturbed but instead are actually even easier to avoid and react even slower despite the fact that they stand up. But besides a few little things, Left 4 Dead 2 overall is a fantastic game that is perfect for co-op with your friends off or online, playing against/with random people, and shooting zombies. Buy it, it's seriously amazing. Expand
  46. KingArthurIIIIIH
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Holey shit this is a long comment but i agree with it ------------->Left 4 Dead 2 is absolutely amazing. While the first one finally made zombie games actually scary (the zombies look even scarier now), was a good first-person shooter, and the best co-op game of the whole year, the second one takes all of those from before and greatly expands upon it. It adds a much larger slew of weapons Holey shit this is a long comment but i agree with it ------------->Left 4 Dead 2 is absolutely amazing. While the first one finally made zombie games actually scary (the zombies look even scarier now), was a good first-person shooter, and the best co-op game of the whole year, the second one takes all of those from before and greatly expands upon it. It adds a much larger slew of weapons and equipment, which serves to mix things up a bit and makes things more fresh, particularly with the addition of melee weapons. It makes all new Campaigns that have MUCH more originality and difference that in the first game, makes Crescendos actually interesting (it frequently isn't just "hold out for 2 minutes" anymore)... The finales are all pretty interesting, too. In Dead Center, you have to fuel up a car with gas cans that are scattered all around the area on different floors to escape. In The Parish, you actually have to run across a bridge and get to the end to survive. All of these things serve the purpose of making Left 4 Dead less repetitive, and it sure as heck does. Additionally, there is the introduction of three new Special Infected, which all serve their different purposes; with the Spitter, it's putting the nail in the coffin on the all-too-common and all-too-effective strategy of "stacking" that was abused in L4D1. WIth the Charger, it's scattering a group of players and leaving them all vulnerable while also running off with one Survivor. With the Jockey, you are given complete control over where a Survivor goes, and thus you can scatter them from their group very effectively, even to the point of making them hang onto a ledge. Versus is even more fresh at this point, and suddenly, being a Hunter isn't super common and boring. Scavenge is a great new addition to the online multiplayer, which, while making your time as one team (Survivor or Infected) less annoying, also serves to make the game a whole heck of a lot less frustrating playing online. With Versus it's pretty serious business, with Scavenge it's just a short, nice game. Realism Mode really isn't a new mode at all, more just a new setting. It can be applied to any difficulty, and it makes Witches always instantly kill, makes bodyshots far less effective to the point of you wondering how this is "realism", and worst of all, removes all player glows, even when someone is puked on/pounced. It serves to make teamwork extremely vital and it makes you go for headshots as if it's Counter-Strike or something. While I do not particularly enjoy this mode, and I doubt many people do, it does bring up a new challenge to do, especially with the "The Real Deal" achievement. Speaking of achievements, the achievements in Left 4 Dead 2 are fantastic. Just like the original, they are extremely varied, most of them being fun, and you never have to go too far out of your way to get them. It also only has one repeat achievement from the first game, that being to beat all Campaigns on Expert, as it would be absurd not to include that. The achievements are weighted in such a way that they are mostly for Campaign play, but almost all of those can also be earned in Versus as well if you feel you are up to it. There are a few achievements for the new Scavenge mode that are fun to strive for, and while you can earn any Infected achievement in either Scavenge or Versus, there are some that are easier to earn in Versus and some that are easier to earn in Scavenge. There is a measly one achievement in Survival, which, while some might consider it a shame, I personally do not as it was not a very popular game type in the first place and is very unsatisfying in general. Thankfully, there is only one achievement for Realism, but good luck getting it, as it requires you to survive a Campaign on Expert with Realism mode enabled. Truly an achievement that takes much effort, showing that there is a good blend of achievements; from easy to insanely hard. In terms of the characters, Ellis has a ton of lines that most all quite humorous and entertaining. Nick's lines makes him the only believable character yet in the series. Coach is supposed to be some kind of leader and encourager but he frequently ends up coming off as just annoying. Rochelle is just a complainer who makes really lame jokes and she screams really, really annoyingly when she's incapacitated. So overall, I liked the Survivors better in the first, but Ellis is, without a doubt, a hilarious edition to the series, bringing up much of the comic relief in Left 4 Dead 2. Back on to Infected, it is even more fun now to play Infected, as it is more varied as to what you will be, and you can make a much bigger influence than before. In the first game, if a team was extremely good at sticking together, the worst thing you could send them was a Boomer, and even that proved quite ineffective frequently. Now, you can deal with Stackers and people who are good at grouping with the Spitter or Charger, which are both very much welcome additions to the game, as well as a blast to play, although the Charger can be extremely difficult to play. Another small edition to the game was "Uncommon Infected", which are basically Common Infected that have around 1/10 or so of a chance of spawning in the place of a Common Infected. They possess special abilities that are not terribly game-breaking, but once again, serve to make the game more fresh. There are Infected CEDA Agents/Hazmat Infected, which are fire-resistant and occasionally drop Bile Bombs, Clowns, which alert other Common Infected with their squeaky shoes, effectively creating miniature hordes, Mudmen, extremely dexterous, fast, and sneaky Infected that slightly obscure your screen with mud upon each hit, Worker Infected, which are tougher than Common Infected and are not attracted to Pipe Bombs, and Riot Cops, which are wearing bullet-proof kevlar, meaning that you have to shoot them in the back to actually kill them (yes, even headshots don't work, which is ridiculous). As far as bad things go, there are not, in my opinion, many problems with Left 4 Dead 2. There are, of course, many minor glitches that can really make you mad at the game, as L4D2 was clearly rushed. Don't get me wrong, it's rushed, but it still seems to be a very complete game. Another thing that is extremely annoying is that the Tank is probably only half as scary as it used to be; they're really slow, and on Expert, the only thing scary about them is their concrete throw, which still proves to be quite annoying. In Versus, it is extremely easy to backpedal a Tank even at yellow health without it catching up, and you can circle-strafe to a lot of effectiveness even at red health. While playing the Boomer, it is obvious that you can now not vomit through, for instance, Common Infected; which is just plain annoying and a pointless nerf. Also, something that is not really a negative but just something I will say; Valve really should work on their first-person animations. I'm sorry but when you're flying through the air after being punched by a Tank and your hands just plain disappear, that's just lazy and I think that showing a lot of different first-person animations serves to make the flow and integration of the game much better. AKA, Valve, please take lessons from Dice because they made Mirror's Edge and that game was absolutely fantastic at that. While I said before that the zombies look more scary now, the Tank is completely the opposite if you ask me. Sure they're not a whole heck of a lot different, but now they have... shiny abs? What the crap? So yes, the Tank is now less scary gameplay wise and appearance wise, which is kind of sad because they really used to just be plain scary. Another annoying thing that is similar is Witches. The Witches are just plain slow at responding now and you can kill them really easily due to them having a reaction time that was increased by probably a full second. This may not sound like much, but when it comes to first-person shooters, it is. Especially disappointing is the "Wandering Witches", which are supposed to be more easily disturbed but instead are actually even easier to avoid and react even slower despite the fact that they stand up. But besides a few little things, Left 4 Dead 2 overall is a fantastic game that is perfect for co-op with your friends off or online, playing against/with random people, and shooting zombies. Buy it, it's seriously amazing. Expand
  47. DavidP
    Apr 26, 2010
    10
    L4D2 is much better value for your money than the original. Let's see. 3 new types of playable special infected; several new kinds of weapons; daytime campaigns (not just night); weather variations; greater variety of level design and objectives; new game modes; 5 campaigns in-the-box and a 6th campaign in a new, free DLC. The game is distinctly more polished than L4D. The story has L4D2 is much better value for your money than the original. Let's see. 3 new types of playable special infected; several new kinds of weapons; daytime campaigns (not just night); weather variations; greater variety of level design and objectives; new game modes; 5 campaigns in-the-box and a 6th campaign in a new, free DLC. The game is distinctly more polished than L4D. The story has a more polished beginning, and there is a clear connection between the end of each campaign and the beginning of the next one. My only complaint is that there are usually too few good spawn locations in versus mode; it seems like they completely ignored the issue of spawning in level design. Expand
  48. AndreiA.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Very well made, a ton of fun with anyone who i played with, friend or not (mostly not). The game is actually designed to get players to help each other and fight along side. For example if X is badly injured and you have a medikit, the game will actually hint you to heal the x player, and that is promoting team play, not only letting you to decide who deserves the medikit. Bravo VALVE. I Very well made, a ton of fun with anyone who i played with, friend or not (mostly not). The game is actually designed to get players to help each other and fight along side. For example if X is badly injured and you have a medikit, the game will actually hint you to heal the x player, and that is promoting team play, not only letting you to decide who deserves the medikit. Bravo VALVE. I would blind-foldedly choose this to be Game OF THE Year over Modern Warfare 2, having played them both. Expand
  49. mikew
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    I bought this game and played it for 6 hours straight. This game is MUCH better than l4d1. I thought l4d1 was great, btw. The graphics have gotten distinctly better. The physics react more realistically. Now when you shoot a zombie in the back, flesh will explode from the area you just shot revealing dripping flesh and bones. The map layouts are great. The are more multiplayer friendly I bought this game and played it for 6 hours straight. This game is MUCH better than l4d1. I thought l4d1 was great, btw. The graphics have gotten distinctly better. The physics react more realistically. Now when you shoot a zombie in the back, flesh will explode from the area you just shot revealing dripping flesh and bones. The map layouts are great. The are more multiplayer friendly than l4d1 maps. There are more areas and ways to ambush the survivors in multiplayer, plus more special infected to play with. The game doesn't seem like a rehash or something that was thrown together. It feels very polished and the levels are tremendous. For instance, in the first stage's finale, survivors must work together to grab 13 cannisters of fuel to start a car. They are all spread out and the survivors must work together to grab all fuel tanks and fill the car. The entire time 100's of zombies are coming at you. Me and my friends failed the first 4 times on normal lol. The AI is better too. Witches can climb, Tanks can open safehouse doors and the special infected coordinate their attacks so well you'd think you were playing an upper level clan. I am absolutely shocked at how great this game is. Valve has done it again! Expand
  50. DanP
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Improves in every way over the first game. More campaigns, more weapons, the addition of melee weapons, tons of new Special Infected, addition of uncommon infected, new multiplayer and co-op modes. All in all, a tremendous improvement over one of the best games out there. In essence, it retains the core of what made Left 4 Dead so excellent and addictive and multiplies that. Instead of Improves in every way over the first game. More campaigns, more weapons, the addition of melee weapons, tons of new Special Infected, addition of uncommon infected, new multiplayer and co-op modes. All in all, a tremendous improvement over one of the best games out there. In essence, it retains the core of what made Left 4 Dead so excellent and addictive and multiplies that. Instead of every "Panic Event" devolving into corner or closet camping, many of the new panic events force the team to keep on the go to end the waves of zombies! Brilliant level designs. Everything about the game is top-notch and exactly what we'd expect from Valve. 10/10, without question. Too bad no higher score can be given. Expand
  51. JanisA
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    I`m huge L4D1 fan I loved that game, but now new L4D2 have more zombie types, new/more weapons new maps... I hope soon will be out new DLC for this game... Awesome!
  52. AndrewOfHell
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Highly impressed with this game! I enjoyed the first one to a large extent but my main issue with L4D1 was it was just too repetitive, once you completed all the campaigns, screwed around in versus that was about it. I did not like having only 6 weapons to choose from, constantly meele+shooting with no other aspect. L4D2 basically improves L4D1 in virtually every aspect, and makes it much Highly impressed with this game! I enjoyed the first one to a large extent but my main issue with L4D1 was it was just too repetitive, once you completed all the campaigns, screwed around in versus that was about it. I did not like having only 6 weapons to choose from, constantly meele+shooting with no other aspect. L4D2 basically improves L4D1 in virtually every aspect, and makes it much more thrilling and exciting. My only minor complaint would be the few bugs in the game. Other than that? Well worth a go. Expand
  53. TobyM
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Now i've played alot of games and some games i find meh and some i really like and still give 9 or 8 and am pretty tough for a common user rater, but that said Left 4 dead 2 has really captured everything great about left 4 dead 1 and expanded it with the new infected, the maps are now more fun and rewarding and playing one game after the other doesn't get repatative - trust me Now i've played alot of games and some games i find meh and some i really like and still give 9 or 8 and am pretty tough for a common user rater, but that said Left 4 dead 2 has really captured everything great about left 4 dead 1 and expanded it with the new infected, the maps are now more fun and rewarding and playing one game after the other doesn't get repatative - trust me I know i've been playing it since the minute it was released. All in all i think left 4 dead 2 is a great game with the added gore vastly improved infected and map quality upgraded to the point near unreconisable to left 4 dead 1. Final quote - a MUST-buy game! I swear this game is a infinite resource of fun! Expand
  54. ZankF
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    I would have given 9.5 but that isn't available. There are some minor quibbles like the Grenade Launcher that can kill the suspension. O, somebody startled the witch, let's all shoot her quick, then: BOOM! Never mind, the guy with the GL got her. O, there's a tank, quick everybody shoot him. BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!. Never mind the guy with the GL got him. If your lucky he'll I would have given 9.5 but that isn't available. There are some minor quibbles like the Grenade Launcher that can kill the suspension. O, somebody startled the witch, let's all shoot her quick, then: BOOM! Never mind, the guy with the GL got her. O, there's a tank, quick everybody shoot him. BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!. Never mind the guy with the GL got him. If your lucky he'll blow you up too. I also think you should not be able to kill the witch so easily with the autoshotgun. Nevertheless, the game is so brilliant and entertaining that I still love it Expand
  55. NathanM
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    Completely original campaigns that can even change in what paths you use. L4D2 is the game of the year. By increasing the entertainment factor in every single way from its already amazing predecessor. Anybody who actually plays the game will realize that there is no way this game could be only DLC or an expansion, it had to be a sequel.
  56. [anonymous]
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Very good game and much better than the first one. Of course the boycotters downvotes the game, without even trying it first. Let this game live and the first one die.
  57. NickL
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Mario X absolutely doesn't know anything. This is an amazing game. New weapons and maps make this a great game. The new characters are great as well. It would of been better if they made it an expansion pack or add on though. I'd say wait till a lower price because it's not worth $60, wait till it's $40.
  58. PeterM
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    New characters, New weapons, New Infected, New campaign... People calling this game an expansion pack is completely wrong. And quoting a guy called Dick S complaining about the poster where your name "should come up", well you should really care about the fun factor not about presentation ... idiots. They may have spent not alot of time, but thats because they know what to do, they got New characters, New weapons, New Infected, New campaign... People calling this game an expansion pack is completely wrong. And quoting a guy called Dick S complaining about the poster where your name "should come up", well you should really care about the fun factor not about presentation ... idiots. They may have spent not alot of time, but thats because they know what to do, they got actors to voice the characters which take a while to do, and the zombies being decapitated in many different ways is spectacular to watch. They have tried to make this game more realistic in which sometimes they have achieved this by introducing daylight, which i think Dick S has not seen. The levels are also very realistic in which you have to FIND your way around not just and easy sprint and you've found your way to the saferoom. This game has introduced new tactics and new concepts in which the player has to think of a way around obstacles and work much more of a team. So it is a must have game. And do not listen to single minded people that say this game is an "expansion" because well it isn't Expand
  59. ChrisB
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    After playing this the first one is boring now. this is NOT an expansion its about 20 expansions tbh. if this is an expansion then so is Modern Warfare 2 and Assassins Creed 2 etc but nobody complains about them when they bring about a 10th of the amount of new stuff l4d2 brings. everything is improved SO MANY EXTRAS good level design, nice new infected, plenty of the uncommon infected After playing this the first one is boring now. this is NOT an expansion its about 20 expansions tbh. if this is an expansion then so is Modern Warfare 2 and Assassins Creed 2 etc but nobody complains about them when they bring about a 10th of the amount of new stuff l4d2 brings. everything is improved SO MANY EXTRAS good level design, nice new infected, plenty of the uncommon infected everything is so fun. Buy this game, game of the year by far. (p.s. i played l4d1 for 7 months so YES i have had enough experience to say this) Expand
  60. D.S.
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Congrats Dick S. , for being the dumbest dick of the day! First, your review seems as if you have only played the Demo; why do you rant over things that barely affect the gameplay? Its a COOP game. That means you're NOT SUPPOSED to play with all bots. Also, what was that bullshit about enjoying the environments? Completely illegitimate review. Second, learn better English; your Congrats Dick S. , for being the dumbest dick of the day! First, your review seems as if you have only played the Demo; why do you rant over things that barely affect the gameplay? Its a COOP game. That means you're NOT SUPPOSED to play with all bots. Also, what was that bullshit about enjoying the environments? Completely illegitimate review. Second, learn better English; your reading is horrible. Expand
  61. KevinZ
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    It baffles me that people are downrating this game because "it doesn't add anything." Let me address some of the concerns of Dick S: The extra guns do in fact add a lot to the game- who could you say that they don't vary from the first one, which had 7 weapons? The new one has an AK-47, which, for example, fires slower than the M16 but has more stopping power. It also adds It baffles me that people are downrating this game because "it doesn't add anything." Let me address some of the concerns of Dick S: The extra guns do in fact add a lot to the game- who could you say that they don't vary from the first one, which had 7 weapons? The new one has an AK-47, which, for example, fires slower than the M16 but has more stopping power. It also adds things like the tactical Desert Rifle, a very accurate gun that fires 3 bullet bursts, and a more powerful shotgun that reloads more quickly. It is equally ridiculous to say the melee weapons are all the same, as the frying pan, for example, has a wider swing but does much less damage than the machete. Oh yeah, and how about the freaking CHAINSAW??? I love the new campaigns- Valve makes very interesting design choices, such as having you make move through two maps, get fuel on the third, and come back through the same beginning maps (this time in a storm). Since you must pass through each safe house twice, you must consider whether to take medkits and grenades now, or save them for next time. The game is filled with such interesting tweaks, and how anyone could call for all this to be released as free DLC is beyond me. Oh yeah, and Dick- there isn't any incendiary ammo or laser sights in the first game, what are you even talking about? Expand
  62. RossKiller
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Ive played l4d1 on PC since release, loved it to bits. The second they released L4D1 they started on L4D2, valve costantly improve everything (currently working on human-like AI) But this game is everything l4d1 has BUT improved, you dont buy left 4 dead 1 then left 4 dead 2, you just buy the second one as its just perfected almost completely. The scenery is amazing, there are hundreds of Ive played l4d1 on PC since release, loved it to bits. The second they released L4D1 they started on L4D2, valve costantly improve everything (currently working on human-like AI) But this game is everything l4d1 has BUT improved, you dont buy left 4 dead 1 then left 4 dead 2, you just buy the second one as its just perfected almost completely. The scenery is amazing, there are hundreds of ways for zombies to die (though you dont think it) and never the same common zombie, the new guns are different the melee weapons dont do the same damage, there is a t1 and t2 and "special" melee weapon(s) if you cant find your way through a level then well you've never played l4d1 the map design is AMAZING this game has given me the most replay value EVER you can never get bored with it. I played it for Xbox and i must say, its not half as good as on PC, PC is faster paced more challenging its so much better. It sucks that germany and australia dont get to experiance the amazing gore (You can see almost every organ in the zombies body, or even see a zombie stumble holding his gut while his intestines are rolling on the floor). The AI sucks yes but its a team game and if you buy the game, play single player / campaign your missing out on 99% of the game which is versus. Expand
  63. tibetanpunk
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Compared to the first l4d game, this one is a much more refined experience, greatly improved graphics, insane levels of gore, many more weapons (guns + really satisfying melee weapons), larger levels, new (and very fun) special infected, the new scavenge vs game-type is great fun and easy to just jump into for a few quick games if you don't have the time for a full on campaign vs Compared to the first l4d game, this one is a much more refined experience, greatly improved graphics, insane levels of gore, many more weapons (guns + really satisfying melee weapons), larger levels, new (and very fun) special infected, the new scavenge vs game-type is great fun and easy to just jump into for a few quick games if you don't have the time for a full on campaign vs mode match. The game is overall, much more fun than the original, with more content out of the box in terms of campaigns, game modes, variety of weapons and special infected. Lastly, the people voting this game with 0s or 1s are not giving balanced opinions and seem to merely be trying to 'sabotage' the games meta-score. I have played killing floor and found it to be a really boring experience and every game I played was full of players with 'l33t' attitudes, nerd-dictators, that take computer games way to seriously and like to shout at and order other people around... I encountered plenty of them in l4d, but strangely, none in l4d2 yet... Hopefully they won't buy the game. Expand
  64. JP
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Best game ever, very intense. Tons of replay value as well. Do not miss this game!
  65. NikoJ
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    I dont think I have ever had more fun with a computer game than I have had with this. A blast from beginning to end!!
  66. JimmyD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Tons of fun. I like Killing Floor and L4D1 as well. Killing Floor has different gameplay. Yeah, you shoot zombies in both and both are fun. L4D2 has been fun, I've played it non-stop since the release with absolutely no issues on a three-year old computer with a mid-range video card (9800GT).
  67. BryanC
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Fantastic evolution of the original game. The new special infected add some much needed tactical prowess to the infected team in VS, allowing them to attack survivors in situations where they'd normally be completely secure in the first game. The crescendo events are much more varied and intense, relying less on the now stale "hit a button and camp" situations that dominated l4d1. Fantastic evolution of the original game. The new special infected add some much needed tactical prowess to the infected team in VS, allowing them to attack survivors in situations where they'd normally be completely secure in the first game. The crescendo events are much more varied and intense, relying less on the now stale "hit a button and camp" situations that dominated l4d1. Environments are much more detailed and varied, with some nice interactive touches (carnival games, anyone?) L4D1 was a great game, but felt a little more like a "proof of concept" than a fully matured title. This game takes everything and dials it up to 11, fleshing out the concept and providing a robust and matured gameplay experience. Hate all you want on the 1 year dev cycle or the price (easily mitigated by getting a 4 pack with friends), this game beats the first in all categories. Expand
  68. AdamS
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    The game is Superb! A whole new apocalypse, more weapons, new Infected types that change the game play completely, L4D2 is NOTHING compared to L4D1, I must admit I miss the atmosphere of L4D1, although it's a whole new game with a whole new set of weapons to 0wn Zombies with, from Chainsaws to Magnum Pistols, it doesn't get any better than this! -- A note to BOYCOTTERS: The game The game is Superb! A whole new apocalypse, more weapons, new Infected types that change the game play completely, L4D2 is NOTHING compared to L4D1, I must admit I miss the atmosphere of L4D1, although it's a whole new game with a whole new set of weapons to 0wn Zombies with, from Chainsaws to Magnum Pistols, it doesn't get any better than this! -- A note to BOYCOTTERS: The game is already out, and Valve is selling copies at least each week, Besides, half of the members of the BOYCOTT group already own a copy of L4D2, so what's the point of BoyCotting it? Expand
  69. TronkerP
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed playing this game everything is better , and the new weapons/upgrades are very good and the uncommon common infected was a very good idea....I'm with ya l4d2
  70. SeanM
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Anyone who actually thinks that Valve is going to "sabotage" their reputation with this game is in need of a brain transplant, and needs to stop being a zombie *haha*. I was a skeptic at first, being completely upset by the release of a sequel so soon after the original, but you have to take the game for what it is, as a game.. This turned out to be so much better than I had anticipated, Anyone who actually thinks that Valve is going to "sabotage" their reputation with this game is in need of a brain transplant, and needs to stop being a zombie *haha*. I was a skeptic at first, being completely upset by the release of a sequel so soon after the original, but you have to take the game for what it is, as a game.. This turned out to be so much better than I had anticipated, and yes its really similar to L4D but thats not such a bad thing, you dont have to mess with a winning strategy. Its vastly improved on many aspects, and the sunlight isn't as nearly as bad as some people complain about. If anything, just get L4D2 for Hard Rain, it is awesome and is by far my favourite level out of all L4D and L4D2 campaigns. And a note to people who say this game stole KF weapons... have you ever watched a zombie movie in your life? Most of those weapons are cliched, thats why they use 'em, like the chainsaw... (and L4D2 > L4D > KF ) I like KF don't get me wrong, but lets be honest here... Anyways, my verdict is go get L4D2, valve has another go-buy-it title under their belts. Expand
  71. Keither
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing action and improved in nearly every way! If you're a horror or zombie movie fan, especially, you simply MUST play this game. L4D was my favorite game of last year and now L4D2 is my fav game of 2009! Highly recommended.
  72. Sirnoggin
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Fun fun fun, buy this game instead of CoD MW 2. This game is far superior. Weapons that are varied and make a difference, melee that is worth having. Crucially, the new special infected line up means this: no more hiding in Cupboards and corners...It's kill, run or be killed. Fantastic. As a L4D1 veteran, I heartilly recommend every aspect of this game. Gameplay aside, the new gore Fun fun fun, buy this game instead of CoD MW 2. This game is far superior. Weapons that are varied and make a difference, melee that is worth having. Crucially, the new special infected line up means this: no more hiding in Cupboards and corners...It's kill, run or be killed. Fantastic. As a L4D1 veteran, I heartilly recommend every aspect of this game. Gameplay aside, the new gore is tremendous! The new guns are fabulous to use. Versus is back, theres no more "3 hunters...GO" malarky, as there are huge new combinations of specials at any one time, it's literally totally new every time you try to run a level. Fantastic, expect the unexpected is the new rule with L4D2. 10. Expand
  73. NathanJ.
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called an "expansion." Also, for you "tactical" "far superior" KF players. I play both. Comparing the two is like comparing TF2 to Counterstrike. Yes, they are both zombie survival shooters, but trust me in saying that they are different games with different playstyles. You have no business rating another game lower based on the fact that your game of choice has a different playstyle. I would buy KILLING FLOOR 2 if I wanted to play KILLING FLOOR 2! For all those who claim that there is "less story" in L4D2, what are they smoking. There is definitely more personality within the characters, and the campaigns actually coherently form a solid story. Great graphics, fun gameplay, and the fact that I can run it at 50 FPS on a four year old mid-range computer make this a classic for me. Killing Floor players, hope you have fun in your "infinately varied" same map cycle only one game type game. I will be joining you once I get tired of L4D2... oh wait, Bad company 2 will be out by then. Expand
  74. JoshC
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    A phenomenal game, despite what many others would say about it being an "expansion". Valve has taken what I claim is,without a doubt, the greatest zombie game of all time and made it even better by correcting the few problems it had. Though not all is perfect, (for instance, the fact that Rochelle is just an unnecessary character and some bugs still exist) the game manages to entertain me A phenomenal game, despite what many others would say about it being an "expansion". Valve has taken what I claim is,without a doubt, the greatest zombie game of all time and made it even better by correcting the few problems it had. Though not all is perfect, (for instance, the fact that Rochelle is just an unnecessary character and some bugs still exist) the game manages to entertain me far after what the original managed. And with even more content on the way, I can see L4D2 lasting me a long time. Expand
  75. MikeT
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Some people may say that Left 4 Dead 2 is just a milkman for your money, but those are the same people that didn't give it a try. It was an invigorating experience the entire way and well worth any price paid for it. Whether you paid 14.95 or 60 bucks, it was well worth it. It's a game that you can easily play with your friends, and while it's not as scary as the first one, Some people may say that Left 4 Dead 2 is just a milkman for your money, but those are the same people that didn't give it a try. It was an invigorating experience the entire way and well worth any price paid for it. Whether you paid 14.95 or 60 bucks, it was well worth it. It's a game that you can easily play with your friends, and while it's not as scary as the first one, the environments are so much more detailed that the original looks like it was made with tinker toys. 10/10. Expand
  76. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    An amazing sequel. While many were worried that the quality of the game since there was such a short time period between this and the original game but I can safely say that Left 4 Dead 2 is amazing! The game is quite unmatched by any other zombie themed game. The addition of mellee weapons and new guns really added to the experience. With "Uncommon Infected" and new Special InfectedAn amazing sequel. While many were worried that the quality of the game since there was such a short time period between this and the original game but I can safely say that Left 4 Dead 2 is amazing! The game is quite unmatched by any other zombie themed game. The addition of mellee weapons and new guns really added to the experience. With "Uncommon Infected" and new Special Infected added, the campaigns could never be more fun. The enw characters are colorful, interesting, and funny yet still insanely realistic. This game is gleaming with Valve's polish and it shows, it really does. Expand
  77. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I have 236 hours on it. The base maps alone are tons of fun but the modding community adds even more to it. And thanks to the modding community some servers have 8 on 8 versus which is effectively D-day. It's just awesome. This is not just an expansion pack. It's not just DLC this is a full game.
  78. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    All I can say, is that this game is a **** awesome sequel to Left 4 Dead, ticked all my boxes, nothing negative comes to mind. Awesome! The gameplay is awesome in multiplayer, had tones of fun, the new infected are fun to kill and are fun to play as! Very very verry good game :D
  79. May 28, 2014
    10
    Ahh remember when valve still made games? Loved this game and series. Probably one of the better multiplayer experiences I've had, when you have a good and functional team on either side it can be such a rush. Really needed intelligent ranking team pairing though.

    The modded servers are absolutely stupid 90 percent of the time but I made an effort to get banned from them all.
  80. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    Great multi-player co-op game that still has a ton of replay value, five years later. Where it really shines is in Versus mode, where teams play against each other, taking turns playing as the Special Infected.

    Before playing Versus mode, however, make sure you have played through Campaign mode completely at least once.
  81. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    Do not underestimate versus fun you can get from this game. Do not try to play single player. Get out there, find a lobby and aid other survivors against endless horde of zombies. Once you get the point, you can't let it go. Absolutely wonderful on many levels.
  82. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    game Left 4 dead 2 funny oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  83. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I was a very big fan of L4D, and was excited for L4D2 to come out. It kinda sucks that they released it only a year after the original, but it has enough content to make it worth it. The new stuff keeps things pretty interesting. With the price now hovering around $19.99 (its on a Halloween sale for $9.99) its a great buy!
  84. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. One of my top five of all time... co-op is fun and engaging if you get a good team together, and the mod community is top notch.
  85. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    I never played the original L4D and I must confess having now played quite a bit of L4D2 I dont know why ? Left 4 Dead 2 is an excellent game, zombies + loads of weapons + insane ammounts of gore + multiplayer online chaos = LOADS OF FUN !

    Buy it, you will not be dissapointed (unless you get the censored version which will dissapoint for obvious reasons).
  86. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Valve may have released the sequel too soon, but their promise is still kept, they continue to support both versions of the game, Left 4 Dead 2 carries the same feeling Left 4 Dead 1 brought but with a twist, new weapons, items, maps, and zombies to come across. some engine enhancements. All I'm going to say is, this is worth it! you will have some good times playing with friends, and theValve may have released the sequel too soon, but their promise is still kept, they continue to support both versions of the game, Left 4 Dead 2 carries the same feeling Left 4 Dead 1 brought but with a twist, new weapons, items, maps, and zombies to come across. some engine enhancements. All I'm going to say is, this is worth it! you will have some good times playing with friends, and the new AI Director 2.0 just seals the deal. Expand
  87. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    k whoever is being a loser saying l4d and l4d2 is a bad game and stuff, stop this game is awesome.and jay u know both l4d's deserve atleast a five for you but with the good graphics and sound effects im giving this game a 10.
  88. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    "Attaching laser sights to your weapon makes it more accurate." Yeah right. It actually does, and also attaching laser sights to your weapon certainly makes it look cool. XD Teamwork is also needed for this game so all the haters technically have NO sense of teamwork and therefore they think the game sucks, have you heard the F**K You spoof on youtube by DeStorm? It is for you"Attaching laser sights to your weapon makes it more accurate." Yeah right. It actually does, and also attaching laser sights to your weapon certainly makes it look cool. XD Teamwork is also needed for this game so all the haters technically have NO sense of teamwork and therefore they think the game sucks, have you heard the F**K You spoof on youtube by DeStorm? It is for you losers/haters =) My critic would be that game is VERY EPIC, a lot of people in Steam and Garena thought so too =) And those haters who writes long critics are, in my opinion, the biggest losers and rage quitters. Since they have so much time to write these things. And also, those who says melee weapon sucks? I completed a expert campaign using only melee and NO CHEATS =) Peace to all =D Expand
  89. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Milujete zombie? Radi je strilite a sekate na kousky? Chcete to delat spolecne s Vasimi prateli? Potom je to jasna koupe. Pokud nemate moznost sitového hrani je zde i singleplayer, ktery Vam ale nenabidne takove zazitky, protoze vasi partaci jsou rizení umelou inteligenci, ktera je sice na dobre urovni, ale zivy hrac je zivy hrac.
  90. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Simply one of the best and most original games I have played in years and years. Hands down. And I'm a tough reviewer. If you have any doubt, try it. You won't regret it.

    Redefines co-op gameplay and has enough play options to keep you entertained for months.
  91. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    Great game and I think this game is better then the first one, I love new infected as well as new weapons and new survivors! I would suggest this to anyone looking to have a fun and easy time playing a game!
  92. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    I always have a good time on this game with my buddies, both in this and in Left 4 Dead. With custom content you'll never get bored. You can also make your own maps and skins for it if you take the time to learn. Great game, but make sure you have some friends to enjoy it with, and some free time to get good at the game!
  93. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    When you can make a game from a idea thats been beaten to death and do it succesfully you know your good.
    This game is a blast to play and the steam achievments add that much more to it.
    The graphics are top notch so i dunno wth JayF is talking about. I'm running an old GTX295 and it looks awesome cranked up so maybe his card needs replaced not this game. Now on top of all the goodness
    When you can make a game from a idea thats been beaten to death and do it succesfully you know your good.
    This game is a blast to play and the steam achievments add that much more to it.
    The graphics are top notch so i dunno wth JayF is talking about.
    I'm running an old GTX295 and it looks awesome cranked up so maybe his card needs replaced not this game.
    Now on top of all the goodness add the add on campaigns free from lfd2maps.com and you get more for your dollar than you can shake a dismembered limb at.
    Expand
  94. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    This is one of those games that can eat 800+ hours of your life away and keep you coming back for more. For that one fact alone I give it a 10. My money was well spent. There are many modes to keep it fresh and enjoyable. Cooperation within a team is a must. The replay factor and fun factor are simply through the roof. L4D and L4D2 are both worth the investment.
  95. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    I have been a die-hard fan of the L4D series. Once the Sacrifice and No Mercy came out, I was psyched. Now I have L4D2 on both Xbox 360 and Steam/PC, and with both versions, I can play this game anytime I want. I have to say, VALVe and PowerSource, as well as Steam, made one of the best games on the district.
  96. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game I enjoyed playing for many hours already and the constant Mutation changes and custom maps always add a new replay value to it. If you don't have it you should definitely get it, the 4 player Co-Op campaign is simply amazing (although there are a lot of e.g. 16 players co-op servers for extra fun) and survival too. I believe I will play it a lot soon cause of theAn absolutely amazing game I enjoyed playing for many hours already and the constant Mutation changes and custom maps always add a new replay value to it. If you don't have it you should definitely get it, the 4 player Co-Op campaign is simply amazing (although there are a lot of e.g. 16 players co-op servers for extra fun) and survival too. I believe I will play it a lot soon cause of the upcoming Cold Stream DLC including a new awesome map and the rest of the L4D1 campaign. Expand
  97. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Strategy and shooter in one phenomenal game! You can play it for 1000 hours and more, but never it will be boring! Nice maps, great weapons, awesome modes and cool infecteds! I could play it all the time :P
  98. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Most negative ratings seemed to have come after this game initial release. I can understand where people are coming from in being die hard L4D1 fans previously. However, i started with L4D2 first over a year ago, and it is the BEST online game i have played to date. I bought L4D2 about 6 months ago and while it still have that awesome L4D gameplay, it was just nowhere near as polished as 2Most negative ratings seemed to have come after this game initial release. I can understand where people are coming from in being die hard L4D1 fans previously. However, i started with L4D2 first over a year ago, and it is the BEST online game i have played to date. I bought L4D2 about 6 months ago and while it still have that awesome L4D gameplay, it was just nowhere near as polished as 2 for me. I like in 2 how there is comedy and interesting levels, where 1 seems to have focused more on the horror effect, where there is a dark and gloomy atmosphere. To be honest, i don't see how the atmosphere really makes the game better or worse.

    Left 4 Dead 2 has a huge replay value. You can go on and on and constantly learn new things. I personally play all game types, but usually prefer versus. This is one of those games where it will constantly evolve into a better game. The online community is still very strong (even in 1). It is definitely hard to start off when you don't know maps etc. My suggestion is to read/watch some strategy guides or videos.
    Expand
  99. May 21, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best game ever. Plenty of fun with friends and a very enjoyable versus mode. The coop system is the best ever seen in the games history. The animations are incredibly fluid, some of the best I've seen so far in a game. The dialogues are great, the characters say a lot of different things and are never annoying or ripetitive. Definitely a masterpiece!
  100. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead 2 was an exceptionally good game, in my opinion, from the moment I started playing it. It brought to mind the play of Dead Rising, where I could simply kill zombies as a sort of stress reliever. It never needed to have much of a purpose. Just as long as I could kill, move forward, and feel like I accomplished something I was happy. I really enjoy the level designs in the secondLeft 4 Dead 2 was an exceptionally good game, in my opinion, from the moment I started playing it. It brought to mind the play of Dead Rising, where I could simply kill zombies as a sort of stress reliever. It never needed to have much of a purpose. Just as long as I could kill, move forward, and feel like I accomplished something I was happy. I really enjoy the level designs in the second one. I find especially the Dark Carnival campaign to be extremely fun. The main difference between this game and those of other zombie shooters is that you cannot win this game alone. It is very hard to make it anywhere, especially on harder difficulties, without being a team. Versus mode only proves all the more that without effective teamwork, you cannot win the game. A single player being good is not enough to win the game. More importantly, a lot of times, you don't even have to be good to play, you just have to work together.

    A lot of multiplayer video games have completely lost sight of teamwork. When I go to play Call of Duty, if there is a single good person on my team, I may win because of their skill. The next round, they win on someone else's team. It is too dependent on individual people. Left 4 Dead is rarely possible to move any farther when you want to play as a loner. The single player proves this even more with the terrible AI being of little assistance. It certainly feels like you are alone with them. (I still think it deserves a ten because especially friendly AI is rarely very skilled in video games anyway...)

    Left 4 Dead 2, as a sequel, also provides some semblance of the creepy level design in the first one. A dank mall, with all the lights turned out, one of the levels virtually serving as a maze because all of the obvious directions are not the right ones. The Carnival, with clowns attracting massive hordes if they are not eliminated effectively. The swamp is a nightmare, especially in realism mode(which is AMAZING... It adds value to the melee weapons and makes you work much harder to remain a team) where you may be dragged away by a smoker and be impossible to find in the foliage. The sugar mill, with a forest of witches, and rain that blinds all view of the screen, is very well designed and very creepy. The Parish is the only campaign which stays well lit for the majority of the campaign but it is not without its challenges as well. The Impound lot, which leaves a massive amount of car alarms in front of you is especially dangerous when you have a person playing who has not memorized where the alarms are. Several of the events in the Parish force hordes of monstrous sizes on you.

    This game is only as hard as you make it. You can change the settings to make it simplistic or make it very challenging. Realism mode only adds to the nightmare and makes everything a lot more interesting because you cannot see people through walls, glows around items are disabled, and worst of all, the witch will instantly kill you.

    I feel as though a lot of the negative reviews on this game are written by people who rushed out to by this game when it was brand new, who weren't very good at the game, and who could not appreciate all the new things this game had to offer over the old Left 4 Dead. The melee weapons are life saving in Realism mode(which is why describing them as useless seems ineffective and incorrect to me), the guns are vastly improved from the original, and there are three entirely new infected creatures which are all extremely dangerous.(Spitters are great when well timed) The characters are much better developed, interesting, and surprisingly realistic. Especially for those gamers out there who cannot afford an expensive game when it first comes out and wait for the prices to be those of bargains, this game was an amazing buy. I have gotten well over a few hundred hours of gameplay for roughly 20 dollars. I would have paid the 50 dollars if I had it. This game was worth it. Especially with friends, the online is worth every second of playing and I recommend this game to anybody who does not yet have it.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.