Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2485 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JG
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Controls get some taking used to, but memorable characters (especially Ellis) and plenty of fun against hordes of Infected make this game great. After 5 minutes of the Demo I was begging for more. Give me a Katana and an Assault Rifle and I will be laughing like a maniac as heads and limbs go rolling.
  2. DavidL
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This game is very enjoyable to play and rewarding in many ways. It has a much higher level of game mechanics than most shooters out there.
  3. Eltiarp
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    The game ot's a lot of fun, the Co-op it's sweet! the action it's unlimited, the fun it's on every corner and the improvemets makes this game the greatest co-op zombie shooter next to Killing floor
  4. BugsBunny
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    First of all, my english is not best. Second, I spent 240 hours plaing Left 4 Dead 2 and it's still fun. I don't know any other game that can be fun after so long playtime. I think Valve did great job and if you don't like it you don't have to buy it.
  5. simPC
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, First... all you noobs saying "I cant find my way around" "Map's are terrible, I get lost"... you're just retarded stop eating lead paint chips and pay attention. It's very simple my 12 year old sister has beaten the Campaign numerous times on Advanced and Expert. I personally have not experienced any major bugs... or any minor bugs. Of course there are some map glitches, Like DC-1 you can jump the second floor of the hotel, and thus cheat the infected from being able to reach you. But... that's minor. And I'm sure in Competitive (cal/cevo) play it's not allowed. And most casual gamers don't use the glitch, if they even know about it. Actually it seems like the Competitive teams are the one who use it, go figure. Anyway... this is obviously not an expansion, and in no way, shape, or form should of been a DLC. This should of definitely been a sequel. Rushed? Maybe... High Quality, Action Packed, Suspenseful, Fun, Co-Op Survival? ABSOLUTELY. Hands down, BEST ZOMBIE GAME TOO DATE. The original was already amazing, but this game definitely expanded the gameplay, and added a nice new story to it. Originally I was put off, thinking this might be a buggy piece of DLC trash with some Lipstick on it, But that is definitely not the case. You people crying need to find a girlfriend... Or get a job so you can earn some money to buy this game and stop being so jealous. And that's another thing... it's not like Valve is out to get your money, they make a quality game, and market it, If you don't want to buy it, DON'T. Simple as that, they aren't holding you up, they're selling a product that they worked hard on. And... all you people talking about Lazy Coding/Programming... I do it for a living, and all work done on this game is of High Quality. Sure sometimes you take shortcuts, but the new weapons and new uncommon common were done beautifully and in no-way did I feel like i was wielding the same weapon with a different skin, or fighting the same zombie with a different outfit. Bottom Line, Great game, WORTH EVERY PENNY Expand
  6. NathanJ.
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called Ridiculous pile of reviewing trash yet again down voting a game because they feel like it is an "expansion." How much you want to bet that 4/5ths of these 0 voters bought wrath of the liche king at full price as well? Yet no one complains about WoW in this aspect. But when valve releases a new game taking the weapon count from 7 in the original to something like 22 in this one, its called an "expansion." Also, for you "tactical" "far superior" KF players. I play both. Comparing the two is like comparing TF2 to Counterstrike. Yes, they are both zombie survival shooters, but trust me in saying that they are different games with different playstyles. You have no business rating another game lower based on the fact that your game of choice has a different playstyle. I would buy KILLING FLOOR 2 if I wanted to play KILLING FLOOR 2! For all those who claim that there is "less story" in L4D2, what are they smoking. There is definitely more personality within the characters, and the campaigns actually coherently form a solid story. Great graphics, fun gameplay, and the fact that I can run it at 50 FPS on a four year old mid-range computer make this a classic for me. Killing Floor players, hope you have fun in your "infinately varied" same map cycle only one game type game. I will be joining you once I get tired of L4D2... oh wait, Bad company 2 will be out by then. Expand
  7. christianc
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not This is a brilliant game. Those who say that the game was obviously rushed and you see the same skins all over again and again, Check L4D1? Its the same way, their complaining about things that they already overlooked in the first game. The game was not obviously rushed, but every new game obviously has hitches and needs updates. overall I beleave this is a worth game getting, if your not into zombie apocolipses thats nice. If you don't like the sequel STOP BITCHING ABOUT IT. Alright? Expand
  8. Anti-RageQuit
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    The only reason these kids are giving it a bad review is cuz this game isnt noob friendly. these are the kids that join the servers run away from the team get pounced by a hunter and die. This is what a true fps is suppose to be like. Its all about teamwork and fast reaction time. If you gave it a 1-7 its because you suck at this game no question about it.
  9. AllanH
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Guys. You do not find a better game. Left 4 Dead 2 is the funniest, most challenge(on expert), etc. It's the best game ever.. Run through a campaign making team-work is good. Read the other good ones.. Well, it's just a MUST BUY!
  10. FranciscoJ.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Para mí este juego es una auténtica pasada, grandes características que lo combierten en uno de los mejores lanzamientos del año. Sin duda alguna la forma más divertida de matar zombis sin sufrir malas consecuencias! Muy manejable y facil de jugar además de un gran modo online!
  11. JessicaS.
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    This has to be the most amazing game i've ever played, sadly, the campaigns valve created get simple and boring the 100th time through, but a good conquerer for that problem in l4dmaps.com. i love dpwnloading new campaigns and maps to play sround with! it makes the gaming experience a lot more enjoyable!
  12. JeffD.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It After logging a lifetime of hours on the original Left 4 Dead, owning a rather successful tournament team, and getting all but the most ridiculous achievement(s), I had almost begun to think to myself that I had seen every last drop of zombie goodness a company could squeeze from the genre. I was terribly, terribly mistaken. Left 4 Dead 2 does not just polish what it started in 2008, It bring it back harder, stronger, more brutal and bloodthirsty than ever. There is not a single game on the market that gets people talking, yelling, sweating and gripping there controllers quite like this. Every aspect of the game has just the right balance of tactics, run and gun, and all around bad-assery that can only be found in a game made by Valve. The new weapons, infected, uncommons, grenades, maps, locations, crescendos, and finales all flow seamlessly into the thriving and very much alive world of Left 4 Dead. The entire experience feels like a movie. So my advice? Saddle up, get yourself a copy, and prepare to white knuckle your way through the ride of your lifetime. Expand
  13. ThomasB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was Out of all games out there, left 4 dead 2 stands out. The campgains feel new and fresh and stands out. The new melee weapons add much more tatics to the game such as the chain saw - it gives a advantage to the players for a short while, however you have to make the sacrifice of running out of gas and having no secondary weapon. The community made this game a sucsess and this game was worth every penny and more. The new game adds much new balance with expert and realsim being the next part of that. Unlike L4D's expert - L4D2's really takes some skill with the new SI on the side. Realisim adds a whole new part to the game. It takes part most the in the campgain " Hard Rain " as you can get lost easily, taking part in the sugar mill level most. This time valve made the story more clear - this takes part most in dead center - for example if you use the " look " command on a player the character calls them by things such as " miss " to rochelee and " Mr gambling man " to nick. Untill the elevator scene where they all learn each others names - and then start to call each other by their real names. Over all this deserves much more credit then it gets, and this game was only made in a year. Great game - a must buy. Expand
  14. DanielR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    L4D was good but i hated the number of weapons u can get and the number of infected and L4D2 is like a BIG improvement better graphics new infected, And i really love the new weapons, like melee and my personal favourite Grenade launcher
  15. LiboW
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Nothing is perfect. Having said that, Left 4 Dead 2 challenges conventional team-based FPS with new special infected. Knowing that valve will continuously update and balance the game, Left 4 Dead 2 is a worthy investment.
  16. SilasD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Not just an expansion, a completely new experience! With the addition of more weapons that now include melee weapons, new characters to love, and of course, new gameplay modes: L4D2 is well worth it's price. Valve knows how to make a great online mutliplayer experience. I cannot stop playing this game!
  17. GustavoF
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    I dont know yet why people still talks about L4D2 like a "DLC" a month after its release. Strange complains like "I got stuck through the levels" (?) looks dummier. Does this people really played the game more than 15 minutes? L4D2 makes the gaming experience of L4D1 even better IN EVERY POSSIBLE WAY without taking away the Left 4 Dead original style. New campaigns, new weapons, new I dont know yet why people still talks about L4D2 like a "DLC" a month after its release. Strange complains like "I got stuck through the levels" (?) looks dummier. Does this people really played the game more than 15 minutes? L4D2 makes the gaming experience of L4D1 even better IN EVERY POSSIBLE WAY without taking away the Left 4 Dead original style. New campaigns, new weapons, new characters, new special infected, and overall, a totally new way to play L4D. Awesome job, Valve. Expand
  18. michaels
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    i lurve this game. fun to the max for hours on end. the new zombies add a spectacular pizazz to a already awesome game. It seem to be more difficult than its predecessor but who doesn't like a challenge. Get it and MAN up, beat expert!!
  19. AndréP
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    No other zombie game can beat l4d2. First, new infected, new weapons, new campaigns, new survitvors, best graphics. Included scavenger and realism mode that are great. Added more items to heal ( adrenaline, and defibrilator). Added melle weapons ( chainsaw, machete, fying pan, weapon of the police( i dont now how its called). Awsome versus.
  20. shawnd
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    L4D2 was perhaps released to quickly for the major populace of L4D players around the world, but it was also done strategcally to grasp the players attention again while the game was in its prime. I think this accomplished two things, one, it made a killing financially, and two, it changed the dynamic of the game itself before dedicated players got to used to the gameplay of L4D1. This L4D2 was perhaps released to quickly for the major populace of L4D players around the world, but it was also done strategcally to grasp the players attention again while the game was in its prime. I think this accomplished two things, one, it made a killing financially, and two, it changed the dynamic of the game itself before dedicated players got to used to the gameplay of L4D1. This new dynamic is definitely a lot more thought out that it was in L4D1, which looking back, seems like more of an experament than anything. However, if there is one gaming company that deserves my 10 on their game, it is valve. This game gets a 10 out of 10 from me. Expand
  21. HansM
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    If you liked L4D, you will love L4D2. Better game dynamics, more SI, more weapons. This game is significantly more difficult than L4D1. Expert Realism mode will make you empty your bladder.
  22. AdlaiH
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. I only played a bit of L4D1 and thought it was decent. L4D2 takes it to a whole new level and completely fleshes it out. Fantastic.
  23. TeddyBear
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Left4Dead 2 is great, even better than the first. They improved so much...additional weapons, more special infected and campaign challenges. The melee weapons are just fun, period (chainsaw, hehe). The spitters force the group split up by running from the acid, the charger can take out the entire team, the jockey, though hilarious, can be a menace. As for the campaigns, wow, running along Left4Dead 2 is great, even better than the first. They improved so much...additional weapons, more special infected and campaign challenges. The melee weapons are just fun, period (chainsaw, hehe). The spitters force the group split up by running from the acid, the charger can take out the entire team, the jockey, though hilarious, can be a menace. As for the campaigns, wow, running along a roller coaster, making your way through a building infested with witches, or a parking lot completely stocked with alarm cars, and Hard Rain, having to conserve items for the run back to the boat. I can go on and on about how fun this game is, but I won't. Go find out for yourself. Happy Hunting Expand
  24. HarryR
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Played first part already, and was not satisfied when i heared of a full-priced release by valve. but now i must admit, that it is one of the best games i have ever played, considered the fun you have with a couple of friends. Would it be a single player game, it would get some 6 or 7 points for the scenario. but fun only starts with friends coming along.
  25. BrunoB
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    The game is perfect there are some bugs but it is because it is pretty new. So... You've got to play at least 1 day to understand everything.
  26. PsiSonic
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    for all of you guys out there thinking left 4 dead 2 is garbage or just a complete waste of time, l4d2 is way better in so many ways than the first one. Some say that the game is bad because there are some day and night scenes in the game making it less scary. Valve wanted to make the game as realistic as possible. I found out that adding melee weapons were quite useful when getting out for all of you guys out there thinking left 4 dead 2 is garbage or just a complete waste of time, l4d2 is way better in so many ways than the first one. Some say that the game is bad because there are some day and night scenes in the game making it less scary. Valve wanted to make the game as realistic as possible. I found out that adding melee weapons were quite useful when getting out of a horde. Expand
  27. KyleH
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    By far one of the best games I have ever played. I have read some of the negative comments and I think it is really absurd. They are treating this game way too realistically. In fact, I have never really cared for the small stuff to begin with because I was trying to survive throughout the game. Frankly speaking, you just don't have the time to be looking at small details. The main By far one of the best games I have ever played. I have read some of the negative comments and I think it is really absurd. They are treating this game way too realistically. In fact, I have never really cared for the small stuff to begin with because I was trying to survive throughout the game. Frankly speaking, you just don't have the time to be looking at small details. The main reason why I give this game a 10 is because of co-op. Team work is extremely crucial if you want to survive and beat the campaign. It took me almost 100 hours to beat all the campaigns on expert. Yeah I suck, but I had a great time. If you really want to feel a sense of accomplishment don't play the game on lower difficulty, play it on expert! It just takes away the fun if you play on easy, normal or advanced. In my opinion the re playability of this game is great. Expand
  28. GuillaumeL.
    Feb 21, 2010
    10
    This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The This game, and the one before, was the answer to all my desire as a gamer and zombie fan. The teamworks required make the game even more interesting. You can't be a good player and win everytime alone, you need to be a good TEAM player, and that's what I like. It's also the game I've heard the more '' Sorry'' for all the friendly fires. The difficulty level of the Expert Realism mode is simply fantastic, being a challenge every time you play it, not matter how good you are... and if it's became boring to you, please friend me, I need you haha. Expand
  29. Justblazed
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    The only reason these kids are giving it a bad review is cuz this game isnt noob friendly. these are the kids that join the servers run away from the team get pounced by a hunter and die. This is what a true fps is suppose to be like. Its all about teamwork and fast reaction time. If you gave it a 1-7 its because you suck at this game no question about it. Go play a game that is easy like COD.
  30. JuanC
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    Excellent game. Its left 4 dead with a lot more replayability. I understand some of the younger audience are upset due to lack of newbie friendly features. However there are plenty of games out there for kids already. L4D2 is aimed at adults and has a lot of character and charm which I beleive makes up for lack of features like save games and radar!
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.