Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2617 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayF.
    Apr 10, 2010
    4
    As an online play game, it's just average in my book. I'd rather play other recent games with better graphics. Solo play is a joke. There's no campaign so to speak. Rather, it's like playing online with yourself. I played this game for maybe 3 hours and then looked for another.
  2. MichaelN
    Jan 9, 2010
    4
    Great game, since it's just a port of the original great game with new character models, a few new guns, melee weapons which are largely useless for the most part, and a few new special zombies (both of which are fun, but we are talking an entirely new game here). L4D was light on depth, and it wasn't fixed here. Characters are still only models, and have no distinguishing Great game, since it's just a port of the original great game with new character models, a few new guns, melee weapons which are largely useless for the most part, and a few new special zombies (both of which are fun, but we are talking an entirely new game here). L4D was light on depth, and it wasn't fixed here. Characters are still only models, and have no distinguishing attributes. The graphics are exactly the same, the gameplay is exactly the same (still good, but not improved in any way). Slapping "2" on the end of a title should be more progressive for a company with Valve's pedigree. This was a glorified expansion pack (new maps, guns, and zombies... nothing else new, yes, that's what we call an expansion pack). Would be a higher rating, but the cost of this game is just beyond me. Hopefully all of this money is going to Episode 3, and maybe they'll actually incorporate some new things into L4D2 the way they've supported TF2. Sorry to the original L4D players, Valve is moving on. Expand
  3. AlexD
    Dec 27, 2009
    4
    I don't think it deserves paying 50$ given the fact it's just a DLC content promised for L4D1. I spent a lot of time playing the first part, I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the characters were adorable but this time both of these aspects are ruined. I personally believe that other zombie games have better weapons, for example KF is TEN times better in this aspect, and they I don't think it deserves paying 50$ given the fact it's just a DLC content promised for L4D1. I spent a lot of time playing the first part, I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the characters were adorable but this time both of these aspects are ruined. I personally believe that other zombie games have better weapons, for example KF is TEN times better in this aspect, and they are upgrading the game constantly just for free! I'm afraid I'll wait until it price falls to 20$ Expand
  4. KarstenT
    Nov 17, 2009
    4
    First of all, my english is not the best :P Valve sells a game for 50
  5. DonnieDarko
    Nov 20, 2009
    4
    I have to say that this game is incredibly overrated at the moment. It does add some interesting new zombies that the first game didn't have, but fails to deliver on other things. My main gripe is the levels, they feel very generic and boring. Even more so than in the first game. I mean a swamp? Come on. The objectives can also be very confusing as there's often very little I have to say that this game is incredibly overrated at the moment. It does add some interesting new zombies that the first game didn't have, but fails to deliver on other things. My main gripe is the levels, they feel very generic and boring. Even more so than in the first game. I mean a swamp? Come on. The objectives can also be very confusing as there's often very little reasoning behind why I should be collecting fuel for a car all of a sudden. Where as in the first game the levels themselves guided you forward in a much better way. The "story" is kind of uninspired and the levels don't tie into eachother as well as they did in the first game. They also don't look as good graphically. The characters are not as interesting as in the first game either. You never grow attached to any of them. They removed the "Zoey - Starred by XXXXXX" on the poster for the loading screen. I thought that was a disappointment, really liked that in the first. And last but not least, the matchmaking system is utter crap. I have a hard time believing there are only 7 game lobbys being hosted for a game mode at one time? And 9/10 times when you enter a game you end up with 200+ ping. I usually ping around 19-40 in games and this makes it generally unplayable. Add to that all the bugs that the original game had. Such as spawning into the level and finding all Zombies in T-pose. Or starting a versus game and ending up in a singleplayer game. It's a decent game, but I'd say the first one was slightly better. I'd give it 7/10 if it wasn't so overrated. Expand
  6. SteveH
    Dec 15, 2009
    4
    Ok so here is a sequal that was completely uneeded and just another way for valve to milk the gaming community for even more money. Dont get me wrong I love what steam has done for pc gaming, so i'm not a valve hater. However, I felt that L4D2 is a very expensive expansion pack, it does not warrant the price tag given. The new game includes new weapons, new special zombies ( and by Ok so here is a sequal that was completely uneeded and just another way for valve to milk the gaming community for even more money. Dont get me wrong I love what steam has done for pc gaming, so i'm not a valve hater. However, I felt that L4D2 is a very expensive expansion pack, it does not warrant the price tag given. The new game includes new weapons, new special zombies ( and by this i mean the old mechanics with new skins (lazy coding)). The old game was wonderful and L4D2 is still wonderful but I have to give it a bad score because, its an example of game developers trying to pass off DLC as a new game as is becomming far too common these days. Expand
  7. StevenA
    Dec 26, 2009
    4
    I don`t underatood why can a game have 100%. This game have enough weakpoint. - The stupid A.I -The A.I can`t use Firebombs or Pipebombs or Boomber Liquit. At other games it is possible (resident Evil 5) -A.I can take things in a house, the are no possible to use for a player, because the A.I take it to the wall of the house. (Hard Rain Level) - If i throw a pipebombe the A.I shoot on the I don`t underatood why can a game have 100%. This game have enough weakpoint. - The stupid A.I -The A.I can`t use Firebombs or Pipebombs or Boomber Liquit. At other games it is possible (resident Evil 5) -A.I can take things in a house, the are no possible to use for a player, because the A.I take it to the wall of the house. (Hard Rain Level) - If i throw a pipebombe the A.I shoot on the Zombies by the pipebombe. On the Producter: IF you want a good game, let you time or to better nothing. The bad thing is a have by is for xbox and PC. A never pay me L4D Expand
  8. ChrisP
    Dec 29, 2009
    4
    Ok im a die hard left 4 dead fan and i have spent countless hours playing l4d1. I was so excited about l4d2 that i had it pre-ordered and everything. once i got this sucker i was a little dissapointed on how its' just a plain knock-off of the first one. i was expecting a better feel, not some half-assed work that Valve has made. Valve has done better than this and they still are Ok im a die hard left 4 dead fan and i have spent countless hours playing l4d1. I was so excited about l4d2 that i had it pre-ordered and everything. once i got this sucker i was a little dissapointed on how its' just a plain knock-off of the first one. i was expecting a better feel, not some half-assed work that Valve has made. Valve has done better than this and they still are currently my favorite game designers but l4d2 was one of the games gone wrong Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2010
    4
    I was terribly disappointed when I realised that the hype was just a hype. This game qualifies as a mediocre, run-of-the-mill first person shooter, with the exception of the infected.

    The missions are quite challenging whilst playing online against well experience players, which unfortunately is the rare exception to the average player of this game. It is not unusual to find yourself
    I was terribly disappointed when I realised that the hype was just a hype. This game qualifies as a mediocre, run-of-the-mill first person shooter, with the exception of the infected.

    The missions are quite challenging whilst playing online against well experience players, which unfortunately is the rare exception to the average player of this game. It is not unusual to find yourself yelling at your own team, for being generally terrible at the game.

    The maps are so few that you grow tired in less than a few hours. This goes for the characters as well. The survivors are all the same, they have no unique niche to them - except for models and voice acting.
    The infected work well together, but that is unfortunately all they do. One becomes terribly bored of them after just a few matches. Not to mention the linearity of them, but at least that makes them very intuitive.

    There is nothing upgradeable; no incentive of playing well.

    The single player is not worth mentioning since it's basically a multi-player map with bots instead of players.

    In conclusion.
    As long as this game cost what it does, roughly 19 euros, I for one would not make the mistake of buying it. If you for some inexplicable reason still is thinking about buying it, get your friends on the train, it is the only way of having any fun in this game.
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    If it weren't for the 90% of players I've played with that were complete *******, I would've given this game a 8 or 9. Unfortunettely I can't enjoy a game where almost everyone game I've joined, there will be some elitist **** that'll complain about everything, rip through the map while leaving the rest of the team behind, and won't help their teammates for ****.
  11. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    Valve is amazing, and Steam has forever changed how I look at PC gaming. Unfortunately though, not everything Valve touches is gold. For example, this game. L4D1 was a lot of fun, and I would have rated it maybe an 8, since it was a great casual pick-up-and-play game, but not good for long periods. This game, however, is fun for maybe 15 minutes at a time. I enjoy challenges, but I loatheValve is amazing, and Steam has forever changed how I look at PC gaming. Unfortunately though, not everything Valve touches is gold. For example, this game. L4D1 was a lot of fun, and I would have rated it maybe an 8, since it was a great casual pick-up-and-play game, but not good for long periods. This game, however, is fun for maybe 15 minutes at a time. I enjoy challenges, but I loathe when games can only make it more difficult by being annoying (every Nintendo game ever, I'm looking at you). This game is an absolute joke in single player; don't even try it. I know it wasn't designed for single player, but even multiplayer is bad. The original (L4D1) special zombies were bloat, witch, smoker, hunter, tank, 3/5 of which will incapacitate you in 1 hit, and 1/5 of which will incapacitate you just about as quick. So you need a good team. In L4D2, there are MORE special infected such as charger, jockey, and spitter, 2 of which will incapacitate you in 1 hit as well. Now given that witches and tanks aren't ever spawned in the random waves the "producer" throws at you, that gives you 4/6 of the special zombies coming at you will incapacitate you in one hit (meaning while you may be alive, you can't shoot or otherwise help your teammates), so playing this game, there will be MULTIPLE times each level where you will be the only one still moving around while your 3 teammates are unable to help. While this may sound like chaotic fun (and possibly is if you're drunk), it gets really annoying REALLY fast. Add that on top of the fact that the "producer" in this game throws waves at you like a twitching 5-year-old who can't keep his hands off the keyboard, and friends you're playing with will decide "I'm done" after 2 or 3 attempts. Not fun. This game is seriously a mild update from L4D1, but it's one that I wish could be undone. Oh wait, it can, I'll just go play L4D instead. Or Killing Floor. I seriously regret buying this game. Expand
  12. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    You shoot zombies with other people. That's literally the entire game, and it's only multiplayer too. Would have been much more impressive with some interesting guns or mechanics, taking the semi-realism path for developing this game was a huge mistake. Even though the gameplay is garbage, the aesthetics are pretty good and I don't think I'll be forgetting the voice acting any time soon.
  13. Jul 25, 2012
    4
    I'm disappointed in this game. I thought it would be ... better. The lack of driving story coupled with the mindless zombie shooting almost makes me want my money back. One redeming feature - multiplayer, which the game focuses on. Even with this, it's still not that great a game unless you just want to run around shooting zombies in the face because you're mad. Can't wait for ResidentI'm disappointed in this game. I thought it would be ... better. The lack of driving story coupled with the mindless zombie shooting almost makes me want my money back. One redeming feature - multiplayer, which the game focuses on. Even with this, it's still not that great a game unless you just want to run around shooting zombies in the face because you're mad. Can't wait for Resident Evil 6... I'll never get another Left 4 Dead game. Expand
  14. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    Good thing I didn't buy this game and tried on a friend's machine first. The game is just pointless. You walk in some corridors, zombies spawn everywhere, you put them down. I kept hitting my own teammates. Some zombies are so fast you can't avoid them. In some places so many zombies spawn that no matter how fast or accurate you shoot, you can't shoot them all. At some place I just didn'tGood thing I didn't buy this game and tried on a friend's machine first. The game is just pointless. You walk in some corridors, zombies spawn everywhere, you put them down. I kept hitting my own teammates. Some zombies are so fast you can't avoid them. In some places so many zombies spawn that no matter how fast or accurate you shoot, you can't shoot them all. At some place I just didn't understand where to go next, and frankly i didn't feel the need to continue.
    Value, your Half Life 1 and Counter Strike was great, Half Life 2 was bad, and this one is bad, too. A rail shooter, stupid and pointless.
    If you are thinking of buying this game, please don't judge it by it's video trailer, borrow it from someone first and see if you like it! It's not a coincidence they don't offer a demo.
    Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2014
    4
    If you have a full team of friends (3 others for coop or 7 others for versus) its a great game, probably an 8/10.
    If you try to play with randoms, its not any good.
    Features that punish bad behaviour are non-existant. This means that you RARELY finish a whole game of versus with everyone that started. This also means that, even if you find a close game without leavers, it is very easy
    If you have a full team of friends (3 others for coop or 7 others for versus) its a great game, probably an 8/10.
    If you try to play with randoms, its not any good.

    Features that punish bad behaviour are non-existant. This means that you RARELY finish a whole game of versus with everyone that started. This also means that, even if you find a close game without leavers, it is very easy to ruin the game. Its possible to swap teams at the start of each map, allowing you to teamkill/suicide. If you aren't invested in a game, you can simply join a random game, teamkill/suicide, and leave. Suddenly that entire game is ruined because of one intentionally bad player. This applies mostly to versus, but also to high difficulty co-op.

    L4d2 also failed to add the ability to easily download custom maps and play with others. While most games with custom maps will automatically download it for you when connecting to a server, such as Team Fortress 2, l4d2 decided to force players to manually install maps. If you try to play the map online, you are probably stuck by yourself or playing on a laggy LAN.
    Expand
  16. MichaelR.
    Mar 20, 2010
    3
    Okay, before the fanboys get angry with me, read the whole review. A)Director 2.0 - The "new" director isn't very new at all. I'm sure many people remember the "Crash Course" campaign for L4D. Remember how it had the "sort of the l4d2 director" functioning? That's because the L4D1 director and the L4D2 director are exactly the same besides the fact that there's a few Okay, before the fanboys get angry with me, read the whole review. A)Director 2.0 - The "new" director isn't very new at all. I'm sure many people remember the "Crash Course" campaign for L4D. Remember how it had the "sort of the l4d2 director" functioning? That's because the L4D1 director and the L4D2 director are exactly the same besides the fact that there's a few new items and weapons in L4D2. They guaranteed "random" item and gun positioning in L4D2 and it wasn't implemented correctly. The guns still appear in the same places nearly every time, just like L4D1. No improvement, barely any change. B) "New Zombies!" - L4D2 introduced 3 new special infected. The Spitter is really only useful in scavenger to destroy gas cans unless someone is already being beaten by another infected in campaign. The Jockey is a useful little guy on certain maps...and a total waste of space on others. His forte is dragging people off ledges, really. On about 9/10 of the maps there is no ledges to catch a survivor alone on. Then there's the Charger, he's a terrible terrible implementation of the "hallways aren't safe anymore" idea. The point of the charger as far as the commentary says was to scatter the survivors or hurt them if they're in a hallway. You cannot turn (Even Slightly) while charging, so unless they ARE in a hallway your chances of hitting more than one survivor are low. And if they ARE in a hallway they don't scatter anywhere. Charger does much lower damage than he needs to make him useful as he tends to die before he can slam a survivor once or twice into the ground. The only time Chargers are really useful is near cliffs and ledges, when there is only one or two survivors left or in situations like the Parish bridge finale when survivors don't want to go back for the teammate. C) "New Weapons" - L4D2 introduced a few new weapons to the just about complete set of L4D1. Melee weapons - Everyone says that melee weapons really changed the L4D gameplay, I disagree. It's not often you see people using melee weapons to attack special infected. Common infected die easily to begin with so I don't see the melee weapons being all that useful once you have an automatic weapon or a semi-auto shotgun. Aim for the head, people. Grenade Launcher - Friendly fire, friendly fire, friendly fire! The grenade launcher was made to loosen up hordes of common infected and make special infected stumble around and die. The broken thing about this weapon is the fact that special infected often don't die from one indirect hit from this weapon, the person using this weapon tends to hit his teammates around twenty more times than everyone else, and the person using this weapon tends to be an easy special infected target due to hunters, jockeys, smokers, and chargers being able to get in close and force them to switch to melee/pistol. Bile Bomb - "Throw this to attract the horde away from you, even onto a tank!" The problem is the only time anyone will use this is if there's a horde coming and they want to just run away from it. The only usefulness of the bile bomb is distraction, and in versus it's a waste to carry. Defibrillator - Over a medpack the chances someone takes one are around 30%. When someone takes one they usually happen to be the Rambo style person who runs at the hordes with a baseball bat out and they die, leaving the rest of the team to fend for themselves until they reach the body. All in all, medpack is better. New ammos - Make special infected stumble or burn. Imbalanced in versus. Thank god they're rare. New primary weapons are pretty much all slight changes to the old primaries. Pump shotgun(2, difference is a slight damage difference and chrome has tighter spread), auto shotgun(2, one wide spread, one tight spread I believe), SMGs(2, one is stronger, the other more accurate.), Assault rifle(3..only differences, clip size and one is burst fire, and the AK has higher damage and slower firing speed), sniper rifles(2, military fires faster, hunting reloads faster) D) New AI - Terrible Special infected AI even on expert. Even worse survivor AI, if you're being beaten by a charger an inch away they'll stand there a few seconds then turn slowly and shoot it, then help you up. I was diappointed. Expand
  17. ScottF.
    Apr 9, 2010
    3
    This game was a disappointment after L4D in every imaginable way. Instead of well-paced gameplay that rewards teamwork, we get a game where whoever can rush the most wins. Tight confined spaces of L4D give way to much more open ones in L4D2, making it far too easy to avoid the traps that made L4D great. Mood music and tension are replaced instead by Louisiana jazz during horde attacks and This game was a disappointment after L4D in every imaginable way. Instead of well-paced gameplay that rewards teamwork, we get a game where whoever can rush the most wins. Tight confined spaces of L4D give way to much more open ones in L4D2, making it far too easy to avoid the traps that made L4D great. Mood music and tension are replaced instead by Louisiana jazz during horde attacks and sad one-liners like "Axe me a question." This game tries way too hard to be a fanboy game, and it loses the amazing and gritty zombie shooter that was Left 4 Dead along the way. Expand
  18. olol
    Nov 17, 2009
    3
    I know alot of L4D fans may disagree, but this game is not anything new or special. Yes there are a few new things, such as melee weapons, and new weapon models, but they feel the same as they did in L4D1. Furthermore, even with the new scavange mode and new campagins, this still gets boring REALLY INCREDIBLY quick for me. I would rather spend time on Half Life 2. User content was what I know alot of L4D fans may disagree, but this game is not anything new or special. Yes there are a few new things, such as melee weapons, and new weapon models, but they feel the same as they did in L4D1. Furthermore, even with the new scavange mode and new campagins, this still gets boring REALLY INCREDIBLY quick for me. I would rather spend time on Half Life 2. User content was what kept the first game alive, due to valve not releasing much content (which they initially promised), and therefore i was wary about purchasing this one, but now i pretty much regret it. It wasn't worth it at all in my opinion, and i doubt much interesting content will come to this either (although valve WILL deliver, because they know if they don't, they'll be losing alot of their audiance with this game). But i would give this game a 3, just because it's fun for the first hour or two, but gets very boring soon afterwards, whether you play online or not. Sooner or later, there will be nothing to do other then join a game and teamkill, because that's what a majority of players did in L4D1 after a short time. Expand
  19. lukeg
    Dec 18, 2009
    3
    whats the point of this game if you dont like online gaming. there is no decent story and gameplay gets so repetative i was bored within 5 mins, levels are badly maped and AI are just a pain at times.
  20. Jan 5, 2012
    3
    It's the same Left 4 Dead! Why deceive people? Why create a CLONE? The creation of games - the art! The art does not make money! If, nevertheless, the game discuss, in the first place there begins to annoy (for some reason, can only me) music (Soundtrack: HL2 - best, L4D2 - fail).
  21. Jan 24, 2013
    3
    Terrible, identical to Left for Dead with some new weapons and characters. I got so board i couldn't even make it through the entire storyline, which is about 5 hours. There is really nothing good I can say about this game, do not buy this.
  22. Nov 23, 2012
    3
    i liked the game cuz its almost excactly the same as the first 1. THe thing that i am very disapointed is that they change the charecters because Zoey is my favorite. And i basically sank when i cant see my favorite charcter when i started playing.... :'(
  23. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    The most repetitive game of all time. Every level feels the same, every time you play the same things happen, just with different people and weapons. There's no story to it so the campaign just drags on endlessly with no motivation at all.

    I seriously don't get why all my friend's want to play this all the time. *sigh*
  24. Apr 6, 2014
    3
    a very fun multiplayer game. But that's it. its a multiplayer game.

    That means that you will enjoy it with friends, until everybody finds a new or better game, so little to no-re-playability.
  25. GazMan
    Apr 8, 2010
    2
    The game itself is meh... I agree with others saying the game is "dumbed down. The level design isnt that great and I personally dont like the characters. L4D2 just doesnt play well nor does it have a good feeling about it. Most people I speak with are leaving the L4D / L4D2 community as not much is going on regarding competitive gaming either which is a real shame as the teamwork aspects The game itself is meh... I agree with others saying the game is "dumbed down. The level design isnt that great and I personally dont like the characters. L4D2 just doesnt play well nor does it have a good feeling about it. Most people I speak with are leaving the L4D / L4D2 community as not much is going on regarding competitive gaming either which is a real shame as the teamwork aspects could make it such a great platform. The original L4D was a fantastic idea and had some real promise but sadly it was never supported properly by Valve and I think most players think the same is going to happen this sequel. Once bitten twice shy, twice bitten... game over. Expand
  26. J.Midnight
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    I fell for the hype. TBH i would have given this "add-on pack" of a game a solid "8" the first week i got it. But now after playing the game a few times through its clear what this "Game" is: 3 "Special" Zombies and some maps. Nothing revolutionary, and i agree most-if not all- of the high reviews of this game are from overexcited fanboys. - Bad Pacing (A typical "Run and Gun" Zom I fell for the hype. TBH i would have given this "add-on pack" of a game a solid "8" the first week i got it. But now after playing the game a few times through its clear what this "Game" is: 3 "Special" Zombies and some maps. Nothing revolutionary, and i agree most-if not all- of the high reviews of this game are from overexcited fanboys. - Bad Pacing (A typical "Run and Gun" Zom Shooter) - Horrible Dialogue - Level Design is Bland - Director 2.0?!? (nope... again pointless hype. Shows some signs of improvement seems like a dumbed down ver. to help attract new players. Ex: Open Spaces = No Horde, Inside a Well Fortified Room? = Bingo) Expand
  27. GuessWho
    Jan 6, 2010
    2
    All you morons complaining about the game think twice. In Australia we got the dumbed dumbed down version of the game. Zombies hit the ground BOOM gone off screen. Can't rate it any higher just because Australians got the dumbed down version. I played the demo i didnt actually buy it. I found an uncensor for it but it didnt feel the same.
  28. JakeC
    Jan 21, 2010
    2
    The game is unplayable most of the time, because of the worthless servers which either have: 1) horrible ping 2) annoying mods/custom content The game is also filled with bugs of all sort. Why did they have to rush out with this piece of shit anyways? Fix the useless servers and bugs and I would give the game an 7, the game costs too much for what it delivers compared to the first game.
  29. AlexB
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    I've done all of this before in the previous game... more then enough times. Additionally, the game feels almost unplayable, all the servers i join are laggy, and there's major performance issues compared to the first L4D. It's the same as the first game, but worse.
  30. Zachridw.
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    At first of all, this game isn't bad, although my rating says otherwise. But the reason why I've gave this game a "2", is because of the price of ~60$ / ~50
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.