Left 4 Dead 2 PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2546 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KristjanO
    Feb 15, 2010
    7
    Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a Whoever starts telling me i don't know how to play the game etc. Sorry i do , played L4D from the release competitive style. Anyway ... This game lacks the feeling for the original , while the extra content , new maps and everything are good , it wasn't worth the price of a full title. Valve promised almost everything in L4D2 that they will add it to L4D1 , but no , they made a new game to make money ... The new characters feel lifeless and you don't want to play them except for Ellis , Nick and maybe even coach. The special infected addons are nice , but they couldev have added them to the first! Spitter and Jockey wouldev suited the first game very nicely , but the Charger ... This is a noobs toy. Would you start for example .. Hard rain? Pick up your stuff before the Diner , all of a sudden charged into instant death. Instant death spot at the beginning of the campaign... FAIL. Same goes to Dead Center and The Parish. Don't start saying these can be avoided , ofcourse they can be , but if this was your VERY FIRST impression , what would you think? Charger = Waste and for noobs. Anyway to sum this all up , if i play Left 4 Dead , i enjoy it , since its way harder to kill survivors with only 2 hunters , 1 smoker and a boomer or 3 hunters and a smoker or 4 hunters , instead of the lame ammount of Instant death or near death spots in the 2nd game. Playing Left 4 Dead 2 frustrates me unlike no tomorrow .. until i finally decided to Uninstall that piece of crap. Only reason this is getting 7 points , is the new content. Expand
  2. pipelinecache
    Apr 2, 2010
    7
    I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but I did play L4D1 quite alot and I must say the sequel is (almost) exactly the same. Sure, it's got new characters, different elite mobs and there are some more weapons to go berserk with. But it's really an extension of the original, nothing more. The game still suffers badly from connection problems, which is quite a downer for an online game. It's an "okay" game ... but nothing fancy. Expand
  3. JC
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually The user reviews on this game are wholly two sided. Either the game is amazing, or the game really blows and is no more then an expansion. Why I gave this game a 7 is easy, this game is a massive improvement on L4D1, but Valve's pricing scheme on this game 49.99 is wayy too expensive for a game whose gameplay is fundamentally the same as a game they made in the past. I am actually saddened that Valve turned to such questionable practices in pricing the game. However, onto the game itself. The graphics update is great, the ability to blow off limbs, heads, cut zombies in two, burn their flesh off is a great improvement for those who wanted to see more realism. The melee weapons are Overpowered however. No human can so cleanly slice through zombies in the way these weapons do. ANd by cleanly I mean ho0w a baseball bat shatters a skull and explodes a head in one hit, or ow the machete goes through the torso so well. This also negates the use of shotguns if you dont mind taking a little extra damage. ANd the actual laugh out loud part of this is that a pistol/shotgun combo IMO is more effective then a Melee/Main weapon simply because as long as you co-ordinate and protect your teammates, most zombies can be brought down with gunfire before the need of a melee weapon. Also there are too many automatics stewn accross maps. This makes the infected side in Versus 100% harder then in L4D1, where Ammo had to be conserved. I think in the week ive played this Ive seen someone run out of ammo on a main gun...once..... withoiut finding a replacement, this game balance is absolutely appauling. The levels they designed could ave been easily made in L4D1 and I am starting to believe that the simple reason for not advancing L4D1 was a need for more revenue. However, do I reccomend this game? Yes, despite the fact its probablyoverpriced, I would have paid about 19.99 had I not been pressured into buying it by my friends. As much as this game is probbaly not worth what you would pay for it now, the quality of the levels are much better then in L4D1, the infected in Versus do much better and the Director has marginally improved. As well, I find the L4D2 Normal mode gameplay (and what you play in Versus) to be much more balanced and fluid then in L4D1, which was quite frankly restrictive. Expand
  4. EricC
    Mar 17, 2010
    7
    First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever First off, let me say that the 8 is calculated by giving the gameplay a solid 9, the graphics 8, and replayability 9. However, the biggest drawback in this game is perhaps the most important thing in multiplayer games, the community. I've seen more ragequitters, more whiners, more assholes who call each other the most shocking things than in any other multiplayer FPS I've ever played. This game is not like Counter-Strike, while individual skill play a larger role (don't get me wrong, I love Counter-Strike). This game is all about teamwork. You might be a expert on other FPS's but that doesnt guarantee that you are good in Left 4 Dead 2. The game isn't exactly noob-friendly either as Justblaze already said. What I want to see in this game is more content as well. Yes, there are alot of custom campaigns and maps (more coming all the time) but I can't see anyone playing them in any of the game modes. Bottom line: Buy this game if you intend to play it with friends. It just might be best FPS you can play. But if you play it without any friends, IRL or not, it won't be nearly as fun. Expand
  5. ThatGuy
    Mar 21, 2010
    7
    L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the L4D2 is a fun and different game. The coop feels good and rewarding, but there is something wrong. I don't know what it is, but the first one was better. The first game had a feel to it, it felt more different. I know that this one has more weapons, more special infected and more levels. But the first game was just better. Overall it's a good game, but if you have played the first, you may be dissapointed. Expand
  6. Joe
    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the I give this game a 7. I am have played L4D 1 for a total of about 350 hours. L4D2 has several improvements that are quite nice. Nevertheless it mostly does the same mistakes the first one does, lacks the same features and even adds a few more buggy things. If you liked the first one, you will have fun with this one. Actually a lot of people will enjoy this game but there is nothing in the gameplay, graphics, features that would qualify this game as top notch! Quite fun to play not more. If you like games with nice suprising storylines look somewhere else. If you need astonishing graphics... look elsewhere. If you want complex very motivating gameplay... not this game. If you want a brainless fun shooter- buy it! If you want a nice multipayer experience for you and a few friends - very advisable to buy it. Small niche, and the game fills it quite nice. But against all the hype around this game: There is nothing NEW in this game. It is warmed up alphabet soup with some additional numbers. Expand
  7. P.Dude
    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    Ive given it a 7 because it is pretty good remodel of l4d1 even tho in l4d1 i worked out how to get incendiary ammo and some other cool things but we all know valve could have made it better in l4d2.all in all l4d2 is good but not worth £30
  8. MooMan
    Dec 5, 2009
    7
    ALthough this game has some new features, it clearly proves the quote "sequels suck." If you're looking to spend the money to upgrade your l4d, go ahead. New chars are not really that great, too attached to the old ones =). other than that, laser sights are fun to use
  9. ConnorS
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. First off, I want to point out the bad bits. The AI is the worst I have ever seen, They stand there and let you get shredded. The new Specials are just lazy since they use more or less the same coding as the first one (I.E: Boomer -> Spitter, Hunter -> Jockey) with new skins. Now the good bits. The multiplayer is a blast, VS is better and more refined, and the Director is more desisive. This game is good for a fun run through a zombie apocolypse with friends. Just, don't play single player too much. Expand
  10. Stivob
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or Don't get me wrong, the game is great, it would be a 10 if it didn't have to be a sequel to one of the best survival fps of all time. To be honest, I was hoping valve would stay true to their word and immerse you more in the left 4 dead world, they did the opposite it seems, theres more to the original than the second. To the people giving 0's because they live in aus or ger...i give YOU a 0. Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    This is more of an extended update to the original, if you really loved the first there are very few excuses for you not to get this one. Steam offers this game at a discount multiple times a year, definitely should watch for that if you still don't own it.
  12. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed the mayhem and personalities of LFD2, but the simplistic shooting system and the somewhat short campaign leaves my money spent questionable. 30 bucks for this game isn't really worth the time or money unfortunately. Liked the game, just not worth it for the price.
  13. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    When you experienced the first game, some of the atmosphere in the second game doesn't feel as strong. However, this game makes up for that with the new weapons, features, infected and characters. At first, I was very angry at Valve for suddenly working on this game while the first one was still unpolished, but my disposition changed when I finally played this game and experienced theWhen you experienced the first game, some of the atmosphere in the second game doesn't feel as strong. However, this game makes up for that with the new weapons, features, infected and characters. At first, I was very angry at Valve for suddenly working on this game while the first one was still unpolished, but my disposition changed when I finally played this game and experienced the updates along with it. It's good every once in a while, but gets repetitive sometimes even with the game altering "Director" thrown in. Versus Mode can be extremely fun when your team isn't stupid and the hit detection doesn't screw you over, but I find that more or less unbalanced and just stick with the normal co-op. Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2011
    7
    I haven't played L4D1, so i don't have anything else to compare it to, (other than perhaps Killing Floor). I thought of giving it a 6, but then i guess it's still a *good quality* game, just that the gameplay didn't suck me in at all. I guess i'm not a fan of a thousand no-AI-whatsoever npc's running at me, it kind of makes each individual kill meaningless, and there is no river of bloodI haven't played L4D1, so i don't have anything else to compare it to, (other than perhaps Killing Floor). I thought of giving it a 6, but then i guess it's still a *good quality* game, just that the gameplay didn't suck me in at all. I guess i'm not a fan of a thousand no-AI-whatsoever npc's running at me, it kind of makes each individual kill meaningless, and there is no river of blood to make it at least visually bad-ass. And it's very linear too: after finishing a campaign once, i had no desire to replay it, having to go through exactly the same path again. I did like the vs. scavenge mode though, i think this one aspect of the whole game is what really stood out. Having to be the zombies who die faster than the waiting time between respawns, it was the first time i ever reaaallly had to strategize in an fps. To finalize, if i were to give this game a price, i'd say it's worth about $5-$10 (depending on who you are. To me it would have been worth $5, but definitely not $35, or however much i actually paid for it.) Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Let's get one thing straight. L4D2 is not a mere expansion pack. It's not Left 4 Dead 1.5, but Left 4 Dead 2.0 as the title suggests. There's twice as many guns, melee weapons can be used as secondary, new equipment and grenades, new enemies, more campaigns which last longer, new characters who join originals and new maps as well as new game modes. There's Realism, scavenge and more mapsLet's get one thing straight. L4D2 is not a mere expansion pack. It's not Left 4 Dead 1.5, but Left 4 Dead 2.0 as the title suggests. There's twice as many guns, melee weapons can be used as secondary, new equipment and grenades, new enemies, more campaigns which last longer, new characters who join originals and new maps as well as new game modes. There's Realism, scavenge and more maps for survival. It's a new game alright- a great continuation from Left 4 Dead. So why do I only give it 7/10? Simply put, the game's appeal doesn't last too long. No matter how much you add to it, killing zombies gets boring very quickly. The achievements, as usual with Valve games, are creative but pointless. Zombies in CoD are way more addicting even without achievements. If you liked Left 4 Dead, this is definitely worth gettiing. But despite the AI director in both games, it's just not addicting. I suppose in CoD Zombies it's addicting to beat your best. Here, in survival mode, it just doesn't grip me at all. Maybe it's the gameplay mechanics, maybe it's that in CoD you get 2 types of zombie. Issues still exist with the AI though. They'll try to heal you when you don't need it, for example, in the middle of a horde. Their only use is as a storage for all the pills and healthpacks you didn't pick up. Generally, Valve's shooter doesn't feel like a 2009/10 release due to the Counter-strike gameplay. With their games, it's much more about the concept rather than the intricate details. Overall, the game is a complete package, since you get survival, co-op, single-player, and competitive multiplayer where you play as the zombies as well. It's a good game, but still not one I'd want to play for a long time. Expand
  16. Jan 14, 2012
    7
    All I can say, is that this game is a **** awesome sequel to Left 4 Dead, ticked all my boxes, nothing negative comes to mind. Awesome! The gameplay is awesome in multiplayer, had tones of fun, t
  17. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    With 3 of your friends, co-op is an amazing way to spend few hours or an entire weekend. Hectic pace, great arenas, great bosses, requires ton of team play to come out of each section alive.
    By yourself, co-op portion is nearly not as fun and multiplayer... there are a lot of better choices out there.
  18. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    This game could be better. It has a lot of nice new concepts, but a lot of it is also recycled from Left 4 Dead. I like it, but it's not really worth getting at full price.
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Left 4 Dead 2 is a game that should be looked at entirely separately from its predecessor. Yes, it was released one year after the first one, yes it is the same game mechanics but with different characters/areas. Those however, are what makes it a new game. Many people thought they should have released dlc for the original and been done with it, but if you look at both games, you can tellLeft 4 Dead 2 is a game that should be looked at entirely separately from its predecessor. Yes, it was released one year after the first one, yes it is the same game mechanics but with different characters/areas. Those however, are what makes it a new game. Many people thought they should have released dlc for the original and been done with it, but if you look at both games, you can tell the first one was more of a dry-run at the franchise, a polished beta, if you will. It tried new ideas while doing them well. L4D2 is released, and you can see what they were trying to do all along. They succeeded in creating a very nice experience for friends to play and it provides a huge amount of options and game modes to go back to. It runs on Source, which speaks for itself in terms of performance. The lack of content is what held this game back. If it knew it was only going to be a game comprised of multiple short campaigns, it should have prepared for the desire of the consumer for more, by adding at least 5 more original campaigns. Expand
  20. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    A direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the newA direct upgrade from the original with a wider and more varied arsenal (including melee weapons), more multiplayer modes, and more zombie types. After releasing this and the original back to back two years in a row the gameplay is starting to get boring and although the maps are a lot better you're still just shooting, juking and exploding zombies. Versus mode is better with the new Infected additions but I always found this mode really rage inducing because of the level's pickup randomization. New multiplayer modes are creative and there are mutators but the base gameplay has been done before and I didn't feel compelled to get into them. There's pretty much no reason to buy the original now that this is out especially when you consider they ported the original campaign to the sequel. Once again, the online community is horrible and if you want to play this you will want a group of friends. Expand
  21. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    This is a pretty well crafted game, with an optimal amount of fun to be had with the right groups. However my biggest beef has to be that theres a poor balancing system and you often have 1 godly team stomping 1 bad team.

    Other than that, single player mode types get boring pretty quickly, but theyre fun while they last,
  22. May 18, 2013
    7
    Best played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bitBest played on PC, this game offers a well team played combat scenario in a apocalyptic world. You will have to scavenge, work together and communicate in order to survive the hordes of zombies that come at you. It's combat is actually surprisingly something new even if it is practically the same thing as the first L4D. There are different campaigns but over time they start to feel a bit boring as your completing your challenge to survive. There is no real story to this other than to survive and get to checkpoint to checkpoint. Though playing with friends is a lot of fun as you work together and install mods that enhance your experience makes the game even better. This may not be a good game for everyone but, it's worth the try. Expand
  23. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    It's a fun game with friends that can draw you in for hours on end, but in the end I felt a little disappointed with Left 4 Dead 2. It felt like something that had been rushed out and lacked the polish of Valve's other titles.
  24. Jun 28, 2014
    7
    Its nice.
    there's not too much added on from the original, and its a standard zombie-shooter, but the characters are just so...unique and awesome, and the special infected are nice
    Overall its...good.
  25. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    Valve seemed to rush about publishing this title, mentioning that there's not much changes disappointingly. Not much additions have been added, despite some changes on weaponry, characters, special infected and maps. It also manages to feel relatively the same as it's predecessor, meaning that this game would be fantastic as a DLC. But, if you're able to avoid thinking about the lack ofValve seemed to rush about publishing this title, mentioning that there's not much changes disappointingly. Not much additions have been added, despite some changes on weaponry, characters, special infected and maps. It also manages to feel relatively the same as it's predecessor, meaning that this game would be fantastic as a DLC. But, if you're able to avoid thinking about the lack of innovation, you are going to have a blast. But, be sure to bring a friend with you to really achieve the satisfaction of winning a game, because playing alone, while fun, it gets stale.
    The variety of guns is rather huge, and melee weapons are added to this sequel too. There's not much change on guns, but the addition of melee weapons is rewarding. They are fun and satisfying to use.
    Special infected appear in this game, with some more types of them. They are satisfying to kill, and they have their unique abilities for attacking the players. Along with the common zombies, all of them are rewarding to kill.
    Making strategy is the smartest and the best way to survive. It's ultimately unforgettable when you make strategy with your friends, and actually winning the level.
    This game would score an eight, if not of this negative: the lack of level variation.
    Blasting through zombies, while fun at first, it can get monotone doing the same thing every time. Why don't you add an interesting twist on the level, and not doing the same thing every time It's disappointing to see this issue, and I hope they'll fix this in Left 4 Dead 3. Well, if it's going to be out in the first place.
    Left 4 Dead 2, despite having a lack of innovation and level variation, it's brutally entertaining for both casual and hardcore players. (Final Score: 7.67)
    Expand
  26. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    Doesn't do anything that couldn't have been achieved with a Left 4 Dead Expansion.

    Hopefully, Left 4 Dead 3 will actually add something new to the series.
  27. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    7.5/10.
    It's a fun game, not too special.
    Story isn't interesting, and the online is dull after just a few game sessions.
    Graphics are quite nice, the variety of zombies is quite fun, weaponry is nice as well.
    The game is mostly fun to play with a few friends.
    Not a special game, but it is kind of a defining point in zombie gaming.
  28. Mar 8, 2014
    7
    This is great fun to play with the steam workshop and l4dmaps.com mods and would be a 10/10, but without mods the game can get quite repetitive. The only good non-modded level is Dark Carnival.
  29. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    Es una expansión de L4D1, nada mas. Es un juego adictivo, divertido, fácil de conseguir, es un buen juego. Le daría una puntuación mayor si este hubiera sido el primer L4D, pero no lo es.... Es lo que es... DLC, vendido como nueva entrega. Aun así lo recomiendo por que este juego mato a la comunidad de L4D1. Compralo ya, esta en Steam a 15 dolares. Le doy un 07/10, si fuera el primero leEs una expansión de L4D1, nada mas. Es un juego adictivo, divertido, fácil de conseguir, es un buen juego. Le daría una puntuación mayor si este hubiera sido el primer L4D, pero no lo es.... Es lo que es... DLC, vendido como nueva entrega. Aun así lo recomiendo por que este juego mato a la comunidad de L4D1. Compralo ya, esta en Steam a 15 dolares. Le doy un 07/10, si fuera el primero le daría un 08/10 o un 09/10, pero es una versión Plus+DLC de el 1. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  2. 90
    It remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.
  3. Whereas once we treated Left 4 Dead as a stopgap between Half-Lifes, this is no longer a weird little side project with modest expectations, and Valve is confident enough to play around with it, safe in the knowledge that you can trust your players. Left 4 Dead proved it. And whereas that game had a personality, this one is overflowing with it.