User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 98
  2. Negative: 25 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2011
    10
    it was fine, no new weapons and such, but interestin finale as well as cool map design. It felt much harder that the other campaigns. In the begining, i could barely get past the first alley way. Overall, I liked it and it proved to be another fun dlFREE for left 4 dead
  2. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    Crash Course is a rather mediocre update for one of my favorite games, Left 4 Dead, made by Valve. It still has the same great gameplay and atmosphere, but now the story has changed for the better. The game takes place immediately after the first campaign, No Mercy, where you got saved by a helicopter. As the name suggests the helicopter crashes and you need to find another way out of theCrash Course is a rather mediocre update for one of my favorite games, Left 4 Dead, made by Valve. It still has the same great gameplay and atmosphere, but now the story has changed for the better. The game takes place immediately after the first campaign, No Mercy, where you got saved by a helicopter. As the name suggests the helicopter crashes and you need to find another way out of the city.

    Now I have two major complaints:

    1. The maps are bigger and allow you to take different routes. While this allows for more strategic approaches it also becomes easier to get lost and it also doubles the amount of siderooms you need to check if you want to get all the weapon upgrades.

    2. There are only two maps and it only took me and a chum thirty to forty minutes to get through this campaign, but looking back at complaint number 1 I should probably be thankful for that.

    The game is still exactly the same good and it's fun, but if you are an xbox-owner then don't bother paying for this. I didn't have to because I have the PC version of the game, but if you don't then take off three points from my score.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    -This is not a Review for THIS Campaign, it is a review for the entire L4D Franchise-

    L4D is getting somewhere, maps are updating, weapons are being added and Bug-Fixed, and the Community is makin' several Good maps. L4D is a TRUE zombie game. You're stuck in a tiny closet, banging the door, calling out for help, as zombies are breaking in from the back, How Survival Horror should be!
    -This is not a Review for THIS Campaign, it is a review for the entire L4D Franchise-

    L4D is getting somewhere, maps are updating, weapons are being added and Bug-Fixed, and the Community is makin' several Good maps.
    L4D is a TRUE zombie game. You're stuck in a tiny closet, banging the door, calling out for help, as zombies are breaking in from the back, How Survival Horror should be!

    L4D Borrows alot from Silent Hill once you think about it. The protagonist's are Every-Day-People. The settings are everyday places, and the monsters are all creepy and dis-comforting.

    True zombie game, and one of the few good Co-Op titles in existance.
    Expand
  4. Dalek
    Jan 3, 2010
    6
    A decent campaign but only 2 maps? It's quite short but the thing I like about it is that it takes longer to travel instead of 5 mins rushing. It's ok, but I expected more maps!
  5. BrianC
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    The Crash Course campaign helps to bridge the gap between the early l4d and the new and updated l4d2. The first maps were short and weapons were in exact locations, with few interesting spots for special infected. Crash Course is much longer with gifts left all throughout the level, guns showing up in random order in random spots, and a TON of lovable spots for special infected to spawn.
  6. LysanderS
    Dec 23, 2009
    1
    Gets a 1 for the new voice work. That's about all. I feel sorry for the console users who had to pay for this garbage.
  7. oddaas
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    A very nice expansion for a good game already, it gives the game good varety, and i like that its short and weapons are only found with one at the time
  8. Job
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    What we seem to be forgetting here is that this is (A)the PC page, so this DLC is FREE, and B, they are offering it for free, so why should anyone care what content they get. Its like complaning about only getting a piece of bread at a soup kitchen. Crash Course may be short, but gives a new map and a few more hours of play.
  9. PeterDTS
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Love it! Crash Course is constructed for VERSUS gameplay. So dont blame it for bad singleplayer action.
  10. SethB
    Nov 16, 2009
    7
    This campaign was not made for campaign mode. Why some people didn't know from Valve's pre-DLC-release announcements, I don't know. This wasn't made to be long. The whole purpose of "Crash course" was to, quote on quote, "Provide a complete and satisfying VS. mode experience in under 30 minutes." And it did accomplish just that. However, it doesn't feel quite the This campaign was not made for campaign mode. Why some people didn't know from Valve's pre-DLC-release announcements, I don't know. This wasn't made to be long. The whole purpose of "Crash course" was to, quote on quote, "Provide a complete and satisfying VS. mode experience in under 30 minutes." And it did accomplish just that. However, it doesn't feel quite the quality as the first five campaigns. That is the only reason i gave it a 7. People need to realize why it was short. to provide a fun and quick VS. mode playthrough. So your not sitting there for 4 hours in VS. mode playing through a five map campaign. Expand
  11. Nick
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    Crash Course was probably made in a day because they were far too busy on L4D2. Lots of bugs and simply mistakes made by the dev team which show no signs of them getting fixed either. I left ripped off even though it was FREE content, if only i could uninstall it from my HDD without uninstalling L4D
  12. AriënH
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Wouldn't give it a 10 under normal circumstances, but seeing the way other comments reacted I felt the need to overcompensate. Just to clear something up: this DLC was released to stop people from whining about L4D content. Yet, the only people who are whining now are exactly those people who were going 'l4d2 comin now no ppl ply l4d no mre and we wont get udpates no more Wouldn't give it a 10 under normal circumstances, but seeing the way other comments reacted I felt the need to overcompensate. Just to clear something up: this DLC was released to stop people from whining about L4D content. Yet, the only people who are whining now are exactly those people who were going 'l4d2 comin now no ppl ply l4d no mre and we wont get udpates no more :'(' are now whining about the campaign being too short. It was meant as a quick versus campaign, not as a full-blown co-op masterpiece. If you care that much, buy L4D2. This was merely a (free, I might add) update to L4D to show that they were still updating the game, beyond this expansion. It's not like this is it. Every game has bugs in it which are missed in production. That's what patches are for. There's no non-Steam version of L4D, to it's safe to assume you're auto-updating. Just give Valve time, they might surprise you. Expand
  13. anonymous
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Its free! Added many hours of gameplay to the game for me. Maby people bagging this should complain to microsoft for forcing valve to be charged everytime they want to release free DLC but can't because they have to charge people for it due to microsofts rules.
  14. MarcelB
    Nov 5, 2009
    3
    WOW whats the point of this anyway a short campaign for l4d including it sucks i just gave it a three because they did new achivments
  15. J.V.
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    Even though the campaign was too short, i enjoyed every minute. BTW you can't blame the campaign for the A.I. it just doesn't work that way... and about the racist remark: IT'S CALLED A JOKE... it doesn't necessarily express the views of the developers, it might just be a humorous remark.
  16. PaThetic
    Oct 17, 2009
    2
    This is a really pathetic attempt at Valve trying to appease the Left4Dead community. Everyone knows support will be non-existent once L4D2 is released. to being, all the L4D1 maps are characterized by very linear and narrow paths, which helps special infected set up ambushes. crash course is the complete opposite formula with very wide, expansive environment. The intial release for crash This is a really pathetic attempt at Valve trying to appease the Left4Dead community. Everyone knows support will be non-existent once L4D2 is released. to being, all the L4D1 maps are characterized by very linear and narrow paths, which helps special infected set up ambushes. crash course is the complete opposite formula with very wide, expansive environment. The intial release for crash course (CC) was riddled with bugs (uber item spawns), jesus closets where SI cannot enter, buggy mini gun, etc. the whole campaign is just a random mess. they even ignored the community and clipped off rooftops AGAIN after the complaints for the nerfed death toll and dead air campaigns. lets not mention how horribly imbalanced (in favor of survivors) with the finale. what's ironic is within this patch they included charge meters for special infected, a suggestion that was made in the L4D forums. with the recent announcement of the "scavanger' gameplay mode, yet another idea borrowed from the L4D forums....why do they ignore the most common and frequent suggestions from the forums, namely, FIXING THE BUGS THAT HAVE BEEN PRESENT SINCE ITS RELEASE? simply put, this hashed up piece of crap campaign, if indicative of future valve projects (due to EA influence), will be valve's undoing. Thanks for charging a full game price, for what can be considered content similar to an extended demo.... the half-life:uplink demo even rivals the content released for L4D. Expand
  17. cyrusm
    Oct 14, 2009
    8
    The PC addition of L4D is fine. This is a good change from the original four campaigns. It took several attempts in expert to finish it (that's with a good team). There is no other game the provides this level of dread and anticipation. The music is a unique warning that danger is looming and gives players just enough time to make them run to the nearest corner. It's just a The PC addition of L4D is fine. This is a good change from the original four campaigns. It took several attempts in expert to finish it (that's with a good team). There is no other game the provides this level of dread and anticipation. The music is a unique warning that danger is looming and gives players just enough time to make them run to the nearest corner. It's just a little sad when you have people play the game for enough time to kill all the survivors and then they leave. Expand
  18. AndrewS.
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    It is a well constructed piece of scenery, and a rather interesting final setpiece typical of Valve. But it is seriously at most 35 minutes long, I'm not going to take this half-baked effort from Valve.
  19. LeeW
    Oct 12, 2009
    1
    A fifteen minute add-on to a game that was already priced at fifty dollars for two hours of gameplay. Nothing new is added in terms of guns, graphics, or gameplay more than a different path to follow. Your teammates are still dumb, and the best part is when you find the getaway truck which is on supports and you go under it, you die instantly.
  20. Peter
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    It's a *free* bonus. There is nothing to complain about for the PC version! It costs nothing! It should not even be reviewed here because it is technically an update for an already existing title--it is not an expansion (for the PC). There is nothing wrong with this upgrade. It fixes some minor issues (as would be expected), and it even adds some new fairly significant content. What It's a *free* bonus. There is nothing to complain about for the PC version! It costs nothing! It should not even be reviewed here because it is technically an update for an already existing title--it is not an expansion (for the PC). There is nothing wrong with this upgrade. It fixes some minor issues (as would be expected), and it even adds some new fairly significant content. What could there possibly be to complain about? Expand
  21. AndrewM
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    While this DLC doesn't have seem quite as inventive as the original campaigns, it does fill a much needed gap in the L4D roster. Rumors that somehow it changes gameplay mechanics (Such as bot AI, alters your other L4D files) are baseless and ridiculous. However, it does seem to be nothing more than a bone tossed the fans who are angry about L4D2. Nevertheless, a decent add-on, and While this DLC doesn't have seem quite as inventive as the original campaigns, it does fill a much needed gap in the L4D roster. Rumors that somehow it changes gameplay mechanics (Such as bot AI, alters your other L4D files) are baseless and ridiculous. However, it does seem to be nothing more than a bone tossed the fans who are angry about L4D2. Nevertheless, a decent add-on, and only benefits the (now) series. Expand
  22. w00t
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    First of all, this short campaigns offers a little refreshing gameplay. Although not many things change. I also think this campaign is better in versus mode than in singleplayer. I'm sure you'll enjoy some more hours killing infected with this campaign. (By the way don't read the reviews of people playing the xbox version, they chose the pay-for-all-DLC-method and this is First of all, this short campaigns offers a little refreshing gameplay. Although not many things change. I also think this campaign is better in versus mode than in singleplayer. I'm sure you'll enjoy some more hours killing infected with this campaign. (By the way don't read the reviews of people playing the xbox version, they chose the pay-for-all-DLC-method and this is the PC section.) Expand
  23. DanielB
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    It's a short campaign, which is just what L4D needs: other campaigns take an hour or two to finish, which is no good if you're pressed for time. And some people here apparently think it's easy to make a level in L4D? It really isn't, I've tried and it''s very time consuming to make the level and AI navigation systems, and on top of that VALVe added some It's a short campaign, which is just what L4D needs: other campaigns take an hour or two to finish, which is no good if you're pressed for time. And some people here apparently think it's easy to make a level in L4D? It really isn't, I've tried and it''s very time consuming to make the level and AI navigation systems, and on top of that VALVe added some extra voice acting and models, so it only makes sense why it took so long to make. Expand
  24. EvanP
    Oct 9, 2009
    9
    Purely brilliant. The shortness of the campaign - it's only downside - is made up for the fact that most of the Left 4 Dead team is working on L4D2. The levels are great quality - IMO better level design than any other campaign except Blood Harvest. This DLC is enough to keep me interested until L4D2 / more L4D DLC. Valve doesn't dissapoint on this one, and us PC gamers Purely brilliant. The shortness of the campaign - it's only downside - is made up for the fact that most of the Left 4 Dead team is working on L4D2. The levels are great quality - IMO better level design than any other campaign except Blood Harvest. This DLC is enough to keep me interested until L4D2 / more L4D DLC. Valve doesn't dissapoint on this one, and us PC gamers certainly can't complain seeing as it's free! Expand
  25. MilesW
    Oct 9, 2009
    7
    Overall Crash Course is ok. It is kind of nice having a shorter to play when you are a little crunched for time. The level design is somewhat crowded and the weapon and item placement is extremely predictable (as aposed to the other campains). Overall this campain leaves me wanting more.
  26. RossA
    Oct 9, 2009
    2
    After hyping this as an expansion campaign, and something to finally deliver a good dose of content to the l4d veterans, these 2 maps are hardly anything new. I expected an actual campaign of 5 maps, these 2 were over in a snap and offered no new concepts or approaches from what we've already played. Some of the new user generated campaigns are worlds beyond this poor attempt at After hyping this as an expansion campaign, and something to finally deliver a good dose of content to the l4d veterans, these 2 maps are hardly anything new. I expected an actual campaign of 5 maps, these 2 were over in a snap and offered no new concepts or approaches from what we've already played. Some of the new user generated campaigns are worlds beyond this poor attempt at satisfying l4d1 players. Expand
  27. KurtC
    Oct 8, 2009
    6
    Really Jared?" I love your stupid rant on the games A.I." Not... Of course the computer A.I. for teammates are ridiculous. But, seriously. Who plays with Computer Teammates? But if the game only had single player and it was offline, might as well rate it a 3.. But, it's an online multiplayer game with Co-Op and Versus, dude! I hate playing by myself it just gets so boring, and the Really Jared?" I love your stupid rant on the games A.I." Not... Of course the computer A.I. for teammates are ridiculous. But, seriously. Who plays with Computer Teammates? But if the game only had single player and it was offline, might as well rate it a 3.. But, it's an online multiplayer game with Co-Op and Versus, dude! I hate playing by myself it just gets so boring, and the map itself is short... I beat it in a jiffy with Expert mode by myself. But when playing online with friends, the whole experience changes, and it really does. I laugh more with my friends, and we all scream when the hordes come and takes one of us down. But if you like to be a loner, and play by yourself with stupid A.I. bots, then go ahead. Just don't rant on the DLC or the game for your own stupidity if you haven't tried mulitplayer with friends. Expand
  28. JaredJ.
    Oct 8, 2009
    3
    You will know what happens after the survivors left Mercy Hospital, it's a continuation of the "No Mercy" campaign. However, you will not be happy. It's only two levels that can be cleared in under twenty minutes and did the A.I. decrease? Yes it did, now your Computer team mates will jump IN FRONT of your shots. Before they would come to your resuce, now the just leave you You will know what happens after the survivors left Mercy Hospital, it's a continuation of the "No Mercy" campaign. However, you will not be happy. It's only two levels that can be cleared in under twenty minutes and did the A.I. decrease? Yes it did, now your Computer team mates will jump IN FRONT of your shots. Before they would come to your resuce, now the just leave you there. The Tank used to attack random players, now it just goes after the player! Oh, and did I mention the racist remark? I'm not kidding, on a wall in the safe room there is a comment that reads; "No blacks = No zombies." P.C. gamers get a bonus because it's free, but if you're using X-Box 360, save your money, you are literally not missing a thing. Expand
  29. REDE
    Oct 4, 2009
    8
    Second biggest update that was promised by L4D, proving that Valve still cares for L4D and not just L4D2. Map is pretty much a sequel of No Mercy, make's sense to play Crash Course after No Mercy. Versus mode's best friend map.
  30. mhmbrittnar
    Oct 3, 2009
    1
    Buggy, broken, and ruins the game even more. A pathetic attempt by Valve to save their dying game. The only thing that Crash Course does is make Valve look like they are sabotaging their own game to make people buy the sequel.
  31. BrianS.
    Sep 30, 2009
    4
    I have to say that I was extremely dissapointed with this new addition. I fail to see why it would take so long to develop such a quick and plain campaign. Valve's excuse for the short levels, that they would make a good quick game, does not come to fruition, instead leaving us wondering what prevented them from creating a real campaign? The changes to interface and item spawning are I have to say that I was extremely dissapointed with this new addition. I fail to see why it would take so long to develop such a quick and plain campaign. Valve's excuse for the short levels, that they would make a good quick game, does not come to fruition, instead leaving us wondering what prevented them from creating a real campaign? The changes to interface and item spawning are a decent plus, but really this DLC really feels like it was spat out to satisfy the anti-L4D2 groups. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 80
    Crash Course doesn't change the basic nature of Left 4 Dead, but like most good content packs delivers a jolt of energy into an existing gameplay formula. It's something any fan of the original is sure to appreciate, and caters to people who don't have the time to invest in a full Versus playthrough on one of the original campaigns.
  2. The expansion of Left 4 Dead is just that, an expansion. This is a new campaign, more than two episodes in the case of PC users, is free. A good initiative to spur even more arousing interest in Left 4 Dead 2.
  3. It's a decent update featuring more the same.