Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3694 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Cooties!
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    To get the most out of this game you should make an effort to get a full group of friends and play on the highest difficulty your group can handle.

    The best moments in this game are when you and your friends are fighting for your life limping past the next safe room where you can finally rest and recover. To those that set a score of 0 just to spite the game, it looks like you were
    To get the most out of this game you should make an effort to get a full group of friends and play on the highest difficulty your group can handle.

    The best moments in this game are when you and your friends are fighting for your life limping past the next safe room where you can finally rest and recover.

    To those that set a score of 0 just to spite the game, it looks like you were playing with the wrong groups of people or on the wrong difficulties. This game is designed for co-op and the best way to play co-op is with your buddies.
    Expand
  2. fooXDoe
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    That game is just awesome.I dreamed of CooP Games like this since forever.
    I think there is enough said about the game itself by all the others.

    There was a demo, wich is really nice, too bad the demo is canceled as the game started selling in the US. People might wanna try the demo before buying it.
  3. lukeNathan
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, need more like it! Missions from moving trucks, boats and trains would be good! Bring on more maps too! Really love it that people are encouraged to work together and the online management is superb, as is the sense of story while retaining replayability. Very very clever and original, look forward to more, cheers!
  4. Adamccgzh@hotmail.com
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    im giveing this game Left 4 Dead a 10/10 because it is a fun fast killing game some flaws i have seen and the biggest one is story line. im not going to give it a 9 for it but i like reading, playing and learning about zombies and the biggest question i have for steam how do people get infection in the game is it from the blood or something else??? like it
  5. christopherj
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    This is the best team game I've ever played online. It does a great job of requiring the team to work together without making it too hard.
    I personally love playing as one of the infected super zombies. I wish the single player mode was a bit stronger--it's repetitive, but it's a fantastic multi-player game.
  6. lamelamer
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing. I thought this game wouldn't be worth it ($50 for 4 campaigns??) until I bought it. I've logged over 40 hrs in two weeks. The ai director is incorporated nearly flawlessly. Sure this game isn't designed for single player and I can solo easy and normal but expert is where this game really shines. You really have to stick together, communicate and act as a team orAmazing. I thought this game wouldn't be worth it ($50 for 4 campaigns??) until I bought it. I've logged over 40 hrs in two weeks. The ai director is incorporated nearly flawlessly. Sure this game isn't designed for single player and I can solo easy and normal but expert is where this game really shines. You really have to stick together, communicate and act as a team or die. Versus is a lot more fun if you have your own group of friends who know what they are doing. the maps are completely different as a zombie and as a survivor. I rated this game based on what it was meant to be, a multiplayer coop/versus game not a single player fps. The people who complain about lack of a single player campaign get a clue. Expand
  7. RyanS
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Zombies. Lots of zombies. Fat zombies (Boomer), monkey zombies (hunter), huge tongue zombies (smoker) and the Mammoth zombie (Tank). You have yourself a great game. Team work is required to master this game. Versus mode is great fun. The game only has 4 chapters but they are re playable because its just so much fun! 30 zombies attacking you and your team mates at once and you have beenZombies. Lots of zombies. Fat zombies (Boomer), monkey zombies (hunter), huge tongue zombies (smoker) and the Mammoth zombie (Tank). You have yourself a great game. Team work is required to master this game. Versus mode is great fun. The game only has 4 chapters but they are re playable because its just so much fun! 30 zombies attacking you and your team mates at once and you have been vommited on by a fat zombie so you can see! Its crazy fun. This is what makes this game awesome. Expand
  8. JasonFantone
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Somewhat Of A Spoiler!!!

    This game gets a 9-10, WHY? CUZ VALVES A GENIOUS!!! Left 4 Dead is one of the most well thought out coop games I have ever played. The idea cooperate ar die sounds correct to me because it is true. Campaign is a blast especially if you are playing with friends (that know how to play) and versus mode is well thought out. I;m kinda bummed about the 2 versus
    Somewhat Of A Spoiler!!!

    This game gets a 9-10, WHY? CUZ VALVES A GENIOUS!!! Left 4 Dead is one of the most well thought out coop games I have ever played. The idea cooperate ar die sounds correct to me because it is true. Campaign is a blast especially if you are playing with friends (that know how to play) and versus mode is well thought out. I;m kinda bummed about the 2 versus campaigns and random zombie classes, but otherwise you would have like 3 smokers or just have a bunch of kids choosing the hunter, so they can jump around like spiderman =P. Overall this game gets a nine, for one reason, only 2 versus campaigns. BTW I have every reason to believe that in an update, Valve will add the other 2 campaigns =D.
    Expand
  9. AnnaPanna
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game that never fails to get your heart racing. Be it playing with and against your friends in versus mode, or teaming up with three friends to escape the zombie apocalypse on an Advanced or Expert level, this is heart pumping, never ending action that leaves you drained but happy. One of the most intense and rewarding games I've ever had the fortune to play. WhenThis is a fantastic game that never fails to get your heart racing. Be it playing with and against your friends in versus mode, or teaming up with three friends to escape the zombie apocalypse on an Advanced or Expert level, this is heart pumping, never ending action that leaves you drained but happy. One of the most intense and rewarding games I've ever had the fortune to play. When we get new maps (which we will, both community-made and from Valve), the experience will get even deeper. I'll be playing this for a while, I can tell.

    Steele X said: "We all know which monster is going to pop out from where and where are the medic packs are located." That's total BS. Every time you play a level, the zombies are randomly placed, the Horde comes at you from random directions, and health and weapons are randomly placed in one of several spots. It's totally unpredictable, which is part of what makes it fun. And just because you have a bad experience playing with idiots who don't communicate doesn't make it a bad game. Teamwork is key here. Find yourself some new friends, people who do communicate and play as a team, is all.
    Expand
  10. ITatsuoI
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This game had me on the edge of my seat from when I first started playing it. Playing this game on expert right from the start is something remarkable. This game is meant to be played on Expert, giving you great challenge, and making you want to replay it again and again, wanting to beat this level. Honestly, I think people give this game bad ratings for bad reason. This game is quiteThis game had me on the edge of my seat from when I first started playing it. Playing this game on expert right from the start is something remarkable. This game is meant to be played on Expert, giving you great challenge, and making you want to replay it again and again, wanting to beat this level. Honestly, I think people give this game bad ratings for bad reason. This game is quite epic, and it's a great game. I'm very glad I got this game, and I love playing with my friends, being a zombie, or a survivor. A must have game, and it will keep you entertained for a long time. Expand
  11. Lars
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible, it's got everything a game should have, humor, horror, and the ability to blas pieces of zombies, i'm giving it a 10
  12. JulioR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Great game, better than MW:2! This is a bigger improvement than L4D 1 and this is NOT an "extra mod add-on" as what people were saying L4D2 would be. It has so much more than L4D 1! 10/10
  13. SeanB.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be if Source releases the SDK so that mod levels can be created and make it even more addictive. Akin to RTCW:ET which is still continuously being played to this day. Expand
  14. ericc
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I played the demo for almost 24 hours in 2 day. then about 3-6 months later i buy the game(i am saving for a high powered pc so i have to be a tightwad) and i LOVE IT changeing where the specials are. The story is kinda boring cause you never really get saved, but that is what makes it better
  15. JamesFletcher
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    How could the critics be so... critical? An amazing shooter compaired to other FPS games, but more importantly focus' on teamwork rather than heroism... Brilliant. n.b I have had no performance or technical issues with this game (which makes a refreshing change) Cheers Valve! - JF England
  16. RegoHurtado
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    When I go out and purchase a game today, I look for RE-PLAY VALUE. What I mean by this is how many times am I going to come back to my computer and instead of studying, play L4D. I am on the verge of dropping out of college because of this game, it is the best. ( lol jk. ) But this game really has tons of replay value and if you want a game thats fun and you finally have to depend on yourWhen I go out and purchase a game today, I look for RE-PLAY VALUE. What I mean by this is how many times am I going to come back to my computer and instead of studying, play L4D. I am on the verge of dropping out of college because of this game, it is the best. ( lol jk. ) But this game really has tons of replay value and if you want a game thats fun and you finally have to depend on your team, get L4D. Best game ever. Expand
  17. DaveS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Love the gameplay and interaction. Multiplayer is awesome. The A.I. is not too formulaic nor too challenging. Ten pimp-slaps out of Ten.
  18. NiklasA
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game doe seem a little lacking in content, but Valve has made a few free additions to keep the game going. The game might get old after a while, but I garuntee you'll come back to it addicted all over again.
  19. MaxP
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's a real good adventure, if you like action and zombies you'll like this Game. This game is funnier then Hell, i give it a 10 because it makes fun, there is not to much blood, and is a good Teamwork-Game!
  20. ChrisP
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    This is a great game. The AI Is not however very smart because it spawns a tank right behind you and then your whole team is dead. The Music is great and all the 7 weapons are very simple Shotgun for close hits Assault rifles for mid range hits and sniper for long ranged hits. And the way they make pistols have infinite ammo is great.
  21. BrentC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have played, and I never get bored of killing all the zombies
  22. Nick
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent campeigns, and improved graphics. These give the game a whole new playing style, and was much more than an expansion pack. The menus and online play are also improved, although still not perfect. Expand
  23. SergeyK
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also sound like they actually felt that pain! Acting: The Survivors sound great, Zoey, Bill, Louis, and Francis all sound like they were just shot or they were harmed by a fellow Survivor, it's just so good! Gameplay: Here is where everything is great, I love having to stick together rather than dying alone. I like a game where you don't just rush! I also like the Versus mode, I like being a Hunter, because if they aren't cooperative then you get a victim that needs to be saved but they will be delayed with fellow Infected or A.I.! I love the finale part, setting up spots to put traps and related things. Left 4 Dead is a great game that is young let very good, it blew me away, it will beat Resident Evil 5 for sure! Expand
  24. JaniKoivusaari
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    Quite an addictive game, especially in the beginning. The intensity and movie-like atmosphere is great. In it's current state it runs out of maps pretty quickly. But the difficulty options, achievements, versus mode and playing with friends makes it a quick and fun game to play for one or two hours at a time.
  25. LanndonBlackmon
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    Fun, intense, extremely addicting. The AI of your allies seems a bit lacking in the single player version though (teammates have a bad habit of not helping during key moments, running into an open flame to save a downed team member, etc.) but other then that it's a great deal of fun!
  26. JoshuaLehman
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. Brilliant idea. Fast paced but very structured and organized. At first i thought it would be a terrible game but the team play is just awesome, and very fun. The only thing i don't like is the price, i feel its too high for what it is. Its a fun multi-player game but there isn't a strong campaign i think it should be a $40. dollar game.
  27. DickArmy
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are all top notch. Valve is also releasing more content soon. Expand
  28. FrozenF
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i definitely recommend this game. You won't be disappointed, there will be so many 'oh shit' moments that will keep you having fun with friends for what I foresee as years. Expand
  29. MichaelM
    May 15, 2009
    9
    Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. That's what this game makes so great for me! Thanks Valve! Expand
  30. DrewB
    May 23, 2009
    10
    A pretty fantastic game. Sure it could be longer, but at least what is there woeks great and is really fun to play with friends. The community surrounding it is L4D's only real down side.
  31. EmeryA
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games, and I don't usually enjoy FPS that much. It's exciting, suspenseful, and full of 28-Days-Later type rage zombies! If there were uninfected people in the game (forcing you to carefully pick your targets), or more campaigns, I would vote 11!
  32. BurtonJ
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can say is I wish my friend had internet and a copy of this game for PC. It Rocks! Expand
  33. MichaelV
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    This game is so far the best game I have ever played. I'm very addicted to this game and i can't stop playing. I'm always thinking about this game at school and everywhere I go. Sadly my 360 broke so I have to wait for a long time. I'm very sad. I just wanna kill some zombies now!!! This game could just improve in the amount of guns. There's only a few. I wish This game is so far the best game I have ever played. I'm very addicted to this game and i can't stop playing. I'm always thinking about this game at school and everywhere I go. Sadly my 360 broke so I have to wait for a long time. I'm very sad. I just wanna kill some zombies now!!! This game could just improve in the amount of guns. There's only a few. I wish there was like an L85A1, Fama, AWM, Aug Para, M60, M249, Ak47,and some new pistols like a Desert Eagle, P228, Dual Pistols, Mac 10, really I just want a lot of guns. But the game is good with the guns they give us. Expand
  34. Ellieh
    Jul 29, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is truly a fantastic game and i was happy to find out it was made by valve its very co-operitive and the AI director is very good but the only flaw i find is the lack of weapons but as promised in L4D2 they will have more weapons so im happy with that
  35. MattB
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    Pros: Co-op
    funny characters
    zombies custom user content high replayability Cons: Only 5 guns only 4 official Valve campaigns Review:This is what made me a fan of valve games. It really is Co-op at its best.Although I am mostly a console gamer, when i saw the awesome custom maps out there, and how easy it is to make your own maps, i just had to get the PC Version. Overall, if
    Pros: Co-op
    funny characters
    zombies
    custom user content
    high replayability

    Cons: Only 5 guns
    only 4 official Valve campaigns

    Review:This is what made me a fan of valve games. It really is Co-op at its best.Although I am mostly a console gamer, when i saw the awesome custom maps out there, and how easy it is to make your own maps, i just had to get the PC Version. Overall, if you like to have fun, get left 4 dead.
    Expand
  36. StevenSchockaert
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    The mutliplayer Co-op in this game is one of the best at the current date. Imagine the word Co-op written in 10 feet high concrete letters! They should make more games like this.

    Zombies? nothing new actually, but yet it's so much fun, replayable and... well, one of my favourite games at the moment. Lets hope they might add more DLC's in the future. On a sidenote, i hope the
    The mutliplayer Co-op in this game is one of the best at the current date. Imagine the word Co-op written in 10 feet high concrete letters! They should make more games like this.

    Zombies? nothing new actually, but yet it's so much fun, replayable and... well, one of my favourite games at the moment. Lets hope they might add more DLC's in the future. On a sidenote, i hope the follow up 'Left 4 dead 2" will be a succes.
    Expand
  37. BrianH.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Finally, the cooperative zombie shooter with a budget is here and it's kicks undead ass! The best thing about Left 4 Dead has got to be the AI director. It makes each game experience different from a steady stream of those good old fashion mindless zombies to smokers, hunters, boomers and more. Remember, help your team mates or you are all good as dead.
  38. BrianHollenbeck
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Great atmospherics, the Director AI is the next thing in gaming. Co-op is a must to play, and the Versus mechanics for playing Infected is well-balanced. I do believe the Infected that aren't the Tank need to deal damage more effectively, but overall this game gives a great zombie experience.
  39. JoeG.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Its really a great game. I mean iv been playing just the demo for the last couple of days, but you get that rush when a bull rush of 20 zombies come running toward you only to get mown down by your uzi or shotty
  40. TomC.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Very Awesome game, i played the demo for hours and finaly buy the game to play more and more with my friend. The Co-op mode is one of the best i've ever seen in a shooter, and the the way you can kill, burn and explode these zombie is unbeleivable. I give 10/10 for the style and for making this game a scary and very exciting experience! Grats.
  41. Josh
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    First off, let me say this game is one of my all time favorite games and will remain to be a top choice for me. What I love about this game is that each time you play a level, don't expect it to be the same experience if you have played the level before, the weapons will spawn in different places, the infected will be in different spots and in different numbers based on how well you First off, let me say this game is one of my all time favorite games and will remain to be a top choice for me. What I love about this game is that each time you play a level, don't expect it to be the same experience if you have played the level before, the weapons will spawn in different places, the infected will be in different spots and in different numbers based on how well you do in the map. There is a good balance between the weapon damage and the number of damage an infected will cause to create a challenge and a breeze you can just sail through, if you work together as a team. Another great thing about this game is the AI and the director that goes along with it. The AI survivors actually will help you and not get in your way when shooting zombies, and when you get knocked down, they will help you up. They will also take the time to give you health if you are running low and protect you from getting hit. The environment of the map also give it a nice feel to the whole "zombie apocalypse" scenario and will give you some eye candy when your being overrun with infected raging towards you. You also need to work together as a team in this game. If your the type who likes to run off and go solo you will not make it. Trust me. You must rely on your team to help you out and they must rely on you. This is one of the best zombie games I have ever played and highly recommend it to anyone who likes to fight their way through hundreds of infected zombies. Expand
  42. TeronG.
    Nov 18, 2008
    8
    Awesome game. I never would have bought L4D if the demo hadn't come out. Thankyou valve, you should do it more often ;). The gun's in the game are rather limited, but the Co-op game play is Unbeatable. Graphics are better then i hoped for. Crossing my fingers for an expansion.
  43. Steve
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    This game is online gaming nirvana. Coop play that is ACTUALLY coop ( and make no mistake, goign solo willget you killed stat ) , fast action ( but not too fast, i was worried it would be more quake than cs ) and infinite variability make this such a fresh title despite the irony of it being one of the oldest stories in the book. Ive only played 5 hours of the full game, and already This game is online gaming nirvana. Coop play that is ACTUALLY coop ( and make no mistake, goign solo willget you killed stat ) , fast action ( but not too fast, i was worried it would be more quake than cs ) and infinite variability make this such a fresh title despite the irony of it being one of the oldest stories in the book. Ive only played 5 hours of the full game, and already i've had more fun than i can remember playing online. This is definitely one to play with your buds with a headset on late at night - the mood and the action are so tight its hard to believe nobodys made this game sooner. GOOD JOB TURTLE ROCK ! Expand
  44. DorianX
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    One point shy from 10 because of the lack of story. Valves intro movie lays some story groundwork and then nothing . My bet is that the side stories will come in future episodes. Everything else seems to be just fine.
  45. EricL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I always wondered if someone would make a game with running zombies just like from the movie "28 Days Later" and now someone has! This has got to be the one of the best if not the best thriller game I have played. Keep it up Valve!
  46. JustinS.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    While I've always been a fan of zombie games, I've never encountered one that I liked much. There was always Resident Evil, sure, but that mostly involves shooting slow stupid shambling creatures that were almost always easily obliterated before even getting too close. Then there was Outbreak, which added cooperative play into the mix, as horrible as it was. Then there's While I've always been a fan of zombie games, I've never encountered one that I liked much. There was always Resident Evil, sure, but that mostly involves shooting slow stupid shambling creatures that were almost always easily obliterated before even getting too close. Then there was Outbreak, which added cooperative play into the mix, as horrible as it was. Then there's Left 4 Dead. A game that forces players to work as a team (unlike Valve's previous game, Team Fortress 2, which only encourages it but does not force it) against massive hordes of zombies that can only be described as "The best zombie I've ever seen." can't be all bad, right? Each individual story is only a small handful of maps, at five per campaign, but the quality of these maps is enough for me to forgive Valve. Then there's Versus mode. Four against four, no teams of 15 "uber" players, ever. Teams that swap sides and repeat? Pure undeniable win, right there. Everyone gets to do everything. My only complaint is that there are only four campaigns. I can't wait to see what the L4D community whips up! You should buy this game. No doubt about it. Expand
  47. JohnM
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This has to be one of the most epic FPS games ever made, as well as one of the most epic survival horror games zombie games ever made and one of the best (if not the best) co-op game ever made. If you play this game with friends, or even just friendly people it will likely never get old. Due to Valve's great post release support we can expect plenty of new content in various forms This has to be one of the most epic FPS games ever made, as well as one of the most epic survival horror games zombie games ever made and one of the best (if not the best) co-op game ever made. If you play this game with friends, or even just friendly people it will likely never get old. Due to Valve's great post release support we can expect plenty of new content in various forms (maps, game types, weapons etc.). Due to the gaming community that supports Valve games, you can expect plenty of custom maps, mods, skins for models, weapons...You name it. The AI director is a great innovation in gaming and it is just like Valve to come up with it. The multiplayer "Vs" component to the game is also an incredible amount of fun where 4 players play as the "Survivors" and 4 players play as the Boss "Infected". Seriously, if your computer can run this game (most from the last 4 years could I am sure) and you enjoy action horror or FPS games you would be a fool not to buy this one. Expand
  48. StephenW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the most intense game I have EVER played. You will play for hours straight and be unable to blink because you'll think there's a zombie around every corner. Play with your friends for the maximum effect. You are guaranteed to have stories of your experience afterwards.
  49. Z900
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game is pure win in so many ways. It proves that basic gameplay, decent graphics and sound and a moderate budget can be better than most big budget titles. Just think what this game will e like after additions. Left 4 Dead 2 on a bigger budget will be even more spectacular (think the difference of Half life 1 and 2).
  50. Matt
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    This game is great. If you're a zombie fan, you'll love it. First, the graphics: Very good for the source engine. The facial animations on the main characters are great. I'll never forget the first time I saw one of my fellow players injured, lying on the ground screaming his head off, then to look and see that the facial animations followed this screaming: mouthThis game is great. If you're a zombie fan, you'll love it. First, the graphics: Very good for the source engine. The facial animations on the main characters are great. I'll never forget the first time I saw one of my fellow players injured, lying on the ground screaming his head off, then to look and see that the facial animations followed this screaming: mouth gaping, eyes wide open, a genuinely terrified look on his face. The zombies are great too. The way they shamble, run and stumble when you hit them is very impressive. As far as the gameplay, it's great. If you've played even 1 or 2 Valve shooters, you'll be fine with this game. The game helps you along nicely without being annoyingly easy. I think my favorite part of the game, overall, is the Versus mode. Basically, 4 players will play as humans and any players present over that 4 will be placed on the undead team. You can sort of "spectate" the map and figure out where you want to spawn. It tells you what kind of zombie you'll spawn as and whether or not you can spawn (you can't be too close to the humans). I honestly think I've had the most fun playing as the zombies, especially the one time I've gotten to be the "tank". Nothing like smacking people across the room or ripping up chunks of the ground to throw at them. Great fun. Most well-done, original and FUN game I've played since the Orange Box, hands down. Expand
  51. Samuel
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The game Left 4 Dead is one of the best zombie apocalypse games ever made. You can do everything from comitting genocide in campaign mode against the zombies to playing in versus mode and shredding human flesh and even become the tank. Left 4 Dead provides excellent gameplay and scenarios to be one of the best games valve has ever made - that is why I am giving it a 10/10. recommended forThe game Left 4 Dead is one of the best zombie apocalypse games ever made. You can do everything from comitting genocide in campaign mode against the zombies to playing in versus mode and shredding human flesh and even become the tank. Left 4 Dead provides excellent gameplay and scenarios to be one of the best games valve has ever made - that is why I am giving it a 10/10. recommended for zombie-lovers, FPS' and multiplayer madness. Collapse
  52. ParkerTemple
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    A great game! Even with the initial 4 campaigns and small supply of weapons, this game is endlessly entertaining! I played the same 2 levels in the demo for a total of 24 hours and never got bored. I HIGHLY recommend this game, it is a must buy, especially for the zombie movie/gamer lover enthusiast, like myself. This game is literally like being in 28 days later.
  53. Andrew
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I brought the game. But character depth is missing. Why they are all the same? Why one character hasn't abilities or skills that make him unique? I think that for have a 10, the game is missing these and some type of character improvement, level after level, campagin after campaign. Btw the multiplayer is awesome, I hadn't so much fun from a cooperative game from "Diablo 1". ItI brought the game. But character depth is missing. Why they are all the same? Why one character hasn't abilities or skills that make him unique? I think that for have a 10, the game is missing these and some type of character improvement, level after level, campagin after campaign. Btw the multiplayer is awesome, I hadn't so much fun from a cooperative game from "Diablo 1". It merits to be brought. Expand
  54. PaulB
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is simply amazing, i love everything about it. But if i had to complain about one thing, it would be that so far this game isn't modifiable. You can't skin it yet or make maps for it. At least we havn't figured out how to do it yet. The game levels are awesome, creative and even though there's been other zombie games out there, i think this one is unique. TheThe game is simply amazing, i love everything about it. But if i had to complain about one thing, it would be that so far this game isn't modifiable. You can't skin it yet or make maps for it. At least we havn't figured out how to do it yet. The game levels are awesome, creative and even though there's been other zombie games out there, i think this one is unique. The AI Director is truly an amazing feat and always gives you something different. The weapon system is great and i love how the pistol is unlimited. Great game, i'd definitely recommend it, especially if you liked the Zombie Panic! mod for cs:s. So apart from the modding great job Valve! Expand
  55. ErikAncheta
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    I believe this game is what many zombie horror fans have waited for no longer do we have to play mods like zombie panic or zombie master or zombie whatever..... we now have left 4 dead it has graphics game play story line and everything all on one plate one word to describe this game is it's a winner
  56. NateH
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Valve has created one of the best multiplayer games ever with Left 4 Dead. It raises the bar on what player expect from coop. This game may not have an original story or be a great single player game, but that was never what they were trying to do in the first place. If you enjoy deep stories and long single player campaigns stick to Half-Life because this probably isn't for you.Valve has created one of the best multiplayer games ever with Left 4 Dead. It raises the bar on what player expect from coop. This game may not have an original story or be a great single player game, but that was never what they were trying to do in the first place. If you enjoy deep stories and long single player campaigns stick to Half-Life because this probably isn't for you. If you just want to hang out with friends killing zombies(or survivors) this game was made for you. Expand
  57. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    This game is the best. The AI director ensures that you never know when you might get ambushed by zombies which creates fear and tension, and there is always a surprise every time you play. You can't go to the same place for supplies like in other games and you actually have to look for things like weapons and health. I only wish they had more levels.
  58. DanielPramik
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best and funnest first person shooter I have ever played. The campaigns are amazing and challenging, and versus mode is the most unique thing I have ever seen in a video game in my whole life. Even though there are only 4 campaigns, I never get bored playing them over and over again with my friends. Best co-op game ever.
  59. Liz
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. I've always had high standards for Valve, and this definitely was worth waiting for. The gameplay is interesting, and the sort of start-in-the-middle single-player opening is rather mysterious. Visually this game is stunning, and it was with a morbid curiosity that I carefully examined Boomer corpses. Or rather, what was left of them. Physics works well, but there areAmazing game. I've always had high standards for Valve, and this definitely was worth waiting for. The gameplay is interesting, and the sort of start-in-the-middle single-player opening is rather mysterious. Visually this game is stunning, and it was with a morbid curiosity that I carefully examined Boomer corpses. Or rather, what was left of them. Physics works well, but there are some minor clipping issues involving your teammates. When backing away from a horde of zombies eager to rape my face, I do NOT want to clip through Bill and end up shooting him instead of a snarling monstrosity. The AI Director works pretty well from what I've seen, making combat varied and intense. The game has this whole on-your-toes feel, with you simultaneously wanting light and yet fearing drawing the attention of the horde. I get a really antsy feeling when turning around corners and maneuvering in tight spaces, and I really don't want to touch anything in case it makes noise. The car alarm bits are quite clever in my opinion. Overall the game is challenging without completely kicking my ass. There are wide enough gaps between safe rooms and scattered ammo and health to make getting to the next deposit difficult but not impossible. Conserving your ammo plays a big role, what with the zombies outnumbering you and the worlds bullet supply 100:1. I tried to avoid confrontation as much as possible, choosing to take out zombies with the hunting rifle from a distance. That's good; if I wanted a confrontation then it's not survival horror anymore, is it? Top notch game, worth every penny and more. Expand
  60. ChadKeen
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    This game has all the elements necessary to qualify it's price point. Gripping story (not narrated, story develops from the situation-but standard zombie survival tale), suspenseful action that ebbs and flows, ensuring that the player is either amped up, or just plain skittish about the next boss/zombie swarm that is surely inevitable, and last but not least, replayability. TheThis game has all the elements necessary to qualify it's price point. Gripping story (not narrated, story develops from the situation-but standard zombie survival tale), suspenseful action that ebbs and flows, ensuring that the player is either amped up, or just plain skittish about the next boss/zombie swarm that is surely inevitable, and last but not least, replayability. The scenes can get somewhat repetitive (the reason behind the "9" score), but with the action occurring at different places, forcing you to utilize different parts of the territory as your "last stands", the game stays fresh. Adding in the experience of new teammates every time you play gives you a new challenge, getting along and surviving with what you've got, not what you want.

    Some people are reviewing the game here with only seeing the demo (see John S.'s "0" rating). These ratings/posts should be removed as they are not accurate (neither is their spelling).

    The only problems I have with the game is that there are only 4 scenarios at launch (which will hopefully be remedied with an expansion or add-ons--please let them be free), and no true melee weapons. I can understand the cause for not having the melee weapons (continuous swinging would negate the need for "ammo" by killing the zombies all by itself--unlike the butt-stroke to push zombies back the way it is now).

    Recommended highly for anyone who is a fan of suspense and/or zombie movies.
    Expand
  61. JonTorres
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this game has an 88. This game is immense fun. It is some of the most fun i have had in a while playing a game. People keep complaining about there is no story. Valve only said it was survive. And if you read the writings on the walls in the safe rooms and other places, they do fill in some question.

    The voice acting is great. The game is challenging but its
    I don't understand why this game has an 88. This game is immense fun. It is some of the most fun i have had in a while playing a game. People keep complaining about there is no story. Valve only said it was survive. And if you read the writings on the walls in the safe rooms and other places, they do fill in some question.

    The voice acting is great. The game is challenging but its not to the point where you get angry and want to smash something. Even when you are loosing, you are still having a blast. And the challenge only makes finishing a campaign that much more amazing. I was LANing this game with friends, and when we finally dead air after restarting the finale 4 times, we jumped for joy.

    Anyone who says this game isn't good or a disappointment... these people will never be satisfied. Valve DID do something NEW here. The amount of team work it takes is amazing. Simply put, get this game and don't listen to what the negative reviews say. You know "L4D shuns single players." I didn't hear people saying "Fallout 3 shuns multiplayer"! If you want fun with your friends, get this game.
    Expand
  62. JaredB.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, it turned out to be even better than I'd hoped for. The tension and intensity in this game is palpable. I thought at first the lack of a solid storyline would bother me, but instead, I found myself wanting to go back and play again and again, both online and off. Haven't stopped talking to my friends about this for days.
  63. TimC.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This game is beyond fantastic. First off, I have to say it's great to have a proper co-op for the PC, something that's rare for this system platform. The campaign is a ton of fun to play in spite of there only being four movies (levels), and versus mode gives you the opportunity to try your skills as an Infected, making the Survivors' job just that more challenging. TheThis game is beyond fantastic. First off, I have to say it's great to have a proper co-op for the PC, something that's rare for this system platform. The campaign is a ton of fun to play in spite of there only being four movies (levels), and versus mode gives you the opportunity to try your skills as an Infected, making the Survivors' job just that more challenging. The AI director is a clever invention: not only does it make each run different than the last, but also for anyone who wants to expand the game, all they have to do is make a map and the director would handle the rest. One of my favorite pieces is the seamless shifts during mulitplayer between the computer and human players as people join, leave, or idle within the game. It allows you to not only join in on an open game at any time during its run, but also to leave a game whenever you choose without ruining it for your teammates. Overall, Left 4 Dead's got all the attention to detail, solid gameplay, and originality that has made Valve games a personal favorite for me. Even a friend of mine who rarely plays any games has become pretty addicted to it. Expand
  64. PhilH.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Without a doubt after playing L4D I will never view online shooters in the same way. No game has had this amount of emphasis on Co-Op MP, and done it so well. The AI is good, and the game is made to allow for short breaks and let an npc take over. Great visuals and an updated source engine. Wouldn't mind seeing more content, but valve has promised to release new maps,Awesome game. Without a doubt after playing L4D I will never view online shooters in the same way. No game has had this amount of emphasis on Co-Op MP, and done it so well. The AI is good, and the game is made to allow for short breaks and let an npc take over. Great visuals and an updated source engine. Wouldn't mind seeing more content, but valve has promised to release new maps, and they're a developer we can trust to come through on this promise. Not to mention that people do know the Source Engine pretty well by now. AI director helps keep the games fresh, and versus is a blast. Simplistic and brutally entertaining, this game might be one of the best to come out this year on pc. Expand
  65. Soot
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    What CS did to tactical FPS, L4D might do for multiplayer co-op. For years the average zombielover and fan of survival horror has been looking for a game to appease their taste and with L4D we do have a winner. While short and with a so-so single player campaign, the multiplayer co-op aspect is made to give movie-like experiences you will be talking about with your friends for weeks. TheWhat CS did to tactical FPS, L4D might do for multiplayer co-op. For years the average zombielover and fan of survival horror has been looking for a game to appease their taste and with L4D we do have a winner. While short and with a so-so single player campaign, the multiplayer co-op aspect is made to give movie-like experiences you will be talking about with your friends for weeks. The AI Director keeps the spawns and zombie performance fresh despite the linear environment. The teamwork requires the players to have brains - much to the pleasure of the zombies. Expand
  66. TonyB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    John S. may have missed the point of the game. Sure there are other zombie shooter games, but Valve has perfected it with tense co-op and Vs. modes. And the fluid movement of the zombies is incredible. And you have to admit, the hunting sniper rifle is damn good practice for TF2. lol
  67. BullettA
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I've been very disappointed with games recently. Maybe my poor choices maybe they were hyped too much. Left4Dead has filled my missing fps/online hole. I'm not a fan of zombie games and I've not played online much for years (old school CS/DoD) player. So L4D was a gamble, but it's valve so not that bigger gamble. The presentation is slick and it looks good. The I've been very disappointed with games recently. Maybe my poor choices maybe they were hyped too much. Left4Dead has filled my missing fps/online hole. I'm not a fan of zombie games and I've not played online much for years (old school CS/DoD) player. So L4D was a gamble, but it's valve so not that bigger gamble. The presentation is slick and it looks good. The Characters all have a personality that comes across in the voice acting. People have been complaining about lack of a plot, it's a horror/survival game! your motivation is to escape... and what narrative there is drives this very well. The guns whilst limited are well balanced and do the job, the amounts of ammo keep you from random blasting and the bombs make using them a tough choice. Working as a team is critical to survival, so you do. Some of my best moment have been saving team mates or being rescued in the nick of time. Highly recommended, my game of the year. Expand
  68. AlanG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for success, especially so on the harder difficulties. Gameplay revolves between periods of relative calm and times of extreme duress. The most fitting word to describe the latter is intense! No matter the skill of you and your comrades, there will be moments when the survival of your group is far from a certainty, especially given the random nature of the director. The intensity of the game tends to only increase as the level progresses, as wounded survivors are often met with an uncomfortable lack of medkits when they are most needed. The sound and graphics are thoroughly polished, and despite the age of the source engine its upgrades ensure that the game looks great and has plenty of eye candy. Once again, Valve's trademark attention to detail has made for a vibrant and immersing atmosphere. The ability to blow holes in or destroy doors is a fun new addition that also significantly alters the gameplay mechanic. While the story is underdeveloped, in game chatter between the characters reveals a great deal about their personalities, and makes them seem very real. There are some drawbacks, however. The game is relatively short, especially if played on the lower difficulties, and the weapon selection is somewhat minimal. These should not be a major issue, the game is meant to be played on expert in order to prepare a player for the even more difficult versus mode (which is an absolute blast), and the guns that are present are finely crafted and simply feel right. The replayability of this game is excellent, and is only compounded by the director and versus mode. As is, this game is very exciting and will keep many players hooked for an indefinite amount of hours. Given Valve's devotion to updates and the enthusiastic mod community, I only expect this game to improve as time goes on. I give this game a 9.3 out of 10. Expand
  69. RedDarf(:TF2:)]-[|*
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    L4D is everything I expeted and more, A fantastic FPS, and quite frankly the mother of all coop shooters. (not counting TF2) The single player/mulitplayer coop campians are kind of short, but knowing valve they will add at least 1 New feature before the end of january. Deffinatly a good game to get, play it with your friends, your famly, but dont play it alone...
  70. Nick4xHoltz
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Left 4 Dead is a good game from mechanics to replayability to intensity and everywhere inbetween. However, what puts it over the top is a very well thought-out and (often) unpredictible A.I. Director It never feels like you're playing the same game twice and as you and your team improve, the more challenging the A.I. Director makes things for you.

    What more would you possibly want?
  71. JimmyP
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  72. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    I'm not saying that L4D is the best FPS out there, and I don't think it was meant to break the industry, so I'm not going to pretend like it has to be perfect. That being said, this game is insanely fun to play. While it is repetitive in one sense, it still keeps players on their toes due to the randomly placed boss zombies and power ups. This is much better than what CS andI'm not saying that L4D is the best FPS out there, and I don't think it was meant to break the industry, so I'm not going to pretend like it has to be perfect. That being said, this game is insanely fun to play. While it is repetitive in one sense, it still keeps players on their toes due to the randomly placed boss zombies and power ups. This is much better than what CS and CS:S offered... those games were as repetitive as FPSs dared to be. Yes, the story is non-existant, but the point wasn't in the story, the point of the entire game was to get shooting and blow the crap out of zombies. However, the real jewel in this game is the fact that players are forced to work together to make it through each "movie", and this objective is fully realized in the brilliant mechanics of the game. In any case, if you're looking for a gripping story... go play fallout 1 and 2 or half-life or baldur's gate. If it's cooperative zombie blasting action you're craving, this game fulfills like a dream. Expand
  73. KyleMann
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Steele, how many times did you play through the game? Monsters' locations are different each time you play; that's one of the best features of L4D. Sounds like you tried the demo out once and wound up with a bad group if guys. In my experience, the players are generally nice and helpful compared with other online games. Awesome game.
  74. PhilE
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This game is another exceptional hit from valve. The intense multiplayer action requires you play and think as a team. If one man goes ahead of his group, he's done for. The tensity in this game is unparalleled. It puts Zombie Panic: Source to shame!

    I highly recommend this game! 23/10!
  75. YourFriend
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    You need friends in order to play it, that is why Steele X and John S would only have fun if they got together and played.
    Other than that, it is a thoroughly awesome game that my friends and I have had fun playing since the demo and as of right now three weeks later.
  76. Sam
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    L4D is awesome, but I have to give it a 9 out of 10. Someone commented that the campaigns are linear, and it is. Well... not all the time. Also, if unlucky, your teammates will kill you for fun, don't listen, and get you frustrated. So Co-Op is definitely needed. However, the Source Engine had made this game easy on the eyes with its outstanding graphics and brings out the trueL4D is awesome, but I have to give it a 9 out of 10. Someone commented that the campaigns are linear, and it is. Well... not all the time. Also, if unlucky, your teammates will kill you for fun, don't listen, and get you frustrated. So Co-Op is definitely needed. However, the Source Engine had made this game easy on the eyes with its outstanding graphics and brings out the true characteristics of Zombies. Whats also cool are Zombie Bosses. There really annoying in Campaign Expert, including Tank, but multiplayer or Versus makes it addicting to use these guys. Now The only thing I don't like is some glitches and there's only two maps on Versus Mode. This game should get a better rating if Valve does their best to upgrade different activities. What would be nice if there were servers that has 24 slots or more. Something that resembles the Counter-Strike Source Zombie Mod or Zombie Panic Source. No bosses, just PvP action, player infecting player. Ever since Left 4 Dead came out, people barely play these games, and I kinda miss it XD. Expand
  77. zdogjr
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best zombie game i have ever played its fast, fun and doesnt get old real quick. Dont listen to the people that give it zeros i read steele x review and he must not have been paying attention while playing, when i played through the first movie online my teamates worked along perfectley we stuck together helped eachother out and had a great time. when he said the game isThis is by far the best zombie game i have ever played its fast, fun and doesnt get old real quick. Dont listen to the people that give it zeros i read steele x review and he must not have been paying attention while playing, when i played through the first movie online my teamates worked along perfectley we stuck together helped eachother out and had a great time. when he said the game is linear i pretty much thought WOW THIS GUY KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT THIS GAME since there called movies its pretty obvious that its going to be well i dont know LINEAR AND ABOUT KNOWING WHERE THERE GOING TO BE IVE GONE THROUGH THE SAME MOVIE 6 TIMES AND EACH TIME THE BOOMER WAS IN A NEW PLACE AND THE SMOKERS WOULD BE STICKING THEIR TONGUES OUT FROM A DIFFRENT CORNER AND THE TANK WOULD BE PINNING ME AGAINST A CORNER 100 YARDS FROM LAST TIME SO IM PRETTY SURE YOU DONT KNOW WHERE THERE FOINF TO BE MOSTLY CAUSE OF THE AI DIRECTOR YOU KNOW THE THING THAT SPAWNS THEM. this game is great so dont listen to the idiots if your computer can run this and you like online shooters get this game Expand
  78. JohnBeers
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Man this game is freaking GREAT!!!!!!!! Im a major zombie movie lover, and this is just what I needed!! Its not like all the resident evil games tht are out there either. It kinda reminds me of like something fro the 28 days later franchise. The Infected coming at ya like cazy and FAST!! I liked the loks of it when I saw the trailer on TV fo it. And man I was NOT disappointed! So thisMan this game is freaking GREAT!!!!!!!! Im a major zombie movie lover, and this is just what I needed!! Its not like all the resident evil games tht are out there either. It kinda reminds me of like something fro the 28 days later franchise. The Infected coming at ya like cazy and FAST!! I liked the loks of it when I saw the trailer on TV fo it. And man I was NOT disappointed! So this game here is a MUST HAVE fo any true zombie fan! Definately give it a 10! Im glad I bought it! Expand
  79. StevenBehnke
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    This is one of my favorite games ever, assuming you can get into a game with people who aren't idiots. Despite the fact that all gameplay elements are spelled out to you in the opening video, most people refuse to understand the basic concepts of this game. Compared to every other zombie game I have played, including most Counter-Strike: Source mods and Dead Rising, this isThis is one of my favorite games ever, assuming you can get into a game with people who aren't idiots. Despite the fact that all gameplay elements are spelled out to you in the opening video, most people refuse to understand the basic concepts of this game. Compared to every other zombie game I have played, including most Counter-Strike: Source mods and Dead Rising, this is absolutely phenomenal. The art direction is amazing, the graphics are great, the number of zombies on screen is fantastic, the voice acting is good, and I love the level design. Even after playing Co-Op, I am still stunned when I play versus, with one of the most balanced games next to Team Fortress 2. Games are often very close, with point values off by a dozen or less. That is, of course, the teams work together. I play only with my personal friends, so my team usually does very well. But I am not grading my friends, so that doesn't really enter the equation.
    Base line is, if you stick together and pay attention to your teammates, you will win. Period.
    Expand
  80. EarthBoundEnigma
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Love Zombies
    Love Zombipocolypse
    Love The Style Love The Sound Design Love The Presentation This game is right beside Portal on my quick-launch bar. The focus is 100% on gameplay and the story isn't told, it is implied. You can seek out information on the state of the world, or gun through every level. It is your choice. It is better than Team Fortress 2 by far. It is free from
    Love Zombies
    Love Zombipocolypse
    Love The Style
    Love The Sound Design
    Love The Presentation

    This game is right beside Portal on my quick-launch bar. The focus is 100% on gameplay and the story isn't told, it is implied. You can seek out information on the state of the world, or gun through every level. It is your choice. It is better than Team Fortress 2 by far. It is free from all the annoyances of that game.

    WARNING:
    When playing online, expect an occasional naughty teammate. Gang up on him and kill him with friendly fire. He will be left behind to die and have to spectate for a few minutes until the next checkpoint. The game punishes people who become selfish and run away from the group, find out who you can trust and stay close.

    The online play is amazing, but it is the people who can ruin it for you if you let them. (This is the case in any online game.)

    @ Steele X:
    "Because the second time I play it it's the exact same thing over again. We all know which monster is going to pop out from where and where are the medic packs are located."

    The game randomizes item locations, flood points, difficulty, and even character conversations. If you're getting bored of it, then stop playing on "Easy" and raise the difficulty. In the description it even says that the "Easy" setting is for people who are new to FPS games. "Normal" is for people who are new to L4D, and the highest difficulty is where the fun is at. Then the tables will be turned from "zombie hunting" to "Run? ...Or Shoot? RUN OR SHOOT? ZOMG! BOTH!"

    If you don't have any games from Valve, and you want a good starter, this is your game right here.
    Expand
  81. DanielTran
    Dec 12, 2008
    8
    First of all, I would like to address Steele X below:

    You did not even play this game. Why are you even reviewing it? The game is NEVER the same each time you play. You need to play the game first and learn that the AI Director does not keep health packs and zombies in the same area the second or even the third time you play through. It is different every single time. That is why I like
    First of all, I would like to address Steele X below:

    You did not even play this game. Why are you even reviewing it? The game is NEVER the same each time you play. You need to play the game first and learn that the AI Director does not keep health packs and zombies in the same area the second or even the third time you play through. It is different every single time. That is why I like this game. It keeps you guessing throughout the whole game. CLEARLY your review SHOWS that you have not even played the game. Not even one level. So please don't review it when you haven't played the game.

    Left4Dead is the most unique game that I have ever played. Every feature is new that is never before seen in other games (ie. temporary health). The versus mode is by far the most fun I have ever had in a long time. The first time I played through versus mode, I was shaking in my seat from the excitement of pouncing and vomiting on other people. However, the annoying part about versus mode, is that everyone seems to prefer being an Infected. Every game I join, I will always have 2-3 people leave the game just because they were a Survivor. Even though they will change to Infected the next round, they want to play as the Infected more than anything. That is why I give this an 8/10.
    Expand
  82. KevinZ
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    This is truly a wonderful game, just make sure you know what you're getting. Some people are disappointed that it has no story, and make no mistake, this is indeed an "arcade" shooter, so to speak. The focus is on the gameplay, and man is it great. Few other games have come close to giving me this level of adrenaline, and never before were they co-op. But when you are beating back aThis is truly a wonderful game, just make sure you know what you're getting. Some people are disappointed that it has no story, and make no mistake, this is indeed an "arcade" shooter, so to speak. The focus is on the gameplay, and man is it great. Few other games have come close to giving me this level of adrenaline, and never before were they co-op. But when you are beating back a horde of zombies and a Boomer vomits in face obscuring your vision, and you hear the audio cue for the Tank in your headset, you will know what the term "heart-pounding" means. Some people (like Steele X) rate this game based on his ability to cooperate with people they don't know, and to them I say: Get some friends. Expand
  83. BenEdmonds
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    I was a huge fan of VALVE as it was and also a huge fan of the zombie genre but this was beyond what I could have hoped for. The best part to me is the way you really have to work together the whole time or you die in no time. I cant wait to get my friends together to play this!
  84. SamH
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    First of all, great game, well done Valve, fun, original zombie-killing game. This was a Christmas present and I could not stop playing it, I've played it more than Fable II and N:tBB which were both Christmas presents. You are guaranteed to have a lot of fun playing it, brave it off on Campaign or play as an Infected on Versus. Did I mention the AI director? It seems to make theFirst of all, great game, well done Valve, fun, original zombie-killing game. This was a Christmas present and I could not stop playing it, I've played it more than Fable II and N:tBB which were both Christmas presents. You are guaranteed to have a lot of fun playing it, brave it off on Campaign or play as an Infected on Versus. Did I mention the AI director? It seems to make the campaigns never the same. The only two flaws are that the Humans are the strong ones, plus one of the Infected, the Smoker, deals nearly no damage and his victim can be freed EVEN BEFORE HE GETS TO ATTACK THEM. Expand
  85. MattM.
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing and I don't see how people gave it a zero. The graphics and gameplay is amazing with the zombies models and the campaigns varying between tasks. This game will definately keep you busy. This is also probably one of the best co-op games ever. Sure your teammates might be a bit slower than you, but they can help you when you need it. This is probably one of theThis game is amazing and I don't see how people gave it a zero. The graphics and gameplay is amazing with the zombies models and the campaigns varying between tasks. This game will definately keep you busy. This is also probably one of the best co-op games ever. Sure your teammates might be a bit slower than you, but they can help you when you need it. This is probably one of the first games from Valve that is actually very challenging yet you don't need to cheat. Expand
  86. jasonzhang
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    user reviewers should find out why a game is so bad for them BEFORE they post and regret the horrible score they gave. At first i thought that the game was to linear and not very challenging because the humans were killing everything without much resistance. Only until i played the commentary did i see that it did make sense to make it linear. So, check out the commentary under the extrasuser reviewers should find out why a game is so bad for them BEFORE they post and regret the horrible score they gave. At first i thought that the game was to linear and not very challenging because the humans were killing everything without much resistance. Only until i played the commentary did i see that it did make sense to make it linear. So, check out the commentary under the extras tab some time. It should answer your FAQ's. By the way, I'm addicted to this game. Great gane Expand
  87. AlanR
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    cant say enough about this game. one year on and i am still playing this game on an addiction-like level. massive replayability combined with well balanced multiplayer makes this the best game ive played in ten years. no brainer. BUY IT
  88. GoncaloS
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome! never game have a co-op experience like this game. good graphics but the game just has 5 campaigns if the game It had more campaigns and more mods It would bethe best fps game. and just more thing if it hads more specials infecteds
  89. DannyN
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Es el mejor juego desde Counter-Strike, este juego marca una epoca, tiene de todo y creo que a muy pocos defraudara, muy adictivo.
  90. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Left 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” neverLeft 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” never appealed to me. But in the game’s defense, I never gave these other features much of a chance. This is because I was always glued to the regular campaigns and never directed my attention elsewhere. I strongly recommend this to all gamers out there. If you like FPSs and multiplayer, then this game will undoubtedly meet your standards. Expand
  91. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Still a headliner when it comes to great FPS with co-op, there's no real point having this one when you can get L4D2 as cheap with all L4D1's content now ported by Valve as free dlcs.
  92. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    This game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides thoseThis game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides those minor things I just can't seem the explain why I feel Left 4 Dead 1 is better. Also the thirdpersonshoulder mode works in L4D1. It is bugged in L4D2 and was never fixed. Expand
  93. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the main concept, the charachters and like the game itself. The modified Source engine is really impressive and it has a great graphics. But til the end of the map it is sometimes pretty boring and your teammates really stupid. But at the end of the map there is always a huge ambush and if you want to use the "leave no man behind" rule, you simply die. Expand
  94. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing game that started the whole zombie survival horror boom. Valve proved beyond doubt that they are masters of quality. Play with friends if you can.
  95. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Having not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the charactersHaving not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the characters and other players. If you're into co-op or if you just like Valve games, then this is a must buy: although if you're sensitive to gore or prefer a densely packed narrative then you might want to give this one a miss. As for me, the AI director and co-op has kept me playing for more than thirty hours despite its insubstantiality. Expand
  96. May 11, 2012
    9
    Overall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lotOverall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lot of PC content exclusives such as Achievements, constant upgrades and unofficial mods. To make it better, Left 4 Dead 2 comes packed with this game as well when you purchase it! Expand
  97. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    It's a shame this game's community is nearly non existent now since Left 4 Dead 2 replaced it, but in it's time it gave me hundred's of hours of FUN. This game just has such a high replay-ability, it just never got boring for me. Playing this with friends just makes the experience even more enjoyable. 10/10
  98. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing zombie game that reminds me of the movie 28 days later. The only way to improve this game would have been to add various routes, and more weapons. If you want to get the most out of left 4 dead, play online with friends, single player gets boring.
  99. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Funnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, forFunnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, for releasing L4D2 way too soon and reducing the attention that this game deserved. Expand
  100. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.