Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3724 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. 2mer2Lacrapul3
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre seul, non vraiment merci les parents stupide, qui prenne les ordinateurs comme babysiter, ou moyen de ce debarasser de leurs progenitures, sans regarder l'age necessaire et casi obligatoir, grace a vous ce jeux vas devenir une m......, et seras bientot injouable. Expand
  2. CodyG.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    All you idiots that vote 0 need to actually get to know the game. this is a fast paced shooter game not for the weak. this game will literally work against you with the ai director at its disposal with out team work in this game the ai director will pick you all off 1 by one until the games over. but yeah this is probably one of the best buys for pc or xbox if you are looking for some great fun
  3. MichaelT
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore Online FPSer starting from Doom, Quake, CS, DOD and TF2. NO online game has Ever been as fun as this. Aging engine, i couldn't even tell. Physics are superb, character are Excellent. And the Coop is far beyond that of any coop game out there. The VS mode is the most fun i have ever had on a single game. I have caught myself screaming into the mike like my I consider myself a hardcore Online FPSer starting from Doom, Quake, CS, DOD and TF2. NO online game has Ever been as fun as this. Aging engine, i couldn't even tell. Physics are superb, character are Excellent. And the Coop is far beyond that of any coop game out there. The VS mode is the most fun i have ever had on a single game. I have caught myself screaming into the mike like my team mates, "Get in here!! Close the D**m Door!" IMO No Online coop game is nearly as satisfying as this one. Massively underrated by the critics. A must have!!!! Expand
  4. JasonY
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    How can you NOT like this game? It's one of the most incredible and addictive gaming experiences I've ever had! The four campaigns may seen limited at first, but once you start playing for a period of time, you will start to appreciate the genius and replayability of it. Of the four modes, Campaign (work with four other human players to complete a campaign), Versus (play as the How can you NOT like this game? It's one of the most incredible and addictive gaming experiences I've ever had! The four campaigns may seen limited at first, but once you start playing for a period of time, you will start to appreciate the genius and replayability of it. Of the four modes, Campaign (work with four other human players to complete a campaign), Versus (play as the survivors and the boss infected to gain points), and Single-Player (play a campaign with computer players). Of those three, versus as the most replayability, and I found myself playing this mode for hours without noticing. Even if you played for a whole week stopping only to eat, you wouldn't feel like you've played enough, and you'll be dreaming about it in your sleep. It's THAT good. There are plenty of achievements to obtain, and that'll definitely keep you going for many happy months, maybe even years, and if there are expansion packs, it'll keep you going for longer. So those of you who rated this game 0 just can't appreciate excellent co-op gaming. Don't just get the demo, get the GAME. Absorb the gameplay, and you'll end up loving every moment of it. you'll even be laughing your ass off when you get knocked off the roof by the tank, I know I was. Expand
  5. Ekizel
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    Steele X when giving his rating of '0', obviously has played the game for about 5 minutes prior to him rating it. I can say this with utmost confidence, because the game uses an "AI director" which randomizes item spawns, horde spawns, and even whether a witch or a tank spawns within the level. Also, I fail to see the logic of rating it based on the players you played with, Steele X when giving his rating of '0', obviously has played the game for about 5 minutes prior to him rating it. I can say this with utmost confidence, because the game uses an "AI director" which randomizes item spawns, horde spawns, and even whether a witch or a tank spawns within the level. Also, I fail to see the logic of rating it based on the players you played with, rather than the actual content of the game itself. That aside.... The game is a great concept on paper, uses the source engine so most players will have good visuals and a solid framerate, however there are a few oversights in the implementation that needs to be addressed before I give this game a 9-10. The first being melee attacks. Survivors can spam melee attacks and be almost invincible against regular zombies, and makes hunters getting a pounce in rather challenging in many parts of the maps. There are several exploits, and due to the nature of the game's matchmaking system, players may find themselves having their entire campaign ruined by a 4 year old who thinks hes so cool by spawning 20 hunter bots and watching them destroy the survivors. The game also somewhat lacks content at the moment. On release, there are 4 campaigns, 2 of which have "versus" mode, a mode where 4 players play as special infected zombies and try to stop the survivors, then they switch every round and whoever with the most points at the end, wins. These campaigns last about 1-2 hours, but with only 2 currently available for the versus mode, right now it can get a bit repetitive. All in all, a great game, a must-get for any zombie fan, but the decision to buy now or to wait for a price drop and a few patches is a decision to each their own. Expand
  6. BrandonS
    Jan 8, 2009
    9
    L4D is one of those games which leaves you wanting for more, again and again and again. The physics are great, and gameplay is well balanced. The excellent co-op experience forces you to work together, as some zombies leave you helpless and you need your team to save you. Now on to the cons: The game after some long hours of playing gets a bit boring (as it does with all games in this L4D is one of those games which leaves you wanting for more, again and again and again. The physics are great, and gameplay is well balanced. The excellent co-op experience forces you to work together, as some zombies leave you helpless and you need your team to save you. Now on to the cons: The game after some long hours of playing gets a bit boring (as it does with all games in this world). Even with the AI director you always know which places a speical zombieusually spawns around, but to me those are only minor things. And to Steele X, dont vote a zero to "balance it out" thats just being a J@ck @$$. Expand
  7. SeanB.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be if Source releases the SDK so that mod levels can be created and make it even more addictive. Akin to RTCW:ET which is still continuously being played to this day. Expand
  8. ThomasP
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    I got this game for Christmas and I have to say, I am addicted to it. There are only 4 levels (apparently they are meant to be releasing more) but it never gets old. Shooting zombies to hell, watching their heads explode and limbs get blown off. Fantastic. It's particularly good when people are on headsets, because they can talk faster and makes it funnier because of this. They can I got this game for Christmas and I have to say, I am addicted to it. There are only 4 levels (apparently they are meant to be releasing more) but it never gets old. Shooting zombies to hell, watching their heads explode and limbs get blown off. Fantastic. It's particularly good when people are on headsets, because they can talk faster and makes it funnier because of this. They can also co-ordinate attacks, which is particularly important on vs or expert mode. Vs mode for me is brilliant, I love it, being the special infected, trying to kill the survivors is really fun. However, for me, there isn't enough special infected. There's only 3 special infected and you don't get to choose which one you want to be. There is the occasional tank as well that you get to control, but that's it I love this game, but it's because there are only 3 special infected, that it gets a 9. Expand
  9. RobA
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    Great fun if you love shooting zombies. I do! Graphics, sound, zombie/human interplay is good. Versus mode is fun. If the interface and achievements worked properly, I'd rate it 9 or 10. Some of the achievements don't work, due to buggy starts on the campaigns for most people. Try restarting the game when everyone is in. The interface is not so good. It gives no choice for what Great fun if you love shooting zombies. I do! Graphics, sound, zombie/human interplay is good. Versus mode is fun. If the interface and achievements worked properly, I'd rate it 9 or 10. Some of the achievements don't work, due to buggy starts on the campaigns for most people. Try restarting the game when everyone is in. The interface is not so good. It gives no choice for what kind of server you'll be tossed into. There's nothing to prevent you from ending up in some lame-brain's custom map. The interface can't seem to figure out if the server is full, back at lobby after a game, on someone's laptop or anything, and so gives you super-laggy servers or disconnects after connecting you. And if it can't find a good connection, it tries 10 times over a few minutes... won't let you cancel the search, and then tells you what you already know; that the server isn't there. New maps please. Expand
  10. RoyW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's very worth it. Pros: The game is set as-if you were in a movie, Team work, Voice chat, Voice commands, controls, controller support, unlimited pistol bullets. Easy to join games, the community is very good, not to harsh on new comers to the game. Easy vote kick options for griefers. When you die you get locked in a room, your team can rescue you. Cons: No SDK yet, limited 5 campaigns, versus has limited 2 campaigns (which will increase in the future), limited 4 weapons 3 primary and one secondary pistol. Overall: Great game! must have for zombie lovers. Expand
  11. JosephW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing for the first week or 2 you get it but it bores easily with no new maps being released due to the fact that the SDK is no where near release, but if you leave it alone for a week or 2 then come back you will realise what fun you have missed, if you have a good computer then be sure to crank up those graphics for a scary and brill time if you have a bad computer just This game is amazing for the first week or 2 you get it but it bores easily with no new maps being released due to the fact that the SDK is no where near release, but if you leave it alone for a week or 2 then come back you will realise what fun you have missed, if you have a good computer then be sure to crank up those graphics for a scary and brill time if you have a bad computer just crank em down and have fun. Expand
  12. RayongG
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Very good game, but slow update. Anyway 10/10 because i enjoy it really much, can't stop playing it. And at least, the best game I ever see. Must be played to be judge.
  13. ChrisP
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    This is a great game. The AI Is not however very smart because it spawns a tank right behind you and then your whole team is dead. The Music is great and all the 7 weapons are very simple Shotgun for close hits Assault rifles for mid range hits and sniper for long ranged hits. And the way they make pistols have infinite ammo is great.
  14. DirkH
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    This game delivers exactly what it promises: fast paced cooperative game play. Easy to pick-up and very immersive. Perfectly captures the atmosphere of old zombie B-movies. One of the best cooperative games on the market. Another sublime game from Valve. If more content will become available in the future then this game's rating could raise to 10.
  15. BrianL.
    Feb 2, 2009
    9
    Left4Dead takes simple pieces and blends them together to form an excellent coop game. Left 4 Dead succeeds through the power of four. The concept of 4 player coops is becoming more and more common with titles the newest titles like Call of Duty: World at War picking it up. However L4D takes it to the extreme. This game should be purchased by you and two or three of your friends if you Left4Dead takes simple pieces and blends them together to form an excellent coop game. Left 4 Dead succeeds through the power of four. The concept of 4 player coops is becoming more and more common with titles the newest titles like Call of Duty: World at War picking it up. However L4D takes it to the extreme. This game should be purchased by you and two or three of your friends if you really expect to get the most out of it. First, let me say I don't like the idea of zombies. I think they are an easy out. That said this game is a blast! Though there are only a few maps (4?), they can be played different ways to keep them interesting. There is a skill challenge competition where you try to master different skills and receive awards during the game play. There is also a versus game where you play one of the 4 special infected zombies. Playing as the special infected is actually rather difficult and quite fun especially when you are playing as the only infected fighting the survivors. I've spent many hours over the weeks since this title was released playing from Ohio with and against friends in Florida, Georgia and DC. It's not gotten boring yet. I have a NVidia 9800GTX OC on an AMD Athlon64 4000+ and am able to play with all settings at their highest. I've also played with an Nvidia 7900GT on the same machine at medium settings. Expand
  16. PDale
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    There is nothing better than a blast and run saga. Some funny things happen when you blast a Hunter and watch him cartwheel of a pal who a second before was getting munched on, or see the back side of a patient zombie hording after a mate who has been barfed on by a Boomer (watch out for Zoe farting in the lift). Maps are just right when playing past normal mode anything under advance There is nothing better than a blast and run saga. Some funny things happen when you blast a Hunter and watch him cartwheel of a pal who a second before was getting munched on, or see the back side of a patient zombie hording after a mate who has been barfed on by a Boomer (watch out for Zoe farting in the lift). Maps are just right when playing past normal mode anything under advance mode is to easy after the first run through. I would like to say the things I don't like is the crappy Xbox type match up, which i find need sorting and the fact i would like to see my ping not some colour bars. The worst thing is they stitched all people who pre-ordered with a massive price only to find amazon selling half price on release date (filthy corporate scum). In short its a Valve game which means it will get better and better just like Team fortress 2 which has had some major addons with no cost (unlucky Xbox mob) so consider it as an investment and a very good team player game but remember some times it best to cut your pals lose and "run to the chopper". Expand
  17. Evan
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is unlike any other first person shooter I played. Despite its few bugs and lack of extensive content or source developer kit (standard to games using this engine,) it is a remarkable game. I love mowing down hoards of zombies, fighting of hunters a smokers, bashing boomers, crowning witches, and trying to get away from - while shooting - that bloody tank. The only major issue Left 4 Dead is unlike any other first person shooter I played. Despite its few bugs and lack of extensive content or source developer kit (standard to games using this engine,) it is a remarkable game. I love mowing down hoards of zombies, fighting of hunters a smokers, bashing boomers, crowning witches, and trying to get away from - while shooting - that bloody tank. The only major issue I have with this game is the server system: problems with getting a lobby going and finding servers/lobbies with room for a friend or two. I really think this game is a bang for your bucks, but I do believe it would not be an inconvenience for them to sell it for a bit less. (I want my friends to play it too!) Expand
  18. JohnO.
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    A true FPS. Destroy the Zombie hordes while trying to stay alive is a classic. This game put a twist in, by allowing multiple players to work together. One or more players, it does not matter the hours will disappear. Say "Goodbye" to your wife or girlfriend because this is a divorce game with the all time spent playing. You may wish to repeat the levels on a harder skill. It never gets A true FPS. Destroy the Zombie hordes while trying to stay alive is a classic. This game put a twist in, by allowing multiple players to work together. One or more players, it does not matter the hours will disappear. Say "Goodbye" to your wife or girlfriend because this is a divorce game with the all time spent playing. You may wish to repeat the levels on a harder skill. It never gets old. Graphics are good. Controls are typical of Valve. This is not your little kids shooter, some gore. I could go on about health, pain pills and weapons but if you know Valves games, then you will be right at home playing L4D. livewire120v Expand
  19. GMiller
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    This game keeps pulling me back in. I have had it since launch, pre-ordered it to get a hold of the demo in fact, and there hasn't been a time that I've played it (and I'm in it for about 80 hours at this point) that I haven't had a good time. Whether I'm with a skilled team or 3 noobs fumbling through to the next safe room, I always end up feeling totally This game keeps pulling me back in. I have had it since launch, pre-ordered it to get a hold of the demo in fact, and there hasn't been a time that I've played it (and I'm in it for about 80 hours at this point) that I haven't had a good time. Whether I'm with a skilled team or 3 noobs fumbling through to the next safe room, I always end up feeling totally satisfied or busting a gut laughing. This game has it all, and yes, there are only 4 campaigns, but those campaigns are meticulous in design and atmosphere, and even after playing through all of them probably dozens of times at this point, I still find something new to like about this game on the next play thru, something that didn't happen before or something someone on my team did that was totally unexpected and usually fatal. 10/10, without a doubt, and I totally look forward to seeing the gravy Valve throws on top over the next couple of years. Expand
  20. SergeyK
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also sound like they actually felt that pain! Acting: The Survivors sound great, Zoey, Bill, Louis, and Francis all sound like they were just shot or they were harmed by a fellow Survivor, it's just so good! Gameplay: Here is where everything is great, I love having to stick together rather than dying alone. I like a game where you don't just rush! I also like the Versus mode, I like being a Hunter, because if they aren't cooperative then you get a victim that needs to be saved but they will be delayed with fellow Infected or A.I.! I love the finale part, setting up spots to put traps and related things. Left 4 Dead is a great game that is young let very good, it blew me away, it will beat Resident Evil 5 for sure! Expand
  21. RichardC
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    I played this game both on the Xbox 360 and on the PC, and I must say it's a great zombie game. Incredibly suspenseful all the way till the end. You never stop wondering if the horde will show up, or what's around the next corner. The random spawns of the special zombies is great for keeping the excitement and unpredictability. All around this game delivers.
  22. TimothyT
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This is an excellent game in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay. The only issue that anyone would bring up is the lack of content, which is a flawed argument. Yes, there are only four campaigns, but the AI director makes each level a unique experience, and plus, even with games like CS:S or TF2 that are also releases from Valve, you'll learn every level in a week. People who say This is an excellent game in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay. The only issue that anyone would bring up is the lack of content, which is a flawed argument. Yes, there are only four campaigns, but the AI director makes each level a unique experience, and plus, even with games like CS:S or TF2 that are also releases from Valve, you'll learn every level in a week. People who say there is no storyline also present a flawed argument since games like CS:S and TF2, along with L4D, don't aim to have a plot. Valve's other releases like HL2 and Portal are full of rich storytelling. Once Valve releases the additional two maps for versus, survivor, and the SDK, you'll start to change your mind. Games like Battlefield 2 have expansion and booster packs that you have to pay for, which only add a few things here and there, but with Valve, you get free updates until the game is dead. Expand
  23. WendyT
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    According to my profile, I have played Left 4 Dead for approximately 25.6 hours. I feel that is enough experience to give this game a review. For starters, there are the pros. The graphics are pretty good and the gore level is such that I wasn't too overwhelmed, yet at the same time the shooting of a zombie's head so that it explodes was quite rewarding. Other rewarding aspects According to my profile, I have played Left 4 Dead for approximately 25.6 hours. I feel that is enough experience to give this game a review. For starters, there are the pros. The graphics are pretty good and the gore level is such that I wasn't too overwhelmed, yet at the same time the shooting of a zombie's head so that it explodes was quite rewarding. Other rewarding aspects of the game included the Versus mode in which players take turns playing the Survivors and the Infected. While the Survivors try to, well, survive, the Infected's job is to essentially use teamwork to take the Survivors down. The two teams then switch their roles with the Survivors becoming Infected and vice-versa. While the online co-op can be severely crippled by several things (which I will touch on), a good team makes this game great. There is nothing like a team that wants to succeed and knows what they're doing. Positive aspects of this game also include a solid amount of reply value, on which the game truly relies. If you aren't willing to play the four core "movies" that are offered over and over again, do not buy the game and then complain that you didn't get your money's worth. While I agree that the game could use with two or three times the levels, the maps in place allow for enough variation that one doesn't get too insanely bored. My advice? Everything in moderation. Now for the cons. Like all online games, you're going to get your 10-year-old kid who, because sometimes there is no God in the world, has a mic and insists on screaming into it. Other multiplayer issues include a disturbing amount of lag caused by some of the dedicated servers as well as the fact that the computer picks which room you join and which sever your room plays in. Another flaw is the extremely limited amount of multiplayer. With only two of the four "movies" available, the multiplayer can get old, again why Left 4 Dead is best in moderation. I have not really begun to delve into the vastness which is this game. There are tons of nuances which allow for a steller and varying gameplay experience. The flipside of this is that there are also things that can make your gaming experience one of the worst, which is why Left 4 Dead got varying reviews: some had a horrible first experience and put it down right away, while some played it for 5 minutes and posted a review with as many exclamation points as possible. The truth is that Left 4 Dead will be a great experience for team players who are willing to be patient and understand that it may take an hour to find a suitable team. However, this game is a total waste of money for you Leeroys out there (you know who you are.) In short, buy this game, but don't expect a masterpiece. Expect an enjoyable game best taken bit by bit. Yes, it will have its fair share of flaws, but every game does. What will make or break this game is the amount of support Valve will give it. If Valve can release more maps (and no, I'm not talking about making the two "movies" not available in Versus mode playable, which is a cop-out), the game will have a higher re-play value. However, the company can only do so much. Once again, Left 4 Dead is what you make it. You can enjoy it or you can bitch about how crappy your team is. Either way it's your money. Oh, and I forgot: !!!!!!! Expand
  24. christopherk.
    Mar 23, 2009
    10
    I want to know wtf the "critics" were thinking when they rated this game? 89 is insulting... on the less drunk and more serious side I am completely addicted to this game. I think that this is the best game that valve has put out. TF2 is pretty amazing and I could see where people would prefer it over L4D but this game is one of the most ballanced games that I have ever played. The only I want to know wtf the "critics" were thinking when they rated this game? 89 is insulting... on the less drunk and more serious side I am completely addicted to this game. I think that this is the best game that valve has put out. TF2 is pretty amazing and I could see where people would prefer it over L4D but this game is one of the most ballanced games that I have ever played. The only negative is that you can't choose your own server or play as only one side... I can see both sides to the argument and I don't know if enough people would want to play human or not but as a whole the game is just outstanding!!! Expand
  25. JohannesSA.
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    A very nice game from Turtle Rock and Valve, has the valve polish game play and just 'smoothness' (graphics, animation sound etc.) It's easy to jump into when bored to go and have fun :P. The best thing i like about this is the playable special infected (and hope they add more :P) cause how often have you had the thought when playing a game and see some cool enemy and A very nice game from Turtle Rock and Valve, has the valve polish game play and just 'smoothness' (graphics, animation sound etc.) It's easy to jump into when bored to go and have fun :P. The best thing i like about this is the playable special infected (and hope they add more :P) cause how often have you had the thought when playing a game and see some cool enemy and 'wouldn't it be cool if we could play that' Though very few maps (specially in versus since pretty much only play that, except on LANs) this game would only be better if added more maps, weapons and maybe infected(could add survivors with new infected i guess to have it kinda even). Expand
  26. AdamC.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and decides to shred you to peices...... The only down side to this game is that SOMETIMES you may get an annoying team, where for instance last night I was playing infected, all ways top of the team. Got vote kicked for no reason at all, completely out of the blue votes like that suck. Expand
  27. JuzL
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    Definitely one of the best games ever made and that ever will be made. Words are not enough to describable the feeling of anxiousness that you will have with each moment that you're making your way to the safehouse hoping no tanks or massive hordes come rushing at you. Definitely a must-have even if you're not in the genre.
  28. JoPixel
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    This game is a lot of fun! If you want it for SP, get something else but if you have a decent internet connection, prepair to mow down zombies with your friends while trying to survive or try to stop the survivors from reching the end controlling the speccial infected... This game doesn't lack replayability. There's a director that changes the experience based on skill level. This game is a lot of fun! If you want it for SP, get something else but if you have a decent internet connection, prepair to mow down zombies with your friends while trying to survive or try to stop the survivors from reching the end controlling the speccial infected... This game doesn't lack replayability. There's a director that changes the experience based on skill level. There's the console (you can adjust tons of stuff with that like amount of damage dealt by zombies, adjust the Tank spawn rate or whatever... You can even take over as director! The other source game maps are compatible with L4D so you have lots of CS maps to play in (the director will spawn the zombies for you!). There's even a DLC coming up with a new gamemode and a lot of new stuff... But DON'T GET THAT GAME ON THE XBOX 360 unless you don't have a PC that's good enough to play it because the 360 version sucks compared to PC. Buy this game to have fun! 10/10. Expand
  29. LtStreko
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    This game is perhaps one of the best games to play with your friends. The fact that when certain zombies grab you and your helpless and only your teammates can save you requires players to work together. The AI director always makes sure that you have a diffrent unique challenge every time you start a game. And the AI director if played on the rigt difficulty will make it so you survive This game is perhaps one of the best games to play with your friends. The fact that when certain zombies grab you and your helpless and only your teammates can save you requires players to work together. The AI director always makes sure that you have a diffrent unique challenge every time you start a game. And the AI director if played on the rigt difficulty will make it so you survive but just barely limping ever so slowly to complete the level as a horde of zombies afre growling and howling at your feet. Online play is just fantastic as in Versus mode you can become the Hunter, Boomer, Smooker and if your luck the tank which is a giant muscular zombie that will crush anything that is unfortanate enough to get in its way.This is a game you will play over and over again. For days on end and brings a new meaning to zombie survival games. Expand
  30. dudeman
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    This is the most awesome game ive played in a while. you must cooperate or die facing hordes of zombies blah blah blah. this game is awesome when on expert and peoplestart to get wounded. do you leave your team behind and dash to be rescued or do you stay behind to try and save them? do you outrun the limping guy to escape the tank or do you lure it away? its so awesome.
  31. ShockK
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    Me and my friends have been looking for a cooperative game forEVER and when I found out what left 4 dead was, tears rolled down my face. It was everything I wanted in little bite-sized pieces. Overall, the game is a blast, but it's somewhat disappointing the number of bugs that made it to release, even after FOUR years of development. The lobby system for the PC is awful. Me and my friends have been looking for a cooperative game forEVER and when I found out what left 4 dead was, tears rolled down my face. It was everything I wanted in little bite-sized pieces. Overall, the game is a blast, but it's somewhat disappointing the number of bugs that made it to release, even after FOUR years of development. The lobby system for the PC is awful. There's no way to pick a server, the search apparently randomly picks a server (if you're lucky enough to even get that far, since some people can not find servers even if they search for hours). There could be several improvements to gameplay and probably worst of all is the versus bot AI. If you don't have four human players on the survivors' team, each bot is a handicap. They are totally WORTHLESS. The only thing they're good for is carrying an extra medkit, and if they start healing, you better kill that spark-brained piece of pixelshit before you lose a kit. There could have been a lot more room to improve the cooperative play, but that being said, this game is a huge leap forward. Things can only get better, especially once they release the SDK for this game. GO VALVE!!! Expand
  32. DickArmy
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are all top notch. Valve is also releasing more content soon. Expand
  33. sau
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    This game is so awsome that you need to restrain yourself playing it. You WILL get scared sometimes. But as they said in the reveiws, this game is all about cooperation. VS mode are made so that you really have to make a plan, and that makes it a coop match for both teams, human and infected! Gabe Newell and your programmers, YOU RULE!
  34. FrozenF
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i definitely recommend this game. You won't be disappointed, there will be so many 'oh shit' moments that will keep you having fun with friends for what I foresee as years. Expand
  35. MichaelK.
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    I dislike Zombie games. But Left 4 Dead is a really BIG exception. Its really a special gameplay. It has a fast gameplay with long-time gaming-fun. The Director is one of the best features in the game. He forces the Team-Mates to work together. Non-Team play will be punished immediatelly. And thats it what makes the game to a perfect MP-Game!
  36. ChrisB
    Apr 21, 2009
    8
    Left 4 Dead is nice mindless fun, but does get rather dull after a while. Has nice graphics and commentary from the foru characters can be witty and funny, though sometimes it can also be agonizingly teeth gritting. The lack of the SDK at this time or even new maps tends to run the replay value of the game down some, even with the achievements there to go after, they aren't exactly Left 4 Dead is nice mindless fun, but does get rather dull after a while. Has nice graphics and commentary from the foru characters can be witty and funny, though sometimes it can also be agonizingly teeth gritting. The lack of the SDK at this time or even new maps tends to run the replay value of the game down some, even with the achievements there to go after, they aren't exactly major things to worry about in the long run. It's a great game when you want to kill about an hours worth but doesn't currently have any long term play value. Perhaps when some player created maps come along. Expand
  37. MurdocM
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    From the concept of the game to the design of the game, valve has been very diligent in the making of L4D. Most of the controls have been preserved from Counter-Strike which reduces the learning curve for most players. It is a fantastic experience playing this game especially with the release of the Survival pack. The only problem to this game is that many bugs still need to be addressed From the concept of the game to the design of the game, valve has been very diligent in the making of L4D. Most of the controls have been preserved from Counter-Strike which reduces the learning curve for most players. It is a fantastic experience playing this game especially with the release of the Survival pack. The only problem to this game is that many bugs still need to be addressed although I have been fairly satisfied at the speed of which Valve release these updates. The price has gone down to $39.99 USD on steam so this game is definitely worth the money. Expand
  38. Karl
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great co-op game play, especially when your team co-ops. The new survival mode is intense and makes a great game even better. Four to six more campaigns would help greatly as the four it comes with generally become less an less challenging, the unpredictable AI taken into account, as you gain experience Great for lan play as well as online Worth the money you pay for it, and as levels are great co-op game play, especially when your team co-ops. The new survival mode is intense and makes a great game even better. Four to six more campaigns would help greatly as the four it comes with generally become less an less challenging, the unpredictable AI taken into account, as you gain experience Great for lan play as well as online Worth the money you pay for it, and as levels are added that value will just go up. Expand
  39. MichaelS
    May 2, 2009
    10
    I have become a gamer at the hands of Valve's excellent commitment to the consumer. I have not found any other game that offers the same kind of dedication that Valve has to their products. It began with Team Fortress 2 for me, and was finalized in Left 4 Dead. I will play this game for many years to come. Any gamer worth a grain of salt would have this game in his collection.
  40. Brad
    May 8, 2009
    8
    Good violent team based fun. The game is very intense, health and ammo conservation are both factors you must continually be aware of and watching each others backs is an absolute must for survival. The game runs smoothly and looks nice on a fairly modest system and its easy to find a low ping multiplayer server to play on. It does get a tad boring after extended play, buy for a quick Good violent team based fun. The game is very intense, health and ammo conservation are both factors you must continually be aware of and watching each others backs is an absolute must for survival. The game runs smoothly and looks nice on a fairly modest system and its easy to find a low ping multiplayer server to play on. It does get a tad boring after extended play, buy for a quick buzz and some frantic run and gun action this is a great buy. Simple gameplay, instant action, exploding heads. Expand
  41. MylesG
    May 9, 2009
    10
    I confess bias. I love everything with zombies in it, but ever since "Resident Evil 3: Nemesis", I haven't seen any really good zombie games. Until now! The fear, the adrenaline, the darkness, and above all, the sensation that one false step means death. That is what a zombie game needs. Others are more action oriented and make the zombies seem like crash test dummies to be ripped to I confess bias. I love everything with zombies in it, but ever since "Resident Evil 3: Nemesis", I haven't seen any really good zombie games. Until now! The fear, the adrenaline, the darkness, and above all, the sensation that one false step means death. That is what a zombie game needs. Others are more action oriented and make the zombies seem like crash test dummies to be ripped to shreads and walked over. They forget that zombies are horror and should be feared. The music creates the mood and doesn't get in the way. As it should, but then the idea of music personalized to the experience of the player and not the game. That was genius. Expand
  42. KjetilO
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is our time greatest zombie apocalypse! Your mission is to escape, and it's one way and one way only to do that. kill zombies!! Great Game!
  43. michaelc
    May 10, 2009
    10
    This game is non stop shooting, heads blowing off and blood everywhere. unpredictable on where the zombie going to be and attack.
  44. KaarleW
    May 10, 2009
    9
    A wonderfully thrilling game that can be played again and again. The graphics are great and yet, my poopy computer runs it like magic. The only minus I have to give is the fact that the number of weapons is very limited, which is strange for a Valve game.
  45. MichaelM
    May 15, 2009
    9
    Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. That's what this game makes so great for me! Thanks Valve! Expand
  46. Kevin
    May 16, 2009
    9
    Over all, Left 4 Dead was a great game. The first time I played it I played for 6 hours straight. The running zombies got your addrenlin pumping and being able to work with team mates was really cool. The only things I would change about the game is the fact that your partners weren't the smartest (they should be more team oriented) and that the game wasn't very long (more Over all, Left 4 Dead was a great game. The first time I played it I played for 6 hours straight. The running zombies got your addrenlin pumping and being able to work with team mates was really cool. The only things I would change about the game is the fact that your partners weren't the smartest (they should be more team oriented) and that the game wasn't very long (more levels should of been added). Other than that, the game is a lot of fun to play, especially online. Expand
  47. NickL
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I got it the minute it came out in November. It's now May, and I still play it nearly every day. A zombie fan's dream come true.
  48. SamM
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Sorry, the reviews by Fox J and R L below me were pissing me off. They have obviously not even played the game. In fox's review, he claimed that one player plays as the director - not true. The AI director is the same in Campaign and versus, the infected play as the special infected (Boomer, Smoker, Hunter, and Tank). Of course, some people can ruin a gaming experience, but about 90 Sorry, the reviews by Fox J and R L below me were pissing me off. They have obviously not even played the game. In fox's review, he claimed that one player plays as the director - not true. The AI director is the same in Campaign and versus, the infected play as the special infected (Boomer, Smoker, Hunter, and Tank). Of course, some people can ruin a gaming experience, but about 90 percent of the time you'll get in a game with some cool people, or just play with friends (more fun anyways). OK, in R L's way down there, he's also wrong. I suppose survival mode is a preference, but they've already released community map tools. It's nothing like HL2 - much faster and more intense. The lack of weapons is for mere simplicity and a bit of realism. Games like HL2 and (sorry for the generic example) Halo have a lot of weapons because there are a lot of different situations, requiring different weapons. L4D is just killing zombies. Plain and simple fun. Oh, and there was a user-made mall level BEFORE the development tools were released. And remember, this is Valve. VALVE. Look at TF2. Its been out for close to 2 years, and updates of all kinds are still flooding out. Oh, and to prove that I'm not a fanboy, I do have some problems with the game. The AI wont follow you, they have to kill EVERYTHING before they go on. In one section, you have to climb ladders up an elevator shaft. Rather than climbing up, my AI buddies stood around shooting at smokers and were soon dragged to their deaths. Then again, its a Co-Op game. Bring Friends. Expand
  49. EricY.
    May 19, 2009
    10
    This is the first zombie game I have ever played, and I have to say I am deeply mesmerized by the endless hordes and intense gameplay. The co-op is simply splendid and adds to the replayable value of this entire game. Strongly suggest purchasing this game! It will be money well spent!
  50. SamH
    May 21, 2009
    8
    One hec of an awesome game, but does have it's bad points. It's fast paced, has a fun style of play, multiple game modes, achievements, and other challenges, plus free downloadable content and some deep, quite humorous characters, but on the off side, there isn't a great selection of weapons, not a large variety of gameplay or maps. Also, the bot AI isn't exactly One hec of an awesome game, but does have it's bad points. It's fast paced, has a fun style of play, multiple game modes, achievements, and other challenges, plus free downloadable content and some deep, quite humorous characters, but on the off side, there isn't a great selection of weapons, not a large variety of gameplay or maps. Also, the bot AI isn't exactly grand, they quite happily let you be the first person to investigate dark rooms and suspicious sounds, and are lacking basic commands. I almost gave this game a seven, but I am impressed by it's addictive gameplay, the amount at which the developers patch the game and the overall potential. Summary: They can make this now-awesome game into one super-frikin' awesome game. It has all the potential a game developer could ever dream of. But will the developers decide to put much effort into creating *new* content? Expand
  51. DrewB
    May 23, 2009
    10
    A pretty fantastic game. Sure it could be longer, but at least what is there woeks great and is really fun to play with friends. The community surrounding it is L4D's only real down side.
  52. ToddC
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Though there are many movies of zombies, games of zombies, comics and books of zombies, not many of them are recognized as great zombie-themed media or game. Left 4 Dead managed to be the top (in my opinion) in contributing to "zombie apocalypse" theme in the game category. Though not a very horrifying or scary game, it does a wonderful job at keeping you aware of your surroundings and on Though there are many movies of zombies, games of zombies, comics and books of zombies, not many of them are recognized as great zombie-themed media or game. Left 4 Dead managed to be the top (in my opinion) in contributing to "zombie apocalypse" theme in the game category. Though not a very horrifying or scary game, it does a wonderful job at keeping you aware of your surroundings and on your toes. There will be at times where the suspenseful music plays and waiting for a massive horde to come, or when things are just too quiet that it makes you wonder what will happen next. The AI director does a good job in maintaining a well-balanced fps game that requires some team work (especially in higher difficulties) to eliminate tanks (high health "hulks") and protecting vomited-on teammates from hordes that are only attracted them. Though the game may become repetitive after playing 20 or so times, it still has some fun and play value with the different players that aid you every time. So far, I've played this game for over 5 months and still enjoy it. If you like run-and-gun, massive hordes, tons of shooting, coop games, all in a zombie-themed game...this might be the game for you! Of course, if you don't like that kind of stuff, this might not be a great game for you. Though I've seen people complain that this is like a Half-Life zombie mod for Valve, I do have to agree to some extent. However, it is probably the best "zombie mod" of all if it had to be compared so lowly as to be called a "zombie mod". Overall, great game of its kind! Expand
  53. JasonS
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Truly an addictive experience. The gameplay and the graphics are amazing, along with the differences in survivors and infected playstyles make this game hard to put down.
  54. JamesP
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent Get a good team of survivors togeather, practice, get good, play against others...Addiction ensues. Finally a game where you MUST rely on the people around you to succeed. Excellent Valve, a round of applause. This game is phenomenal. Valve release regular updates and map extensions AND new campaigns to be created soon! Plus TONNES of new gear and stuff! This is anything but a stagnent game. Do not judge from the box. P.s. NOT SINGLEPLAYER. Expand
  55. FarskeH
    May 27, 2009
    10
    A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its A truly polished game. You have the casual coop style version where you and your mates can plod along in easy mode, or scream in intense expert/hard mode. Then you move onto the survival, the cresendo events where you hold out for as long as you can, earning awards. Then the cream of the game. The Versus mode, how this is fun! Whilst newbs have commented on it stating its unbalanced, its fair. You play it in halves, you swap sides after. The developers said the aim of the game and the design was that the survivors have a slim chance of reaching the end. It shows skill if you do (or a complete lack of skill on the infected side). After the annihilation you swap over. They KEY to the game is friends, play with friends or skill full people and you WILL love it, You can see the people who have rated this game low are clearly kids or n00bs. Its a shame this game has a low score because of that. Its a gem. Expand
  56. S.T.A.R.S.
    May 30, 2009
    8
    Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement possible, done all there is to do. But... only four campaigns? I was hoping for more campaigns, not a single level you can't escape with a light house. Sure, the developer kit will probably be released soon and people can make their own maps... but if there aren't some more official maps released as well Im going to be let down again. There's only so much we as a community can do, honestly. What makes a big part of the game fun is the survivors, their quirks, the dialogue they say to one another. From Francis's frequent reminders of everything he hates to Bills constant complaint about walking up and down stairs and so on, there is absolutely nothing new we as a community can do to make that ourselves. There's just so much more Valve could have added to the game by now and they haven't. I know plenty of my friends I've played with stop to "take a break" from the game because they feel the same, whether they actively say it or not. For how much it cost, there should have been more content. Sure, the replayability is awesome. I've spent over a hundred hours, probably closer to two, playing about 4or 5 hours worth of content. So think how much better the game would be with another 4 or 5 hours of content. That's right... I want at least another 4 campaigns... and no, I don't want a left for dead 2, I want more for this one. I've already heard about it... really what's stopping that from being more new content? New characters to play as, new levels to choose from? I think Valve would be doing everyone like me a diservice if they did anything less, especially considering games like half life and the super fantastic orange box. Seriously, look at all your fans cheering you on here, giving you the benefit of the doubt. Don't let us down. I'm not even saying give us our money's worth... live up to your already stellar reputation... give us what you already know your loyal community deserves. Once again, prove you can go above and beyond all our expectations, it's what put you where you are now after all. Until then, I don't think I can give the game anything better than an 8. Expand
  57. mattm
    May 31, 2009
    10
    L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of L4D is and always will be a great game. Shure the campain gets old after 10 or so runs on expert, but the coop is some of the best iv ever seen. Most people who rate it low complain about not having RL buddies to own with. This isnt very logical because if you enjoy the coop but just dont have RL friends, there are other options. Such as clans, steam friends with the game (almost all of my friends on steam now own this game), or even people you see at school (IDK if this counts as RL buddies cause u might not like em). Not having friends does not give any reason to give it a score of 1 and no reason to dislike the game. I have 3 RL buddies that live about a mile from me that have the game and about 100 clan members, all of which can play L4D and stomp the average pub. Then going into content wise, some people who can actually use their pc will mod L4D with different maps that are used by many and play with buddies, and Valve has already givin us lighthouse and there might be more maps in the future, (my L4D has all custom skins, witch and tank sounds, and about 30 custom campains/survival/versus maps on it that I use on a server that I have admin on. So just because you cant make buddies online or off to play with you please dont rate L4D low on those weak standards. Iv had tons of fun playin it and am hopein that PDXLAN will give us an L4D tourny so our |-DNB-| clan can win some nice GTX 295 graphics cards. So please dont spam hate messages cause u cant get buddies, so far I have found the gameplay nothing less then enjoyable, and hopefully you will get a good experince playing sometime in the future. (Also if people kick you without exlaining why, its probably because that if they tell you that they are kicking for a buddy, most people start shooting them or jump off an edge resulting in player death and a handicap to their team. Im speaking from experience, its happened to me many times so please dont judge the game based on those standards eaither, because the above is most likly the case and they are just trying to play with their buddies. Expand
  58. JoostL
    Jun 1, 2009
    8
    Great fun, decent game. The first campaign will leave you wanting more and more. Yet as soon as you play the other campaigns you notice that they are all sort of the same. Its still a fun game but the lack of variety in modes and the after a while predictive enemies makes this game give you a unfinished feeling. Yet, for some reason it feels like everyone should try this one at least once.
  59. P0nwz0rTheNoob
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a fantastic FPS that does someting different: letting you slaughter millions of zombies instead of headshoting terrorists/soliders. The weakness of this game is the single player part and that it contains few levels. But whit a splendid multiplayer mode and the Source SDK tool, it doesnt mather much. The gameplay is perfect, the grapichs is as good as you can get whit Left 4 Dead is a fantastic FPS that does someting different: letting you slaughter millions of zombies instead of headshoting terrorists/soliders. The weakness of this game is the single player part and that it contains few levels. But whit a splendid multiplayer mode and the Source SDK tool, it doesnt mather much. The gameplay is perfect, the grapichs is as good as you can get whit Source and the sounds are awesome. You will love the scary piano riff that plays when exploring dark, abondend rooms! Expand
  60. BT
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    Great game, can be very competitive, even though very few say that there is not much content the levels are very massive and nothing ever happens the same twice and with almost every multiplayer game there will be a couple of favourite maps that the majority only want to play on, you could consider this barely any content if you only play on a couple of maps, yet L4D is great the whole Great game, can be very competitive, even though very few say that there is not much content the levels are very massive and nothing ever happens the same twice and with almost every multiplayer game there will be a couple of favourite maps that the majority only want to play on, you could consider this barely any content if you only play on a couple of maps, yet L4D is great the whole way through, and for the fact that theres not many weapons, there's no need for more they have basically got all they need a long range sniper, short range shotty and mid range assault rifle. Expand
  61. EmeryA
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is easily one of my favorite games, and I don't usually enjoy FPS that much. It's exciting, suspenseful, and full of 28-Days-Later type rage zombies! If there were uninfected people in the game (forcing you to carefully pick your targets), or more campaigns, I would vote 11!
  62. RyanC
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    one the best games out there. I can play it on the highest graphics settings and it is amazing. Online is fun same with the new Survival mode. Expert Difficulty will keep you occupied if you get bored.
  63. BurtonJ
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can say is I wish my friend had internet and a copy of this game for PC. It Rocks! Expand
  64. LouisS
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    I am a kid. I like this game because I can shoot lots of monsters. Sometimes I do a funny thing, I open the door and shoot the zombies.
  65. NathanS
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Game is well balanced. Team play is very well though out, you don't have to rely on 5 million people but its not just you either. Updates are continuous and address the current concerns of the gaming community.
  66. JonathanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead is the greatest co-op game I've ever tried! It is making it even better, when it's online! The good thing about the game is that it's a rare kind of game and that kind is not made often!
  67. NiklasA
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game doe seem a little lacking in content, but Valve has made a few free additions to keep the game going. The game might get old after a while, but I garuntee you'll come back to it addicted all over again.
  68. CoreyS
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Its good, but i think it needs to have new maps added a little bit more toons to be played and a little more hordes. Yea i said it, i want it to be harder, i think a game where its you and your bros vs a city, should be just that a dang city! as in i want like 200 of them fools running out a store!
  69. BrentC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have played, and I never get bored of killing all the zombies
  70. BrendanY
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This gets a 10 because it's the best multiplayer fps experience out there today.
  71. Comrade
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Awesome game. Its just missing a few things. Versus is the best mode ever, but everyone hates being survivers, so when its there turn, they leave! Good game, still. Just what i expected of Valve.
  72. RolandP
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    the best game ever. never gets boring. even when the second comes out i'll still play the classic one from time to time. thanks valve
  73. SeanG
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game I just wish it had more boards and maybe even more characters on both sides to make it even harder,
  74. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    totally amazing game, despite the few variations in weapons and maps u never get tired of it... its just so much fun even a year after i bought it
  75. DaveS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Love the gameplay and interaction. Multiplayer is awesome. The A.I. is not too formulaic nor too challenging. Ten pimp-slaps out of Ten.
  76. RanK
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're In relation to many many other shooters L4D manages to keep the player interested for a pretty long time. Even though the single player mode could actually get quite boring after some time the option to play on maps created by fellow players and the multiplayer mode definitely make up for that and help to avoid the occuring of behavior patterns players tend to use as soon as they're used to some maps. Overall it's a really nice game that tempts the user to play it over and over as soon as he has some time at his hands. Expand
  77. Lars
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible, it's got everything a game should have, humor, horror, and the ability to blas pieces of zombies, i'm giving it a 10
  78. AlanR
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    cant say enough about this game. one year on and i am still playing this game on an addiction-like level. massive replayability combined with well balanced multiplayer makes this the best game ive played in ten years. no brainer. BUY IT
  79. JulioR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Great game, better than MW:2! This is a bigger improvement than L4D 1 and this is NOT an "extra mod add-on" as what people were saying L4D2 would be. It has so much more than L4D 1! 10/10
  80. GoncaloS
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome! never game have a co-op experience like this game. good graphics but the game just has 5 campaigns if the game It had more campaigns and more mods It would bethe best fps game. and just more thing if it hads more specials infecteds
  81. DannyN
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Es el mejor juego desde Counter-Strike, este juego marca una epoca, tiene de todo y creo que a muy pocos defraudara, muy adictivo.
  82. LinusB
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    A fantastic game that still works just as good as it did upon release. I'm playing this game every sunday with my friends and will probably do so for a good long time.
  83. ericc
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I played the demo for almost 24 hours in 2 day. then about 3-6 months later i buy the game(i am saving for a high powered pc so i have to be a tightwad) and i LOVE IT changeing where the specials are. The story is kinda boring cause you never really get saved, but that is what makes it better
  84. MaxP
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's a real good adventure, if you like action and zombies you'll like this Game. This game is funnier then Hell, i give it a 10 because it makes fun, there is not to much blood, and is a good Teamwork-Game!
  85. EmilK
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    That is the best game ever! Now the 2. L4D have arrived so i hope i get it in christmas present! L4D is just AWESOME!
  86. Nick
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent campeigns, and improved graphics. These give the game a whole new playing style, and was much more than an expansion pack. The menus and online play are also improved, although still not perfect. Expand
  87. SamP.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put I figured Neversoft would at least try to make an improvement from the gigantic train wreck of a game called Guitar Hero 3. Looks like it was too much to hope for. The graphics are still just as laughably bad, the drum set that boasted being so much better than rock band's is only as good or worse, the setlist has a few jewels but overall is just as disappointing as GH3's. Put in this game and you'll want to go back to Guitar Hero 2 to remember why these games were even fun. Bottom line, Neversoft totally destroyed the guitar hero franchise, everything in this game is just a sad shadow of the things found in Rock Band 2, don't waste your time or money. Expand
  88. JimmyP
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  89. JeffW.
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Great game!
  90. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the main concept, the charachters and like the game itself. The modified Source engine is really impressive and it has a great graphics. But til the end of the map it is sometimes pretty boring and your teammates really stupid. But at the end of the map there is always a huge ambush and if you want to use the "leave no man behind" rule, you simply die. Expand
  91. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Still a headliner when it comes to great FPS with co-op, there's no real point having this one when you can get L4D2 as cheap with all L4D1's content now ported by Valve as free dlcs.
  92. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing game that started the whole zombie survival horror boom. Valve proved beyond doubt that they are masters of quality. Play with friends if you can.
  93. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    This game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides thoseThis game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides those minor things I just can't seem the explain why I feel Left 4 Dead 1 is better. Also the thirdpersonshoulder mode works in L4D1. It is bugged in L4D2 and was never fixed. Expand
  94. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    It's a shame this game's community is nearly non existent now since Left 4 Dead 2 replaced it, but in it's time it gave me hundred's of hours of FUN. This game just has such a high replay-ability, it just never got boring for me. Playing this with friends just makes the experience even more enjoyable. 10/10
  95. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing zombie game that reminds me of the movie 28 days later. The only way to improve this game would have been to add various routes, and more weapons. If you want to get the most out of left 4 dead, play online with friends, single player gets boring.
  96. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Funnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, forFunnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, for releasing L4D2 way too soon and reducing the attention that this game deserved. Expand
  97. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Expand
  98. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Excelent game, I am giving a 9 only because the 10 belongs to the second release of Left 4 Dead, since the only thing this game was failing at is some bugs inside it and the poor hand to hand combat weapons, both upgraded in the second release.
  99. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Few games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over theFew games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over the head with how helpless you are alone in this atmospheric, tense, tactical, intense, and, at times, hilarious zombie apocalypse. The characters and the hours of dialog alone are worth the buy, and don't even get me started on the fun and frustration that awaits you in the versus mode. You can play as the infected too! Alone, it's a damn good game and packs at least a hundred hours of gameplay, but its little brother quickly blew past in both the community and the developer's eyes. Before then, the limits such as weapon selection and special enemies didn't exist. But who can pass up mentioning akimbo assassin, probably one of the most fun achievements available in modern shooters, and the plane crash in Dead Air. Truly classic. Expand
  100. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Left 4 Dead est pour moi, le meilleur jeu de coopération. Il nécessite beaucoup de stratégie et de reflex pour jouer en Versus. Mais je ne le conseille pas à ceux qui ont une mauvaise connection ou aux débutant de ce genre pour jouer en versus
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.