Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3728 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    If you have a few friends that are willing to get this game with you, you must try it. This game can be a lot of fun. In my case only if I play with friends.
  2. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    Is a great game, when you play with friends .
  3. May 11, 2012
    9
    Overall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lotOverall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lot of PC content exclusives such as Achievements, constant upgrades and unofficial mods. To make it better, Left 4 Dead 2 comes packed with this game as well when you purchase it! Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    I love this game and the people who made it. Once again Valve has created a master piece of a game. This game has fun campaigns very good survival mode which you fight off a ton of zombies and last as long as you can. Versus mode is were up to eight players play, four players the humans and four the mutated ZOMBIES. Yes the mutated zombies like hunters,smokers and boomers [MY FAV]. Or justI love this game and the people who made it. Once again Valve has created a master piece of a game. This game has fun campaigns very good survival mode which you fight off a ton of zombies and last as long as you can. Versus mode is were up to eight players play, four players the humans and four the mutated ZOMBIES. Yes the mutated zombies like hunters,smokers and boomers [MY FAV]. Or just play with people online up to four players. Also you can play with up to three of your friend with any mode. Campaigns 9/10 Survival mode 8/10 Versus 8/10 Left 4 Dead 8.9/10 Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    For fans of the traditional LAN party, rejoice, for now there is a game built from the ground up for co-op! Just make sure your friends sign a contract to say they'll continue to play this game for the next couple of years or so to get your money's worth! :)
  6. ERB
    Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you inOne of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you in the tongue and then he will kill you.Left 4 Dead is probably one of the best games that Valve developed.The game play in this game is fun and I'm telling you this game is fun so all of you people who loves a fun game you should buy this.The multiplayer in this game is also fun.You can choose whether you want to be an infected like The Boomer,The Smoker,The Hunter,or even better the strongest zombie in the game The Tank.Or you can choose to be a survivor which is Bill a military soldier,or Francis an awesome biker,or Louis the pills addict,or Zoey she is I don't know a teenager.This game is fun.So all of you people reading my review you should buy this game for this game is fun.One of the best games ever! Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Despite already having played Left 4 Dead 2, Left 4 Dead is still an excellent game. Of course it's essentially just more of the same, but that's more or less what I was expecting, honestly. The game features four playable characters, Bill, Zoey, Francis and Louis, DLC campaigns (screw you EA) and an abundance of zombies to tear to shreds. Recommended 100%.
  8. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Still a headliner when it comes to great FPS with co-op, there's no real point having this one when you can get L4D2 as cheap with all L4D1's content now ported by Valve as free dlcs.
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    I'll never forget that feeling the night I bought this game and played it for the first time. It was magic. A co-op zombie shooter with many twists and turns and a "Director" to alter the game every time it was played. How could a gamer pass that up? Good weapons, character development, graphics and a zombie apocalypse atmosphere.
  10. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Expand
  11. Aug 30, 2016
    8
    Man does valve know how to make good multiplayer games.. and this game is no exception. So onto the review then.

    Pros: -For an arcade zombie game where you have almost infinite bullets the game can be surpirsingly scary. Especially the witch...good god please not the witch. -The gameplay is great. You'd think that shooting a up big hordes of zombie while walking from point a to b
    Man does valve know how to make good multiplayer games.. and this game is no exception. So onto the review then.

    Pros:
    -For an arcade zombie game where you have almost infinite bullets the game can be surpirsingly scary. Especially the witch...good god please not the witch.
    -The gameplay is great. You'd think that shooting a up big hordes of zombie while walking from point a to b would get boring pretty fast but it doesn't. That's because there's multiple types of zombies, the level design is very good and there's a lot of guns for you to blow somebody's brains out
    -But this game is at its best when you play with friends...it's so much fun and it requires a lot of teamwork.

    Cons:
    -This really goes if you're playing alone. The a.i partners can be pretty dumb sometimes and it can get repetitive but only if you're playing alone and even still it's a lot of fun

    In conclusion Left 4 Dead is a really good game that any FPS or zombie fan should check out.
    Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Don't play the game if you are light-hearted, have heart disease, or don't like zombies that jump on to you. Because this game is one of the scariest zombie games I've ever had to play. But it is shear fun just to shoot the crap out of the zombies. And the best part is? They keep coming and you just keep on shooting. Nice, right? Check this game out right away. I regret not playing this earlier.
  13. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Having not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the charactersHaving not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the characters and other players. If you're into co-op or if you just like Valve games, then this is a must buy: although if you're sensitive to gore or prefer a densely packed narrative then you might want to give this one a miss. As for me, the AI director and co-op has kept me playing for more than thirty hours despite its insubstantiality. Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    It's technically the same as the Xbox 360 version except it feels like there's so much more you can do with it, especially since you can download unique modded maps made by other players. It's rare that I think a game is better on the PC than it is on a console like the Xbox 360, but this is a perfect example of a game that is.
  15. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally rescued. Along the way you have to fight off hordes of slavering zombies. In single player mode the AI is pretty good, although your teammates don’t always behave as you might wish them to during the incredibly hectic campaign finales. There are 4 campaigns with 5 maps to each one. Replay value is good due to the fact that the AI changes the zombie attacks and spawn points with each play, so you never know where the horde is going to come flooding from or where the bosses are lurking. When you get bored with the maps supplied there are loads of 3rd party maps and campaigns available on the web. On top of all this you can even play as one the various types of zombies (on a random basis). Personally I find this less satisfying, but it is worth a go just to get the other perspective. This is a simple but truly great game. L4D2 here I come!
    Expand
  16. Aug 20, 2016
    8
    Um jogo bacana, joguei muito na epoca, porem ele nao me agrada totalmente, mas eu acho muito melhor que o 2, porem...é divertido sim, da para se diverti com amigos
  17. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    This game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides thoseThis game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides those minor things I just can't seem the explain why I feel Left 4 Dead 1 is better. Also the thirdpersonshoulder mode works in L4D1. It is bugged in L4D2 and was never fixed. Expand
  18. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    The base concept of moving from area to area killing hordes of zombies is nothing new. How they go about making it is remarkable, however. The game forces teamwork and with the help of the ai director you can play this game over and over and over and almost never have two similar situations. Defiantly a groundbreaking achievement in the gaming world.
  19. Feb 3, 2017
    9
    One of the best games during the time and definitely one of the best zombie games around. With only four campaigns with five levels in each, the re-playability for this game was great.
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Decent zombie game. Most playable with friends you actually know over live chat. Cause the L4D community has many people trolling. Non the less ,the different campaigns you can download from the modding community, will make it up to you. Its an solid shooter ,but it starts lacking of replay value after few hundred hours.
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    This is a great FPS multiplayer game. It is very addicting while playing online. This games giant downfall is the stupidity of the AI while playing single player. They get very frustrating, at times just standing around when you get pounced by a Hunter or tied up by a Smoker. This game needs to be played online to experience the best of this game.
  22. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Why didn't they think of this before? It's brilliant to force the teamwork this way and keep the game fresh by changing things every play through. Extremely highly recommended buy.
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Okay, so maybe Left 4 Dead doesn't have the deepest plot. But if you're not looking for anything particularly engaging and enthralling, and simply want to unload as many bullets as possible into fast moving targets who are hungry for you, Left 4 Dead is a great game, especially if you have some friends to help you survive through the bullet riddled repetition.
  24. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the main concept, the charachters and like the game itself. The modified Source engine is really impressive and it has a great graphics. But til the end of the map it is sometimes pretty boring and your teammates really stupid. But at the end of the map there is always a huge ambush and if you want to use the "leave no man behind" rule, you simply die. Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Zombie games aren't exactly in a famine these days. With so many games focusing on surviving against zombies, it can be hard to pick any good games from the crowd. But with Left 4 Dead, I believe all other games have just been blown out of the water. In L4D, you play as one of four survivors- Bill, Francis, Zoey, or Louis. Each has their own little back story and their own personality,Zombie games aren't exactly in a famine these days. With so many games focusing on surviving against zombies, it can be hard to pick any good games from the crowd. But with Left 4 Dead, I believe all other games have just been blown out of the water. In L4D, you play as one of four survivors- Bill, Francis, Zoey, or Louis. Each has their own little back story and their own personality, something that helps you connect. Like Francis, who hates stairs, helicopters, zombies, walking, and generally anything and everything. There are multiple campaigns in the game, each with a different set of locales and atmospheres. Like the first campaign, No Mercy, which has you moving through a city to rendezvous on a hospital skyscraper rooftop. Each campaign is broken into chapters, which have you getting from the start area to a safehouse. At the last chapter, you face a thing called a finale, where you get a bunch of supplies, an area to hole out in, and a trigger to start it. When you activate the trigger, a massive horde of zombies rush at you. And the game features a "Director," who controls how the chapter is going. For example, you might hole out in a parking lot in one area and defend against a wave of zombies using gas canisters in one playthrough, and maybe the next the canisters won't be there and the zombies will come from behind. And killing zombies in this game is FUN. You start out with a single pistol, and can pick up an smg or a shotgun. Later in a chapter you find upgraded weapons, which are a hunting rifle, an auto shotgun, and an assault rifle. The game gets pretty gory when using a shotgun or hunting rifle, as headshots will take zombie heads clean off and shotgun blasts will tear off limbs. If you like FPS games, or zombie games, this is the game for you. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    The game is amazing. Great Graphics and the increasing hordes makes the game very addicting as well as zombies being in different places each time you play the campaigns. Great game with nice weapons. I recommend it!
  27. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Few games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over theFew games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over the head with how helpless you are alone in this atmospheric, tense, tactical, intense, and, at times, hilarious zombie apocalypse. The characters and the hours of dialog alone are worth the buy, and don't even get me started on the fun and frustration that awaits you in the versus mode. You can play as the infected too! Alone, it's a damn good game and packs at least a hundred hours of gameplay, but its little brother quickly blew past in both the community and the developer's eyes. Before then, the limits such as weapon selection and special enemies didn't exist. But who can pass up mentioning akimbo assassin, probably one of the most fun achievements available in modern shooters, and the plane crash in Dead Air. Truly classic. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing zombie game that reminds me of the movie 28 days later. The only way to improve this game would have been to add various routes, and more weapons. If you want to get the most out of left 4 dead, play online with friends, single player gets boring.
  29. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Left 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” neverLeft 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” never appealed to me. But in the game’s defense, I never gave these other features much of a chance. This is because I was always glued to the regular campaigns and never directed my attention elsewhere. I strongly recommend this to all gamers out there. If you like FPSs and multiplayer, then this game will undoubtedly meet your standards. Expand
  30. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    This game has all of the basic elements that a shooter should have and more. It gives the hardcore a mode, the director is one of the smartest ever created and it's cheap right now. Left 4 Dead is probably the best zombie shooter ever. Yet. I hope that Valve can release even more great games.
  31. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Comparing to the L4D2, this one is a little weak in weapon and infected diversities. But overall it's a great game for co-op. Also the VS mode is greeeeeaaaaat! Love acting as a zombie!
  32. Dec 30, 2016
    10
    Highly anticipated and hyped on gametrailers and youtube. One of the best games of all time. You could expect nothing less of Valve. Put around 1500 hours in the original game. Quality is what this game is about. Voice acting, narrative, graphics, programming systems. It worked out extremely well.
  33. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    best zombie game ever! the characters, the zombie models, the special infected, the co up, the versus! all so fun! i always wanted a game which had easily killed zombies but still had to use team work to survive, probebly the best co up game i can think of in the moment, nope its the best i know!
  34. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead offers the greatest multiplayer experience with strangers so far. Even if you do not like FPS games, or western zombie culture with its pretentious assertion that it all represents something else a little bit deeper, I warrant youâ
  35. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Funnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, forFunnest single/multiplayer/co-op zombie game you'll ever play! Play with your friends: 4 vs 4: humans vs infected. Also if you know where to look there are some incredibly fun servers with different and personalized game modes. This game never fails to amaze unless you have a useless tool on your team. The only bad thing I have to say is not about the game itself but the developers, for releasing L4D2 way too soon and reducing the attention that this game deserved. Expand
  36. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Left 4 Dead has proved itself why it is the best co-op game there is. Not just it offers incredible game play, and a chance to become a Special Infected, it also makes teammates actually communicate and work together. Going Rambo is not a smart choice in this game-if the horde does not finish you off, then that Hunter on the prowl might........
  37. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Very good game for its time. I played this with friends when I was younger and I really enjoyed myself. It was just one of those games everyone had at the time and everyone would play. I think it's one of the better zombie games out there, if not the role-model for a lot of them.
  38. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    An amazing game that started the whole zombie survival horror boom. Valve proved beyond doubt that they are masters of quality. Play with friends if you can.
  39. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    I'm still playing this, still, my friends and I still have LAN's, just for this game. It is possibly the perfect co-op game ever made. Buy it, play it, if you don't like it, there's something wrong with you.
  40. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Excelent game, I am giving a 9 only because the 10 belongs to the second release of Left 4 Dead, since the only thing this game was failing at is some bugs inside it and the poor hand to hand combat weapons, both upgraded in the second release.
  41. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    This is a great FPS multiplayer game. It is very addicting while playing online. This games giant downfall is the stupidity of the AI while playing single player. They get very frustrating, at times just standing around when you get pounced by a Hunter or tied up by a Smoker. This game needs to be played online to experience the best of this game.
  42. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is an awesome game and the only classic I have seen in a while. The story is about four survivors who are stranded in a town struck by the T-viru-, I mean a horrible infection which turned the citizens into zombies. Louis, Francis, Bill and Zoey are amazing characters that you will certainly grow to love and everytime we start playing the game we end up in a fight over whoLeft 4 Dead is an awesome game and the only classic I have seen in a while. The story is about four survivors who are stranded in a town struck by the T-viru-, I mean a horrible infection which turned the citizens into zombies. Louis, Francis, Bill and Zoey are amazing characters that you will certainly grow to love and everytime we start playing the game we end up in a fight over who get's to play which awesome character. The story is mostly told through graffiti on the walls left there by other survivors and very subtle elements such as covered up bodies or piles of infected. The only downside is that the story of the survivors doesn't really make sense. At the end of every chapter you get saved from the city and at the beginning of every chapter you are standed again. That is the only reason this game does not get a full 10!


    The gameplay is the best part because this game is endlessly replayable. The goal is to fight through the infected and make it to the next safehouse, in the final part of each mission you will have to wait for rescue while thousands of zombies try to kill you. Thanks to the AI Director who decides where zombies, items and special infected spawn the game is never same twice and the difficulty is adjusted to your playstyle. The special infected also force you to adapt to a new situation very quickly, so you can't just mow through the infected alone because you will be picked off. This game perfectly enforces teamwork and you can replay it at any time, that is a true multiplayer game and a true classic.

    Finally, I also want to mention the presentation. A lot of effort has gone into making the city and everything that happens look as realistic as possible. There is never a moment that you will spend in a place you can't relate to and that is just amazing. The music is also awesome and like the AI Director it is different for each playthrough and each player hears a different song.

    Summary: Great game which you can replay at any time without getting bored. Story fails to connect events to each other, but the presentation easily makes you forget about that.
    Expand
  43. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    The only original zombie game. I can proudly say that I've squandered several years of my life playing this game. Unfortunately Valve appears to have abandoned this game after releasing Left 4 Dead 2 (which for the most part does indeed suck many a scrotilia).
  44. Ed1
    Dec 12, 2010
    9
    This game was such a blast when it came out! It's now been superseded by L4D2, which is even better, but I still rate this as one of the best games of all times.
  45. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    It's a shame this game's community is nearly non existent now since Left 4 Dead 2 replaced it, but in it's time it gave me hundred's of hours of FUN. This game just has such a high replay-ability, it just never got boring for me. Playing this with friends just makes the experience even more enjoyable. 10/10
  46. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Left 4 Dead est pour moi, le meilleur jeu de coopération. Il nécessite beaucoup de stratégie et de reflex pour jouer en Versus. Mais je ne le conseille pas à ceux qui ont une mauvaise connection ou aux débutant de ce genre pour jouer en versus
  47. Dec 9, 2015
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games in existence. The necessity of teamwork was a concept lacking in most contemporary titles at the time, atleast to the degree inherent to L4D.

    Stylistically awesome, and really capable of making player(s) feel the suspense, tension, desperation or panic appropriate to travelling through environments spilling over with the 'infected', who are more similar
    Easily one of my favorite games in existence. The necessity of teamwork was a concept lacking in most contemporary titles at the time, atleast to the degree inherent to L4D.

    Stylistically awesome, and really capable of making player(s) feel the suspense, tension, desperation or panic appropriate to travelling through environments spilling over with the 'infected', who are more similar to the runners in 28 Days Later than the typical Romero zombie.

    Louis, Zoey, Francis and Bill become well-known to the player through multiple sessions - the dynamic nature of the AI 'director' ensures for varying experiences through multiple playthroughs.

    Co-Op on Expert mode with your friends is satisfying as hell when you manage to pull through, and Versus offers a competitive game mode and chance to play as the original special infected.

    As always, I did see potential for improvement, but if any game deserves a 10/10 it's this one.
    Expand
  48. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Excellent co-op multiplayer game where players are required to team up to actually win unlike many other "coops". However it's biggest flaw is the community where players are not punished for leaving games thus having lots of leavers when things start to go bad for a particular team. Much better than the sequal game that was released shortly after this one.
  49. Aug 5, 2016
    10
    As I said from Left 4 Dead 2, the guns are smooth and the reloading are great, there is no workshop in Left 4 Dead, like Left 4 Dead 2 had are different, u got to download some mods and maps to be able to play, and of course the best zombie game so far 10/10
  50. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Amazingly fun game. Buy it NOW! It is very fun survival mode and versus mode, and you can play with friends and just have a good time blowing zombiw hordes apart! What more do you want?
  51. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    It is the best game in the world! In it there is all - Replaying, fascination, she class, interesting. I say thank big to developers! In Russia game costs 600 roubles - the real price for such game! First a part of game much more interesting - she interesting and characters is more attractive than the second part better...
    All I shall advise to get this game, you will not regret cent, you
    It is the best game in the world! In it there is all - Replaying, fascination, she class, interesting. I say thank big to developers! In Russia game costs 600 roubles - the real price for such game! First a part of game much more interesting - she interesting and characters is more attractive than the second part better...
    All I shall advise to get this game, you will not regret cent, you will be keen in this game for a long time and if you have friends - that tell and let they will buy it, they will not regret!
    Expand
  52. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    i love this game!!! its awesome, humorous, jumpy, challenging and addictive!!! i love it :) best thing: getting a head shot on the witch with the shot gun :) i love francis just for the fact that he doesn't give a f**k :) i could play this game over and over again and i would still be just as entertained :D equally i love the 2nd game just as much. i just wish Valve would make a Left Fori love this game!!! its awesome, humorous, jumpy, challenging and addictive!!! i love it :) best thing: getting a head shot on the witch with the shot gun :) i love francis just for the fact that he doesn't give a f**k :) i could play this game over and over again and i would still be just as entertained :D equally i love the 2nd game just as much. i just wish Valve would make a Left For Dead 3 O.o Expand
  53. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Best game of 2008, kinda short, but thanks to the AI Director every game just doesn't feels like the other, even when you play the same map over and over again... Looks like everybody who bought it is way too busy to comment about it here by now, kinda underrated by critics... it deserves a better score than 89.
  54. MichaelK.
    Apr 20, 2009
    10
    I dislike Zombie games. But Left 4 Dead is a really BIG exception. Its really a special gameplay. It has a fast gameplay with long-time gaming-fun. The Director is one of the best features in the game. He forces the Team-Mates to work together. Non-Team play will be punished immediatelly. And thats it what makes the game to a perfect MP-Game!
  55. JoséOuellet
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Très beau graphisme, très bon gameplay mais la durée de vie de ce jeu se limite à son nombre de scénario disponible, ici je parle de maps. Le joueur fera très rapidement le tour des scénarios disponible et pourra donc affecter légèrement le gameplay. Les concepteurs de Left 4 Dead vont tout simplement parier sur le fait que lesTrès beau graphisme, très bon gameplay mais la durée de vie de ce jeu se limite à son nombre de scénario disponible, ici je parle de maps. Le joueur fera très rapidement le tour des scénarios disponible et pourra donc affecter légèrement le gameplay. Les concepteurs de Left 4 Dead vont tout simplement parier sur le fait que les fans rajouteront des maps de leur touche personnelle comme dans les autres titres de Valve (ex: Counter-Strike), pour augmenter la durée de vie du jeu. Pas une location, mais un achat. Sachez que Valve publie toujours des jeux non complets. Donc Left 4 Dead ne sera méconnaissable dans 2 ans, lorsque toutes les patchs et addons seront faits. Expand
  56. AlexB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Overall, this game did everything it set out to do, and well. You have a game that forces you to think ahead, and act as a team. Or act reflexivly, and be devoured alone. There is no doubt that this game, is perhaps the beginning of a new brand of zombie game. Hopefully valve will give updates, such as more campaigns or tools and that will lock me in for an 11 out of 10.
  57. SamRoark
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    A great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how toA great game, worth every penny i paid, versus is great campain is awsome, and all the other great things, i have already replayed all 4 campains 3 times each and i still love the game just as much as when i got it, the only way i can think you would hate it is if you dont have that many friends who play L4D, I highly highly recomend reading owners manual so you better understand how to play the game Expand
  58. JamesBlackwell
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    For me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their ownFor me, few things could be more fun than attempting to survive the zombie apocalypse. I have spent over 100 hours in this game in the first month that I have owned it. I love this game for a few simple reasons; Firstly, the game has been excellently designed to make cooperative play a pivotal part of the game. Teams that work together well do well. Players that strike it out on their own are inevitably punished for abandoning their teammates. In the unusual, but not rare, event that you end up with an obnoxious teammate, you can enjoy watching them die a slow painful death as punishment for not playing nice. The only downside to this game is that the game servers, especially during holidays, are unreliable. Expand
  59. DreadMuffin
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    I've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). II've played each movie countless times over, and it never gets boring. The AI director does a great job making the game difficult and never the same. The sound effects and music cues create a suspenseful environment that fits the zombie genre very well. Even the bots, although not replacement for humanoids, make decent company (I like how they heal actual players before NPCs). I really hope to see some form of the AI director in other Valve games. I've always been happy with Valve, they've got some talented people who must work very hard to create multiplayer masterpieces like Left 4 Dead and Team Fortress 2.
    Steele X -- Why would you rate it as a 0 to "balance" it out? If they're good, and you think they are, vote it what YOU think it is, regardless of other peoples' votes.
    Expand
  60. Boo
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    if you say that in this game tactics is not important you probably never finished a campaign to advanced level ...
    cooperation is facilitated by playing with people who you know. The system to create server is not perfect. For a perfect gaming experience is better to use the command "openbrowserserver" to find a low ping room because the game often lag.
    Btw i give a 8 and update and
    if you say that in this game tactics is not important you probably never finished a campaign to advanced level ...
    cooperation is facilitated by playing with people who you know. The system to create server is not perfect. For a perfect gaming experience is better to use the command "openbrowserserver" to find a low ping room because the game often lag.
    Btw i give a 8 and update and user mod will increase valutation
    Expand
  61. Josh
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Okay. Everyone says this game is boring. Wtf?! I have played pretty much every zombie game out there and RE4 and Left 4 Dead are the two best ones. The only problem is that Easy, Regular, and Advanced are cake and Expert requires intense and well used team work.

    This game is so much fun online and I plan to play it for more months to come.
  62. Kookoocachoo
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    To Steele X, your rating system is completely illogical so therefore your entire post is worthless and should be removed. "But the game worked differently than what I thought it would be..." so you gave it a ZERO?!!! One of the best CO-OP games around, no wonder no one wants to play with you steele X, you're a whiny *&^%&!
  63. AdamC.
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and This game is simply amazing. Never before have I seen a game so co-op orientated and yet being so much fun. It's thrilling as the zombies will charge at you full pelt, a nice difference to the whole "slow braindead" zombies. Not to mention the infected bosses, the witch is just amazingly creepy, yet really fun to annoy at the same time. Unless she isn't much of a sport and decides to shred you to peices...... The only down side to this game is that SOMETIMES you may get an annoying team, where for instance last night I was playing infected, all ways top of the team. Got vote kicked for no reason at all, completely out of the blue votes like that suck. Expand
  64. S.T.A.R.S.
    May 30, 2009
    8
    Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement Some good words to describe the game are awesome, fun, addicting, intense. It's biggest drawback however is the lack of content. Only four campaigns? This is coming from someone who, litterally, has beat the game inside and out, then played it more, and still plays it to this day. I've played co-op, campaign, even the newly released survivor modes. I have every achievement possible, done all there is to do. But... only four campaigns? I was hoping for more campaigns, not a single level you can't escape with a light house. Sure, the developer kit will probably be released soon and people can make their own maps... but if there aren't some more official maps released as well Im going to be let down again. There's only so much we as a community can do, honestly. What makes a big part of the game fun is the survivors, their quirks, the dialogue they say to one another. From Francis's frequent reminders of everything he hates to Bills constant complaint about walking up and down stairs and so on, there is absolutely nothing new we as a community can do to make that ourselves. There's just so much more Valve could have added to the game by now and they haven't. I know plenty of my friends I've played with stop to "take a break" from the game because they feel the same, whether they actively say it or not. For how much it cost, there should have been more content. Sure, the replayability is awesome. I've spent over a hundred hours, probably closer to two, playing about 4or 5 hours worth of content. So think how much better the game would be with another 4 or 5 hours of content. That's right... I want at least another 4 campaigns... and no, I don't want a left for dead 2, I want more for this one. I've already heard about it... really what's stopping that from being more new content? New characters to play as, new levels to choose from? I think Valve would be doing everyone like me a diservice if they did anything less, especially considering games like half life and the super fantastic orange box. Seriously, look at all your fans cheering you on here, giving you the benefit of the doubt. Don't let us down. I'm not even saying give us our money's worth... live up to your already stellar reputation... give us what you already know your loyal community deserves. Once again, prove you can go above and beyond all our expectations, it's what put you where you are now after all. Until then, I don't think I can give the game anything better than an 8. Expand
  65. scotd
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    what do you get when you mix: -four friends -five campagnes -4 game modes -8 weapons -an ai that actualy populates the level as you progres -and a whole buttload of zombies? you get the most replayble game ever made, you can easily spend 20-40 hours on this game just play the base four campagne, and that not includeing the dlc and user created content for pc!
  66. StuartR
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Fun, realistic zombie movie experience... way too hard when using single player though - the bots are just not smart enough....
  67. J.Midnight
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    Zombies, Guns and Online Co-Op. That's all this game really is. Though it may be a very, very simple premise; Left 4 Dead is an outstandingly enjoyable game. Not a true 10 only for one reason. NO STORY. Simply put: THIS IS NO SINGLE PLAYER GAME. To truly enjoy this you need an active Internet connection. While many will see this as a fault, this is an inspired move. As Left 4 Dead Zombies, Guns and Online Co-Op. That's all this game really is. Though it may be a very, very simple premise; Left 4 Dead is an outstandingly enjoyable game. Not a true 10 only for one reason. NO STORY. Simply put: THIS IS NO SINGLE PLAYER GAME. To truly enjoy this you need an active Internet connection. While many will see this as a fault, this is an inspired move. As Left 4 Dead has only one goal in mind and that is replayability. Thus, the total lack of ending helps create and bring that one fact home: every time you play, every time you pick up your pistol, every night you will spend playing this game over and over and over is a new and horrifying experience. No Way Around it: Fun Fun Fun. Expand
  68. mmaas
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    DAVID N you have any idea what you are talking about?? metacritics please remove his comment this is a AWESOME GAME and its no mods
  69. RomanO
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Video killed the radio star. Very sad but what had to be an expansion for L4D, but became L4D2 killed this game. Why Valve? :(
  70. GerwimF.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Love the AI Director which randomly places zombies and items.. I love the teamwork (co-op) aswell.!!
  71. JamieH.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the I really like the originality to this game. There are very few games out there with challenging horror scenes, most zombies or "infected" people move slow, and the game tends to be running backward and shooting. On this, if you run backwards, chances are they're gonna catch up and something WILL get you from behind. The AI is superb, the only problems i did find was that the animations, although they are amazingly fluent and smooth, they do not hit the world: When an infected jumps up at you, their hands won't be hanging on the ledge, they will be either below, or infront of it. There are some infected that are just stood on tables, and seem to be floating. The boss and AI direction system is amazing, the way the zombies react, attack and act is fabulous. This game is amazing - and i have only done one chapter so far! 10/10 regardless of the ai things, this game still deserves a 10/10. Expand
  72. J.S.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    L4D is the best zombie game of all time. Coop is addictive and the AI director changes things up on you each time you play leaving the potential for a huge amount of replayability. Versus is excellent as well. 4 zombies try to stop 4 humans from reaching safety and the teams switch to see which human side can get the farthest with the most survivors still standing. It is so satisfying toL4D is the best zombie game of all time. Coop is addictive and the AI director changes things up on you each time you play leaving the potential for a huge amount of replayability. Versus is excellent as well. 4 zombies try to stop 4 humans from reaching safety and the teams switch to see which human side can get the farthest with the most survivors still standing. It is so satisfying to just barely pull things together as a survivor and make it to the saferoom with a mob at your heels, or as a zombie to yank a survivor away from the group and watch your team rip him to shreds. One of the most impressive aspects of the game is how polished it is, particularly with regards to the animations. The sense of momentum that the zombie horde has when it charges you is just amazing, and it really feels like your weapon is connecting when you smash a zombie with the end of a gun and it goes reeling back. The only critique I have is directed at the matchmaking system. There's no way to select where the server you want to play in is located, or whether it is modified or not, so if you're unlucky, you might end up in a server with cheats enabled or one that's just horribly laggy. Expand
  73. CraigF.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Everything you would expect after playing HL2 and its follow up episodes. This game will not disappoint and the AI is unreal. The computer controlled characters play better than some online controlled players. Lots of fun, constantly changing and very fast paced.
  74. Ryan
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Although the survival horror + zombies thing has been done to death, Valve still manages to make L4D interesting and fun. The Director system insures that each time you play through a level, it will be a different experience. It loses one point, however, because in order to fully enjoy the game, you've gotta play with 3 other people. The game was definitely made to be played with 4Although the survival horror + zombies thing has been done to death, Valve still manages to make L4D interesting and fun. The Director system insures that each time you play through a level, it will be a different experience. It loses one point, however, because in order to fully enjoy the game, you've gotta play with 3 other people. The game was definitely made to be played with 4 survivors on expert mode. Expand
  75. NickNguyen
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I've been playing this game since when it was released until now. IMO, it's a fun game and is insanely challenging. After 4 days of playing, I was able to beat one of the four campaigns on expert. There're also achievements to make the game more fun, maybe unlocking them will release something like valve did with TF2. Also, I heard valve would be updating L4D just like TF2I've been playing this game since when it was released until now. IMO, it's a fun game and is insanely challenging. After 4 days of playing, I was able to beat one of the four campaigns on expert. There're also achievements to make the game more fun, maybe unlocking them will release something like valve did with TF2. Also, I heard valve would be updating L4D just like TF2 so there'd be more options Expand
  76. DanielHan
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy,
    Unfortunately, i am one of those idiots who give this game 10.
    Just to balance yours out.
    And this game is great. Those people who give this game crappy reviews, haven't actually played this game the way it was meant to be played. It was meant to be played with friends, not by yourself, lonely in singleplayer. It's supposed to be fun! And those people who claim it's easy, should get out of easy mode and try expert.
    Expand
  77. MaartenvanHees
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    id say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settingsid say this is by far the best co-op game ive seen in a bit. Yes the levels are lineair, but this AI Director thing puts in enough replayabilty for me to keep on playing. Its especially fun when playing with 4 people on LAN or with Ventrilo/Teamspeak. The graphics are absolutely stunning, and it runs very good. m8 of mine has this nvidia 7300 laptop card and runs it fine with low settings and high screen resolution. One drawback is the relative short campaigns, but then again theres this versus mode wich is a complete laugh every time i play it. so yeh, id give this a 10 for the way the co-op element has been implemented. Expand
  78. ChrisTaylor
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Frantic! I love it! Get "Boomered" and you know about it man- time to run, shoot and shoot while running-! Everything a zombie game ever wanted to be and more. And i've only played the first three acts of Pt 1!! Heard the witches crying but not seen one yet-. Glad of it too. I love it.
  79. FroDo
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    When i preordered this game and played the demo, i bit my ass cause the demo was a bad joke... i cried that i payed 50$ for this game. But after playing the full version i changed my mind. This game is so much fun, even if there are just 4 campaigns in Co-Op and 2 in Versus, every experience is different in some way. Personally i prefer the expert mode. You die very often, but the When i preordered this game and played the demo, i bit my ass cause the demo was a bad joke... i cried that i payed 50$ for this game. But after playing the full version i changed my mind. This game is so much fun, even if there are just 4 campaigns in Co-Op and 2 in Versus, every experience is different in some way. Personally i prefer the expert mode. You die very often, but the survival factor is the biggest... if you dont play perfectly in a team you won't survive a single part of the campaign. The games pros are obvious, so i stop here but here come the cons: -some servers are badly lagging and even if you are in the same country sometimes you get completely differnet pings with your friends -sometimes the servers just crash when they are loading the next level -the graphics are ok, but nothing special. I think the source engine is just too old now, they should have licenced something like Cry oder Unreal Engine. -Easy Normal and hard are just TOO easy and the expert mode makes a big jump to nearly impossible, here valve should do something sorry for my bad english, i hop you understand what i would like to say. Expand
  80. Simon
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo. The difference between the real game / demo is huge. You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a
    I think this game is amazingly good.

    Many people voted very low, based on their experience with the demo.
    The difference between the real game / demo is huge.
    You have not fully experienced the game until you've owned a versus game. Talking, laughing in the microphone, the feel of kjumping a left-behind player. Killing him and being congratulated. The feel of that is rare in a game and L4D definately has it.

    Also, the graphics / sounds is really good. So it the layout of the game.

    10 / 10.
    PS. A bit repetative but still beyond all my expectations.
    Expand
  81. MattMcMinn
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Picked it up at 5pm and couldn't put it down until 2am. It has exciting game play and when you play with friends it gets even better. I was skeptical of versus mode but its a lot of fun to be the zombies. My only complaint in reference to that is that is the spawn system is picky but you get used to it after about 5 mins.
  82. AlanG.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for Despite several drawbacks this game presents a cooperative multiplayer experience the likes of which have never been seen before. While many games include multiplayer team combat, this game stresses teamwork and tactics beyond beyond what games like TF2 and CS:S are able to deliver on a consistent basis. The four player team creates a dynamic where cooperation is an absolute necessity for success, especially so on the harder difficulties. Gameplay revolves between periods of relative calm and times of extreme duress. The most fitting word to describe the latter is intense! No matter the skill of you and your comrades, there will be moments when the survival of your group is far from a certainty, especially given the random nature of the director. The intensity of the game tends to only increase as the level progresses, as wounded survivors are often met with an uncomfortable lack of medkits when they are most needed. The sound and graphics are thoroughly polished, and despite the age of the source engine its upgrades ensure that the game looks great and has plenty of eye candy. Once again, Valve's trademark attention to detail has made for a vibrant and immersing atmosphere. The ability to blow holes in or destroy doors is a fun new addition that also significantly alters the gameplay mechanic. While the story is underdeveloped, in game chatter between the characters reveals a great deal about their personalities, and makes them seem very real. There are some drawbacks, however. The game is relatively short, especially if played on the lower difficulties, and the weapon selection is somewhat minimal. These should not be a major issue, the game is meant to be played on expert in order to prepare a player for the even more difficult versus mode (which is an absolute blast), and the guns that are present are finely crafted and simply feel right. The replayability of this game is excellent, and is only compounded by the director and versus mode. As is, this game is very exciting and will keep many players hooked for an indefinite amount of hours. Given Valve's devotion to updates and the enthusiastic mod community, I only expect this game to improve as time goes on. I give this game a 9.3 out of 10. Expand
  83. MichaelD
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Just what I expected from Valve: a polished, balanced and addictive game with an almost perfect gameplay formula that doesn't get old. With constant support and additional content down the road, you cannot go wrong at buying this game.

    Invite your friends, put on the headset and start blasting some zombies!
  84. AS
    Jan 1, 2009
    8
    Great fun while it lasts. There's 4 campaigns with 5 chapters in each. Beating each campaign will take on average maybe 1 hour so that's only 4 hours all up. The game is fun but it's short and once you've beaten it, you'll probably move onto another game due to it's somewhat repetitive gameplay. The lower difficulties are pretty boring because they're Great fun while it lasts. There's 4 campaigns with 5 chapters in each. Beating each campaign will take on average maybe 1 hour so that's only 4 hours all up. The game is fun but it's short and once you've beaten it, you'll probably move onto another game due to it's somewhat repetitive gameplay. The lower difficulties are pretty boring because they're too easy so you just go around blowing zombies without a challenge. The higher difficulties makes it more fun as it's more challenging but still, after beating them there's not that much to keep you coming back. There aren't that many weapons either. The co-op aspect of it is fun and is exciting when playing whichever campaign for the first time, but once you know what the map is like, it's not as exciting. Graphics are real nice, HL2:Ep2 style. The game however is not worth $50 compared to other PC games you can buy off steam which have a higher replayability. I think it should be $30 MAX. Expand
  85. SeanG
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game I just wish it had more boards and maybe even more characters on both sides to make it even harder,
  86. ThomasP
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    I got this game for Christmas and I have to say, I am addicted to it. There are only 4 levels (apparently they are meant to be releasing more) but it never gets old. Shooting zombies to hell, watching their heads explode and limbs get blown off. Fantastic. It's particularly good when people are on headsets, because they can talk faster and makes it funnier because of this. They can I got this game for Christmas and I have to say, I am addicted to it. There are only 4 levels (apparently they are meant to be releasing more) but it never gets old. Shooting zombies to hell, watching their heads explode and limbs get blown off. Fantastic. It's particularly good when people are on headsets, because they can talk faster and makes it funnier because of this. They can also co-ordinate attacks, which is particularly important on vs or expert mode. Vs mode for me is brilliant, I love it, being the special infected, trying to kill the survivors is really fun. However, for me, there isn't enough special infected. There's only 3 special infected and you don't get to choose which one you want to be. There is the occasional tank as well that you get to control, but that's it I love this game, but it's because there are only 3 special infected, that it gets a 9. Expand
  87. RJ
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Finily Someone remembered how to make a Mutiplayer Shooter game thats not just Deathmatch or Team Deathmatch! It is a nice return to the Co-op days of Doom2. Many of the other shooter with a story arc should remember not everyone in to Deathmatch some of us just like sitting down with a few friends and take on the bad guys and not each other.
  88. RobA
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    Great fun if you love shooting zombies. I do! Graphics, sound, zombie/human interplay is good. Versus mode is fun. If the interface and achievements worked properly, I'd rate it 9 or 10. Some of the achievements don't work, due to buggy starts on the campaigns for most people. Try restarting the game when everyone is in. The interface is not so good. It gives no choice for what Great fun if you love shooting zombies. I do! Graphics, sound, zombie/human interplay is good. Versus mode is fun. If the interface and achievements worked properly, I'd rate it 9 or 10. Some of the achievements don't work, due to buggy starts on the campaigns for most people. Try restarting the game when everyone is in. The interface is not so good. It gives no choice for what kind of server you'll be tossed into. There's nothing to prevent you from ending up in some lame-brain's custom map. The interface can't seem to figure out if the server is full, back at lobby after a game, on someone's laptop or anything, and so gives you super-laggy servers or disconnects after connecting you. And if it can't find a good connection, it tries 10 times over a few minutes... won't let you cancel the search, and then tells you what you already know; that the server isn't there. New maps please. Expand
  89. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    totally amazing game, despite the few variations in weapons and maps u never get tired of it... its just so much fun even a year after i bought it
  90. TomGraham
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Valve have done it again! Left 4 Dead is another ground breaking games that shows the way for all other games to follow. A balance of teamwork and good old shoot 'em up creates one of the most addictive games I have ever played. Just remember that working as a team is they key to playing this game, as alone a player would last about a minute before ending up the main course at theValve have done it again! Left 4 Dead is another ground breaking games that shows the way for all other games to follow. A balance of teamwork and good old shoot 'em up creates one of the most addictive games I have ever played. Just remember that working as a team is they key to playing this game, as alone a player would last about a minute before ending up the main course at the infected dinner party. Expand
  91. BillH
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best COOP shooter available hands down. It's not just about shooting zombies, its about teamwork. The campaigns may be a bit easy for some players if you are playing on anything other than expert mode, but versus is what really brings a different dynamic to the table when compared to other multiplayer FPS games. The downside for some people may be the fact that you do really need The best COOP shooter available hands down. It's not just about shooting zombies, its about teamwork. The campaigns may be a bit easy for some players if you are playing on anything other than expert mode, but versus is what really brings a different dynamic to the table when compared to other multiplayer FPS games. The downside for some people may be the fact that you do really need a mic, communication is very important in a game that requires actual teamwork. Ramboers will fail in versus or expert campaigns miserably, that play style will just not work here. If you want to play a game that requires teamwork and brings a different dimension to team based shooters, grab this one up now. If you want to run around like a wild man hitting your macroed insults then you should probably stick to CoD. Expand
  92. Em_JW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I haven't read the reviews here, but its rated 9.5 / 10 at the moment.
    I'm not going to elaborate too much, but... I love this game.
    I'll just hit the high points (and boy are they significant) -it runs great on almost all hardware -it looks gorgeous -massively replayable -incredibly entertaining -challenging, but not frustrating -entertaining and fun
    I haven't read the reviews here, but its rated 9.5 / 10 at the moment.
    I'm not going to elaborate too much, but... I love this game.
    I'll just hit the high points (and boy are they significant)

    -it runs great on almost all hardware
    -it looks gorgeous
    -massively replayable
    -incredibly entertaining
    -challenging, but not frustrating
    -entertaining and fun
    -stylized and creative

    Did I mention that I really love this game? What an awesome piece of code. Massive respect for valve.
    Expand
  93. RayongG
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Very good game, but slow update. Anyway 10/10 because i enjoy it really much, can't stop playing it. And at least, the best game I ever see. Must be played to be judge.
  94. CoreyS
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Its good, but i think it needs to have new maps added a little bit more toons to be played and a little more hordes. Yea i said it, i want it to be harder, i think a game where its you and your bros vs a city, should be just that a dang city! as in i want like 200 of them fools running out a store!
  95. spongebobsquarepants
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This is a epic game, this is far more intense you get in no big intro no long speeches just zombie killing all way through, thats why i gave it 10 cause its an great game and one of the best works made by Valve, i have also played hl2, hl1, tf2 but this is far more fun when you have friends to play with. Singleplayer can be a little boring thats why you can complete the game with friends This is a epic game, this is far more intense you get in no big intro no long speeches just zombie killing all way through, thats why i gave it 10 cause its an great game and one of the best works made by Valve, i have also played hl2, hl1, tf2 but this is far more fun when you have friends to play with. Singleplayer can be a little boring thats why you can complete the game with friends or random players, also the versus mode is also quite impressing and fun, without a mic or fast typing skills it can be a little hard tho, but its no biggy. Expand
  96. RoyW
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's I have been playing this game for 2 weeks and clocked around 52hours of game play, this game has the perfect team work. You cannot solo play this game, You have 5 awesome campaigns to go through with a team online, or single player with your team as bots. SDK has not yet been released but already maps and new skins are in the making by users. If you can get it under $50 say $40 it's very worth it. Pros: The game is set as-if you were in a movie, Team work, Voice chat, Voice commands, controls, controller support, unlimited pistol bullets. Easy to join games, the community is very good, not to harsh on new comers to the game. Easy vote kick options for griefers. When you die you get locked in a room, your team can rescue you. Cons: No SDK yet, limited 5 campaigns, versus has limited 2 campaigns (which will increase in the future), limited 4 weapons 3 primary and one secondary pistol. Overall: Great game! must have for zombie lovers. Expand
  97. DirkH
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    This game delivers exactly what it promises: fast paced cooperative game play. Easy to pick-up and very immersive. Perfectly captures the atmosphere of old zombie B-movies. One of the best cooperative games on the market. Another sublime game from Valve. If more content will become available in the future then this game's rating could raise to 10.
  98. SteadyEddy
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a Co-operative survival horror game, by Valve, renown for their games such as the Half-life series, Counter Strike and Team Fortress 2. Left 4 Dead is another promising Gem entering Valve's legacy. Name: Left 4 Dead Players: 1-4 (Co-operatively) 1-8 (Competitively) RRP: £24.99 Developer: Valve Publisher: Valve Genre: Action/Survival Horror Release Date: 21st Left 4 Dead is a Co-operative survival horror game, by Valve, renown for their games such as the Half-life series, Counter Strike and Team Fortress 2. Left 4 Dead is another promising Gem entering Valve's legacy. Name: Left 4 Dead Players: 1-4 (Co-operatively) 1-8 (Competitively) RRP: £24.99 Developer: Valve Publisher: Valve Genre: Action/Survival Horror Release Date: 21st November (18th November if purchased from Steam) -=Story=- The story is brief but does not really affect the game play at all. It's the usual modern day zombie survival story, scene in such films as 28 Days Later or The Dawn of the Dead, where an infectious virus has been released into the world populous (this case an aggressive strain of rabies) turning many into aggressive, mindless hordes, bent on murdering those who still remain alive. It's not a ground-breaking Indie storyline, but it sets the stage for the various scenarios. You play from the perspective of four survivors: Bill the old Vietnam veteran, Zoey a sentimental young lady, Francis a hot-header biker and Louis your typical store manage, the characters themselves are personalised and you Expand
  99. 2mer2Lacrapul3
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre Vraiment un tres bon jeux, dommage toute foix que des gamins n'ayant pas l'age requis, ce retrouve sur la partie online, ou coordination et esprit d'equipe devrais reigner, et au lieu de ca c'est le cahot et le desordre sur 75% des parties, tk, gars qui ce croivent indestructible et parte solo, troullard qui ce planque a la moindre occase et laisse les autres ce battre seul, non vraiment merci les parents stupide, qui prenne les ordinateurs comme babysiter, ou moyen de ce debarasser de leurs progenitures, sans regarder l'age necessaire et casi obligatoir, grace a vous ce jeux vas devenir une m......, et seras bientot injouable. Expand
  100. CodyG.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    All you idiots that vote 0 need to actually get to know the game. this is a fast paced shooter game not for the weak. this game will literally work against you with the ai director at its disposal with out team work in this game the ai director will pick you all off 1 by one until the games over. but yeah this is probably one of the best buys for pc or xbox if you are looking for some great fun
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.