Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3765 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2012
    9
    Overall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lotOverall one of the best games ever made, and pretty much evolved the zombie genre to a point towards even making Resident Evil run for its money when it comes down to zombie genre games. Left 4 Dead will leave you with excitement and suspense which you will more than likely be talking about for a long time, along with that the fact its a Steam game and from valve, expect it to have a lot of PC content exclusives such as Achievements, constant upgrades and unofficial mods. To make it better, Left 4 Dead 2 comes packed with this game as well when you purchase it! Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    If you have a few friends that are willing to get this game with you, you must try it. This game can be a lot of fun. In my case only if I play with friends.
  3. Oct 18, 2015
    8
    Is a great game, when you play with friends .
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    I love this game and the people who made it. Once again Valve has created a master piece of a game. This game has fun campaigns very good survival mode which you fight off a ton of zombies and last as long as you can. Versus mode is were up to eight players play, four players the humans and four the mutated ZOMBIES. Yes the mutated zombies like hunters,smokers and boomers [MY FAV]. Or justI love this game and the people who made it. Once again Valve has created a master piece of a game. This game has fun campaigns very good survival mode which you fight off a ton of zombies and last as long as you can. Versus mode is were up to eight players play, four players the humans and four the mutated ZOMBIES. Yes the mutated zombies like hunters,smokers and boomers [MY FAV]. Or just play with people online up to four players. Also you can play with up to three of your friend with any mode. Campaigns 9/10 Survival mode 8/10 Versus 8/10 Left 4 Dead 8.9/10 Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    For fans of the traditional LAN party, rejoice, for now there is a game built from the ground up for co-op! Just make sure your friends sign a contract to say they'll continue to play this game for the next couple of years or so to get your money's worth! :)
  6. ERB
    Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you inOne of the best games I played in the PC.This game is great and it really does feel like a zombie survival game because you need cooperation in this game because if you are like in a situation that all of your team mates are dead and you are still alive you are likely to die because a zombie called hunter will just get you and then he will kill you or a smoker because a smoker ties you in the tongue and then he will kill you.Left 4 Dead is probably one of the best games that Valve developed.The game play in this game is fun and I'm telling you this game is fun so all of you people who loves a fun game you should buy this.The multiplayer in this game is also fun.You can choose whether you want to be an infected like The Boomer,The Smoker,The Hunter,or even better the strongest zombie in the game The Tank.Or you can choose to be a survivor which is Bill a military soldier,or Francis an awesome biker,or Louis the pills addict,or Zoey she is I don't know a teenager.This game is fun.So all of you people reading my review you should buy this game for this game is fun.One of the best games ever! Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Despite already having played Left 4 Dead 2, Left 4 Dead is still an excellent game. Of course it's essentially just more of the same, but that's more or less what I was expecting, honestly. The game features four playable characters, Bill, Zoey, Francis and Louis, DLC campaigns (screw you EA) and an abundance of zombies to tear to shreds. Recommended 100%.
  8. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    9.0 - One of the best games during the time and definitely one of the best zombie games around. With only four campaigns with five levels in each, the re-playability for this game was great.
  9. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Still a headliner when it comes to great FPS with co-op, there's no real point having this one when you can get L4D2 as cheap with all L4D1's content now ported by Valve as free dlcs.
  10. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    I'll never forget that feeling the night I bought this game and played it for the first time. It was magic. A co-op zombie shooter with many twists and turns and a "Director" to alter the game every time it was played. How could a gamer pass that up? Good weapons, character development, graphics and a zombie apocalypse atmosphere.
  11. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety"Goddamn this game and the hours and hours and hours it has stolen from my life. And the sequel. It's all so ridiculously simple - point, shoot, run ad nauseum - that by rights I should not still have this game installed on my machine. Don't know why but a few years on, I still find myself logging on an doing a quick campaign. It is the ultimate co-op straightforward "get-to-safety" survival horror game going. I think the endless appeal has to be with the 'AI Director' that changes the intensity, placement and frequency of zombie and special infected attacks. Everytime you play, it's all so familiar, yet completely different. If I do have one criticism though, it's the zombies themselves. I mean, how can they all be so samey! Expand
  12. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally
    Watch out for the Incredible Purple Hulk (you’ll see what I mean!)

    Play L4D at your peril! This game is completely addictive at least it is for me. Shooting zombies is just so much fun, especially when it’s made possible by such a well-crafted game. The premise is very simple: you and three fellow survivors have to make your way from one safe house to another until you are finally rescued. Along the way you have to fight off hordes of slavering zombies. In single player mode the AI is pretty good, although your teammates don’t always behave as you might wish them to during the incredibly hectic campaign finales. There are 4 campaigns with 5 maps to each one. Replay value is good due to the fact that the AI changes the zombie attacks and spawn points with each play, so you never know where the horde is going to come flooding from or where the bosses are lurking. When you get bored with the maps supplied there are loads of 3rd party maps and campaigns available on the web. On top of all this you can even play as one the various types of zombies (on a random basis). Personally I find this less satisfying, but it is worth a go just to get the other perspective. This is a simple but truly great game. L4D2 here I come!
    Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Don't play the game if you are light-hearted, have heart disease, or don't like zombies that jump on to you. Because this game is one of the scariest zombie games I've ever had to play. But it is shear fun just to shoot the crap out of the zombies. And the best part is? They keep coming and you just keep on shooting. Nice, right? Check this game out right away. I regret not playing this earlier.
  14. Aug 30, 2016
    8
    Man does valve know how to make good multiplayer games.. and this game is no exception. So onto the review then.

    Pros: -For an arcade zombie game where you have almost infinite bullets the game can be surpirsingly scary. Especially the witch...good god please not the witch. -The gameplay is great. You'd think that shooting a up big hordes of zombie while walking from point a to b
    Man does valve know how to make good multiplayer games.. and this game is no exception. So onto the review then.

    Pros:
    -For an arcade zombie game where you have almost infinite bullets the game can be surpirsingly scary. Especially the witch...good god please not the witch.
    -The gameplay is great. You'd think that shooting a up big hordes of zombie while walking from point a to b would get boring pretty fast but it doesn't. That's because there's multiple types of zombies, the level design is very good and there's a lot of guns for you to blow somebody's brains out
    -But this game is at its best when you play with friends...it's so much fun and it requires a lot of teamwork.

    Cons:
    -This really goes if you're playing alone. The a.i partners can be pretty dumb sometimes and it can get repetitive but only if you're playing alone and even still it's a lot of fun

    In conclusion Left 4 Dead is a really good game that any FPS or zombie fan should check out.
    Expand
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    It's technically the same as the Xbox 360 version except it feels like there's so much more you can do with it, especially since you can download unique modded maps made by other players. It's rare that I think a game is better on the PC than it is on a console like the Xbox 360, but this is a perfect example of a game that is.
  16. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Having not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the charactersHaving not played a zombie shooter before (except for COD zombies on the iPad), it was with some nervousness that I bought Left 4 dead on Steam not really knowing what to expect. Thankfully, I can say that Left 4 Dead is one of the best multiplayer games I've played in years. Communication with other players becomes more vital and you inevitably build up a connection with the characters and other players. If you're into co-op or if you just like Valve games, then this is a must buy: although if you're sensitive to gore or prefer a densely packed narrative then you might want to give this one a miss. As for me, the AI director and co-op has kept me playing for more than thirty hours despite its insubstantiality. Expand
  17. Aug 20, 2016
    8
    Um jogo bacana, joguei muito na epoca, porem ele nao me agrada totalmente, mas eu acho muito melhor que o 2, porem...é divertido sim, da para se diverti com amigos
  18. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    This game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides thoseThis game is flawless! The game play just seems more smoother then in Left 4 Dead 2 and the characters are more attractive Bill a Vietnam vet, Francis the Chopper dude, Louis a successful black man and Zoey a pretty young girl that loves zombie movies.. I would give it a 10 but the game lacks more weapons, more types of zombies, more items, ect that Left 4 Dead 2 provides. Besides those minor things I just can't seem the explain why I feel Left 4 Dead 1 is better. Also the thirdpersonshoulder mode works in L4D1. It is bugged in L4D2 and was never fixed. Expand
  19. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    The base concept of moving from area to area killing hordes of zombies is nothing new. How they go about making it is remarkable, however. The game forces teamwork and with the help of the ai director you can play this game over and over and over and almost never have two similar situations. Defiantly a groundbreaking achievement in the gaming world.
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Decent zombie game. Most playable with friends you actually know over live chat. Cause the L4D community has many people trolling. Non the less ,the different campaigns you can download from the modding community, will make it up to you. Its an solid shooter ,but it starts lacking of replay value after few hundred hours.
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    This is a great FPS multiplayer game. It is very addicting while playing online. This games giant downfall is the stupidity of the AI while playing single player. They get very frustrating, at times just standing around when you get pounced by a Hunter or tied up by a Smoker. This game needs to be played online to experience the best of this game.
  22. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Why didn't they think of this before? It's brilliant to force the teamwork this way and keep the game fresh by changing things every play through. Extremely highly recommended buy.
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Okay, so maybe Left 4 Dead doesn't have the deepest plot. But if you're not looking for anything particularly engaging and enthralling, and simply want to unload as many bullets as possible into fast moving targets who are hungry for you, Left 4 Dead is a great game, especially if you have some friends to help you survive through the bullet riddled repetition.
  24. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like the main concept, the charachters and like the game itself. The modified Source engine is really impressive and it has a great graphics. But til the end of the map it is sometimes pretty boring and your teammates really stupid. But at the end of the map there is always a huge ambush and if you want to use the "leave no man behind" rule, you simply die. Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Zombie games aren't exactly in a famine these days. With so many games focusing on surviving against zombies, it can be hard to pick any good games from the crowd. But with Left 4 Dead, I believe all other games have just been blown out of the water. In L4D, you play as one of four survivors- Bill, Francis, Zoey, or Louis. Each has their own little back story and their own personality,Zombie games aren't exactly in a famine these days. With so many games focusing on surviving against zombies, it can be hard to pick any good games from the crowd. But with Left 4 Dead, I believe all other games have just been blown out of the water. In L4D, you play as one of four survivors- Bill, Francis, Zoey, or Louis. Each has their own little back story and their own personality, something that helps you connect. Like Francis, who hates stairs, helicopters, zombies, walking, and generally anything and everything. There are multiple campaigns in the game, each with a different set of locales and atmospheres. Like the first campaign, No Mercy, which has you moving through a city to rendezvous on a hospital skyscraper rooftop. Each campaign is broken into chapters, which have you getting from the start area to a safehouse. At the last chapter, you face a thing called a finale, where you get a bunch of supplies, an area to hole out in, and a trigger to start it. When you activate the trigger, a massive horde of zombies rush at you. And the game features a "Director," who controls how the chapter is going. For example, you might hole out in a parking lot in one area and defend against a wave of zombies using gas canisters in one playthrough, and maybe the next the canisters won't be there and the zombies will come from behind. And killing zombies in this game is FUN. You start out with a single pistol, and can pick up an smg or a shotgun. Later in a chapter you find upgraded weapons, which are a hunting rifle, an auto shotgun, and an assault rifle. The game gets pretty gory when using a shotgun or hunting rifle, as headshots will take zombie heads clean off and shotgun blasts will tear off limbs. If you like FPS games, or zombie games, this is the game for you. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    The game is amazing. Great Graphics and the increasing hordes makes the game very addicting as well as zombies being in different places each time you play the campaigns. Great game with nice weapons. I recommend it!
  27. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Few games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over theFew games even make the effort to enforce teamwork. To most in the modern shooter genre, a team is just a bunch of loners with guns who can't kill each other, going up against a dozen or so loners with guns with the same constraints. Valve has a habit of challenging this, and the end result is Left 4 Dead, a game that not only requires you to work as a team, but outright beats you over the head with how helpless you are alone in this atmospheric, tense, tactical, intense, and, at times, hilarious zombie apocalypse. The characters and the hours of dialog alone are worth the buy, and don't even get me started on the fun and frustration that awaits you in the versus mode. You can play as the infected too! Alone, it's a damn good game and packs at least a hundred hours of gameplay, but its little brother quickly blew past in both the community and the developer's eyes. Before then, the limits such as weapon selection and special enemies didn't exist. But who can pass up mentioning akimbo assassin, probably one of the most fun achievements available in modern shooters, and the plane crash in Dead Air. Truly classic. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing zombie game that reminds me of the movie 28 days later. The only way to improve this game would have been to add various routes, and more weapons. If you want to get the most out of left 4 dead, play online with friends, single player gets boring.
  29. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Left 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” neverLeft 4 Dead set a standard for online gaming. It's” team survival” feature is fantastic and innovative. Many newer games have adopted this idea for their multiplayer features. My other 3 companions are almost always bots, and Left 4 Dead’s surprisingly decent AI offers a satisfying single player experience. Unfortunately, the other features, such as the “Versus” or “Survival” never appealed to me. But in the game’s defense, I never gave these other features much of a chance. This is because I was always glued to the regular campaigns and never directed my attention elsewhere. I strongly recommend this to all gamers out there. If you like FPSs and multiplayer, then this game will undoubtedly meet your standards. Expand
  30. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    This game has all of the basic elements that a shooter should have and more. It gives the hardcore a mode, the director is one of the smartest ever created and it's cheap right now. Left 4 Dead is probably the best zombie shooter ever. Yet. I hope that Valve can release even more great games.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.