Left 4 Dead PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3752 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Cooties!
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    To get the most out of this game you should make an effort to get a full group of friends and play on the highest difficulty your group can handle.

    The best moments in this game are when you and your friends are fighting for your life limping past the next safe room where you can finally rest and recover. To those that set a score of 0 just to spite the game, it looks like you were
    To get the most out of this game you should make an effort to get a full group of friends and play on the highest difficulty your group can handle.

    The best moments in this game are when you and your friends are fighting for your life limping past the next safe room where you can finally rest and recover.

    To those that set a score of 0 just to spite the game, it looks like you were playing with the wrong groups of people or on the wrong difficulties. This game is designed for co-op and the best way to play co-op is with your buddies.
    Expand
  2. fooXDoe
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    That game is just awesome.I dreamed of CooP Games like this since forever.
    I think there is enough said about the game itself by all the others.

    There was a demo, wich is really nice, too bad the demo is canceled as the game started selling in the US. People might wanna try the demo before buying it.
  3. lukeNathan
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, need more like it! Missions from moving trucks, boats and trains would be good! Bring on more maps too! Really love it that people are encouraged to work together and the online management is superb, as is the sense of story while retaining replayability. Very very clever and original, look forward to more, cheers!
  4. Adamccgzh@hotmail.com
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    im giveing this game Left 4 Dead a 10/10 because it is a fun fast killing game some flaws i have seen and the biggest one is story line. im not going to give it a 9 for it but i like reading, playing and learning about zombies and the biggest question i have for steam how do people get infection in the game is it from the blood or something else??? like it
  5. christopherj
    Dec 27, 2008
    8
    This is the best team game I've ever played online. It does a great job of requiring the team to work together without making it too hard.
    I personally love playing as one of the infected super zombies. I wish the single player mode was a bit stronger--it's repetitive, but it's a fantastic multi-player game.
  6. lamelamer
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing. I thought this game wouldn't be worth it ($50 for 4 campaigns??) until I bought it. I've logged over 40 hrs in two weeks. The ai director is incorporated nearly flawlessly. Sure this game isn't designed for single player and I can solo easy and normal but expert is where this game really shines. You really have to stick together, communicate and act as a team orAmazing. I thought this game wouldn't be worth it ($50 for 4 campaigns??) until I bought it. I've logged over 40 hrs in two weeks. The ai director is incorporated nearly flawlessly. Sure this game isn't designed for single player and I can solo easy and normal but expert is where this game really shines. You really have to stick together, communicate and act as a team or die. Versus is a lot more fun if you have your own group of friends who know what they are doing. the maps are completely different as a zombie and as a survivor. I rated this game based on what it was meant to be, a multiplayer coop/versus game not a single player fps. The people who complain about lack of a single player campaign get a clue. Expand
  7. RyanS
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Zombies. Lots of zombies. Fat zombies (Boomer), monkey zombies (hunter), huge tongue zombies (smoker) and the Mammoth zombie (Tank). You have yourself a great game. Team work is required to master this game. Versus mode is great fun. The game only has 4 chapters but they are re playable because its just so much fun! 30 zombies attacking you and your team mates at once and you have beenZombies. Lots of zombies. Fat zombies (Boomer), monkey zombies (hunter), huge tongue zombies (smoker) and the Mammoth zombie (Tank). You have yourself a great game. Team work is required to master this game. Versus mode is great fun. The game only has 4 chapters but they are re playable because its just so much fun! 30 zombies attacking you and your team mates at once and you have been vommited on by a fat zombie so you can see! Its crazy fun. This is what makes this game awesome. Expand
  8. JasonFantone
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Somewhat Of A Spoiler!!!

    This game gets a 9-10, WHY? CUZ VALVES A GENIOUS!!! Left 4 Dead is one of the most well thought out coop games I have ever played. The idea cooperate ar die sounds correct to me because it is true. Campaign is a blast especially if you are playing with friends (that know how to play) and versus mode is well thought out. I;m kinda bummed about the 2 versus
    Somewhat Of A Spoiler!!!

    This game gets a 9-10, WHY? CUZ VALVES A GENIOUS!!! Left 4 Dead is one of the most well thought out coop games I have ever played. The idea cooperate ar die sounds correct to me because it is true. Campaign is a blast especially if you are playing with friends (that know how to play) and versus mode is well thought out. I;m kinda bummed about the 2 versus campaigns and random zombie classes, but otherwise you would have like 3 smokers or just have a bunch of kids choosing the hunter, so they can jump around like spiderman =P. Overall this game gets a nine, for one reason, only 2 versus campaigns. BTW I have every reason to believe that in an update, Valve will add the other 2 campaigns =D.
    Expand
  9. AnnaPanna
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game that never fails to get your heart racing. Be it playing with and against your friends in versus mode, or teaming up with three friends to escape the zombie apocalypse on an Advanced or Expert level, this is heart pumping, never ending action that leaves you drained but happy. One of the most intense and rewarding games I've ever had the fortune to play. WhenThis is a fantastic game that never fails to get your heart racing. Be it playing with and against your friends in versus mode, or teaming up with three friends to escape the zombie apocalypse on an Advanced or Expert level, this is heart pumping, never ending action that leaves you drained but happy. One of the most intense and rewarding games I've ever had the fortune to play. When we get new maps (which we will, both community-made and from Valve), the experience will get even deeper. I'll be playing this for a while, I can tell.

    Steele X said: "We all know which monster is going to pop out from where and where are the medic packs are located." That's total BS. Every time you play a level, the zombies are randomly placed, the Horde comes at you from random directions, and health and weapons are randomly placed in one of several spots. It's totally unpredictable, which is part of what makes it fun. And just because you have a bad experience playing with idiots who don't communicate doesn't make it a bad game. Teamwork is key here. Find yourself some new friends, people who do communicate and play as a team, is all.
    Expand
  10. ITatsuoI
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This game had me on the edge of my seat from when I first started playing it. Playing this game on expert right from the start is something remarkable. This game is meant to be played on Expert, giving you great challenge, and making you want to replay it again and again, wanting to beat this level. Honestly, I think people give this game bad ratings for bad reason. This game is quiteThis game had me on the edge of my seat from when I first started playing it. Playing this game on expert right from the start is something remarkable. This game is meant to be played on Expert, giving you great challenge, and making you want to replay it again and again, wanting to beat this level. Honestly, I think people give this game bad ratings for bad reason. This game is quite epic, and it's a great game. I'm very glad I got this game, and I love playing with my friends, being a zombie, or a survivor. A must have game, and it will keep you entertained for a long time. Expand
  11. Lars
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible, it's got everything a game should have, humor, horror, and the ability to blas pieces of zombies, i'm giving it a 10
  12. JulioR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Great game, better than MW:2! This is a bigger improvement than L4D 1 and this is NOT an "extra mod add-on" as what people were saying L4D2 would be. It has so much more than L4D 1! 10/10
  13. SeanB.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be At first the game seems like its pretty boring. You just run through specific routes and shoot things and go Ooo..blood. Which is pretty true about single player. However, upon playing online in both campaign and versus mode the random set ups of the bots, and the versus vast swapping system round to round, it actually makes the game very replayable. The best thing to anticipate will be if Source releases the SDK so that mod levels can be created and make it even more addictive. Akin to RTCW:ET which is still continuously being played to this day. Expand
  14. ericc
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I played the demo for almost 24 hours in 2 day. then about 3-6 months later i buy the game(i am saving for a high powered pc so i have to be a tightwad) and i LOVE IT changeing where the specials are. The story is kinda boring cause you never really get saved, but that is what makes it better
  15. JamesFletcher
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    How could the critics be so... critical? An amazing shooter compaired to other FPS games, but more importantly focus' on teamwork rather than heroism... Brilliant. n.b I have had no performance or technical issues with this game (which makes a refreshing change) Cheers Valve! - JF England
  16. RegoHurtado
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    When I go out and purchase a game today, I look for RE-PLAY VALUE. What I mean by this is how many times am I going to come back to my computer and instead of studying, play L4D. I am on the verge of dropping out of college because of this game, it is the best. ( lol jk. ) But this game really has tons of replay value and if you want a game thats fun and you finally have to depend on yourWhen I go out and purchase a game today, I look for RE-PLAY VALUE. What I mean by this is how many times am I going to come back to my computer and instead of studying, play L4D. I am on the verge of dropping out of college because of this game, it is the best. ( lol jk. ) But this game really has tons of replay value and if you want a game thats fun and you finally have to depend on your team, get L4D. Best game ever. Expand
  17. DaveS
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Love the gameplay and interaction. Multiplayer is awesome. The A.I. is not too formulaic nor too challenging. Ten pimp-slaps out of Ten.
  18. NiklasA
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game doe seem a little lacking in content, but Valve has made a few free additions to keep the game going. The game might get old after a while, but I garuntee you'll come back to it addicted all over again.
  19. MaxP
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's a real good adventure, if you like action and zombies you'll like this Game. This game is funnier then Hell, i give it a 10 because it makes fun, there is not to much blood, and is a good Teamwork-Game!
  20. ChrisP
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    This is a great game. The AI Is not however very smart because it spawns a tank right behind you and then your whole team is dead. The Music is great and all the 7 weapons are very simple Shotgun for close hits Assault rifles for mid range hits and sniper for long ranged hits. And the way they make pistols have infinite ammo is great.
  21. BrentC
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have played, and I never get bored of killing all the zombies
  22. Nick
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent At first, I was very skeptical about L4d2, worried aboiut it being a $60 "add on". I played the demo, and it didn't convince me otherwise very well. However, I bought the game when it went on sale for $30, and was very pleasantly surprised. It did feature a whole lot of new weapons, ammunition, infected, and a few other new items. It had several new game modes, actually coherent campeigns, and improved graphics. These give the game a whole new playing style, and was much more than an expansion pack. The menus and online play are also improved, although still not perfect. Expand
  23. SergeyK
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also Amazingly stunning! Reasons: Graphics: Valve has done it again with the Source engine! Not only that, they are improved! And the Survivors are very detailed, the Infected are also detailed, I prefer the Hunter because of the hood and jacket! Sound: Nothing sounds better then such gun shots, or Hunter screeching, or Boomer belching, or Smokers coughing, very brilliant! The Survivors also sound like they actually felt that pain! Acting: The Survivors sound great, Zoey, Bill, Louis, and Francis all sound like they were just shot or they were harmed by a fellow Survivor, it's just so good! Gameplay: Here is where everything is great, I love having to stick together rather than dying alone. I like a game where you don't just rush! I also like the Versus mode, I like being a Hunter, because if they aren't cooperative then you get a victim that needs to be saved but they will be delayed with fellow Infected or A.I.! I love the finale part, setting up spots to put traps and related things. Left 4 Dead is a great game that is young let very good, it blew me away, it will beat Resident Evil 5 for sure! Expand
  24. JaniKoivusaari
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    Quite an addictive game, especially in the beginning. The intensity and movie-like atmosphere is great. In it's current state it runs out of maps pretty quickly. But the difficulty options, achievements, versus mode and playing with friends makes it a quick and fun game to play for one or two hours at a time.
  25. LanndonBlackmon
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    Fun, intense, extremely addicting. The AI of your allies seems a bit lacking in the single player version though (teammates have a bad habit of not helping during key moments, running into an open flame to save a downed team member, etc.) but other then that it's a great deal of fun!
  26. JoshuaLehman
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. Brilliant idea. Fast paced but very structured and organized. At first i thought it would be a terrible game but the team play is just awesome, and very fun. The only thing i don't like is the price, i feel its too high for what it is. Its a fun multi-player game but there isn't a strong campaign i think it should be a $40. dollar game.
  27. DickArmy
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are Campaign mode gets a little boring after 20 hours of play time. Expert mode is truly hard and take a lot of team work. The real joy of this game, however, is versus mode. Setting up the ultimate zombie attack and utterly destroying the survivors is one of the best experiences in the PC gaming world. You'd be silly if you denied yourself this pleasure. Graphics, sound, and style are all top notch. Valve is also releasing more content soon. Expand
  28. FrozenF
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i I agree with Shock k that this is what me and my friends have been waiting for. This game is the pinnacle of online gaming, let alone cooperative. And it being Valve ensures the game's potential is reached through updates and feedback as seen in games like tf2. An 89 seems ridiculously low for a game that offers so much. If you enjoy zombies, fps's, and cooperative gaming then i definitely recommend this game. You won't be disappointed, there will be so many 'oh shit' moments that will keep you having fun with friends for what I foresee as years. Expand
  29. MichaelM
    May 15, 2009
    9
    Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. Makes great fun being chased by a great horde of infected. After a while it seems to be the same all the time, but it is always different. No infected or special infected would ever be on the same place twice playing a campaign and the survivors always acting different. (singleplayer). In Multiplayer there's nothing like L4D for me. Co-Op Shooting Zombies, teamwork, nothing else. That's what this game makes so great for me! Thanks Valve! Expand
  30. DrewB
    May 23, 2009
    10
    A pretty fantastic game. Sure it could be longer, but at least what is there woeks great and is really fun to play with friends. The community surrounding it is L4D's only real down side.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  2. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.
  3. 92
    One of the finest zombie games ever made, and one of the finest co-op games ever made. The potential for everything to go so, so wrong without warning, or conversely to pull off the most spectacular escapes against all odds, means this is an online shooter you can tell your finest anecdotes about without boring everyone else to tears.