Left 4 Dead PC

Left 4 Dead Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3694 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fight together...or die alone. A new and highly virulent strain of the rabies virus emerges and spreads through the human population with frightening speed. The pandemic's victims become grotesquely disfigured, wildly violent psychopaths, attacking the uninfected on sight. One of the "lucky"Fight together...or die alone. A new and highly virulent strain of the rabies virus emerges and spreads through the human population with frightening speed. The pandemic's victims become grotesquely disfigured, wildly violent psychopaths, attacking the uninfected on sight. One of the "lucky" few apparently immune to the sickness, you, unfortunately, are also trapped in a city crawling with thousands of the bloodthirsty Infacted. Together with a handful of fellow Survivors, you must fight your way to safety or die alone. A co-operative multiplayer action game from the makers of "Counter-Strike," Left 4 Dead is built atop the most advanced version of the Source Engine and introduces version 2 of Turtle Rock's artificial intelligence (A.I.) technology. [Turtle Rock Studios] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 100
    Fast zombies? Check. Non-stop tension and intensity? Check. The quality of gameplay we expect from Valve? Check. When it comes to co-op multiplayer, Valve is consistently ahead of the curve and excellent at making games that force players to work together.
  2. Left 4 Dead is a fantastic experience so long as you can get yourself into games with good players.
  3. PC Format
    92
    Possibly too relentless for the less devout mouse-jockey, but it's astounding proof that being a brain-dead shooter is a very good thing. [Jan 2009, p.86]
  4. Play (Poland)
    90
    Foaming at the mouth, with a mad glint in the eye and a trio of trusted friends watching your back - that's how it's played. And there's no stepping away from it. When the consensus was that there's hardly anything more to invent in the survival horror genre, Valve proved it wrong. No other game made me give the medikit to another player despite being hurt myself. [Jan 2009]
  5. Even people who dislike zombies will probably change their minds after playing Left 4 Dead. The game offers much more than just killing zombies by the hundred. It offers lots and lots of gameplay with an unique combination of a tactical shooter with good old fashioned humour.
  6. If you love good stories and are seeking for a long and player-focused singleplayer experience, Left 4 Dead is definitely not the shooter for you to get this Christmas. If you consider yourself a multiplayer enthusiast who’s looking for a true, old-school coop shooter, on the other hand, this could well be your GotY!
  7. 70
    If you're a multiplayer fiend and like the thought of mowing down zombies with chainguns, this is definitely worth checking out. The thrill of obliterating hordes of screaming bad guys that just want to gobble up your brains really is quite unique and fun. Just don't expect to be getting very good value for money because there's really not very much inside the box.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 506
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    The base concept of moving from area to area killing hordes of zombies is nothing new. How they go about making it is remarkable, however. TheThe base concept of moving from area to area killing hordes of zombies is nothing new. How they go about making it is remarkable, however. The game forces teamwork and with the help of the ai director you can play this game over and over and over and almost never have two similar situations. Defiantly a groundbreaking achievement in the gaming world. Expand
  2. KevinLauryssen
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    Brilliant graphics, nice cinematic feel to it, does honor to the horror/zombie genre. Romero would be proud.
  3. TomC.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Very Awesome game, i played the demo for hours and finaly buy the game to play more and more with my friend. The Co-op mode is one of the Very Awesome game, i played the demo for hours and finaly buy the game to play more and more with my friend. The Co-op mode is one of the best i've ever seen in a shooter, and the the way you can kill, burn and explode these zombie is unbeleivable. I give 10/10 for the style and for making this game a scary and very exciting experience! Grats. Expand
  4. BurtonJ
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the I'm a major zombie fan and always wondered what it would be like to be in the middle of an infection. This hits it right on the bull's eye. Horde everywhere, nowhere is really 100% safe and they do not stop once your found. This game is great for co-op because you'll be needing eyes in the back of your head and another trigger to keep the special horde off you. All I can say is I wish my friend had internet and a copy of this game for PC. It Rocks! Expand
  5. GeneralA.
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    This game is great - I haven't been able to play the multiplayer yet, but from just the single-player with AI teammates I can already This game is great - I haven't been able to play the multiplayer yet, but from just the single-player with AI teammates I can already see how awesome this game is. There's just something intrinsically satisfying about being swarmed by a ton of zombies, only to blast them all down with a combat shotty. The hitboxes are a little screwy on your teammates, as sometimes they get hit by friendly fire even when your reticule is not over them, but it's not game-breaking by any means. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because this game /forces/ you to play it online if you want to get the best experience out of it. Yes, it is a co-op zombie shooter - John S, you didn't play the multiplayer, how can you rate this game poorly when you haven't even touched the main feature? Granted I haven't played multiplayer yet, but I'm intelligent enough to see that the multiplayer would be great (provided your teammates weren't idiots!). John, all I can say is, you fail. Epically. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    This is a great FPS multiplayer game. It is very addicting while playing online. This games giant downfall is the stupidity of the AI whileThis is a great FPS multiplayer game. It is very addicting while playing online. This games giant downfall is the stupidity of the AI while playing single player. They get very frustrating, at times just standing around when you get pounced by a Hunter or tied up by a Smoker. This game needs to be played online to experience the best of this game. Expand
  7. JohnS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    Oh dear what has Valve done here? Even though this review is based on the demo it is pretty obvious to see that what you see is what you get, Oh dear what has Valve done here? Even though this review is based on the demo it is pretty obvious to see that what you see is what you get, except of course the full version of the game will have more levels(but thats nothing special). As a huge fan of the Half-Life saga and an obessive online player of TF2, Valve have always impressed me with a great range of well developed games. Then along came L4D and what a dissapointment this turned out to be, this is far from Valve's epic work and have produced something that has been done before by other devs(in terms of zombie survival horror). This zombie shooter is not original in any way, boring beyond belief killing zombie, after zombie after zombie, very repetative, no story to keep you gripped it is just an average "arcade" shooter. There are a lot more better zombie shooters out there, with more original ideas, a plot and better action. I respect Valve for what they have attempted here but dispite being a fan of their work I am going to have to turn away from this horrible game. I will just sit tightly now and wait for HL2:Episode 3 at least that will be something good to look forward to :) P.S. This game is overated I've decided and Valve could have done a better job. Expand

See all 506 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.