Legend of Grimrock PC

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    It can't have the same gobsmacking impact as its inspiration, but this is a simple, engaging and occasionally baffling journey in its own right, with plenty of hooks to snare the newcomer.
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    73
    Legend of Grimrock resonates with powerful nostalgic vibes for gamers of my generation, and I don't regret my time with it one bit. Its lazy monster design encourages the worst kind of tedious, mechanically abusive player behavior, though, which is a grave offense in the world of party-based RPGs.
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    65
    I found the first hour of LoG nostalgic, and the next hour tolerable, and the hours after that aggravating. The dungeon is bland and the enemies are flat and the combat interface is cumbersome – in others words, just like every RPG dungeon crawl in the 80's.
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    Dungeon Master is finally reborn, as a role-playing game that mixes the best conventions of old and new in a refreshingly different kind of first person adventure.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    65
    For every puzzle that rewards experimentation and inventive thinking, there are a handful where you're supposed to find a button blending into a random panel of the dungeon's wall.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 678 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 176
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    I suspect a lot of people throwing out these 10s haven't made it past the half way mark of the game when the need for constant reloadingI suspect a lot of people throwing out these 10s haven't made it past the half way mark of the game when the need for constant reloading arises. Grimrock has a great idea, but a flawed execution. The worst of all is the painful way you're forced to spell cast by manually clicking on runes every time EVEN when you're just repeating the same spell. This badly needs to get patched. It's like a mini game testing your mouse dexterity and it will kill you over and over. Also the game difficulty goes right off the charts by the time you're halfway through. I'm all for a challenge, but Grimrock's "Normal" difficulty would be "Nightmare" by the standards of any game I've ever played, and there's no way to lower the difficulty without starting over. Also, in the later half of the game, dodging becomes crucial, but the game's odd, chess-board like grid movement system makes this a frustrating crap shoot of random death. The game makes a fantastic first impression, but eventually turns into a frustrating reload-a-thon only the most OCD gamers will put up with. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope theThis is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult your intelligence. Full Review »