User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 586 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 586

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Have been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into old ones, there are so many different ways you can fight them with the whole real-time movement. The puzzles aren't too hard so far. Have spent around 10 minutes on a few areas, only to find the solution was so close all along. The environment is just awesome. Sure the tiles are repeated, but what do you expect in a dungeon game. Loot is pretty superb as well. Keep finding different armour with different trade-offs. Haven't even beaten the first dungeon of many to come and already I can say this game was worth the $15 it goes for when not on sale. And I didn't even have to spend that much with the pre-order! Great game! If you loved older dungeon crawlers or are just looking for a new game to play, this should be at the top of your to-get list! Very well made. Looking forward to the new dungeons and other things to come for this game! Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult your intelligence. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    I suspect a lot of people throwing out these 10s haven't made it past the half way mark of the game when the need for constant reloading arises. Grimrock has a great idea, but a flawed execution. The worst of all is the painful way you're forced to spell cast by manually clicking on runes every time EVEN when you're just repeating the same spell. This badly needs to get patched. It's like a mini game testing your mouse dexterity and it will kill you over and over. Also the game difficulty goes right off the charts by the time you're halfway through. I'm all for a challenge, but Grimrock's "Normal" difficulty would be "Nightmare" by the standards of any game I've ever played, and there's no way to lower the difficulty without starting over. Also, in the later half of the game, dodging becomes crucial, but the game's odd, chess-board like grid movement system makes this a frustrating crap shoot of random death. The game makes a fantastic first impression, but eventually turns into a frustrating reload-a-thon only the most OCD gamers will put up with. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game, simply put. This is not for people who need nonstop action and love Call of Duty. This is for people who actually like to think, solve, explore and overcome challenges. Catlin, I feel you must either be too young to appreciate this type of game that would fill you with nostalgia, or you have a short attention span. While I won't quite give it a 'masterpiece' title, I will give it a 10 because it is just that good. My ONLY complaint would be the lack of more character portraits to choose from, but that's pretty minor and can be added in later. I love the that the option is included to turn off auto-mapping and you can print out included graph paper to map it yourself. Old school D&D players will love that! I'm a bit too scared to try it...for now :-) Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best clone of Dungeon Master in 2012.
    Best gameplay, best graphics, best.... all !!!
    Goty 2012 :-)
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    3
    No. Just no. I played Dungeon Master plenty, Secret of the Silver Blades/Pools/etc old TSR D&D PC fare, and I am a huge fan of the much maligned Wizards & Warriors, so I should be overjoyed to be playing a resurrected high res romp into The Oldschool memories of yesteryore... but tis not to be, as this game just plain sucks. It's not that it's hard, as I play every game I own on the hardest mode available because I love challenging, thinking games, and I don't consider this game inherently hard as it's far too simple to be difficult. No, it's the maddening design flaws that marked those older dungeon crawler titles have been resurrected too, and in some cases they're even worse because this is 2012 and such poor design is unacceptable. Pixel hunts? Come now, this is 2012. Nobody wants to scan low res wall texture after low res floor texture (repeated 100 quadrillion times throughout the course of this bore) looking for a slightly different looking piece of rock that the developers want you to click on to continue.

    How about the utterly dull story, lack of characterization, lack of NPCs, lack of dialogue, lack of character customization, terrible art design, incredibly dull and repetitive dungeons, lack of ability to see your characters or their equipment, and not even a 2D paperdoll? What about the lack of essential hotkeys? I'm sure everyone loves clicking 600 times a minute for a game that, had it been released in 1990, would not have had mouse support. Click to pick up the sandals, click to drop sandals on a character, press 1 or click on char face for inventory, click to pick up key, click to place key on character, click key on character to pick key back up, click key on keyhole to unlock door, click door to open. Why no hotkey for auto loot? Why not even allow doubleclicking an item to pick it up? Why make the interface excessively difficult and cumbersome? A staff of 4 isn't an excuse -- it only takes 1 person to design a workable interface, and you failed.

    How about pushing the user into dead ends that require a reload to continue, and entirely without warning? What about the player who saves after passing a dead end "point of no return" as I did twice within the first 30 minutes of the game, necessitating a total restart both times as the autosave was all the way back at the beginning of the level? Appallingly bad, frustrating, and stupid design.

    I was an idiot for not testing this game before I paid money for it. I bought it on the strength of metacritic user aggregate, the fact that I am a massive fan of oldschool strategic/puzzle dungeon crawlers, and the positive word of mouth, but I should have tried it for myself first. It's bland, frustrating, uninspired, full of design flaws, and desperately dull. At least it was cheap and easily forgotten.
    Expand
  8. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Not for people who think skyrim is great, only for people who are great. The game damn is. Great puzzles, not too hard, but they still make you think.
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Finally a game which holds the feeling of the renaissance era of great gaming years! A must have for the first electronic gaming generation. Perfect representation of the classical deungeon crawling style.
  10. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Excellent "blast from the past" dungeon crawl. Great atmospherics, easy inventory management and fun, but not irritating puzzles. I forgot how much I enjoyed this type of a game. Really a gem, especially in the under $15 category. Highly recommended, especially for those who long for the old great Bard's Tale, Ultima, Dungeon Master type games.
  11. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    I'm old enough to have played games like this when they represented the cutting edge of RPG technology. So when I saw Grimrock show up on Steam -- at a bargain price and with overwhelmingly positive reviews -- my heart leapt with nostalgic excitement. And... well, it's kind of fun, and yeah, it brings back pleasant memories of childhood dungeon crawling. I'm sure I'll get my $13 worth of entertainment value out of it. But mostly, it's a reminder of how much better games have gotten over the past couple decades. It is what it is, and it's worth the price they're asking. But I suspect I'd be happier replaying Skyrim yet another time. Collapse
  12. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    A game so much reminding me the good old days, that I'm not surprised at all that it was made by an independent developer studio - none of the big sales-orientated companies would ever make something SO MUCH old school. It's just like a sequel to Dungeon Master 1, with a little bit of Lands of Lore mixed in? And the production quality (= graphics and such) is pretty high, especially when you know that the game was made by only 4 people!! It's just an old school dungeon crawled with hex-by-hex movement, real time combat, rune magic, easy and somehow intuitive character's stat system. I'm having great fun with it, and with starting price about 12 dollars it's just a bargain! If you have ever played Dungeon Master, Lands of Lore, Ishar or Eye of the Beholder, this is a must have for you!! Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Old-school gameplay with 2012 technology. Great depth, difficult puzzles, many different foes and quite a lot of levels in Mount Grimrock to explore. Add secrets, many weapons, a very good magic system and a very good and balanced difficulty level, and you will get what is going to very likely be the best indie RPG of the year. Also, modding capabilities are going to be added in the future, so the perspective is very bright for the fans of the title.

    Totally recommended if you enjoy RPGs. Compulsory to play if you like dungeon crawlers.
    Expand
  14. Aug 5, 2012
    4
    Advertises itself as an old school RPG but the only thing old school is the layout and movement control. Evidently the devs didn't pay any attention as to why turn based combat was used in these old games as the devs decided to make it real time. As a result you will get 2 attacks for every 1-2 attacks of the monsters, and you have 4 characters. It is not possible to have all your chars attack before a monster gets multiple attacks. Even worse is that your spellcasters have to hit stupid rune keys to cast spells making them about useless in combat. Compounding this, your range chars will run out of ammo in the middle of a battle and will be dead before you can open the inventory to select new ammo. Game devs - there's a reason why turn based combat was used. A single person can't control 4 (supposedly independent) characters at once when combat is real-time.

    This game has some of the sorriest combat I've ever dealt with in an RPG. It really ruined the experience. Most of the game you're getting mobbed so you have to do the stupid - attack, backup, attack, backup routine which is neither heroic nor fun. How could the devs have possibly thought this would be fun???? Even worse is that the devs often liked to release mobs that surround you before you could do anything so it is a nightmare at best.

    Having to eat food is both annoying and useless. Were they trying to go for realism? If so then ditch the magic. There is a reason why most games didn't have it. It isn't fund. Fortunately we also weren't saddled with having to drink, go to the bathroom and sleep. At least an option to turn it off would have been nice.

    The inventory system is clunky (especially in combat) and the chars can't carry enough to be useful so you micro manage the entire game as well. Most of the stuff you pick up is useless or unusable, at least when you get it.

    The puzzles, an advertised feature, were nothing but timed plate pressing. It got really old by mid game. The "solutions" didn't even make sense. Trial and error was the only approach. Unfortunately the devs went back to the timed puzzles every chance they got. The heroes never felt powerful. They were always outgunned even against a single enemy because the enemies could hit faster and stronger. Spellcasters were horribly underpowered because: a) they had to get to a certain level before they could cast spells, b) they had to find the spells on scrolls, c) they had to wait after each spell, d) they had to have enough energy and e) they had to enter the correct rune codes. The skills available to all the chars were weak and took too long to build up. Why couldn't warriors wear heavy armor to begin with? Isn't that what they do?

    Overall LoG did make me long for the Gold Box games. But LoG wasn't a shinying example of the power of them. If the devs had used turn-based combat rather than a Diablo-like system then the game would have been far more tolerable, at least until the 20th timed puzzle.
    Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    one thing what i can say...MASTERPIECE
  16. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a game for the old school RPGer looking to relive our favorite games from the 80s and 90s, or for new RPG players looking to see something reminiscent of what got the great RPG genre going. This is a beautifully done indie game, making very creative use of 3D, with a lot of fun and interesting combat. The _only_ modern nod that might have made to make spell casters more useful is a way to "hotkey" spells you've discovered, but devils advocate to that is that - spell casting is powerful, therefore it should be a strategic move, so I'm not docking any points for it. Just observing. Huge props to Almost Human. The team did an amazing job of bringing back one of my favorite games of all time (Dungeon Master) to life again. Expand
  17. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely worth ever penny. Having more fun with this game than Mass Effect 3 and Skyrim put together. The game rewards you well for exploring and solving puzzles so you end up wanting to complete all. Also highly refreshing to have a challenging game for once rather than only having to hold the fire button down. Legend of Grimlock actually makes you think how you're going to approach any giving situation, as there are plenty of traps, surprises and variety of cooling looking mobs that await your every turn. 10/10 Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    I had to make a MC account just to give this game its just due. My first-ever RPGs were Dungeon Hack and Ultima Underworld, so this genre has a special place in my heart. I've put in hours on this game since I got it and it's a blast, especially for an indie studio debut. The puzzles are challenging and fun and the combat is difficult, but never impossible. I like the advancement system, and picked two mages to go with my fighter and rogue since I knew I would be disappointed if I was missing out on spells. Can't wait to delve deeper into Mt. Grimrock! I highly recommend it to any fans of the dungeon crawl genre or any newer gamers who have enjoyed Portal but want a medieval twist on puzzle solving with some combat added in for flavor! Expand
  19. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing game that brings us an updated an interesting take on the classic dungeon crawl/rpg genre!
                                                                                                                                                                                              
    Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Grimrock is an old-school, four-man-party dungeoneering RPC which represents a timely reminder to Bioware, Bethesda et al. that it is possible to make a fantasy roleplaying game which is challenging, but still enjoyable. The old-school puzzles are every bit as contrived as older gamers will remember from Eye of the Beholder and its like, but within that contrivance lies a really enjoyable challenge simply absent from most modern RPGs. Combat is no cake-walk and my playthrough needed more than a couple of re-loads, especially after Level 6. Loot is nicely balanced, however, with just the right amount of equipment progression to keep the hardened dungeoneer interested. There isn't a great deal of role-playing per se in this RPG. Magic is a little bit shallow in this game, being almost entirely combat-orientated: my mage was little more than a flamethrower with a name. The rooms and corridors are sparsely furnished, with only the occasional barrel or egg-sac to break up the endless grey corridors. NPCs are notable for their absence. But mysterious dreams and notes left by a previous prisoner who attempted to navigate the dungeon provide enough of a sense of story and atmosphere to keep the four prisoners going. Ultimately, Grimrock is a loving tribute to a style of game whose day has passed and to that extent, it succeeds superbly. Although it's targeted fairly and squarely at those who assaulted Myth Dranor in days of yore on much older machines, there is a salutary lesson for modern studios: tricky puzzles and challenging combat give the player something to do besides staring at the landscape between cut-scenes. Expand
  21. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Grimrock is basically everything that you love about old school dungeon crawlers wrapped in an aesthetically pleasing package. The game plays smoothly, the puzzles (story/plot) are wonderfully challenging without being frustrating, and Grimrock understands that the best loot should always be both optional and extremely well hidden. Some folks might need time to acclimate to the real time UI, but eventually the realization will dawn that it simply adds tension and tension is the perfect emotion for dank dungeon crawls. If Eye of the Beholder and Dungeon Master make you shout in pleasure, pick this up immediately. Everyone else, and especially those who enjoy challenging games or RPGs in general, seriously consider this gem. Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    An incredibly good game, why don't they make more rpgs like this? Unlike many modern games, Legend of Grimrock requires real skill, a sharp mind, a keen eye, and tactical thinking. And there's room for much more, once Almost Human releases the tile set there will be plenty of user made content, not to mention more dungeons made by Almost Human themselves.
  23. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    A brilliant old school dungeon crawler. Very addictive and very intense when it comes down to the grid based combat. This isn't a game about quests or silly npcs who'd like you to kill 10 boars. No, this is a game about survival. Your four party members need to eat, rest and be in top condition in order to survive mount grimrock, they also need to be smart, traps and hidden treasures abound in this dungeon, and only a keen eye can keep the balance tipped in your favor. The game comes with a hardcore mode that eliminates the automap in favor of your own handcrafted map, which really says something about the intentions of the devs regarding player immersion.

    One last thing, to the reviewer who whined about save points. You can save at any time during the gameplay from the ingame menu. So your point is moot, and only serves to show that you be trolling.
    Expand
  24. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely brilliant return of the dungeon crawler genre. It is exactly what you would expect it to be. For such game there is nice customization, skills, spell combinations, alchemy and what's more important big dungeon full of monsters to explore. Graphic is great, sounds are great. Only that should be fixed is sound volume adjustment (missing in game). Everyhing else works perfectly.
  25. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome. In a nutshell, interesting puzzles, an immersive environment that can keep you on your toes.
    BTW, there is a way to save ANYTIME you want to. Press ESC and you will see an option to save or load a game. I know, mind blowing right? Those "save points" in the game will do an auto save, and even resurrect fallen party members, but you can always do a manual save so that
    you don't all of your progress. This in response to Caitlin who gave it a "1" when they couldn't figure out how to save the game.

    Try the game, I'm sure you'll like it.
    Expand
  26. Apr 18, 2012
    0
    This is just some sort of a puzzle game with 1 billion switch plate all over the levels.You got to go back and forth activating devices left and right,and deal with a large numbers of teleports and also got to stare at all walls in the dungeon to make sure you don't miss any secret switch....yah staring at walls,fun fun fun lol.

    There is an extremely limited numbers of type of mobs(you
    keep seeing the same stuff over and over) and very boring scenery, the exact same walls all over for several levels.

    Honestly i had high hopes for this (was hoping for something of the same caliber of the old wizardry 8) ,but it's just a boring game.
    Expand
  27. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game is proof that sometimes it's best to go back to basics. Best dungeon crawler I've played in years! Definitely a steal at the current sale price!
  28. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Its really really bad, the movement lags, you cant move forward perpetually, just one tile at a time. what is this **** chess? most of the game is just puzzles, yea screw that, i came to PLAY, not think, the combat looks turned based but its not you cant even see your weapon and the enemies look like mushrooms get skyrim instead its a much better game this game doesnt even have a story how can you play a game without careactors that you care about, why do you think they are called CAREacters anyway? play skyrim, play mass effect 3, but dont play this game

    just kidding, Legends of Grimrock is freaking awesome. If you are on the fence you should play Dungeon Master first, its a free game originally made in 1987, there are plenty of reskins and remakes that run on pretty much every platform. If you enjoy Dungeon Master, you will LOVE Grimrock! If you enjoyed Dungeon Master but found it a bit too challenging, then you will still love Grimrock. Legends of Grimrock brings the old school first person dungeon crawler style into the 21st century, because the graphics are up to date, you will find yourself getting lost a lot less as you wont be mistaking one area for another, there is also an automap and a tutorial to help newer players, but overall, this is a classic dungeon crawler. Those "fake" criticisms i laid out are true, the movement is tile based, the combat is real time, and you cannot see your weapon. However this gives the game a certain feel that you either love or hate, combat will involve you sidestepping your enemies and using the mazelike environment to attack them off guard, taking advantage of the fact that if they are not facing you, they have to take the time to turn toward you before attacking, it may not be "realistic" but it lends itself to a certain playstyle that you will have to get used to. Like I said earlier, there is not a huge focus on story here, you are prisoners who must fight through grimrock to be pardoned, thats about it, no whining party members, no loyalty quests, just the creaking sound of the dungeon and the soft cackling of a torch, just how I like it. You can create your own party or select a premade party. Creating a party is the best way to go as you can select from a number of races and skills and 3 classes. I chose an entirely nonhuman party, Insectoids, Lizards and a Minotaur, not enough games let you play as monsters. Once in the dungeon you are on your own, you are given no starting weapons or items and must forage for everything yourself. This gives the game the "survival" element of classic dungeon crawlers. Unlike Dungeon Master, torches are much more abundant and last longer, darkness is not entirely crippling (partially due to the updated graphics) this gives the player much less of a ticking clock when trying to figure out the games many puzzles, some more hardcore guys might think that makes things too easy, i for one welcome it. Oh yes, and the puzzles, they are really challenging and you will spend much of the game solving them. Of course this is not 1987, you can go online for walkthroughs if you get stuck, but I do feel challenged by this game, and Im loving it. I probably would give this game around an 8.5, it brings an abandoned genre of role playing into the 21st century with amazing success in my opinion, its smooth, challenging, and a joy to play. I was hoping for a dungeon editor, I dont think it would be too hard to make as it is a tile based game, but i heard that they may be working on something like that, so one can only hope. Again, I reccommend you play Dungeon Master before you buy this game, but if you are looking for that type of thing, its well worth the money.
    Expand
  29. Aug 28, 2012
    2
    Legend of Grimrock is a game that seeks to imitate the dungeon-crawlers of old and the player is tasked , after having been sentenced to death, with surviving in a dungeon by choosing a party made out of four members, solving puzzles, finding secret rooms and defeating different types of monsters. You control the game by using the keyboard for movement and by clicking on icons on the screen to initiate attacks or cast spells. In theory, this all sounds great and although it has been proven to work, Legend of Grimrock fails to live up to expectations. The dungeons are, although extremely atmospheric, highly repetitive. The fighting consists of clicking icons and waiting for them to become available again while you dodge enemy attacks by moving backward, forward, left or right. There is no diagonall movement and you make a 90 degree turn, causing the movement and combat to feel awkward, as if though you're in a theme park attraction that never gets up to speed. All combat and inventory management occurs in real-time which means that if you have a mage or a thrower or an archer on your team, you will often find yourself frantically clicking on projectiles and the rune system instead of actually focusing on the combat. Although promising gameplay, the interface to Legend of Grimrock is simply bad to the point where I did not want to continue playing the game. As others have put it, this game is more of a mouse dexterity training than anything else. Expand
  30. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game throws back to the old days of dungeon crawlers such as dungeon master, while playing in real time, instead of turn based. I have never played these classics, but I now see why people did. This game is one of the best modern RPGs ever made, alongside others such as skyrim, Dark Souls and Mass Effect 2. The game is incredibly immersive and lonely, and doesn't hold your hand throughout.

    The tactic known as "chessing" where you move arround a enemy before he can turn and hit you is incredibly effective, and the developer knew people would use it, so as you play, the dungeons make this tactic more and more dangerous and require more concentration, with exceptions such as when you fight your first ogre. To improve the immersion, you also cant tell how much health your enemy has or how injured they are.

    The game then gives some of the well balanced puzzles ever made, perfectly balancing coolness with difficultly.

    The game is filled with secrets, often these can be as simple as a secret button made to look like a brick, other times it can be a bit more complex, but never insane, for eg, one puzzle requires finding a secret button, running a fair distance over some trapdoors which are timed to stay up for but a few seconds after hitting the secret button, then you run over them, hit a button, run to a now open trapdoor trap and jump inside to find a key to put in another keyhole to open a door which gives an item.

    The game gives a good steady progression without giving the chance to grind, only 1 point of the entire game do enemies respawn, and these enemies give little xp, and are required for a puzzle. The graphics are suburb for a indie game, although it would be nice if so many walls did not have exactly the same moss placement and if there were more hidden button areas in walls, insread of 2 for every floor type. The game as many enemies, from the lowly giant snail or flying...thing, to the ogre and magical fire guardian, the monsters never feel repetive. Before you buy this game, while it is not unfairly hard, and generally only unfair if you placed yourself in a strategicly bad position, the game is NOT easy, and it requires thinking in order to survive grimrock mountain. Last but not least, this game is at least 13+ hours as i have played for 10 and not seen a few of the monsters seen in the trailer yet, but eventually a level editor and more dungeons will be released.

    This game is a must have game, and i hope the developer makes more games, because only the best developers can make a high grade rpg game when they are only 1 man.
    Expand
  31. Apr 12, 2012
    0
    I'm old enough to have played games like this when they represented the cutting edge of RPG technology. So when I saw Grimrock show up on Steam -- at a bargain price and with overwhelmingly positive reviews -- my heart leapt with nostalgic excitement. And... well, it's kind of fun, and yeah, it brings back pleasant memories of childhood dungeon crawling. I'm sure I'll get my $13 worth of entertainment value out of it. But mostly, it's a reminder of how much better games have gotten over the past couple decades. It is what it is, and it's worth the price they're asking. But I suspect I'd be happier replaying Skyrim yet another time. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    A relic of the RPG's golden era, revived and refined for the modern age. [July 2012, p.71]
  2. May 30, 2012
    90
    Classic dungeon-crawling brought back to life. [June 2012, p.52]
  3. May 28, 2012
    88
    A delightfully nostalgic, but harsh, RPG treat, oozing old school charm. [July 2012, p.90]