Legend of Grimrock PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 690 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 690

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Have been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into old ones, there are so many different ways you can fight them with the whole real-time movement. The puzzles aren't too hard so far. Have spent around 10 minutes on a few areas, only to find the solution was so close all along. The environment is justHave been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into old ones, there are so many different ways you can fight them with the whole real-time movement. The puzzles aren't too hard so far. Have spent around 10 minutes on a few areas, only to find the solution was so close all along. The environment is just awesome. Sure the tiles are repeated, but what do you expect in a dungeon game. Loot is pretty superb as well. Keep finding different armour with different trade-offs. Haven't even beaten the first dungeon of many to come and already I can say this game was worth the $15 it goes for when not on sale. And I didn't even have to spend that much with the pre-order! Great game! If you loved older dungeon crawlers or are just looking for a new game to play, this should be at the top of your to-get list! Very well made. Looking forward to the new dungeons and other things to come for this game! Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing game that brings us an updated an interesting take on the classic dungeon crawl/rpg genre!Amazing game that brings us an updated an interesting take on the classic dungeon crawl/rpg genre!
                                                                                                                                                                                              
    Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. No, I insist, it *IS* perfect. It is not skyrim or Battlefield 3. It is an old-style dungeon crawler and it is extremely good at what it does. It takes a LOT for a single-player game to grab and keep my attention. This one achieves that, hour after hour. I'm 12 hours in and I know I'll want to start it all over again once I'm done my first playthrough.

    Grimrock's
    This game is perfect. No, I insist, it *IS* perfect. It is not skyrim or Battlefield 3. It is an old-style dungeon crawler and it is extremely good at what it does. It takes a LOT for a single-player game to grab and keep my attention. This one achieves that, hour after hour. I'm 12 hours in and I know I'll want to start it all over again once I'm done my first playthrough.

    Grimrock's gameplay is very simple. You are stuck in a dungeon and you need to get out through the bottom. Puzzles and combat are your main focuses during the game, and you have loot, inventories and skills to manage. The graphics are very good, the audio too. And the game is F-U-N. There are no bugs that I can tell, either. So, to sum up: A very fun game with no bugs that looks and plays great. Where's the downside? Right, there is none. It would get a 9.5 because of its un-innovative nature, but who cares, this game IS an old-style dungeon crawler. And possibly the best ever.
    Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Outstanding! My favourite Genre from 20 years ago updated with beautiful HD graphics, and they havent dumbed anything down! Very indepth, fairly hard, exploration is a dream, combat fun, the mechanics behind it are very solid. Can't recommend this one enough, especially at such a low price!! GET THIS GAME!
  5. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game is proof that sometimes it's best to go back to basics. Best dungeon crawler I've played in years! Definitely a steal at the current sale price!
  6. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult yourThis is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult your intelligence. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    The game is fantastic. It's the perfect throwback to the dungeon crawlers of old, but without feeling old. It looks gorgeous, the difficulty is spot-on (easy on "Easy", challenging on "Normal" and hard on "Hard") and the puzzles are very, very cool. If you want a challenge, I recommend playin it on "Old School Mode", but if you don't think you'd have that kind of patience, the game doesn'tThe game is fantastic. It's the perfect throwback to the dungeon crawlers of old, but without feeling old. It looks gorgeous, the difficulty is spot-on (easy on "Easy", challenging on "Normal" and hard on "Hard") and the puzzles are very, very cool. If you want a challenge, I recommend playin it on "Old School Mode", but if you don't think you'd have that kind of patience, the game doesn't become boring with the automap turned on. Almost Human found that perfect balance that most developers can't reach. You owe it to yourself to try this game. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game, simply put. This is not for people who need nonstop action and love Call of Duty. This is for people who actually like to think, solve, explore and overcome challenges. Catlin, I feel you must either be too young to appreciate this type of game that would fill you with nostalgia, or you have a short attention span. While I won't quite give it a 'masterpiece' title,This is an amazing game, simply put. This is not for people who need nonstop action and love Call of Duty. This is for people who actually like to think, solve, explore and overcome challenges. Catlin, I feel you must either be too young to appreciate this type of game that would fill you with nostalgia, or you have a short attention span. While I won't quite give it a 'masterpiece' title, I will give it a 10 because it is just that good. My ONLY complaint would be the lack of more character portraits to choose from, but that's pretty minor and can be added in later. I love the that the option is included to turn off auto-mapping and you can print out included graph paper to map it yourself. Old school D&D players will love that! I'm a bit too scared to try it...for now :-) Expand
  9. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best clone of Dungeon Master in 2012.
    Best gameplay, best graphics, best.... all !!!
    Goty 2012 :-)
  10. May 9, 2012
    10
    As an oldschool PC player in the age of console ports, this game made me feel home, I loved it! And the execution is really outstanding, it mixes best parts of the classic and modern gaming, a masterpiece.
  11. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    one thing what i can say...MASTERPIECE
  12. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I have so much fun remembering first Dungeon Master, but refreshed with decent graphics and sound. Love this game.
    Now i want more and i hope for next version which could bring much more characters to choose, relations between characters, external locations (like Ishar series), role-play actions, stores, etc.
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
  14. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    The new Dungeon Master is Back. Better then ever. That's what I call the ultimate Dungeon RPG!
    Hard puzzles and a great atmosphere. Can't wait for more Dungeons and Puzzles!
  15. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a game for the old school RPGer looking to relive our favorite games from the 80s and 90s, or for new RPG players looking to see something reminiscent of what got the great RPG genre going. This is a beautifully done indie game, making very creative use of 3D, with a lot of fun and interesting combat. The _only_ modern nod that might have made to make spell casters more useful is aThis is a game for the old school RPGer looking to relive our favorite games from the 80s and 90s, or for new RPG players looking to see something reminiscent of what got the great RPG genre going. This is a beautifully done indie game, making very creative use of 3D, with a lot of fun and interesting combat. The _only_ modern nod that might have made to make spell casters more useful is a way to "hotkey" spells you've discovered, but devils advocate to that is that - spell casting is powerful, therefore it should be a strategic move, so I'm not docking any points for it. Just observing. Huge props to Almost Human. The team did an amazing job of bringing back one of my favorite games of all time (Dungeon Master) to life again. Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't had as much fun in a game since Skyrim. Get it, it is such a refreshing breeze of fresh air in the polluted modern games market. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is fun. It requires intelligence and cunning to progress!
  17. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Grimrock is basically everything that you love about old school dungeon crawlers wrapped in an aesthetically pleasing package. The game plays smoothly, the puzzles (story/plot) are wonderfully challenging without being frustrating, and Grimrock understands that the best loot should always be both optional and extremely well hidden. Some folks might need time to acclimate to the real timeGrimrock is basically everything that you love about old school dungeon crawlers wrapped in an aesthetically pleasing package. The game plays smoothly, the puzzles (story/plot) are wonderfully challenging without being frustrating, and Grimrock understands that the best loot should always be both optional and extremely well hidden. Some folks might need time to acclimate to the real time UI, but eventually the realization will dawn that it simply adds tension and tension is the perfect emotion for dank dungeon crawls. If Eye of the Beholder and Dungeon Master make you shout in pleasure, pick this up immediately. Everyone else, and especially those who enjoy challenging games or RPGs in general, seriously consider this gem. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    A fantastically made modern take on the old-school, grid movement styled dungeon crawler. Customize your party, then delve into a dungeon filled with monsters, treasures and devious puzzles. All of it taking place in a beautifully rendered world. This isn't the best RPG of 2012, nor the best indie game of 2012. It's simply the best game of any kind in 2012.

    Not only is the game cheap as
    A fantastically made modern take on the old-school, grid movement styled dungeon crawler. Customize your party, then delve into a dungeon filled with monsters, treasures and devious puzzles. All of it taking place in a beautifully rendered world. This isn't the best RPG of 2012, nor the best indie game of 2012. It's simply the best game of any kind in 2012.

    Not only is the game cheap as Hell, but comes complete with a powerful dungeon editor, letting Grimrock's players create custom dungeons that you can download and play.
    Expand
  19. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Old-school gameplay with 2012 technology. Great depth, difficult puzzles, many different foes and quite a lot of levels in Mount Grimrock to explore. Add secrets, many weapons, a very good magic system and a very good and balanced difficulty level, and you will get what is going to very likely be the best indie RPG of the year. Also, modding capabilities are going to be added in theOld-school gameplay with 2012 technology. Great depth, difficult puzzles, many different foes and quite a lot of levels in Mount Grimrock to explore. Add secrets, many weapons, a very good magic system and a very good and balanced difficulty level, and you will get what is going to very likely be the best indie RPG of the year. Also, modding capabilities are going to be added in the future, so the perspective is very bright for the fans of the title.

    Totally recommended if you enjoy RPGs. Compulsory to play if you like dungeon crawlers.
    Expand
  20. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is a nostalgia trip. It utilizes similar gameplay that you would find with old dungeon crawler games but with modern age graphics, and surprisingly it works very well.
  21. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Ok maybe not a 10 but a 9 would fit better, but the extra point goes with a reason, when u'r over 30 u've been playing games for decades and memories...oh sweet memories
    Great game, you just have to take it for what it is, a dungeon crawler not a RPG (besides RPG on pc/consoles do not exist, playing with customization is not role playing, following a pre-written story isn't role playing
    Ok maybe not a 10 but a 9 would fit better, but the extra point goes with a reason, when u'r over 30 u've been playing games for decades and memories...oh sweet memories
    Great game, you just have to take it for what it is, a dungeon crawler not a RPG (besides RPG on pc/consoles do not exist, playing with customization is not role playing, following a pre-written story isn't role playing either...ok enough hehe)
    What i liked most of this game?the atmosphere, is amazing
    4 guys made a real gem, every old gamer should have this and the younger ones..well give it a try, but beware this game doesn't babysit you ;)
    Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Finally a game which holds the feeling of the renaissance era of great gaming years! A must have for the first electronic gaming generation. Perfect representation of the classical deungeon crawling style.
  23. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    A must for fans of old-school RPGs. Excellent visuals, nive old-school feeling achieved through grid based movement with smooth animated transitions. A lot of exploration and an interesting story weaved in-between. A classic!
  24. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Legend of Grimrock is pretty neat, dungeons are really good detail, puzzles are fun, AMBIANCE SOUNDTRACK. Combat is tricky and very slow at times, but everything else redeems that. This game is probably the closest you'll get to playing DnD in video game format (except for Neverwinter Nights, maybe). The best part is that there are constant updates, and many things still to be added.Legend of Grimrock is pretty neat, dungeons are really good detail, puzzles are fun, AMBIANCE SOUNDTRACK. Combat is tricky and very slow at times, but everything else redeems that. This game is probably the closest you'll get to playing DnD in video game format (except for Neverwinter Nights, maybe). The best part is that there are constant updates, and many things still to be added. Definitely worth the cheap $15, and an easy 10/10. Expand
  25. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I grew up playing these types of games, Eye of the Beholder, Stonekeep, it's so refreshing to see a new version with updated graphics of these same classics. This is hands down one of the best CASUAL RPG's you can get today. You cannot beat the price, my hope is that they will continue these types of games and follow the Eye of the Beholder method of importing characters from game toI grew up playing these types of games, Eye of the Beholder, Stonekeep, it's so refreshing to see a new version with updated graphics of these same classics. This is hands down one of the best CASUAL RPG's you can get today. You cannot beat the price, my hope is that they will continue these types of games and follow the Eye of the Beholder method of importing characters from game to game. The only thing that would be desirable is some sort of expandable storyline, but for a first new game of this style in decades it's so refreshing. Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    10
    Reviewers that have given this game a low score do not appreciate that this game is a near-flawless execution of exactly what it intends to be. In terms of underlying mechanics and gameplay, this game is an almost two-decade throwback to grid-based dungeon crawler RPGs (like D&D Eye of the Beholder, one of my favorite PC games as a kid). However, the graphics and fluid 3D first-personReviewers that have given this game a low score do not appreciate that this game is a near-flawless execution of exactly what it intends to be. In terms of underlying mechanics and gameplay, this game is an almost two-decade throwback to grid-based dungeon crawler RPGs (like D&D Eye of the Beholder, one of my favorite PC games as a kid). However, the graphics and fluid 3D first-person motion are modern (I assume it is built on an existing modern FPS engine). The game is well-balanced, challenging but not frustrating (no illogical puzzles or impossible puzzles), and fun. Its is a fantastic value as well. Expand
  27. May 16, 2012
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I can't stand crap that industry is serving us. We need go back to the roots of pc gaming. Games must be develop with people with passion not by marketing departments.
  28. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I'm a dreadfully picky player, yet this is a good game. I think the question here is that is this _really_ a truly wonderful and good game or is this just such a smashingly well made Eye of the Beholder tribute (clone) that it difficult to estimate the games true potential. I never really played to old "golden box" games, yet I enjoy this game greatly. With all my prejudice againstI'm a dreadfully picky player, yet this is a good game. I think the question here is that is this _really_ a truly wonderful and good game or is this just such a smashingly well made Eye of the Beholder tribute (clone) that it difficult to estimate the games true potential. I never really played to old "golden box" games, yet I enjoy this game greatly. With all my prejudice against anything I must give this game a full ten. The last game which I would have given a nine is the new Deus Ex. (to compare in entertainment value) Expand
  29. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game throws back to the old days of dungeon crawlers such as dungeon master, while playing in real time, instead of turn based. I have never played these classics, but I now see why people did. This game is one of the best modern RPGs ever made, alongside others such as skyrim, Dark Souls and Mass Effect 2. The game is incredibly immersive and lonely, and doesn't hold your handThis game throws back to the old days of dungeon crawlers such as dungeon master, while playing in real time, instead of turn based. I have never played these classics, but I now see why people did. This game is one of the best modern RPGs ever made, alongside others such as skyrim, Dark Souls and Mass Effect 2. The game is incredibly immersive and lonely, and doesn't hold your hand throughout.

    The tactic known as "chessing" where you move arround a enemy before he can turn and hit you is incredibly effective, and the developer knew people would use it, so as you play, the dungeons make this tactic more and more dangerous and require more concentration, with exceptions such as when you fight your first ogre. To improve the immersion, you also cant tell how much health your enemy has or how injured they are.

    The game then gives some of the well balanced puzzles ever made, perfectly balancing coolness with difficultly.

    The game is filled with secrets, often these can be as simple as a secret button made to look like a brick, other times it can be a bit more complex, but never insane, for eg, one puzzle requires finding a secret button, running a fair distance over some trapdoors which are timed to stay up for but a few seconds after hitting the secret button, then you run over them, hit a button, run to a now open trapdoor trap and jump inside to find a key to put in another keyhole to open a door which gives an item.

    The game gives a good steady progression without giving the chance to grind, only 1 point of the entire game do enemies respawn, and these enemies give little xp, and are required for a puzzle. The graphics are suburb for a indie game, although it would be nice if so many walls did not have exactly the same moss placement and if there were more hidden button areas in walls, insread of 2 for every floor type. The game as many enemies, from the lowly giant snail or flying...thing, to the ogre and magical fire guardian, the monsters never feel repetive. Before you buy this game, while it is not unfairly hard, and generally only unfair if you placed yourself in a strategicly bad position, the game is NOT easy, and it requires thinking in order to survive grimrock mountain. Last but not least, this game is at least 13+ hours as i have played for 10 and not seen a few of the monsters seen in the trailer yet, but eventually a level editor and more dungeons will be released.

    This game is a must have game, and i hope the developer makes more games, because only the best developers can make a high grade rpg game when they are only 1 man.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 13, 2012
    80
    A relic of the RPG's golden era, revived and refined for the modern age. [July 2012, p.71]
  2. May 30, 2012
    90
    Classic dungeon-crawling brought back to life. [June 2012, p.52]
  3. Games Master UK
    May 28, 2012
    88
    A delightfully nostalgic, but harsh, RPG treat, oozing old school charm. [July 2012, p.90]