User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 617 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 617

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    It's game from past - time of Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore and Might&Magic 1-5. And now it returns with HD graphics.
    It might disappoint "young" gamers, but thous who started playing in mid 90 - you will love this game.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Have been playing the game for an hour or so and have loved everything so far. I keep coming up to new enemies, and even when you run into old ones, there are so many different ways you can fight them with the whole real-time movement. The puzzles aren't too hard so far. Have spent around 10 minutes on a few areas, only to find the solution was so close all along. The environment is just awesome. Sure the tiles are repeated, but what do you expect in a dungeon game. Loot is pretty superb as well. Keep finding different armour with different trade-offs. Haven't even beaten the first dungeon of many to come and already I can say this game was worth the $15 it goes for when not on sale. And I didn't even have to spend that much with the pre-order! Great game! If you loved older dungeon crawlers or are just looking for a new game to play, this should be at the top of your to-get list! Very well made. Looking forward to the new dungeons and other things to come for this game! Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a real GAME and a real RPG, not some pseudo-cinematic crap like Mass Effect or a watered down fantasy-GTA like Skyrim. I hope the developers make enough money from this game to produce more gems, the gaming world needs more talents like Almost Human. Highly recommended for any fan of RPGs or anyone who wants to play a really good game that doesn't hold your hand and insult your intelligence. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    4
    I suspect a lot of people throwing out these 10s haven't made it past the half way mark of the game when the need for constant reloading arises. Grimrock has a great idea, but a flawed execution. The worst of all is the painful way you're forced to spell cast by manually clicking on runes every time EVEN when you're just repeating the same spell. This badly needs to get patched. It's like a mini game testing your mouse dexterity and it will kill you over and over. Also the game difficulty goes right off the charts by the time you're halfway through. I'm all for a challenge, but Grimrock's "Normal" difficulty would be "Nightmare" by the standards of any game I've ever played, and there's no way to lower the difficulty without starting over. Also, in the later half of the game, dodging becomes crucial, but the game's odd, chess-board like grid movement system makes this a frustrating crap shoot of random death. The game makes a fantastic first impression, but eventually turns into a frustrating reload-a-thon only the most OCD gamers will put up with. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game, simply put. This is not for people who need nonstop action and love Call of Duty. This is for people who actually like to think, solve, explore and overcome challenges. Catlin, I feel you must either be too young to appreciate this type of game that would fill you with nostalgia, or you have a short attention span. While I won't quite give it a 'masterpiece' title, I will give it a 10 because it is just that good. My ONLY complaint would be the lack of more character portraits to choose from, but that's pretty minor and can be added in later. I love the that the option is included to turn off auto-mapping and you can print out included graph paper to map it yourself. Old school D&D players will love that! I'm a bit too scared to try it...for now :-) Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best clone of Dungeon Master in 2012.
    Best gameplay, best graphics, best.... all !!!
    Goty 2012 :-)
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    3
    No. Just no. I played Dungeon Master plenty, Secret of the Silver Blades/Pools/etc old TSR D&D PC fare, and I am a huge fan of the much maligned Wizards & Warriors, so I should be overjoyed to be playing a resurrected high res romp into The Oldschool memories of yesteryore... but tis not to be, as this game just plain sucks. It's not that it's hard, as I play every game I own on the hardest mode available because I love challenging, thinking games, and I don't consider this game inherently hard as it's far too simple to be difficult. No, it's the maddening design flaws that marked those older dungeon crawler titles have been resurrected too, and in some cases they're even worse because this is 2012 and such poor design is unacceptable. Pixel hunts? Come now, this is 2012. Nobody wants to scan low res wall texture after low res floor texture (repeated 100 quadrillion times throughout the course of this bore) looking for a slightly different looking piece of rock that the developers want you to click on to continue.

    How about the utterly dull story, lack of characterization, lack of NPCs, lack of dialogue, lack of character customization, terrible art design, incredibly dull and repetitive dungeons, lack of ability to see your characters or their equipment, and not even a 2D paperdoll? What about the lack of essential hotkeys? I'm sure everyone loves clicking 600 times a minute for a game that, had it been released in 1990, would not have had mouse support. Click to pick up the sandals, click to drop sandals on a character, press 1 or click on char face for inventory, click to pick up key, click to place key on character, click key on character to pick key back up, click key on keyhole to unlock door, click door to open. Why no hotkey for auto loot? Why not even allow doubleclicking an item to pick it up? Why make the interface excessively difficult and cumbersome? A staff of 4 isn't an excuse -- it only takes 1 person to design a workable interface, and you failed.

    How about pushing the user into dead ends that require a reload to continue, and entirely without warning? What about the player who saves after passing a dead end "point of no return" as I did twice within the first 30 minutes of the game, necessitating a total restart both times as the autosave was all the way back at the beginning of the level? Appallingly bad, frustrating, and stupid design.

    I was an idiot for not testing this game before I paid money for it. I bought it on the strength of metacritic user aggregate, the fact that I am a massive fan of oldschool strategic/puzzle dungeon crawlers, and the positive word of mouth, but I should have tried it for myself first. It's bland, frustrating, uninspired, full of design flaws, and desperately dull. At least it was cheap and easily forgotten.
    Expand
  8. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Not for people who think skyrim is great, only for people who are great. The game damn is. Great puzzles, not too hard, but they still make you think.
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Finally a game which holds the feeling of the renaissance era of great gaming years! A must have for the first electronic gaming generation. Perfect representation of the classical deungeon crawling style.
  10. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Excellent "blast from the past" dungeon crawl. Great atmospherics, easy inventory management and fun, but not irritating puzzles. I forgot how much I enjoyed this type of a game. Really a gem, especially in the under $15 category. Highly recommended, especially for those who long for the old great Bard's Tale, Ultima, Dungeon Master type games.
  11. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    I'm old enough to have played games like this when they represented the cutting edge of RPG technology. So when I saw Grimrock show up on Steam -- at a bargain price and with overwhelmingly positive reviews -- my heart leapt with nostalgic excitement. And... well, it's kind of fun, and yeah, it brings back pleasant memories of childhood dungeon crawling. I'm sure I'll get my $13 worth of entertainment value out of it. But mostly, it's a reminder of how much better games have gotten over the past couple decades. It is what it is, and it's worth the price they're asking. But I suspect I'd be happier replaying Skyrim yet another time. Expand
  12. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    A game so much reminding me the good old days, that I'm not surprised at all that it was made by an independent developer studio - none of the big sales-orientated companies would ever make something SO MUCH old school. It's just like a sequel to Dungeon Master 1, with a little bit of Lands of Lore mixed in? And the production quality (= graphics and such) is pretty high, especially when you know that the game was made by only 4 people!! It's just an old school dungeon crawled with hex-by-hex movement, real time combat, rune magic, easy and somehow intuitive character's stat system. I'm having great fun with it, and with starting price about 12 dollars it's just a bargain! If you have ever played Dungeon Master, Lands of Lore, Ishar or Eye of the Beholder, this is a must have for you!! Expand
  13. Aug 5, 2012
    4
    Advertises itself as an old school RPG but the only thing old school is the layout and movement control. Evidently the devs didn't pay any attention as to why turn based combat was used in these old games as the devs decided to make it real time. As a result you will get 2 attacks for every 1-2 attacks of the monsters, and you have 4 characters. It is not possible to have all your chars attack before a monster gets multiple attacks. Even worse is that your spellcasters have to hit stupid rune keys to cast spells making them about useless in combat. Compounding this, your range chars will run out of ammo in the middle of a battle and will be dead before you can open the inventory to select new ammo. Game devs - there's a reason why turn based combat was used. A single person can't control 4 (supposedly independent) characters at once when combat is real-time.

    This game has some of the sorriest combat I've ever dealt with in an RPG. It really ruined the experience. Most of the game you're getting mobbed so you have to do the stupid - attack, backup, attack, backup routine which is neither heroic nor fun. How could the devs have possibly thought this would be fun???? Even worse is that the devs often liked to release mobs that surround you before you could do anything so it is a nightmare at best.

    Having to eat food is both annoying and useless. Were they trying to go for realism? If so then ditch the magic. There is a reason why most games didn't have it. It isn't fund. Fortunately we also weren't saddled with having to drink, go to the bathroom and sleep. At least an option to turn it off would have been nice.

    The inventory system is clunky (especially in combat) and the chars can't carry enough to be useful so you micro manage the entire game as well. Most of the stuff you pick up is useless or unusable, at least when you get it.

    The puzzles, an advertised feature, were nothing but timed plate pressing. It got really old by mid game. The "solutions" didn't even make sense. Trial and error was the only approach. Unfortunately the devs went back to the timed puzzles every chance they got. The heroes never felt powerful. They were always outgunned even against a single enemy because the enemies could hit faster and stronger. Spellcasters were horribly underpowered because: a) they had to get to a certain level before they could cast spells, b) they had to find the spells on scrolls, c) they had to wait after each spell, d) they had to have enough energy and e) they had to enter the correct rune codes. The skills available to all the chars were weak and took too long to build up. Why couldn't warriors wear heavy armor to begin with? Isn't that what they do?

    Overall LoG did make me long for the Gold Box games. But LoG wasn't a shinying example of the power of them. If the devs had used turn-based combat rather than a Diablo-like system then the game would have been far more tolerable, at least until the 20th timed puzzle.
    Expand
  14. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Old-school gameplay with 2012 technology. Great depth, difficult puzzles, many different foes and quite a lot of levels in Mount Grimrock to explore. Add secrets, many weapons, a very good magic system and a very good and balanced difficulty level, and you will get what is going to very likely be the best indie RPG of the year. Also, modding capabilities are going to be added in the future, so the perspective is very bright for the fans of the title.

    Totally recommended if you enjoy RPGs. Compulsory to play if you like dungeon crawlers.
    Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    one thing what i can say...MASTERPIECE
  16. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This is a game for the old school RPGer looking to relive our favorite games from the 80s and 90s, or for new RPG players looking to see something reminiscent of what got the great RPG genre going. This is a beautifully done indie game, making very creative use of 3D, with a lot of fun and interesting combat. The _only_ modern nod that might have made to make spell casters more useful is a way to "hotkey" spells you've discovered, but devils advocate to that is that - spell casting is powerful, therefore it should be a strategic move, so I'm not docking any points for it. Just observing. Huge props to Almost Human. The team did an amazing job of bringing back one of my favorite games of all time (Dungeon Master) to life again. Expand
  17. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely worth ever penny. Having more fun with this game than Mass Effect 3 and Skyrim put together. The game rewards you well for exploring and solving puzzles so you end up wanting to complete all. Also highly refreshing to have a challenging game for once rather than only having to hold the fire button down. Legend of Grimlock actually makes you think how you're going to approach any giving situation, as there are plenty of traps, surprises and variety of cooling looking mobs that await your every turn. 10/10 Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    I had to make a MC account just to give this game its just due. My first-ever RPGs were Dungeon Hack and Ultima Underworld, so this genre has a special place in my heart. I've put in hours on this game since I got it and it's a blast, especially for an indie studio debut. The puzzles are challenging and fun and the combat is difficult, but never impossible. I like the advancement system, and picked two mages to go with my fighter and rogue since I knew I would be disappointed if I was missing out on spells. Can't wait to delve deeper into Mt. Grimrock! I highly recommend it to any fans of the dungeon crawl genre or any newer gamers who have enjoyed Portal but want a medieval twist on puzzle solving with some combat added in for flavor! Expand
  19. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing game that brings us an updated an interesting take on the classic dungeon crawl/rpg genre!
                                                                                                                                                                                              
    Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Grimrock is an old-school, four-man-party dungeoneering RPC which represents a timely reminder to Bioware, Bethesda et al. that it is possible to make a fantasy roleplaying game which is challenging, but still enjoyable. The old-school puzzles are every bit as contrived as older gamers will remember from Eye of the Beholder and its like, but within that contrivance lies a really enjoyable challenge simply absent from most modern RPGs. Combat is no cake-walk and my playthrough needed more than a couple of re-loads, especially after Level 6. Loot is nicely balanced, however, with just the right amount of equipment progression to keep the hardened dungeoneer interested. There isn't a great deal of role-playing per se in this RPG. Magic is a little bit shallow in this game, being almost entirely combat-orientated: my mage was little more than a flamethrower with a name. The rooms and corridors are sparsely furnished, with only the occasional barrel or egg-sac to break up the endless grey corridors. NPCs are notable for their absence. But mysterious dreams and notes left by a previous prisoner who attempted to navigate the dungeon provide enough of a sense of story and atmosphere to keep the four prisoners going. Ultimately, Grimrock is a loving tribute to a style of game whose day has passed and to that extent, it succeeds superbly. Although it's targeted fairly and squarely at those who assaulted Myth Dranor in days of yore on much older machines, there is a salutary lesson for modern studios: tricky puzzles and challenging combat give the player something to do besides staring at the landscape between cut-scenes. Expand
  21. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Grimrock is basically everything that you love about old school dungeon crawlers wrapped in an aesthetically pleasing package. The game plays smoothly, the puzzles (story/plot) are wonderfully challenging without being frustrating, and Grimrock understands that the best loot should always be both optional and extremely well hidden. Some folks might need time to acclimate to the real time UI, but eventually the realization will dawn that it simply adds tension and tension is the perfect emotion for dank dungeon crawls. If Eye of the Beholder and Dungeon Master make you shout in pleasure, pick this up immediately. Everyone else, and especially those who enjoy challenging games or RPGs in general, seriously consider this gem. Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    An incredibly good game, why don't they make more rpgs like this? Unlike many modern games, Legend of Grimrock requires real skill, a sharp mind, a keen eye, and tactical thinking. And there's room for much more, once Almost Human releases the tile set there will be plenty of user made content, not to mention more dungeons made by Almost Human themselves.
  23. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    A brilliant old school dungeon crawler. Very addictive and very intense when it comes down to the grid based combat. This isn't a game about quests or silly npcs who'd like you to kill 10 boars. No, this is a game about survival. Your four party members need to eat, rest and be in top condition in order to survive mount grimrock, they also need to be smart, traps and hidden treasures abound in this dungeon, and only a keen eye can keep the balance tipped in your favor. The game comes with a hardcore mode that eliminates the automap in favor of your own handcrafted map, which really says something about the intentions of the devs regarding player immersion.

    One last thing, to the reviewer who whined about save points. You can save at any time during the gameplay from the ingame menu. So your point is moot, and only serves to show that you be trolling.
    Expand
  24. Apr 18, 2012
    0
    This is just some sort of a puzzle game with 1 billion switch plate all over the levels.You got to go back and forth activating devices left and right,and deal with a large numbers of teleports and also got to stare at all walls in the dungeon to make sure you don't miss any secret switch....yah staring at walls,fun fun fun lol.

    There is an extremely limited numbers of type of mobs(you
    keep seeing the same stuff over and over) and very boring scenery, the exact same walls all over for several levels.

    Honestly i had high hopes for this (was hoping for something of the same caliber of the old wizardry 8) ,but it's just a boring game.
    Expand
  25. Aug 28, 2012
    2
    Legend of Grimrock is a game that seeks to imitate the dungeon-crawlers of old and the player is tasked , after having been sentenced to death, with surviving in a dungeon by choosing a party made out of four members, solving puzzles, finding secret rooms and defeating different types of monsters. You control the game by using the keyboard for movement and by clicking on icons on the screen to initiate attacks or cast spells. In theory, this all sounds great and although it has been proven to work, Legend of Grimrock fails to live up to expectations. The dungeons are, although extremely atmospheric, highly repetitive. The fighting consists of clicking icons and waiting for them to become available again while you dodge enemy attacks by moving backward, forward, left or right. There is no diagonall movement and you make a 90 degree turn, causing the movement and combat to feel awkward, as if though you're in a theme park attraction that never gets up to speed. All combat and inventory management occurs in real-time which means that if you have a mage or a thrower or an archer on your team, you will often find yourself frantically clicking on projectiles and the rune system instead of actually focusing on the combat. Although promising gameplay, the interface to Legend of Grimrock is simply bad to the point where I did not want to continue playing the game. As others have put it, this game is more of a mouse dexterity training than anything else. Expand
  26. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Absolutely brilliant return of the dungeon crawler genre. It is exactly what you would expect it to be. For such game there is nice customization, skills, spell combinations, alchemy and what's more important big dungeon full of monsters to explore. Graphic is great, sounds are great. Only that should be fixed is sound volume adjustment (missing in game). Everyhing else works perfectly.
  27. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome. In a nutshell, interesting puzzles, an immersive environment that can keep you on your toes.
    BTW, there is a way to save ANYTIME you want to. Press ESC and you will see an option to save or load a game. I know, mind blowing right? Those "save points" in the game will do an auto save, and even resurrect fallen party members, but you can always do a manual save so that
    you don't all of your progress. This in response to Caitlin who gave it a "1" when they couldn't figure out how to save the game.

    Try the game, I'm sure you'll like it.
    Expand
  28. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game is proof that sometimes it's best to go back to basics. Best dungeon crawler I've played in years! Definitely a steal at the current sale price!
  29. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Its really really bad, the movement lags, you cant move forward perpetually, just one tile at a time. what is this **** chess? most of the game is just puzzles, yea screw that, i came to PLAY, not think, the combat looks turned based but its not you cant even see your weapon and the enemies look like mushrooms get skyrim instead its a much better game this game doesnt even have a story how can you play a game without careactors that you care about, why do you think they are called CAREacters anyway? play skyrim, play mass effect 3, but dont play this game

    just kidding, Legends of Grimrock is freaking awesome. If you are on the fence you should play Dungeon Master first, its a free game originally made in 1987, there are plenty of reskins and remakes that run on pretty much every platform. If you enjoy Dungeon Master, you will LOVE Grimrock! If you enjoyed Dungeon Master but found it a bit too challenging, then you will still love Grimrock. Legends of Grimrock brings the old school first person dungeon crawler style into the 21st century, because the graphics are up to date, you will find yourself getting lost a lot less as you wont be mistaking one area for another, there is also an automap and a tutorial to help newer players, but overall, this is a classic dungeon crawler. Those "fake" criticisms i laid out are true, the movement is tile based, the combat is real time, and you cannot see your weapon. However this gives the game a certain feel that you either love or hate, combat will involve you sidestepping your enemies and using the mazelike environment to attack them off guard, taking advantage of the fact that if they are not facing you, they have to take the time to turn toward you before attacking, it may not be "realistic" but it lends itself to a certain playstyle that you will have to get used to. Like I said earlier, there is not a huge focus on story here, you are prisoners who must fight through grimrock to be pardoned, thats about it, no whining party members, no loyalty quests, just the creaking sound of the dungeon and the soft cackling of a torch, just how I like it. You can create your own party or select a premade party. Creating a party is the best way to go as you can select from a number of races and skills and 3 classes. I chose an entirely nonhuman party, Insectoids, Lizards and a Minotaur, not enough games let you play as monsters. Once in the dungeon you are on your own, you are given no starting weapons or items and must forage for everything yourself. This gives the game the "survival" element of classic dungeon crawlers. Unlike Dungeon Master, torches are much more abundant and last longer, darkness is not entirely crippling (partially due to the updated graphics) this gives the player much less of a ticking clock when trying to figure out the games many puzzles, some more hardcore guys might think that makes things too easy, i for one welcome it. Oh yes, and the puzzles, they are really challenging and you will spend much of the game solving them. Of course this is not 1987, you can go online for walkthroughs if you get stuck, but I do feel challenged by this game, and Im loving it. I probably would give this game around an 8.5, it brings an abandoned genre of role playing into the 21st century with amazing success in my opinion, its smooth, challenging, and a joy to play. I was hoping for a dungeon editor, I dont think it would be too hard to make as it is a tile based game, but i heard that they may be working on something like that, so one can only hope. Again, I reccommend you play Dungeon Master before you buy this game, but if you are looking for that type of thing, its well worth the money.
    Expand
  30. May 16, 2012
    10
    Reviewers that have given this game a low score do not appreciate that this game is a near-flawless execution of exactly what it intends to be. In terms of underlying mechanics and gameplay, this game is an almost two-decade throwback to grid-based dungeon crawler RPGs (like D&D Eye of the Beholder, one of my favorite PC games as a kid). However, the graphics and fluid 3D first-person motion are modern (I assume it is built on an existing modern FPS engine). The game is well-balanced, challenging but not frustrating (no illogical puzzles or impossible puzzles), and fun. Its is a fantastic value as well. Expand
  31. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This game throws back to the old days of dungeon crawlers such as dungeon master, while playing in real time, instead of turn based. I have never played these classics, but I now see why people did. This game is one of the best modern RPGs ever made, alongside others such as skyrim, Dark Souls and Mass Effect 2. The game is incredibly immersive and lonely, and doesn't hold your hand throughout.

    The tactic known as "chessing" where you move arround a enemy before he can turn and hit you is incredibly effective, and the developer knew people would use it, so as you play, the dungeons make this tactic more and more dangerous and require more concentration, with exceptions such as when you fight your first ogre. To improve the immersion, you also cant tell how much health your enemy has or how injured they are.

    The game then gives some of the well balanced puzzles ever made, perfectly balancing coolness with difficultly.

    The game is filled with secrets, often these can be as simple as a secret button made to look like a brick, other times it can be a bit more complex, but never insane, for eg, one puzzle requires finding a secret button, running a fair distance over some trapdoors which are timed to stay up for but a few seconds after hitting the secret button, then you run over them, hit a button, run to a now open trapdoor trap and jump inside to find a key to put in another keyhole to open a door which gives an item.

    The game gives a good steady progression without giving the chance to grind, only 1 point of the entire game do enemies respawn, and these enemies give little xp, and are required for a puzzle. The graphics are suburb for a indie game, although it would be nice if so many walls did not have exactly the same moss placement and if there were more hidden button areas in walls, insread of 2 for every floor type. The game as many enemies, from the lowly giant snail or flying...thing, to the ogre and magical fire guardian, the monsters never feel repetive. Before you buy this game, while it is not unfairly hard, and generally only unfair if you placed yourself in a strategicly bad position, the game is NOT easy, and it requires thinking in order to survive grimrock mountain. Last but not least, this game is at least 13+ hours as i have played for 10 and not seen a few of the monsters seen in the trailer yet, but eventually a level editor and more dungeons will be released.

    This game is a must have game, and i hope the developer makes more games, because only the best developers can make a high grade rpg game when they are only 1 man.
    Expand
  32. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Having been a fan of many of the old style of dungeon-crawling games (like Dungeon Master, Ultima, Wizardry), I was enticed when this (now) niche genre was having a title developed for it. Expecting to see perhaps a remake of an old classic, I was pleasantly surprised to find in 'Legends of Grimrock' a game which pulls it's strengths, mechanics and roots from the dungeon-crawling games of old, putting a refresher on the graphics, and retaining the core of the genre that it's adherents had come to love and know. Whether an old-timer and fan of the way games used to be, or of the younger generation of gamers with good taste (bless you, lads), this game is certainly worth a look. Expand
  33. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    A lot of people tell me you have to be one of those people who played games like Dungeon Master during the 90s to enjoy a game like Legend of Grimrock. I for one have never played a dungeon crawler game ever and let me tell you this....Legend of Grimrock is seriously fun and engaging. I'm sure anyone who played those dungeon crawling games during the 90s will absolutely enjoy tingling their nostalgia. But for someone like me who is new to this sort of game, its new and refreshing to play and I love it. Expand
  34. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    One of the few love letters to old school RPG fans.
    A modern classic.

    If you love classic dungeon crawlers, you can not afford to miss this game. Buy it, play it, keep playing it, and wait for the tools to create your own dungeon
  35. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    This game is little disappointment for me. At first, it is not RPG! It is dungeon crawler. This is reincarnation of old Dungeon Master. But it unfortunately is nothing near Dungeon Master 2, Wizardry or Ultima. There is no story, no quests, no money, no shops, no cities, no friendly NPC (so far), nothing. You just walk dungeons with items, fights, pushing hidden buttons to open next door to next level (yes, there are levels). This game would be well suited if random level generator implemented, but it is not there. The level/items/bonuses/secrets are static. Very static. Graphics is Ok, monsters, "puzzles" are ok. Leveling/skill system is minimalistic, not much space for customization. Spell system looked like rune-based as DM, but it's not. You get few specific spells virtually as you level. No combination as in godlike DM2. Controls/GUI is fine, missing polishing, but it's ok, maybe updates will make it better. Game itself is well made. But I really miss those things that exists in all games after original DM. Expand
  36. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    Decent game for an indie, but I feel that it is over rated by the community. It is a good puzzle game, with old school grid based movements. However, the combat gets repetitive and tedious soon after playing. You will be doing this side-stepping maneuver and attack again and again in the 2x2 square when ever you fight a monster. In all, this game is probably good to stir up some nostalgia but nothng really more. Expand
  37. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    This is an old school gem that is absolutely worth it. The graphics are gorgeous, the riddles hard but always fair. The party based dungeon crawler is coming back to 2012 with this one. People who like fast paced popcorn games without challenge wont like it though. The character creation system could have been far more complex. But considering the size of the studio and the fact that this is their first game that does not lessen the fun. Especially considering the price.
    Must have for rpg and riddle fans.
    Expand
  38. pid
    Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Great assets (graphics, music and sound) revitalize the long-lost old-school gameplay enjoyed by generations of gamers. GAD-kids may not understand this gameplay, but it's really that good and I can't wait for the user-created content. Running through more than once with a new party is also fun because the differentiation of races and classes is significant.
  39. May 21, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good old fashioned game, with a decent work of development on environment and puzzles. But, after three or four levels, it become boring, with a gameplay a little bit poor and repetitive. All traps are identical, all mobs are morons and easy to kill. Good for a while, but no more than a half day. Expand
  40. Jan 7, 2013
    0
    I bought this because it was highly recommended by more quite a few people. I cannot see why. Here are the reasons why I hated this game, and recommend avoiding it entirely.
    1) 3 classes, garden variety, not much in the way of useful customization. 2) Real time in an RPG trying to be old-school
    3) Terrible controls
    4) Blocky movement (part of 3)
    5) Reflex based puzzles (see 3 and 4 for
    part of the reason these are terrible)
    6) Almost entirely reflex based combat
    7) Absolutely terrible magic system, you are better off just filling your party with 2 of the 3 classes.
    8) Uninspired and quite frankly boring storyline.

    I've played great old school rpgs, grew up on them in fact. This is not one of them.
    Expand
  41. nop
    Jun 17, 2012
    5
    I'll keep it short. Playing this game is like playing 4 Diablo characters at once without using item belt and spell hotkeys. Circle-strafing enemies one cell at a time while rapidly clicking multiple small buttons with mouse is what battles are in this game. Like somebody said before me, they are long mouse/keyboard dexterity tests which can frustrate even a seasoned starcraft player. Congratulations on resurrecting short-lived, inherently flawed, dead end branch of computer RPGs. There are multiple smaller problems I encountered, but these I can forgive in an indy game. Before voting this review down can you people care to explain why anything I said about gameplay is wrong, in your own review? Meanwhile I'll go play Orcs and Elves, Wolfenstein RPG or japanese Wizardry. Expand
  42. gas
    Apr 17, 2012
    6
    The game is a remake of Dungeon Master, and im enough old to remember it very well.
    This LoG is overall good and im not against this idea of remakes, but its strongly overpriced in my opinion, actually i payed 14 dollars for this title.
    Dungeon Master was massive, for the release time it was great under every aspect, it was 1 floppy disc on Amiga and i played it years before finishing it
    (without any guide).
    This LoG does what its promised overall so its a good remake, but its very short, its possible to finish it in 20 hours or less and compared to today pc game standards devs cant pretend to ask so much money imho, so i give it a 6 cause im quite pleased about the game itself, but the price is out of any logic.
    Expand
  43. Oct 9, 2012
    4
    Could've been good but... combat was attrocious. In general the puzzles were kinda 'meh', the classes unispiring, and the techinques required to win being borderline exploits (you spend 90% of the game either running backwards in circles in combat, or 'sleeping' waiting for hp to regen). In the end it just got very boring very fast.
  44. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    I guess I need to be of a certain age to really appreciate this game, which really is the reason why I'm giving this two stars less. I'm a 1994-er whose gaming world was mostly made up of Pokemon, Pikmin and Legends of Zelda, so I never experienced those wonderful dungeon-crawling games every fan of this game seems to speak so fondly of. I was looking forward to this game a great deal, as it looked unlike anything I've experienced before. And it is. It's a new and fresh, rather than nostalgic, experience for me. Choosing your own characters is a great feature, and it's even better that you get to choose their stats and traits. However, the bad thing is that if you choose the wrong stats you end up with a very unsuitable party to play the game all the way through, and it often amounts to starting over and over and over until you create the ideal setup, which is tedious. The game's also very hard - and I mean very very, old-school-nintendo-pop-in-another-token-and-try-again hard, so expect a lot of "GAME OVER"s being thrown in your face. Stylistically, the game's very strictly Traditional High Fantasy, and the game's name is so stereotypically geeky that I doubt anyone will be finding any girlfriends through playing it. This isn't exactly a bad thing, I guess I just sort of expected something more...subversive. Overall, I think this game tries to appeal a bit too much to the old '90s gaming veterans and not to the younger set, who come from a completely different gaming background. It's old-fashioned and not very adaptable. I think it'd benefit most from adding a difficulty setting that determined the challenge of the puzzles rather than just the toughness of the enemies. Collapse
  45. May 16, 2012
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I can't stand crap that industry is serving us. We need go back to the roots of pc gaming. Games must be develop with people with passion not by marketing departments.
  46. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    If you never played through Eye of the Beholder,Dungeon Hack, or Dungeon Master, you may not really appreciate this game for what it is. The developers of this game managed to bring back the essence of Dungeon Master and Eye of the Beholder from the grave without losing the nostalgia and fun of playing those games. The feel of the game is very early 90's, but the updated UI, graphics, and sound make it well worth the time to play. Never heard of the three games I mentioned at the beginning, you may want to play something else if you're really concerned about your $15, but if you long for the days of maps that you could plot on graph paper or $15 isn't that much of a hit, by all means give this one a go. Expand
  47. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. No, I insist, it *IS* perfect. It is not skyrim or Battlefield 3. It is an old-style dungeon crawler and it is extremely good at what it does. It takes a LOT for a single-player game to grab and keep my attention. This one achieves that, hour after hour. I'm 12 hours in and I know I'll want to start it all over again once I'm done my first playthrough.

    Grimrock's
    gameplay is very simple. You are stuck in a dungeon and you need to get out through the bottom. Puzzles and combat are your main focuses during the game, and you have loot, inventories and skills to manage. The graphics are very good, the audio too. And the game is F-U-N. There are no bugs that I can tell, either. So, to sum up: A very fun game with no bugs that looks and plays great. Where's the downside? Right, there is none. It would get a 9.5 because of its un-innovative nature, but who cares, this game IS an old-style dungeon crawler. And possibly the best ever. Expand
  48. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Outstanding! My favourite Genre from 20 years ago updated with beautiful HD graphics, and they havent dumbed anything down! Very indepth, fairly hard, exploration is a dream, combat fun, the mechanics behind it are very solid. Can't recommend this one enough, especially at such a low price!! GET THIS GAME!
  49. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    A dungeon-exploring game that follows the rules of good ol' D&D. Unfortunately, it did not follow any kind of turn-based systems but attempted to go with "Real time" combat which creates really huge pit-falls in the difficulty curve along with having awkward controls and manual spell-casting required after EVERY SINGLE SPELL. Casters will have to sleep/rest after every encounter and ranged units will never have enough ammo for any encounters that involves more than 1 mob leaving melee units the only viable option which then turns into running around in "circles" on squares, hitting the enemy repeatedly before the enemy AI even has a chance to react. The way you look around is quite awful too considering you need to "Drag and Drop" with the mouse and use Q / E to very violently turn 90 degrees which can create nausea. I appreciate where they were trying to go with this game but It just didn't do it for me in the long-run. Expand
  50. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't had as much fun in a game since Skyrim. Get it, it is such a refreshing breeze of fresh air in the polluted modern games market. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is fun. It requires intelligence and cunning to progress!
  51. May 13, 2012
    2
    I like interesting ideas that might remind me of old games. But the games that do not carry out an anything new and 100% refer to the older games are just weak. The game can keep us in an interesting climate, can we draw, but the authors could sit with her a little longer to refine it, improve technology, so as to look like for our times. Yet for those who do not have memories of these games, weakly - My rating -2/10 Expand
  52. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    I just finished the game tonight. And it bring back memories of time long past when I played Dungeon Master, Eye of the Beholder and such... Boy, that sure made me feel like an old-timer... ;-)

    About the game proper, it is a solid game that bring an old formula that is simple to learn, but difficult to master. It is about Trial and Error (or Google search) Puzzle-Solving and tactical
    combat maneuvering.
    However, not all is perfect in the land of Grimlock...

    Pro:
    - Graphics are good enough. As is the sound. Everything to have the feeling of being trapped in a closed Dungeon. And checking often for the 'hidden switches' to find secrets caches...
    - Ressouce management (Backpack space and weight, etc...) of what you should and should not carry is still a huge part of the game. Do I have enough (or too many) Torches? Food?... - Auto-map (optional, if you wish) is a breeze to use. Plus you can write notes on it, making even more enjoyable. - You can use the default group of 4 'convicts', or you can customize your party. Yes, you can have a party of 4 warriors or 4 mages... And try to live with the consequences...
    - In the New Game menu, you can only select Grimrock, but it is designed to select, I assume, future Dungeons. Also, a level editor is promised by the developers, giving even more replayability to the game...

    Con:
    - Some puzzles are infuriating. The ones that forces you to push the direction buttons in the right order with the right timing, with no margin for error. Suffice it to say that for me, I had to try and reload A LOT! And I read in the game's forum that some peoples are just not able to solve them.
    I don't mind a tough puzzle, knowing that I can Google the solution if I really can't find the answer (I did it a few times actually, to be honest..), but these puzzles, research all you want, if you don't have the timing to solve them, you're stuck with no hope of progressing further. It is the ONLY reason I hesitate to restart a new game: knowing that these puzzles exists and having to pass them again... -2 Just for that...
    - Spellcasting for mage is tedious. I know it was, in my time playing Dungeon Master, but we're in 2012. It should at least remember the last spell you 'programmed' for each mages, so you only have to click on the mage hand, then on the throw spell. I hope they improve this in a future patch.
    For the Fighter or the Rogue, you only need one click to attack. But for a Mage, you need one click to open the spellcasting, 3 clicks to 'program' the Fireball spell, then another click to send the spell. Between 3-5 clicks needed each time a mage attack... -1...

    All in all, a good game that bring back a genre too long forgotten by Developpers...
    Expand
  53. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    If the phrases "Eye of the Beholder" or "Dungeon Master" mean something to you, then this is a must. I've been playing it for two continuous days now and apart from being nostalgic, it's fun, full of puzzles and has a very nice spell system. OK, it's not super 3D or anything similar, but I really - really like it (and it's price too...).
  54. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    I will say that this game is meant for gamers of a different genre: the oldschool, dungeon-crawl lover. I've literally been waiting 7 years to see this game come to fruition, being hooked on Dungeon Master (SNES) and DM2 (PC/DOS). This game has it all, it's longer than previous titles with all of the features that I've fallen in love with from past years. Legend of Grimrock has a stellar nostalgia feeling while being hip and new, blending the best of both worlds in an excellent way. With the ability to introduce new dungeons, Almost Human adds tremendous potential for expansion in this game. I simply cannot wait to see how this game progresses in the coming months. From Dungeon Master 2000 to Escape from Dragon Mountain and now Legend of Grimrock, I am simply thrilled with this game. Expand
  55. May 3, 2012
    3
    Let's get this straight. Some features that improve simplicity in the newer generation games are necessary and they are a very welcome improvement over the past. I know we want to be nostalgic, but gaming has improved so much over the years. This game is therefore rendered outdated.
  56. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    This game is everything that old school dungeon crawler fans could ask for. The environments are atmospheric, the puzzles are diverse and complex, the enemies are terrifying. With the game's combat however, the sooner you learn to kite enemies around the better.
  57. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    A brilliant game in the spirit of the Eye of the Beholder series that captures all of the puzzle-solving, action, and adventure of the games in this genre of the RPG with a graphical update and a new system of character generation and development. Legend of Grimrock improves on the formula by adding small touches like automatically picking up throwing daggers/stones/arrows that you have fired when walking over them. I have a few complaints about the game, namely the inability to swap between ranged and hand-to-hand fighting without rummaging around in your inventory to swap weapons in and out of the action bar while monsters are fast approaching/beating your face in. I feel they would've been better served having sets of items to equip which you can swap between with a base amount of time required to switch. Inventory management gets tedious due to the weight management system and sometimes having to throw items you might want to keep makes for long pauses in the action. Overall a great game, and definitely worth the $15 asking price. Expand
  58. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I have so much fun remembering first Dungeon Master, but refreshed with decent graphics and sound. Love this game.
    Now i want more and i hope for next version which could bring much more characters to choose, relations between characters, external locations (like Ishar series), role-play actions, stores, etc.
  59. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Legend of Grimrock is an old school dungeon crawler straight to its core - you are basically thrust in a labyrinthine dungeon with no help, no equipment, and only your wits to rely on to make it out alive. Your hand will not be held and may in fact be smacked a couple of times. Honestly, this kind of game is refreshing in this age of 'tap X repeatedly' QTEs and objective markers. The only complaint I can really dredge up is that the controls are a bit clunky and combat may take some getting used to. Even then the game is really engaging, and totally worth the bargain bin level price of admission. Expand
  60. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    I'm giving this such a high score because it scratches my nostalgia bug, and does it with style. Anyone who played the old Dungeon Master type games will feel right at home, but the modern graphics really bring it to life. It is hard, at times brutal, and you'll spend as much time banging your head over devious puzzles as you will carving up tasty monsters (anyone for a dino steak?). In the end, you win or lose due to your own skill not because of some random stats that make you invincible at level 3000. This should be on every RPG gamer's list. Expand
  61. Apr 11, 2012
    1
    i think this game is absolutely terrible ive been playing it for about an hour now and im bored as hell. The character customisation is really lame,no content to it at all. Its the same thing over and over,its boring as hell. It doesnt even have randomly generated maps,this crap means,when you die,you have to do all that **** again if you dont get to a save point. this kind of game does not work in 2012,no matter how pretty it is. Expand
  62. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Ok maybe not a 10 but a 9 would fit better, but the extra point goes with a reason, when u'r over 30 u've been playing games for decades and memories...oh sweet memories
    Great game, you just have to take it for what it is, a dungeon crawler not a RPG (besides RPG on pc/consoles do not exist, playing with customization is not role playing, following a pre-written story isn't role playing
    either...ok enough hehe)
    What i liked most of this game?the atmosphere, is amazing
    4 guys made a real gem, every old gamer should have this and the younger ones..well give it a try, but beware this game doesn't babysit you ;)
    Expand
  63. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    Ahh it was a great pleasure to crawl in that dungeon! It remember lot of good rememberings, with DM, EOB etc etc.
    I really have joy to play it and finished it. I think it is a little short. But the price is really short too ;)
    I hope the adventure will continue with add ons. If you loved DM style, I think you can't miss LoG!
  64. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I'm a dreadfully picky player, yet this is a good game. I think the question here is that is this _really_ a truly wonderful and good game or is this just such a smashingly well made Eye of the Beholder tribute (clone) that it difficult to estimate the games true potential. I never really played to old "golden box" games, yet I enjoy this game greatly. With all my prejudice against anything I must give this game a full ten. The last game which I would have given a nine is the new Deus Ex. (to compare in entertainment value) Expand
  65. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    This game is very good. Not all games now have a this level, but Grimrock is good almost at all. Good atmosphere, good graphic and good music , but I think, this game is not enough terrible. But it does not matter - game is realy good. Sorry for my English if it's bad - I am from Russia.
  66. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, brilliant execution - atmosphere, balance and no bugs so far for me.
    I wish Almost Human sound financial success so we could have LoG 2 soon :)
  67. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    Despite what others might say, a fantastic value at 14$, with the promise of user mod content and new campaigns I find it a striking value for dungeon crawl enthusiasts.

    I would suggest however purchasing from GoG where you receive a DRM-free standalone as opposed to the steam version.

    On to the game itself; BORDERLESS WINDOWS!, absolutely necessarily in any game for those who use dual
    monitors and is a simple toggle in the game. It's nice to see a relatively low budget game run naively in a borderless window at 1080p. Some AAA games don't even have that feature.

    The gameplay revolves around puzzle solving and dungeon fighting, kind-of like a real time turnbased game if that makes sense.
    It brings fond memories of tabletop games like D&D, take a look at some of the excellent video walkthroughs to see if its a game you would buy though, as it is not for everyone.
    Expand
  68. Ajh
    Apr 16, 2012
    10
    What Grimrock is: Old School Dungeon Crawl.

    What it isn't: Final Fantasy, Skyrim, Zelda and so on.

    The 'flaws' people complain about are designed into the game on purpose. Yes the game is brutally hard. I'm not finished but I'm close, having taken a break from wandering level 13 to write this. Magic is a click fest, but when your main spell only uses two runes...it's not that big of
    a deal. If you want a challenging puzzle game that is incredibly immersive, this is a great game. Occasionally I found myself reloading a save spot for upwards of 30 minutes to get the puzzle solved. The sense of accomplishment when you finally solve it is worth the trouble. There is no hand holding in Grimrock. Best of all, they're releasing an editor to add more dungeons into the game. Expand
  69. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    The game is an amazing trip to the past for people who have played dungeon crawlers many years ago. The gameplay revolves around two main aspects, combat and puzzle solving. Combat is pretty easy as long as you have some freedom to move around (Hint: You really shouldn't stand still during combat). The puzzles can be hard (especially ones that are not obligatory but give you extra equipment) but that's the whole fun of it. Be prepared to spend much of your time looking for a secret button on a wall and such. The story line is nothing fancy, but still enjoyable. Expand
  70. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    One of the best features of the LoG is its respect for the player's intelligence. The game style may not be for everyone, but anyone tired of games telling them 'press LS to move' might enjoy a break with some interesting puzzles, strategic combat and old school RPG fun. The game is not overly hard, and may only lightly challenge veterans of games such as Bard's Tale or the old AD&D games, but amid the wash of glorified cut scenes that modern gaming has become, this is a rare and brilliant gem. Expand
  71. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    I agree that spell casting is seriously flawed. And there're not enough interesting spells. But I still love the feeling of the dungeon crawling and the puzzles.
  72. May 1, 2012
    8
    Nice game.
    Not much to say really: It uses old mechanic's; It is nostalgic; Puzzles are hard, but not "screw it!_let's_see_how_this_riddle_is_solved_on_the_internet" hard.
    Overall - 8 out of 10. It would be 9, but this kind of games grew out of my habit.
  73. May 4, 2012
    8
    Six words: Like Dungeon Master with updated graphics. If this makes sense to you, then this may well prove to be a nostalgic experience. If not, then definitely try before you buy.
  74. May 9, 2012
    9
    Legend of Grimrock is a classic-style dungeon crawler along the lines of Eye of the Beholder and Dungeon Master. You control a part of four characters and work your way through the levels of the game fighting monsters, solving riddles and exploring. The riddles are absolutely amazing - they dare challenge the player, and not just for finding secrets or such - if you want to get through the main story you will actually have to solve some pretty challenging ones.

    In some aspects LoG has a better design than the old games it's based on. For instance having a lifestone in each level that will revive any dead characters means that you have to load your game when your last character dies, not the first one. The classes also offer you a wide range of options for specializing your character. Also LoG has the best alchemy game play I've ever seen. When you drink a potion you end up with an empty bottle. Then you can put something new in it and you'll have a new potion. The amounts of bottles you find determines the total number of brewed potions you can have at any particular time, not the total number you can expend during the game. Makes potions much more usable. The magic system is rather badly implemented though. Casting a fireball is a five click operation. First you have to open the spell interface, then click the three runes constituting a fireball and then click the "cast" button. In comparison swinging an axe is a one-click operation, which makes magic a bit useless. Why the spell interface isn't linked up to the num-pad is odd - it has the same shape and seems to be designed for that.

    Combat works fine - some people seem to dislike the harder fights where you actually have to dodge around the enemies, slam doors in their faces, lure them into traps and jump on top of them through pits in the floor. I, however, found that very entertaining and I doubt my interest in the game would've been as high if you could just stand-and-fight every battle in the game.

    In conclusion Legends of Grimrock is an absolutely fantastic game. There are no bugs, very few annoyances, lots and challenge, pretty graphics and I had a very hard time putting this game down before I got through it. I consider it worth every cent, and if the magic interface gets fixed I'll up the score to 10.
    Expand
  75. May 16, 2012
    9
    Very good game, complicated dungeons with tons of puzzles (not tiny Skyrim's retarded linear loops), old school forward-left-right-back movement surprisingly brings a lot of tactics to combat. Some interesting gameplay mechanics like pushing rune combination to cast a spell

    Cons: at the end puzzles become annoying and don't make much sense (levels 9-10). Not enough exp to develop more
    than one skill Expand
  76. May 31, 2012
    3
    I don't understand why this game is so overrated. I had to uninstall it after half an hour of gameplay. And it's not that I don't like RPGs: I do like them a lot, I've played many RPGs. But this one is just plainly boring. The fact that you walk on squares just feels weird. The fact that you walk "alone" on squares while you actually bring 4 people with you in those narrow passages is even more weird. The dungeons are all the same and the environment gets quickly claustrophobic and ripetitive. Mobs have just one "robotic" attack, and your attacks must be made by clicking little squares in the right corner, while you see slashes on the screen and other poor effects. I perfectly understand that graphics isn't everything in a game, but here there is no enjoyable graphics or gameplay. I just couldn't stand it, it's a 3 for me. Expand
  77. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    Great return to the old dungeon crawler style of games. Not quite as in depth as games of yore: Dungeon Master, Eye of the Beholder, Bloodwych, etc. but hopefully with expansions and updates it can become the game it deserves to be.
  78. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    A fantastic old-school first person dungeon crawler full of hidden passages, complex puzzles, and difficult combat. The graphics and sound design are amazing considering the game is only 600mbs. Most of the music is ambience leading to a calm gameplay experience... until a skeleton rushes around a corner and makes you jump. Old style games like this have a terror of their own with the lighting and sound effects. When your torch goes out, it is pitch black until your characters "eyes" adjust and even then you can barely see. The only real complaint I have is the combat can be frustrating when you get body-blocked into a corner or are simply overpowered because of poor stat placement or equip. If you go into this expecting "Amnesia with swords" instead of "Skyrim without towns" you will have a great experience. Be prepared for a game that wants to beat you down; save often and take map notes because you will need all the help you can get. Expand
  79. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    AAaIF = Absolutely Amazing and Incredibly Fun

    Based on Dungeon Master game, Legend of Grimrock goes the same way as its ancestor from 1987 and adding a bit more. Starting with 4 party characters, almost naked without weapons and hope, we r cutting through stages exploring story of Grimrock behind, secret rooms, deadly traps giant crabs, pissed skeletons, hungry ogres etc... must say am
    new in this type of RPG and am probably fell in love with it. Of course i cant argue with "Elite Old School Gamers from past ...", but i realy like it because of great puzzles and action fighting.

    BTW: Who sais copying whole idea aint gonna work? .-)
    Expand
  80. May 1, 2012
    9
    Dungeon Master is one of my all time favourites so this close homage was bound to resonate with me. But it's so much better than I hoped and represents fantastic value for money into the bargain. A triumph for indie games given that it appears to have been created entirely by a team 4.
  81. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    Fantastic puzzles, fun combat, and simple gameplay (not to be mistaken with hand holding, which this game does not do) creates a fun game. Great atmosphere and story makes this one of the deepest indie games I have played in a long time.
  82. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    The game is fantastic. It's the perfect throwback to the dungeon crawlers of old, but without feeling old. It looks gorgeous, the difficulty is spot-on (easy on "Easy", challenging on "Normal" and hard on "Hard") and the puzzles are very, very cool. If you want a challenge, I recommend playin it on "Old School Mode", but if you don't think you'd have that kind of patience, the game doesn't become boring with the automap turned on. Almost Human found that perfect balance that most developers can't reach. You owe it to yourself to try this game. Expand
  83. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    I absolutely love it ... it is fun, fast, has some of that just-one-more-monster feeling, game-mechanics are clear and make sense. Sure, the combat is not everyones style and some of the riddles are maddeningly complicated, but all in all, this game is great (and there are walkthroughs and char creation guides out there). Beginning my second play-through now ...
  84. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    The new Dungeon Master is Back. Better then ever. That's what I call the ultimate Dungeon RPG!
    Hard puzzles and a great atmosphere. Can't wait for more Dungeons and Puzzles!
  85. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    The attention that this game has been receiving is due more to the gaping hole in the gaming market for good-natured dungeon hack -and-slashes than it is due to this being a good game. Playing this game, yes, reminds me of playing Eye of the Beholder as a kid, but it lacks one crucial thing that all the little complaints point to; it is NOT FUN. The classes are shallow, the enemies are drab, the dungeon has no soul or logic, the interface, dear god the interface. There is a reason that we now have hotbars, keyboard shortcuts, and such. Yes I would absolutely LOVE to see a well-designed indie dungeon crawler hit the market, but this is very sadly not it. Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is a nostalgia trip. It utilizes similar gameplay that you would find with old dungeon crawler games but with modern age graphics, and surprisingly it works very well.
  87. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Legend of Grimrock is pretty neat, dungeons are really good detail, puzzles are fun, AMBIANCE SOUNDTRACK. Combat is tricky and very slow at times, but everything else redeems that. This game is probably the closest you'll get to playing DnD in video game format (except for Neverwinter Nights, maybe). The best part is that there are constant updates, and many things still to be added. Definitely worth the cheap $15, and an easy 10/10. Expand
  88. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    Chock full of old school dungeon goodness, Legend of Grimrock gives a modern twist on the grid based dungeon crawler RPG. You play as a group of 4 adventurers tossed into a pit at the top of a mountain, and you need to try to make your way out alive. I feel like it provides a perfect balance between fighting, puzzles, treasure hunting, and character building. The graphics look fantastic and set the mood really well. You never know what's around the next corner, but the great sound effects of enemies moving can give you a hint. The campaign that comes with the game is fairly long, taking 10-15 hours if you rush though, but it can be much longer than that if you take your time. Also, the devs are working on a level editor which will allow the community to make an almost endless amount of new content. Expand
  89. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I grew up playing these types of games, Eye of the Beholder, Stonekeep, it's so refreshing to see a new version with updated graphics of these same classics. This is hands down one of the best CASUAL RPG's you can get today. You cannot beat the price, my hope is that they will continue these types of games and follow the Eye of the Beholder method of importing characters from game to game. The only thing that would be desirable is some sort of expandable storyline, but for a first new game of this style in decades it's so refreshing. Expand
  90. May 7, 2012
    9
    Remember Dungeon Master on the Amiga? If not, even better! I have been waiting years for a game like this. It is almost impossible to stop playing. The puzzles are evil, the fighting a bit point and click, but that's what I want. I am more interested in the puzzle the game poses.

    I haven't found any invisible walls yet, err, I mean walls that you can walk through, that aren't really there
    - like dungeon master, but I am only on a low level. I would also like a bit more of the click-something-five-miles-away, with something else, to open a door you never knew about.

    But, it's compulsively addictive, I absolutely love it! When I bought it I thought: "I hope this is like Dungeon Master" and I have waited years to play another Dungeon Master - and this is it! 1 point deducted for the maps being just a little small (but that is being really niggley).
    Expand
  91. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    For what it is, it is a solid dungeon crawler with very well laid out puzzles and little hidden areas in the nooks and crannys of the dungeon. It just leaves a few things out that I think would make the game more enjoyable or more likely for me to play it through again.
  92. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly fresh for something based on 25 years old game mechanics. Graphics are fine, ambient music wonderfully captures the sense of danger and it's just pure fun to walk through the dark corridors of Grimrock filled with enemies, secrets, deadly traps and challenging puzzles. So far the biggest surprise of this year plus a great chance for old school pc gamers to re-live some nostalgic past experiences, as well as for younger players to grasp a bit of dungeon crawlers magic. Expand
  93. May 2, 2012
    10
    Now here is a game, as gamer modern games are made too easy for players and lack challenge even at highest possible difficulty. Legend of Grimrock is very welcome exceptional game among modern hack'n'slash rpg. Quite few new games has to offer such headaching frustration puzzle solving as LoG. I personaly just love this one with all the heart, simple yet extremely entertaining and cheap. There is no way around it that LoG is a miracle in game industry. You don't need fanzy large scale ragdoll boosted open map to have great rpg. In a word, a game suited for IQ 130+. Expand
  94. May 8, 2012
    9
    Now first of all, even if it is just an Indie game, it is worth buying it. The graphics are just cool and fit to the environment. At the beginning you have to get to know the game a bit, since there is not really a tutorial (just a tiny one). But after playing it for 15 minutes, you know what to do. Unfortunately, I used the standard characters, without skilling them on my own. But, I think I'm going to play it again with a totally different party. Played it for 3h and still enjoy it (3 hours for an indie game is quite good, isn't it?).
    A game worth a score of 85%.
    Expand
  95. May 14, 2012
    8
    Old school'd Dungeon Master in a modern look. Brings everything you expect from a dungeon crawler game - lots of monsters to beat, weapons to fight with, spells to cast, puzzles to solve. Those vary from easy ones to very hard to crack, however each puzzle is somewhat based on a common sense and you must think to crack it, with or without the help of ingame notes you find on your escape from Grimrock. The only drawbacks I have found is that the walls of the dungeon could be more variable and the spell casting system could be working on some user friendlier system - it is a bit annoying to select the same runes again in the heat of the battle. Also, the realtime fighting might not suit everyone. But despite of these drawbacks, every dungeon fan must have this game. Expand
  96. May 16, 2012
    8
    Solid Game. Is everything you expect it to be, a OLD SCHOOL dungeon crawler. The devs are awesome and really listen to the community, Great price, great quality and a good feel of being underground.
  97. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I would be considered a "young gamer" and this is definitely my favourite game of all time. It
  98. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Ahh...nostalgia. Do you remember games like Dungeon Master and Eye of the Beholder? Well, if you do and liked them, you are really going to love Legend of Grimrock. It's just like old times. If you are to "young" to remember this game, it is a classical old-fashioned dungeon crawler experience. Find a 2x2 square and start slashing at the monsters and never ever get cornered.
  99. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I play this with my wife (40years old. I-never-played-game-before) and sometimes with my nephew (a 20years old hardcore gamer). Both of them love the game. I consider myself a hardcore player too and, of course, I am so happy with L.O.G. Everything is well designed. Graphics are so good for a dungeon crawler and dont feel "indie" ( I shared a couple of screenshots in Facebook and EVERYBODY said they were so pretty). Thats what I can say about the appealing of this game. For the gameplay, I can say is wonderful, right click option is so beautiful, leveling system is simple but not dull, Spell casting system is a big hit for me. I love how it feels like a mage thing, not just a "click" thing, when you must remember and select correctly the runes for your spell, being under attack. Is not difficult (my mage killed more enemies than everyone else) and flavored. The only "bad" point about this game is the lack of NPCs interaction, like cities or shops, which could be awesome, making it one of the top 10 games ever, but without this, it just gets the title of Best Game of 2012. Expand
  100. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    I guess I need to be of a certain age to really appreciate this game, which really is the reason why I'm giving this two stars less. I'm a 1994-er whose gaming world was mostly made up of Pokemon, Pikmin and Legends of Zelda, so I never experienced those wonderful dungeon-crawling games every fan of this game seems to speak so fondly of. I was looking forward to this game a great deal, as it looked unlike anything I've experienced before. And it is. It's a new and fresh, rather than nostalgic, experience for me. Choosing your own characters is a great feature, and it's even better that you get to choose their stats and traits. However, the bad thing is that if you choose the wrong stats you end up with a very unsuitable party to play the game all the way through, and it often amounts to starting over and over and over until you create the ideal setup, which is tedious. The game's also very hard - and I mean very very, old-school-nintendo-pop-in-another-token-and-try-again hard, so expect a lot of "GAME OVER"s being thrown in your face. Stylistically, the game's very strictly Traditional High Fantasy, and the game's name is so stereotypically geeky that I doubt anyone will be finding any girlfriends through playing it. This isn't exactly a bad thing, I guess I just sort of expected something more...subversive. Overall, I think this game tries to appeal a bit too much to the old '90s gaming veterans and not to the younger set, who come from a completely different gaming background. It's old-fashioned and not very adaptable. I think it'd benefit most from adding a difficulty setting that determined the challenge of the puzzles rather than just the toughness of the enemies. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    80
    A relic of the RPG's golden era, revived and refined for the modern age. [July 2012, p.71]
  2. May 30, 2012
    90
    Classic dungeon-crawling brought back to life. [June 2012, p.52]
  3. May 28, 2012
    88
    A delightfully nostalgic, but harsh, RPG treat, oozing old school charm. [July 2012, p.90]