Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    55
    Perhaps one of the game’s biggest failings is its price - at US$29.99, you can twice buy Mount & Blade, which does everything Aethereus does but in a much more polished way.
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    47
    Everything works in Legends Of Aethereus, but nothing actually works well enough to make it recommendable at any level.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    All in all, Legends of Aethereus was a frustrating game to play; it failed to really innovate anything besides a crafting system – which is like buying a car because the cup holders are really big…. Kind of missing the point.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    35
    Aethereus isn't about the story, the graphics, or the music; it's about gameplay. I won't fault Aethereus for not being something other than what it tries to be, but with questing this anonymous and combat this dysfunctional, I can't recommend it to anyone.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    30
    Legends of Aethereus is flawed, but not to the point of being offensive or terrible. While the setting is interesting, the weak combat and poor level design make it hard to recommend. You can experience everything the game has to offer in a couple of hours, and for an RPG that's never a good thing.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    Oh dear This game just shows the perils of being bored and buying a game you hadn't heard of before. I love RPGs and when I saw this on Steam I thought I would give it a try what a mistake.

    The graphics are pretty bad (even at maximum "terrific" setting). The monster animations are terrible and the melee mechanism is imprecise (hard to judge position from the mob to get a hit etc). Even something as picking up loot can be a pain as half the time it will not highlight unless you are standing in the correct place. There is no mouse interaction on items or skills it is all key driven so tough luck if you are used to clicking to activate skills.

    The quest environments are boring and mostly empty except for the mobs now and again. In the Nexus (hub town) you can do things like change the colour of banners and walls and erect statues totally boring and of no consequence to the game. I know this game is not a triple A title from a big studio but the production values and implementation really show it up for the Indie game that is is. Sorry 3 Gates, I know that this is your first title but for me it will be the first and last game I will buy from you. Very poor indeed and I would advise anyone else to stay well clear.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    5
    This game really caters to a niche and is certainly not for everybody. A main city acts as your hub as you venture off into instanced linear environments on very standard and sometimes lengthy quests. Very reminiscent of Monster Hunter, but in setup alone. The combat can feel clunky and isn't as satisfying as it should be. I really hope the LoA devs continue to improve and expand on the game because there is a lot of potential here, it is just yet to be realised. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    Worst game I have picked up in years. The devs obviously put no work in to rushing out this bad game. They lied about features that are not in the game, they lied about how it would look with fake screenshots, and then they release a game with so many bugs its not playable, even if it was good enough to play,which it is not. save your money and buy skyrim, thats a game worth playing, this is not. Full Review »