Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Legends of Dawn is an exciting Fantasy RPG Action Adventure, set in the brutal northerly reaches of Narr. It is a world experienced in a classic third person POV that will keep you latched onto a fantastic story about treachery and fear.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Jul 17, 2013
    40
    It could have been an interesting combination of old school mechanics and modern hack&slay action. But starting with the substandard engine up to dubious design decisions you have to dig through a lot of coal to get a glimpse of the diamond that this could have been – or might become, if the team keeps patching for a while.
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    In all aspects this is a substandard action RPG that will maybe come up with better evaluation someday thanks to its patches and updates bombardment. But in this very moment the game is just sadly watching its better fellows from below.
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    35
    Legends of Dawn is a really weak game. It offers an open world and lots of opponents, but the fun it generates is almost nonexistent. The fighting system is dull, missions uninteresting, loot collecting is irritating. Why such a game has been allowed to debut on the market? We have to acknowledge one thing - Legends of Dawn is definitely a game for hardcore players: some of them will get to the end, despite all the bugs, errors, blood, sweat and tears.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    28
    Even ignoring its frequent crashes and bugs, Legends Of Dawn's clumsy roleplaying systems and combat are poorly done. But you can't ignore those issues. This amateur roleplaying game shouldn’t even be sold as it is, let alone purchased and played. If you already did, the most efficient way to deal with it is to delete it from your hard drive and demand a refund.
  5. 20
    A crappy system, technologically speaking it's an unfinished, irritating, and every now and then arrogant action RPG, with flaws as merits, demonstrating how to not make a game. [Issue#232]
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    An apology is in order to everyone who fell for the promises on Kickstarter and paid for this ruin of a game. [11/2013, p.76]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 15 out of 23
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Diamond in the rough. My real score is probably around 7 or 8 but with room for improvement with a few patches. I gave 10 to counter weightDiamond in the rough. My real score is probably around 7 or 8 but with room for improvement with a few patches. I gave 10 to counter weight those clueless punks that give really low grades without having a clue what they're doing. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I want to give this game a 9 out of 10 because I know there are updates coming that are going to improve things, but if you have been playingI want to give this game a 9 out of 10 because I know there are updates coming that are going to improve things, but if you have been playing RPGs for the past 10 years or more and don't want your hand to be held, you might want to check this game out. There is just something magical about this game that happens when you get past the first hour of low-end graphics and how there is very little help with understanding how some of the systems work. One system is the runes. I've played maybe 10+ hours and there is a sub set of runes that I still have no idea what they do!
    Anyway, the levelling in this game is very different also. It's not the typical level 10 in 15 minutes. It's probably 1 level every 1 to 2 hours (depending on if you focus on farming creatures or not). Most of the NPC quest speech is voice acted decently, and I wouldn't say this is an award-winning story, but it's definitely not run of the mill RPG story.
    If you enjoy exploring, the map is pretty huge and there are lots of small details you can end up running past if you're not looking closely enough.
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    This game promised a different experience and it delivered. The world is deep and the lore is rich for a new game universe, but this game isThis game promised a different experience and it delivered. The world is deep and the lore is rich for a new game universe, but this game is not for the casual gamer. The Devs are working on UI and control issues and I am keenly awaiting the next patch. Keep in mind this is not a AAA production house no millions spent on programmers so dont expect Skyrim. I love the fact that the game does not just give you the solutions to its missions, it makes you think so be warned.

    Give the game a try, if you like classic RPGs give it a chance, very immersive spell making system once you figure it out.
    Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Oh dear. I got this becasue the screen-shots liked good. I loved Van Helsing, Titan Quest, Torchlight and this looks similar.
    It's not. It's
    Oh dear. I got this becasue the screen-shots liked good. I loved Van Helsing, Titan Quest, Torchlight and this looks similar.
    It's not. It's not very good at all. The screen is the worst I've played with since the mid 2000's. The camera is always in the wrong place the control is terrible (just moving in a straight line is like tying shoe laces while wearing boxing gloves) the difficulty curve is naff. I don't mid if it doesn't scale that's good (it doesn't scale BTW) but this forces you to grind and grind and grind in boring circles, the whole timestruggling with the cotrol method from hell and a camera angle that just doesn't let you see what's going on. With Van Helsing out only a few days ago and SO MUCH BETTER then if you want another Diablo like then that's the one to get. If you haven't aleady got Torchlight 2 then that's the best of the lot. Hell even Diablo 3 for all it's nonsense is a lot better than this. At least it's playable if a bit dull. This one struggles to give you any enjoyment at all.
    Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    1
    Wow, I can't believe I backed this...
    Honestly, I really like to support Indie game makers, and I hate to bash a small (8 people in Croatia
    Wow, I can't believe I backed this...
    Honestly, I really like to support Indie game makers, and I hate to bash a small (8 people in Croatia IIRC) team that was trying their best, but if their best is on such an epic level of ineptitude, really, what can I do..?
    One piece of honest advice to those developers and others: Folks, if you try to make your own game, for heavens sake, PLAY a few of the similar ones that came out the last 10 years or so, and LEARN a thing or two. Try to avoid the mistakes and try to keep what has already worked a dozen times before.
    Really, this games' user interface is BAD on such an incredible scale, you need to wonder what year we have.
    A quicksave button? what for!
    Closing menues by the ESC key? Would only make the game less awkward!
    Useful controls like basic attacks on left and spells/abilities on right mouse button? Nah, Diablo did that 15 years ago, boooring.
    Providing any useful info on inventory items, like, what potions actually DO? Too easy. And would distract from the epic failure that the entire inventory system is.
    Explaing how things (rune stones, crafting, spellcasting, ANYTHING) actually work? Nah.
    Control of movement and camera that make sense? Now, lets be creative here...
    Truth be told, this game feels and plays like a VERY early alpha version, or as if no computer RPG whatsoever came out in the last 15 years.
    Lets skip things like the non-existant immersion factor (like, being able to steal everything from right under everyone's nose), the bad voice acting and terrible balance, endless grinding and catastrophically useless manual and come right to the point: avoid spending money on this one, until at least 5 patches have come out and some reviews confirm that they actually fixed a thing or two.

    UPDATE: The first patch adds some basic functionaltiy like a quicksave and autosave option and instead introduces a gamebreaking bug right at the beginning (getting unrecoverably stuck in a conversation). Taking the score down 2 notches for total ineptitude...
    Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    1
    Underdeveloped game, missing common features like quest progression indicators, and quest map navigation. I stopped playing when quests seemUnderdeveloped game, missing common features like quest progression indicators, and quest map navigation. I stopped playing when quests seem to got activated out of order, and the NPC that the quest text directed me to would not talk to me about the quest.... Collapse
  7. pid
    Jan 19, 2014
    0
    Huge disappointment. It isn't even worth my time typing here more than that. You may waste money on it, but please DO NOT waste your time. GoHuge disappointment. It isn't even worth my time typing here more than that. You may waste money on it, but please DO NOT waste your time. Go play any free MMO out there or whatever. You'll be better off! Expand

See all 23 User Reviews