LEGO Star Wars PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. 90
    That's what LEGO Star Wars is all about: a great time. Whether it's the nostalgia or the cuteness that hooks you in, the gameplay makes it worth sticking around.
  2. It may not be the most technically accomplished game to have graced our screens, but the plain and simple fact is that it’s so much fun to play, it’s almost indescribable.
  3. The game is addictive. I just couldn’t put it down until I was done playing.
  4. It is not only a game that you won’t hesitate to allow your children to play, it is a game that will have you sitting next to them with both of you playing. I can hardly wait for the Lego Star Wars sequel.
  5. Enormously inventive and irreverant silliness, and made of LEGO! [May 2005, p.94]
  6. 82
    If you’re a Star Wars fan, even an old school purist like me, you will have a blast playing this game, especially if you have kids to help you out.
  7. 80
    That co-op feature makes this among the best kids games out there, because parents and kids can directly play together.
  8. It is hard to play the game and NOT enjoy it. It reaches the kid in all of us.
  9. Most interestingly, the game will appeal to both kids and adults, as its simple pick-up-and-play action is accessible to almost anyone of any age.
  10. 80
    The principles of the game are very simple but the game is incredibly enjoyable for all ages.
  11. It's addictive, simple and fun. It's pretty, it sounds excellent and it will run on almost any system that has played a game in the past four years.
  12. 80
    Puncturing the pretentious balloon of Star Wars with amusingly colored bricks is a noble goal. And if nothing else, there’s always the light puzzle that triggers NPC disco dancing to a techno remix of the Star Wars music.
  13. 80
    It's hard to describe just how much better LEGO Star Wars is than it should be. All the pieces just fit together perfectly. It's cute yet cunning, easy but addictive, and simultaneously light-hearted and intense.
  14. The perfect rental game: it's short, it's fun, and it's got a great multi-player mode. It is too short and too easy, though, to warrant a purchase.
  15. Pelaaja (Finland)
    80
    Lego Star Wars is really fun, friendly and colourful little game. It’s not too complicated, but still very entertaining. You have to be a hardened cynic or a Star Wars hater not to like this game. The Force is indeed with the blocks. [June 2005, p.59]
  16. Computer Games Magazine
    80
    It's too easy, and over too soon, but for $30 it's nearly a comlete childhood on a CD. [Aug 2005, p.70]
  17. Don't change the style - we may already have mentioned once or twice that the style's perfect. Just make more of it. Make it harder, more of a challenge, more of a game.
  18. 78
    It has everything a family-oriented title needs: it has personality, puzzles, cooperative modes, replay value, low violence, a lack of frustrating difficulty, and most importantly, it has Darth Vader.
  19. A game that, while designed with kids in mind, has such a surplus of charm that even nostalgia-minded adults will be able to join in on the fun.
  20. There's a goofy pleasure in seeing animated Lego figures pantomime scenes from the movies, and the game's puzzles and battles are undemanding but fun.
  21. PC Gamer
    75
    A good find for Star Wars fans who don't take the license too seriously. [July 2005, p.72]
  22. The sheer simplicity of the game is likely to affect the duration of the game, but while it lasts LEGO Star Wars is enjoyable and has an understanding of the Star Wars brand above many others.
  23. Edge Magazine
    70
    Kids are often underestimated, but that doesn’t mean their games should be. Lego Star Wars has an appeal that goes beyond age, even if it’s one that rarely goes beyond 20 minutes at a time. [May 2005, p.84]
  24. Computer Gaming World
    70
    For kids, it's great. For adults, eh, not so much. [Aug 2005, p.78]
  25. Play Magazine
    60
    This game is also one of the easiest the galaxy has ever seen. [May 2005, p.52]
  26. games(TM)
    40
    The core gameplay is somewhat lacking. ‘But it’s for kids,’ we hear you cry. Maybe so, but even kids - or those who are just young at heart - will no doubt want a challenge that lasts longer than it would take to watch the original trilogy. [May 2005, p.109]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    LEGO Star Wars the video game was a game that was part of my childhood, while it's based on the terrible prequel trilogy, this game is 100LEGO Star Wars the video game was a game that was part of my childhood, while it's based on the terrible prequel trilogy, this game is 100 times better than those films, It may not be the best LEGO game by today's standards but it is alot of fun playing as Jedi or clonetroopers, the secret level was pretty cool and the chapters (most of them) are awesome. 9/10 Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    This game is worth it.
    You'll get lots of hours with the amount of content available in the game.
    You get the Prequel trilogy levels and
    This game is worth it.
    You'll get lots of hours with the amount of content available in the game.
    You get the Prequel trilogy levels and characters and also come with special missions.
    You also get the original trilogy levels and character that also come with special missions that are fun to play.
    If you only want to play a certain level or chapter just play the first mission in Episode 1 and you will unlock all 6 movies!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2016
    8
    When I first heard about the Lego Star wars licence I thought that it would be a load of trash like all the other Lego games that have goneWhen I first heard about the Lego Star wars licence I thought that it would be a load of trash like all the other Lego games that have gone before but no I was wrong. Before I get started about this little gem I must first tell you that this game is for the younglings and any Star wars fan who appreciates a fun game. you start the game in Dexs dinner which acts as the hub for the rest of the game, at first only The Phantom Menace is available but soon you will have Attack Of The Clones and the new Revenge Of The Sith missions to play with , graphically the game remains very loyal the Lego universe and looks very polished, game play is very simple but effective for example the Jedi are able to use force powers to repel droids and move larger objects around to solve puzzles also the light sabre can be used to deflect laser fire back to the enemy while characters like R2D2 can fly over large gaps and also unlock doors. The levels follow the films pretty closely but also with a little Lego artistic licence and there are plenty of secrets to unlock. This game is fun to play with its good looking graphics and simple yet fun game play. Full Review »