Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    77
    Traveller's Tales have stuck to their formula, but luckily the source material is so iconic, and the tribute so thorough, it barely matters.
  2. 70
    Squares and dots rule them all... The LEGO version of complete Lord of the Rings trilogy comes with hours of puerile humor. [Christmas 2012]
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    85
    Fortunately TT Games are not content to rest on their laurels as they've managed to pack in an exciting, thrilling and funny adventure with lots to explore and hours of gameplay to make the whole package feel not only fresh but epic to boot.
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The best, the most interesting and the most elaborate entry to the series. Engine's limitations are more visible than ever before but it doesn't change the fact that Traveller's Tales once again managed to deliver an enjoyable game chock-full of content. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.44]
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jan 3, 2013
    89
    For this fantasy lover, LEGO The Lord of the Rings ticks all the right boxes.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    An amazingly witty, light hearted game for any fan of Lord of the Rings ( Movie adaptation). 1. Let me start out by saying that instead ofAn amazingly witty, light hearted game for any fan of Lord of the Rings ( Movie adaptation). 1. Let me start out by saying that instead of buying Black Ops 2, my money went straight to Lego Lord of the Rings... and quiet honestly... It is one of the best games I have ever had the pleasure to play. It starts right out the gate with action introducing the Great War those many years ago against Sauron. The game is split up into movie action sequences where you have the voice overs from all 3( Yes ALL 3!) movies that unfolds like an interactive book. It then recreates a section from the movie, and allows the player to interact in that environment. On a side note, Its quiet witty watching lego characters talk, but if you played Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes, then you know it works EXTREMELY Well! 2. Gameplay is what defines this game as one of the most expansive of the Lego Games. Not only do you have practically EVERY character from the LOTR Trilogy, but they also have more than 1 unique ability, allowing you to combine different actions/ scenarios. There is a select wheel where you can easily switch to characters if you have trouble decoding who they are, as well as what their abilities might be. 3. The scale of this game is epic.... Just.... epic, hundreds of enemies can occupy the screen at once, and in 1080p with graphics maxed out on the PC... it is gorgeous... 4. Last... well to wrap this little review up all I have to say is that you will not be disappointed... Its very rare that you come across light hearted gems like this. Im aware that the major "critics" (yeah IGN and Gamespot im looking at yall backstabbers) will not give this game anything above a 8/ 8.5 but, dont let that teeter you from at least renting this one. You will have over 50 hours of fun on your hands... Yeah.. Im going to get back to playing now :P Full Review »
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I got this for the kids, and began playing to assist them. From then on I played for me!

    I can't believe just how much they put into this.
    I got this for the kids, and began playing to assist them. From then on I played for me!

    I can't believe just how much they put into this. When I got to Rivendell I was awed. It's breathtaking.

    For me this is the peak of Traveler's Tales Lego series. Beautiful to look at, fun to play, awesome music, great modeling, lots of secrets and extras....if you like LOTR you MUST get this game. Even if you don't, it's a great game in it's own right. PS I am playing with an Xbox 350 controller (USB version) on the PC, I think that may be the best way to experience it... well done Traveler's Tales.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    The greatest lego game I've played, and for me many were really good. This on is just above all other lego game at the moment Looking forwradThe greatest lego game I've played, and for me many were really good. This on is just above all other lego game at the moment Looking forwrad for lego marvel Full Review »