User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 84
  2. Negative: 6 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    An amazingly witty, light hearted game for any fan of Lord of the Rings ( Movie adaptation). 1. Let me start out by saying that instead of buying Black Ops 2, my money went straight to Lego Lord of the Rings... and quiet honestly... It is one of the best games I have ever had the pleasure to play. It starts right out the gate with action introducing the Great War those many years ago against Sauron. The game is split up into movie action sequences where you have the voice overs from all 3( Yes ALL 3!) movies that unfolds like an interactive book. It then recreates a section from the movie, and allows the player to interact in that environment. On a side note, Its quiet witty watching lego characters talk, but if you played Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes, then you know it works EXTREMELY Well! 2. Gameplay is what defines this game as one of the most expansive of the Lego Games. Not only do you have practically EVERY character from the LOTR Trilogy, but they also have more than 1 unique ability, allowing you to combine different actions/ scenarios. There is a select wheel where you can easily switch to characters if you have trouble decoding who they are, as well as what their abilities might be. 3. The scale of this game is epic.... Just.... epic, hundreds of enemies can occupy the screen at once, and in 1080p with graphics maxed out on the PC... it is gorgeous... 4. Last... well to wrap this little review up all I have to say is that you will not be disappointed... Its very rare that you come across light hearted gems like this. Im aware that the major "critics" (yeah IGN and Gamespot im looking at yall backstabbers) will not give this game anything above a 8/ 8.5 but, dont let that teeter you from at least renting this one. You will have over 50 hours of fun on your hands... Yeah.. Im going to get back to playing now :P Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I got this for the kids, and began playing to assist them. From then on I played for me!

    I can't believe just how much they put into this. When I got to Rivendell I was awed. It's breathtaking.

    For me this is the peak of Traveler's Tales Lego series. Beautiful to look at, fun to play, awesome music, great modeling, lots of secrets and extras....if you like LOTR you MUST get this
    game. Even if you don't, it's a great game in it's own right. PS I am playing with an Xbox 350 controller (USB version) on the PC, I think that may be the best way to experience it... well done Traveler's Tales. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    The greatest lego game I've played, and for me many were really good. This on is just above all other lego game at the moment Looking forwrad for lego marvel
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    This is a great game, for children and adults alike. While the mandatory children LEGO jokes (which are really funny) are present, there are a few references little ones won't understand. I like the fact that it faithfully follows the movie trilogy, along with its epic music, cast's performances and visuals. Yes, indeed, LEGO Lord of The Rings has amazing visuals! The variety of characters and gameplay present here is overwhelming, and the replay value is undisputed. The only reason I haven't given it a 10 is the fact that the keyboard controls are simply horrible (I think it's virtually impossible to play this game with it's lack of mouse input). Thank God it has Gamepad support! Amazing job as always, Traveler's Tale! Collapse
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    The Lego series is known for it's amazing renditions of many different famous movie franchises, and I have to say, LEGO Lord of the Rings has to be the best so far. With it's absolutely beautiful world, and the old school action we've come to love from the Lego series, just makes this game a must for any Lego fan, Lord of the Rings fan, or anyone wanting to have a great time.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Another great Lego game by TT. If you love Lord of the Rings you will absolutely love this title. Only downside would be no online co-op, but that's to be expected from a Lego game. You can only hope that it'll be patched in the future.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Easily the best LEGO game yet! The story and vast landscapes are done incredibly well. It's got a lot of replay value although there isn't loads to do after reaching 100% it took ages to get there and I enjoyed every single minute of it. The use of the voices in this game is exceptional, it greatly improved the experience of playing and I hope to see it in future games. The game is clearly made with a lot of love and attention to detail, it is filled with film references from start to finish. I cannot wait for the next LEGO game and eventually LEGO The Hobbit! Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Just amazing.. love this game as much as i love almost all lego games. The cutscenes are funny, the gameplay is standard lego-style and the overall game just feels relaxing
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Exceeds your expectations. The sheer amount of things to do, replayability, unlockable items/characters. I spent 2 hours just running around the village destroying objects to accrue lego money before moving onto missions (and doing the same thing) Its visually sumptuous. Voice work from the actual actors. Music/ambience from the movies.

    I wasnt a big fan of the films but i want to
    rewatch them now. Lego Marvel Superheroes is just as good.

    I'm 38 years old
    Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. if you like Lord of the Rings and LEGO, this is definitely the game for you! Whether you're an adult or a kid, you still might like this game! I say that no one should hate this game, unless they have given it a try. This game is also good for the Xbox 360 wired USB controller, and I think any other USB joystick.
  11. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    По моему, лучшая в своей серии! Я сам по себе люблю эту историю, и как раз в игре смогли передать ту атмосферу Средиземья. Качество графики поражает!(даже на моем слабеньком ноутбуке на самых минимальних настройках графика супер!) Моя оценка - 10/10 однозначно
  12. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    This is a great game, for children and adults alike. While the mandatory children LEGO jokes (which are really funny) are present, there are a few references little ones won't understand. I like the fact that it faithfully follows the movie trilogy, along with its epic music, cast's performances and visuals. Yes, indeed, LEGO Lord of The Rings has amazing visuals! The variety of characters and gameplay present here is overwhelming, and the replay value is undisputed. The only reason I haven't given it a 10 is the fact that the keyboard controls are simply horrible (I think it's virtually impossible to play this game with it's lack of mouse input). Thank God it has Gamepad support! Amazing job as always, Traveler's Tale! Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 85
    Fortunately TT Games are not content to rest on their laurels as they've managed to pack in an exciting, thrilling and funny adventure with lots to explore and hours of gameplay to make the whole package feel not only fresh but epic to boot.
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The best, the most interesting and the most elaborate entry to the series. Engine's limitations are more visible than ever before but it doesn't change the fact that Traveller's Tales once again managed to deliver an enjoyable game chock-full of content. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.44]
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    89
    For this fantasy lover, LEGO The Lord of the Rings ticks all the right boxes.