User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 96
  2. Negative: 5 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    An amazingly witty, light hearted game for any fan of Lord of the Rings ( Movie adaptation). 1. Let me start out by saying that instead of buying Black Ops 2, my money went straight to Lego Lord of the Rings... and quiet honestly... It is one of the best games I have ever had the pleasure to play. It starts right out the gate with action introducing the Great War those many years ago against Sauron. The game is split up into movie action sequences where you have the voice overs from all 3( Yes ALL 3!) movies that unfolds like an interactive book. It then recreates a section from the movie, and allows the player to interact in that environment. On a side note, Its quiet witty watching lego characters talk, but if you played Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes, then you know it works EXTREMELY Well! 2. Gameplay is what defines this game as one of the most expansive of the Lego Games. Not only do you have practically EVERY character from the LOTR Trilogy, but they also have more than 1 unique ability, allowing you to combine different actions/ scenarios. There is a select wheel where you can easily switch to characters if you have trouble decoding who they are, as well as what their abilities might be. 3. The scale of this game is epic.... Just.... epic, hundreds of enemies can occupy the screen at once, and in 1080p with graphics maxed out on the PC... it is gorgeous... 4. Last... well to wrap this little review up all I have to say is that you will not be disappointed... Its very rare that you come across light hearted gems like this. Im aware that the major "critics" (yeah IGN and Gamespot im looking at yall backstabbers) will not give this game anything above a 8/ 8.5 but, dont let that teeter you from at least renting this one. You will have over 50 hours of fun on your hands... Yeah.. Im going to get back to playing now :P Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I got this for the kids, and began playing to assist them. From then on I played for me!

    I can't believe just how much they put into this. When I got to Rivendell I was awed. It's breathtaking.

    For me this is the peak of Traveler's Tales Lego series. Beautiful to look at, fun to play, awesome music, great modeling, lots of secrets and extras....if you like LOTR you MUST get this
    game. Even if you don't, it's a great game in it's own right. PS I am playing with an Xbox 350 controller (USB version) on the PC, I think that may be the best way to experience it... well done Traveler's Tales. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    The greatest lego game I've played, and for me many were really good. This on is just above all other lego game at the moment Looking forwrad for lego marvel
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    This is a great game, for children and adults alike. While the mandatory children LEGO jokes (which are really funny) are present, there are a few references little ones won't understand. I like the fact that it faithfully follows the movie trilogy, along with its epic music, cast's performances and visuals. Yes, indeed, LEGO Lord of The Rings has amazing visuals! The variety of characters and gameplay present here is overwhelming, and the replay value is undisputed. The only reason I haven't given it a 10 is the fact that the keyboard controls are simply horrible (I think it's virtually impossible to play this game with it's lack of mouse input). Thank God it has Gamepad support! Amazing job as always, Traveler's Tale! Collapse
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    The Lego series is known for it's amazing renditions of many different famous movie franchises, and I have to say, LEGO Lord of the Rings has to be the best so far. With it's absolutely beautiful world, and the old school action we've come to love from the Lego series, just makes this game a must for any Lego fan, Lord of the Rings fan, or anyone wanting to have a great time.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Another great Lego game by TT. If you love Lord of the Rings you will absolutely love this title. Only downside would be no online co-op, but that's to be expected from a Lego game. You can only hope that it'll be patched in the future.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Easily the best LEGO game yet! The story and vast landscapes are done incredibly well. It's got a lot of replay value although there isn't loads to do after reaching 100% it took ages to get there and I enjoyed every single minute of it. The use of the voices in this game is exceptional, it greatly improved the experience of playing and I hope to see it in future games. The game is clearly made with a lot of love and attention to detail, it is filled with film references from start to finish. I cannot wait for the next LEGO game and eventually LEGO The Hobbit! Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Just amazing.. love this game as much as i love almost all lego games. The cutscenes are funny, the gameplay is standard lego-style and the overall game just feels relaxing
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Exceeds your expectations. The sheer amount of things to do, replayability, unlockable items/characters. I spent 2 hours just running around the village destroying objects to accrue lego money before moving onto missions (and doing the same thing) Its visually sumptuous. Voice work from the actual actors. Music/ambience from the movies.

    I wasnt a big fan of the films but i want to
    rewatch them now. Lego Marvel Superheroes is just as good.

    I'm 38 years old
    Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Amazing game. if you like Lord of the Rings and LEGO, this is definitely the game for you! Whether you're an adult or a kid, you still might like this game! I say that no one should hate this game, unless they have given it a try. This game is also good for the Xbox 360 wired USB controller, and I think any other USB joystick.
  11. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Lego Lord of the Rings. This is a game that combines two things that I love. It combines Legos, an uber popular toy that people both build and play with all the time, and Lord of the Rings, my favorite movie franchise of all time. As you can probably guess, I was really excited to play this game. So, is this game the one game to rule them all, or did Frodo put the ring on one too many times? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is much like any other Lego licensed video game. The game is an action adventure game that follows the events of the three Lord of the Rings movies. Every action packed scene from the movies is there for you to play, from the prologue of the Fellowship of the Ring, to where Frodo Baggins casts the ring into the fire towards the end of Return of the King. The levels are filled with both combat against enemies such as Orcs and Goblins, and simple puzzle solving that will require certain characters to accomplish. You can play as any Lord of the Rings character you want in this game. You can play is one of the heroes such as Frodo or Gandalf, one of the villains such as Sauron or Sarumon, or even one of those characters that only plays a tiny role in the films such as a Minas Tirith guard that got killed early on in the battle during Return of the King. You can even create your own character if you want to. Of course you can only do this after completing the game's main story, but considering that it's Lord of the Rings, quite possibly the greatest story ever told, it's well worth the wait. Of course this game has main missions which closely follow the events of the films, but outside of that, you also have the huge open world of Middle Earth to explore. Everything in Middle Earth is here for you to explore, from the hobbit houses of the Shire, to the walls of Helm's Deep, to the fiery mountains of Mordor. While the levels from the movies are all insanely fun, the open world does seem just a tiny bit less polished than the rest of the game. There is a lot to do in the open world, but almost all of the quests you need to undertake to beat the game 100% are very confusing. The characters keep telling you to find items for them, and you go to a location to look for them, but they seem very hard to find. Some are easy, but most others are very difficult. This can become very aggravating. Also, it is unfortunate that there aren't very many enemies in this open world. It would be a lot more fun if you could fight Orcs on the way to the next parts of the films, or as part of the quests, be able to fight Orcs with allies instead of just fetching things for them. Also, all of the things that some might consider problems with these Lego games are here such as redundant and simplistic gameplay. However, I never really cared much for how simplistic the gameplay is, after all, it is still plenty fun despite this. Therefore, I see nothing wrong with the gameplay in that respect. Overall, the gameplay of this game is fantastic if you are a fan of both Lego and Lord of the Rings. As for the graphics, while they look about as blocky as any other Lego game, they are still great in this respect. While it may be tiresome for some to see the graphics like this again, (it is like any other Lego game after all) it is still good for a Lego game, and considering that that's what they were going for, that's all that really matters. The graphics of this game really are quite good overall, some just might be tired of seeing more Lego-y textures. Still though, this is a Lego game. It's supposed to look like this. As for the story, there's not much more that needs to be said other than it's Lord of the Rings! The greatest trilogy ever told! It retells the story of Fellowship of the Ring, Two Towers, and Return of the King! It is also very closely linked to the Peter Jackson film trilogy. Under normal circumstances, I would take points off for this because it is kind of a movie tie-in. However, I won't because although this game is based on a movie franchise, it came out several years after the films, so it isn't really a tie-in. Overall, this game is a fantastic retelling of the Lord of the Rings series, especially if you have children who are too young to see the films (they are PG-13 after all). Overall, this game is fantastic. If you play video games and love Lord of the Rings, you need to buy this game! I recommend this to Lord of the Rings fans, gaming families, or pretty much anyone who just wants to play a good adventure game.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 10/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  12. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    По моему, лучшая в своей серии! Я сам по себе люблю эту историю, и как раз в игре смогли передать ту атмосферу Средиземья. Качество графики поражает!(даже на моем слабеньком ноутбуке на самых минимальних настройках графика супер!) Моя оценка - 10/10 однозначно
  13. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    This is a great game, for children and adults alike. While the mandatory children LEGO jokes (which are really funny) are present, there are a few references little ones won't understand. I like the fact that it faithfully follows the movie trilogy, along with its epic music, cast's performances and visuals. Yes, indeed, LEGO Lord of The Rings has amazing visuals! The variety of characters and gameplay present here is overwhelming, and the replay value is undisputed. The only reason I haven't given it a 10 is the fact that the keyboard controls are simply horrible (I think it's virtually impossible to play this game with it's lack of mouse input). Thank God it has Gamepad support! Amazing job as always, Traveler's Tale! Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 8, 2013
    85
    Fortunately TT Games are not content to rest on their laurels as they've managed to pack in an exciting, thrilling and funny adventure with lots to explore and hours of gameplay to make the whole package feel not only fresh but epic to boot.
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The best, the most interesting and the most elaborate entry to the series. Engine's limitations are more visible than ever before but it doesn't change the fact that Traveller's Tales once again managed to deliver an enjoyable game chock-full of content. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.44]
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    89
    For this fantasy lover, LEGO The Lord of the Rings ticks all the right boxes.