Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO The Lord of the Rings retells the story of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy through the visuals of the LEGO universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    89
    For this fantasy lover, LEGO The Lord of the Rings ticks all the right boxes.
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    The best, the most interesting and the most elaborate entry to the series. Engine's limitations are more visible than ever before but it doesn't change the fact that Traveller's Tales once again managed to deliver an enjoyable game chock-full of content. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.44]
  3. 85
    Fortunately TT Games are not content to rest on their laurels as they've managed to pack in an exciting, thrilling and funny adventure with lots to explore and hours of gameplay to make the whole package feel not only fresh but epic to boot.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    77
    Traveller's Tales have stuck to their formula, but luckily the source material is so iconic, and the tribute so thorough, it barely matters.
  6. 70
    Squares and dots rule them all... The LEGO version of complete Lord of the Rings trilogy comes with hours of puerile humor. [Christmas 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I got this for the kids, and began playing to assist them. From then on I played for me!

    I can't believe just how much they put into this.
    When I got to Rivendell I was awed. It's breathtaking.

    For me this is the peak of Traveler's Tales Lego series. Beautiful to look at, fun to play, awesome music, great modeling, lots of secrets and extras....if you like LOTR you MUST get this game. Even if you don't, it's a great game in it's own right. PS I am playing with an Xbox 350 controller (USB version) on the PC, I think that may be the best way to experience it... well done Traveler's Tales.
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Exceeds your expectations. The sheer amount of things to do, replayability, unlockable items/characters. I spent 2 hours just running around the village destroying objects to accrue lego money before moving onto missions (and doing the same thing) Its visually sumptuous. Voice work from the actual actors. Music/ambience from the movies.

    I wasnt a big fan of the films but i want to rewatch them now. Lego Marvel Superheroes is just as good.

    I'm 38 years old
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Easily the best LEGO game yet! The story and vast landscapes are done incredibly well. It's got a lot of replay value although there isn't loads to do after reaching 100% it took ages to get there and I enjoyed every single minute of it. The use of the voices in this game is exceptional, it greatly improved the experience of playing and I hope to see it in future games. The game is clearly made with a lot of love and attention to detail, it is filled with film references from start to finish. I cannot wait for the next LEGO game and eventually LEGO The Hobbit! Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Just amazing.. love this game as much as i love almost all lego games. The cutscenes are funny, the gameplay is standard lego-style and the overall game just feels relaxing Collapse
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    The Lego series is known for it's amazing renditions of many different famous movie franchises, and I have to say, LEGO Lord of the Rings has to be the best so far. With it's absolutely beautiful world, and the old school action we've come to love from the Lego series, just makes this game a must for any Lego fan, Lord of the Rings fan, or anyone wanting to have a great time. Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    6
    This game could have received a 8/10 if it wasn't for the massive amount of bugs. Lego LotR is a great game at its core, easily the best Lego game that i've played. Admittedly, i'm also a big LotR fan, and if you are too, then you should definitely get this. The game starts off great, but as you play you begin to notice how man bugs are present and when you get to the end of the game (near 100% complete) it becomes very frustrating. The story follows the movies and the level design and graphics are on par with them. The voice acting is taken straight out of the movies so you will easily recognize the lines that are spoken. The levels are all well designed and there are plenty of secrets and collectibles to keep you playing after you finished the story. It took me about 32 hours to get 100% game complete, but it wasn't without problems. Three times i ran into level breaking bugs where my character was stuck in an infinite loop of death and i had to restart (the game spawns you in exactly the same place you died). And when i was searching for all the collectible i ran into a game breaking bug where the game refused to count the correct number of treasures i found. The developers, instead of actually making a fix for this bug (which from what i can tell is a very common bug), they made cheat codes that you can put in to give you 100% game complete. I kid you not, if you email the devs about the problem, they will send you cheat codes so you can get 100%. Seriously? If you get this, prepare to love the gameplay and then be absolutely frustrated by the rampant amount of bugs. I have a bug where my screen completely freezes for a second or two ever other minute. With all these bugs and glitches I have encountered, it is impossible for me to give this a positive score. Only very casual games and LotR fans should buy this, and if you do, get it on sale. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    3
    Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of lord of the rings and on top of that the lego games series. This is the first one I've played on PC, and really it's not a good experience. The game is fine, probably really good, but I find this so hard to play, the controls for this are just ridiculous, H to attack and J to jump by default, you can reassign these, except on PC this has NO MOUSE SUPPORT. None... I understand that this is a port but put some effort into it, many people bought this expecting a game they don't need a controller for, and you really do need one.

    If you're on a laptop or have a small keyboard you essentially have to have a controller, if that doesn't bother you then you should totally get this. This isn't the kind of game that can get away with using only the keyboard, it's just something that should have mouse support, even if the only use would be just to attack with M1 and to change characters with mouse wheel, it would make it so much more comfortable and easier to play and control.

    I may just be whining but the score is based off of the fact that I just can't play this game, I'm on a laptop, a small one, so playing using only keyboard is really not an option, and when it comes down to it, you can't legitimately say it's reasonable for the developers of this game to expect that they shouldn't have to put in the effort to add mouse support and on top of that you can't say that they can expect most PC gamers to have controllers, when the general assumption would be that PC gamers use K+M.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews