Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    41
    Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded isn’t a total bust. Its self-deprecating humor still elicits plenty of chuckles and some of the gags are gross and/or clever, but the tiresome cycle of saving and reloading just to pay your way from place to place saps away a lot of the joy.
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    40
    The remake is packed with clever dialogue, and the HD artwork looks very nice, but there's not enough new gameplay to hide the fact that the original Leisure Suit Larry game was every bit as shallow as its sexually frustrated protagonist. Mr. Laffer makes a terrific jester, but he's not good for a whole lot more.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    20
    The world did not need this Leisure Suit Larry game, and it does not need any more.
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    40
    I just sat there and gambled until I finally felt so angry with the game that I wanted to stab my screen. [Nov 2013, p.78]
  5. 30
    A mediocre remake of a game that really doesn’t deserve to be remembered, although it’s still fascinating to see what passed for adult entertainment back in the ‘80s.
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    40
    Released in 2013, LSL:R feels just as out of date as Gearbox’s Duke Nukem Forever, and critically speaking, I can only offer a review based on what it is now, not by what it was then. To the fans though, the score I give really doesn’t matter, nor should it. They paid for the game they love, and in this case, they got exactly what they wanted, dick shaped nose and all.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    40
    For a person who missed the era when the game was in its prime, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded will feel like a relic creeping into the modern age and demonstrating to everyone how archaic the old times used to be.
  8. Aug 27, 2013
    20
    A vile, ugly, offensive and ignorant game that should have been left to rot in an old box of floppies. Why did this get Kickstarted? [Sept 2013, p.85]
  9. Aug 18, 2013
    40
    The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition showed us that you can completely re-tread an old classic, provided that you update it with some real care and affection. Unfortunately Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded just doesn’t feel like it has had this same care applied to it.
  10. 45
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is a rehash of the 1987 original. While it has been updated in some ways, the interface and content are firmly rooted in the 80’s.
  11. Aug 5, 2013
    40
    For the Kickstarter fans, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded stands proud and tall as a shining example of a completed crowdfunding project and perhaps as a history lesson for newcomers. For everyone else, it’s all a bit limp, really.
  12. Jul 12, 2013
    40
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is both the longest (in terms of frustration) and shortest (in terms of satisfaction) two hours of your life, and unless your fetish lies in overpriced nostalgia, there are better ways to get off.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story hasLeisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Cried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worthCried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worth the 20$ on steam. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a kid, then went and and got the collector's edition and Larry 7 when it released. The controls have definitely improved and have been simplified and the interface in Reloaded is a treat to work with!
    Everything is so fluid and responsive and the backgrounds and sprites really pop on a 1080p screen. Why the loader doesn't remember which video mode you'd set prior though is puzzling. Considering gambling is a key element to the game I'm surprised also that there is no automatic way to "bet max" and instead have to left-click the 'increase bet' button multiple times as holding down the mouse button results in an 'ability wheel' style overlay which I probably didn't use as much as I should have.

    All the above aside, I had a blast sinking a solid few hours into this game last night and with no walkthroughs or Google auto-suggestions, I was on my own with the puzzles which have been freshened up and a whole new section had me stumbling around lost for a while. When I finally discovered my missing link it all seemed "so obvious" in hindsight :)

    A relatively short game for $20, though if I had never played the series before it definitely would've taken longer. 8 out of 10 (after a beer or two from me!
    Full Review »