Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded PC


Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    A technologically excellent and humorous remake of the original Larry game is an enjoyable little game. Especially for those contemporaries of the once famous series, who are now overgrown by moss. [Issue#232]
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is pretty much the same game as the original with improved graphics, sound and speech. The kickstarter project still provides you with the typical humor of the Larry Laffer-series and nearly the same puzzles, but also comes with some very uncomfortable game mechanics and lack of usability like its original version.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    Obviously if you played it as a kid, when you replay it now you’ll likely find even more humor since you can fully understand it’s innuendo and obscure references. Plus, it’s always fun to go back to a genre that has been seriously lacking the past couple decades (the point-n-click adventurer, not the softcore-sleazeball genre).
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is a shameless game, but, alas, not in the sense that you’ve been expecting.
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    In the end, however, the price of admission is a pretty cheap trip down memory lane. For less than $20 bucks you can relive a bit of naughty fun.
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    A revamping of a game notorious only for its infantile humor back in a time when such a thing was considered cutting-edge may seem like folly, but that is only because, well... it is.
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    If I was twelve again I might had enjoyed the game more, but as it is, Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded falls well short.
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    As an updated remake, Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is a good example of improved graphics and the new game section is not bad. This revival operation works less well considering the modest longevity, low difficulty of the puzzles and scaffolding narrative that, despite all the good will, has no longer the sexy and funny appeal of 26 years ago.
  9. Jul 12, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded is still very funny to play, but some of the mechanics are painful.
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry: Reloaded does well what it has done over all these years and is filled to the brim with humor. Despite the new lick of paint, the outdated gameplay elements and the puzzle design kept Larry trapped in the eighties.
  11. Jul 12, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry is a franchise that most have forgotten, and others never really cared about. I loved the idea of his return, and after playing it was certainly a nice trip down memory lane. That is about all it is though. Those that have never played the series will find little here, and people like me who have fond memories of the franchise will chuckle at the return, but likely run out of steam before it concludes. Still, the ride is certainly worth checking out if you recall the name Larry Laffer.
  12. Jul 11, 2013
    You can see the effort that went into bringing this game to the modern standard. The dialogues are really well done and the graphics look nice, but sadly nothing has changed to make it more appealing for the modern day audience. It's just something that you had to grow up.
  13. Jul 10, 2013
    On one hand, you can't deny, that Larry is a very important character in the history of gaming that has finally received a worthy overhaul. On the other hand, the new game is just a pleasant curiosity, something that allows gamers to find about the genre's past. Al Lowe & co. did a great job in reviving Larry's adventures, but this game won't become a hit. Older gamers will take a Chance to have a nostalgic trip to the past, but younger ones probably will find this game strange and hermetic.
  14. Jul 4, 2013
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Jul 2, 2013
    It's not a bad way to pass some time but it's really more of a curiosity than a must-play game, a relic from a time when the thought of a video game character dropping an f-bomb was simply beyond consideration.
  16. Jul 2, 2013
    A Kickstarter project must look first at the people who backed it and Reloaded honors this with a faithful and clever remake of the first Larry game, full of details that the veterans will appreciate and love. However, it has problems like a lack of visual consistency between characters, poor animations and some questionable decisions that makes this a hard buy for newcomers.
  17. Jul 2, 2013
    It's hard to deny there are some issues, but still we feel there's a lot of effort put into it, and we would be happy to see new episodes following this path.
  18. 70
    Saucy dialogue with a dash of sarcasm – even 20 years on this mix manages to entertain to a degree you'll forgive the game's relatively short story and the pretty pedestrian puzzle design.
  19. Jul 1, 2013
    With its creaky, ancient-feeling game mechanics and ultimate lack of replayability, Reloaded feels like it would be much more at home on mobile platforms at a much smaller cost than its $20 release price tag.
  20. Jul 1, 2013
    All in all, Leisure Suit Larry Reloaded was an exceptional game to play and is definitely worth the $20 for those who played the originals, the remake, or just want to see why this franchise was so revered back in the day.
  21. Jun 27, 2013
    I'm not saying that the game is a lost cause; it does have a few enjoyable moments, and N-Fusion did an amazing job bringing Leisure Suit Larry into the modern era. But the original title was definitely a product of its time, and that was 25 years ago.
  22. Jun 27, 2013
    The reboot is close enough to the original – warts and all – to entertain the faithful. If you don’t have any nostalgia surrounding Larry and his plight, however, you may be left wondering why anyone bothered digging him up again.
  23. Jun 27, 2013
    And that’s the reason the first Leisure Suit Larry is beloved enough to get a crowd-funded remake – it’s still very funny to play. Yes some of the mechanics are painful, irritating, or just obtrusive (even by 1987 standards, yet alone 2013), but lose them and you lose the experience.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    Leisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story hasLeisure Suit Larry returns in a remake of the original classic that started it all. And it's not just a 1:1 rehash, either. The story has been extended, the puzzles changed, and the graphics updated to a new generation of adventure game fans. But, it still retains the charm that Al Lowe brought back in 1987. If you're a fan of point-and-click games, you won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    Cried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worthCried I laughed so much replaying the game after so many years! A must buy. The new graphics are gorgeous and the music is spot on. Well worth the 20$ on steam. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a
    A trip down memory lane with some new twists!
    I've played all the Larry games in my youth starting with a second-hand copy of Larry 3 as a kid, then went and and got the collector's edition and Larry 7 when it released. The controls have definitely improved and have been simplified and the interface in Reloaded is a treat to work with!
    Everything is so fluid and responsive and the backgrounds and sprites really pop on a 1080p screen. Why the loader doesn't remember which video mode you'd set prior though is puzzling. Considering gambling is a key element to the game I'm surprised also that there is no automatic way to "bet max" and instead have to left-click the 'increase bet' button multiple times as holding down the mouse button results in an 'ability wheel' style overlay which I probably didn't use as much as I should have.

    All the above aside, I had a blast sinking a solid few hours into this game last night and with no walkthroughs or Google auto-suggestions, I was on my own with the puzzles which have been freshened up and a whole new section had me stumbling around lost for a while. When I finally discovered my missing link it all seemed "so obvious" in hindsight :)

    A relatively short game for $20, though if I had never played the series before it definitely would've taken longer. 8 out of 10 (after a beer or two from me!
    Full Review »